Avenged (Ruined, #2)
In the sequel to Ruined, the romance of The Selection and the epic stakes of Red Queen come together in a story of revenge, adventure, and unexpected love.Emelina Flores has come home to Ruina. After rescuing her sister Olivia from imprisonment in rival kingdom Lera, Em and Olivia together vow to rebuild Ruina to its former glory. But their fight has only begun. Olivia is determined to destroy everyone who acts against Ruina, but Em isn’t as sure. Ever since Em posed as Prince Casimir’s betrothed in Lera, she’s started to see another side to this war. And now that Cas has taken the throne, Em believes a truce is within reach. But Olivia suspects that Em’s romantic feelings for Cas are just coloring her judgement.Em is determined to bring peace to her home. But when winning the war could mean betraying her family, Em faces an impossible choice between loyalty and love. Em must stay one step ahead of her enemies—and her blood—before she’s the next victim in this battle for sovereignty.

Avenged (Ruined, #2) Details

TitleAvenged (Ruined, #2)
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseMay 2nd, 2017
PublisherHarperTeen
ISBN0062396633
ISBN-139780062396631
Number of pages416 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Romance, Young Adult Fantasy, High Fantasy, Adventure, Magic, Young Adult Romance, Science Fiction

Avenged (Ruined, #2) Review

  • Alyssa
    March 14, 2016
    AGGGGHHHH, THE ENDING OF RUINED WAS JUST AGGGHHHH! I'd prefer this series to be a duology, given the ending of Ruined, but right now all that matters is BOOK TWO PLEASE!!!!
  • Damaris (GoodChoiceReading)
    November 30, 2016
    Yesss!! AVENGED is just as good as the first! Of course it ends with a bang! Now what the heck do I do while I wait for book 3???? Argh! Why can't authors have magic and release books back to back? Lol! AVENGED did not disappoint! Huge 5 stars from me!
    more
  • Tabby
    May 12, 2016
  • Cookie
    October 16, 2014
    THE TITLE DOESNT START WITH AN R AND I FEEL MORE THAN WEIRD—I FEEL BETRAYED----I'm gonna feel a bit weird if the title of this book doesn't begin with an R....
  • Mary H
    February 1, 2017
    HO-LY SHE-IT I AM SHOOK. Ruined ends on some pretty big moments, and Avenged just keeps it going. Em is such a cool MC. What I like about her is that she is the anti-special one. Her sister Olivia is this world's superpowered The One, but with it, she's basically sacrificed any empathy and possibly her sanity, and she's basically a murderous psychopath with a major superiority complex. Em, in contrast, is the level-headed one with a plan. She reminds me of Lia from The Remnant Chronicles. Em use HO-LY SHE-IT I AM SHOOK. Ruined ends on some pretty big moments, and Avenged just keeps it going. Em is such a cool MC. What I like about her is that she is the anti-special one. Her sister Olivia is this world's superpowered The One, but with it, she's basically sacrificed any empathy and possibly her sanity, and she's basically a murderous psychopath with a major superiority complex. Em, in contrast, is the level-headed one with a plan. She reminds me of Lia from The Remnant Chronicles. Em uses her head to get... well, ahead, and is super good playing the political game. She's decently strong physically and can fight, but she's not The Best Fighter Of All Time. No, she's a teenage girl with skills that came from several years of training and hard work. These two sisters as foils is everything. Saving a sibling is a super common YA trope, but Avenged really explores whether rescuing the sibling was a good thing.Avenged is super interesting with the political mind-f*ckery going on, although at some point, I just want to be like, "okay, guys. Yes, YOUR PARENTS murdered HER family, and SHE murdered that OTHER GIRL's family, and that OTHER GIRL murdered your MOM, but then that OTHER DUDE murdered your DAD because your DAD murdered THAT ONE GUY so you're all just going to have to get over it." The web of deceit and treachery is VAST with this cast. These four kingdoms just can not be happy without murder, which is interesting, but come on. At some point, literally everyone is going to be dead because they can't stop searching for vengeance. The title is super apt because this book is exploring at what point avenging a loved one or your kingdom is too high a price to pay. But watching the behind-the-scenes and having people learn to step up and be good leaders is pretty cool. I still really like the world. It's got an interesting feel to it. 1. I do wish that there were a map because the positioning of the kingdoms is confusing to me so seeing it would make so much sense. 2. Avenged takes place super shortly after Ruined so I didn't understand how it was super hot in Ruined, but really really cold in Avenged? Like, I get that Lera has some jungle, and Ruina is in this barren wasteland, but if they're close enough that these people can walk to the other kingdoms in a matter of days, not weeks, the temperature differences shouldn't be QUITE that drastic.I love all the relationships in this series. Not only do we have foil sisters suddenly in the weirdest diarchy of all time and suuuuuper swoony romance (seriously, Cas and Em kissing is just my favorite), but we have platonic friends, a new out-of-nowhere-but-I-dig-it cross-kingdom romance, political intrigue, a fun group of royal bros, and the Ruined suddenly respecting the hell out of Em for her ability to lead them. ABOUT DANG TIME. Avenged is a really solid sequel, and honestly, I have zero idea how I'm going to survive until book 3.
    more
  • Jaime Arkin
    February 21, 2017
    Omg I need book 3 and Olivia can suck it!!
  • Rachel Lightwood
    October 19, 2016
    ... Brown is totally the go-to colour for books covers, is it not?Oh, it isn't... hmm, I wonder why.
  • Emily Paschke
    June 30, 2016
    I feel like Em's sister Olivia is a psychopath. Oh wait, she is.
  • Jen
    March 10, 2017
    3.75. This took awhile to get the ball rolling but once it did, it was non-stop, on the edge of my seat action. The ending is not as brutal as Book One--PTL for that. I'm anxious to see how it all ends.
  • Melissa
    October 25, 2016
    It has a cover!!! I'm kinda digging it, but I think I would've preferred to have it in silver too... Hmm, what do you think ?!
  • Hala
    September 1, 2016
    I NEED THIS BOOOK RIUIIGGHT NOWWWW-----------------------------------------------------OMG ITS RELEASE DATE IS WITH ACOWAR ?!)(738:£))&
  • Jamie
    May 13, 2016
    I'm really excited for this, Amy is a great writer.
  •  {Tracy Thai}
    July 18, 2016
    GAH! I CAN'T WAIT! THAT ENDING WAS A BIG NOOOO.
  • Vukica10
    November 23, 2016
    Omg the cover is so beautiful!!!! Can't waitGuys go read Ruined if you already haven't. It's amazing!!
  • Saruuh Kelsey
    February 18, 2017
    These books are INTENSE.After reading quite a few sequels in the past year that were nowhere near as good as the first book, I was really worried about Avenged I loved Em and Cas SO MUCH in Ruined and I didn't want their story to decline, but I needn't have worried. This book is every bit as tense and dangerous and romantic as the first book.I only have a few thoughts about this book (I mostly have feeeeelings) so I'll list them here:-Olivia is TERRIFYING. Scariest non-villain villain in a book These books are INTENSE.After reading quite a few sequels in the past year that were nowhere near as good as the first book, I was really worried about Avenged I loved Em and Cas SO MUCH in Ruined and I didn't want their story to decline, but I needn't have worried. This book is every bit as tense and dangerous and romantic as the first book.I only have a few thoughts about this book (I mostly have feeeeelings) so I'll list them here:-Olivia is TERRIFYING. Scariest non-villain villain in a book I've read. It's more unsettling because she means well, and every person she murders is for the good of her people. But her complete lack of feeling when she murders entire groups of people? Terrifying-Aren, poor, tortured Aren. Confession: going into this book, I could not remember Aren at all, but he came into himself as a character in this book and I loved him. I can't wait to see how he handles his evolving power and that ending.-The supporting characters make this book so much stronger. Noble guard Galo and his boyfriend. Newcomer Violet, another strong female character. Iria, conflicted warrior and all-around great person. August, pain in the ass (but he did up the tension so I guess he has some purpose as a human being, though I'm really struggling for something nice to say.)This is just such a good book, and every bit as scary and heartfelt as Ruined, just on a bigger and more exciting scale and with more conflict and heartache for Em. I'm so happy this sequel was strong!
    more
  • Rachel Strolle
    January 17, 2017
    Book one is a Frankenstein's monster of high fantasy. But book one needed to exist so we could get this. A terrifying shift of "who is the villain" and a lot of blood and high stakes made me a happy reader. At the very least, it's entertaining--and I'd recommend book one based solely off of book two.
    more
  • Allyson
    December 24, 2016
  • Madison
    March 12, 2017
    I forget how much I like to read fantasy books until I pick up a book like Avenged and I fall in love with the drama, romance, and beauty that is a cleverly created world and stunning characters. Life, freedom, and love are hard-fought in Avenged, and it will leave you desperate for book three in this exciting series. Avenged was rather agonising to read. The characters face a lot of opposition - unjust opposition and that tends to drive me nuts. But it was so very addictive; a real pleasure to I forget how much I like to read fantasy books until I pick up a book like Avenged and I fall in love with the drama, romance, and beauty that is a cleverly created world and stunning characters. Life, freedom, and love are hard-fought in Avenged, and it will leave you desperate for book three in this exciting series. Avenged was rather agonising to read. The characters face a lot of opposition - unjust opposition and that tends to drive me nuts. But it was so very addictive; a real pleasure to sink back into the detailed world Amy Tintera has created.Avenged picks up where Ruined left off. Emelina Flores has been discovered as an imposter - not Cas's true match but rather a Ruined. She helped her sister Olivia escape, resulting in the death of both Cas's mother and father. Now Cas is king, but his cousin Jovita wants revenge on the Ruined. Cas just wants peace and to rebuild his kingdom, but with Jovita challenging his reign at every turn that seems unlikely to happen. Em has been reunited with the Ruined and is leading them with her sister. But while Em wants peace and safety for the Ruined, Olivia is set on revenge, killing for fun as much as freedom. As Cas and Em separately battle for peace they risk losing everything all over again. There are political alliances to make and wars to avoid and each step takes them further apart, even if destiny seems to continually bring them back together.Avenger is the second book in this series. But it is no placeholder. It is just as full of intrigue and action and romance as book one, and now I am desperate for book three.Em truly is a formidable character. Natural and gifted warrior and leader, she is compassionate, decisive, firm, and brutal, and she never gives up. I'll admit that I'm much more like Cas - ready to drink my soup and forget the world exists (sorry, inside joke). But Em inspires him to be the best leader he can be - what he was born to be and so much more. It is his kindness and forgiveness, his determination to do the right thing that makes them so perfect together. I loved that while they were initially separated at the start of this book and many times throughout, they always seem to be reunited - something they themselves comment on. I will certainly be not be giving up on Cas and Em, even if their story isn't finished yet. There are also a few added romances to enjoy in this book and we get to know some new and old characters a little better - including the notorious and scary Olivia. There is endlessaction, death and political wrestling, and everything is perfectly poised for something huge in the third book. Avenged, like its predecessor, Ruined, is a fantastic fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Graceling, Snow Like Ashes, or Poison Study. The publishers provided an advanced readers copy of this book for reviewing purposes. All opinions are my own.Find more reviews, reading age guides, content advisory, and recommendations on my blog Madison's Library.
    more
  • Laura Hanby
    March 20, 2017
    I was pleasantly surprised with this sequel to Ruined. Fantasy sequels can be a bit difficult to pull off, but Tintera lands it pretty well. First of all, I liked seeing Tintera's expansion of the world in the novel. We get to see Ruina for the first time and meet new characters such as Em's unhinged younger sister Olivia and Cas' new ally Violet. We also get to further explore old characters such as Aren and Iria, who get their own story in this sequel. I am also happy to report that this novel I was pleasantly surprised with this sequel to Ruined. Fantasy sequels can be a bit difficult to pull off, but Tintera lands it pretty well. First of all, I liked seeing Tintera's expansion of the world in the novel. We get to see Ruina for the first time and meet new characters such as Em's unhinged younger sister Olivia and Cas' new ally Violet. We also get to further explore old characters such as Aren and Iria, who get their own story in this sequel. I am also happy to report that this novel contains no love triangles! I can not tell you how happy this makes me.Overall, a solid sequel to a solid fantasy series.
    more
  • Jenelle
    February 26, 2017
    ***Thanks to Edelweiss for an advanced copy of this title****review to come soon
  • Hayaisreading
    February 7, 2017
    venged by Amy Tintera
  • Teresa
    February 6, 2017
    * eArc provided by publisher via Edelweiss *
  • Shelby Palmer
    September 10, 2016
    Ooohhh, a cover! Bringing me back to the Justin/Britney break up... "What goes around, goes around, goes aroundComes all the way back around"
  • Rubysbooks
    November 20, 2016
    I just saw the cover a few days ago and I have only one question: What is the meaning for the red crystals embedded in the swords? That's what I want to know!
  • CatcherR
    January 3, 2017
    1/03/17: Want to read this so badly!
  • Mehak
    June 18, 2016
    NEED THIS !!
Write a review