Three!
"Three!" is a funny little rhyming book about what it's like to spend a day with a preschooler - from getting themselves dressed to making a big mess! With beautiful illustrations (complete with dinosaurs, trains and superheros) and a catchy story that both parents and kids can enjoy again and again, this is a must-have book for your children's book collection.

Three! Details

TitleThree!
Author
FormatBoard book
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 22nd, 2016
PublisherTia Perkin
ISBN0692725652
ISBN-139780692725658
Number of pages36 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens

Three! Review

  • Amanda Lim
    August 31, 2016
    Rating: 5 stars (in the children rating world)You might ask, why did I choose this book for review? Well, why not? But to be honest, I wanted to look at the illustrations more than reading the book. I mean, it can be read in 1 minute or maybe less. I have no idea why but every time someone tells me to read a children’s book (really children, not like Narnia or Percy Jackson which are middle grade), I will read it. It’s just some random fact about me and I have no idea why I do it.I gave it a 5 s Rating: 5 stars (in the children rating world)You might ask, why did I choose this book for review? Well, why not? But to be honest, I wanted to look at the illustrations more than reading the book. I mean, it can be read in 1 minute or maybe less. I have no idea why but every time someone tells me to read a children’s book (really children, not like Narnia or Percy Jackson which are middle grade), I will read it. It’s just some random fact about me and I have no idea why I do it.I gave it a 5 stars, but it isn’t like a “5-star-oh-my-god-my-favorite-book”. No! I gave it a 5 stars in the rating world of children (because it is a child’s book). But honestly, it was so cool. I don’t know why but writing that makes me think it’s so cheesy. Like for example a kid saying “It’s so cool”. Anyways, let’s get back into the review.Personally, I thought the illustrations were amazing. It was so adorable and cute. Everything was colorful and it was a delight to see the next page. I mean, come on it’s about a three year old boy talking about waking up, taking breakfast, basically whatever he’s doing during a day. How can you not think it’s cute. I couldn’t stop smiling while reading it.Also, I have been reading lots of heavy books lately so it was refreshing to read this tiny little book for a change.Overall, it’s fun to read and beautifully done!
    more
  • Donna
    September 2, 2016
    I am very impressed that the author and illistrator are the same person. The most impressive part of this story is that Tia Perkin is also the mom of twin three year old boys while writing this! I am currently watching my twin three year old granddaughters and every page was true to life! I especially loved the drool while mom was sleeping, at 6:30 am, and her little boy was ready to start the days adventures. I'm glad that this story is about a single boy and not twins so that more people can r I am very impressed that the author and illistrator are the same person. The most impressive part of this story is that Tia Perkin is also the mom of twin three year old boys while writing this! I am currently watching my twin three year old granddaughters and every page was true to life! I especially loved the drool while mom was sleeping, at 6:30 am, and her little boy was ready to start the days adventures. I'm glad that this story is about a single boy and not twins so that more people can relate. My only wish is that at the end, or scattered throughout the book, it would have shown all the sticky hugs and "I love you's" that come with the exhausting reality of mothering a three year old and that makes getting up early the next day to do it all again worth it! As I thought about reading this to my girls, I wondered what they would think and if there was a sweet message for them. I guess, if I am the one reading it to them, I can add that message myself with my hugs and "I love you's" but I wish it had been included.I received a free ebook in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Beth McGuire
    August 31, 2016
    THREE BY TIA PERKIN IS AN ADORABLE AND SWEET BOOK ABOUT TAKING CARE OF A THREE YEAR OLD LITTLE BOY. STARTING WITH WAKING UP TO EATING, SHOPPING, PLAYING, NAP TIME AND BACK TO GOING TO BED. THE ILLUSTRATIONS ARE FUN AND BEAUTIFULLY DONE. THE COLORS ARE BOLD AND BRIGHT AND THIS BOOK WILL DEFINITELY HOLD THE ATTENTION OF ANY LITTLE ONE. I REALLY ENJOYED THIS SWEET AND FUN BOOK.
    more
  • Cheryl
    July 25, 2017
    I was very disappointed in this little book and will be returning it. I purchased it along with Two! to give to my great-nephew who is turning two. With it being a board book I expected it to be appropriate for a 2 year old. What I found instead is a board book showing a child, who looks nowhere near 3 years old doing all kinds of things I would not want to suggest to a 3 year old. Colors are rather dark for a child's book also. I think the book is more directed at frustrated parents of 3 year o I was very disappointed in this little book and will be returning it. I purchased it along with Two! to give to my great-nephew who is turning two. With it being a board book I expected it to be appropriate for a 2 year old. What I found instead is a board book showing a child, who looks nowhere near 3 years old doing all kinds of things I would not want to suggest to a 3 year old. Colors are rather dark for a child's book also. I think the book is more directed at frustrated parents of 3 year olds as humor, not very cute and rhymes rather forced. Sorry, I think I have only rated one book previously as a 1, now I have Two! and Three!
    more
  • NaDell
    November 1, 2016
    Quick children's story about what it's like to live with a three year old. The pictures are bright, colorful, and engaging. My eight and five year old children got a big kick out of it. My eight year old son's favorite page was when he told his mom he needed to use the bathroom and then when they got there changed his mind. My five year old daughter's favorite page was when he was playing with the cans at the store.I received a free ebook copy of this book for an honest review.
    more
  • Holly Lenz
    August 2, 2017
    A funny picture book about a toddler Three is a funny picture book that will be fun for little kids and parents should get a kick out of it too. I could definitely see my own kids in some of the child's actions. They are 4 and 7, but 3 was not that long ago.
    more
  • Jen
    August 3, 2017
    3 -year-old Looks 10!The sound words got my 3-year-old granddaughter's attention, and some of situations were easy to relate to. Somehow the story felt disconnected, though. Boy looked and acted older than 3, which may have caused some of the disconnect.
    more
  • Eileen Carter
    August 2, 2017
    CuteThis book is one that children will enjoy. They could even act out the story. Definitely for young children and their parents
  • Adam
    August 2, 2017
    whereas TWO! is wonderfully entertaining, THREE! is merely "pretty okay". the illustrations are as excellent but it feels like the text was just an afterthought and there's less flow.
  • Jodi Rosenblatt
    August 3, 2017
    Too Much Going OnToo many words, too many actions , too confusing. Not good for a three year old. Too all over the place.
  • Loralee
    August 30, 2016
    This was a splendidly illustrated story about the day in the life of a typical three year old and all the things he does. The little fellow is never given a name, which I like, since children his age, being read this story, could put themselves into his place. I found myself smiling as I recall the (very) distant memories of the triumphs and frustrations of being that age. And as a parent I smiled at the difficulties he puts his parents into with all his adventures and choices.I liked the playfu This was a splendidly illustrated story about the day in the life of a typical three year old and all the things he does. The little fellow is never given a name, which I like, since children his age, being read this story, could put themselves into his place. I found myself smiling as I recall the (very) distant memories of the triumphs and frustrations of being that age. And as a parent I smiled at the difficulties he puts his parents into with all his adventures and choices.I liked the playful rhyme of the story, and the font for the large onomatopoeia words that helped me imagined the sounds of his various adventures and misadventures. And again, the illustrations were perhaps the best part of the story for me. Very well done, bright, and eye-catching. Sitting in a mom or dad’s lap, a little child, especially one who’s three, would enjoy having this story read aloud to him or her, and would find a lot to relate to in this little boy’s daily adventures. I could see a little boy or girl hearing this story, and thinking, “Hey, he’s just like me!” I was given a free copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Heather Green
    August 30, 2016
    The illustrations were cute. All the adjectives and verbs would make for fun reading out loud. The varying sizes of type made the story fun to read and look at. I would have given this one a higher rating, but I felt that the sequence of the story was off. I thought getting stuck in his pj's should have been before he got dressed and dad tripping over the train in the dark should have been after naptime and bathtime. It was a little confusing. I read it with my six year old, and she liked it, bu The illustrations were cute. All the adjectives and verbs would make for fun reading out loud. The varying sizes of type made the story fun to read and look at. I would have given this one a higher rating, but I felt that the sequence of the story was off. I thought getting stuck in his pj's should have been before he got dressed and dad tripping over the train in the dark should have been after naptime and bathtime. It was a little confusing. I read it with my six year old, and she liked it, but she noticed the sequencing also. The story felt jumbled and scattered. Maybe that was the idea because it was about a day in the life of a three year old. I don't know. The vocabulary seemed better suited for mom's than for little children. If I was reading it to a toddler, I'd probably talk about the illustrations with the child rather than reading the words of the story. I received this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Cathy
    September 14, 2016
    I have loved reading "Two" to our toddler, it's so fun to see just how much of the craziness happens in our own lives. There are several parts that he loves and there are several of the things that happened in that one that have also happened in our lives. So I was way excited to see that there's now a book called "Three"! This book is also great! I love the way that Tia Perkin has written these books. There is a huge cute picture with only a few words per page. It's perfect for reading to our l I have loved reading "Two" to our toddler, it's so fun to see just how much of the craziness happens in our own lives. There are several parts that he loves and there are several of the things that happened in that one that have also happened in our lives. So I was way excited to see that there's now a book called "Three"! This book is also great! I love the way that Tia Perkin has written these books. There is a huge cute picture with only a few words per page. It's perfect for reading to our little people with short attention spans. I love the way each of the illustrations depicts the situation in a humorous way. This is a book that we will read over and over again to our little guy. He already asks for it each time he sees my Kindle Fire.I was sent an e-copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Lynda Dickson
    September 11, 2016
    Three! is a behind-the-scenes look at a day in the life of a three-year-old boy full of energy and excitement and his harried mother who patiently copes with his boisterous antics. It certainly brings back memories of having a child that age!The book is full of onomatopoeia (those funny words that imitate sounds), right up to the last "Zzzz", making this a fun one to read aloud with the kids. The colorful illustrations, also by the author, convey all the excitement, mess, and noise associated wi Three! is a behind-the-scenes look at a day in the life of a three-year-old boy full of energy and excitement and his harried mother who patiently copes with his boisterous antics. It certainly brings back memories of having a child that age!The book is full of onomatopoeia (those funny words that imitate sounds), right up to the last "Zzzz", making this a fun one to read aloud with the kids. The colorful illustrations, also by the author, convey all the excitement, mess, and noise associated with raising a three-year-old. Just imagine having two of them, like the author!I received this book in return for an honest review.Full blog post ( 12 September): https://booksdirectonline.blogspot.co...
    more
  • Becky Villareal
    August 30, 2016
    Three, written and illustrated by Tia Perkin, was a joy to read. It is the story of the life of a three-year-old boy told in a way that only a mother would be able to express. During each part of the day, I found his actions funny, enjoyable and true to life. Three-year-old children, especially boys, can be wonderful and exhausting at the same time. This wonderful book is filled with humor, fantastic facial expressions, and large, visual print. There is also the use of word balloons throughout. Three, written and illustrated by Tia Perkin, was a joy to read. It is the story of the life of a three-year-old boy told in a way that only a mother would be able to express. During each part of the day, I found his actions funny, enjoyable and true to life. Three-year-old children, especially boys, can be wonderful and exhausting at the same time. This wonderful book is filled with humor, fantastic facial expressions, and large, visual print. There is also the use of word balloons throughout. This, combined with the vocabulary, is a great read-aloud. I would highly recommend this for use in an early childhood classroom, a homeschool environment, or just a cozy read with a child or grandchild. This book was gifted to me for an honest review which I gladly provided.
    more
  • Ciprian-Marius Bujor
    August 31, 2016
    This is a funny short coloured book for kids. What is very interesting is that it is also nice or accessible for an adult, as the dialogues are well written and if you had an child of three you can easily remember all the little problems he has. If you don't have a child this age, you can learn a lot about this experience from this little essay. Anyway, this book is as good for a child as it is good for an adult. The illustrations are superb, the action well oriented and captivating, especially This is a funny short coloured book for kids. What is very interesting is that it is also nice or accessible for an adult, as the dialogues are well written and if you had an child of three you can easily remember all the little problems he has. If you don't have a child this age, you can learn a lot about this experience from this little essay. Anyway, this book is as good for a child as it is good for an adult. The illustrations are superb, the action well oriented and captivating, especially for a child. I recommend it. As an appendix for the editor, I read it on my Kindle Paperwhite, and it's nor a very pleasant experience. It will often block and the dialogues will not open, so I had to use my tablet. It would be nice to adapt it for Kindle.
    more
  • Alex Longbrake
    August 30, 2016
    I received a free ebook in exchange for an honest review. Three is a realistic, humorous story about an entire day with a three-year-old. With rhyming all throughout, this story had me laughing about how relatable it is. I’m not a mother, but I could relate entirely because of my many years as a go-to babysitter. This book is great for kids because of the adventures the little boy goes on. He seems to keep his parents on his feet and you never know what kind of trouble or action he could get int I received a free ebook in exchange for an honest review. Three is a realistic, humorous story about an entire day with a three-year-old. With rhyming all throughout, this story had me laughing about how relatable it is. I’m not a mother, but I could relate entirely because of my many years as a go-to babysitter. This book is great for kids because of the adventures the little boy goes on. He seems to keep his parents on his feet and you never know what kind of trouble or action he could get into next. This lively story is something I know my nieces will enjoy, as well as my friends who have entered motherhood.
    more
  • Stacie
    November 2, 2016
    Three!, written & illustrated by Tia Perkin, is a fun, engaging picture book that will delight young children & parents. Its short, rhyming text shows the excitement of everyday life from the perspective of a three year old boy. From sun-up to sun-down he plays enthusiastically, leaving Mom exhausted at day's end and the boy - fast asleep! Parents will no doubt find the illustrations charming and the story true to how life can be with a preschooler. Children will love the brightly colore Three!, written & illustrated by Tia Perkin, is a fun, engaging picture book that will delight young children & parents. Its short, rhyming text shows the excitement of everyday life from the perspective of a three year old boy. From sun-up to sun-down he plays enthusiastically, leaving Mom exhausted at day's end and the boy - fast asleep! Parents will no doubt find the illustrations charming and the story true to how life can be with a preschooler. Children will love the brightly colored pictures and the hijinks that ensue as the boy plays all day long. *Free copy received in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Zoe
    September 10, 2016
    This is a great (and very realistic) book about whats it's like to spend a day with a 3 year old. I'm amazed Tia Perkins could write this with THREE three year olds. Babysitters and Starbucks visits, am I right? It was a very sweet, funny book that makes for a wonderful read aloud. I especially liked the part where the mom tells the boy no more water in the tub and when the dad steps on the little red train. We all know those stories! My only wish is that the dad helped out with the boys a littl This is a great (and very realistic) book about whats it's like to spend a day with a 3 year old. I'm amazed Tia Perkins could write this with THREE three year olds. Babysitters and Starbucks visits, am I right? It was a very sweet, funny book that makes for a wonderful read aloud. I especially liked the part where the mom tells the boy no more water in the tub and when the dad steps on the little red train. We all know those stories! My only wish is that the dad helped out with the boys a little more. ONE three year old is an overload, 3? Whew. I got this as a free book for an honest review, which I am glad to provide. Overall, great book!
    more
  • Julia Salemme
    September 8, 2016
    Maybe it's because I don't have a three year old yet, but I just didn't get this book. I found it to be really strange and all over the place, but maybe that's what the author was going for--jumping from one thing to the next like a three year old might do. I think it would be a nice book for a mom's book club to spark conversation about their children. I did like the use of all the interjections, children would find that fun. Overall, I could take it or leave it. Not up there on my list of chil Maybe it's because I don't have a three year old yet, but I just didn't get this book. I found it to be really strange and all over the place, but maybe that's what the author was going for--jumping from one thing to the next like a three year old might do. I think it would be a nice book for a mom's book club to spark conversation about their children. I did like the use of all the interjections, children would find that fun. Overall, I could take it or leave it. Not up there on my list of children's classics that I will be sharing with my baby girl as she grows. I was given an e-copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Amanda Holmstrom
    September 30, 2016
    I received this book in exchange for an honest review.As a parent, I enjoyed looking through this book and found that I could relate to what was happening. I greatly enjoyed the illustrations, I found them colourful and fun to look at. I believe some toddlers would also enjoy looking at these pictures.That being said, I would not rush out to purchase this book. I found it to jump all over the place, with very little direction. Very similar to what a three year old would do, this could very well I received this book in exchange for an honest review.As a parent, I enjoyed looking through this book and found that I could relate to what was happening. I greatly enjoyed the illustrations, I found them colourful and fun to look at. I believe some toddlers would also enjoy looking at these pictures.That being said, I would not rush out to purchase this book. I found it to jump all over the place, with very little direction. Very similar to what a three year old would do, this could very well be what the author meant to do.
    more
  • Melissa Nichols
    October 3, 2016
    My kids loved this book. It is a favorite bedtime story for my five-year-old and three-year-old. The loud words and catching text combine with the colorful illustrations to make for a quick read about the little boy. I was not as big of a fan of the book because I like a little more text in the books I read but in the long run I think it is the kids who should have the say about what we read. If you are looking for a quick fun book about a day in the life of a three-year-old, my boys would say r My kids loved this book. It is a favorite bedtime story for my five-year-old and three-year-old. The loud words and catching text combine with the colorful illustrations to make for a quick read about the little boy. I was not as big of a fan of the book because I like a little more text in the books I read but in the long run I think it is the kids who should have the say about what we read. If you are looking for a quick fun book about a day in the life of a three-year-old, my boys would say read this book!!I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • MICHELE
    November 1, 2016
    Wow, I really enjoyed this cute little children's book that took all of the nursery rhymes and put them in certain places in the book. There were different characters and different places but basically the same concept with a more entertaining character.You must read it to a child to get the response that I got .First there was excitement, then there was laughter, and then he didn't want the book to end. Those are the three best qualities that make Three a wonderful book to read.Disclaimer: “I r Wow, I really enjoyed this cute little children's book that took all of the nursery rhymes and put them in certain places in the book. There were different characters and different places but basically the same concept with a more entertaining character.You must read it to a child to get the response that I got .First there was excitement, then there was laughter, and then he didn't want the book to end. Those are the three best qualities that make Three a wonderful book to read.Disclaimer: “I received a copy of this book in exchange for a review”.
    more
  • M R
    October 13, 2016
    A fun, accurate, portrayal of what life with an energetic three-year-old can be like. The authors fun, simple pages full of onomatopoeia that delighted my toddler as I read it to him. We both enjoyed the illustrations that showed quite a bit of depth even in the black and white version we read. My toddler enjoyed seeing someone close to his own age and picking out different objects in pictures. I smiled, and sometimes groaned, as I sympathized with the sometimes exasperating job of motherhood. I A fun, accurate, portrayal of what life with an energetic three-year-old can be like. The authors fun, simple pages full of onomatopoeia that delighted my toddler as I read it to him. We both enjoyed the illustrations that showed quite a bit of depth even in the black and white version we read. My toddler enjoyed seeing someone close to his own age and picking out different objects in pictures. I smiled, and sometimes groaned, as I sympathized with the sometimes exasperating job of motherhood. It is a cute, fun read for both parents and children. Enjoy!
    more
  • Patti
    October 31, 2016
    I received a free ebook in exchange for an honest review.I was excited to read this book because my granddaughter will be three in December. Overall I liked the book very much. I liked the bright colors and fonts used. The little boy's actions reminded me of my own son at three, very mischievous and all over the place. I'm only giving the book 4 stars because I think some of the words used were more geared towards adults. I also think some of the boy's thought bubble words would have worked bett I received a free ebook in exchange for an honest review.I was excited to read this book because my granddaughter will be three in December. Overall I liked the book very much. I liked the bright colors and fonts used. The little boy's actions reminded me of my own son at three, very mischievous and all over the place. I'm only giving the book 4 stars because I think some of the words used were more geared towards adults. I also think some of the boy's thought bubble words would have worked better before the larger font words.
    more
  • Maja
    November 2, 2016
    >>I received this as a free ebook in exchange of an honest review<<Three is an illustrated children's book about a boy and what his day looks like. It's funny and the illustrations are marvellous. I especially like the way the illustrations and text together show the world from the boy's point of view. I'm not in the targeted audience for this book, but I would definitely recommend it to people with children under the age of three.
    more
  • Raina
    November 4, 2016
    A very simple little story about what it's like to be three. It uses a lot of words a three year old wouldn't recognize so it could present good opportunities to learn new vocabulary. The mom looks perpetually annoyed and for good reason. The child is demanding and obnoxious. Kids might find it cute but I found it annoying to read as most of the letters were capitalized. I received this book for free in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Alyssa N Oldham
    August 31, 2016
    I found this book to be a sweet little story. It certainly reminded me of a day in the life of a toddler. The illustrations were vibrantly colored and you could feel the motion and nonstop activity in every page. The rhymes were simple yet fun, and as a mother of a small child I could relate to the different events described in the book. It is an entertaining read for parents and children.I received a free ebook in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Monica Dillenburg
    August 30, 2016
    This three year old story is fun and as a parent I can related to it! The illustrations are great, full of color and excitement and the story is quit believable. However, I have to say that my three year olds didn’t like that the boy was to naughty, because “not all three years old are that crazy!” As a mom I’m happy that my little ones noticed the boy’s behavior and how mommy and daddy get so tired so we used the book as an example from time to time.
    more
  • Lisa (Bookworm Lisa)
    September 13, 2016
    This book brings back many memories. It had me laughing as I remembered what it was like to have children who were three. I thought it was spot on describing the age.The book has darling illustrations and looks at a day in the life of a three year old. It rhymes and is well written. I can imagine sitting down with a child and reading this book. I think it would be enjoyable for the children and adults to giggle at the antics of the little boy.
    more
Write a review