Persons Unknown (DS Manon, #2)
The sequel to Susie Steiner’s bestselling MISSING, PRESUMEDManon has settled back into life in Cambridgeshire with her adopted son Fly. She’s perfectly happy working on cold cases until a man is stabbed to death just yards from the police station, and both the victim and the prime suspect turn out to be much closer to home than she would like. How well does Manon know her loved ones, and are they capable of murder?

Persons Unknown (DS Manon, #2) Details

TitlePersons Unknown (DS Manon, #2)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 18th, 2017
PublisherThe Borough Press
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Crime, Thriller, Mystery Thriller

Persons Unknown (DS Manon, #2) Review

  • Bonnie Brody
    February 23, 2017
    Tana French has been my favorite author of literary mysteries for a very long time. I have now discovered Susie Steiner and both she and Ms. French share a place on my 'favorite list'. Ms. Steiner writes in a way that inhabits her characters, gives them life, and resurrects them from the page. She is able to develop characters while also providing psychological intrigue.Detective Manon Bradshaw is 42 years old, single and very pregnant. She has moved from London to Cambridgeshire to give her 12 Tana French has been my favorite author of literary mysteries for a very long time. I have now discovered Susie Steiner and both she and Ms. French share a place on my 'favorite list'. Ms. Steiner writes in a way that inhabits her characters, gives them life, and resurrects them from the page. She is able to develop characters while also providing psychological intrigue.Detective Manon Bradshaw is 42 years old, single and very pregnant. She has moved from London to Cambridgeshire to give her 12 year old adopted son, Fly, a better chance at succeeding. While they were in London she feared that Fly was cavorting with a bad crowd and, given his brother's death and his mother's history of addiction, Manon wanted to help him while she had the chance. This move, however, is not what Fly wanted. He is being bullied at a school that is almost lily white and he feels out of step and alone in Cambridgeshire. On top of that, Manon is having another child. What could she want with him he thinks.Manon and Fly live with Manon's sister Ellie and her son Solly. Fly loves Solly and is very good with him. However, it is not long before Fly is arrested as the main suspect in the knifing murder of Ellie's ex who is also Solly's father. Fly is unmoored and lashes out at Manon, feeling like it is her fault that she is in this predicament. On top of that, because of Manon's closeness to the case, she is asked to step aside and not participate in any aspect of the investigation. The word 'no' is not enough to stop Manon and her love for Fly has no bounds. As she navigates the twists and turns of this squirrelly ride, she comes face to face with situations that not only puzzle her but have her questioning herself and her family. What she wants most is to win back Fly's love and trust but she is smart enough to realize that this takes time, not just determination. She asks herself repeatedly why she got pregnant, why she wanted another child when she already had Fly.The psychological insight into the book's protagonists is excellent. I felt like I knew each and every one of them and what made them tick. There are no red herrings and every single loose end of this wonderful novel is tied up at the end. Steiner's first book 'Missing, Presumed, gives a background for this second novel in the series but is not a necessary prerequisite in order to read and love this second installment. It is rare that a mystery has the profound depths and insight as those shown in 'Persons Unknown'.
    more
  • J.R.
    March 26, 2017
    Hormones and morning sickness are the least of her concerns when pregnant, fortyish Manon Bradshaw gives up the misery of the Met and comes home to Cambridgeshire to work cold casesA primary motive for the move was to spare her adopted son Fly from bad influences in the city. But Fly, a 12-year-old black lad, feels isolated and friendless in the smaller town and becomes increasingly insolent and adolescent.The situation becomes more dire when Fly is accused of murdering John Oliver Ross, Manon's Hormones and morning sickness are the least of her concerns when pregnant, fortyish Manon Bradshaw gives up the misery of the Met and comes home to Cambridgeshire to work cold casesA primary motive for the move was to spare her adopted son Fly from bad influences in the city. But Fly, a 12-year-old black lad, feels isolated and friendless in the smaller town and becomes increasingly insolent and adolescent.The situation becomes more dire when Fly is accused of murdering John Oliver Ross, Manon's sister Ellie's ex and the father of her child.Manon's colleagues who know Fly doubt his guilt but are steered to press the case against him by their supervisor who won't listen to implications of possibly better motives for the crime against a wealthy London banker.Manon finds herself on her own to prove Fly's innocence, though even he seems determined not to help her prove him innocent. Those hormones come into play once more when Manon finds herself irresistibly attracted to the defense lawyer she's hired.The story is told from the viewpoints of Manon; Detective Sergeant Davy Walker; Birdie, an eccentric shopkeeper, and Saskia, a woman who has been involved with the victim.A literary mystery with a complex plot and sympathetic characters. I haven't read "Missing, Presumed," the first in the series, but now I want to get better acquainted with Manon and her associates.
    more
  • Laurel-Rain
    March 27, 2017
    Detective Manon Bradshaw is five months pregnant and has officially given up on finding romantic love. Instead, she is in hot pursuit of work-life balance and parked in a cold case corridor—the price she’s had to pay for a transfer back to Cambridgeshire. This is fine, she tells herself. She can devote herself to bringing up her two children: her adopted twelve-year-old son, Fly Dent, and the new baby. Fly needed a fresh start—he was always being stopped and searched in London by officers who co Detective Manon Bradshaw is five months pregnant and has officially given up on finding romantic love. Instead, she is in hot pursuit of work-life balance and parked in a cold case corridor—the price she’s had to pay for a transfer back to Cambridgeshire. This is fine, she tells herself. She can devote herself to bringing up her two children: her adopted twelve-year-old son, Fly Dent, and the new baby. Fly needed a fresh start—he was always being stopped and searched in London by officers who couldn’t see past the color of his skin. Manon feared that Fly, increasingly sullen and adolescent, was getting in with the wrong crowd at school, or that possibly he was the wrong crowd. Being home by five, for the sake of her children, is what Manon tells herself she needs.Yet when a wealthy businessman is found stabbed close to police headquarters, Manon can’t help but sidle in on the briefing: The victim is a banker from London, worth millions. More dramatically, he was once in a relationship with Manon’s sister, Ellie, and is the father of Ellie’s toddler son.The case begins to circle in on Manon’s home and her family. She finds herself pitted against the colleagues she once held dear: Davy Walker and Harriet Harper.My Thoughts: I loved connecting with Manon Bradshaw in the author’s previous novel, “Missing, Presumed.” What I enjoy about her most is how we are privy to her personal life, with all of its flaws and foibles, and we are granted a glimpse of her thoughts as she struggles through the challenges she faces. Living in a house with her sister Ellie and Ellie’s son Solomon, we can sense from the beginning that something is not right. Ellie’s abruptness, her paranoia about her privacy, and the secrets she is holding close put me on high alert. What we do not find out until later is how much Ellie has done to protect her own turf, no matter how her actions will impact those around her.I felt frustrated by the rush to judgment of the police with regard to the murder of Jon-Oliver, who is Solly’s father. Someone in the police management team has pushed for the arrest of 12-year-old Fly. Why are the hasty judgments not investigated properly?Manon is locked out of the investigation because Fly is her adopted son, but she manages to work her way into parts of the investigation via Fly’s attorney, Mark Talbot.Davy Walker, who worked closely with Manon before Fly’s involvement in the case, is doggedly pursuing other angles, once his gut tells him that something is off.Narrated by Manon, Davy, and a few other individuals, Persons Unknown begins to unfold slowly, and we soon see the crucial connections that will help solve the case. While one piece remains uncovered, we feel much of the satisfaction due us in a mystery with characters we love. 4.5 stars.
    more
  • Lori
    March 21, 2017
    I was delighted to get the opportunity to read an advance copy of Persons Unknown as I had read and liked Missing, Presumed. I thought Persons Unknown was even better. Although it is considered a sequel, I found it was perfectly fine as a stand-alone novel. I couldn't put the book down; the characters and plot were unique and compelling. I found the realistic insights into a murder investigation from many perspectives interesting. I liked both the interracial adoption issues and single motherhoo I was delighted to get the opportunity to read an advance copy of Persons Unknown as I had read and liked Missing, Presumed. I thought Persons Unknown was even better. Although it is considered a sequel, I found it was perfectly fine as a stand-alone novel. I couldn't put the book down; the characters and plot were unique and compelling. I found the realistic insights into a murder investigation from many perspectives interesting. I liked both the interracial adoption issues and single motherhood experience. I also appreciated the story line of the shopkeeper and her loneliness. This book was much more than a mystery/thriller, largely due to the great writing and interesting characters. I highly recommend it.
    more
  • Reading Fool
    March 18, 2017
    I received an Advance Reader's Copy of this book.This second installment in the DS Manon series is even better than the first (Missing, Presumed). DS Manon Bradshaw is pregnant and taking care of her 12-year-old adopted son, Fly. A murder investigation is taking place around a dead banker, and Manon's family is implicated. The story is again written in alternating chapters from the different characters' perspectives, and the author is impressively adept at giving the reader bits and pieces of th I received an Advance Reader's Copy of this book.This second installment in the DS Manon series is even better than the first (Missing, Presumed). DS Manon Bradshaw is pregnant and taking care of her 12-year-old adopted son, Fly. A murder investigation is taking place around a dead banker, and Manon's family is implicated. The story is again written in alternating chapters from the different characters' perspectives, and the author is impressively adept at giving the reader bits and pieces of the puzzle. I was totally sucked in and couldn't put the book down. The characters are complicated and deep, as is the plot. Loved this book.
    more
  • Áine
    March 13, 2017
    Oh my goodness what a rollercoaster ride. Poor Manon's return to her Cambridgeshire team turns into a nightmare when the professional turns personal. The intricacies of a team having to investigate the loved ones of one of their own are really laid bare here and at times I could barely read further. An excellent read and I look forward to the next installment already.I received an ARC copy from the author and publisher via netgalley but I did have it on pre-order anyway after enjoying the first Oh my goodness what a rollercoaster ride. Poor Manon's return to her Cambridgeshire team turns into a nightmare when the professional turns personal. The intricacies of a team having to investigate the loved ones of one of their own are really laid bare here and at times I could barely read further. An excellent read and I look forward to the next installment already.I received an ARC copy from the author and publisher via netgalley but I did have it on pre-order anyway after enjoying the first book earlier this year :)
    more
  • Pgchuis
    March 7, 2017
    I received a copy of this novel from the publisher via NetGalley.Review to follow on publication date.
  • Biblio Files
    March 1, 2017
    Second in the Detective Sergeant Manon Bradshaw series, Persons Unknown is almost as good as the first, Missing Presumed. The murder investigation finds Manon shut out of the case due to her pregnancy. And when it turns out that her sister has no alibi and her adopted son is discovered by closed circuit TV to have been at the scene of the crime, things get very personal for Manon. I enjoyed the Cambridge setting and the complicated crime and the various viewpoints as the investigation unfolded. Second in the Detective Sergeant Manon Bradshaw series, Persons Unknown is almost as good as the first, Missing Presumed. The murder investigation finds Manon shut out of the case due to her pregnancy. And when it turns out that her sister has no alibi and her adopted son is discovered by closed circuit TV to have been at the scene of the crime, things get very personal for Manon. I enjoyed the Cambridge setting and the complicated crime and the various viewpoints as the investigation unfolded. But I was a little less enamored of the long backstories for all the characters and the increasingly domestic turn of events as Manon juggled living with her sister and her sister's three year old as well as her twelve year old son,all as Manon's due date closes in. Maybe the next story will focus on Davy or Harriet and let Manon bask in new motherhood.
    more
  • Sue Fernandez
    March 25, 2017
    Thank you to Net Galley for an ARC of this title. I'd never had the chance to read Steiner, and I'm glad I did. It was a read that kept me reading into the night. When law enforcement has family that becomes suspect, how do you cope? How do you objectively move ahead? Very good book.
    more
  • Missie
    March 27, 2017
    Susie SteinerPolice Procedural FictionDetective Manon Bradshaw Series⭐⭐I read Missing Presumed earlier this year and really enjoyed it. I genuinely like the characters and the dynamics of their lives, work and personal. Needless to say I was thrilled to have the opportunity to review the next book!! I struggled. Struggled to stay interested, to finish, to find something like I found in Missing Presumed, but it never materialized . I was disappointed, the plot was no mystery and the continuous de Susie SteinerPolice Procedural FictionDetective Manon Bradshaw Series⭐️⭐️I read Missing Presumed earlier this year and really enjoyed it. I genuinely like the characters and the dynamics of their lives, work and personal. Needless to say I was thrilled to have the opportunity to review the next book!! I struggled. Struggled to stay interested, to finish, to find something like I found in Missing Presumed, but it never materialized . I was disappointed, the plot was no mystery and the continuous descriptions of Manon the whale exhausted me. I just wanted it to end. The best chapters were the last three, I cared again. Sorry.Thank you always NetGalley for the opportunity to read for a fair review.
    more
  • Jennifer
    March 24, 2017
    Susie Steiner's first book in this series, "Missing, Presumed" was on my top 10 list last year, so I was thrilled to get an advance copy of the sequel from Netgalley. It did not disappoint! A little bit of a slow start, but it was a doozy once it got going. Great mystery, and even better characters. If you are a fan of Tana French's mysteries and looking for something in the same vein, definitely check out Susie Steiner. 4.5 stars.
    more
Write a review