Too Close to Call (Romancing the Clarksons, #3.5)
All-American wide receiver Kyler Tate’s life is about to change. A fairytale college career skyrocketed him to the NFL draft. Adoration and opportunity are thrown in his direction wherever he goes, thanks to being chosen in the first round by the Los Angeles Rage. None of the accolades mean anything, though, without his high school sweetheart, Bree Sutton, by his side. Four years ago, she walked away from Kyler, choosing a quiet life over the flash and notoriety his career would someday bring. Now he’s back in their Indiana hometown, refusing to leave for Los Angeles without her. Demanding she give their life together a shot. Her heart never stopped bleeding for the love of her life, but Bree’s decision was final. Too bad their wild attraction has only been amplified by their separation, and Kyler won’t quit until Bree is wearing his ring.

Too Close to Call (Romancing the Clarksons, #3.5) Details

TitleToo Close to Call (Romancing the Clarksons, #3.5)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Sports Romance, Contemporary, New Adult

Too Close to Call (Romancing the Clarksons, #3.5) Review

  • Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾
    September 25, 2016
    4 STARS What happens later?” Kyler moved in and brushed his lips along her jawline. “Depends on how good of friends we want to be.” One hand lifted to squeeze her hip, slow and possessive, that low voice directly against her ear. “Me, Bree? All due respect, I want to be the kind of friend who takes your panties home in his pocket. The kind of friend who sucks your lower lip until your fingers start fumbling with his zipper. You need a friend like that?” His labored breath matched hers. “Because 4 STARS What happens later?” Kyler moved in and brushed his lips along her jawline. “Depends on how good of friends we want to be.” One hand lifted to squeeze her hip, slow and possessive, that low voice directly against her ear. “Me, Bree? All due respect, I want to be the kind of friend who takes your panties home in his pocket. The kind of friend who sucks your lower lip until your fingers start fumbling with his zipper. You need a friend like that?” His labored breath matched hers. “Because trust me when I say I’ll be your best fucking friend.” All of the pervy shudders! ALL OF THEM! Tessa Bailey scores another touchdown with her latest installment in the Romancing The Clarksons series and I couldn't be more satisfied. There is nothing better than a swoony second chance romance for me...unless that second chance romance is written by the queen of dirty talk! So color me one happy reader here, because GAH!I've been hoping that Kyler will get a book ever since he was first introduced in Too Hard to Forget. The sweet southern boy with a heart of gold drafted into the NFL thanks to his college coach also known as The Kingmaker. But all that wasn't what intrigued me about him. It was this echo of sadness that drew me to him. It was hints a man with a broken heart that completely sucked me in.Back in high school Kyler Tate and Bree Sutton were inseperable; high school sweethearts with their entire life ahead of them...until it wasn't. Bree broke Kyler's heart but he's never forgotten or gotten over the first and only girl that stole his heart. Now he's back in town before he has to go to training and he's determined that this time will be different. This time, he'll get the NFL dream AND the girl and he's not afraid to fight dirty to get it. There’s only us, Bree.” He shook his head. “The rest is just noise.” Kyler goes after Bree with singleminded intent. He'll woo her into being his friend again and then he'll slowly break it to her that he's still madly in love with her. If only Bree wasn't convinced that their dreams are too different and her life is meant for the small town while his is under the bright lights of a stadium; a light she doesn't see herself sharing.Too Close To Call was a ridiculously sweet and swoony romance. Kyler was everything I thought he'd be and yet so much more. With the perfect mix of dirty and sexy, this man was pure temptation with a heart of gold. He loved Bree fiercely and no matter how many years they spent apart, that never faded. You can practically cut the sexual tension between them with a knife.This was the perfect read to spend a weekend with. It's short yet incredibly satisfying; packed full of feeling and oh so steamy! I can't wait for the next one but this was the perfect read to tide me over until Sage and Belmont's book.ARC courtesy of publisher in exchange for an honest reviewFind me on:
    more
  • Gi's Spot Reviews
    June 12, 2017
    Tessa Bailey complete and utterly blew my mind with Too Close To Call. Talk about the PERFECT second chance romance! With Kyler and Bree’s story, Ms. Bailey proved how a novella could pack a whole world of feelings, that normally we relate to a full length novel. Too Close to Call was the perfect emotional and sexy punch to add to this already amazing series. So much so, that it became my favorite of the Romancing The Clarkson series!We met Kyler in Too Hard to Forget – but fear not, if you have Tessa Bailey complete and utterly blew my mind with Too Close To Call. Talk about the PERFECT second chance romance! With Kyler and Bree’s story, Ms. Bailey proved how a novella could pack a whole world of feelings, that normally we relate to a full length novel. Too Close to Call was the perfect emotional and sexy punch to add to this already amazing series. So much so, that it became my favorite of the Romancing The Clarkson series!We met Kyler in Too Hard to Forget – but fear not, if you haven’t read the previous one, you can still enjoy and understand the whole plot – where we got a glimpse of his broken heart, and the love he still had for Bree, his high school sweetheart.Truth be told, she was so much more than that. So, when Kyler comes to a pillar moment in his professional career, he realizes he needs Bree to really live.Bree didn’t want to break Kyler’s – and her – heart, four years prior, but she couldn’t leave her hometown and family behind, for a very valid reason, to follow their dreams. So, she had to break them up, and stay behind, setting Kyler free to pursue him football career. She thought time would heal them both, but a love like that can’t be forgotten. Fast forwarding four years, after Kyler’s big revelation, he decides to go get his girl, and he won’t take no for answer, and won’t leave his hometown without her.No one spoke, moved, smiled, smelled like her.“And you were the exception. Not the other way around. That’s why I brought flowers and shook your daddy’s hand at the door. I knew there’d never be another Bree Justice.”I have to say Kyler went straight to my top 3 fav Tessa Bailey heroes! This man, even in is young age is EVERYTHING!!! I’m talking full on swoon-worthy, panty-melting, heart-thumping, sigh-inducing male material here. No wonder Bree never even though of moving on. With a man like this, who could forget?Jesus, he loved her. Couldn’t she see it? That he would never love another woman as long as they both lived?No other woman had ever elicited the smallest percentage of his body’s reaction to Bree. Not ever. No one ever would, either, because his heart was connected to every part of him. His heart knew what it wanted and it wouldn’t waver.“Bree,” he croaked, pressure pushing inward on his skull. “Fuck, Bree. I almost died from missing you.” “I’m sorry. I’m sorry.”See what I meant? Perfect male character! And all this loyalty and devotion, coupled with the most delicious and smoking hot package, Bree didn’t stand a chance to deny him.Kyler had so many ledges, cuts, and bulges of muscle, Bree had the urge to strap on a harness and scale him like a rock climbing wall.But even so, Bree’s fears and doubt remained the same, even after this time apart, so Tyler knew he had to use every single weapon in his arsenal to be able to convince Bree to give them another chance. He wouldn’t accept no for an answer, when it came to their life together.“I’ve loved you as far back as my memory reaches. I will never fucking stop. I came to town for one damn reason, Bree. So I could leave here with my wife. You.”Of course with a palpable, scorchingly HOT chemistry and magnetism like their, there wasn’t much Bree could deny. She was unable to resist it or Kyler filthy-talking mouth, that, FYI, it should come with a warning. Yes, we are talking about Tessa Bailey here, the ‘Queen of Dirty Talking’, but seriously: O…M…G!!!!!“Had to find a different spot every week because we’d wear the grass down to nothing. From fucking on top of it. Wouldn’t we, Bree?”“We never did this quietly, did we?” Kyler’s voice sounded just as unnatural as hers when he responded. “A man can’t stay silent when he’s wrapped up in something so tight.”“What other mercies can I earn from you today?” Kyler rasped. “If you’ve already forgotten how I beg for that mercy, my tongue is dying to show you.”And these are just three examples, because believe me, I feel like I highlighted most of the book, either due to his wicked mouth or his heartfelt declarations! I seriously recommend this book to every romance reader out there. I couldn’t have loved it any more, and I can say it, with how particular I am with second chance stories, that I wouldn’t change a single word. It was written perfection! In this short read we go through all the feels and all the emotions, and by the end you’ll be guaranteed to have a warm heart, a delicious tingling throughout your body and a happy buzz that will no soon leave. Now I’m more than ready for Belmont and Sage’s story, Too Beautiful to Break. Can’t wait!!! <3 <3 <3 <3 <3“What about what you want?” “I want us,” he rasped. “I’ll build everything else around that. That has been my plan since age thirteen. It just got delayed.”Commitment was in the way they looked at one another. Not a damn thing, especially some days apart, could test their bond. It was airtight. ARC kindly provided by the author via InkSlinger PR for an honest review For full review with Release Day Launch, check out my Blog post,http://gisspotreviews.com/index.php/2...
    more
  • Alyssa
    June 3, 2017
    ***Review to come***Perfect.
  • Bubu
    June 13, 2017
    I don't think I'll be finishing Julianna Keyes' newest novel until I get back home, so time for some novellas. And my first grab went straight into a shit bucket.You know when there's actually no conflict in the first place, but one of the MC's start to think they couldn't be possibly so selfish as to hold the other person back from achieving his/her goals and then break up, only for them to re-unite years later. Yeah, Too Close Too Call is one of those. But not only that. The MC's themselves bo I don't think I'll be finishing Julianna Keyes' newest novel until I get back home, so time for some novellas. And my first grab went straight into a shit bucket.You know when there's actually no conflict in the first place, but one of the MC's start to think they couldn't be possibly so selfish as to hold the other person back from achieving his/her goals and then break up, only for them to re-unite years later. Yeah, Too Close Too Call is one of those. But not only that. The MC's themselves bored me to tears. They were that perfect. And the killer? So, they were apart for 4 years and never went for other people but they were officially - and unofficially - not together. It's so en vogue these days, I'm starting to roll my eyes by now. Anyway, so when he finally tells her that he's been 'celibate' (that word makes me want to gag and he's not using it either but it's what it's implied), she is simply just over the moon that 'he's been faithful to her.' Never mind that she broke up with him initially. Who cares? All that matters is that 'he's been faithful to her.' And what if not? I wish he hadn't been. I wish he had slept his way through college. Because that's his right. As it's her right to do the same. Nooooooo, We Must Have Celibate Heroines And Heroes!No, Ms Bailey, not you too please. Please. When two people (very young people, about 18ish) break up and try to get over their heartbreak, try to move on, even try to make new experiences with other people, it's called gathering life experience. There's nothing slutty or manwhory about it. It's what - most - people do. They. Move. On. Or at least try. And if they happen to meet again and then decide 'nope, we were always meant to be together', no harm done.But please, pretty please, with lots of cherry on top, I'm sick to death of this moralistic and judgemental portrayal of 'having been faithful' when there's no reason not to try to move on. IT'S CALLED LIFE! And to all those who say 'but oh, if I wanted real life, I wouldn't read romances in the first place', I'd say 'fair enough but I like my romances with at least a little touch of realism.'I love this author, so I'll just file it under 'hiccup' and pray to the Gods of Writing/Authors/Creativity/Whatever that this is a one off.
    more
  • Lacey (Booklovers For Life)
    June 4, 2017
    Seriously the sweetest second chance romance ever. I adored Kyler and Bree!! I almost wish Tessa Bailey wrote more of them. Review to come!Thanks to the publisher for generously providing me an ARC to review.
  • Michelle
    September 3, 2016
    ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review Sigh… Tessa Bailey writes romance like no other!!!!! Too Close to Call is the latest installment to the Romancing the Clarksons Series and it was everything that I could have wanted. It was so dreamy, sweet, heartfelt, sexy, and full of charm. I would trade anything that happened on the field over the last four years…” He spoke in a rough whisper against her ear. “…to keep that kiss we just had from fading away. You hear me, Bree Caroline ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review Sigh… Tessa Bailey writes romance like no other!!!!! Too Close to Call is the latest installment to the Romancing the Clarksons Series and it was everything that I could have wanted. It was so dreamy, sweet, heartfelt, sexy, and full of charm. I would trade anything that happened on the field over the last four years…” He spoke in a rough whisper against her ear. “…to keep that kiss we just had from fading away. You hear me, Bree Caroline?”Kyler Tate is an All-American football player, who has recently been drafted to NFL. His dreams of playing in the pros is becoming a reality but there is something missing. His girl. The girl that means everything to him. And this time Kyler will stop at nothing in making her dreams and his a reality. Bree Sutton walked away from Kyler Tate so he could pursue his dreams of college football and the big bright lights. Now that he has returned back, Bree is in for a shock as Kyler, this time makes it known to Bree that he ain’t going back to LA without her. She is his dream. His home. His forever. So how far will Kyler go to prove to Bree that four years apart didn’t change his heart and that he will stop at nothing in reminding Bree that she is his supergirl? Where in this barn can I fill up the pussy I was born to satisfy? Give me an answer, supergirl. Going to take off my jeans and wear you instead.”Seriously, Tessa Bailey has me swooning like a teenage girl. Kyler Tate was so dreamy and I couldn’t help but smile like a fool every time I see him interact with Bree. That man was so intoxicating. Swoon! Honestly, if you are looking for a book that packs heat, charm, second chances and a whole lot of passion and heart then I highly recommend you to read this book. Tessa Bailey
    more
  • Mandy
    May 30, 2017
    This novella was an awesome addition to this series. We met Kyler Tate in Too Hard to Forget. He was a star football player for Coach Elliott Brooks. We open Kyler's story as he's being drafted into the NFL, and suddenly everything he's worked for means nothing to him. Not without his girl there to share it with him. Bree Justice. His one and only since they met in middle school. They were inseparable until prom night when she said it's over. 4 years later is long enough, and he's ready to get h This novella was an awesome addition to this series. We met Kyler Tate in Too Hard to Forget. He was a star football player for Coach Elliott Brooks. We open Kyler's story as he's being drafted into the NFL, and suddenly everything he's worked for means nothing to him. Not without his girl there to share it with him. Bree Justice. His one and only since they met in middle school. They were inseparable until prom night when she said it's over. 4 years later is long enough, and he's ready to get her back. No matter what. Bree has always felt horrible about the way she ended things with Kyler. He was it for her--her person, but she knew she couldn't leave her family and run off to college with Kyler. Her mother had left them years before to find bigger and better things for her life, so Bree followed in her fathers footsteps and took over the family Veterinary practice. She makes house calls to farms and houses in the area. She was content. Happy even--until Kyler returns to Bloomfield to claim what he lost all those years ago. Her. Kyler says he won't go to Los Angeles-the home of his new NFL team-without her, but nothing has changed for Bree. She still feels like she can't leave, but Kyler is determined to help her understand that they belong together. Even if he has to stay where she is to be happy. Their story of realizing that it's ok to branch out and be happy without abandoning the home roots they love just gives me all the feels. I loved the sweet and swoony feel to this book. Trust me, Bailey brings the heat as usual. Kyler is quite the dirty talker, but the pure joy these two had just being in each other's presence was beautiful. Their connection was so strong, and every word that Kyler said mattered. His words had purpose. I adored the love Bree had for her family and town. Her journey of discovering what a strong woman she'd become over the years without Kyler was great to watch unfold. These two were a delight to experience. Another wonderful read by Tessa Bailey. I love that she brings us variety. This fun, sweet read was just what their relationship was all about. Their connection ran deep, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Kyler and Bree's reunion.
    more
  • Corina
    June 6, 2017
    When I read the blurb I knew that I would enjoy this novella.It was sweet and swoony.Kyler Tate, after signing a contract with a football team in Los Angeles, traveled to his hometown to convince his highschool sweetheart to give them another chance. After four years of being apart, he realized that a life without Bree Sutton was no life at all. For Kyler it had always been the plan to marry Bree. They belonged together. She just had to be convinced about that.And convincing her he did. In a ver When I read the blurb I knew that I would enjoy this novella.It was sweet and swoony.Kyler Tate, after signing a contract with a football team in Los Angeles, traveled to his hometown to convince his highschool sweetheart to give them another chance. After four years of being apart, he realized that a life without Bree Sutton was no life at all. For Kyler it had always been the plan to marry Bree. They belonged together. She just had to be convinced about that.And convincing her he did. In a very sweet and all-American kind of way.Small town America does it for me every single time.Bree and Kyler had been THE couple in high-school. There had not been any doubt for anyone that they belonged together. Only when it was time for both of them to go to college, Bree decided to stay and help her dad with their family and business.It broke their hearts.The love and devotion that Kyler felt for Bree and vice versa was palpable. Even though Bree and Kyler hadn’t been around each other much during the last four years, NOTHING had changed about their feelings for each other. Leaving had paused their relationship, but never destroyed their love.I adored this novella. It was one of those happy, feel-good books that just work for me. Tessa Bailey is a wonderful writer, who is known for her sexy novels. I love her quick-witted characters and captivating plot lines.For more of my reviews:My Blog: Happily Ever AfterFacebook Blog PageTwitterSubscribe to Blog
    more
  • Courtney
    June 13, 2017
    Tessa Bailey quickly became one of my favorite authors when I was introduced to her books about two years ago. I have thoroughly enjoyed every single book of hers that I read. But I have to be honest and say that this novella is probably by far my favorite from her.Too Close To Call is part of the 1,001 Dark Nights stories and her book features Kyler, whom we met in the third book of Tessa' Romancing the Clarksons series. He's a sweet, good ol' country boy with a huge future in football. But non Tessa Bailey quickly became one of my favorite authors when I was introduced to her books about two years ago. I have thoroughly enjoyed every single book of hers that I read. But I have to be honest and say that this novella is probably by far my favorite from her.Too Close To Call is part of the 1,001 Dark Nights stories and her book features Kyler, whom we met in the third book of Tessa' Romancing the Clarksons series. He's a sweet, good ol' country boy with a huge future in football. But none of that matters without his high school sweetheart, Bree; the high school sweetheart who broke his heart when she ended things right as he went away for college.Tessa wrote these characters perfectly. Their mannerisms, the way they talk, how they interact with in their hometown, it just makes the story all the more real. I could so easily picture everything as if I was watching this book play out before. That's what helped me love this book all the more. When I met Kyler in Too Hard To Forget, I was praying that he would get some sort of story. And Tessa melted my heart with this book. Kyler and Bree's story is one that know has happened before in real life. It's real, raw and natural and everything played out beautifully. I love these two characters - they are strong individually but together, they are force to be reckoned with. Oh and don't let me sweet and saccharine review fool you - these two get pretty damn hot and heavy. And Kyler shocked me with his naughty mouth. Too Close To Call is that sweet, hometown story that you want to get lost in. You will find yourself routing for their HEA and feeling a little hot too when these stop holding back.
    more
  • Shayna
    June 1, 2017
    Excuse me while I go scream into a pillow right now! OMG! I was so freaking excited to hear that we were getting a Romancing the Clarksons' novella from Tessa Bailey and 1001 Dark Nights, and I was also ecstatic that it was going to be Kyler Tate's story! As you can tell, I've already DEVOURED this book, but I'm still SO FREAKING EXCITED for everyone to get their hands on this! Nobody does mouth-watering, shiver-inducing contemporary romance like Tessa Bailey, NO ONE! I was just sad that I consu Excuse me while I go scream into a pillow right now! OMG! I was so freaking excited to hear that we were getting a Romancing the Clarksons' novella from Tessa Bailey and 1001 Dark Nights, and I was also ecstatic that it was going to be Kyler Tate's story! As you can tell, I've already DEVOURED this book, but I'm still SO FREAKING EXCITED for everyone to get their hands on this! Nobody does mouth-watering, shiver-inducing contemporary romance like Tessa Bailey, NO ONE! I was just sad that I consumed this book so quickly, because I immediately wanted MORE! "All due respect. I want to be the kind of friend who takes your panties home in his pocket. The kind of friend who sucks your lower lip until your fingers start fumbling with his zipper. You need a friend like that? Because trust me when I say I'll be your best fucking friend." I just want to take a minute to worship the ground that the gorgeous and swoon Kyler Tate walks on. I mean...HOT DAMN people! His brand of charm had me searching for a new pair of panties STAT! He is devoted, passionate, sexy, and charming, and I couldn't get enough of this man! You could immediately tell that his love for his high school sweetheart, Bree Sutton, was so deep and so true, and so damn sweet. Four years trying to live without her has taken its toll but he is back and he isn't leaving and starting his childhood dream, until his forever dream is on the same page. TOO CLOSE TO CALL was so DREAMY...so INTOXICATING...so BEAUTIFUL, I never wanted it to end, but when it did end, my heart was so full and my soul was so complete, I knew that Tessa Bailey has once again, ran away with my heart.
    more
  • Sherry
    June 8, 2017
    Damn near perfection for a novella! Sweet, sexy and my all time favorite trope... second chance romance, this one at its best.When you see that a book is a novella the same questions come to mind each time: Will I get enough back story? Will there be enough build up that I get the whole story without feeling like I am missing too much? Will it be all sexy times no substance? Will there not be enough sexy times?? That's a HUGE mountain of IF's that an author faces writing a shorter than their nor Damn near perfection for a novella! Sweet, sexy and my all time favorite trope... second chance romance, this one at its best.When you see that a book is a novella the same questions come to mind each time: Will I get enough back story? Will there be enough build up that I get the whole story without feeling like I am missing too much? Will it be all sexy times no substance? Will there not be enough sexy times?? That's a HUGE mountain of IF's that an author faces writing a shorter than their normal story. So it stands that a novella is probably harder to write than a full blown novella. Where am I going with this you ask???Well Ms Tessa Bailey has delivered in SPADES the whole package. This little nugget of romance has checks across the board for the all important questions. Kyler: simply an amazing hero who has the sweet and heat in perfect proportion. Bree: the sweetest most adorably loyal and loving of heroines. Chemistry that is right there in the forefront and only enhances the romance of this story.I am completely enamored with the Clarkson series and this jewel goes right in the crown of a glorious series by one of my favorite authors, Tessa Bailey. The 1001 Dark Knights series always produces the best novellas in each of their choices in authors. You really cannot go wrong in choosing to pick up any of these books. Tessa rocked this one as I knew she would.Happy Reading~ Sherry Email: [email protected]: http://jezabellgirlandfriends.comFacebook: http://facebook.com/jezabellgirlandfr...Twitter: http://twitter.com/Jezabell_girlTumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/jezabellg...Google+: http://google.com/+JezabellGirlPinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/JezabellGirlInstagram: https://www.instagram.com/jezabell_girl
    more
  • Kahea
    June 7, 2017
    ***4.5 ‘Team Kyler’ Stars*** I loved Kyler in Too Hard to Forget and after finding out about his own heartbreak I was crossing my toes that we’d somehow, someway get a book about him getting a second chance with the girl who owned his heart, because that was how much of an impact he made on me. So, when Too Close to Call was announced I swear I did the whole fangirl squee-ing with happy dancing tossed into the mix and I was not disappointed! It was quick, fun read with with all kinds of sweet, ***4.5 ‘Team Kyler’ Stars*** I loved Kyler in Too Hard to Forget and after finding out about his own heartbreak I was crossing my toes that we’d somehow, someway get a book about him getting a second chance with the girl who owned his heart, because that was how much of an impact he made on me. So, when Too Close to Call was announced I swear I did the whole fangirl squee-ing with happy dancing tossed into the mix and I was not disappointed! It was quick, fun read with with all kinds of sweet, smexy and heart.Kyler is all kinds of sweet and charming. Mix that with a healthy dose of determination, a bit of sneakiness and a heart of gold, not to mention smexy without trying and the man is lethal. Bree is intelligent, driven and all about her family. She has a shy side, but there is fire beneath it that comes out with just the right amount of prodding. Their second chance story was sweet and smexy and fun and as much as I thought I’d want to hate on Bree, I couldn’t. She had her reasons and was hurting as much as Kyler and when they were together, the connection between them was undeniable in every way. While you don’t have to read all the books in the Romancing the Clarksons series to enjoy Kyler and Bree’s story, I do think that diving into Too Hard to Forget would make the read that much more enjoyable. Overall this was a fun, quick read and while I think that the novella does Ky and Bree justice, I do wish we could spend just a little more time with them because they were a lot of fun to get to know.~ Copy provided by InkSlinger PR ~
    more
  • Laura
    June 12, 2017
    ***ARC Provided by InkSlinger PR***Kyler and Bree were high school sweethearts and then, as life does right at the end of high school, life got in the way. we have all been there, the relationships that fade away when you no longer have the commonality of attending the same high school.Kyler goes off to school, Bree stays at home to help her father. And, their lives don't really follow a compatible path. Partly because, as you find out quickly, Bree decided to end their relationship before Kyler ***ARC Provided by InkSlinger PR***Kyler and Bree were high school sweethearts and then, as life does right at the end of high school, life got in the way. we have all been there, the relationships that fade away when you no longer have the commonality of attending the same high school.Kyler goes off to school, Bree stays at home to help her father. And, their lives don't really follow a compatible path. Partly because, as you find out quickly, Bree decided to end their relationship before Kyler left for school, knowing he was destined for great things and feeling like she would hold him back.The story open with the NFL draft when Kyler realizes he is on the brink of having it all, and it doesn't mean anything without Bree. So, he decides that he needs to get her back, that he doesn't want to continue to move forward without her.So, what to do? Well, you go get the girl. As this was a novella, he gets the girl rather quickly, but you believe their connection and that they are drawn to one another.Tessa Bailey writes great characters, the sex is hot, the dialog is believable and (if you have read her, you will know where this is going) she writes the hottest dirty talk of really anyone. And, it's in this one. Let's just be honest, this is one of the reasons you read her, because you know you are going to need a cold drink and a fan.Get your drink, your fan and settle in for an enjoyable shorter story.I recommend this title.
    more
  • Dísir
    June 13, 2017
    Kyler burst onto the scene in Brooks's book and immediately I knew there was a story there that I wanted to read. 'Too Close to Call' is one that got me, not just because of the devotion of this soon-to-be football star, but his single-mindedness about wanting to get the love of his life back once and for all, despite Bree having ended it all 4 years ago. With the tons of manwhores in college sports peppering the books these days in search of commitment-free hookups, Kyler stands out like some s Kyler burst onto the scene in Brooks's book and immediately I knew there was a story there that I wanted to read. 'Too Close to Call' is one that got me, not just because of the devotion of this soon-to-be football star, but his single-mindedness about wanting to get the love of his life back once and for all, despite Bree having ended it all 4 years ago. With the tons of manwhores in college sports peppering the books these days in search of commitment-free hookups, Kyler stands out like some shining gem in the mud because he could never let Bree go. I did sort of wish that he'd tried to get on with it given the way she'd so callously broke things off with the intention of never seeing him again, just as I wished Bree had more gumption and chutzpah to fight for their relationship the way he did. That she'd stayed on the fence the whole time up until the end made me wonder about if she thought Kyler less important than her supposed duty to the family coupled with the flimsy excuse that she was only holding him back.My only complaint really is how Tessa Bailey manages to make every hero of hers into an alpha, dirty-talking male though...to the point where they become indistinguishable in the way they burn up the sheets. Somehow the couple in question lose their distinct identities when they finally have sex (it inevitably ends up with a woman panting and begging and a man talking her ear off) only to regain these after the heights of orgasm are reached. Kyler/Bree in this case, could be Elliott/Peggy or even Ginger/Derek or anyone else and I wouldn't have been able to tell the difference, which is a far cry from the earnest, determined college student I first encountered in 'Too Hard to Forget'. Yet 'Too Close to Call' is short, rather satisfying read nonetheless, perhaps only because I thought Kyler deserved what he searched for all these years. At least it has the straightforward sort of clarity that I couldn't quite get from this series from the very start, and that's good enough for me.
    more
  • Emma
    June 15, 2017
    We first met Kyler in Too Hard to Forget when Peggy and Elliott helped save the star quarterbacks family home from repossession. Kyler isn’t your typical hotshot jock, he’s a family man to his core; selfless, caring, compassionate and considerate. Kyler is a unicorn.When is career dreams come true and he is drafted for the NFL, Kyler realises that his dreams are nothing without the woman he loves. the same woman who shredded his heart when he left for college, tearing all of their plans and hope We first met Kyler in Too Hard to Forget when Peggy and Elliott helped save the star quarterbacks family home from repossession. Kyler isn’t your typical hotshot jock, he’s a family man to his core; selfless, caring, compassionate and considerate. Kyler is a unicorn.When is career dreams come true and he is drafted for the NFL, Kyler realises that his dreams are nothing without the woman he loves. the same woman who shredded his heart when he left for college, tearing all of their plans and hopes for the future apart. Determined to win back the love of his life, Kyler returns to his hometown with the intent of getting Bree to become a permenant part of his future.Bree has struggled with her decision to let Kyler go, in an act of utter selflessness, Bree let go of all her personal aspirations to help her father with his itinerary practice. Bree has taken on the responsibility of matriarch in her family following her mothers departure and subsequent struggle to cope as a family. Bree;s emotional battle is something she has internalised and transformed her into what can only be described as a martyr. Bree destroyed her own happiness in order to prove she is not following in her mother’s footsteps of shirking her obligations, even though the responsibilities are not hers to shoulder.It is obvious that Kyler and Bree have something special that has not diminished in their time apart. Each interaction adds to the bonds between them. I adored Kyler and his unwavering belief in their relationship. When you have something that special you do not let it go without giving it everything you have.Too Close to Call is a heart warming look at how true love can overcome any obstacle. Kyler and Bree are a wonderful example of what such an elusive commodity really is ♥
    more
  • Romance Readers Retreat
    June 12, 2017
    4.5 StarsTessa Bailey gives us another addition to her Romancing the Clarkson series in the form of a second chance romance novella.We first meet Kyler in Too Hard to Forget. He was one of Elliott's star players. He has shot to success and is headed for even more thanks to being a first round NFL draft pick, but success, fame and money mean nothing to him without his high school sweetheart. Bree left Kyler because she wanted a quiet life and was afraid of the notoriety that would come with his e 4.5 StarsTessa Bailey gives us another addition to her Romancing the Clarkson series in the form of a second chance romance novella.We first meet Kyler in Too Hard to Forget. He was one of Elliott's star players. He has shot to success and is headed for even more thanks to being a first round NFL draft pick, but success, fame and money mean nothing to him without his high school sweetheart. Bree left Kyler because she wanted a quiet life and was afraid of the notoriety that would come with his eventual career. Now he's back in his hometown and making a stand. He is going to convince Bree to give their life together a chance and has no plans to leave for LA without her. Bree is determined to stay the course despite the feelings she still has and the crazy attraction that seemed even stronger after a four year absence. Good thing Kyler isn't afraid of a little hard work and won't take no for an answer.I have loved this series since book one and was so excited to have this new addition. This was such a sweet abs heartfelt second chance romance with the perfect amount of Tessa Bailey steam thrown in.
    more
  • Isha Coleman
    June 10, 2017
    Behind every story is a benevolent writer. Tessa Bailey puts her skills front and center with Bree and Kyler. With her mixture of sweet and sexy she crafts a romance that is blissfully nostalgic but also heartbreakingly honest. The boy that's haunted by the girl he can't forget. The girl that managed to break her own heart to ensue others happiness. Will the man and woman they've struggled to become continue to live with regrets? Too Close to Call is one more reason why Tessa Bailey has become a Behind every story is a benevolent writer. Tessa Bailey puts her skills front and center with Bree and Kyler. With her mixture of sweet and sexy she crafts a romance that is blissfully nostalgic but also heartbreakingly honest. The boy that's haunted by the girl he can't forget. The girl that managed to break her own heart to ensue others happiness. Will the man and woman they've struggled to become continue to live with regrets? Too Close to Call is one more reason why Tessa Bailey has become a favorite of mine in a short period of time. She leads with compassion and that is a great aphrodisiac for the soul.
    more
  • All Romance
    June 14, 2017
    Check out the full post on our blog here: http://wp.me/p2UFgV-2BCPepper's ReviewLovers! This novella was perfection!!! TBailes is the damn master at EVERYTHING and these two characters are no exception.This was the PERFECT read to start my summer off right. Sexy (as you can always expect from TBailes) and so magically swoony, this second-chance love story hit all the right spots. Second-chance romance is probably my favorite story line ever, and you guys, this was one of the best out there.Kyler Check out the full post on our blog here: http://wp.me/p2UFgV-2BCPepper's ReviewLovers! This novella was perfection!!! TBailes is the damn master at EVERYTHING and these two characters are no exception.This was the PERFECT read to start my summer off right. Sexy (as you can always expect from TBailes) and so magically swoony, this second-chance love story hit all the right spots. Second-chance romance is probably my favorite story line ever, and you guys, this was one of the best out there.Kyler and Bree were inseparable high school sweethearts that never really got over each other.Bree broke Kyler's heart because she felt she needed to choose family over going away to college with him.Now, I always get sort of (REALLY) emotional for characters that lose time with each other.Like, why did you have to break up in the first place? You could have had all this time together. However, with this story, it so needed to happen. Bree needed to be her family's rock, and Kyler needed to make life work on his own. This not only was a super sweet love story, but a coming of age book as well.Kyler goes back to the town where everything started to get Bree back. And It. Is. EVERYTHING. Like I said, this book hit right in the heart. Don't get me wrong, Kyler talks dirty, but man was this the most romantic book hero I have seen in a while.So - if you love second-chance romances, like really really good ones, you need to get this gem! TBailes is always a go-to author for us at ARR, so really lovers, it's a no brainer!!
    more
  • Lucinda Claire
    June 15, 2017
    Too Close to Call is part of the 1001 series. It's installment 3.5 of Tessa Bailey’s Romancing the Clarksons stories. Don’t worry if you haven’t read the other books; you won’t be lost. Readers met Kyler Tate in Too Hard to Forget (Romancing the Clarksons 3). Too Close to Call is Kyler and Bree’s story, and it reads beautifully as a stand-alone novella. I was hooked from page one. Did someone mention football?Kyler Tate has It all. An All-American wide receiver, and first round draft pick for th Too Close to Call is part of the 1001 series. It's installment 3.5 of Tessa Bailey’s Romancing the Clarksons stories. Don’t worry if you haven’t read the other books; you won’t be lost. Readers met Kyler Tate in Too Hard to Forget (Romancing the Clarksons 3). Too Close to Call is Kyler and Bree’s story, and it reads beautifully as a stand-alone novella. I was hooked from page one. Did someone mention football?Kyler Tate has It all. An All-American wide receiver, and first round draft pick for the Los Angeles Rage, everything Kyler has hoped for is becoming a reality. Except for one… With his NFL dream on the horizon, the only thing Kyler can think of is that none of it means a thing without Bree Justice to share it with.Bree and Kyler were inseparable. As childhood sweethearts in their small town of Bloomfield, Indiana. Kyler simply never imagined a life without Bree. He’d planned it all in his mind. They would leave Bloomfield together and attend college. Bree would focus on her pre-vet studies while Kyler built his football career. But the night of their senior prom, Kyler’s plans were crushed when Bree told him she wouldn’t be on the train to Cincinnati with him.When I pick up a Tessa Bailey romance, there are a few things I know I can expect. Romance. Well, duh. Heat. That’s a given. Dirty talk. Yes Please. Some of my favorite Tessa Bailey heroes are the rough-around-the-edges, determined tough guys. It’s always fun to see how they evolve in Tessa’s capable hands. Kyler Tate is a different kind of hero. Kyler is lovable from the start. Determined, to be sure, but with a different approach.I loved these two characters. Their interactions were authentic and believable. They were real. Perfect. Like that love young girls dream of. You just knew from the minute Kyler and Bree laid eyes on each other again that four years later, the connection was still there. Undeniable. Now all Kyler has to do is convince Bree…Five warm and fuzzy stars.
    more
  • Jillian
    June 13, 2017
    Too Close To Call is part of Tessa Bailey's Romancing the Clarksons series as well as the 10th novella in the 2017 1,001 Dark Nights lineup and holy moly, I can't even tell you how much I lover Kyler and Bree's story.First, I've gotta start this review with a confession: I totally embarrassed myself on an airplane while reading this book. True story. But I'll get to that in a minute...So we met Kyler briefly in a previous book and I knew there was something special about this guy and I knew when Too Close To Call is part of Tessa Bailey's Romancing the Clarksons series as well as the 10th novella in the 2017 1,001 Dark Nights lineup and holy moly, I can't even tell you how much I lover Kyler and Bree's story.First, I've gotta start this review with a confession: I totally embarrassed myself on an airplane while reading this book. True story. But I'll get to that in a minute...So we met Kyler briefly in a previous book and I knew there was something special about this guy and I knew when Tessa said she was writing him in this novella it was going to be damn special. Well, it was. All that and a bag of chips kind of special. I love a good second chance romance and boy, was this a doozy! These two characters are so incredible. Their past and their present are both equally complicated and simple at the same time. Complicated when you overthink all of the little things but simple when you focus on the one thing that matters most: their love for each other. I totally got why Bree was afraid to leave the small town and her family. I understood that she thought it was better to let Kyler go off and pursue his dreams alone. My heart broke for her but I understood why she did it. I also understood Kyler's need to have her back and never being able to let go of their past. She was too much a part of him...and vice versa. What all of that leads to is an emotion and heat packed story that I devoured on my flight. Oh yeah, getting back to that. So, the ending of this book was so..damn...good. Like, have a good cry, keep reading through the good cry, get to the amazing turning point, put down your kindle, close your eyes, and fist pump in the air and say "YES!" in a sort of not quiet whisper...all of which I did on the airplane. While wearing headphones. So I was probably a teeny bit louder than I should have been. Oh well! That's just what happens with a Tessa book!Thank you, Tessa, for another ridiculously awesome book. I loved Kyler and Bree so much!
    more
  • Bookgasms Book Blog
    June 13, 2017
    I fell a little bit in love with Kyler Tate in Too Hard to Forget and I was thrilled to realize I’d have a chance to learn more about him in Too Close to Call. And I was not disappointed one iota!Tessa Bailey’s ability to insert her readers right into the middle of a scene is awe inspiring. I truly felt like I was standing there next to Kyler as his name was called in the draft, when he realized how much he was truly missing his Bree. And I could feel his determination to find his way back to he I fell a little bit in love with Kyler Tate in Too Hard to Forget and I was thrilled to realize I’d have a chance to learn more about him in Too Close to Call. And I was not disappointed one iota!Tessa Bailey’s ability to insert her readers right into the middle of a scene is awe inspiring. I truly felt like I was standing there next to Kyler as his name was called in the draft, when he realized how much he was truly missing his Bree. And I could feel his determination to find his way back to her. To make her his again.And I felt all the trepidation that Bree felt as she came face-to-face with Kyler again after all their years apart. I also felt all the love and longing and fear. But so much of the love.I couldn’t help but root for Kyler and Bree to finally admit that the other was the missing piece to their future and lifelong happiness. I loved how determined Kyler was. Loved that he just kept trying to make Bree see the life they could have together. I just loved how long and thoroughly they loved each other. It was truly swoon worthy. An excellent addition to the Romancing the Clarksons series. ~ Missy, 5 stars
    more
  • books are love
    June 14, 2017
    Received in exchange for a honest review.We met Kyler in the last Clarkson book. He was the one that his coach saved his parents farm. Now he is back with his strong lovable and loyal way. He has been drafted and knows his life isn’t complete without the one he loves Bree.Bree is scared to leave her hometown. Scared to dream for more and breaks her and Kyler’s heart because of it. She is a smart sweet girl but lost due to her mom walking away.Now Kyler is back and pouring on the charm and disarm Received in exchange for a honest review.We met Kyler in the last Clarkson book. He was the one that his coach saved his parents farm. Now he is back with his strong lovable and loyal way. He has been drafted and knows his life isn’t complete without the one he loves Bree.Bree is scared to leave her hometown. Scared to dream for more and breaks her and Kyler’s heart because of it. She is a smart sweet girl but lost due to her mom walking away.Now Kyler is back and pouring on the charm and disarming her one moment at a time.The story sizzles and crackles with chemistry between these two. Kyler’s sweet kind nature and dedication and love for Bree shines through in all that he does. I love how determined he is to get Bree to see that they are meant to be together. How much he is willing to sacrifice for her is astounding. The characters are sweet and grab you from the beginning. Watching Kyler patiently show Bree his feelings and that he will be there for her no matter what but also be her guide and star was great. Bree realizing where she was meant to be and finding peace with that and that her family was with her no matter what is wonderful.A story of love, trust and family. Of finding your soul mate and fighting for that love. Tessa Bailey has given us one more wonderful and entertaining story to the Clarkson series.
    more
  • Jill (Embrace the Romance)
    June 17, 2017
    When I met Kyler Tate in Too Hard to Forget I knew he needed his story told. I love a good second chance story. Kyler and Bree were high school sweethearts and never got over the other. Their story is sweet and heartwarming. They are perfect for each other in every way possible. They both have that extraordinary love for their family that they would give up everything for them; even their own dreams.Kyler and Bree melt the pages with their love and chemistry. Their bond has lasted so many years When I met Kyler Tate in Too Hard to Forget I knew he needed his story told. I love a good second chance story. Kyler and Bree were high school sweethearts and never got over the other. Their story is sweet and heartwarming. They are perfect for each other in every way possible. They both have that extraordinary love for their family that they would give up everything for them; even their own dreams.Kyler and Bree melt the pages with their love and chemistry. Their bond has lasted so many years and has never been broken. Four years they lost but their connection is still going. Some loves are meant to last a lifetime.The story was a quick read but Tessa packed the story with lots of feelings into the short novella. She had me swooning for the hometown boy while rooting for the second chance they deserved. It was fun and swoony. It was sexy and HOT. It was a perfect addition to this series.
    more
  • Ginny Rose
    June 7, 2017
    5* stars for the Football Star and his SupergirlOne of the many reasons why I love 1001 Dark Nights novellas is because they pack a punch in their stories. Granted, it depends on who writes them, but they never disappoint. Too Close to Call is about the college football star, Kyler Tate, from Too Hard to Forget that Peggy and Elliott help out. His career is about to take off, professional football. His family is well taken care and he's where he wants to be. Except, there's a void in his heart t 5* stars for the Football Star and his SupergirlOne of the many reasons why I love 1001 Dark Nights novellas is because they pack a punch in their stories. Granted, it depends on who writes them, but they never disappoint. Too Close to Call is about the college football star, Kyler Tate, from Too Hard to Forget that Peggy and Elliott help out. His career is about to take off, professional football. His family is well taken care and he's where he wants to be. Except, there's a void in his heart that can only be filled by one person. The woman he's loved all his life. The woman who prefers to away from the light, Bree Justice. Nothing matters unless she's by his side. This series, these characters, Ms. Bailey has truly and utterly held nothing back. Even with this novella, which is the perfect dose of heart and heat, you're lost to their emotions. Too Close to Call is an excellent bridge between Peggy and Belmont's stories( Too Beautiful to Break ). Need a little Tessa Bailey shot? This book will do just that.
    more
  • Mari
    June 15, 2017
    A sexy and sweet second chance story with a side of sports romance. Bree and Kyler have a long history together full of firsts and memories. Things Kyler still holds dear their break up was not as mutual as it seemed back then just that he let go too easy. Back in his hometown to win the girl before leaving for his training camp. He is determined this time without Bree. Kyler is stubborn as is persuasive and he is willing to use everything to get her this time. His plan his full of old jaunts an A sexy and sweet second chance story with a side of sports romance. Bree and Kyler have a long history together full of firsts and memories. Things Kyler still holds dear their break up was not as mutual as it seemed back then just that he let go too easy. Back in his hometown to win the girl before leaving for his training camp. He is determined this time without Bree. Kyler is stubborn as is persuasive and he is willing to use everything to get her this time. His plan his full of old jaunts and making new ones. Bree has to let go of old hurts and misguided responsibilities if they want this to work. Tessa Bailey sure know how to write a complete novella. Hitting all the right elements and adding the steam too. The angst and tension placed rightly so. I need to go back on this series. I enjoyed this sample of what to expect.*** ARC kindly provided for an honest review ***
    more
  • Yvette ~ Nose Stuck in a Book
    May 18, 2017
    Tessa Bailey is one of my go-to authors for sexy, swoon-worthy romances. The fact that her heroes are typically Alpha males with a penchant for dirty-talking *might* be a contributing factor to my obsession with her books. I look forward to her every release with a giddy anticipation because she never disappoints, which is why I had to dive into her newest release, Too Close to Call, the very second it was on my Kindle. Fans of the author’s Romancing the Clarksons series (which is AMAZING) will Tessa Bailey is one of my go-to authors for sexy, swoon-worthy romances. The fact that her heroes are typically Alpha males with a penchant for dirty-talking *might* be a contributing factor to my obsession with her books. I look forward to her every release with a giddy anticipation because she never disappoints, which is why I had to dive into her newest release, Too Close to Call, the very second it was on my Kindle. Fans of the author’s Romancing the Clarksons series (which is AMAZING) will recognize our hero, Kyler Tate, from Peggy and Elliott’s book, Too Hard to Forget, and for his novella, he’s returning to his hometown to win back his high school sweetheart, Bree Justice. If you thought Tessa Bailey’s previous heroes were swoon-worthy, just wait ‘til you meet Kyler… After being drafted into the NFL, Kyler Tate is determined that he won’t start the next chapter in his life without his former lover, Bree, at his side. Kyler returns home, confident and single-minded in his mission to convince the love of his life to give them another chance. The whole setup is nothing if not romantic, especially when the hero is charming, faithful, and a gentleman. And that whole dirty-talker thing I mentioned? That applies to Kyler too. The man pretty much had me swooning left and right, not to mention shouting at Bree through my Kindle (because she could totally hear me) to give in to their combustible chemistry. But of course, our feisty heroine couldn’t make things easy on him.Flirtatious banter? Check. Simmering sexual tension? Check. Fiery passion? Check! The rapport between Kyler and Bree is effortless and lighthearted, yet with an undercurrent of need and desire. Kyler and Bree are two people who know every minute deal about each other so with that comes inside jokes, good-natured teasing, and an intimacy that’s breathtakingly beautiful. Their shared history is like a palpable entity, hovering between them as a reminder of what they once meant and what they could still mean to each other. The story is hopelessly romantic and makes you want to root that much more for their happy ending.There’s nothing I love more than a good second chance romance and Too Close to Call encompasses everything I love about the trope, acknowledging and paying homage to Kyler and Bree’s past, while focusing on their growth as individuals and as a couple. This novella is a sugary sweet, scorching hot page-turner that’ll make you smile, give you all the feels, and have you blushing nonstop. It’s another must-read from Tessa Bailey.*complimentary copy provided by publisher for an honest review
    more
  • Sparklybearsy
    June 15, 2017
    4.5 crackstastic stars. Gah, I loved loved loved Kyler and Bree. There was no doubt really, I will read everything by Tessa, but Too Close to Call was everything you'd expect, really likable characters and intense love. It was a gorgeous novella and a perfect addition to the Clarksons. “I want us,” he rasped. “I’ll build everything else around that. That has been my plan since age thirteen. It just got delayed.” Oh, sweet hero <3 Now all that's left in this series is my Belmont!!!! I'm ready! 4.5 crackstastic stars. Gah, I loved loved loved Kyler and Bree. There was no doubt really, I will read everything by Tessa, but Too Close to Call was everything you'd expect, really likable characters and intense love. It was a gorgeous novella and a perfect addition to the Clarksons. “I want us,” he rasped. “I’ll build everything else around that. That has been my plan since age thirteen. It just got delayed.” Oh, sweet hero <3 Now all that's left in this series is my Belmont!!!! I'm ready!!!!!!!!!!!
    more
  • Steph McVicker
    June 16, 2017
    *Review for The Romance Reviews Coming Soon!*
  • Kimberly (Kimmy Loves to Read)
    June 6, 2017
    *sigh*I love these two so much.Full review to come soon.
  • Lisa
    June 14, 2017
    3.5 starsHigh school sweethearts + second chance trope never fails to make me emo
Write a review