The Summer of Impossible Things
If you could change the past, would you?Thirty years ago, something terrible happened to Luna’s mother. Something she’s only prepared to reveal after her death. Now Luna and her sister have a chance to go back to their mother’s birthplace and settle her affairs. But in Brooklyn they find more questions than answers, until something impossible – magical – happens to Luna, and she meets her mother as a young woman back in the summer of 1977. At first Luna’s thinks she’s going crazy, but if she can truly travel back in time, she can change things. But in doing anything – everything – to save her mother’s life, will she have to sacrifice her own?

The Summer of Impossible Things Details

TitleThe Summer of Impossible Things
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJun 29th, 2017
PublisherEbury Press (Fiction)
ISBN1785032410
ISBN-139781785032417
Number of pages432 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Science Fiction, Time Travel

The Summer of Impossible Things Review

  • Liz Barnsley
    February 19, 2017
    This book is made entirely of magic.Beautifully written and stunning in its impact, this is a story about love in all its forms and the things we sacrifice for it. Also: Time travel and Disco. Enough said.Full review nearer to publication (June) Highly Recommended.
    more
  • Tracy Fenton
    February 19, 2017
    Firstly, my thanks to the publisher, Netgalley and Rowan Coleman for the advance copy. I will admit to not reading the blurb before starting this book, so I wasn’t sure what to expect except if Rowan had written it – I was bound to love it. The Summer of Impossible Things is basically a book about making sacrifices for the people you love. I admit to only reading one other time travel book before (11.22.63 by Stephen King) so this isn’t a topic I know much about, but what I do know is how the b Firstly, my thanks to the publisher, Netgalley and Rowan Coleman for the advance copy. I will admit to not reading the blurb before starting this book, so I wasn’t sure what to expect except if Rowan had written it – I was bound to love it. The Summer of Impossible Things is basically a book about making sacrifices for the people you love. I admit to only reading one other time travel book before (11.22.63 by Stephen King) so this isn’t a topic I know much about, but what I do know is how the book made me feel. The Summer of Impossible Things is a book that made me question how far I would travel to protect my family, what would I do to ensure my loved ones are happy and safe? This wonderful story about Luna and Pea and their journey to save their mother was both moving and beautiful and thought-provoking (and whilst reading it I was hoping Hollywood would make this into a film too!)
    more
  • Rae
    March 21, 2017
    Gosh, where to start with The Summer of Impossible Things? An amazing setting - 1970s Brooklyn. Wonderful characters - in the shape of slightly socially awkward Luna and her loving, recovering addict sister, Pea. Not forgetting their wise Brooklyn landlady, Mrs Finkle. I already know this will be one of my favourite books of the year. It's the kind of novel I'm keen to press on/discuss with friends, that I'll remember long after I've finished reading. It's about love and hurt and time travel and Gosh, where to start with The Summer of Impossible Things? An amazing setting - 1970s Brooklyn. Wonderful characters - in the shape of slightly socially awkward Luna and her loving, recovering addict sister, Pea. Not forgetting their wise Brooklyn landlady, Mrs Finkle. I already know this will be one of my favourite books of the year. It's the kind of novel I'm keen to press on/discuss with friends, that I'll remember long after I've finished reading. It's about love and hurt and time travel and the lengths a family is prepared to go to to ensure the best for each other. Rowan Coleman's characters and writing are so superb that she makes it easy to believe in time travel. Something fantastical happens when reading The Summer of Impossible Things - time vanishes - whilst enjoying 'just one more chapter.' A brilliant read.
    more
  • DubaiReader
    March 2, 2017
    What if you could change just one thing in the past of someone you love?I was so lucky to be approved by NetGalley for a preview copy of this book, I absolutely loved it - it's already my best read so far this year and it could well be my favourite book of 2017.It does require a bit of imagination, you have to travel back in time to 1977, but it's worth the stretch and if you loved the Time Traveler's Wife then you'll love this too.Luna and her younger sister, Pia, are devastated by the death of What if you could change just one thing in the past of someone you love?I was so lucky to be approved by NetGalley for a preview copy of this book, I absolutely loved it - it's already my best read so far this year and it could well be my favourite book of 2017.It does require a bit of imagination, you have to travel back in time to 1977, but it's worth the stretch and if you loved the Time Traveler's Wife then you'll love this too.Luna and her younger sister, Pia, are devastated by the death of their mother, but she had suffered from depression for many years and struggled to hold things together for the family.She had moved to UK to marry their father in 1977, but her childhood home had been Bay Ridge, in Brooklyn and there was a family house there that needed to be sold. Luna and Pia travel to Brooklyn to finalise the sale, hoping to find out something about their mother's life before she married their father.What they discover is the basis of the story, but that's not all, because Luna finds that she can go back in time to those last days while Marissa was still a vibrant young woman, before something happened that shattered her life. And if Luna can go back and meet her mother in that time, is it possible that she might also be able to change things just slightly so that Marissa's life takes a slightly different path - and if she does so, what are the implications?Beautifully written with wonderful characters and subtle twists, this was an excellent read. The only problem is that it's not out until June, but put it on your Wish List now, because this is one book you won't want to miss.
    more
  • Julie Cohen
    March 17, 2017
    It’s a gorgeous, rapturous novel, intensely atmospheric. Reading it, I was transported back to Brooklyn in the summer of 1977, with the heat and music and shadows and disco. It was like watching a film and stepping right into it. The stakes are so high for Luna and her family and the rug-pulling moment, near the end, nearly took my breath away. I think my favourite part about it, though, was that it’s a beautiful and heart-wrenching story of a daughter’s love for her mother. We so often read sto It’s a gorgeous, rapturous novel, intensely atmospheric. Reading it, I was transported back to Brooklyn in the summer of 1977, with the heat and music and shadows and disco. It was like watching a film and stepping right into it. The stakes are so high for Luna and her family and the rug-pulling moment, near the end, nearly took my breath away. I think my favourite part about it, though, was that it’s a beautiful and heart-wrenching story of a daughter’s love for her mother. We so often read stories about mothers sacrificing for their children and this one turned that neatly on its head in such a satisfying, poignant way. Like all Rowan’s novels, it’s life-affirming and shows the best of what humans can be; I felt that the world was a better place when I put it down. As a novel about impossible things, it made me think that anything was possible.
    more
  • michelle
    April 2, 2017
    I was excited to read this book as I have read others from Rowan Coleman that I loved. So, I was looking forward to this one. Where can I start, Luna and Pia go to Brooklyn to sell the family home after their mother tragically kills herself. She hadn't got over what happened to her over 30 years ago. She was raped. She finds out things about her family that she never knew.Whilst being in Brooklyn, Luna discovers that she is ill with a brain defect that makes her go back and forth in time. So she I was excited to read this book as I have read others from Rowan Coleman that I loved. So, I was looking forward to this one. Where can I start, Luna and Pia go to Brooklyn to sell the family home after their mother tragically kills herself. She hadn't got over what happened to her over 30 years ago. She was raped. She finds out things about her family that she never knew.Whilst being in Brooklyn, Luna discovers that she is ill with a brain defect that makes her go back and forth in time. So she sets out to stop her mother from being raped. So she won't kill herself. Everytime she goes back and forth she seems to change things in the present.This is a lovely story of putting others who you love dearly, first before yourself. Also she finds love when she was least expecting it. This story like all Rowan's other novels is always beautifully written, heartfelt and thoughtful. I loved it.
    more
  • Ann Cooper
    February 2, 2017
    Where do I start? How do you review a book that touched you on every level and still has me thinking about it, days after I galloped to the end? This is so much more than a time travel book. It is deep, focusses on real problems and real solutions. And the lengths to which we are prepared to go to save our loved ones.I've made no secret of the fact that We Are All Made of Stars is one of my all-time favourite books, but, although very different, The Summer of Impossible Things is up there next t Where do I start? How do you review a book that touched you on every level and still has me thinking about it, days after I galloped to the end? This is so much more than a time travel book. It is deep, focusses on real problems and real solutions. And the lengths to which we are prepared to go to save our loved ones.I've made no secret of the fact that We Are All Made of Stars is one of my all-time favourite books, but, although very different, The Summer of Impossible Things is up there next to it! I've no idea how Rowan's brain works, but I do know that it must go on the most fabulous journeys when she researches books and crafts them. This book has everything. Quantum Physics, which seems quite normal, romance, suspension, NYC in 1977 and family relationships. I'm not going to mention the plot - the blurb covers it and I don't want to give too much away. Suffice to say, the tension builds, as the heat does and I don't how she did it, but the plot moves faster and faster! I was panicking, exhausted and exhilarated all at the same time!Would Luna cease to exist? Read it and find out.....this is a MUST-READ!I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review and if I could give 10 **, I would!
    more
  • Sharon Mckinlay
    February 10, 2017
    What a fabulous book! I absolutely loved this story about Luna trying to rewrite the wrongs of the past. Saturday night fever is one of my favourite films & I loved all the references to it. I loved the ending but it was totally different to how I thought it would end! I think this book would make a great movie! Such a great line in the book: 'If you let yourself be found, you can't ever be lost.'Journey backwards & forwards in time with this fantastic story!Thanks to Stephanie Naulls, P What a fabulous book! I absolutely loved this story about Luna trying to rewrite the wrongs of the past. Saturday night fever is one of my favourite films & I loved all the references to it. I loved the ending but it was totally different to how I thought it would end! I think this book would make a great movie! Such a great line in the book: 'If you let yourself be found, you can't ever be lost.'Journey backwards & forwards in time with this fantastic story!Thanks to Stephanie Naulls, Penguin Random House publishing & Netgalley for the review copy in exchange for an honest review. It was an absolute pleasure to read it & I think it might be my favourite book this year!
    more
  • Nina
    April 10, 2017
    This book is a bundle of memorable characters and cliches - I've just finished it this second and it's left me with a warm, fuzzy feeling inside. I'm really close to my own mother, so when books focus on mother-daughter relationships and the bond between them, I can't help but relate to and love them. At some points this book felt rushed (and the insta-love thing...dear god not again) but I forgive it for leaving me feeling this way. Wonderfully written and a great read.
    more
  • Mandy Baggot
    March 7, 2017
    This was an utterly amazing read. Magical, compulsive, page-turning, heart-wrenching fiction brilliance. Had me laughing, smiling and sobbing until the last page. Highly recommended!
  • Cal
    February 14, 2017
    'The Summer of Impossible Things' by Rowan Coleman is quite simply pure perfection. I didn't think there was any way Rowan could produce a book to rival 'We Are All Made of Stars', which catapulted to the top of my all time favourite reads in 2015, but somehow she has managed to do so with ease.How can I write a review that will do this wonderful, magical book justice? That will convey the many different emotions I felt as I drank in every word of Luna's beautiful and moving story? I don't think 'The Summer of Impossible Things' by Rowan Coleman is quite simply pure perfection. I didn't think there was any way Rowan could produce a book to rival 'We Are All Made of Stars', which catapulted to the top of my all time favourite reads in 2015, but somehow she has managed to do so with ease.How can I write a review that will do this wonderful, magical book justice? That will convey the many different emotions I felt as I drank in every word of Luna's beautiful and moving story? I don't think I can. But what I will say is this: Read 'The Summer of Impossible Things' and enjoy every word of the journey it takes you on. Allow yourself to be swept along on a voyage of discovery, feel every emotion with Luna as she tries to put right the events of the past. The Brooklyn of 1977 is brought vividly to life, you can feel the heat of that long gone summer and are instantly transported to a different time and place. If you had the opportunity to change the past, to heal the wounds of the people you love, would you? This is the dilemma Luna is faced with, all the time knowing that doing so could rewrite her own future. Is she willing to give up everything for the sake of her family?This is a book like no other I have ever read. At the same time as wanting to rush ahead to find out what happened, I didn't want the story to ever end. I savoured every beautiful, heartfelt word and felt moved beyond words when the story finally came to an end. 'The Summer of Impossible Things' is one of those books that will stay with me. One of the few books I know I will read again and again like 'To Kill a Mockingbird' by Harper Lee, 'Time and Again' by Jack Finney and, of course, Rowan Coleman's earlier book of pure perfection 'We Are All Made of Stars'. All very different, but all having the ability to move and inspire me. To always believe in the impossible.If I could give it more than 5 stars I would, but it is, without a doubt, the easiest 5 stars I've given in a long time. Outstanding. Can't wait to see what Rowan Coleman comes up with next!Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for giving me the opportunity to read an ARC of 'The Summer of Impossible Things' which is available to preorder now and will be out to buy in June.
    more
  • Rhoda Baxter
    April 1, 2017
    I'm a sucker for a time travel novel and this one's a good 'un. While visiting her late mother's home town, Luna starts experiencing these weird episodes where she's transported back to the 1970s at a crucial point in her mother's life. She could save her mother from a terrible event in the past (which in turn could save her mother's life in the present). However, in doing so, she would erase herself from existence. The writing is brilliantly evocative of the a hot Brooklyn summer and, in places I'm a sucker for a time travel novel and this one's a good 'un. While visiting her late mother's home town, Luna starts experiencing these weird episodes where she's transported back to the 1970s at a crucial point in her mother's life. She could save her mother from a terrible event in the past (which in turn could save her mother's life in the present). However, in doing so, she would erase herself from existence. The writing is brilliantly evocative of the a hot Brooklyn summer and, in places, incredibly poignant. The story was incredibly compelling. The bits about Saturday Night Fever were really fun. *spoilers ahead*The only niggle was the ending where all that had changed about the narrator was her eye colour (not terribly likely given what happens, but then again, the book is about impossibly things, I guess). *spoiler ends*All in all a compelling and immersive read.
    more
  • MetLineReader
    April 3, 2017
    I start by saying that whilst I love time travel books, I've only consciously read three -- The Time Travellers Wife (5*), 11.22.63 (5*) and The Bone Clocks (4*). So it was a tough act to follow.I hadn't consciously chosen to read this as a time travel book but as I love Rowan Coleman's writing. It took me time to warm up to Luna and Pea. Once the book moved to New York and the action began, then it started to fall into place. I could imagine the scenes so well and absolutely loved the cast of c I start by saying that whilst I love time travel books, I've only consciously read three -- The Time Travellers Wife (5*), 11.22.63 (5*) and The Bone Clocks (4*). So it was a tough act to follow.I hadn't consciously chosen to read this as a time travel book but as I love Rowan Coleman's writing. It took me time to warm up to Luna and Pea. Once the book moved to New York and the action began, then it started to fall into place. I could imagine the scenes so well and absolutely loved the cast of characters -- even the ones we are not supposed to like! Great evocation of the times too... I'm not going to say much more but this is a beautiful book that is well worth a read. How far would you go to change history?? 4.5* from me.
    more
  • Sam
    March 10, 2017
    Well, firstly wow, i'm not sure how to review this book. It's a great read and I was hooked immediately. I struggled with where to sit this book on a star rating, but i'm saying 4.5 stars. The story is a time traveling tale of love and the righting of wrongs. It takes you on an emotional rollercoaster, but that's not all because you are on an adventure at the same time. Just imagine if you could go back in time and meet your parents when they were young and care free.....and then tinker with the Well, firstly wow, i'm not sure how to review this book. It's a great read and I was hooked immediately. I struggled with where to sit this book on a star rating, but i'm saying 4.5 stars. The story is a time traveling tale of love and the righting of wrongs. It takes you on an emotional rollercoaster, but that's not all because you are on an adventure at the same time. Just imagine if you could go back in time and meet your parents when they were young and care free.....and then tinker with the past to correct wrongs and heal hurt. The concept is great, the settings are completely believable, it's simply well written. The storyline moves at a good pace and it had me gripped throughout. One of the best things is the lack of nonsense and filler - I got the impression that the author had carefully removed anything unnecessary. I can't tolerate books that have meaningless detail. The characters here feel real, even the ones with bit parts. This book is ripe for turning into a film so, give it a go before then - you won't be disappointed. I am off now to search for other books by this author.
    more
  • Pauline
    May 12, 2017
    I absolutely loved The Summer of Impossible things by Rowan Coleman, it was a fabulous book. The chance to go back in time to change something that has gone wrong, is something I think a lot of people would like to do. The story had me hooked from the beginning. The characters were interesting and likeable. I did not want to put the book down. This is a book I will read again and again. I would like to thank NetGalley for my e-copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Nicki Markus
    March 8, 2017
    The Summer of Impossible Things is an emotional and thought-provoking read. Luna's tale is compelling from the start, and I anxiously turned each page, wondering how things would work out for her. I actually guessed the true villain of the piece from that character's first introduction, and was then surprised when that started to look less likely. Still, I was right in the end. Changing the past, and the consequences it will have for the future, is an interesting concept, and I enjoyed the way C The Summer of Impossible Things is an emotional and thought-provoking read. Luna's tale is compelling from the start, and I anxiously turned each page, wondering how things would work out for her. I actually guessed the true villain of the piece from that character's first introduction, and was then surprised when that started to look less likely. Still, I was right in the end. Changing the past, and the consequences it will have for the future, is an interesting concept, and I enjoyed the way Coleman handled the narrative, and its eventual conclusion. I don't want to say more and give away too much information. Suffice to say, The Summer of Impossible Things is a delightful, and ultimately uplifting, read.I received this book as a free eBook ARC via NetGalley.
    more
  • Jo
    February 12, 2017
    This is the most beautiful, captivating book I have read in a very long time. Once you have understood what is happening it will hook you and pull you in, so you can hear the scrape of the fire escape, feel the heat of the sun on your back. It evokes a time not so long ago, where everything seemed different, but fundamentally it was the same. Love, hope, dreams. What more do we need? I love this line - 'What I’m trying to say is, you might as well try as hard as you can to follow your dreams, ot This is the most beautiful, captivating book I have read in a very long time. Once you have understood what is happening it will hook you and pull you in, so you can hear the scrape of the fire escape, feel the heat of the sun on your back. It evokes a time not so long ago, where everything seemed different, but fundamentally it was the same. Love, hope, dreams. What more do we need? I love this line - 'What I’m trying to say is, you might as well try as hard as you can to follow your dreams, otherwise what are they for, except to remind you of everything you didn’t do.’ That, and this book will stay with me for a very long time. It is a pleasure to pick up anything written by Ms Coleman, but I think this one goes straight to the top of my favourite turn to book. I would recommend this to everyone, old or young, happy or sad. It is amazing. I received this via NG but the views are all my own.
    more
  • Claire Mc Partlin
    May 18, 2017
    Wow, what a wonderful, wonderful book, I absolutely loved it. I do love a bit of magical mystery in a story and this definitely delivered as the main character, Luna, kept travelling back in time to 1977 Brooklyn, with disco in full force and the filming of Saturday Night Fever happening nearby.Luna and Pia are from London, but after their Mother died and left a video with unexpected information asking them to travel from England, where they all lived, back to her original house in Brooklyn, whi Wow, what a wonderful, wonderful book, I absolutely loved it. I do love a bit of magical mystery in a story and this definitely delivered as the main character, Luna, kept travelling back in time to 1977 Brooklyn, with disco in full force and the filming of Saturday Night Fever happening nearby.Luna and Pia are from London, but after their Mother died and left a video with unexpected information asking them to travel from England, where they all lived, back to her original house in Brooklyn, which they now partly owned, they travelled to the USA to investigate further. Once there strange things keep happening to Luna as she keeps travelling back to 1977 and visiting her Mum and her friends, and soon realises she can change future events through her time travelling.Their Mum then tells them a shocking truth, through an old video reel she had sent to Brooklyn prior to her death ready for them to see, and their whole world, especially Luna's is rocked. She then thinks that maybe she can change the course of her Mother's life whilst she is in 1977, but of course this may also change everyone's life in the future too, and especially her life.She then flits between different times, and realities, with various things changing each time she gets back to the 'present' time, building to a thrilling climax towards the end of the book when something she thought was true turns out to be untrue and everything she has been trying to fix is suddenly changed around again.Very, very clever book that keeps you on your toes throughout the whole book, a real page-turner. I was wishing throughout the book that Luna fixed things so that it worked out happily for everyone, especially her, although you're never sure what is going to be the outcome until the very end - which was also so wonderful - I definitely shed a few tears of happiness at the end! Absolutely fascinating - loved it and didn't want it to end. It's gone straight onto my favourite books list.
    more
  • Lisa
    March 16, 2017
    Where to start with the spectacular new novel from Rowan Coleman? If you love mystery,romance and imagination you will love this book.When Luna and younger sister Pia tragically lose their mother, they watch a film she made to say goodbye, which sends them to Brooklyn to sell the old family house. Once there more secrets are uncovered but not in the most straightforward of ways. Luna discovers that,far from her belief that she is ill with a serious brain defect, she has in fact a unique gift tha Where to start with the spectacular new novel from Rowan Coleman? If you love mystery,romance and imagination you will love this book.When Luna and younger sister Pia tragically lose their mother, they watch a film she made to say goodbye, which sends them to Brooklyn to sell the old family house. Once there more secrets are uncovered but not in the most straightforward of ways. Luna discovers that,far from her belief that she is ill with a serious brain defect, she has in fact a unique gift that might possibly change the past and the present.As Luna tries to piece together the last few days of the mother's time in Brooklyn, she encounters true love and pure evil and must make up her mind whether to comitt the biggest sacrifice of all.As the story flits between the heatwave of 1977 and Rissa's story and thirty years later with Pia and Luna trying to make sense of their mother's secret, I was caught up in the excitement the teenagers felt at the filming of Saturday Night Fever in that summer of '77, picturing those hot dusty streets whilst around them crimes and violence were rife. Rowan paints a very realistic picture of a scorching dreamlike summer where everything is going to change. Back in the present, I felt the apprehension but also the anticipation of Luna's actions, urging her on but with a sense of foreboding as the story reaches its climax, wondering all the while...Will it work and what about Luna....?But I am not going to spoil that! Suffice to say that it was a story that truly catches your imagination and your heart. It also made me think quite deeply afterwards; what would I do? What would I change? Would I change anything? A beautifully written story that captures your thoughts and feelings in this way is very special. I loved the way the characters are portrayed, each one cast to perfection so that you can close your eyes and see them, how they stand, move, react...so vivid in my mind.So please, pull up your comfiest chair, have your favourite drink and snacks on standby, curl up and just lose yourself in this little miracle.Rowan, you've done yoursef proud x
    more
  • Sarah
    May 14, 2017
    Thank you to the publishers, Penguin Random House, and net galley for the arc in return for an honest review. Sometimes a book comes along that is just what you need at that moment in time. For me, this is that book. It's about love, and 70's disco, and magic and sacrifice and more love, and it's just perfect. It is a comforting hug of a book, and one that made me give my loved ones an extra big cuddle when I finished it. The descriptions of Brooklyn in the intense, side walk melting heat of the Thank you to the publishers, Penguin Random House, and net galley for the arc in return for an honest review. Sometimes a book comes along that is just what you need at that moment in time. For me, this is that book. It's about love, and 70's disco, and magic and sacrifice and more love, and it's just perfect. It is a comforting hug of a book, and one that made me give my loved ones an extra big cuddle when I finished it. The descriptions of Brooklyn in the intense, side walk melting heat of the 70's had me reaching for the fan, so atmospheric was the writing. There is a dark core to the book, in that Luna's mother was raped and became pregnant with Luna as a result. This makes Luna's determination to prevent what happened to her mother even more powerful. As the reader we accompany her on the emotional rollercoaster of wanting to rescue her Mum and the bittersweet knowledge that the first love that she is experiencing will go nowhere. I don't believe I have ever read anything by Rowena Coleman before, but I shall now be buying her back catalogue for times of need.
    more
  • Glynis
    May 14, 2017
    This is the first novel I have read by this author as I always assumed he was a "romantic" novelist which isn't my normal genre. However I had read so many good things by his readers that I thought it would it would be worthwhile moving out of my normal genre.What an interesting read I loved the premis of time travel back to see your mother when she was young and to change what happens to her. Wouldn't we all love to go back in time to see the family we have lost for that one hug and kiss. The 1 This is the first novel I have read by this author as I always assumed he was a "romantic" novelist which isn't my normal genre. However I had read so many good things by his readers that I thought it would it would be worthwhile moving out of my normal genre.What an interesting read I loved the premis of time travel back to see your mother when she was young and to change what happens to her. Wouldn't we all love to go back in time to see the family we have lost for that one hug and kiss. The 1970's were brought to life beautifully the only jarring note was the shortening of Marissa to Rizz but I may be biaised here as I have a Marissa and have never shortened this beautiful name. A fast moving and enjoyable novel.With thanks to Netgalley and the publishers for my ARC.
    more
  • Julie Smith
    May 10, 2017
    The blurb:If you could change the past, would you?Thirty years ago, something terrible happened to Luna’s mother. Something she’s only prepared to reveal after her death. Now Luna and her sister have a chance to go back to their mother’s birthplace and settle her affairs. But in Brooklyn they find more questions than answers, until something impossible – magical – happens to Luna, and she meets her mother as a young woman back in the summer of 1977. At first Luna’s thinks she’s going crazy, but The blurb:If you could change the past, would you?Thirty years ago, something terrible happened to Luna’s mother. Something she’s only prepared to reveal after her death. Now Luna and her sister have a chance to go back to their mother’s birthplace and settle her affairs. But in Brooklyn they find more questions than answers, until something impossible – magical – happens to Luna, and she meets her mother as a young woman back in the summer of 1977. At first Luna’s thinks she’s going crazy, but if she can truly travel back in time, she can change things. But in doing anything – everything – to save her mother’s life, will she have to sacrifice her own? I really don't know what to say about this book except that I loved it! 5*
    more
  • Tess Lock
    May 25, 2017
    Perfect, utterly perfect in every way! I was totally, obsessively reading this from the first chapter. I was so conflicted.....I wanted to speed read throughout to find out what the outcome or outcomes would be, whilst still loving every sentence and wanting to savour reading the beautiful, lyrical, imaginative text.If this does not become a mega success I will despair of the reading public; for Rowan Coleman I want this to be a blockbuster and then a film, but for me I really do not want my own Perfect, utterly perfect in every way! I was totally, obsessively reading this from the first chapter. I was so conflicted.....I wanted to speed read throughout to find out what the outcome or outcomes would be, whilst still loving every sentence and wanting to savour reading the beautiful, lyrical, imaginative text.If this does not become a mega success I will despair of the reading public; for Rowan Coleman I want this to be a blockbuster and then a film, but for me I really do not want my own perfect images to be replaced.My recommendation is that if you get a copy please do not start reading until you have enough time and somewhere comfortable, it truly deserves to be savoured.
    more
  • Sara
    May 31, 2017
    Oh my! I absolutely love Rowan Coleman books. They are not my usual kind of read but I do confess to having to have a fix every now and then.A tragic situation. so beautifully written by this wonderful author. The atmosphere of the setting, Brooklyn early 1970s is brought to life. Great characters that touch your heart. Highly recommend. My thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for the advance reader copy.
    more
  • Teresa
    March 1, 2017
    Full review to follow closer to publication.This was right up my street, time travel, suspense, family ties with the added spice of Saturday Night Fever and the excitement of youth. I'm at that age where nostalgia imbues so much of my existence so all the "what ifs" were an absolute delight. Not a read for pragmatists!
    more
  • Stacey Bookerworm
    May 30, 2017
    When I chose to request The Summer of Impossible Things I had never head of Rowan Coleman, having finished it I will be keeping an eye out for other books by her.Read more of the review here: http://www.bookerworm.com/reviews/129...
  • Beverley
    May 14, 2017
    I really like a book about time travel, it is such an interesting concept and I enjoy how mind bending it can be for the reader. This book is beautiful, quite magical and despite it dealing with a fantastical subject it never veers into the ridiculous.I fell in love with Luna and Pia and really loved their relationship; Luna trying to be strong for her fragile sister whilst dealing with the death of their mother, discovering her dad isn’t her biological father and on top of that wondering if she I really like a book about time travel, it is such an interesting concept and I enjoy how mind bending it can be for the reader. This book is beautiful, quite magical and despite it dealing with a fantastical subject it never veers into the ridiculous.I fell in love with Luna and Pia and really loved their relationship; Luna trying to be strong for her fragile sister whilst dealing with the death of their mother, discovering her dad isn’t her biological father and on top of that wondering if she is going mad as she keeps finding herself in 1977. The relationship of sisters is a complicated one and Rowan Coleman writes it perfectly; it is never saccharine sweet nor is it full of arguments, it is quietly supportive and loving with a language of its own.Set in both 2007 and Brooklyn 1977 during the heat wave and in the days preceding the blackout we feel the oppressive tension of the heat, the fear of the Son of Sam and of the Mafia who ruled the streets. The glimpses into this world were wonderful, I could feel the heat of the summer, hear the music being played and smell the burning tarmac under the sweltering sun. The passages in 1977 were truly beautiful and very evocative; Luna’s wonder, apprehension and fear of being able to travel back in time really came through.Although The Summer of Impossible Things is a wonderful summer book; brilliant characters, a romance, an interesting storyline and a stonking page turner, it is quite dark at times and deals with some difficult subject matter which elevates it above the usual beach read.Thankyou to Ebury Publishing and NetGalley for the advanced copy of this wonderful book in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Kim
    May 17, 2017
    This book is really interesting in many ways. A little bit of a love story; a little bit of science fiction; a little bit of an insight into mental illeness and depression and a lot of insight into family life and the ties that bind. I loved this book.
    more
  • Linda
    March 20, 2017
    I was so excited to get an ARC of The Summer of Impossible Dreams as I love Rowan Coleman's books. I don't check out the synopsis of the books I read (unless I am unsure of the author or genre) so I dived right in and was not disappointed. Luna and Pia thought that they knew their Mother, Marissa, however after her death they find out that all was not as it seemed. When the girls take a trip to Brooklyn, to sell their Mother’s family home, they find information that changes their lives and so be I was so excited to get an ARC of The Summer of Impossible Dreams as I love Rowan Coleman's books. I don't check out the synopsis of the books I read (unless I am unsure of the author or genre) so I dived right in and was not disappointed. Luna and Pia thought that they knew their Mother, Marissa, however after her death they find out that all was not as it seemed. When the girls take a trip to Brooklyn, to sell their Mother’s family home, they find information that changes their lives and so begins Luna’s quest to change the past. I must admit to racing through the last few chapters of the book to see how it ended and then I was sad that I had finished it. Now, I want to read it over again!!!
    more
  • Colette
    February 23, 2017
    I can never resist a time-travel book. This was pretty good. 3 1/2 stars.
Write a review