Make Your Bed
If you want to change the world, start off by making your bed.On May 17, 2014, Admiral William H. McRaven addressed the graduating class of the University of Texas at Austin on their Commencement day. Taking inspiration from the university's slogan, "What starts here changes the world," he shared the ten principles he learned during Navy Seal training that helped him overcome challenges not only in his training and long Naval career, but also throughout his life; and he explained how anyone can use these basic lessons to change themselves-and the world-for the better.Admiral McRaven's original speech went viral with over 10 million views. Building on the core tenets laid out in his speech, McRaven now recounts tales from his own life and from those of people he encountered during his military service who dealt with hardship and made tough decisions with determination, compassion, honor, and courage. Told with great humility and optimism, this timeless book provides simple wisdom, practical advice, and words of encouragement that will inspire readers to achieve more, even in life's darkest moments.

Make Your Bed Details

TitleMake Your Bed
Author
ReleaseApr 4th, 2017
PublisherGrand Central Publishing
ISBN-139781478968177
Rating
GenreNonfiction, Self Help, Business, Personal Development, Leadership

Make Your Bed Review

  • Judith
    January 1, 1970
    Don't get me wrong, the author is an American hero and he deserves to make a buck with his advice and anecdotes, all wrapped up in time for graduation gift giving. I don't doubt for a second that this advice is good for anyone who anticipates a military career. You should learn how to make your bed with military precision, and you should appreciate teamwork, get over yourself and accept that life is not fair, and never give up, etc.,etc. The obvious problem with this type of one-size-fits-all ad Don't get me wrong, the author is an American hero and he deserves to make a buck with his advice and anecdotes, all wrapped up in time for graduation gift giving. I don't doubt for a second that this advice is good for anyone who anticipates a military career. You should learn how to make your bed with military precision, and you should appreciate teamwork, get over yourself and accept that life is not fair, and never give up, etc.,etc. The obvious problem with this type of one-size-fits-all advice is that some people who shouldn't be listening to it use it to justify their behavior. For example, one of my pet peeves is people who are obese but have perfectly salon-manicured nails. The reason it bugs me is that those people spent time and money sitting in a nail salon when they should have been out exercising---walking at the very least. If you talk to them about it, you will find they think they don't have time for exercise or money for a gym but the one area of their lives they can control is their salon perfect nails. They probably made their beds too using the same logic. " I can't control the rest of my day but my bed is made."Can you imagine telling Jackson Pollack that things would go better for him if he just made his bed every morning or telling Leo Tolstoy to be more of a team player. As for never giving up, the author is certain that all of the people in his training program are sorry that they gave up when they did. They might be, but I bet they're not as sorry as the families of those who died trying to make the program and pushed themselves beyond their tolerance. I'm just saying: it's a charming notion to think that focusing on the small stuff will lead to greater accomplishment. But maybe we shouldn't sweat the small stuff. Hey---a good idea for a book!
    more
  • Starjustin
    January 1, 1970
    5 well earned stars for this motivational story of Admiral William H. McRavens journey to becoming a navy seal. This book was written and narrated in 2017 by the Admiral himself. The book also includes his famous commencement speech, which took place on May 21st, 2014, for the graduating class of the University of Texas at Austin.Admiral McRaven speaks of 10 steps to follow "if you want to change your life or maybe the world."I won't list the steps here however, I will say that I was very 'taken 5 well earned stars for this motivational story of Admiral William H. McRavens journey to becoming a navy seal. This book was written and narrated in 2017 by the Admiral himself. The book also includes his famous commencement speech, which took place on May 21st, 2014, for the graduating class of the University of Texas at Austin.Admiral McRaven speaks of 10 steps to follow "if you want to change your life or maybe the world."I won't list the steps here however, I will say that I was very 'taken' by this book and the Admirals experiences, as well as those who served with him, to make the USA and the world a safer place. The book is only 12 short chapters but is loaded with life-changing information that can lead 'any' individual to find purpose and self-worth in improving their life and the lives of others. I recommend this book to all my GR friends and to all others as well.
    more
  • Kenny
    January 1, 1970
    “It is easy to blame your lot in life on some outside force, to stop trying because you believe fate is against you. It is easy to think that where you were raised, how your parents treated you, or what school you went to is all that determines your future. Nothing could be further from the truth. The common people and the great men and women are all defined by how they deal with life’s unfairness: Helen Keller, Nelson Mandela, Stephen Hawking, Malala Yousafzai, and—Moki Martin. Sometimes no mat “It is easy to blame your lot in life on some outside force, to stop trying because you believe fate is against you. It is easy to think that where you were raised, how your parents treated you, or what school you went to is all that determines your future. Nothing could be further from the truth. The common people and the great men and women are all defined by how they deal with life’s unfairness: Helen Keller, Nelson Mandela, Stephen Hawking, Malala Yousafzai, and—Moki Martin. Sometimes no matter how hard you try, no matter how good you are, you still end up as a sugar cookie. Don’t complain. Don’t blame it on your misfortune. Stand tall, look to the future, and drive on!” ― William H. McRaven, Make Your Bed: Little Things That Can Change Your Life...And Maybe the WorldThis is a gem of a book. Packed full of wisdom and big lessons in 130 pages. I read it slowly and took a different lesson in daily. This is a book I will return over and over again. Rather than go on and on about it, I will share McRaven's lessons with you, but trust me, you will want to read this book to get the full impact of the lessons.
    more
  • Mildred
    January 1, 1970
    Straight talk from a former Navy SEALThere are many "self-help" books on the market that contain solid information. However, General McRaven's Make Your Bed comes across as refreshingly different from those books by well known self-help gurus like Dr. Phil or Tony Robbins mainly because the anecdotes he uses to illustrate his ten key points are gleaned from his experiences as a Navy SEAL. I read this little book in one sitting and plan to buy copies for my children. In a nutshell, McRaven says t Straight talk from a former Navy SEALThere are many "self-help" books on the market that contain solid information. However, General McRaven's Make Your Bed comes across as refreshingly different from those books by well known self-help gurus like Dr. Phil or Tony Robbins mainly because the anecdotes he uses to illustrate his ten key points are gleaned from his experiences as a Navy SEAL. I read this little book in one sitting and plan to buy copies for my children. In a nutshell, McRaven says that life is tough, but meeting challenges with discipline, determination, a positive attitude and the support of others will most often lead an individual to a meaningful life that will inspire others.
    more
  • Cheese
    January 1, 1970
    This is very Team America in parts with some mixed blessings.He means well, but saying at the start "God bless all the american citizens who died in 9/11", but erm what about all the other people who died who weren't american citizens ay?Make your bed dammit!
    more
  • Sheri
    January 1, 1970
    Fast, fun and motivational read filled with life lessons. Written in a friendly conversational style, the practical advice can be applied by anyone. Highly recommended!
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    MAKE YOUR BED is a thoughtful meditation of an American hero’s collective experiences. SUMMARYOn May 17, 2014, Admiral William H. McRaven addressed the graduating class of the University of Texas at Austin on their commencement day taking inspiration from the University slogan “what starts here changes the world,” He shared ten principles he learned during his Navy seal training that helped him overcome challenges not only in his training and long naval career but also throughout his life.“If yo MAKE YOUR BED is a thoughtful meditation of an American hero’s collective experiences. SUMMARY
On May 17, 2014, Admiral William H. McRaven addressed the graduating class of the University of Texas at Austin on their commencement day taking inspiration from the University slogan “what starts here changes the world,” He shared ten principles he learned during his Navy seal training that helped him overcome challenges not only in his training and long naval career but also throughout his life.“If you make your bed every morning you will have accomplished your first task of the day. It will give you a small sense of pride and will encourage you to do another task and another and another. By the end of the day that one task completed will turn into many tasks completed. Making your bed will reinforce the fact that little things in life matter.”REVIEW
McRaven recounts many poignant tales from his naval training and military experiences that served as the impetus for his ten principles. It was very interesting having a small window into SEAL training. The principle are sage advice of heart, perseverance, courage, and risk. The book seems redundant at times but the message was good. Loved learning about the SEAL unique recipe for sugar cookies. MAKE YOUR BED would be a good gift for new high school and college graduates who may potentially facing challenges and workplace adversity for the first time. Overall, the book is a short, quick and entertaining read.
    more
  • 7jane
    January 1, 1970
    (I use this kindle cover, because the hardback doesn't have the picture, which is the same as this.)This book is made out of the speech the author gave in 2014 - 10 principles learned during Navy SEAL training. The principles are given as help to overcome challenges in training, career, and life, useful for all to change themselves and the world for the better. Each principle (including the one found in the book title) is followed by real-life Navy SEAL training story example and how each can be (I use this kindle cover, because the hardback doesn't have the picture, which is the same as this.)This book is made out of the speech the author gave in 2014 - 10 principles learned during Navy SEAL training. The principles are given as help to overcome challenges in training, career, and life, useful for all to change themselves and the world for the better. Each principle (including the one found in the book title) is followed by real-life Navy SEAL training story example and how each can be an example for life outside it, too. Many stories involve also other people besides author, and you can feel the respect he has for these persons. (It's true that perhaps you wont make your bed exactly in the style described in the text, but I'm sure even your style can feel an accomplishment. Even before this book, I've felt some accomplishment in seeing my bed neat in the morning, even if a coin would sink in there haha.)Although the book is short, and the chapters are short, this make it a good repeat reading when you need it. It would certainly make good yearly reading, not taking much time from other books. Certainly makes my top-reads list.
    more
  • Pardis
    January 1, 1970
    وظایف هر روز را کامل کنید. فردی را بیابید که در زندگی به شما کمک کند. به همه احترام بگذارید. بدانید که زندگی عادل نیست و اغلب با شکست مواجه می شوید ولی اگر ریسک کنید، در سختترین لحظات بایستید، با زورگوها مقابله کنید، دست شکست خورده ها را بگیرید و هرگز و هرگز دست از تلاش نکشید...اگر این کارها را انجام دهید، در این صورت نسل بعدی و نسل های بعد از آن در دنیایی بسیار بهتر از دنیای امروز زندگی خواهند کرد. کاری که در اینجا آغاز شود، در حقیقت دنیا را به جایی بهتر تغییر خواهد داد.
    more
  • Judy
    January 1, 1970
    One of those "inspirational" or self-help books that come out from time to time. I heard the author interviewed, and wanted to read his book. It's a quick read. Each chapter has advise for life, starting out with: "Make your bed." Because when you start out accomplishing something at the start of every day, you are more likely to do more. I had to get the book back to the library or I would have made a succinct list, but other are: "Embrace your failures, because every life has them." "Life isn' One of those "inspirational" or self-help books that come out from time to time. I heard the author interviewed, and wanted to read his book. It's a quick read. Each chapter has advise for life, starting out with: "Make your bed." Because when you start out accomplishing something at the start of every day, you are more likely to do more. I had to get the book back to the library or I would have made a succinct list, but other are: "Embrace your failures, because every life has them." "Life isn't fair." "Never, ever give up. Keep hope." I guess William Raven's address to University of Texas graduating class is on YouTube. It might be worthwhile to take a look at that.
    more
  • Truman32
    January 1, 1970
    Admiral William H. McRaven’s book, Make Your Bed- Little Things That Can Change Your Life… And Maybe The World is another one of those really small self-help books that you can stack on a really small shelf, maybe in your really small tiny-house right between Maria Shriver’s Just Who Will You Be? And Randy Pausch’s The Last Lecture. The retired Admiral’s book of levelheaded insights was originally a commencement speech to the graduating class of the University of Texas in 2014. These common sens Admiral William H. McRaven’s book, Make Your Bed- Little Things That Can Change Your Life… And Maybe The World is another one of those really small self-help books that you can stack on a really small shelf, maybe in your really small tiny-house right between Maria Shriver’s Just Who Will You Be? And Randy Pausch’s The Last Lecture. The retired Admiral’s book of levelheaded insights was originally a commencement speech to the graduating class of the University of Texas in 2014. These common sense perceptions are the kind of things most folks have been taught by their parents, but seeing as this is in Texas, their parents were probably too busy marching with the NRA for expanding gun rights or working to impugn the value of women’s reproductive rights to be bothered with advice. Start the day with a task completed. You can’t go it alone. Failure can make you stronger. The lessons should not be new to anyone, yet like most of these things, what we know and what we actually do are often completely different things.For instance, chapter three speaks to it’s only the size of your heart that matters. Though to a large section of people there would be the caveat that the size of your heart matters just a little less then your sexual orientation or how brown your skin is.Chapter seven states we must: stand up to the bullies yet last I checked, the White House is home to possibly one of the bulliest bullies to ever make you do his homework and still get your brown-bagged lunch stepped on while Congress is working hard to take away the health insurance from millions of people.Sigh. I do like books like these—even thought there is nothing really new to be learned, I find them centering. They focus me on what is important and remind me that we all go through periods of tough times and failure.McRaven writes well and the book is a strong compass, pointing to what should be important in our lives. Plus, I now know what the Navy Seals mean by becoming a: sugar cookie, something I have experienced without knowing the definition for many years.
    more
  • Deanna
    January 1, 1970
    Make Your Bed is an incredible gem packaged tightly into a small book that lends itself well to an easy and quick read. This book offers tidbits that are simplistic yet powerful. Each chapter highlights a little thing that can make great change in one’s life which then can change the world. The statement “change the world” may seem pompous and easily blown off as unrealistic, but really, each of us do indeed make decisions on a daily basis that can affect others. The question is do we want to ma Make Your Bed is an incredible gem packaged tightly into a small book that lends itself well to an easy and quick read. This book offers tidbits that are simplistic yet powerful. Each chapter highlights a little thing that can make great change in one’s life which then can change the world. The statement “change the world” may seem pompous and easily blown off as unrealistic, but really, each of us do indeed make decisions on a daily basis that can affect others. The question is do we want to make change within ourselves which then has the potential to impact others? This may sound like a boring book, but it’s far from boring. Admiral William H. McRaven wrote each chapter with a tone of humility, as evident of how he concisely told personal stories and stories of others to show how the little things in life have the potential to make a huge impact on your life. These stories are real and down to earth. None of them highlight a “super hero” moment but rather the daily and seemingly unimportant. Make Your Bed is packed with small, very real, doable, and applicable life gems regardless of a person’s station in life. I am confident that every person who reads this book will walk away inspired by at least one little thing to make a change in their life and then maybe, quite maybe, the world.
    more
  • David
    January 1, 1970
    4.25 This book will be perfect for so many students and particularly reluctant readers who need inspiration :) Personally I wish it had a little more meat to it, but it had some great advice and I am sure I will refer back to it again.
  • C. Hollis Crossman
    January 1, 1970
    I mean, it's good encouragement. Admiral McRaven (awesome name) boils down ten character items he learned in Navy SEAL training, and applies them to everyday life for the uniformed and un-uniformed alike. He tells stories about his experiences in training and as an active-duty SEAL and an officer to illustrate how these character traits served him during a distinguished career. One story in particular is almost make-you-stop-reading the book horrific (it involves a torn pelvis), but it makes the I mean, it's good encouragement. Admiral McRaven (awesome name) boils down ten character items he learned in Navy SEAL training, and applies them to everyday life for the uniformed and un-uniformed alike. He tells stories about his experiences in training and as an active-duty SEAL and an officer to illustrate how these character traits served him during a distinguished career. One story in particular is almost make-you-stop-reading the book horrific (it involves a torn pelvis), but it makes the point particularly well.Almost all of the traits, divided into ten short chapters, relate back to the core virtues of perseverance, determination, and integrity. Never giving up, shouldering through adversity and making the best of it, and looking to others for help as well as offering it in return are themes repeated in virtually every chapter in one way or another. This makes the book, slim as it is, feel a bit repetitious. This breeds frustration, and makes it hard at times to remember that you're supposed to be learning something from this man's life experiences. But overall the stories are engaging, the writing streamlined, and the sentiments worth heeding. Not a millennium classic, but a good quick read.
    more
  • Wesley
    January 1, 1970
    My Rating: 4 Sugar cookiesGreat motivational essay by retired Admiral and Navy SEAL William McRaven.I recommend the audio version that is read by the author, but the book is fine if you prefer the written word. Several life lessons and principals of how to live your life.
    more
  • Mike
    January 1, 1970
    I had read portions of Admiral McRaven's University of Texas Commencement speech on the internet, and had known a handful of SEALs in my life. This is a great little collections of life lessons learned learning and doing one of the most amazing training in the world.Started on audio in the dentist's chair yesterday, finished in hardcover today, as I couldn't put it down. (Not to mention, it counts as work-reading).Worst-case SRC Spring 2018: Task 5.3 (all letters in BAD ART). Might fit non-ficti I had read portions of Admiral McRaven's University of Texas Commencement speech on the internet, and had known a handful of SEALs in my life. This is a great little collections of life lessons learned learning and doing one of the most amazing training in the world.Started on audio in the dentist's chair yesterday, finished in hardcover today, as I couldn't put it down. (Not to mention, it counts as work-reading).Worst-case SRC Spring 2018: Task 5.3 (all letters in BAD ART). Might fit non-fiction of 15.1#1 but needs pairing to "lie" of 15.1#2. Ruled out from 30.2 (although "autobiography", this is not "embedded "biography")
    more
  • Shiloah
    January 1, 1970
    This book was inspirational on many levels. Every page contains wisdom and inspiration. Powerful. This is one I’ll be reading again.
  • Kimball
    January 1, 1970
    Back in 2014 William gave his famous talk at UT in Austin (which is in this book). I had read the transcript and really enjoyed it. In fact, this part here was what inspired me:If you make your bed every morning you will have accomplished the first task of the day. It will give you a small sense of pride, and it will encourage you to do another task and another and another. By the end of the day, that one task completed will have turned into many tasks completed. Making your bed will also reinfo Back in 2014 William gave his famous talk at UT in Austin (which is in this book). I had read the transcript and really enjoyed it. In fact, this part here was what inspired me:If you make your bed every morning you will have accomplished the first task of the day. It will give you a small sense of pride, and it will encourage you to do another task and another and another. By the end of the day, that one task completed will have turned into many tasks completed. Making your bed will also reinforce the fact that little things in life matter. If you can't do the little things right, you will never do the big things right.And, if by chance you have a miserable day, you will come home to a bed that is made — that you made — and a made bed gives you encouragement that tomorrow will be better.If you want to change the world, start off by making your bed.Since then I have made my bed regularly. And it works. It makes me feel like I've done something good. If you couple that with actually waking up early then the world can be yours for the taking.This book was great, though. An easy read. He goes over his ten principles a few times so they can get better ingrained in your mind. I like how he's pretty modest and doesn't brag about his efforts or accomplishments​. It reminded me of American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History because he was a SEAL.Now to the book:Being a "sugar cookie" just sounds like the absolute worst. Having to sprint to the ocean fully clothed, dive in, come out, and roll around in the dirt until you are covered in sand and often have to put it down your clothes too I believe. Then be in that state for the rest of the day. He talks about a CIRCUS. When training to become a SEAL and you fail on any of the tests you have to go through a CIRCUS. Which means you have an extra two hours of exercises and hard activities. Thus making you more sore and exhausted than everyone else. The next day you start all over but you're at a disadvantage because of the previous night's CIRCUS. And you fail more exercises. And it just ends up into a vicious downward spiral. William had to do this for weeks. But overtime the CIRCUS strengthened them (him and another soldier) even though they were more fatigued​ and they worked harder than those not doing the CIRCUS, which resulted in them conquering the exercises and tests. It's kinda like how if you want something done you give it to the busiest person. That's funny how the SEAL Instructors during Beep Week would attempt to lure the trainees while they were in the mud to quit and come onto the beach by the fire and have hot coffee and chicken noodle soup so they could rest their weary legs. I can picture that all in my mind if I was the trainee suffering in the cold mud and being furious with the Instructors. I loved how they helped the guy who wanted to give in to those temptations to come back and finish the test.When he described his parachute accident of ripping his pelvis from his abdomen was just about the most absolute terrible thing that could happen. Made me wince and ache so bad when I read that part. It's neat that he was able to do so much after he was relieved of his duties and was fired. Going through that humiliation was tough but he endured and accomplished a lot afterwards. I kept picturing a black guy like Heimdall as I read this book but apparently he's white.I'm starting to find a pattern in the way Veterans write.
    more
  • Rowan
    January 1, 1970
    If you haven’t already seen Admiral William McRaven’s 2014 speech to the graduating class of the University of Texas – check it out. It definitely had a profoundly positive effect on me when I first saw it. I wish I had received a speech like that when I graduated! But luckily now, we have a book by this man instead!Make Your Bed is a small-sized book that is big in heart. It’s a quick read, yet an inspirational one too. I kept imagining McRaven narrating the book to me like in his University of If you haven’t already seen Admiral William McRaven’s 2014 speech to the graduating class of the University of Texas – check it out. It definitely had a profoundly positive effect on me when I first saw it. I wish I had received a speech like that when I graduated! But luckily now, we have a book by this man instead!Make Your Bed is a small-sized book that is big in heart. It’s a quick read, yet an inspirational one too. I kept imagining McRaven narrating the book to me like in his University of Texas speech.The book is divided into chapters with a “life lesson” McRaven learned from his days as a Navy SEAL. They are the same life lessons as featured in his speech, yet often with different examples which are just as inspiring while further illustrating his points.Taken by themselves, the life lessons might not make much sense without the accompanying story. For example, “If you want to change the world, don’t be afraid of the circus.” No, Admiral McRaven isn’t talking about clowns or the trapeze here. “The Circus” was the name given to an additional 2 hours of intense SEAL training at the end of the day. If you made that list, it was because you had failed something during the day. It’s basically a story about how failure builds resilience and strength.Other words of wisdom throughout the book touch on: ‘measuring a person only by the size of their heart’, ‘respecting others’, ‘the importance of teamwork in getting through life’, ‘no matter how hard you try, you will still sometimes fail in life’, ‘slide down obstacles head first’, ‘stand up to bullies through courage’, ‘be your best in life’s darkest moments’, ‘start singing when up to your neck in mud', 'give people hope and lift up those around you’.There are many excellent triumph-over-adversity stories. One of my favourite was centered around the “never, ever quit” chapter, featuring a young double-amputee Army ranger. The mental image of him communicating “I – will – be okay” via sign language while in his hospital bed was quite moving.Admiral McRaven's famous speech is included at the end of Make Your Bed, though it does repeat many stories already featured in the book. I wish the book had been longer, perhaps expanding on the list of life lessons he learned as a Navy SEAL – because I’m sure there would have been countless more!I grew up in the 90s obsessed with Steven Seagal movies and the Naval TV series, JAG. So it figures that life advice given by a Navy SEAL would resonate stronger with me than most other sources. Because of Admiral McRaven, I now start every day with a task completed (my bed looks awesome!) and I can safely say this small thing has made a positive difference – so he knows what he’s talking about!“At some point we will all confront a dark moment in life. If not the passing of a loved one, then something else that crushes your spirit and leaves you wondering about the future. In that dark moment, reach inside yourself and be your very best.”
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    This was one of those books that (if you have read the blurb) is exactly what you expect it to be. The book is based on a speech that Admiral McRaven made for the graduating class at The University of Texas at Austin in 2014. The speech is included at the end of the book, which I initially thought was kind of redundant, but it is actually way shorter and less detailed than I anticipated after having read the book - which is like a fleshed out, in depth version.The book is structured as 10 things This was one of those books that (if you have read the blurb) is exactly what you expect it to be. The book is based on a speech that Admiral McRaven made for the graduating class at The University of Texas at Austin in 2014. The speech is included at the end of the book, which I initially thought was kind of redundant, but it is actually way shorter and less detailed than I anticipated after having read the book - which is like a fleshed out, in depth version.The book is structured as 10 things of the title, which the author believes are small actions that will change your life for the better. These are based on lessons McRaven learnt during his time training to be and working as a Navy SEAL. I love non-fiction, particularly learning about professions I know nothing about, so it was fascinating to learn a little bit about what the SEAL training involves.As expected, the advice McRaven gives is that kind of "look out for your friends", the "make your bed" of the title (I have to agree with him on that one) - the kind of things we know we should do but sometimes forget to. There wasn't anything especially groundbreaking in here, but with advice interspersed with stories of his time as a SEAL made it that bit more interesting.
    more
  • Ryan Lackey
    January 1, 1970
    This is a short, well presented set of standard life advice, but it is a great example of why some advice is always repeated — because it is correct and largely optimal. McRaven uses examples from his military career, and frequently from SEAL BUD/S training, to illustrate otherwise generic advice. I’m not sure if I prefer the “long” 90 minute version presented in the book or the delivered 14 minute commencement speech which was the inspiration for the book (and included in the book).Audiobook re This is a short, well presented set of standard life advice, but it is a great example of why some advice is always repeated — because it is correct and largely optimal. McRaven uses examples from his military career, and frequently from SEAL BUD/S training, to illustrate otherwise generic advice. I’m not sure if I prefer the “long” 90 minute version presented in the book or the delivered 14 minute commencement speech which was the inspiration for the book (and included in the book).Audiobook read by the author and seems to be the natural format.
    more
  • Susan
    January 1, 1970
    great points. Interesting that the Admiral believes that starting with something -- like making your bed -- helps propel you thru the day into doing other tasks until you can bite off something big and meaningful. I think he is onto something here.
  • Zhong En
    January 1, 1970
    “sometimes the simple act of making your bed can give you the lift you need to start your day and provide you the satisfaction to end it right.”A short read, packs with ideas and life lessons
  • Mehrsa
    January 1, 1970
    Sure. It's good advice if you want to be SEAL or if you're just graduating college. But there isn't really nuance. Make your bed. Saddam Hussein didn't. Never quit. Really?
  • John of Canada
    January 1, 1970
    I got this after seeing Admiral McRaven interviewed.After reading it I viewed his commencement speech at The U of Texas,and several other videos and stories.Fabulous man,smart encouraging book.
  • Christina/ The Blog for Teachers, Readers, & Life!
    January 1, 1970
    Make Your Bed: Little Things That Can Change Your Life…And Maybe the WorldBy: Admiral William H. McRaven (U.S. Navy Retired)Publisher: Grand Central PublishingDate: April 2017Nonfiction, Life Skills, Inspirational, Navy Plus(es): Admiral McRaven (Retired) Gives concrete examples of life skills lessons, Short chapters move the book along at a good pace, Great reading for High School Students and reluctant readersMake Your Bed: Little Things that can Change Your Life … and Maybe the World clearly Make Your Bed: Little Things That Can Change Your Life…And Maybe the WorldBy: Admiral William H. McRaven (U.S. Navy Retired)Publisher: Grand Central PublishingDate: April 2017Nonfiction, Life Skills, Inspirational, Navy Plus(es): Admiral McRaven (Retired) Gives concrete examples of life skills lessons, Short chapters move the book along at a good pace, Great reading for High School Students and reluctant readersMake Your Bed: Little Things that can Change Your Life … and Maybe the World clearly illustrates, through Admiral McRaven’s actual experiences as a Navy SEAL, how to handle the challenges of getting through life successfully. It is easy to see why this book has become a sensation and has won many accolades. (Retired) Admiral McRaven does not sugar coat the hardships he experienced as a Navy SEAL.The crux of this book is based off the premise that completing a task at the beginning of the day, such as making your bed, daily establishes routine and order. This constant will help you through arduous times. Through explicit examples from McRaven’s time with the Navy SEALs, he explains some essential life lessons. Some of these lessons include: failures can make you stronger if you persevere, trust your abilities and take some risks, and dig deep for courage because without it, the bullies of the world will take over. Read the book if you want to know the meaning behind the saying, “Don’t ever ring the bell!”Life is not fair is a reality for all of us. However, McRaven does a remarkable job summarizing how we can still endure. This is definitely a worthwhile read! Inspiring!Awards/Recognition(s): #1 New York Times Bestseller & Amazon Bestseller
    more
  • Jo
    January 1, 1970
    Retired Admiral McRaven offers sage advice that can be used by all people when dealing with difficult times. My favorite came from his chapter, Stand Up to the Bullies:"Without courage, men will be ruled by tyrants and despots. Without courage, no great society can flourish. Without courage, the bullies of the world rise up. With it, you can accomplish any goal. With it, you can defy and defeat evil.''
    more
  • ||Swaroop||
    January 1, 1970
    "If you cannot do the simple things right, then you can never do the big things right"simple, short, clear, refreshing and straight forward! No Jargons, No BS :) A highly recommended read for everyone. And, it all starts with making your bed.Thank you General McRaven!
    more
  • Andrew
    January 1, 1970
    Clear, simple, practical, achievable advice. Nothing new. Just common sense plainly delivered.
  • Siavash Fathali
    January 1, 1970
    بد نبود.با اینکه خیلی تبلیغاتی و آمریکا پرستانه بود، اما پاراگرافهایی هم پیدا میشد که ارزش تفکر داشته باشند.وقت کردید بخوانید.
Write a review