The Drowned Girls (Angie Pallorino #1)
He surfaced two years ago. Then he disappeared ... But Detective Angie Pallorino never forgot the violent rapist who left a distinctive calling card—crosses etched into the flesh of his victim’s foreheads. When a comatose Jane Doe is found in a local cemetery, sexually assaulted, mutilated, and nearly drowned, Angie is struck by the eerie similarities to her earlier unsolved rapes. Could he be back?​Then the body of a drowned young woman floats up in the Gorge, also bearing the marks of the serial rapist, and the hunt for a predator becomes a hunt for a killer. Assigned to the joint investigative task force, Angie is more than ready to prove that she has what it takes to break into the all-male homicide division. But her private life collides with her professional ambitions when she’s introduced to her temporary partner, James Maddocks—a man she’d met the night before in an intense, anonymous encounter.Together, Angie and Maddocks agree to put that night behind them. But as their search for the killer intensifies so does their mutual desire. And Angie’s forays into the mind of a monster shake lose some unsettling secrets about her own past . . . How can she fight for the truth when it turns out her whole life is a lie?

The Drowned Girls (Angie Pallorino #1) Details

TitleThe Drowned Girls (Angie Pallorino #1)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherMontlake Romance
ISBN1503941213
ISBN-139781503941212
Number of pages524 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Romantic Suspense, Suspense, Thriller, Mystery

The Drowned Girls (Angie Pallorino #1) Review

  • Melissa
    August 11, 2016
    If you have yet to experience a Loreth Anne White novel, I’m here to tell you, you’re missing out. She’s proven time and again to this reader, she’s not an author that skimps on the details. In fact, it’s pretty apparent, especially with this storyline, she put a ton of research and thought into the psyche of her characters, the inner workings of the investigation and the underlying religious aspects; while still managing to strike a nice balance between the suspense and romance. The one caveat If you have yet to experience a Loreth Anne White novel, I’m here to tell you, you’re missing out. She’s proven time and again to this reader, she’s not an author that skimps on the details. In fact, it’s pretty apparent, especially with this storyline, she put a ton of research and thought into the psyche of her characters, the inner workings of the investigation and the underlying religious aspects; while still managing to strike a nice balance between the suspense and romance. The one caveat I feel I should mention—this isn’t one I would recommend for the timid, queasy or faint-hearted. The sex, violence, gore and depravity is graphic and often grotesque—to the point it gets under your skin and may start to chip away at your sunny outlook. You’ll be living and breathing every dark aspect of this complex investigation. A sex crimes investigator for the last six years, Angie Pallorino is looking to get out. To make a move to the homicide unit and leave behind the sordid things she's witnessed and the recent loss of her partner. She’s pretty much a badass—fierce, fearless and smart—but that’s not to say she doesn’t have a boatload of issues. I’m convinced at this point, there aren’t many detectives that don’t harbor some type of addiction, at least in the fictional world of policing, and Angie is no exception. Her drug of choice—anonymous sex. The situation in which she meets her temporary partner, James Maddocks had to be my favorite part of the entire story (I've mentioned I’m a total romance junkie, right?); talk about an unexpected twist of fate. On second thought, maybe it was the phone call the next morning or the nickname she came up with for him, after failing to learn his name, that got to me. For some reason, that nickname made me laugh every time it popped up in her head and even though she chose to keep it to herself, I'm convinced Maddocks would have appreciated it. Maddocks and Angie are partnered up on a joint task force to take down a serial killer. One they believe has escalated from rape to female circumcision and murder. There are a host of issues at play here—the fact that Maddocks has been asked to report back on Angie's conduct, the hallucinations and flashbacks that render Angie helpless at the most inopportune times and underscoring it all, the unwavering chemistry between the two detectives.While the meat of this gritty story is the suspense surrounding the case, there’s also a healthy side of romance that provides the balance. There’s no denying Angie and Maddocks have a crazy intense connection, the question becomes—is trying to make a relationship work worth the risk? Honestly, lets be real for a minute though, who could resist falling for Maddocks—a gorgeous and genuinely nice guy that happens to be a fixer of sorts, rescuer of Jack-O and then there’s that nickname again; can’t forget about that.The setup of the story grabbed me, held on for dear life, and pretty much demanded I do nothing else but solve this case right alongside Maddocks and Angie. They weren’t the only interesting characters in this bunch though. Kjel Holgerson (Angie’s replacement partner in sex crimes) always seemed to have something up his sleeve and hopefully we find out just what it is in The Lullaby Girl, along with the answers to all of the other nagging question I have.*Thank you to Montlake Romance and NetGalley for a copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Angela DeSilva
    June 28, 2017
    I can't wait for book two.This book was so suspenseful. I couldn't stop flipping pages. Angie is such an interesting detective. I loved her This was a great book that I thoroughly enjoyed and plan ro read more from this author.
  • CD {Boulder Blvd}
    June 10, 2017
    Loved this! I think what I loved the most was….everything. This book has an excellent cast of characters who are really fleshed out. From the leading characters of Angie and Maddocks, to the police team they work with, to the political "bigwigs", to the suspects and "persons of interest" in the case. There are a number of intriguing characters.Angie works sex crimes and this is a particularly gory case. The way the crimes are discovered and the clues that are worked through, I was totally captiv Loved this! I think what I loved the most was….everything. This book has an excellent cast of characters who are really fleshed out. From the leading characters of Angie and Maddocks, to the police team they work with, to the political "bigwigs", to the suspects and "persons of interest" in the case. There are a number of intriguing characters.Angie works sex crimes and this is a particularly gory case. The way the crimes are discovered and the clues that are worked through, I was totally captivated by this book. The relationship aspect of Angie and Maddocks was well done with a nice balance between their relationship and the case. I really liked Maddox - definitely one of the good guys.My only negative is that I have been getting tired of the lead female cop being on such a self-destructive path within a police department and with her colleagues. At the beginning of the book, Angie was very insular, non- communicative and with a very controlling attitude. On the flip side, her character has a really interesting back story (explaining why she is the way she is) that was well woven into the plot and I really appreciated it. I also liked that in addition to the depth that her character was developed, she also matured and started to realize she needed to be more of a team player.Throughout this book I had a level of revenge anticipation. There were definitely some political types that I wanted to see get their comeuppance.I can't wait to see what happens in the next book in the series.Thanks to NetGalley and Montlake Romance for an opportunity to read and review an ARC.
    more
  • Eva • All Books Considered
    June 3, 2017
    Review originally posted at All Books Considered: 4 STARS This was SO good! I have been wanting this type of read for so long, and by that I mean a book that is suspenseful, has an element of romance, is an interesting crime procedural but hits that balance between detail and not being boring. I am so happy this will be a series! Angie is the perfect MC of these books - smart, complex, fierce and far from perfect but so real. I just devoured this book - it had seriously creepy elements almost l Review originally posted at All Books Considered: 4 STARS This was SO good! I have been wanting this type of read for so long, and by that I mean a book that is suspenseful, has an element of romance, is an interesting crime procedural but hits that balance between detail and not being boring. I am so happy this will be a series! Angie is the perfect MC of these books - smart, complex, fierce and far from perfect but so real. I just devoured this book - it had seriously creepy elements almost like Silence of the Lambs but it was also straightforward in just trying to catch a serial killer. The setting is on the island of Victoria, BC and was perfect. Loreth Anne White is a master at atmosphere! Sometimes it's hardest to review books that shine and this is one such instance but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this book and you should definitely pick up this series.The Drowned Girls comes soon on June 20, 2017, and you can purchase HERE. This book was so good and I can't wait for book two, The Lullaby Girl, which is scheduled to be released later this year on November 14, 2017, and you can pre-order HERE. We all lie.We all guard secrets--sometimes terrible ones--a side to us so dark, so shameful, that we quickly avert our eyes from the shadow we might glimpse in the mirror.Instead we lock our dark halves deep in the basement of our souls. And on the surface of our lives, we work industriously to shape the public story of our selves. We say, "Look, world, this is me." We craft posts on social media . . See this wonderful lunch I'm eating at the trendy restaurant with my besties, see my sexy shoes, my cute puppy, boyfriend, tight as sin a bikini. See my gloriously perfect life . . . see what a fucking fabulous time I'm having drunk and at this party with my boobs swelling out of my sparkly tank top. Just look at those hot guys draped all over me. Aren't you jealous . . .And then you wait to see how many people LIKE this fabricated version of yourself, your mood hinging on the number of clicks. Comments. Who commented.But darkness has a way of seeping through the cracks. It seeks the light . . .
    more
  • Anita
    June 5, 2017
    Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) provided by the Author and Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an fair and honest review.Gritty, intense with lots of twist to the plot. Those are just a few of the reasons I love Loreth Anne White. She does Romantic-Suspense with a sharp edge like few other authors in the genre do. At times it got a little technical, but overall this is a dark, intense and riveting book.Red-headed Angie Pallorino is a sex crimes detective who wants a shot at a job in homicide. She Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) provided by the Author and Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an fair and honest review.Gritty, intense with lots of twist to the plot. Those are just a few of the reasons I love Loreth Anne White. She does Romantic-Suspense with a sharp edge like few other authors in the genre do. At times it got a little technical, but overall this is a dark, intense and riveting book.Red-headed Angie Pallorino is a sex crimes detective who wants a shot at a job in homicide. She is also wondering if her mother's mental illness could be lurking inside her also. The unsolved rapes of young women also haunt her. Her outlet is sex with anonymous strangers. Her chance at a homicide job comes when two more girls turn up dead with eerie similarities to her previous cases and she is assigned to the Task Force. Only one problem: it looks like instead of a opportunity to prove herself, this is a opportunity to bury her career. But with everyone around her looking out for their own self interest, who will look out for the interests of the victims? James Maddocks, Mr. Tall, Dark and Handsome, is new to the Victoria Police Department. He took the detective job in their homicide department and relocated to Victoria from the Royal Canadian Mounted Police in order to be close to his daughter, whom he has had a hard time connecting with. His one-night stand with Angie before his job even started was too short and may cause problems when he ends up being her boss on the Task Force created to solve the rapes and a murder.
    more
  • Malina Skrobosinski
    June 5, 2017
    Loreth has done it again! This book is simply fantastic!I've said it before and I'll say it again, where's the movie deals Loreth? This is that nail-biting, edge of your seat, can't wait to finish it kind of novel. As Pallorino and Maddocks close in on The Baptist I felt my heart racing, my breathing became rapid. I couldn't keep it together, the suspense had me. There were moments in this book where I gasped out loud, chuckled to myself, cried... you will feel all the emotions of a good read. T Loreth has done it again! This book is simply fantastic!I've said it before and I'll say it again, where's the movie deals Loreth? This is that nail-biting, edge of your seat, can't wait to finish it kind of novel. As Pallorino and Maddocks close in on The Baptist I felt my heart racing, my breathing became rapid. I couldn't keep it together, the suspense had me. There were moments in this book where I gasped out loud, chuckled to myself, cried... you will feel all the emotions of a good read. There's something to be said for Loreth Anne White's writing style. It just pulls you in. Her ability to set the scene takes you there, and you're truly along for the ride. "As he ran, his beam bounced off trees. Shadows loomed and ducked and darted. Mist sifted through the trunks like tattered wraiths, alive, grasping for him, then retreating. A sense of the vastness of this place--the sheer size and scope of this old-growth forest--pressed down on him. No humanity for miles and miles. The trail started to rise, the incline becoming severe as he reached a rock knoll. The sound of surf grew louder." In this moment I imagined myself there... as if I were Maddocks, all alone, fear and adrenaline pumping through me. The Baptist made Alfred Hitcock's, Norman Bates look relatively normal comparatively. The ever growing twist, not knowing who the serial killer, The Baptist, could be keeps the reader interested. Just when you think you have it figured out... guess again. Early into the novel we get a small glimpse into the mind of The Baptist, only understanding his affinity for young women, who seemingly lead secret lives. As the novel progresses The Baptist devolves and we start to learn more and understand his desires and the inner workings of the twisted mind behind this serial killer. As the police close in on him, The Baptist realizes that he can no longer go through with his plans and panic sets in. "Panic is like a wild horse without the jockey of logic to rein it in." It's only then that the true horror begins for detectives Maddocks and Pallorino. There's more to this novel than just the classic cat and mouse game of that of police and serial killer. There's a story within a story. Loreth does a great job with character development and dialogue. You connect to these characters, you associate yourself with them. The dialogue is real and you can imagine these people in your life one way or another. We begin to learn the story behind Angie and why she's never felt connected to the people in her life, her parents, her colleagues, she's never had many friends to amount to anything. She's closed herself off, suppressed emotions and hasn't allowed herself to feel love, to grieve, only feeling pain. The only thing numbing the pain is her insatiable lust. Lust that soon leads to a world of trouble for Angie. This is just the first novel in the trilogy and I'm hooked. I can't wait to learn more about Angie's life and that of the other characters and see what new mysteries await them. Loreth has brought life to these characters and I find myself rooting for them all the way.I received this book through NetGalley for my honest review.
    more
  • Mei
    June 19, 2017
    I received an eARC, from NetGalley and the publisher, in exchange for an honest review.WOW, WOW, WOW!!!This book is really something!!! I don't know where to start my review...Maybe with the heroine? Angie... She was really something else! I don't know how to "classify" her. She seems angry, but she doesn't know why. She's suffering but does not have a reason. She's tough, but afraid that a slight bump can brake her.To destress she has one-night-stands with men she picks up at a strip club!!!! O I received an eARC, from NetGalley and the publisher, in exchange for an honest review.WOW, WOW, WOW!!!This book is really something!!! I don't know where to start my review...Maybe with the heroine? Angie... She was really something else! I don't know how to "classify" her. She seems angry, but she doesn't know why. She's suffering but does not have a reason. She's tough, but afraid that a slight bump can brake her.To destress she has one-night-stands with men she picks up at a strip club!!!! O_OAnd who she picks up? Her new collegue!!! And we all know how that will end!But that's not the focal point of the story, even if it makes the story peppery! The focal point, or shall I say points?, are the masterfully vowen multiple stories of crime, depravation, secrets... And that's just WOW!!!It starts with one horrific sex crime, but during the investigation things just pile one upon the other, until the very end where everything fits like puzzle pieces! So, I was chewing my nails and turned pages,just so I could discover another piece and see how it fit!!!As a cherry on top we also get few glimpses inside the sick killer's mind! Oh, buy is he sick!!!But he's not the only villain! There's sex scandal, slavery sex trafficing, murder... Oh, so many, many things that make a tapestry of crimes all connected! Simple genius!!! Is you like yours books gritty, complicated, horrific, bloody, with conspiracy and some hotness, this one is just for you!!!I'll be oh, so looking forward to the next one!!!!
    more
  • Sheyla ✎
    June 12, 2017
    4.5 I didn't even need to read the blurb to know that I want to read a Loreth Anne White's book. As soon as I saw this cover and saw her name, my finger was requesting the book. The Drowned Girls is everything I have come to expect from Loreth Anne White. Her characters are always well developed and interesting. Usually, they are damaged and trying to find their way. Our main characters are Detective Angie Pallorino and James Maddocks.Detective Angie Pallorino is trying her best to get a promo 4.5 I didn't even need to read the blurb to know that I want to read a Loreth Anne White's book. As soon as I saw this cover and saw her name, my finger was requesting the book. The Drowned Girls is everything I have come to expect from Loreth Anne White. Her characters are always well developed and interesting. Usually, they are damaged and trying to find their way. Our main characters are Detective Angie Pallorino and James Maddocks.Detective Angie Pallorino is trying her best to get a promotion into Homicide. However, her personal and professional life are both in turmoil. Her mother suffers from early dementia and schizophrenia. She was recently placed in a long term facility. When Angie starts seeing a little girl with red hair, she wonders if she's getting sick like her mother did. In regards to her job, months ago, she lost her partner and a small child and she blames herself for it. Some of her co-workers also seem to think she's to blame and she is confronted with multiple cold shoulders. Furthermore, Angie has some control issues and she constantly has to fight her anger issues. Starting a relationship is the last thing she wants especially when her new sex crime case involves a teenager who has been raped and almost drowned. She also has been marked with a cross on her face. This reminds Angie of a couple of cold cases from years past.James Maddocks has relocated to Victoria to be closer to his daughter. His job destroyed his marriage and he's trying to salvage his relationship with Ginny. He believes he has time to repair the damage until he's called to the scene of a homicide. A girl has been found floating in the water. His job is to find the killer. The more they learn about Jane Doe, the more similarities they find with a recent sex crime victim.When Angie and James's path cross for the second time, they know they are in trouble. They are thrown together as temporary partners as part of the same task force to capture this serial killer. Yet, no one must know they met the night before and had a hot interlude. The Drowned Girls is a fantastic thriller with amazing characters. I couldn't put this book down. The narrative demands your attention. It's impossible not to become involved with the characters. I liked the twists in the story as well as the addition of the killer's POV.As I realized this was turning into a series, I couldn't wait to find out what happens next. I need the second book now. I do hope we learn more about Angie's past and also everything about Kjel, the celibate cop. Cliffhanger: No4.5/5 FangsA complimentary copy was provided by Montlake Romance via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.MrsLeif's Two Fangs About It | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
    more
  • RachelW (BamaGal)
    May 30, 2017
    This is a good police procedural. The book wasn’t perfect, mind you. It was too long and had too many plot threads, but it was still an enjoyable read. Angie and the police gang reminded me superficially of Eve Dallas and her crew; but much darker, grittier, and with police in-department backbiting and backstabbing. There were numerous pov’s, and each pov had a story to tell. The subplots circled around at first in a confusing manner, but eventually closed into the intense main plotline. I wish This is a good police procedural. The book wasn’t perfect, mind you. It was too long and had too many plot threads, but it was still an enjoyable read. Angie and the police gang reminded me superficially of Eve Dallas and her crew; but much darker, grittier, and with police in-department backbiting and backstabbing. There were numerous pov’s, and each pov had a story to tell. The subplots circled around at first in a confusing manner, but eventually closed into the intense main plotline. I wish the big break in the case had come from all the solid police investigation instead of a single character and a plot device; but even with that, the length and minor imperfections, I couldn’t put it down. I liked Angie and James, they were flawed and had interesting histories. They were adults. Several of her police coworkers look to have fascinating stories to tell on down the line of the series (especially Kjel). There was one character who met an untimely demise that I thought would be an interesting addition to the series. Oh, well. Yes, it was colorfully over-the-top near the end and overly sensational; but if I wanted to read nonfiction, I’d grab some dry real police investigations to read. I did dislike the trope of the killer making a member of the investigation a target, it always feels sensationalized and unrealistic to include this in the storyline, as it was here. I also can't say that I loved the last portion of the book. The author seemed to struggle with a feasible ending, and settled for yet another unrealistic plot device.I don’t know that I would call this RS, but there was the bones of a romance. If it could be considered RS, the story leaned far to the suspense side, which is just the way I like it. This is the first book of a new series; and I recommend it for anyone who is interested in it, based on the summary and my review. I’ve read and enjoyed a couple of other stories by Loreth Anne White; and am excited about getting in on the first book of what looks to be a good, suspenseful, slightly dark police procedural series. Hopefully, the author can keep the intensity going in further stories.There's a giveaway and it’s at Netgalley, go get it and give it a try…
    more
  • Kazy
    June 13, 2017
    *ARC received from Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review* 3.5 StarsI don't really know how to rate this book. I didn't start really liking it until about 60% in, but from then on, I really, really liked it.What I liked:The mystery of who the killer was. We only know him by his serial killer name and have no clue who he is and why he picked these girls until almost the end.The action at the end when everything came to a head. I was on the edge of my seat, anxious over how things would play *ARC received from Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review* 3.5 StarsI don't really know how to rate this book. I didn't start really liking it until about 60% in, but from then on, I really, really liked it.What I liked:The mystery of who the killer was. We only know him by his serial killer name and have no clue who he is and why he picked these girls until almost the end.The action at the end when everything came to a head. I was on the edge of my seat, anxious over how things would play out.The sex (this will be on the like and dislike list) between Angie and Maddox was usually pretty hot together.What I disliked:There.Were.Too.Many.Povs. Sometimes I didn't even know who the heck I was reading about until a few paragraphs into a chapter, and often I had to think really hard to remember who the person was anyway.Angie's issues would have been great... In another story. I was waiting and waiting for her issues to correlate with the story, and to me, they just never did. (Maddox had issues as well, but they were a big part of the story.)The sex (I told you it would be down here) was sometimes oddly timed. I'm reading about mutilated girls, then all the sudden I'm reading about sex and it's like, I like it dirty but geesh this is awkward.There wasn't much going on in the beginning. Yes, the detectives were connecting the dots but I was so bored at times.But... Around 60%, things really picked up. That bumped up my rating a lot. Overall, I'd say the beginning was shaky, but the ending made it a decent read.
    more
  • Elaine Tomasso
    June 7, 2017
    I would like to thank Netgalley and Montlake Romance for an advance copy of The Drowned Girls, the first novel in the Victoria, Canada based police procedural series featuring detective Angie Pallurino.Angie is a bit of a mess with her life out of control. She is indulging in her usual decompression habit, mindless sex with a stranger, when she gets the call to go out to a scene. A young girl has been seriously attacked and posed, barely alive, at the foot of a gravestone. In the meantime newly I would like to thank Netgalley and Montlake Romance for an advance copy of The Drowned Girls, the first novel in the Victoria, Canada based police procedural series featuring detective Angie Pallurino.Angie is a bit of a mess with her life out of control. She is indulging in her usual decompression habit, mindless sex with a stranger, when she gets the call to go out to a scene. A young girl has been seriously attacked and posed, barely alive, at the foot of a gravestone. In the meantime newly appointed sergeant, James Maddocks, has been asked to head up the enquiry into the murder of a young girl found in the bay. When Angie's victim dies it soon becomes clear that the two cases are linked and possibly linked to two unsolved rapes Angie investigated two years previously. She is asked to join the new task force only to discover that Maddocks was the stranger she left the night before.I thoroughly enjoyed the investigation in this novel. It is smart, well thought out and totally absorbing. Stranger killings are the most difficult to solve so it is initially wide open but the focus gradually narrows as more information comes to light. I like the fact that the investigation uncovers other crimes and misdemeanours along the way as it adds another dimension to the novel by throwing in some red herrings. Local politics and the effect of a new mayor are also added to the mix in a natural and intriguing way. The downside to the novel is the graphic sex scenes and simmering emotions between Angie and Maddocks. The novel would stand very well alone without them. As mentioned above Angie's life is a mess. As the reasons for this are gradually teased out over the novel she becomes a very interesting character rather than the prickly control freak with a chip on her shoulder she initially appears. I am interested enough in her story to want to read the next novel in the series, although I'll skip the sex scenes.The Drowned Girls is a very good read which I have no hesitation in recommending.
    more
  • Manon
    June 13, 2017
    *4.25 Stars*I was provided an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest reviewAngie Pallorino is a cop in the Metro PD, in Victoria, Canada. Took me a while to figure the location… She is part of the sex crimes division. When she is called in the middle of the night because an asshole she hunted years before might have assaulted someone again, she leaves her one night stand, “Mr Big Dick” as she calls him and runs to the victim’s side. When that victim dies, days later, the case is turn over t *4.25 Stars*I was provided an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest reviewAngie Pallorino is a cop in the Metro PD, in Victoria, Canada. Took me a while to figure the location… She is part of the sex crimes division. When she is called in the middle of the night because an asshole she hunted years before might have assaulted someone again, she leaves her one night stand, “Mr Big Dick” as she calls him and runs to the victim’s side. When that victim dies, days later, the case is turn over to the homicide crimes division but Angie won’t let them take over. She is then partnered with the new cop in town, James Maddocks.I truly enjoyed how the book was told. There were many points of views but it only added to the huge puzzle that this book was. The two main point of views were Angie’s and James’s, but we also had the point of view of the victim in the prologue and of many side characters, including the rapist asshole murderer. This meant that we knew more than the cops did, so we could root for them to find out more every time. I feel like I’m not making much sense but still, it was really interesting.Truth be told, I was afraid getting into this book because except from very particular books, I don’t read may 500+ pages books. They usually turn me off a bit, but I was very pleasantly surprised, the story was very limpid, I basically read this in two days and was into it from beginning to end.The intrigue kept me on my toes the entire time and even if I had many pieces of the puzzle, I couldn’t figure out how exactly they connected to make the whole picture.There were several storylines in this book and, in my opinion, there were all captivating.The characters were very well developed and I enjoyed getting to know each and everyone of them. Angie was very flawed which made her even more interesting, relatable in some ways and not at all in others. I fell for her little by little, even when she annoyed me.I found the journalist, Merry Winston, to be very interesting also.Finally, I would just like to say that the story was a times very graphic, in ways that could be harmful to some people. The rapes were sometimes described, and just what the main asshole dude did to his victims could be rough to hear. Also, his point of views made me very uncomfortable. I think trigger warnings should be somewhere on the covers.
    more
  • Linda
    June 10, 2017
    3.5 starsI tend to like dark mysteries with complicated, damaged heroes/heroines, and The Drowned Girls fits the bill. Angie Pallorino is a detective with the sex crimes unit in a small coastal city in western Canada. Both her professional and private lives are a mess. In a recent case, she lost both her partner and an abused toddler she was trying to save and she faces hostility from the old boys club in the department. Personally, her mother was just institutionalized for schizophrenia and Ang 3.5 starsI tend to like dark mysteries with complicated, damaged heroes/heroines, and The Drowned Girls fits the bill. Angie Pallorino is a detective with the sex crimes unit in a small coastal city in western Canada. Both her professional and private lives are a mess. In a recent case, she lost both her partner and an abused toddler she was trying to save and she faces hostility from the old boys club in the department. Personally, her mother was just institutionalized for schizophrenia and Angie herself has been hallucinating a small girl speaking urgently in a language not quite familiar, so she eases her tensions by seeking anonymous sex with men at a strip club.One of those anonymous men turns out to be James Maddocks, the new detective in the homicide unit, a position for which Angie had been vying for years. When a serial killer case intersects with an old series of brutal rapes that Angie had worked on but never solved, she and Maddocks must work together to solve it. Professional considerations collide with personal, and the mutual attraction only grows.The mystery turns out to be a bit convoluted, and like the investigation, the story is a bit slow to start. As Angie works the case, some inconsistencies in her own history demand attention, and we start to learn why she is as broken as she is. While there were some details of the story that were not quite believable, the narrative became more gripping as it galloped toward the finish. The main characters, Angie and James, are interesting and likable, but the story has some side characters that are equally appealing. I'm especially looking forward to learning more about Kjel (view spoiler)[but was very disappointed that Merry was killed (hide spoiler)]. All in all, a strong start to the series. I'll look for the next one.
    more
  • Caz
    May 6, 2017
    I've given this an A- at AAR, so that's 4.5 stars rounded up.The Drowned Girls - the first book in Loreth Anne White’s Angie Pallorino trilogy - is a superbly plotted, intense romantic thriller which sees the heroine trying to come to terms with family problems, the recent death of her work-partner and concerns about her own mental health - all while continuing to work as a detective in the Metro Victoria PD sex crimes unit and gunning for a promotion to the elite, all-male homicide division.A I've given this an A- at AAR, so that's 4.5 stars rounded up.The Drowned Girls - the first book in Loreth Anne White’s Angie Pallorino trilogy - is a superbly plotted, intense romantic thriller which sees the heroine trying to come to terms with family problems, the recent death of her work-partner and concerns about her own mental health - all while continuing to work as a detective in the Metro Victoria PD sex crimes unit and gunning for a promotion to the elite, all-male homicide division.Angie has always been a bit difficult to work with.  She’s hot-tempered, stubborn and doesn’t work well with others, but she’s good at her job and truly believes she makes a difference by doing what she does, putting away the sick bastards who prey (mostly) on women and young girls.  But dealing with the sorts of things she has dealt with on a daily basis for the past six years has gradually taken its toll, and even before her partner was killed a few months earlier, Angie had begun to shut down her emotions and close herself off, to become all about the job and nothing else. But since his death, and the death of the child they were working to save from her abuser, Angie has pretty much gone down the rabbit-hole; she’s in a self-destructive downward spiral, driving herself harder and harder, having to work hard to contain her aggression and fury and needing to maintain control at all times, using meaningless sex with strangers as her coping mechanism and way of blowing off steam.When a comatose sixteen-year-old girl is found dumped at the foot of a statue of the Madonna in a local graveyard, having been brutally assaulted, mutilated and almost drowned and has the shape of a crucifix carved into her forehead, Angie is sure it’s the work of the same killer she and her partner had been trying to put away three years earlier.  There were two victims (that they knew of) both sexually assaulted and with a crucifix drawn on their foreheads with a red marker.  The further disfigurement of the latest victim would indicate that the perpetrator is escalating – and the discovery of another body bearing the same mutilations and signs of assault, this time one who has been wrapped in polythene and dumped in the river – definitely supports that theory and indicates that he is almost certainly going to strike again soon.Sergeant James Maddocks, formerly of the RCMP (Royal Canadian Mounted Police) has recently moved to the area in order to be close to his daughter, Ginny, who is a student at the University of Victoria.  His marriage broke down under the strain placed upon it by his job and while the move to the Victoria PD is a bit of a step-backwards career wise, he wants to be near Ginny and to be a better dad.  He is assigned as lead on the case of the body found in the river, and when the victim from the graveyard dies, the case turns into a double homicide.You can read the rest of this review at All About Romance .
    more
  • Luli
    June 6, 2017
    You can find this review in English below.Piensa en algo perturbador.Esta historia lo es más.Piensa en algo oscuro.Esta historia lo es más.Piensa en algo realmente desagradable e inquietante, tan inquietante que realmente deseas que esto sólo pueda salir de la imaginación de un autor y no pasar en la vida real. Pues eso es exactamente lo que vas a encontrar aquí.Esta historia se ha parecido mucho a los suspenses escandinavos que tanto me gustan. Pero le ha faltado algo. O mejor dicho, le ha sobr You can find this review in English below.Piensa en algo perturbador.Esta historia lo es más.Piensa en algo oscuro.Esta historia lo es más.Piensa en algo realmente desagradable e inquietante, tan inquietante que realmente deseas que esto sólo pueda salir de la imaginación de un autor y no pasar en la vida real. Pues eso es exactamente lo que vas a encontrar aquí.Esta historia se ha parecido mucho a los suspenses escandinavos que tanto me gustan. Pero le ha faltado algo. O mejor dicho, le ha sobrado algo. He estado tan agobiada durante la lectura que he tenido que hacer pausas. Y eso nunca me había pasado. Y no lo estoy diciendo como algo malo, al contrario, ha sido algo inquietantemente positivo. Pero, como dice el dicho, Menos es más. Y ha llegado un momento en que la historia se ha vuelto tan oscura, densa y agobiante que ha perdido (gracias a dios) credibilidad. Angie Palomino es una detective de crímenes sexuales. Lleva tiempo luchando en un mundo de hombres para hacerse un hueco y conseguir un ascenso, aunque a día de hoy sólo ha conseguido muchas zancadillas y un caso de los que hunden a cualquier ser humano. Pero no a ella. No es un personaje fácil, tampoco lo esperaba, pero ha sido algo abrumador leer sobre su vida. Realmente no es material de romance.Añade a todo esto un drama familiar impresionante (e inverosímil) y un mecanismo de desfogue destructivo y peligroso y ya tienes la foto de quién no debería ser jamás un agente del orden público. Ha sido demasiado. Nadie puede vivir así. O sobrevivir. No he conseguido tragármelo.En el lado opuesto del ring tenemos a James Maddocks, la única fuente de luz y cordura de la historia. Este sí ha sido un personaje maravilloso, realista y que se ha comportado tal y como cabía de esperar. O casi. Porque al final también hemos tenido un momento TSTL que le sirve al malo para seguir a lo suyo y a la autora para escribir otro giro más, que era ya demasiado. (view spoiler)[ Nadie, absolutamente nadie en su sano juicio, aconsejaría a un padre dar un poco de vidilla a su hija y que siga (¡Ojo! ¡Gran spoiler!)(view spoiler)[ siendo amiga de una chica que está siendo investigada a consecuencia de los asesinatos de otra de sus amigas. Menos aún cuando se descubre que son prostitutas y que están siendo asesinadas. (hide spoiler)] Y nadie, absolutamente nadie que sea padre va a tomarse ese consejo en serio. Así que… si los personajes hubiesen actuado como personas reales, el final no hubiese sido posible. Y eso, para mí es un fallo garrafal. (hide spoiler)]Y después está el verdadero protagonista que es el suspense. Brutal. Oscuro. Alarmante. Y sádico. Ha sido realmente inquietante leerlo. La autora repite demasiado los detalles escabrosos así que nunca puedes compartimentar para seguir adelante. Hubo un momento en que no sabía si lo podría terminar, pero como ya dije anteriormente, ha sido demasiado y ha perdido credibilidad. Ha habido demasiados frentes abiertos. Estaba el suspense de por sí, también el drama familiar de Angie, sus problemas personales y su poco sano (por decirlo de alguna manera) estilo de vida. Después estaba la trama política. Y después todas las coincidencias para cerrar el círculo. Cómo se conocen y quién era amigo de quién para acabar cómo acabó. Demasiado. Y el giro final no ha sido creíble. El malo no tenía ningún motivo para hacer eso. No era su MO. No me lo he creído.Y una nota aclaratoria: yo no llamaría a esto un suspense romántico. Hay algo de romance (por decirlo de alguna manera) pero para mí ha sobrado. Con un trasfondo tan oscuro hubiese sido mejor que no hubiese ninguno. En mi opinión.A pesar de que no me ha convencido tengo que decir que la historia no está mal. Y que sé de gente a la que le va a gustar. Pero yo espero más precisión y realismo en mis suspenses. ARC provided by Montlake Romance via Netgalley. Think of something disturbing.This story is more.Think of something dark.This story is darker.Think of something really unpleasant and unsettling, so disturbing that you really want this to come out only of an author's imagination and not happen in real life. Well, that's exactly what you're going to find here.This story has been a lot like the Scandinavian suspense that I love. But something has been missing. Or rather, something has been in excess. I have been so overwhelmed while reading it that I have had to take breaks. And that had never happened to me before. And I'm not saying it as a bad thing, on the contrary, it has been something disturbingly positive. But, as the saying goes, Less is more. And a time has come when the story has become so dark, dense and overwhelming that it has lost (thank goodness) credibility.Angie Palomino is a sex crimes detective. She has been trying to fit for a long time in a men´s world. Trying to get a promotion, although up until today she has only got a lot of hinder and a case of those that could drown your average human being. But not her.She is not an easy character, I wasn´t expecting it either, but it has been overwhelming to read about her life. It really is not romance stuff.Add to all of this a huge (and unlikely) family drama and a destructive and dangerous copying mechanism, and you already have the poster child of who should never be a law enforcement officer. It has been too much. No one can live like this. Or survive. I have not been able to swallow it.On the opposite side of the ring we have James Maddocks, the only source of light and sanity in the story. This has been a wonderful and realistic character and has behaved as expected. Or almost. Because in the end he had a TSTL moment that serves the bad guy to get going at his heart content and to the author to write another twist, which was already one too many. (view spoiler)[ No one, absolutely no one in their right mind, would advise a parent to give their daughter a little bit of room when she is friends with (Big spoiler alert!) (view spoiler)[ a girl which is being investigated as a result of the murders of another of her friends. Even less when it is discovered that they are prostitutes and that they are being murdered. (hide spoiler)] And no one, absolutely no one who is a parent is going to take that advice seriously. So ... if the characters would have behaved like real people, the end would not have been possible. And that, for me is a blunder. (hide spoiler)]And then there is the real protagonist who is the suspense. Brutal. Dark. Alarming. And sadistic. It has been really disturbing to read. The author repeats too much the gory details so you can never compartmentalize to move on . There was a time when I did not know if I could finish it, but as I said before, it has been too much and it has lost credibility.There have been a lot of things going on. There was the suspense, also Angie´s family drama, her personal problems and her unhealthy (to put it some way) way of life. And the political plot. And then all the coincidences to arrive to the full-circle. How they met and who was friends with who for the story to finish how it did. And the final twist has not been credible. The bad guy had no reason to do that. It was not his MO. I did not believe it.And a personal note: I would not call this a romantic suspense. There is some romance (to put it somehow) but for me it was not enough. With such a dark background it would have been better if there had been none. In my humble opinion.Although it has not convinced me fully I have to say that the story is good. And I know people who will like it. But I expect more precision and realism in my suspense.
    more
  • Dawn
    May 22, 2017
    Where to start with this review ? How about I absolutely loved this book ! I read alot of books in the mystery/thriller genre and I honestly think all the books are starting to sound alike until I read this book. It was like a breath of fresh air. I couldn't stop reading. Lots of great characters and a serial killer that you couldn't figure out who they were till the end.What a treat ! Loved the female lead character Angie .Highly recommend to anyone wanting to read something great and different Where to start with this review ? How about I absolutely loved this book ! I read alot of books in the mystery/thriller genre and I honestly think all the books are starting to sound alike until I read this book. It was like a breath of fresh air. I couldn't stop reading. Lots of great characters and a serial killer that you couldn't figure out who they were till the end.What a treat ! Loved the female lead character Angie .Highly recommend to anyone wanting to read something great and different. Look forward to the next in the series. Buy today you wont be disappointed!!!
    more
  • Christa
    May 15, 2017
    The Drowned Girls is a thoroughly intriguing, dark romantic suspense. It is a great start to a new series featuring lead character Angie Pallorino, a detective assigned to a joint investigative task force to catch a serial rapist turned killer. Angie is disturbed to find that an anonymous sexual encounter she had on the eve of beginning work on the task force is another task force member, James Maddocks. Both of these characters are carrying some serious baggage, but they join forces and give th The Drowned Girls is a thoroughly intriguing, dark romantic suspense. It is a great start to a new series featuring lead character Angie Pallorino, a detective assigned to a joint investigative task force to catch a serial rapist turned killer. Angie is disturbed to find that an anonymous sexual encounter she had on the eve of beginning work on the task force is another task force member, James Maddocks. Both of these characters are carrying some serious baggage, but they join forces and give their all in trying to track down the killer while trying to fight off the attraction between them. This book had everything I could want in a romantic suspense. Great characters, a riveting storyline, and fast-paced action make it a winner for me! Thanks to the author, publisher and NetGalley for providing a copy of this book in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Sandy S
    June 20, 2017
    4.75 stars—ABOUT THE BOOK: Release Date June 20, 2017He surfaced two years ago. Then he disappeared ... But Detective Angie Pallorino never forgot the violent rapist who left a distinctive calling card—crosses etched into the flesh of his victim’s foreheads. When a comatose Jane Doe is found in a local cemetery, sexually assaulted, mutilated, and nearly drowned, Angie is struck by the eerie similarities to her earlier unsolved rapes. Could he be back?Then the body of a drowned young woman floats 4.75 stars—ABOUT THE BOOK: Release Date June 20, 2017He surfaced two years ago. Then he disappeared ... But Detective Angie Pallorino never forgot the violent rapist who left a distinctive calling card—crosses etched into the flesh of his victim’s foreheads. When a comatose Jane Doe is found in a local cemetery, sexually assaulted, mutilated, and nearly drowned, Angie is struck by the eerie similarities to her earlier unsolved rapes. Could he be back?Then the body of a drowned young woman floats up in the Gorge, also bearing the marks of the serial rapist, and the hunt for a predator becomes a hunt for a killer. Assigned to the joint investigative task force, Angie is more than ready to prove that she has what it takes to break into the all-male homicide division. But her private life collides with her professional ambitions when she’s introduced to her temporary partner, James Maddocks—a man she’d met the night before in an intense, anonymous encounter.Together, Angie and Maddocks agree to put that night behind them. But as their search for the killer intensifies so does their mutual desire. And Angie’s forays into the mind of a monster shake lose some unsettling secrets about her own past . . . How can she fight for the truth when it turns out her whole life is a lie?••••••••••••REVIEW: 4.75 stars--THE DROWNED GIRLS is the first installment in Loreth Anne White’s adult, contemporary ANGIE PALLORINO mystery/ psychological crime thriller series with the addition of a little forbidden love and romance. NOTE: THE DROWNED GIRLS contains mature scenarios of graphic violence, abuse and sexual mutilation that may not be suitable for all readers.Told from several third person perspectives THE DROWNED GIRLS follows numerous paths that focus on the resurgence of a violent rapist who has upped his MO turning to mutilation and murder. Detective Angie Pallorino works the sex crimes division of the Metro Vancouver police department and the recent spate of violent sexual assaults is eerily similar to a couple of unsolved cases from years before. When the latest assault victim dies of her injuries, and another body washes up on shore, Angie finds herself with a new partner-homicide detective James Maddocks-a one night stand that demands something more. What ensues is the search for a killer while Angie and James battle the upheaval in their own personal lives-back home. THE DROWNED GIRLS is a story within a story; a dark and gritty tale of a psychopath; a serial rapist and murderer who uses religion as his justification for his actions but THE DROWNED GIRLS is also a story that reveals the depths to which the powerful elite will bury their sins for a piece of the pie. The world building takes the reader into the seedy underbelly of a city gripped by fear; of a people controlled by sex and drugs; of a police department that begins to turn upon its self. As the Metro Vancouver PD begin to uncover the truth, secrets, lies, and betrayal become road blocks to stopping a killer who is devolving with every victim and assault.Similar to Silence of the Lambs with a police department ala Law and Order: SVU THE DROWNED GIRLS is a suspenseful, descriptive story line with palpable energy where the reader looks into the killer’s mind-his needs, his rituals, his rationalization for all the he does-Norman Bates meets Hannibal Lecter with all of the gory details and graphic imagery that a psychological thriller throws at the reader. The character development sets the stage for the who, what, and why ; the world building is rich in technological detailed narration and presentation; the romance is the forbidden fruit between two peoples whose personal lives have fallen into the abyss-Angie Pallorino is desperate to escape Wonderland and uncover the truth.THE DROWNED GIRLS is a decadent, intriguing and enthralling story line; an energetic and dramatic look the people and places behind the headlines and stories that affect us all. The premise is complex and chaotic; the characters are numerous, sensational and charismatic; the romance struggles in the face of duty, secrets, lies and the unknown. Loreth Anne White’s THE DROWNED GIRLS is a powerful tale with memorable characters, and disturbing situations against the backdrop of Vancouver, BC, Canada.Copy supplied by Netgalley
    more
  • Susan
    June 18, 2017
    The drowned girls by Loreth Anne White.He surfaced two years ago. Then he disappeared.But Detective Angie Pallorino hasn’t forgotten the violent rapist who left a distinctive calling card—crosses etched into the flesh of his victim’s foreheads. When a comatose Jane Doe is found in a local cemetery, sexually assaulted, mutilated, and nearly drowned, Angie is struck by the eerie similarities to her earlier unsolved rapes. Could he be back?Then the body of a drowned young woman, also bearing the ma The drowned girls by Loreth Anne White.He surfaced two years ago. Then he disappeared.But Detective Angie Pallorino hasn’t forgotten the violent rapist who left a distinctive calling card—crosses etched into the flesh of his victim’s foreheads. When a comatose Jane Doe is found in a local cemetery, sexually assaulted, mutilated, and nearly drowned, Angie is struck by the eerie similarities to her earlier unsolved rapes. Could he be back?Then the body of a drowned young woman, also bearing the marks of the serial rapist, floats up in the Gorge, and the hunt for a predator becomes a hunt for a killer. Assigned to the joint investigative task force, Angie is more than ready to prove that she has what it takes to break into the all-male homicide division. But her private life collides with her professional ambitions when she’s introduced to her temporary partner, James Maddocks—a man she’d met just the night before in an intense, anonymous encounter.Together, Angie and Maddocks agree to put that night behind them. But as their search for the killer intensifies, so does their mutual desire. And Angie’s forays into the mind of a monster shake loose some unsettling secrets about her own past. How can she fight for the truth when it turns out her whole life is a lie?An absolutely fantastic read with brilliant characters. Really had me thinking. The killer was evil. I liked Angie. Can't wait for next part. Highly recommended. 5*. Netgalley and montlake romance.
    more
  • Veronica
    June 13, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads.The Drowned Girls follows sex crimes Detective Angie Pallorino and her temporary partner Sergeant James Maddocks as they track down a serial killer who is linked to unsolved rapes Angie worked on 4 years ago. The first quarter or so of this book is a little slow going and requires patience. The author does a good job setting the scene and creating atmosphere. The story is set in Canada in December in freezing, stormy weather I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads.The Drowned Girls follows sex crimes Detective Angie Pallorino and her temporary partner Sergeant James Maddocks as they track down a serial killer who is linked to unsolved rapes Angie worked on 4 years ago. The first quarter or so of this book is a little slow going and requires patience. The author does a good job setting the scene and creating atmosphere. The story is set in Canada in December in freezing, stormy weather and I felt cold just reading this.As the story unfolds we get the points of view of not only Angie and Maddocks but of various characters including the new Mayor, a local crime reporter and the serial killer. But the most fascinating character for me was Angie's partner in the sex crimes division Kjel Holgersen. He is a little odd and very good at his job and I thought there was more to him that he was letting on. As well as chasing a serial killer Angie is having visions of a little girl which start to effect her ability to do her job and has her worried that she is developing schizophrenia like her mother. Ultimately it leads her to solving a mystery in her personal life.The pace of the story picks up a little at it goes but generally it unfolds in quite a methodical fashion leading to a heart stopping climax. The Drowned Girls is an excellent read and I look forward to more books in this series.
    more
  • Selene
    June 29, 2017
    **ARC provided by Montlake Romance via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
  • Michelle Lindo-Rice
    June 3, 2017
    This is my first book by Loreth Anne White. What a dark, twisty, good read! The first line had me glued. Then when you meet, Angie Pallorino, the gritty heroine, you quickly realize this is not your Disney heroine. She is raw and flawed and passionate. She is ambitious and driven. You feel her guilt and her pain as she struggles with demons of the past.Then we meet the rugged James Maddocks, another complex character. He is trying to build a relationship with his daughter and ends up finding mor This is my first book by Loreth Anne White. What a dark, twisty, good read! The first line had me glued. Then when you meet, Angie Pallorino, the gritty heroine, you quickly realize this is not your Disney heroine. She is raw and flawed and passionate. She is ambitious and driven. You feel her guilt and her pain as she struggles with demons of the past.Then we meet the rugged James Maddocks, another complex character. He is trying to build a relationship with his daughter and ends up finding more. The villain also has depth and a story that makes us understand his pain even though we can't forgive his evil.I enjoyed this suspenseful tale. It had everything AND the kitchen sink. At times, I felt there were too many characters. I felt a couple scenes or story strands could've been shaved off in editing but then I realized that this was the foundation for a series. I am eager to know more about Angie.Kudos to Loreth Anne White. She is creepy good.
    more
  • eatbookseatworlds
    June 1, 2017
    This is my second foray into Loreth Anne White's writing, and let's just say the first book of hers I read was so good I scrambled to read this one the second I spotted her name.White's writing is nothing short of fantastic: her characters are deliciously multi-faceted and flawed, particularly her female characters. The setting and plot are always gritty and realistic, and the surprises - and heart-thumping suspense - never fail to get to me. And her villains are horrifying enough to satisfy eve This is my second foray into Loreth Anne White's writing, and let's just say the first book of hers I read was so good I scrambled to read this one the second I spotted her name.White's writing is nothing short of fantastic: her characters are deliciously multi-faceted and flawed, particularly her female characters. The setting and plot are always gritty and realistic, and the surprises - and heart-thumping suspense - never fail to get to me. And her villains are horrifying enough to satisfy even the most jaded of Criminal Minds fans. Angie and James are compelling characters that lead us through this bloody, confusing, superbly plotted mystery. There's nothing Nora Roberts-esque about their romance; it begins with a pretty dark, desperate encounter, but I love the way White slowly develops their feelings for each other - and the ensuing complications it brings.4 solid stars.*I received a review copy from the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*
    more
  • Cheryl
    May 31, 2017
    I just finished reading this book several hours ago. I am still trying to wrap my head around it all. You might have a love / hate relationship the first chapter or two. If you love it, great, it gets even better.If you hate it - DONT STOP - it gets even better. There are so many twists and turns, gut wrenching feelings, bad and good. There is sex, explicit for those who require it, if you don't require it, DON'T LET IT STOP YOU. I wish I was gifted enough to leave the kind of review this deserv I just finished reading this book several hours ago. I am still trying to wrap my head around it all. You might have a love / hate relationship the first chapter or two. If you love it, great, it gets even better.If you hate it - DONT STOP - it gets even better. There are so many twists and turns, gut wrenching feelings, bad and good. There is sex, explicit for those who require it, if you don't require it, DON'T LET IT STOP YOU. I wish I was gifted enough to leave the kind of review this deserves. Its book 1, in a new series. I need to go soak this all in, and then Loreth Anne White, I am ready, book 2 please. I was fortunate enough to receive a complimentary copy of this book and I volunteered to leave a review. I highly recommend this to adults, not for the faint of heart.
    more
  • Lindsey Ruppe
    May 27, 2017
    THIS! This book! Just wow! So Dark, gritty and many secrets. This is what I look for when I read suspense. Kept me guessing until almost the end. Thank you Loreth and NetGalley for the opportunity to read it!
  • Dísir
    June 8, 2017
    There’s no doubt that Loreth Anne White writes excellent police procedurals in their gritty, brutal glory. Her angst-ridden characters, worn down by the nature of their work, are jaded and cynical with nary an ounce of optimism in them and as we tend to learn at the start of the book, wrestle with their own broken lives as they keep disappointing their families before they find some kind of equilibrium by the end of it. Their behaviours tend to mirror the nature of the crimes they’re investigati There’s no doubt that Loreth Anne White writes excellent police procedurals in their gritty, brutal glory. Her angst-ridden characters, worn down by the nature of their work, are jaded and cynical with nary an ounce of optimism in them and as we tend to learn at the start of the book, wrestle with their own broken lives as they keep disappointing their families before they find some kind of equilibrium by the end of it. Their behaviours tend to mirror the nature of the crimes they’re investigating, stopping short of going past the grey areas into the forbidden and while the psychology behind it all is intriguing, I always find myself coming out of every White suspense read unsure, uncertain and strangely in need of a thorough cleaning. Irascible, combative and abrasive, Angie Pallorino is straight out, a character difficult to like or side with, unlike a typical romance heroine for whom an author tries to get the readers to have an affinity. Everything about her, like White’s protagonists, can and does rub me the wrong way especially in the manner she uses people and men. But her tenacity is also what makes her a good detective and her career is probably all she has. Like Angie, James Maddocks is running on his own fumes, rebuilding his life in a place where he can hopefully also rebuild his relationship with his daughter. They don’t get off to the best start: a one night stand that ends in coitus interruptus followed by a hostile meeting at the work place. But Maddocks is the upstanding, strong one who’s got his head on relatively straight in contrast and I liked that steadying presence he seems to provide throughout. There’s very little on the romance in White’s latest suspense books and this is no different. The multiple POVs and the doubts cast on each and every character does a good job of distancing you from them, bringing into focus instead, the complicated but excellent set up of the crime scenes. The search for justice and laborious police work are White’s focal points—along with the superb Hitchcockian suspense kind of writing—and her characters merely players as they try to untangle this web of brutal deaths. It’s packed with tons of details that makes it a difficult read in that sense, and heavy-going in a way gritty crime fiction can be, which naturally brings me to the question that I’ve always struggled with when it comes to romantic suspense that’s heavy on the suspense: is it possible to ‘love’ a read when it’s simply about the case (that’s fantastically set up, no doubt), even if there are characters you don’t exactly connect with or feel for? Angie’s story however, is pretty much unfinished. ‘The Drowned Girls’ seems to end on tenterhooks, on a tipsy toast that hopes for a better tomorrow, but with the sequel in store, you just know it’s going to unravel once more, until you’re back down through the looking glass, as dislocated as the characters who themselves don’t know any better but to screw things up. *ARC by netgalley(always grateful, mind)
    more
  • Shrimalya
    June 21, 2017
    This is my first book from Loreth Anne White and now I'm wondering why I've never read any of her books before!Romantic Suspense books are a dime a dozen, but very few manage to capture my attention this way and suck me in with the writing!This book had me hooked from the first line - "We all lie."The atmosphere that the author has created is truly beautiful in its cold iciness and bursts of warmth.I loved the flawed,realistic and amazing characters!I can't even begin to describe how much I love This is my first book from Loreth Anne White and now I'm wondering why I've never read any of her books before!Romantic Suspense books are a dime a dozen, but very few manage to capture my attention this way and suck me in with the writing!This book had me hooked from the first line - "We all lie."The atmosphere that the author has created is truly beautiful in its cold iciness and bursts of warmth.I loved the flawed,realistic and amazing characters!I can't even begin to describe how much I loved Angie.She is feisty and smart, but at times impulsive with her anger issues,past hurts and desire to have control.I totally relate with her anger towards all the sex offenders, especially ones that target innocent children.Just reading about it makes my blood boil.I can't imagine working everyday with it surrounding you!Then there is James Maddock, a new homicide detective.Its basically a step down for him, but he took this position to re-connect with his daughter.Like he says, a shrink would have a field day with him.Though both him and Angie are quite different, they have many similarities too, with the way their work takes precedence over family,how it affects them, and the loneliness that haunts them.From the narrative and plot I could see that the author has done lots of research.Its realistic when it comes to investigative and forensic procedure without seeming like an info dump.The setting with the cold winter in Victoria was perfect!And the story doesn't just focus on the serial killer/rapist alone.There are a lot of plotlines seamlessly interwoven, that left me surprised!I loved the cast of characters and how we got a glimpse into their minds and their motivations-including the Baptist.The mystery and suspense had me on the edge of my seat throughout the book.I finished it in one sitting and I literally couldn't put it down!But more than the storyline, I would like to appreciate how the author has beautifully combined a complex story, a chilly atmosphere, flawed and complex characters with interwoven relationships and development that shines!I don't think my review does this book justice!But I'm so glad I came across this book and discovered this author's works!I'll be counting down the days till The Lullaby Girl releases and till then I'll be happily devouring her other works! :D
    more
  • Kim Reads (Read Your Writes Book Reviews)
    June 28, 2017
    The Drowned Girls is the first book in Loreth Anne White’s new series featuring Detective Angie Pallorino who works in the sex crimes division of the Victoria Metro Police Department in Canada. I have read multiple romantic suspense novels written by Loreth and I have yet to be disappointed. This one is no different. The characters are all flawed and there is literally no way that you would figure out who the antagonist is until the big reveal. I was on the edge of my seat trying to stay ahead o The Drowned Girls is the first book in Loreth Anne White’s new series featuring Detective Angie Pallorino who works in the sex crimes division of the Victoria Metro Police Department in Canada. I have read multiple romantic suspense novels written by Loreth and I have yet to be disappointed. This one is no different. The characters are all flawed and there is literally no way that you would figure out who the antagonist is until the big reveal. I was on the edge of my seat trying to stay ahead of all of the action as it unfolded but there is just so much going on that you have to just let it all unfold.Although Angie is a detective, she can’t figure out her own life. The recent murder of her partner and a child that she couldn’t save has given her PTSD. In addition, revelations regarding her mother have brought up some odd memories and hallucinations that she can’t quite reconcile. To make things even more interesting, Angie creates a new set of problems when the guy that she meets during one of her anonymous hook-ups at an adult club ends up becoming essential to her career. But wait there’s more, someone is murdering and mutilating young women in a ritualistic manner that is tied to older crimes that Angie and her now deceased partner could not solve. With all of this going on, it’s almost impossible to see how Angie could even find the mental energy to get out of bed in the morning. Angie is not alone in this investigation. She also has to contend with a handsome Canadian Mountie who has just moved down to be closer to his college aged daughter while he is going through a nasty divorce. He is Sergeant James Maddocks who finds several ways to get under Angie’s skin. Their sexual tension is thick and they have to work together to solve these murders. During the course of the investigation, there are so many secrets that come out, I lose count. Many careers are cut short and more than one person goes to jail. There is nothing pretty about how this all ends. Be advised that the nature of the crimes involved are brutal and the descriptions are graphic. The steamy sex scenes aren’t enough to stop you from being horrified by what happens. Consequently, it was a roller coaster ride of epic proportions. I can’t wait to read the next book. **Received a copy from the publisher and voluntarily reviewed.**
    more
  • Ashley Gillan
    June 26, 2017
    I don't even know what to say about this book. It's a roller coaster ride from start to finish - and I loved every minute of it! If you break down the story, there's three separate storylines going on, and each of them is intriguing and had me begging for more. And for the first time in a long time, I found myself seeking out the love scenes, having fallen madly in "shipping" with the main characters.Before I get further: this book deals with graphic sexual assault. People wishing to avoid this I don't even know what to say about this book. It's a roller coaster ride from start to finish - and I loved every minute of it! If you break down the story, there's three separate storylines going on, and each of them is intriguing and had me begging for more. And for the first time in a long time, I found myself seeking out the love scenes, having fallen madly in "shipping" with the main characters.Before I get further: this book deals with graphic sexual assault. People wishing to avoid this topic should pick another novel.Angie Pallorino is at a bad place in her personal life: her mother has just been institutionalized with schizophrenia, and Angie fears she may be be showing symptoms herself; Angie seeks release in dangerous, anonymous sexual encounters she describes as "hunting"; and she has some serious questions about her childhood. Then at work, where she's still recovering from an incident which shook her to her core and claimed her partners life, a violent serial rapist has escalated to serial murderer and is leaving a string of dead, mutilated girls across the city. And Angie's partner in this new investigation? A guy she slept with at the club, thinking it was completely anonymous.Each of these storylines: the killer, the romance and the personal issues, all were so good I found myself waiting for the next installment in each - especially the romance. It was HOT. I seriously loved Angie and Maddocks together, I couldn't wait to see how it all turned out.The ending is so nuanced and well thought out - I didn't see it coming, and I don't know how you could. But it was satisfying and it fit. There were enough layers to keep things interesting and enough clues to make you say "oh yeahhhhh."This is apparently the first book in a new series, and I can't wait for the next one! Things were wrapped up with the main storylines, but enough was left open to keep things interesting!Mark me down for number two - STAT!
    more
  • Avid Reader
    June 18, 2017
    The Drowned Girls (Angie Pallorino #1) by Loreth Anne White4 starsM/F ThrillerTriggers: Murder, mutilation, torture, child death, hint of sex trafficking and mental health issuesI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.Angie Pallorino and James Maddox are a strange couple. Both are wanting to have a connection, but only a physical one. Angie is more of the risk taker and picks up random people in a bar - which is where she meets James Maddox. They have a random, hot hookup befo The Drowned Girls (Angie Pallorino #1) by Loreth Anne White4 starsM/F ThrillerTriggers: Murder, mutilation, torture, child death, hint of sex trafficking and mental health issuesI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.Angie Pallorino and James Maddox are a strange couple. Both are wanting to have a connection, but only a physical one. Angie is more of the risk taker and picks up random people in a bar - which is where she meets James Maddox. They have a random, hot hookup before Angie is called to a crime scene. Because neither exchanges information, it's quite a shock when they are connected as partners for a temporary assignment.Angie has been having a difficult time, as of late. Her mother is suffering in a mental institution and her father doesn't understand why Angie needs to be a sex crimes police officer, gunning for joining the homicide unit. Angie and her then partner caught a case about 4 years ago that still haunts her to this day. When this new case shares similarities, she will stop at nothing to be put on the case.James is made lead on the case and finds himself intrigued by both the case and his temporary partner. But both come with baggage and neither really wants to deal with it. James wants to make sure that he corrects his mistakes of the past with his family - mainly his daughter, who is snarky and kind of a pain. But, he also decides that he wants more out of life than just his job. While Angie and James are racing the clock, Angie is continuing to struggle with her mental well being and James is trying to help in any way that he can. The book is somewhat slow and very descriptive at times. I think that it did set up certain areas well, but overall felt it was too descriptive - at least in the beginning half. It made for a struggle to get to the active part of the story.Overall, this was a great thriller and I can't wait to see what happens next for Angie.
    more
Write a review