Mrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls
A girl discovers her boarding school is actually an elite spy-training program, and she must learn the skills of the trade in order to find her mother in this action-packed middle grade debut.After a botched escape plan from her boarding school, Abigail is stunned to discover the school is actually a cover for an elite spy ring called The Center, along with being training grounds for future spies. Even more shocking? Abigail’s mother is a top agent for The Center and she has gone MIA, with valuable information that many people would like to have—at any cost. Along with a former nemesis and charming boy from her grade, Abigail goes through a crash course in Spy Training 101, often with hilarious—and sometimes painful—results. But Abigail realizes she might be a better spy-in-training than she thought—and the answers to her mother’s whereabouts are a lot closer than she thinks…

Mrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls Details

TitleMrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJul 4th, 2017
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Middle Grade, Mystery, Fiction

Mrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls Review

  • Book Him Danno
    June 29, 2017
    Finding books for my 8 year old daughter is almost impossible. Summer start May 31st as of July 4th she has finished 5 books. Little House In the Big Woods, Dork Diaries, Nancy Drew and so much more.As soon as I find books I think she might like I grab them right away.8 Year Old ReviewMom listen this book is like the one my brother has about the boys spies school ( Stuart Gibbs's Spy School) So the popular girl at the boarding school goes missing and Abby decides to find out why only to discover Finding books for my 8 year old daughter is almost impossible. Summer start May 31st as of July 4th she has finished 5 books. Little House In the Big Woods, Dork Diaries, Nancy Drew and so much more.As soon as I find books I think she might like I grab them right away.8 Year Old ReviewMom listen this book is like the one my brother has about the boys spies school ( Stuart Gibbs's Spy School) So the popular girl at the boarding school goes missing and Abby decides to find out why only to discover wait for it mom! Its a spy school. It was awesome I loved the book so much and I want to read more. Please. Please!Beth McMullen please write another book and quickly my daughter can't wait.My reviewI enjoyed reading this book and found it really fun for kids 8-11 year of age. The kids get into trouble, the parents are parents not some funny side kick or stupid parent. The kids also have to figure out a way to solve the case. The story keep a good pace for kids and parents will enjoy reading this story out loud to their kids.The story is a traditional spy story but for kids who need a little more adult theme with about adult writing.Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for the advance Copy.
    more
  • Kevin
    June 29, 2017
    MRS. SMITH'S SPY SCHOOL FOR GIRLS is a fast-paced, very enjoyable -- and highly recommended -- read for middle grade readers (and readers of all ages). In the first of what I hope will be many adventures, author Beth McMullen introduces Abigail Hunter, who is sent to an elite boarding school by her mother Jennifer, but soon discovers it's really a training school for spies known as the Center. Abby finds herself used as bait in a plan to draw her mother -- the Center's top spy -- out of hiding a MRS. SMITH'S SPY SCHOOL FOR GIRLS is a fast-paced, very enjoyable -- and highly recommended -- read for middle grade readers (and readers of all ages). In the first of what I hope will be many adventures, author Beth McMullen introduces Abigail Hunter, who is sent to an elite boarding school by her mother Jennifer, but soon discovers it's really a training school for spies known as the Center. Abby finds herself used as bait in a plan to draw her mother -- the Center's top spy -- out of hiding and, with her friends Charlotte, Izumi, and Toby, discovers much-needed information on the Ghost, who is the head of a rogue organization. I couldn't find a good place to stop reading and kept turning pages until I was finished.I received a copy from Aladdin/Simon & Schuster through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Amanda Hosch
    May 8, 2017
    Seventh grade can be hard enough, but imagine being shipped off to boarding school out of the blue. Abby finds out her fate when she brings in the mail one day. She was trying to be more helpful around the house, and look where that got her: boarding school with uniforms!This middle grade spy novel has it all: great voice, a lovable but prone to making poor life choices main character, and enough spy gadgets stuffed into a pink iPhone to make 007 jealous. Added to the mix are a super competent b Seventh grade can be hard enough, but imagine being shipped off to boarding school out of the blue. Abby finds out her fate when she brings in the mail one day. She was trying to be more helpful around the house, and look where that got her: boarding school with uniforms!This middle grade spy novel has it all: great voice, a lovable but prone to making poor life choices main character, and enough spy gadgets stuffed into a pink iPhone to make 007 jealous. Added to the mix are a super competent but rather mean senior girl, who has to train Abby, and some sweet best friends. Fun, exciting, and suspenseful!
    more
  • Sarah
    July 1, 2017
    Didn't love this one. The chapter breaks seemed abrupt and I couldn't always follow the passage of time (which is a pet peeve of mine). There is definitely enough action to keep young readers engaged, but it started to get a bit tiresome for me. Not sure if I'll pick up the inevitable sequel.Thanks to the publisher for a digital advance reader's copy, provided via Edelweiss.
    more
  • Jen Petro-Roy
    January 25, 2017
    Such a fun story! Gallagher Girls for the younger set.
  • ☘Tara Sheehan☘
    May 26, 2017
    I read this with my oldest daughter who is my go to authority on books like this and we both loved it!She thought Abby was exciting and loved the adventure; of course she was hoping spy schools like this really exist and begged me to enroll her. I liked that it gave a female character the chance to show strength in the face of adversity and learn important lessons while having a fun time with lots of cool tech.There are some really great characters that aid in keeping the storyline fast paced, s I read this with my oldest daughter who is my go to authority on books like this and we both loved it!She thought Abby was exciting and loved the adventure; of course she was hoping spy schools like this really exist and begged me to enroll her. I liked that it gave a female character the chance to show strength in the face of adversity and learn important lessons while having a fun time with lots of cool tech.There are some really great characters that aid in keeping the storyline fast paced, suspenseful and intriguing. In a lot of ways it captures that same fun and magic as the Spy Kids movie series but with more focus on the girl power aspects. The changing settings make you feel like you’re traveling along with them as they undergo spy missions which of course can only be solved by spy kids.It’s a great start to a new series which parent will be happy with their kids’ reading, kids will love the spy missions and librarians will enjoy having in stock.
    more
  • Rebecca Donnelly
    December 24, 2016
    Abigail Hunter gets sent to a fancy New England prep school, only to find out it's nothing like what she was expecting. The Smith School for Children is also home to the ultra-secret Center, or Mrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls. Abby finds herself in the middle of an elaborate scheme she doesn't fully understand--information is strictly need-to-know--and gets sent to California to lure her missing mother out into the open. With a combination of high-tech gadgets and her wits, Abby battles the ba Abigail Hunter gets sent to a fancy New England prep school, only to find out it's nothing like what she was expecting. The Smith School for Children is also home to the ultra-secret Center, or Mrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls. Abby finds herself in the middle of an elaborate scheme she doesn't fully understand--information is strictly need-to-know--and gets sent to California to lure her missing mother out into the open. With a combination of high-tech gadgets and her wits, Abby battles the bad guys but gets no closer to finding her mom or succeeding in her mission. It's how Abby handles herself when she's taken off the mission that really counts. A super-fun super-spy story for middle grade readers!
    more
  • Yapha
    January 23, 2017
    Abby is shocked when she learns that her mother is sending her away to boarding school for seventh grade. Sure, she's gotten in trouble sometimes (okay, a lot of times), but she and her mom do everything together. They've traveled the world together. Why would her mother do this? When a very mean but very popular girl disappears, Abby sneaks into the Headmistress's office to try and find out why. Instead, she finds out that the posh and proper Smith School is actually a covert spy training schoo Abby is shocked when she learns that her mother is sending her away to boarding school for seventh grade. Sure, she's gotten in trouble sometimes (okay, a lot of times), but she and her mom do everything together. They've traveled the world together. Why would her mother do this? When a very mean but very popular girl disappears, Abby sneaks into the Headmistress's office to try and find out why. Instead, she finds out that the posh and proper Smith School is actually a covert spy training school. But she is discovered in the process and is cast as bait in the next spy mission. A fast-paced and fun adventure! Fans of Stuart Gibbs's Spy School series will enjoy it! Recommended for grades 4 & up.eARC provided by Edelweiss
    more
  • Mark Maciejewski
    January 22, 2017
    Mrs Smith's Spy School for Girls has everything a book needs to keep kids coming back for more. It's fun, fast paced and suspenseful, with lots of cool locations, and fun, Spy gadgetry. Also, I know the title says "for Girls" but this book is for everyone who likes intrigue and suspense. Watch for more from this series from S&S/Aladdin.
    more
  • Allison
    April 12, 2017
    This is such a fun, cute book! The characters are entertaining, especially Abby and Toby, and the stakes feel real. I especially liked the way the adults in the book acted toward the kids, and how the kids get into danger through their own actions. The plot was interesting. I also really liked how Abby wins in the end; it was cleverly done! I'd happily read more!
    more
  • Andréa
    November 15, 2016
    Note: I accessed a digital review copy of this book through Edelweiss.
  • Ms. Yingling
    April 2, 2017
    E ARC from Edelweiss Above the TreelineAbigail has lead an odd and nomadic life with her mother, Jennifer. She thinks they have always gotten along, but her mother suddenly decides to send her off to boarding school because she needs more structure in her life. Abigail proves her mother correct when she uses sheets to escape from her dorm room, and ends up in the headmistresses' office. This doesn't end well, and she has her room moved to the fourth floor. She also finds out that Mrs. Smith's Sc E ARC from Edelweiss Above the TreelineAbigail has lead an odd and nomadic life with her mother, Jennifer. She thinks they have always gotten along, but her mother suddenly decides to send her off to boarding school because she needs more structure in her life. Abigail proves her mother correct when she uses sheets to escape from her dorm room, and ends up in the headmistresses' office. This doesn't end well, and she has her room moved to the fourth floor. She also finds out that Mrs. Smith's School for Children is actually a cover for a spy training operation, and her mother was friends with Mrs. Smith. Children are, of course, frequently used in spy operations, so when Mrs. Smith thinks that they can run Jennifer to ground by using Abigail as bait, she has older, successful child spy Veronica train her for a couple of nights, and then they ship her off to San Francisco under the guise of attending a family wedding. Nothing goes right on the trip, but luckily Toby, another student, is keeping tabs on Abigail. When she returns to the school, she lets her friends Charlotte and Izumi in on her secret, and the girls, along with Toby, take off to New York City to try to find Jennifer. Secrets are revealed, and the stage is set for more adventures. Strengths: If you can't keep Carter's Gallagher Girls series on the shelf, take a look at this one. It has all of the spy school story essentials-- a boarding school, spy gadgets, a mission that can only be completed by children. There's a tiny bit of romance, some intrigue, and lots of travel and chases. Weaknesses: I didn't care for Abigail, and there was a lot of incompetent spying going on. Abigail wasn't really trained properly, and she has no innate spy abilities, so she went from one bad situation to another. The Gallagher Girls are fun because the are smart, well trained, and successful spies.What I really think: I love spy stories, but this one wasn't my favorite. Debating.
    more
  • Stephanie Tournas
    April 23, 2017
    Twelve year old Abby, a"chronic user of poor judgement," is unexpectedly sent to a boarding school by her mom. Unable to quell her natural feistiness, she spies on the headmaster, and finds out that her new school is a cover for a team of teen aged spies. The headmaster, Mrs. Smith, is the head spy and Abby's mother, who has gone missing, is one of their best agents. Abby is sent on a mission to lure the bad guys to her, which is supposed to get her mom to come out of hiding, in order to get on Twelve year old Abby, a"chronic user of poor judgement," is unexpectedly sent to a boarding school by her mom. Unable to quell her natural feistiness, she spies on the headmaster, and finds out that her new school is a cover for a team of teen aged spies. The headmaster, Mrs. Smith, is the head spy and Abby's mother, who has gone missing, is one of their best agents. Abby is sent on a mission to lure the bad guys to her, which is supposed to get her mom to come out of hiding, in order to get on the case. Abby's voice is humorous and witty, and the fast paced story of adventure and espionage in an elite boarding school and beyond is an enjoyable read.My only complaint is that the bad guy, The Ghost, is a fuzzy amalgam of all possible evil, and lacks a believable identity. It is hard to feel the danger when the description of the villain is so indistinct.
    more
  • Alexandra Ott
    April 20, 2017
    This book is so much fun! It's a fast-paced, high-stakes adventure full of thrills and twists and turns. The voice is flawless, and middle grade readers will love the humor. Highly recommend for fans of spy stories and middle grade contemporary adventures!
    more
Write a review