He Said/She Said
Who do you believe?In the hushed aftermath of a total eclipse, Laura witnesses a brutal attack.She and her boyfriend Kit call the police, and in that moment, it is not only the victim's life that is changed forever.Fifteen years on, Laura and Kit live in fear.And while Laura knows she was right to speak out, the events that follow have taught her that you can never see the whole picture: something - and someone - is always in the dark...

He Said/She Said Details

TitleHe Said/She Said
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 20th, 2017
PublisherHodder & Stoughton
Number of pages416 pages
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Fiction, Mystery Thriller

He Said/She Said Review

  • Paromjit
    February 14, 2017
    This is a dark, murky and atmospheric psychological thriller, it is a tale of Laura and her boyfriend, Kit, chasing an eclipse in Cornwall where Laura happens to see a violent attack being carrried out on Beth by Jamie. Laura insists on calling the police. A traumatic and brutal court case ensues with Jamie on trial for rape. Laura is the only eye witness. Jamie's family are there to support him and the defence run Beth ragged, it becoming a case of he said, she said. Jamie finally ends up being This is a dark, murky and atmospheric psychological thriller, it is a tale of Laura and her boyfriend, Kit, chasing an eclipse in Cornwall where Laura happens to see a violent attack being carrried out on Beth by Jamie. Laura insists on calling the police. A traumatic and brutal court case ensues with Jamie on trial for rape. Laura is the only eye witness. Jamie's family are there to support him and the defence run Beth ragged, it becoming a case of he said, she said. Jamie finally ends up being convicted, in a crime where there is such a low percentage of convictions.After the trial, Beth comes to visit and she and Laura begin to build a friendship, only for things to go awry and ends up with Laura and Kit's home burning down. Laura and Kit change their names, go on the run and get married with the hope that they are untraceable. Years later in the present, Laura is pregnant and Kit is off to chase another eclipse as the past comes back to threaten their lives once more. This is a story where nothing is as it appears, there are secrets, lies. issues of trust and multiple twists. It is an intricately plotted story revolving around the four characters, their relationships and interactions with each other and the issue of perception. On occasion the story feels a little over egged for the sheer sake of it. However, overall I found it an entertaining and absorbing story steeped with an air of menace and fear. Thanks to Hodder and Stoughton for an ARC.
    more
  • Maxine (Booklover Catlady)
    March 22, 2017
    Freaking fantastic! Those twists! I'm reeling from how good this book was. Seriously awesome stuff. This one is escapism gold! I am almost speechless from the ending.This is a well executed book that lacks nothing. The plot is clever, intricate and sucks you in bit by bit. You will feel so many different feelings reading this book. At least I hope you do - I did.Kit and Laura. A young couple in love. Kit is an eclipse chaser - travelling around to the best world vantage points to see a solar ecl Freaking fantastic! Those twists! I'm reeling from how good this book was. Seriously awesome stuff. This one is escapism gold! I am almost speechless from the ending.This is a well executed book that lacks nothing. The plot is clever, intricate and sucks you in bit by bit. You will feel so many different feelings reading this book. At least I hope you do - I did.Kit and Laura. A young couple in love. Kit is an eclipse chaser - travelling around to the best world vantage points to see a solar eclipse. Laura's love for Kit has her share his passionate hobby. They go to a festival one day, to see an eclipse and what happens next eclipses their lives forever.This is just astonishingly good. The characters are deep, complex, faulty - oh if only I could spill the beans for you all. But I won't. You need to journey with this book, from beginning to end to experience the intense story from start to finish. You will not believe where it takes you.It's taut and so tense at times, like a great psychological thriller should be. Weaved in are moments of writing magic, prose that sweeps you into a world of imagination. At times it's sublime, other times it's harsh and mean and oh so very dark. But remember the eclipse? Light behind shade. All the brightness covered just for a moment.I can't rave more - it's just a must read book. It will keep you guessing, second guessing and doubting all the way. Be ready for the twists and reveals. They come like a sledgehammer to the heart.Utter brilliance. This book catapults into my Top Ten Reads of 2017, skipping the long and the shortlist. One of the best books I've enjoyed in years.I received a copy of the book from the publisher via NetGalley. All review opinions are my own and totally unbiased.
    more
  • Brenda
    March 21, 2017
    Laura and Kit’s attendance of the 1999 total eclipse at Lizard Point, Cornwall was to change their lives and not in a good way. The brutal attack Laura had witnessed had her reporting it to the police immediately – the ensuing court case affected both Laura and Kit, but also the victim and her accused.Moving forward to 2015 and Laura and Kit were married, with Laura heavily pregnant and unable to travel when Kit headed off to the Faroe Islands to view another eclipse. A complete “eclipse chaser” Laura and Kit’s attendance of the 1999 total eclipse at Lizard Point, Cornwall was to change their lives and not in a good way. The brutal attack Laura had witnessed had her reporting it to the police immediately – the ensuing court case affected both Laura and Kit, but also the victim and her accused.Moving forward to 2015 and Laura and Kit were married, with Laura heavily pregnant and unable to travel when Kit headed off to the Faroe Islands to view another eclipse. A complete “eclipse chaser”, nevertheless Kit was prepared to remain at home if Laura had asked him to. But she didn’t – she wanted him to thrill in the event which caused such awe every time it was viewed. Was the fear that Laura felt irrational? The impact of the attack some fifteen years prior was still being felt; and not just in the lives of Laura and Kit. But the uneasiness Laura felt wouldn’t leave her – what would happen? Was her paranoia just that?He Said, She Said by Erin Kelly is a strange psychological thriller. It took me some time to get into – to work out what was happening and I was close to giving up on a couple of occasions, but did read to the end. I couldn’t feel a connection to the characters, which is never good. But there are many high ratings for He Said, She Said so therefore I still feel I can recommend it.With thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for my digital copy to read and review.
    more
  • Abby (Crime by the Book)
    February 19, 2017
    Literally JUST finished this book about 30 seconds ago, so I'm not quite ready to rate it yet -- I absolutely LOVED the last sentence of the book, it gave me shivers and felt like such a... poetic justice kind of moment. BUT a lot of this book also wasn't at all what I was expecting - I need to process this one!!! So far I will say: this book is NOT as shocking/twisty-turny as I anticipated. It's much more subtle than anything I expected - it's more about interpersonal relationships and the weig Literally JUST finished this book about 30 seconds ago, so I'm not quite ready to rate it yet -- I absolutely LOVED the last sentence of the book, it gave me shivers and felt like such a... poetic justice kind of moment. BUT a lot of this book also wasn't at all what I was expecting - I need to process this one!!! So far I will say: this book is NOT as shocking/twisty-turny as I anticipated. It's much more subtle than anything I expected - it's more about interpersonal relationships and the weight of lies rather than shocking acts of violence. (Although the story does stem from an act of violence.) Ok that's it for now -- more on this soon!!!
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    December 12, 2016
    Out of all the 2017 books I’ve read so far, with a fair few sitting on my shelf still, I think He Said She Said by Erin Kelly probably has had the biggest emotional impact. Not in a loud and sudden way that disappears almost immediately (although there is a moment in this book where that happens too) but in the way my mind has quietly wandered back to contemplate the nuances, to think about consequences and to wonder at life.He Said She Said is beautifully atmospheric, the backdrop of eclipse ch Out of all the 2017 books I’ve read so far, with a fair few sitting on my shelf still, I think He Said She Said by Erin Kelly probably has had the biggest emotional impact. Not in a loud and sudden way that disappears almost immediately (although there is a moment in this book where that happens too) but in the way my mind has quietly wandered back to contemplate the nuances, to think about consequences and to wonder at life.He Said She Said is beautifully atmospheric, the backdrop of eclipse chasers giving it a clever and intriguing setting that moves with the plot, but the main hook here comes with the utterly fascinating characters we meet within the pages. There is no other writer writing today (in my opinion) who draws so brilliantly on the vagaries of human nature to bring us authentic, incredibly present and vivid fictional folk to travel the reading road with. Here as with all her previous novels she has created something once read never forgotten.Relationships are tangled, lives are changed, far reaching consequences set in motion by a few words spoken on impulse during an untenable situation, one time when Laura witnesses a seemingly violent act. Such a small thing, a tiny exaggeration perhaps but that one moment will haunt the rest of her life. Erin Kelly weaves a devilishly clever, highly unpredictable yet always solidly realistic story, slowly bringing us to the truth of what happened under the cover of darkness and often breaking your heart whilst doing so. This is not so much an unravelling of a mystery as it is an unravelling of the people caught up in it, layer upon layer peeling from the surface until you can see the true faces of those involved.The Poison Tree is still in my top ten books of all time, The Burning Air will always and forever be the novel that with a short couple of sentences sent me tumbling out of my comfort zone and into the abyss – but He Said She Said I believe is Erin Kelly’s finest novel to date by quite some margin. Intuitive, intricate, a woven tapestry of literary delight I loved this. Beautiful and horrifying in equal measure, speaking to difficult complex subjects, you may think you know but you don’t know. Just wait…So Highly Recommended that I fear falling. Don’t miss it.
    more
  • Lynn Mccarthy
    February 8, 2017
    Gripping.Tense with lots of twists and turns.A real page turner hard to put down.Its an original suspense thriller at the heart of the book is a rape case where the victims word is against the alleged rapist.The act was witnessed by one of the books 3 narrators Laura of course. The accused protests his innocence and as the book goes on you wonder who is really telling the truth.The chapters are told by Laura and her husband KIt Beth the rape victim and Jamie the accused.There is a lot more to th Gripping.Tense with lots of twists and turns.A real page turner hard to put down.Its an original suspense thriller at the heart of the book is a rape case where the victims word is against the alleged rapist.The act was witnessed by one of the books 3 narrators Laura of course. The accused protests his innocence and as the book goes on you wonder who is really telling the truth.The chapters are told by Laura and her husband KIt Beth the rape victim and Jamie the accused.There is a lot more to this book though then the rape.Thank You to the Author and Netgalley for a chance to read this book.
    more
  • Blair
    August 9, 2016
    ERIN KELLY HAS DONE IT A-fucking-GAIN. This woman is a genius. She never disappoints.I was a bit trepidatious about He Said/She Said: the title and its accompanying tagline ('Who do you believe?') so obviously aim to evoke a Gone Girl-style marriage thriller in which you don't know whether to trust the word of the husband or the wife – a trend that's surely been done to death by now (no pun intended). But this book does not behave like that. Yes, there are segments narrated by a husband, and seg ERIN KELLY HAS DONE IT A-fucking-GAIN. This woman is a genius. She never disappoints.I was a bit trepidatious about He Said/She Said: the title and its accompanying tagline ('Who do you believe?') so obviously aim to evoke a Gone Girl-style marriage thriller in which you don't know whether to trust the word of the husband or the wife – a trend that's surely been done to death by now (no pun intended). But this book does not behave like that. Yes, there are segments narrated by a husband, and segments narrated by a wife; and there are flashbacks to 1999/2000, interspersed with scenes set in 2015. But Laura and Kit are a united front, not least because they both live in terror of being found by someone called Beth. To escape this person, they have changed their identities, moved house, even challenged a private detective to track them down using 'the paper trail of our previous lives' (he couldn't). They are fiercely protective of each other, and the only secrets they keep are little white lies.The backdrop to all this is that Kit is an obsessive 'eclipse chaser'; since childhood, he has spent his life travelling all over the world to experience total eclipses from the best vantage points possible. With Laura heavily pregnant, he is heading to the Faroe Islands alone to witness the 2015 eclipse. Their separation marks the opening of a schism, though how and why won't be evident until much more detail has been uncovered. As the story progresses, it becomes obvious Laura and Kit's history with Beth involves them doing something good for her – in fact, they saved her. How could their relationship possibly have soured to the point that they not only want to avoid her, but live in fear of her? What did Beth do? Who is Jamie, another person from the past Laura keeps tabs on? The plot deepens and thickens with every chapter. It's not even clear who the 'he' and 'she' are in the context of the novel: Laura and Kit, or Beth and Jamie? Or both? I'm not going to go into the plot any further than that. I think it's enough to say that it had me absolutely hooked from the word go and I finished it within 24 hours. It has the atmospheric throwback scenes of The Poison Tree combined with the knockout twists of The Burning Air, and the fine characterisation of all Kelly's novels. It's a complete emotional rollercoaster, drawing you into Laura and Kit's lives, constantly provoking difficult questions and making your loyalties and sympathies shift. I lost count of the number of times my heart dipped or soared while reading He Said/She Said. If you're a crime fan, a psychological thriller fan, and/or an Erin Kelly fan, you're going to want to read this asap. P.S. the ending is fantastic.I received an advance review copy of He Said/She Said from the publisher through NetGalley.TinyLetter | Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr
    more
  • Cleo Bannister
    February 14, 2017
    Erin Kelly has once again proved that she is an extremely talented writer, one who weaves a tale full of twists and turns, yet without resorting to cheap tricks. This is a book that stands proud in a now crowded genre, one that relies on superb plotting and brilliantly nuanced characters, the result being I was convinced by both.In 1999 Laura and Kit were at Lizard’s Point in Cornwall to watch the total eclipse of the sun. For Laura this was her first experience but Kit and his twin brother Mac Erin Kelly has once again proved that she is an extremely talented writer, one who weaves a tale full of twists and turns, yet without resorting to cheap tricks. This is a book that stands proud in a now crowded genre, one that relies on superb plotting and brilliantly nuanced characters, the result being I was convinced by both.In 1999 Laura and Kit were at Lizard’s Point in Cornwall to watch the total eclipse of the sun. For Laura this was her first experience but Kit and his twin brother Mac had, along with their father Lachlan, travelled far and wide as part of a group of eclipse chasers to see this rare phenomenon. In Cornwall Mac, his girlfriend Ling and Kit had decided to make some money to cover the trip by selling hot drinks at the festival but with the British weather being, well, British, the event isn’t as well attended as expected. Laura turns up having travelled down later and watches the eclipse with suitable awe and then stumbles across a young woman, her own age, being raped. Or that is what she believes.With the story moving backwards and forwards from 11 August 1999 to fifteen years later when Kit is planning to travel to the Faroe Islands, chasing another eclipse, we learn what an impact that meeting had on all four characters and the ripples haven’t decreased with the passing years.He Said/She Said looks at the issue of rape from a number of perspectives with the court room reflecting the crux of the matter, as the title indicates. Jamie, the accused says that Laura got it wrong, he was having consensual sex with Beth when he was interrupted by the couple. Beth maintains it was non-consensual but she froze in the moment. Kit didn’t see anything, he was lagging behind but followed Jamie when he left the scene at Laura’s behest. There are other elements familiar from news reports of some recent big trials not least the fact that Jamie’s family are wealthy, he has a top lawyer and his family, including his fiancée, are in the courtroom supporting him. Who will the jury believe?So we have a very modern tale told in the main by Laura and Kit which should have concluded the day the trial was over but Beth needing support from those who were there turns up at their London flat and is welcomed, at least by Laura. Kit is less sure, worried that if there is an appeal, that the girls have undermined any chance of a retrial by potentially being accused of colluding with each other. Three’s a crowd begins to be a very apt saying as tensions increase.This is an involved and thoughtful tale, one that really did make me think but I’m delighted to report that Erin Kelly never forgets that she is writing to entertain her reader and she avoids bashing the reader over the head about rape, and the trials that all too rarely follow such an accusation. I believe it is a sign of a writer who has confidence, not only in herself, but of her readers to air the important issues this way.I’m not going to say any more about the plot, which is excellent not only in the premise but also in its execution. The pace had me travelling through the chapters, headed up by images of the sun at various points of an eclipse, as I became more immersed in a story and characters that I truly believed in.Trust me, you really don’t want to miss out on this book!
    more
  • Roman Clodia
    December 6, 2016
    What starts out as a thoughtful story about rape, non-consent and different subjective views of the same event, ends up as a thrill-a-minute story where things happen for the sake of another narrative twist however unlikely or out of character it might be. Like so much contemporary commercial fiction, less would have been more. Right from the outset we know that after being witnesses in a rape trial 15 years ago, Kit and Laura are now living in fear of their lives. So alongside the 'then' rape s What starts out as a thoughtful story about rape, non-consent and different subjective views of the same event, ends up as a thrill-a-minute story where things happen for the sake of another narrative twist however unlikely or out of character it might be. Like so much contemporary commercial fiction, less would have been more. Right from the outset we know that after being witnesses in a rape trial 15 years ago, Kit and Laura are now living in fear of their lives. So alongside the 'then' rape story is a 'now' pot-boiler which is a bit Single White Female with additional twists, ending in a rather silly climax awash with blood, and then a last-page twist that made me giggle. (view spoiler)[ Anxious, about-to-have-a-nervous-breakdown Laura, admits to a piece of spectacular juggling learned from playing pool where she bats a Sabatier knife out of the fist of the murdering madman in her kitchen and pops it precisely in the hand of her wimpish husband who then thrusts it through the throat of said madman so that Laura doesn't have to kill him herself and Kit can go to prison instead...! (hide spoiler)]If the book had stuck with the contested rape story I would have enjoyed it better: but it goes off the rails with everyone becoming manic and a bit psychopathic, everyone having lies and secrets, and some wholly ridiculous developments in the last 20% (view spoiler)[ not least the revelation that Kit had a one-night fling with Beth, the rape victim/possibly psychopathic new best friend who has inveigled her way into their lives, and in order that Laura doesn't find out about his infidelity he burns their house down to break up the women's friendship and allows Laura to believe that Beth is insane and out to kill them, leaving Laura a nervous wreck for 15 years! (hide spoiler)]. Alongside that are sub-stories of an alcoholic brother, and the backstory of the accused rapist so that the book gets very cluttered. It's a shame, as when Kelly keeps things focused as at the start of the 'then' narrative, she writes compellingly and uses the atmosphere of eclipses well with its imagery of light and darkness, things hidden and illumination. Readers wanting twist upon twist, however unlikely, will enjoy this - I would have preferred a bit more verisimilitude and a more constant attention to characters as established.I read a review copy via Amazon Vine.
    more
  • Melissa Souza
    February 27, 2017
    **Thank you to Hachette Australia and Netgalley for sending me an eARC of the book in return for an honest review.4.5 stars!!!This book has got to be one of the best psychological thrillers that I have read in 2017. When I first read the blurb, I was pretty excited to get stuck into it. I was looking for a break from my usual YA fodder and this one definitely did not disappoint. Erin Kelly has a beautiful way of writing. The narrative and descriptions were atmospheric as well as eloquent. The wr **Thank you to Hachette Australia and Netgalley for sending me an eARC of the book in return for an honest review.4.5 stars!!!This book has got to be one of the best psychological thrillers that I have read in 2017. When I first read the blurb, I was pretty excited to get stuck into it. I was looking for a break from my usual YA fodder and this one definitely did not disappoint. Erin Kelly has a beautiful way of writing. The narrative and descriptions were atmospheric as well as eloquent. The writing style wasn't too heavy and the structure in which the POVs were broken up into made it a fairly quick read.I really liked how the parts of the book were divided according to the stages of the solar eclipse. I felt this built up the intrigue and drama that the book needed. As the story is based on a rape case and the fallout that results from it, I think the structure helped in giving the readers a glimpse of each stage and the way the story unfolded really helped in building the intricate complexity of the lies and secrets that each of the characters were holding onto.This book was purely based on four dysfunctional characters and is told from two perspectives, Kit and Laura's. The novel delves into how their lives have been changed after witnessing a brutal attack during an eclipse. We are taken into the court case that follows, but the reader finds out that nothing is quite as it seems. The twists and turns that the plot takes is shocking but done in such a subtle way that it focuses more on the psychological impact the secrets and lies have on our cast of characters. I found that the author wove this story beautifully making for a truly great read. It doesn't have all of the bells and whistles that usually are associated with thrillers, but nonetheless holds its own ground in the genre. The only negative that I had with the book was the ending, I felt that there wasn't much of a closure for the characters, but I do get what the author was trying to relate. I just wish the loose ends were tied up better as I felt it a bit rushed.I would definitely recommend fans of psychological thrillers to give this book a try, you won't be disappointed. I look forward to reading more books from the author.
    more
  • Nigel
    February 10, 2017
    Oh dear - seems like I'm out of line on this one... I really liked the story idea and it certainly was not a dnf. At times the writing was good enough to engage me. However I found the characters rather one dimensional and frankly I didn't like/feel for any of them. Full review nearer publication
    more
  • Jacob Collins
    December 31, 2016
    I only discovered Erin Kelly earlier this year after reading her debut novel The Poison Tree which was released back in 2010. I loved the characters and the depth she gave them in her first novel and I particularly felt that with Laura and Kit in He Said/She Said. Her writing is going from strength to strength!Laura and Kit are eclipse chasers. Kit has been obsessed with the stars and astrology since he was a child and he has made it his lifelong mission to witness every eclipse he possibly can, I only discovered Erin Kelly earlier this year after reading her debut novel The Poison Tree which was released back in 2010. I loved the characters and the depth she gave them in her first novel and I particularly felt that with Laura and Kit in He Said/She Said. Her writing is going from strength to strength!Laura and Kit are eclipse chasers. Kit has been obsessed with the stars and astrology since he was a child and he has made it his lifelong mission to witness every eclipse he possibly can, even it means travelling across continents. I loved Erin’s unique idea of using this as a backdrop for the story which fed into every part of the book. I felt that it really gave the novel a spooky atmosphere, giving you the sense that anything can happen when the world turns dark. He Said/She Said is a very atmospheric piece of work. When Laura and Kit stumble across a violent act on a young woman during an eclipse festival in Cornwall in 1999 they have no idea how much of an emotional impact that this chance meeting will have on the rest of their lives. This, in my opinion, is where Kelly’s writing is at its finest when she entwines her character’s lives; this idea reminds us that we don’t really know what is going to happen around the corner and that the future is full of uncertainty.I think my favourite scenes from this book were the court room scenes in which Laura and Kit and the victim, come under fire from the defendants lawyer. I have watched many courtroom dramas on TV, but I still find it shocking to see how these people can attack a victim of a heinous crime; what I can never quite get my head around is how they are allowed to get away with it. The only scenes I did find a little slow to get through was when Kit was on board the Princess Celeste in today’s time period. But Erin built up the tension marvelously and she made me question what had happened with her characters in the last fifteen years to get them to this point. I raced through the second half of the book as the novel drew towards its climatic close. I’m sure that He Said/She Said will be one of THE books of 2017 that everyone will be talking about and it deserves to be a hit. Thank you to the publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to read this book to review. He Said/She Said is out in April 2017.
    more
  • Babus Ahmed
    January 28, 2017
    Laura witnesses a brutal attack during an eclipse but when the incident is reported and the case goes to trial it results in Laura and her boyfriend, Kit end up changing their identity in order to hide. In a well of secrets just which ones lead to the destruction of their lives as they knew it.A remarkable thriller told from the point of view of Laura and Kit in the present and fifteen years in the past to link up a series of events that led to their current covert living arrangements. With susp Laura witnesses a brutal attack during an eclipse but when the incident is reported and the case goes to trial it results in Laura and her boyfriend, Kit end up changing their identity in order to hide. In a well of secrets just which ones lead to the destruction of their lives as they knew it.A remarkable thriller told from the point of view of Laura and Kit in the present and fifteen years in the past to link up a series of events that led to their current covert living arrangements. With suspicion falling on the victim of the sexual assault as much as the alleged perpetrators and electrifying courtroom drama, this is probably one of my favourite thrillers of 2017.A thriller that keeps you guessing right until the very end.
    more
  • Lea
    January 28, 2017
    Thank you Erin Kelly and Netgalley for a copy in exchange for an honest review.I have always believed the saying "there are three sides to a story - his side, her side and the truth" and this book certainly held firm on my belief. When i first looked at the size of this book, I felt that it was holding on to some twists and turns - I was right. What initially starts as a rape holds more secrets, lies and untruths than you can imagine. I fell that at times it felt disjointed, the focus on the sol Thank you Erin Kelly and Netgalley for a copy in exchange for an honest review.I have always believed the saying "there are three sides to a story - his side, her side and the truth" and this book certainly held firm on my belief. When i first looked at the size of this book, I felt that it was holding on to some twists and turns - I was right. What initially starts as a rape holds more secrets, lies and untruths than you can imagine. I fell that at times it felt disjointed, the focus on the solar eclipses unnecessary, and that some of the characters were added to just puff up the size of the book. I skipped bits here and there I admit.An enjoyable read anyway, I recommend it.
    more
  • Daisy
    January 29, 2017
    I received this book from a Goodreads giveaway and I didn't expect to like it - I thought it would be a cliche of "a woman making up an accusation" and I didn't want to read that. But instead I found a brilliantly complex book that I couldn't put down and devoured in a few days. The story had me completely hooked and I had no idea what was coming next, right up until the last few pages. I don't want to give anything away so all I will say is that I loved it and I would 100% recommend. I will be I received this book from a Goodreads giveaway and I didn't expect to like it - I thought it would be a cliche of "a woman making up an accusation" and I didn't want to read that. But instead I found a brilliantly complex book that I couldn't put down and devoured in a few days. The story had me completely hooked and I had no idea what was coming next, right up until the last few pages. I don't want to give anything away so all I will say is that I loved it and I would 100% recommend. I will be thinking about this book for a long time I think.
    more
  • Stacy Fetters
    February 26, 2017
    Holy mother of Poseidon!!Who do you believe?That stuck with me through the entire book and once you learn the truth, you'll find it even harder to trust anyone. Even people you think you know intimately. The last chapter in this book is the most disturbing thing that I have ever read before. It's spookingly different, thought provoking, brilliant and thrilling as hell. Laura and Kit are young in their relationship. Being travel companions to witness some of the worlds best solar eclipse they fal Holy mother of Poseidon!!Who do you believe?That stuck with me through the entire book and once you learn the truth, you'll find it even harder to trust anyone. Even people you think you know intimately. The last chapter in this book is the most disturbing thing that I have ever read before. It's spookingly different, thought provoking, brilliant and thrilling as hell. Laura and Kit are young in their relationship. Being travel companions to witness some of the worlds best solar eclipse they fall in love. Cornwall is their next stop and it will be life changing. While finding the perfect spot to watch as the world goes dark they stumble upon something shocking. A guy on top of a girl who is so terrified that she is mute. Laura tries to help the girl and the guy runs off, telling them it's not at all what it looks like. What comes after is something no one could even imagine. With statements come lawyers and the trial begins. Some horrible things are put out into the world. But it all comes down to what he said and what she said. Who do you really trust? Laura befriends the girl she helped and things go from fantastic to horrifying. She stalks them into a panic. They can't go out of even breathe without Beth knowing about it. The most of terrifying things take place and Kit and Laura run for their lives. Changing their identities and go into hiding in a new place. But the question still stands, who do you believe? This was one fantastic crazy book. You never know what you're getting yourself into with a book like this and I was shocked with every page there was. I'm glad that I received this from the publisher early. Now I have to wait with the creepy crawling feeling for the release date. As I was reading, I felt my skin crawl like maybe there was someone behind me, watching me. As I slowly turn around....I'm alone, but those feelings stayed with me along time after this book was finished. Add this to your tbr now, you won't regret this one bit.
    more
  • Aurelija
    February 13, 2017
    First of all thank you to Netgalley for allowing me to review this book in exchange for an honest review. I've really liked the idea of the story and was very excited to start reading it, but it was not my cup of tea. I did not find any of the characters likable, which made it that much harder to go through the book. The subject of rape is always a difficult to write about, and often can be 'He said/She said' situation, but I felt like the more we moved with the story and going to the past which First of all thank you to Netgalley for allowing me to review this book in exchange for an honest review. I've really liked the idea of the story and was very excited to start reading it, but it was not my cup of tea. I did not find any of the characters likable, which made it that much harder to go through the book. The subject of rape is always a difficult to write about, and often can be 'He said/She said' situation, but I felt like the more we moved with the story and going to the past which occurred 15 years ago, and to the present time, it became a little comical as we progressed. If the story have stayed with the rape plot line and just general trial and what their life is like now, I would have enjoyed it more.However, with all the lies and secrets that the characters were keeping from each other from practically day one of the trial until 15 years later, was getting uninteresting. Especially, the last half of the story it became ridiculous and it felt like the author just kept trying to add more twists and turns to keep the readers hooked, which in my opinion, did the opposite effect and felt like I wanted to be done with this book as soon as possible, because I'm getting side tracked by everything that is around me.
    more
  • Erin
    February 20, 2017
    3.5 stars - a really engaging and "different feeling" read, but sometimes the pacing suffered. I enjoy a dual-timeline structure but Kit's 2015 parts dragged. What started off as an interesting look at how the criminal justice system fails rape victims turned a bit OTT and overblown by the end. Having said that, it was very readable and at times the writing was incredibly strong, with striking, beautiful passages, particularly those dealing with Laura's anxiety, pregnancy, and guilt. I'd definit 3.5 stars - a really engaging and "different feeling" read, but sometimes the pacing suffered. I enjoy a dual-timeline structure but Kit's 2015 parts dragged. What started off as an interesting look at how the criminal justice system fails rape victims turned a bit OTT and overblown by the end. Having said that, it was very readable and at times the writing was incredibly strong, with striking, beautiful passages, particularly those dealing with Laura's anxiety, pregnancy, and guilt. I'd definitely recommend this dark thriller to fans of the genre.
    more
  • Thebooktrail
    February 10, 2017
    Erin Kelly I salute you - review nearer the time but "Beautifully horrifying" are just two words I would use to describe the novel. I still have spots dancing before my eyes after reading it. Must be that darn eclipse.
  • Alexandra
    March 21, 2017
    Don't start this book late at night or you will be up all night reading it. This is a very thought provoking novel. What would you do? How far would you go? The book starts in the present and alternates from the present to the past. From the points of view of Laura and Kit. Laura and Kit are eclipse chasers, who travel all over the globe to witness eclipses. Life is good until they witness something horrific in Cornwall. Beth being raped by Jamie. Laura insists on calling the police, as she is t Don't start this book late at night or you will be up all night reading it. This is a very thought provoking novel. What would you do? How far would you go? The book starts in the present and alternates from the present to the past. From the points of view of Laura and Kit. Laura and Kit are eclipse chasers, who travel all over the globe to witness eclipses. Life is good until they witness something horrific in Cornwall. Beth being raped by Jamie. Laura insists on calling the police, as she is the only eye witness to the attack she is called upon as a witness. While being interrogated on the stand. Laura makes the mistake of saying she heard Beth say no. Which she didn't and wasn't mentioned on her witness statement. Jamie is finally convicted, you would think that would be the end of it, and life could go back to normal.Its never as simple as that though is it?Beth and Laura strike up a friendship,something Kit isn't happy about. Beth is a little intense but apart from that, things are going well. Until they get talking about Cornwall and something Beth says makes Laura question whether she told the truth. When she questions her Beth storms out the flat.This is where things turn tense, first its broken glass through the letter box then its arson. Kit and Laura are scared for their lives. The stress of it all makes Laura ill.They get married and change names, move to a different area. All the while living in fear of Beth turning up. She does manage to track them down at an eclipse, luckily they manage to get away.Twists and turns abound in this book. Right up to the last page. Highly recommended for fans of psychological thrillers.Arc received from Net Galley in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Sally Lindsay-briggs
    March 26, 2017
    This was a free Goodreads Giveaway. Thanks so much Erin Kelly! At first I was lost, the new writing styles seem to favor jumping around to keep you interested. It was not necessary. It went from 2015 back to 2000 and from Laura's observations to Kit's. The two of them are eclipse chasers; and on one of their observations Laura and later Kit happen upon a rape. There's a trial and many horrific events unfold. We learn about the power of lies and we also experience deep love between Laura and Kit. This was a free Goodreads Giveaway. Thanks so much Erin Kelly! At first I was lost, the new writing styles seem to favor jumping around to keep you interested. It was not necessary. It went from 2015 back to 2000 and from Laura's observations to Kit's. The two of them are eclipse chasers; and on one of their observations Laura and later Kit happen upon a rape. There's a trial and many horrific events unfold. We learn about the power of lies and we also experience deep love between Laura and Kit. I would certainly read more from this author and reccomend this novel to all.
    more
  • Allie
    March 26, 2017
    Daaaaammmn. More to come.
  • Tanya
    March 18, 2017
    I really had a hard time putting this book down but my final rating is 3.8/5. I think i need a break from the psychological thrillers now, though i have enjoyed the last couple i have read.A while ago i was told a story about an absolute pathological liar (i am talking... bat shit crazy) that very much reminded me of a character in this book (Rochelle....... you will know who i am speaking of).......... i think you will like this one.
    more
  • Vikki Patis
    December 12, 2016
    Many thanks to the author, publisher, & NetGalley for an ARC.He Said/She Said is a psychological thriller, based around a rape trial. While in Cornwall for the eclipse of 1999, Laura and Kit stumble upon a horrendous scene: a man, Jamie, raping a woman, Beth. (The scene is described in detail, so approach with caution.) Jamie attempts to laugh it off, trying to convince Laura and Kit that they'd interrupted consensual sex, but Laura stands firm, and the police are called.The case goes to cou Many thanks to the author, publisher, & NetGalley for an ARC.He Said/She Said is a psychological thriller, based around a rape trial. While in Cornwall for the eclipse of 1999, Laura and Kit stumble upon a horrendous scene: a man, Jamie, raping a woman, Beth. (The scene is described in detail, so approach with caution.) Jamie attempts to laugh it off, trying to convince Laura and Kit that they'd interrupted consensual sex, but Laura stands firm, and the police are called.The case goes to court, which, as anyone who knows anything about rape cases, is rare in itself (around 80% don't get to that stage). And Jamie is convicted. Proof that the criminal justice system works! you might cry. Around 58% of rapists were convicted in the UK between 2015 and 2016 [source]. An increase, for sure, but still not good enough.Laura was the only eye-witness to the rape, with Kit several paces behind her. She describes what she saw, and how Beth was too shocked to speak. The cross-examination is brutal, with Jamie's defence team tearing into Laura and her story.'Are you a feminist?' the defence barrister asks Laura. 'I believe men and women are equal,' Laura replies. And therein lies a huge fault with modern feminism - that so many people misunderstand the definition of feminism. Feminism is, at its core, the belief that men and women are equal. Laura also comments internally about Beth's "wild" hair having been tamed for the courtroom, and how her now-evident muscles might work against her as a victim - as if the victim's appearance should have any impact on the outcome of the case. It shouldn't, but it does.Beth is described as mad - by the court, by her rapist, and, eventually, by Laura and Kit. After the trial, she begins to visit them, staying on their sofa, and pushing her way into their lives. Laura feels a connection with her - a sisterhood - but Kit is concerned from the outset. He's worried that, if Jamie manages to appeal, their friendship with Beth could be misconstrued. (Later, we discover that Kit's concerns aren't quite how they appear.) Beth crosses boundaries, and after an argument, which ended with Beth storming out of their flat, Laura and Kit wake to smashed glass on their stairway, which injures Kit. Then, when their flat is burned down, Laura and Kit barely escape with their lives. It seems they pushed Beth too far, and they run, marrying and changing their surname, moving house, staying off the grid. Beth tries her best to catch up with them, but they manage to evade her. Until 2015, where it all comes to a head. And all isn't quite as it seems. He Said/She Said is told in present tense, with a series of flashbacks to Cornwall, and the trial. This was of telling a story leaves the reader confused, full of half-truths and misconceptions. Is Beth mad? Was Jamie guilty? What's really going on here? On the surface, this is an excellent psychological thriller, told expertly by Erin Kelly. But it's so much more than that. It's an exploration of our ideas of rape and consent. It's a current, poignant story, and, sadly, a necessary one.One part of practicing ntersectional feminism means appreciating that some people are privileged, while simultaneously being oppressed by the patriarchy, and that we all have a duty to help those who may be "worse off" than us. I'm oppressed because I'm a woman, but I have white privilege. I come from a working-class background, but I'm well-educated, and certain aspects give that away. 'You're a highly educated woman; an upper second-class honours degree in Sociology and Women's Studies, lest we forget.' The defence barrister used Laura's accomplishments and education against her during the trial. She accused her of confabulation, and tore her to shreds. Laura's actions after the trial might confuse or anger you, but think about it: would you stick your neck out for somebody else in such a way? How many of us would turn a blind eye to an act of rape, brush it off as consensual? How many of us blame the victim - alone at a festival, drinking, what was she wearing? Really, what did she expect? I'm a loud, angry, unapologetic feminist, but would I really give my entire life over to another woman, to help her secure the conviction of her rapist? I'd like to think so, but it could easily go the same way as this story: threats, intimidation, violence. Would I be prepared to risk life as I know it to help another woman? It's a question even the firmest of feminists should ask themselves. Because, in He Said/She Said, no woman can win, just like in real life.A clever, current novel. Kelly is talented and writes with expertise. He Said/She Said will make you think, and question your own morals.https://dracarya.wordpress.com/2016/1...
    more
  • Donna Irwin
    February 21, 2017
    A compelling dark psychological drama which begins with a young couple witnessing a violent act in Cornwall while viewing the eclipse and then deals with the aftermath. The author writes very well and the background of various eclipses adds to the atmosphere.We know from the beginning of the book that Laura and Kit who witnessed the attack on Beth live in fear of their lives and Laura in particular is obsessional about keeping their identities a secret. She is pregnant and Kit heads off eclipse A compelling dark psychological drama which begins with a young couple witnessing a violent act in Cornwall while viewing the eclipse and then deals with the aftermath. The author writes very well and the background of various eclipses adds to the atmosphere.We know from the beginning of the book that Laura and Kit who witnessed the attack on Beth live in fear of their lives and Laura in particular is obsessional about keeping their identities a secret. She is pregnant and Kit heads off eclipse hunting without her. We also know that they are afraid of Beth, the victim of the alleged attack. Through a dual timeline between the 2000 eclipse and 2015 eclipse and a dual narrative from the perspective of Laura and Kit, we can begin to piece together what happened. The chapters from Laura were full of anxiety and worry, the author conveyed her feelings so well, but the chapters from Kit were a little drawn out and dull.This isn't a story about the violent act and the court case. This was just a trigger for what happened next. It's more about the consequences of actions and even lies. I wasn't sure I liked either of the main characters. Victim Beth seemed to have more dimension and there was always a question for me over how she was being painted.For me, the final unravelling was a bit weak but the chilling final sentence made up for it. I would definitely recommend this book.Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a review copy.Narratives
    more
  • Margaret Duke-Wyer
    February 11, 2017
    He said she said by Erin KellySometimes five stars are just not enough. I thought that this book was brilliant.The very opening describes the different phases of an eclipse and at each new chapter an image seems to appear to emphasise the current stage. I do not know how they did that, and I don’t think I have seen it before, but it was very clever and served to remind the reader (as if that was required) of the recurrent theme.The title also emphasises the metaphor of the eclipse – a simple mat He said she said by Erin KellySometimes five stars are just not enough. I thought that this book was brilliant.The very opening describes the different phases of an eclipse and at each new chapter an image seems to appear to emphasise the current stage. I do not know how they did that, and I don’t think I have seen it before, but it was very clever and served to remind the reader (as if that was required) of the recurrent theme.The title also emphasises the metaphor of the eclipse – a simple matter of what he said opposed to what she said, but is it that clear, or are there shades that would distort perspective?We are introduced to Kit and Laura and Mac and Ling at a festival in Cornwall to witness a total eclipse. Kit and Mac are twins - Kit is the more introverted whilst his brother is very much the extrovert prone to excess. Kit is fascinated by the science and spirituality of the eclipse whilst Laura is overwhelmed by the beauty and majesty of the phenomena. From that point, Kit and Laura determine to witness every eclipse together. Still entranced they stumble upon Beth and Jamie and from that point everything changes leaving Kit and Laura bound together through fear, uncertainty and obsession.This is a psychological drama yes, but it is so complex, so clever, that it seduces the reader who is certain they know the outcome, but then another twist in revealed. At the heart of many novels is a secret, if only it had been revealed sooner. I loved the structure of the novel which rebounds through Kit’s narration and Laura’s, as well as changing time lines – the festival in Cornwall to present day (2015). Kelly’s characters are also brilliant especially the way they develop over the time frame. The dynamic between Kit, Laura and Beth was complicated and very intriguing to watch as it unfolds. I didn’t guess, I don’t think I ever would have guessed at the outcome. Brilliant.Thank you NetGalley for allowing me to review this book via Kindle in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Jannelies
    January 15, 2017
    Thanks Netgalley for the ARC.As so many people already gave an outline of the plot, I will not do that. I would like to focus on what I felt reading the book. He Said/She Said being my first Erin Kelly book, I didn’t know what to expect and part of the fun for me is not looking up any information about the book or the author before I start reading. I happen to like this kind of books immensly; with very few people, who’s lifes become intertwined (so not with a new character on every page), with Thanks Netgalley for the ARC.As so many people already gave an outline of the plot, I will not do that. I would like to focus on what I felt reading the book. He Said/She Said being my first Erin Kelly book, I didn’t know what to expect and part of the fun for me is not looking up any information about the book or the author before I start reading. I happen to like this kind of books immensly; with very few people, who’s lifes become intertwined (so not with a new character on every page), with few locations (so not characters that keep travelling all the time), set in ‘then’ and ‘now’ and with a new twist in the plot when you least expect it. Not that I would like to be all books like this, but when such a book is well-written I really enjoy reading it. Of course I can see a few points which make me rate this book 4 instead of 5 stars. First, most of the twists in the plot are after the first half. Second, although we read extensively about the main characters, I still do not have the feeling I really got to know them. Good guys or bad guys, they are all a bit flat. So, this is not the best book I’ve read in a long time, but it is very entertaining, well written and of course, it gives good insight in even nowadays justice isn’t always just…
    more
  • Claire
    March 27, 2017
    He Said/She Said, on the face of it, is your typical “her word against his” case but as the story develops and you peel back the layers of the characters’ lives, you learn so much more.It’s the story of two eclipse chasers, Laura and Kit, celebrating the great event in Cornwall and they interrupt what looks like a violent rape. They do the right thing and report the attack which goes to court. But by doing the right thing, their lives change forever in a way they never ever expected.Within a cou He Said/She Said, on the face of it, is your typical “her word against his” case but as the story develops and you peel back the layers of the characters’ lives, you learn so much more.It’s the story of two eclipse chasers, Laura and Kit, celebrating the great event in Cornwall and they interrupt what looks like a violent rape. They do the right thing and report the attack which goes to court. But by doing the right thing, their lives change forever in a way they never ever expected.Within a couple of chapters of starting this book, I was hooked. I could tell that the story was building to something instantly but what it was, I didn’t know. The story arc of this psychological thriller kept growing and growing to the end – I really could not see where the journey that these characters would be taking. It kept me guessing throughout, the twists just kept coming right up to the last page and even the very last paragraph of the book – you think you’ve got it sussed and then bang out of nowhere, something else comes and slaps you round the face! Packed with intrigue!!Erin Kelly’s writing draws you right in. I was there in the Cornish field waiting for the eclipse, in the court room, on the boat to the Faroe Islands and beyond. The time jumping between the present and the past really worked, perfectly placed chapters revealing an extra piece of the jigsaw to show why Laura and Kit are where they are in the present. The past is definitely playing a part in shaping their current lifestyle and their future.This is the first book I’ve read by Erin Kelly, despite having both The Ties That Bind and The Poison Tree to read. Needless to say I will be reading more from Ms Kelly – this book has got her a new fan! If you like your psychological thrillers, you won’t go far wrong with He Said/She Said.Many thanks to Hodder & Stoughton and Netgalley for giving me an advanced reader copy of He Said/She Said.
    more
  • Nancy McFarlane
    March 11, 2017
    I almost gave up on this book as I thought it started out very slowly and just didn't care that much about the characters at first. However, great reviews from people who usually love the same books I do made me stick with it and I am really glad I did.He Said She Said is told from several points of view going back and forth from 15 years in the past to the present. Kit and Laura are a young couple at an eclipse festival when they accidentally come upon what Laura is convinced is a brutal rape. I almost gave up on this book as I thought it started out very slowly and just didn't care that much about the characters at first. However, great reviews from people who usually love the same books I do made me stick with it and I am really glad I did.He Said She Said is told from several points of view going back and forth from 15 years in the past to the present. Kit and Laura are a young couple at an eclipse festival when they accidentally come upon what Laura is convinced is a brutal rape. While Kit tries to catch the perpetrator Laura stays behind and comforts Beth, the victim. Beth goes to the police and the suspected rapist is caught and brought to trial. Laura and Kit agree to testify and that should be all there is to be told, other than the verdict. But … there is so, so much more that we don’t know about all involved. As each character tells their story and we slowly learn about the lies told for love, and those told because it seemed to be the right thing to do. We learn about the deceit, the misunderstandings and the betrayals. The story is edgy and haunting and sad. It will take you on a wild ride filled with twists and turns until the surprise ending just smacks you right in the face.
    more
  • Ophelia Reads
    January 13, 2017
    A new novel by Erin Kelly makes for a delicious prospect indeed. A back catalogue of elegant, atmospheric thrillers has firmly established Kelly as a cut above in a genre which has long since reached saturation point; deftly and intricately woven plots, immaculate characterisation and rich, evocative prose combine to elevate Kelly's tales to a different league altogether from the plethora of poorly plotted potboilers currently clogging the shelves. She brings new twists to twistlit, all imbued w A new novel by Erin Kelly makes for a delicious prospect indeed. A back catalogue of elegant, atmospheric thrillers has firmly established Kelly as a cut above in a genre which has long since reached saturation point; deftly and intricately woven plots, immaculate characterisation and rich, evocative prose combine to elevate Kelly's tales to a different league altogether from the plethora of poorly plotted potboilers currently clogging the shelves. She brings new twists to twistlit, all imbued with a very British, very domestic, very familiar feel - but each new novel bears a motif which sets is apart from its predecessors and its contemporaries alike. In He Said/She Said, solar eclipses are the hallmark, and nothing could be more fitting given the sinister duality of this taut tale - dark and light, black and white, but which is which? And more importantly, who do we trust?Kit and Laura meet at university, their courtship defined by the polar mix of hedonistic nights and two-bar electric fires in tatty student digs. The turn of the millennium brings a wave of new-age decadence and at-oneness with the universe, and Kit's passion for chasing eclipses soon becomes Laura's. The solar eclipse of summer 1999 draws the couple to the line of totality, but as the chill daytime dusk winds scour the Cornish coast Laura witnesses a terrible crime - or does she? The repercussions of that moment will haunt her down the years, but it's not until a decade and a half later, pregnant and settled with Kit in their North London middle class idyll, that Laura realises how much is at stake - but is it too late?Kelly specialises in the past catching up in myriad terrifying ways, but in He Said/She Said she achieves this so masterfully, so insidiously, that the creeping dark shadow obliterating clarity and light seems an entirely fitting metaphor. Part thriller, part court-room drama, the novel poses difficult questions about consent and perception, and how lives can change irrevocably with just a few hastily chosen words. Kit and Laura's lives spiral out of control, but the reader is kept in jangling suspense as to who the architect of their woes actually is - damaged Beth, the fulcrum around which the drama of that fateful day in Cornwall plays out; Jamie, arrogant and cocksure, yet with the loyal support of a devoted fiancee and pillars-of-the-community family; or is the danger closer yet to home? As darkness descends and the heart-stopping denouement unfolds, the reader is left sucker-punched, stunned, breathless. The web woven around Kit and Laura spans continents and years, yet the action feels close, claustrophobic; the contrast between the wide expanse of heavens gazed upon and the intense, suffocating urgency of relationships on the edge and secrets long-guarded makes for a dizzying, disorientating read. As ever, Kelly's characters are startlingly and memorably rendered; flawed and fearful, they become increasingly unpredictable and unreliable. There is much room for empathy here, particularly in the form of the exceptionally executed Beth - but even then, the reader questions whether their first impression is the correct one. This is one of the things which makes He Said/She Said a truly great novel - the constant need to question, to re-evaluate, both the narrative and ourselves. To ask whether our perceptions can ever truly be trusted - and whether those we're closest to can also ever be absolutely deserving of the trust we bestow them with.The tension here is of the deliciously, uncomfortably slow-burn variety; the twists are judiciously peppered rather than ladled with a heavy hand, and are all the more effective and disturbing for that. The court-room scenes are especially nerve-wracking, recalling another top-class recent British thriller, Apple Tree Yard. The other pivotal moment in the narrative occurs here, changing again the course of many lives, sending all hurtling toward the final gut-wrenching conclusion. The import of Laura's actions in the dock is felt immediately, even though she cannot then know the events she has set in train; it is from here that normality begins to crumble, and the lies and secrets of all involved are drawn closer with devastating effect. The brilliance of the book does not lie entirely in its taut plotting, however - Kelly's haunting, intense prose imparts a richly brooding, atmospheric texture which gets under the skin every bit as much as the building tension.He Said/She Said is a perfect example of what happens when a thriller goes absolutely right - chilling and monstrous, affecting and challenging, this is a book which grips from its opening paragraph and doesn't relinquish its hold until long after the final page. Cleverly plotted and elegantly written, He Said/She Said effortlessly eclipses its genre-mates and is yet another triumph for Erin Kelly.My thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
Write a review