Girl on the Verge
From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…

Girl on the Verge Details

TitleGirl on the Verge
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherKensington
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Thriller

Girl on the Verge Review

  • Emer
    May 27, 2017
    When I receive an ARC through NetGalley I always feel a sort of privilege. It's so nice to have someone grant me an eCopy of a book for free before it's released in exchange for an honest review. I feel that this is the one time that my review holds some gravitas so I always try to find good points within a book and to think about the precise target market for a book when I write my review while still remaining honest about my feelings. This is a hard book to review. Or at least it is for me bec When I receive an ARC through NetGalley I always feel a sort of privilege. It's so nice to have someone grant me an eCopy of a book for free before it's released in exchange for an honest review. I feel that this is the one time that my review holds some gravitas so I always try to find good points within a book and to think about the precise target market for a book when I write my review while still remaining honest about my feelings. This is a hard book to review. Or at least it is for me because sadly I did not enjoy the reading experience. This is a YA mystery/thriller about two young girls who both feel like outsiders and become instant friends. And initially I was taken in by the story: the setup was nicely done and it looked to be a promising easy read. But after about 15% through the book I found myself getting bored by the storyline and increasingly frustrated by the actions of the main character. Kan is a Thai-American teenage girl and from the start she was immensely likeable. She was a girl lost somewhere between two cultures and always unsure of herself socially but privately she was a girl with a clear vision of who she wanted to be, what she wanted to do with her studies etc. But soon after the introduction of the secondary character Shelly things took a turn for the worse with both characters becoming little more than pastiches of themselves. The main plot-line was entirely derivative of other thrillers. In some aspects this novel had something of a B-movie quality to it and I decided to treat it as a popcorn sort of book; something very light and frivolous almost. However, the ending destroyed that for me. Instead of leaving the reader with a sense of wanting more everything was over-explained leaving no room for a little much-needed supposition. I'm not saying this needed an ambiguous ending but this went overboard on the elucidation! Until the last chapter I had thought of giving this book two stars because I very much enjoyed reading about the Thai culture of Kan (I'm a big fan of diverse characters in YA) but there was too much here that I did not like so sadly it is one and a half stars. *A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by the publisher, Kensington Books, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • The Bookavid
    May 29, 2017
    More Reviews on my Book Blog The BookavidIn GIRL ON THE VERGE, Kan's mother offers to take care of Shelly, who eagerly becomes Kan's new best friend, but also arrives with a mountain of secrets. What intrigued me: Wanted to read more from Pintip Dunn. Young Voice and Creepy Vibes GIRL ON THE VERGE needed a while to get me interested. I didn't quite know what to expect, I thought this would be some kind of angsty contemporary. But once Shelly arrives and weasels the way into the reader's (and Ka More Reviews on my Book Blog The BookavidIn GIRL ON THE VERGE, Kan's mother offers to take care of Shelly, who eagerly becomes Kan's new best friend, but also arrives with a mountain of secrets. What intrigued me: Wanted to read more from Pintip Dunn. Young Voice and Creepy Vibes GIRL ON THE VERGE needed a while to get me interested. I didn't quite know what to expect, I thought this would be some kind of angsty contemporary. But once Shelly arrives and weasels the way into the reader's (and Kan's) heart, you'll immediately know something is wrong. There's a strange air of uncomfortable mystery around her that you can feel oozing from the pages the entire time. Dunn definitely knows how to orchestrate a mystery and make you feel uneasy. Aside from Shelly and her secrets, a large portion of the novel is spent gushing over love interest Ethan, He's this strange version of your typical high school cool kid with the twist that he unapologetically enjoys traditionally feminine things. I really enjoyed seeing a character like that, though the romance aspect didn't do much for me, which is highly, highly subjective. Generally, GIRL ON THE VERGE is one of those reads that exist at the lower end of YA, a little over upper MG in my opinion, which is definitely not a bad thing, just something you have to take into consideration when reading this. I certainly didn't expect a fairly younger than YA-sounding voice in a thriller story, so GIRL ON THE VERGE definitely caught me off guard. Had I known from the beginning, I probably would've liked this a lot more, but this is subjective. #Ownvoices Excellence I was immediately impressed with the way Dunn managed to put that unique diaspora feeling of not feeling like you belong in either worlds into words; this definitely warrants a recommendation alone. I've seldom seen authors go there and explore this feeling in as much detail, honesty, and eloquence as Dunn does. Especially if you're Thai diaspora, or Thai-American, this hopefully might mean even more to you, you need to get your hands on this book. GIRL ON THE VERGE definitely does a lot for diaspora readers in terms of validating and normalizing their experience, which I am immensely grateful for. The amount of strength, sheer talent, and determination it must have taken to put these feelings into words renders me speechless. GIRL ON THE VERGE perfectly illustrates to me what #ownvoices really is and what it means. For that alone, this deserves a glowing recommendation. Even if the other aspects don't really sound like something you'd be interested in, GIRL ON THE VERGE deserves all the support for its radiant and heartfelt portrayal of what it means to be diaspora.Rating:★★★★☆ Overall: Do I Recommend? If you're diaspora, or even Thai diaspora, this is an absolute must-read. Doesn't matter what your reading preferences are, I've seldom seen an author provide such poignant and moving representation for diaspora readers in terms of feeling like you don't belong. Definitely recommend this to your diaspora friends. ///I received a free copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review///live on the blog 6/10/17
    more
  • Hristina
    May 26, 2017
    Actual rating: 3.5 For my review + a chance to win a 25$ Amazon gift card, CLICK HERE. You may have or have not noticed, but I might be Pintip Dunn’s biggest fan. Most of all, I enjoy her writing style, and this book doesn’t disappoint when it comes to the writing. Her ability to pull you into the story solely with the narration comes through again.The story revolves around Kan, a Thai-American girl who feels as though she doesn’t belong anywhere. The aspect of growing up between both cultures w Actual rating: 3.5 For my review + a chance to win a 25$ Amazon gift card, CLICK HERE. You may have or have not noticed, but I might be Pintip Dunn’s biggest fan. Most of all, I enjoy her writing style, and this book doesn’t disappoint when it comes to the writing. Her ability to pull you into the story solely with the narration comes through again.The story revolves around Kan, a Thai-American girl who feels as though she doesn’t belong anywhere. The aspect of growing up between both cultures was very well executed, and it might be my favorite part of the story. I also loved the interactions between the characters, they were all very realistically portrayed.In my opinion, the characters didn’t stand out as much as they usually do with Mrs. Dunn, but they were still enjoyable, and there were no character clichés, which was the best part. I loved the idea behind the book (even though it’s nothing new), and while it was slightly predictable, it was still executed well.This is a great YA thriller, both for the readers who are just getting into the genre, and for the readers who just want a quick but well-written YA read.
    more
  • Paula Phillips
    May 26, 2017
    Though Girl on the Verge has a strong focus on Kan and her American-Asian roots and the trying to fit in with her friends, this story isn't about Kan. Its main focus is on Shelly. Kan's dad has passed away, and her Grandmother has come to live with them as Kan's mother works long hours at the local hospital. When a patient is killed, Kan's mother takes in Shelly - a teenage girl about the same age as Kan. Kan has always wanted a sister and sees this as an opportunity to have someone around whom Though Girl on the Verge has a strong focus on Kan and her American-Asian roots and the trying to fit in with her friends, this story isn't about Kan. Its main focus is on Shelly. Kan's dad has passed away, and her Grandmother has come to live with them as Kan's mother works long hours at the local hospital. When a patient is killed, Kan's mother takes in Shelly - a teenage girl about the same age as Kan. Kan has always wanted a sister and sees this as an opportunity to have someone around whom she can bond with. What she doesn't realize though is that there is something strange happening with Shelly. As we learn Shelly doesn't like to share. First Shelly will start to isolate Kan away from her friends and prove to Kan she doesn't need anyone, then it will be subtle things like copying and dressing like Kan and try to steal her boyfriend but what will happen when Shelly takes things too far and tries to rid Kan of her life once and for all ? Kan decides to do research on Shelly and the death of her mother and will unravel family skeletons and dark secrets. Can Kan save her life before Shelly decides to take everything that belongs to her? Girl on the Verge ended on a major cliffhanger, and the twist had me going OMG. Girl on the Verge was a book completely different to her Dystopian series and was a good thriller by Pintip Dunn. After reading this and enjoying I am looking forward to reading The Darkest Lie.
    more
  • Danielle
    May 17, 2017
    This was a book. It was twisty, and engaging, and fun. It reminded me of a Criminal Minds episode in the best way. There was action, suspense, and a bit of romance. All around, this was a really run read that kept me on my toes. Things I Liked :I loved that we got to see Kan deal with microaggressions in her daily life. I mean I’m not happy she had to deal with assholes, but I thought it was very realistic to show how Kan was othered in her school and home life - she wasn’t Thai enough, she wasn This was a book. It was twisty, and engaging, and fun. It reminded me of a Criminal Minds episode in the best way. There was action, suspense, and a bit of romance. All around, this was a really run read that kept me on my toes. Things I Liked :I loved that we got to see Kan deal with microaggressions in her daily life. I mean I’m not happy she had to deal with assholes, but I thought it was very realistic to show how Kan was othered in her school and home life - she wasn’t Thai enough, she wasn’t American enough, she was a girl between. It also nicely set up that this small town, while it may be charming, is not idyllic - crime exists here, and it’s a threat.I like that Ethan, the love interest, did ballroom dancing. I love that he had a hobby that wasn’t traditionally masculine. It was nice to see him enjoy and succeed at something he loved and not conforming to gender stereotypes and shunning dancing. I loved that Shelly roundhouse kicked Walt in the face for being a supremely nasty guy. He sucked and so I didn’t feel bad for him at all.There was nice mystery and setup surrounding Shelly. What was her background, what was her connection to Kan’s family? I bought into the suspense. Plus, Shelly was creepy as hell, which we really get to see in her POV chapters. Though there were few, you really see her warped mindset and delusions, so you knew something was up. Things I Didn’t Like :Ash wasn’t the greatest friend. She dropped Kan for petty reasons, didn’t defend her to the racist/misogynistic scumbags, and ignored for. I liked that she didn’t trust Shelly and confronted both Kan and Shelly about that mistrust, but I don’t think she was very understanding of even that great of a friend. And I don't feel like we really get enough of her to become invested in her character, or her relationship with Kan.I didn’t like that Mae and Khun Yai were dismissive of Kan’s reservations about Shelly. I get they were keeping a secret, and it added to the overall mystery of the story, but it was also frustrating. The story was fairly predictable. Like I said, it reminded me of a Criminal Minds episode, you can generally figure out the who and the how pretty easy, but they why can really give you the twists. I feel like this book was similar. It was obvious that there was more to Shelly that what there seemed to be, and she was really crafty at manipulating people and sneaking around. But the why did through me for some loops and added some unexpected intense moments. This was a thrilling story that showcased surprising depth. We see Kanchana deal with existing between two cultures and how she grows from her experiences in the book. They were really given the proper weight and not ignored or glossed over. I liked the characters and the suspense. Girl on the Verge is a thrilling story of family, secrets, and self acceptance.I received a copy of the book from Kensington Books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Nicole Hewitt
    May 28, 2017
    This thriller reminds me of a movie from when I was a teenager (many many moons ago) called Single White Female mixed with another (old---sorry) movie, Fatal Attraction. What happens when someone swoops into your world and immediately makes an impression, but then things start to go sideways fast. When Shelly moves in with Kan, she really likes her at first---even feels sorry for her because she's had a rough life. But it soon becomes apparent that Shelly might be just a little too obsessed with This thriller reminds me of a movie from when I was a teenager (many many moons ago) called Single White Female mixed with another (old---sorry) movie, Fatal Attraction. What happens when someone swoops into your world and immediately makes an impression, but then things start to go sideways fast. When Shelly moves in with Kan, she really likes her at first---even feels sorry for her because she's had a rough life. But it soon becomes apparent that Shelly might be just a little too obsessed with Kan. The question is, just how far will she go?What Fed My Addiction:Kan's trouble straddling two worlds. One of my favorite aspects of this book was how Kan struggles to fit in. She is the only Asian girl in her small school and people often make her feel "other" or "exotic," even when they're trying to be nice (it's worse when they're not trying to be nice, of course). But she also doesn't feel like she fits in with her Thai family completely---she's too American for them. As a result, Kan has a hard time finding her way, and her self-esteem is practically non-existent, except when it comes to fashion. Kan's talent as a fashion designer makes her stand out and keeps her from being a character that you merely feel sorry for. I loved her passion for the subject (though it is hard for her traditional grandmother to understand).Kan's friends. I was worried for a little while that Kan's best friend was going to end up basically ditching her at the first sign of trouble, so I was pleasantly surprised when friendship won out in the end! I also appreciated that Kan's friendships were shown to be imperfect, but that didn't mean that they weren't friends. This felt true to life to me.Some (dark) surprises. I was a bit shocked at the dark direction that the book took at the end. It went more toward a true thriller than I was expecting it to and the action and intensity definitely picked WAY up!What Left Me Hungry for More:Some trouble connecting. For some reason, I had a little bit of a hard time connecting to Kan, even though I felt sorry for her and I appreciated her story as a POC character. Because of this, I never completely engaged with the book and it lost me a teensy bit in the middle (I wasn't super invested in the romance, which took place mostly in the middle). Like I said, things picked up in the end, though.Saw the ending coming. This is a me thing, I think. I tend to guess twists and endings, and this was no exception. I figured out the revelation way ahead of time.Some inconsistent details. There were a few details that seemed inconsistent to me. I couldn't quite determine if they were actual plot holes or just things that needed to be clarified (it's hard for me to take off my editor hat sometimes). Kan makes a big deal out of how she doesn't look Thai, so I assumed her dad was American. But then at the end you find out he was Thai too. And the timeline that's revealed at the end of the book didn't make complete sense to me with some things that were mentioned earlier---but I didn't go back and check, so maybe I was wrong? I just felt like I was catching some little holes here and there.This was a quick-read thriller that gave me an afternoon's enjoyment. I recommend it if you're a fan of YA drama that might get a little dark. I give this book 3/5 stars.***Disclosure: I received this book from the publisher via XPresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given and all opinions are my own.***
    more
  • OutlawPoet
    May 30, 2017
    I expected something different…You see, the plot description doesn’t really tell you how much of a thriller this is. When I started reading, I was intrigued. My own background can be described as ethnically ambiguous. The number one question I tend to be asked by strangers is, “What are you?” Usually after they’ve spent the last ten minutes staring at me. (Nothing creepy/uncomfortable about that, right?) I also get the shout out. After the requisite 10 minutes of staring, a total stranger will s I expected something different…You see, the plot description doesn’t really tell you how much of a thriller this is. When I started reading, I was intrigued. My own background can be described as ethnically ambiguous. The number one question I tend to be asked by strangers is, “What are you?” Usually after they’ve spent the last ten minutes staring at me. (Nothing creepy/uncomfortable about that, right?) I also get the shout out. After the requisite 10 minutes of staring, a total stranger will suddenly point at me and shout out a country of origin.Tunisia!Sri Lanka!Samoa!Brazil!Um…no?And I’ve been the only dark skinned person in an entire town. Taormina in Winter is…pale. But fun. (Interesting fact: If you are a non-white girl in Sicily and people start calling you Chinese – in Italian, of course - this doesn’t mean they think you’re Chinese. It’s slang for ‘exotic’.)All that is to say that I got Kan. Though I never faced the kind of racism she faces in the book, nor the ‘friendly racism’ from people who don’t realize that they’re even being racist – and would be shocked if you told them they were – I could still easily put myself in Kan’s position. And as I read about her navigating two worlds, never really fitting into one or another, I was with her.And then…can we say movie of the week? Suddenly, our introspective look at race and belonging mixed with a little coming of age and sweet romance becomes full on stalker cray-cray, Single White Female, Woman in Jeopardy, Bubble Gum Thriller. Whew!The thing is, had I been expecting a popcorn read, I likely would have been okay with it. As a full on YA drama, I would have enjoyed this more. As a full on Thriller, I would have enjoyed this more. But this mix simply seemed uneven and jarring to me.*ARC Provided via Net Galley
    more
  • Just Another Bookish Blog
    May 20, 2017
    Review TBA on the 23rd of may! :)
  • Meg
    September 28, 2016
    For anyone who liked Pintip Dunn's first contemporary thriller, The Darkest Lie, this new book is a must-read. Kan is a Thai-American high school girl trying to find her place in an all-white, Midwest town, when her mother brings an orphaned teen into her home to finish high school. Shelly is lost and grief-stricken, and is grateful for any attention Kan gives her. But the friendship takes a turn when Kan starts dating her dream guy and Shelly's fixation on Kan turns darker. And darker. This gri For anyone who liked Pintip Dunn's first contemporary thriller, The Darkest Lie, this new book is a must-read. Kan is a Thai-American high school girl trying to find her place in an all-white, Midwest town, when her mother brings an orphaned teen into her home to finish high school. Shelly is lost and grief-stricken, and is grateful for any attention Kan gives her. But the friendship takes a turn when Kan starts dating her dream guy and Shelly's fixation on Kan turns darker. And darker. This gripping story will keep contemporary thriller fans on the edge of their seat until the last page.I was so happy to read an advanced copy of this book. I couldn't put it down. It touches on the dark and light within everyone, and delves into a deep dark fear of many. Kan is a wonderful heroine, with so many amazing qualities, you can't help but want her to win, and wow, Ethan is a hot delight. I won't say any more about them other than LOVED the chemistry. Highly recommend this book!
    more
  • Katherine Paschal
    May 29, 2017
    Kan has always felt like she does not belong- be it in her life in America, or with her family in Thailand. She tries to be the good Thai girl her grandmother wants her to be, but she dreams of being a fashion designer instead of the doctor she wants for her. When Kan's workaholic mother brings home a strange girl to come live with them, Kan tries hard to be supportive. The girl, Shelly, is completely alone and has suffered tragedy, so Kan befriends her and is excited at how much joy just being Kan has always felt like she does not belong- be it in her life in America, or with her family in Thailand. She tries to be the good Thai girl her grandmother wants her to be, but she dreams of being a fashion designer instead of the doctor she wants for her. When Kan's workaholic mother brings home a strange girl to come live with them, Kan tries hard to be supportive. The girl, Shelly, is completely alone and has suffered tragedy, so Kan befriends her and is excited at how much joy just being nice gives Shelly. But soon strange things start happening and Kan's life is unraveling. Who is Shelly and what is she really doing? Oh my geez, there were so many twists thrown at me during this book I could not have ever expected. Just when I felt like I had a firm grasp on the story, the rug was pulled out from under my feet and I was caught off guard. Just a disclaimer here: the story at times was super messed up, nobody is safe and even the end was not really what I would call a happily ever after. This was the best kind of mystery though, one where it was super dark, very twisty, with tons of psychological manipulation and tricks to keep the characters off balance (and some romance, but that was not the most important part to me). The perfect way to describe this story would be a modern teen version of the movie "Single White Female". If you haven't seen that, this this book will be an ever bigger surprise. I liked the fact that Thai culture was sprinkled all over this book, be it food, attitude, expectations, customs or language. It added another layer to the complexity of the characters, especially Kan who tried so hard to balance who she was with who she was expected to be. It was a big part of the story and not something that I have ever personally had to think about as well as something that I had not read about before so I really liked that aspect of the book. I liked how the complicated mess that was the plot of the story also had the beginnings from this world as well, which I never would have guessed.Kan was complicated. AS seen through her own eyes, she was not pretty, smart, talented or worthwhile. But then seeing her through the eyes of Shelly, she was attractive, amazing, sought after and popular. Keep in mind that (in my opinion) Shelly is a total crazypants, but still, it made me wonder who was right. Is Kan this amazing person that Shelly thinks, but is so unaware of it...or is Shelly just a crazy? I think by the end of the book she was more comfortable in her own skin which I was happy to see but wow the circumstances were awful to get to it. I have been wanting to read a book by Pintip Dunn for awhile so I was super excited to get my hands on this book and I am happy to say that I was not disappointed. Ms. Dunn was able to create a great mystery, complex characters and an overall engaging book. I will gladly read anything else that she wants to write. I highly recommend this book for anyone who wants a complicated dark mystery with a surprising ending.I received this title in return for my honest review.
    more
  • Suze
    May 31, 2017
    Kanacha doesn't look like her classmates. She lives in Kansas together with her mother and grandmother, but most of her family members are living in Thailand. Kan does her best to be a good Thai girl and she tries to fit in at school. She designs her own clothes and would love to go to art school. She has three good friends, who don't always understand her, she is secretly in love with Ethan, but doesn't dare to talk to him and secretly she's feeling a little bit lonely. When Kan's mother brings Kanacha doesn't look like her classmates. She lives in Kansas together with her mother and grandmother, but most of her family members are living in Thailand. Kan does her best to be a good Thai girl and she tries to fit in at school. She designs her own clothes and would love to go to art school. She has three good friends, who don't always understand her, she is secretly in love with Ethan, but doesn't dare to talk to him and secretly she's feeling a little bit lonely. When Kan's mother brings Shelly home with her, a girl her age who needs a place to stay, Kan sees it as a chance to really bond with someone. Will this be a good plan?Shelly wants to be like Kan. At first Kan is flattered she's looking up to her, but Shelly doesn't know how to stop. It's like she wants to have everything Kan has and be with the people Kan likes to spend time with, especially Ethan. Shelly tries to become Kan's best friend, but something isn't right. She might tell Kan she's her best friend, but Kan doesn't trust her new housemate. Are there valid reasons for her to be suspicious and what will Kan do when Shelly goes too far to be part of her life?Girl on the Verge is an interesting gripping story. Kan is a sweet girl who always feels like she doesn't belong. The boys at school don't seem to notice her and people always comment on the color of her skin, while her grandmother thinks she's way too American to be a good Thai girl. I love how open and honest Pintip Dunn writes about her struggles to find her identity and to be happy with who she is. Kan is gorgeous and talented, but she needs a bit more confidence. She's a wonderful and brave person and I loved reading about her.Shelly is creepy. She gave me the chills from the moment Kan's mother introduces her. She's way too intense, doesn't know how to stop and doesn't seem to have any scruples. Pintip Dunn skillfully creates an eerie atmosphere around her character, letting the reader know there's something wrong while slowly revealing what it is. Finding out more about Shelly and her background kept me on the edge of my seat.Girl on the Verge is a multilayered story with plenty of surprising twists and turns. I liked how Pintip Dunn describes the thoughts and feelings of both Kan and Shelly. It was interesting to find out more about their character traits and motivations. Girl on the Verge is a captivating fast-paced story with plenty of vivid descriptions and fascinating details. I really liked this book and couldn't turn the pages fast enough to find out what would happen to Kan and Shelly. I loved this intriguing, oppressive and compelling story.
    more
  • Stephanie Ward
    May 30, 2017
    3.5 Stars'Girl on the Verge' is an exciting new YA contemporary thriller that brings a diverse female main character to the genre. A big thing with readers lately has been the inclusion of diverse characters, and Kan is a perfect fit - in my opinion. As the description states, she's always felt like she's stuck between two worlds - American and Thai - but doesn't really belong to either of them. This is central to her character and really defines who she is and everything she does. I thought thi 3.5 Stars'Girl on the Verge' is an exciting new YA contemporary thriller that brings a diverse female main character to the genre. A big thing with readers lately has been the inclusion of diverse characters, and Kan is a perfect fit - in my opinion. As the description states, she's always felt like she's stuck between two worlds - American and Thai - but doesn't really belong to either of them. This is central to her character and really defines who she is and everything she does. I thought this was a wonderful attribute and I found it interesting to watch her struggle with her identity throughout the story. The only hard part for me was identifying with her. I never had the same kind of issues that she experiences, so I couldn't fully connect with her. Because this struggle is so deeply ingrained in her personality and life, it takes a large precedence in the novel. This really made it hard for me to get into the story, which is completely on me - it has nothing to do with the writing. All the other aspects of the book were well done - from the characters to the plot and the writing style itself. The characters were rounded and unique - each felt realistic in their own way. Kan, the main character, is very distinctive and has many positive traits and flaws - which made her realistic. The plot was fresh and original - sort of Single White Female only in young adult, which I really enjoyed. The book did feel more like a contemporary novel than a thriller to me though, mostly because of the main characters struggle with identity and her heritage. The writing was descriptive and detailed, which I liked a lot. The author wrote the novel in the first person point of view - from Kan's perspective - which was a huge plus for me. If it had been done in any other way, I really don't think I would've had a positive experience. The POV was a great fit for the story and made it all the more realistic for the reader. I recommend this for fans of YA contemporary, thriller, suspense, and those who enjoy the author's other works.Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Amy's Book Reviews
    May 11, 2017
    **I received a complimentary copy of GIRL ON THE VERGE from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review**GRADE: A+++++++5++++ starsOh Pintip Dunn, I think I'm in love with you. Only a few pages into GIRL ON THE VERGE I knew I was reading a story I'd reread many times. The level of tension gave me a visceral reaction in my chest. I had to stop reading several times, just to catch my breath and slow my heart rate.Kan straddles a world between her old-fashioned Thai grandmother and her American life **I received a complimentary copy of GIRL ON THE VERGE from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review**GRADE: A+++++++5++++ starsOh Pintip Dunn, I think I'm in love with you. Only a few pages into GIRL ON THE VERGE I knew I was reading a story I'd reread many times. The level of tension gave me a visceral reaction in my chest. I had to stop reading several times, just to catch my breath and slow my heart rate.Kan straddles a world between her old-fashioned Thai grandmother and her American life in Kansas. When her mother brings home an orphan, Shelly, Kan embraces her as the sister she never had. But, Shelly jumps into the relationship too quickly, in a Single White Female manner, and soon Kan realizes Shelly isn't the mousy girl she seems to be.With remarkable, steady fast paced writing and plot, Dunn masterfully reveals twists and turns throughout the story. I guessed some, but that did not diminish my enjoyment of GIRL ON THE VERGE, if anything I couldn't wait for the twist to happen. Dunn's characters have so many layers. Kan narrated most of the story, with chapters from Shelly's third person POV interspersed to add depth to Shelly and show aspects of her personality Kan had yet to discover.GIRL ON THE VERGE is a must read for anyone who likes thrillers, creepy friendships or disturbing characters. Pintip Dunn will take hold of you in an Eileen Cook kind of way, my highest compliment for a YA thriller.
    more
  • Neelam
    May 31, 2017
    I haven't powered through a book this fast in a good few months. Wow. So many people now have trouble with the feeling of belonging. If you're diaspora (brought up in a country/culture other than where your family originated from), it's pretty likely that you've experienced something like Kanchana. Confusion, tearing yourself apart. Trying to accept yourself as you are can be tough. The very core of this book is about Kan wrestling with that. Hell, she even tries to hide her true passion for des I haven't powered through a book this fast in a good few months. Wow. So many people now have trouble with the feeling of belonging. If you're diaspora (brought up in a country/culture other than where your family originated from), it's pretty likely that you've experienced something like Kanchana. Confusion, tearing yourself apart. Trying to accept yourself as you are can be tough. The very core of this book is about Kan wrestling with that. Hell, she even tries to hide her true passion for designing clothes because that's not what's expected of her. This whole story was difficult to process at first. Honestly, I wasn't sure what path it would go down. At first, it didn't seem to be going down any sort of mystery/thriller route but, once Shelly came in, it ploughed forward with full-force. And I loved it. It ended up so much darker than I imagined it would.I will say that I did struggle to follow the timeframe of the events. But on the whole, it has so much more depth and character than most thrillers.Kan just wants to be a good person. To be there for her friends and family when they need each other, to support one another. For no secrets. She has pretty pure intentions and I fully empathised with her. Her journey to find that balance in her life is so moving, it makes what happens later on a stark contrast.
    more
  • M. Hollis
    May 28, 2017
    Girl on The Verge is an intense YA thriller about a Thai-American family that accepts a new orphan girl into their houses.This book has an easy to read writing that focuses way more on characters than plot or anything else. I actually prefer stories that are like this sometimes. One of my favorite things is that you think it's really obvious what's going on in the first half of the book and then it turns into a whole new story after that. I did guess the plot twist but this made it more enjoyabl Girl on The Verge is an intense YA thriller about a Thai-American family that accepts a new orphan girl into their houses.This book has an easy to read writing that focuses way more on characters than plot or anything else. I actually prefer stories that are like this sometimes. One of my favorite things is that you think it's really obvious what's going on in the first half of the book and then it turns into a whole new story after that. I did guess the plot twist but this made it more enjoyable for me because I wanted to be right. If the answers we got were not the ones I was believing in, I'd be disappointed. Sometimes you read thrillers to be completely surprised, and other times you want to be right. I don't think Girl on the Verge would be this good if it had ended any other way. It brings interesting discussions about diaspora, belonging, and how girls who don't belong will do anything to find their places in this world.
    more
  • Kelly
    March 28, 2017
    In my seventeen years in Foxville, Kansas, it's never been me. Why should anything change now?I liked a lot about this book: the #ownvoices aspect, as Kan is a Thai girl in a predominantly white school; the twistiness; and the family theme. It's rare to see a Thai protagonist, so I really appreciate Pintip Dunn's inclusion.However, I saw everything coming from a mile away. If you've read any sort of suspense or thriller, you'll know exactly what's going on. I kept reading, hoping I'd be proved w In my seventeen years in Foxville, Kansas, it's never been me. Why should anything change now?I liked a lot about this book: the #ownvoices aspect, as Kan is a Thai girl in a predominantly white school; the twistiness; and the family theme. It's rare to see a Thai protagonist, so I really appreciate Pintip Dunn's inclusion.However, I saw everything coming from a mile away. If you've read any sort of suspense or thriller, you'll know exactly what's going on. I kept reading, hoping I'd be proved wrong, but unfortunately, my initial hunch was completely right.I also just hated how we got Shelly's perspective every few chapters. It felt so unnecessary, and it only lessened the tension."I don't mean to be presumptuous," he continues, "but would you mind if I kissed you right now?"And then there's Ethan.All-American boy, ballroom-dancing, romantic Ethan.I couldn't stand him.I hated how perfect he was. What boy would ever say something like the quote above? And in what world would Ethan love Kan without her noticing at all? And above all.. WHY?Okay. So I appreciate some things about this book, but ultimately, I can only give it two stars.
    more
  • Christine✨
    May 20, 2017
    Why I Read It: *I received an e-ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affects my opinion of the book.* // this is an #OwnVoices story about a Thai-American girl. 17-year-old Kanchana lives on the edge of two identities: too Asian for her all-white midwestern high school, and too American for Thailand—and her grandmother, Khun Yai. When Kan’s mother brings hope a strange girl, Shelly, to live with them, Kan embraces her as a new friend, but soon begins t Why I Read It: *I received an e-ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affects my opinion of the book.* // this is an #OwnVoices story about a Thai-American girl. 17-year-old Kanchana lives on the edge of two identities: too Asian for her all-white midwestern high school, and too American for Thailand—and her grandmother, Khun Yai. When Kan’s mother brings hope a strange girl, Shelly, to live with them, Kan embraces her as a new friend, but soon begins to wonder if Shelly is not quite what she seems. a mystery with an identity crisis at its center.I really connected with Kan’s voice. She has never felt like she belongs, either in Thailand or in her high school. Even her friends don’t fully understand her, and some of them even make racist comments without realizing it. Kan’s struggle is a compelling one, as she learns to both open up to her Khun Yai about her dreams—to be a fashion designer—and as she learns to stand up for herself with her peers. One of the best aspects of this book for me was its honest depiction of micro-aggressions. From the beginning, we see Kan struggling with being labeled as “exotic”—by people who assume it’s a compliment, rather than yet another way of assigning Kan the identity of “other.” This isn’t a book about race (in the sense of, say The Hate U Give), but it’s almost certainly a book that depicts the struggle of being the only ethnic minority in town. I also enjoyed the complicated family relationships. Kan’s mom, Mae, is a workaholic who leaves her daughter to be raised by Khun Yai, who encourages (and maybe even manipulates) Kan to act the part of the good Thai girl. Kan has to hide her fashion design from Khun Yai, who expects her granddaughter to go to college and become a doctor or a professor. Despite their clashing over cultural differences, you can tell how much Khun Yai cares for her granddaughter and wants to see her succeed in life. the toxic friend and psychological thriller aspect.If you’ve been reading my reviews, you know that the Toxic Best Friend is possibly one of my favorite tropes (if it’s done well). Right away, I could tell there was something going on with Shelly—both because we get to see flashes of her perspective in the text, and because of her actions. I’ve had many manipulative friends in my life, but Shelly is downright creepy. Which is where the mystery/thriller aspect comes into play. I’ll be honest, the first half of this book didn’t grab me as much as I wanted it to. I could tell Shelly was Bad News, and I was frustrated that Kan didn’t act sooner. The second half of the book picks up in pace and you know that things are only going to get worse. While it’s obvious that Shelly is up to something, you’re kept guessing as to the how and why of it all. I had my suspicions, but they weren’t confirmed until the very end.the lackluster romance.Maybe I’ve just been reading too many stories with romance in them, but I couldn’t really be bothered to care about Kan and Ethan’s relationship. I felt that his character was more of a plot point, a reason for Kan to suspect Shelly’s manipulations, than he was a real person. Their relationship all happens very fast before I could really care how it turned out. Ethan also felt like more of a carbon copy of the Ideal Boyfriend than anything else. This is my opinion: I would’ve totally been more into this story if it was queer. Yup, I said it. (view spoiler)[ At the end, when Ethan and Kan are being held hostage by a seriously terrifying Shelly, I would’ve rather seen Shelly herself have a crush on Kan, or seen Kan in a relationship with a girl. (hide spoiler)]overall recommend:Ultimately, Girl on the Verge was a fast-paced read. I devoured it in a matter of two days; after the first half, I couldn’t put it down. While there were aspects that made me really uncomfortable, particularly Shelly’s behavior, I can see how that was the author’s intention—to make the reader uncomfortable.
    more
  • Erica
    May 25, 2017
    Creepy page turning thriller!I decided to read this book after seeing it offered on Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. The title and cover both appealed to me but what really got me interested in wanting to read was the compelling blurb on the cover; “How far would you go to belong?” Girl on the Verge is a story about a teenage American/Thai girl named Kanchana (aka Kan) living in Kansas who doesn’t quite fit in America, which is her birthplace, or Thailand the birthplace of her family. Creepy page turning thriller!I decided to read this book after seeing it offered on Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. The title and cover both appealed to me but what really got me interested in wanting to read was the compelling blurb on the cover; “How far would you go to belong?” Girl on the Verge is a story about a teenage American/Thai girl named Kanchana (aka Kan) living in Kansas who doesn’t quite fit in America, which is her birthplace, or Thailand the birthplace of her family. She lives at home with her mother and her grandma. Her grandmother essentially raising Kan criticizes her for being too westernized and not being a good Thai girl. One day her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage American girl named Shelly. Kan wants to prove to her mother and grandmother that she is a good Thai girl and makes an effort to make Shelly feel welcome. Shelly and Kan grow close but soon Kan starts to get that creepy feeling when Shelly starts to do odd things. Kan attempts to tell her mother there isn’t something quite right with Shelly and that they need to get her out of the house, but without proof her mother dismisses it. Kan decides to find solid proof Shelly isn’t what she seems by investigating her background and prove to her mother she isn’t the sweet and innocent girl she has welcomed into their home. I loved how this story had a Thai teenage girl as the protagonist and how Pintip Dunn told the story of a girl very much growing up and living in between the American and Thai culture. You really get the sense for what its like to be Kan where she is truly the traditional American in every way except for her appearance which is very much Asian. Kan is confident, talented, beautiful, smart, and has a handful of fairly good friends. The issue for Kan being in a small Kansas town is she continually puts up with bigoted jokes from her male classmates. At home Kan is constantly trying to prove to her family she can balance her American ways while embracing her Thai culture. So you can understand when Shelly comes into the picture why Kan is so accommodating to her even when alarm bells start to sound that there isn’t something quite right with her. Shelly is just plain ole creepy and nuts. She starts off very sweet and nice but quickly her being too nice starts to get totally weird. Eventually Shelly starts to fully immerse herself into Kans life changing her appearance to mirror Kan’s and attempts to steal the boyfriend. Without spoiling this story, Shelly’s disturbing personality is the thriller part of this book and mystery element is what Kan discovers about Shelly’s past and how it relates to her own family. In every few chapters you get the story told from Shelly’s perspective. While her perspective is interesting it also kind of ruins the tension and surprise because you want to accompany Kan on this journey of discovering Shelly. Ms. Dunn created some great characters in this story but I couldn’t connect with Ethan who was Kan’s boyfriend. Ethan was just kind of there and if his character had been left out completely I wouldn’t have missed him at all. This is a great story for teen/YA readers over age 16+ due to some violence. I wouldn’t recommend the story for adult fans of thriller/mystery because I think they will connect the pieces fairly early in the story.
    more
  • Melissa Robles
    May 30, 2017
    *This review can also be found on The Reader and the Chef. Huge thanks to Xpresso Book Tours and the publisher for the review copy in exchange of my honest opinion.*Um, wow. Consider me officially spooked for the rest of the year. How am I supposed to sleep soundly after this??? I swear my hands are still shaking while I type this. This book... gosh, it's like my worst nightmare. However, it is undoubtedly good, so if you enjoy reading thrillers, you might find this one quite enjoyable.Girl on t *This review can also be found on The Reader and the Chef. Huge thanks to Xpresso Book Tours and the publisher for the review copy in exchange of my honest opinion.*Um, wow. Consider me officially spooked for the rest of the year. How am I supposed to sleep soundly after this??? I swear my hands are still shaking while I type this. This book... gosh, it's like my worst nightmare. However, it is undoubtedly good, so if you enjoy reading thrillers, you might find this one quite enjoyable.Girl on the Verge captured me from page one as it introduced Kan, the main character. She's a Thai girl born in USA, living in a small town where she's the only one "different". Never feeling as if she belonged in Kansas or even in Thailand (for she was just not Thai enough, according to them), she constantly struggled balancing her two separate lives. What she did know is that she wanted to be a clothes designer because she's actually really good at it. So her story starts off well, a girl trying to discover herself and possibly get the boy she has a crush on finally notice her. That is until her mother allows a recently orphaned girl to stay with them that all hell breaks lose.I must say, I think I failed to notice when I first read about this book that it was a thriller. I RARELY read thrillers/horror because it all honesty, I get scared pretty easily. So imagine my surprise when after a few chapters of a great main character struggling with self-identity that I knew she was somehow going to overcome and the swooniest boy ever, some things started to get oddly creepy, it the subtlest ways. First, a girl coming on a bit strong for being a stranger. Then immediately acting like your best friend. Then making you be blood sisters, ritual and all... among many other things that screamed DANGER. Yup, you bet goosebumps sprouted all over my arms while reading it.This is my first book by Pintip Dunn and holy muffins, I cannot deny her great ability to captivate you with her words, her storytelling, and characters. I was so damn scared and disturbed, to the point of feeling nauseous, but for the love of books, I could NOT set the book down. I read it in one sitting and I don't regret the read at all, but I also somehow want to forget it. It insanely brought me a sense of déjà vu and that scares me the most because WHY?? I don't ever EVER want to have a stranger come into my life and try to steal my identity, my life. That is truly my worst nightmare.Ugh. Anyway, this book will surely stay with me for a long time. I thought it was a dark contemporary read, but never guessed THIS dark. It certainly fooled me when the love interest was introduced (OMG so cute, I loved him!) and I thought it would focus more on them as a couple, but instead this book took me into a twisty, devilish journey that I'm perfectly content for it to always remain fictional, thank you very much.Final Verdict:Girl on the Verge had me at the edge of my seat the whole time and while it may not be my usual genre, I certainly was enthranced by the thrilling story inside. Definitely check it out of you like to feel your pulse raised!
    more
  • Rebecca June
    May 26, 2017
    This review was originally posted on my blog: Gentle Fingerprints. “Don’t let someone else determine how you feel about yourself.” (chapter 8) I am extremely grateful to Xpresso Book Tours, Pintip Dunn, and Kensington Publishing Corp for a free advanced reader’s copy in return for an honest review. Girl on the Verge is an own voices young adult thriller about discovering who you are and learning to value what makes you different. Kan is a Thai-American who struggles with what that means for her This review was originally posted on my blog: Gentle Fingerprints. “Don’t let someone else determine how you feel about yourself.” (chapter 8) I am extremely grateful to Xpresso Book Tours, Pintip Dunn, and Kensington Publishing Corp for a free advanced reader’s copy in return for an honest review. Girl on the Verge is an own voices young adult thriller about discovering who you are and learning to value what makes you different. Kan is a Thai-American who struggles with what that means for her culture and identity. With one foot in both cultures, she feels she can’t fit in anywhere and that her differences cause too much tension for her to be treated as an equal. To top that off, she frequently has to deal with racism and microagressions from those around her, even her friends.Through this internal tension, Kan still chooses to see the best in people. She lets slurs roll off her back because she wants to believe that they don’t realize what they said. She welcomes the girl her mom brings home to stay with open arms and attempts to make her feel comfortable and wanted. Kan is crazy loyal and kind, while still going through angsty teenage drama within her family. She’s honestly the friend that everyone needs in high school.Dunn’s writing is immersive and engaging. The set-up of the story felt natural and not forced at all. I honestly forgot I was reading a thriller and I should expect strange things until I was knee deep in the evidence. Though, I do distinctly remember starting to feel uneasy about Shelly’s manipulative friendship almost a fourth of the way through the book. The pace of the book started to snowball from there, getting more and more intense. I couldn’t put it down—I read the whole thing in less than 24 hours. While the beginning of the book didn’t reveal things too quickly, somewhere in the second half it felt like little facts were being revealed in much too obvious a manner, which allowed me to guess the last major plot twist a while before it arrived. I wonder if we didn’t get the chapters from Shelly’s perspective if that would’ve kept me in the dark enough that the ending would be more of a surprise with a side of “how did I not notice that?”Of course, there’s a swoon-worthy guy in this book. It’s charming how much he wants to be able to save Kan and keep her from harm, but ultimately, she needed to be strong enough to do it on her own. He is so genuine and adorable, how could you not adore him just as much as Kan does?Girl on the Verge is intense, relevant, and enjoyable, creating characters that are easy to connect with and a plot that keeps you glued to the page. This is my first read by Dunn, but I will definitely be coming back for more!
    more
  • ☘Tara Sheehan☘
    May 24, 2017
    Pintip Dunn already proved she has talent in the thriller genre with her previous book, The Darkest Lie. She continues to show off in this new novel worthy of her developing reputation.She has a way of taking those oh so dramatic young years and turning them into a thrilling time that will grab your attention and hold it til the end. I binged through this and found her examination into the yin and yang of human behavior added this dark spookiness to her story. Her writing quality has a way of ta Pintip Dunn already proved she has talent in the thriller genre with her previous book, The Darkest Lie. She continues to show off in this new novel worthy of her developing reputation.She has a way of taking those oh so dramatic young years and turning them into a thrilling time that will grab your attention and hold it til the end. I binged through this and found her examination into the yin and yang of human behavior added this dark spookiness to her story. Her writing quality has a way of tapping into this subconscious part where we all hide our fear of the darkness in others.I loved Kan and the way Dunn wrote her I kept rooting for her triumph because she’s this innately good person who deserves better. Of course it had the requisite ‘hot’ romance practically every YA novel adds to be a part of the genre.One of my favorite parts though is the diversity as it’s the first book I’ve read where the main character is Thai. Dunn did a great job writing a storyline that showed how her character lives in a predominantly Caucasian world but it was done with respect to the culture so you find yourself drawn to Kan rather than feeling irritated at stereotypes.If you’re a huge thriller genre buff you’re probably going to figure a few things out before they get revealed and since the story was mainly about the interaction between 2 girls I would’ve liked to see more from the second’s (Shelly) perspective to get inside her head more.Speaking of side characters – Ethan? You’re going to love him or hate him. Something about him reminded me a bit of Edward from Twilight with that oh so perfect, Victorian era like romantic thing about him.
    more
  • Lynda Dickson
    June 1, 2017
    When she is 12 years old, Kanchana's father dies and her grandmother moves from Thailand to look after her while her mother works. Being Thai, Kanchana has never really felt like she fit in at school. Struggling with self-confidence, her one solace is her passion for fashion design, which she has to keep hidden from her family, who want her to be a doctor. Things become even more complicated when her mother brings home an orphaned teenager to live with them. Shelly seems to have a sinister side When she is 12 years old, Kanchana's father dies and her grandmother moves from Thailand to look after her while her mother works. Being Thai, Kanchana has never really felt like she fit in at school. Struggling with self-confidence, her one solace is her passion for fashion design, which she has to keep hidden from her family, who want her to be a doctor. Things become even more complicated when her mother brings home an orphaned teenager to live with them. Shelly seems to have a sinister side and, as she slowly tries to take over Kan's life, tensions mount and a long-hidden family secret threatens to be revealed.The story is told in the first person/present tense from Kan's point-of-view, interspersed with chapters in the third person/past tense from Shelly's point-of-view. Using this technique, the author is able to inject a creepiness factor into the story as well as build the suspense. While I knew what was coming from very early on, I was still interested in Kan's journey of discovery. Part mystery, part thriller, part romance, this book is mostly about family, fitting in, and belonging. I particularly enjoyed the glimpses into the Thai lifestyle and traditions, especially the descriptions of the food.Warnings: sexual references, violence.I received this book in return for an honest review.Full blog post (2 June 2017): https://booksdirectonline.blogspot.co...
    more
  • Ashley Gillan
    May 24, 2017
    In the tradition of "Fatal Attraction" and the recent movie "Unforgettable," "Girl on the Verge" explores what happens when someone gets a little too....friendly. However this book adds some twists that make it a great, suspenseful read.Kan is a great character who is immediately likable and relatable. I really enjoyed her character and was immediately creeped out by Shelly, who was also really well written. One added "twist" that makes the book interesting is that despite Kan's pleas, her mothe In the tradition of "Fatal Attraction" and the recent movie "Unforgettable," "Girl on the Verge" explores what happens when someone gets a little too....friendly. However this book adds some twists that make it a great, suspenseful read.Kan is a great character who is immediately likable and relatable. I really enjoyed her character and was immediately creeped out by Shelly, who was also really well written. One added "twist" that makes the book interesting is that despite Kan's pleas, her mother and grandmother seem to ignore Alan's concerns as things get more and more weird. It adds a desperation to Kan's situation which adds to the suspense.This book really packs a punch too toward the end. We're not talking about just dressing alike; it's full blown boiling bunnies. And I couldn't stop reading until I found out what was going to happen.I sailed through this book quickly. The cultural identity issues Kan faces and the other subplots will keep you turning pages too.Highly recommended.
    more
  • Hauntedbybooks
    May 31, 2017
    Kan has never felt like she has belonged anywhere. She doesn't fit in at school but she doesn't fit in with her Thai family either. When her mom brings home, Shelly. she feels like she has met a kindred spirit. Shelly hasn't had the best life and hasn't felt like she belonged either. Then Shelly starts wanting everything that Kan has, including a certain Blue eyed boy. What will Kan do?Girl on the verge is a thrilling, quick read. I found Kan to be really likable. Shelly was a very interesting c Kan has never felt like she has belonged anywhere. She doesn't fit in at school but she doesn't fit in with her Thai family either. When her mom brings home, Shelly. she feels like she has met a kindred spirit. Shelly hasn't had the best life and hasn't felt like she belonged either. Then Shelly starts wanting everything that Kan has, including a certain Blue eyed boy. What will Kan do?Girl on the verge is a thrilling, quick read. I found Kan to be really likable. Shelly was a very interesting character. This book has a lot of twists and turns. The ending was very satisfying. I really enjoyed Girl on the Verge. I give it four out of five stars. You should pick this wonderful thriller up. You won't regret it. I received an e-book copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Laura
    May 13, 2017
    The fun part of any mystery or thriller is trying to second guess where the author is going with it. And when you get it wrong, and are surprised, it is even better. That is where the tension lies.But, then there is this book, where I figured out not only who Shelley really was, but who she was not. It was the only suspense there was, really.The story, on the other hand, is fast paced, even though there is a sort of love triangle, with the Perfect Boy ™.So, although it was well written, and has The fun part of any mystery or thriller is trying to second guess where the author is going with it. And when you get it wrong, and are surprised, it is even better. That is where the tension lies.But, then there is this book, where I figured out not only who Shelley really was, but who she was not. It was the only suspense there was, really.The story, on the other hand, is fast paced, even though there is a sort of love triangle, with the Perfect Boy ™.So, although it was well written, and has a bit of diversity in it, as the main character, Kan, is Thai-American, I wouldn't recommend this to people who have read many thrillers, as they will figure things out faster than I did. However, it does make for an interesting read for actual YA readers.Thanks to Netgalley for making this book available for an honest review.
    more
  • Kristy
    May 22, 2017
    I enjoyed both Kan's "not American enough, not Thai enough" story, as well as the mystery of the new houseguest, Shelly. I also liked that the story had alternating POV chapters, most in first person and a few in third. While the book held my interest, it was somewhat predictable ...but we are given a few possibilities, so not entirely predictable. I think if you read any mystery or thriller type books at all, this just comes naturally after a while. Either way, it was worth the read to find out I enjoyed both Kan's "not American enough, not Thai enough" story, as well as the mystery of the new houseguest, Shelly. I also liked that the story had alternating POV chapters, most in first person and a few in third. While the book held my interest, it was somewhat predictable ...but we are given a few possibilities, so not entirely predictable. I think if you read any mystery or thriller type books at all, this just comes naturally after a while. Either way, it was worth the read to find out the ending. Sometimes Kan's friends and family members were kind of frustrating, but that probably just added to the build up and mystery. I've read all of this author's books thus far, and have enjoyed each one.I was given an early copy through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jacquie
    May 15, 2017
    Talk about your page-turning thrillers!Kanchana is a teenager fighting to fit into a world she believes judges her on racial heritage. She meets a boy, Ethan, and becomes smitten with his virile body, then she sees him being kind to a class of kids he's teaching to dance and she's hooked.Her mother brings a stranger to live with them. A girl Kan's age, who shares the same (or so she thinks) emotional turmoil Kan's been going through. They become friends, blood sisters at Shelly's insistence, and Talk about your page-turning thrillers!Kanchana is a teenager fighting to fit into a world she believes judges her on racial heritage. She meets a boy, Ethan, and becomes smitten with his virile body, then she sees him being kind to a class of kids he's teaching to dance and she's hooked.Her mother brings a stranger to live with them. A girl Kan's age, who shares the same (or so she thinks) emotional turmoil Kan's been going through. They become friends, blood sisters at Shelly's insistence, and then things get weird.I don't want to give the story away, but will say this; if you ever have a friend like Shelly, run the other way!!So good!I give Girl on the Verge 5+ lovely kisses
    more
  • Amy
    May 31, 2017
    This was an intriguing story, although familiar and predictable, the inclusion of a few more diverse aspects make the story relatable to a wider audience. I loved the characters and wish that the "twist" had been something I hadn't anticipated. While the main characters are in high school, this read more as an adult novel to me. Wasn't what I was expecting, I thought I was reading about a girl trying to fit in and I guess in a way I was. So even though the storyline was one I had seen before I s This was an intriguing story, although familiar and predictable, the inclusion of a few more diverse aspects make the story relatable to a wider audience. I loved the characters and wish that the "twist" had been something I hadn't anticipated. While the main characters are in high school, this read more as an adult novel to me. Wasn't what I was expecting, I thought I was reading about a girl trying to fit in and I guess in a way I was. So even though the storyline was one I had seen before I still enjoyed this book immensely.
    more
  • Kristi
    June 1, 2017
    I really enjoyed this book. The characters were fascinating and while an element of it was predictable it still kept me in suspense. It was a book I wanted to finish in one setting had time allowed. The secondary characters were great and well developed. The author managed to create compassion for the unlikable characters. This is an author I will be following in the future.
    more
  • Louise
    May 28, 2017
    review to come!
Write a review