Dragon Teeth
Michael Crichton, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Jurassic Park, returns to the world of paleontology in this recently discovered novel—a thrilling adventure set in the Wild West during the golden age of fossil hunting.The year is 1876. Warring Indian tribes still populate America’s western territories even as lawless gold-rush towns begin to mark the landscape. In much of the country it is still illegal to espouse evolution. Against this backdrop two monomaniacal paleontologists pillage the Wild West, hunting for dinosaur fossils, while surveilling, deceiving and sabotaging each other in a rivalry that will come to be known as the Bone Wars.Into this treacherous territory plunges the arrogant and entitled William Johnson, a Yale student with more privilege than sense. Determined to survive a summer in the west to win a bet against his arch-rival, William has joined world-renowned paleontologist Othniel Charles Marsh on his latest expedition.  But when the paranoid and secretive Marsh becomes convinced that William is spying for his nemesis, Edwin Drinker Cope, he abandons him in Cheyenne, Wyoming, a locus of crime and vice. William is forced to join forces with Cope and soon stumbles upon a discovery of historic proportions.  With this extraordinary treasure, however, comes exceptional danger, and William’s newfound resilience will be tested in his struggle to protect his cache, which pits him against some of the West’s most notorious characters.A page-turner that draws on both meticulously researched history and an exuberant imagination, Dragon Teeth is based on the rivalry between real-life paleontologists Cope and Marsh; in William Johnson readers will find an inspiring hero only Michael Crichton could have imagined. Perfectly paced and brilliantly plotted, this enormously winning adventure is destined to become another Crichton classic. 

Dragon Teeth Details

TitleDragon Teeth
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 1st, 2017
PublisherHarperCollins Publishers
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreHistorical, Fiction, Science Fiction, Westerns, Adult, Adventure, Animals, Dinosaurs, Science Fiction Fantasy, Action, Thriller, Mystery Thriller

Dragon Teeth Review

  • Sr3yas
    April 12, 2017
    So they found a mysterious manuscript after all these years? What?Well, Sign me up!
  • Bob Milne
    April 4, 2017
    Unlike so many ghost-written novels that are 'polished' after an author's death, Dragon Teeth does feel like the completed manuscript it is purported to be. In fact, it reads very much like one of Michael Crichton's earlier historical novels - The Great Train Robbery, Eaters of the Dead, and even (to some extent) Congo. It is a leaner, simpler sort of story, more concerned with the facts of the past than the theories of the future.Readers with an interest in paleontology are likely already famil Unlike so many ghost-written novels that are 'polished' after an author's death, Dragon Teeth does feel like the completed manuscript it is purported to be. In fact, it reads very much like one of Michael Crichton's earlier historical novels - The Great Train Robbery, Eaters of the Dead, and even (to some extent) Congo. It is a leaner, simpler sort of story, more concerned with the facts of the past than the theories of the future.Readers with an interest in paleontology are likely already familiar with the infamous feud between Othniel Charles Marsh and Edwin Drinker Cope, but Crichton makes their rivalry come alive through the unlikely eyes of William Johnson - a wealthy student from the East who lied his way into the West in order to collect on a bet. As Crichton admits in his Author's Note at the end, as crazy as it all is, he deliberately played down some of the more outrageous aspects of the feud, making it seem more realistic to new readers.Johnson is a fun character to ride along with, a young man who changes drastically over the course of the novel. We watch as he grows and matures, as he has his eyes opened to the harsh realities of the West, and as he fights his way back home - a journey that seems destined to never end. His cross-country journey along the rails is worth the price of admission alone, with a stampeding herd of buffalo a definite highlight, and his time in the barren, wind-swept, alkaline flats is far more fascinating than the landscape would suggest. A good part of the novel there deals with the very real threat of the Indian Wars, with Crichton proving himself to be rather sympathetic, portraying most of the tribes in a positive light. The latter half of the novel is almost a Wild West dime-store novel in and of itself, complete with saloons, gunfights, and even Wyatt Earp. It is there than Johnson shines brightest, becoming not just a convenient narrator, but an authentic hero.The science here is solid, exploring the discovery, the naming, and the construction of dinosaurs. It is the characters who make Dragon Teeth come alive, though, with heroes and villains alike putting a recognizable face on a very different era. Hopefully, this won't prove to be his last finished manuscript to be discovered but, if it is, then it's nice to know his posthumous career will have ended on a high note.Originally reviewed at Beauty in Ruins Disclaimer: I received a complimentary ARC of this title from the publisher in exchange for review consideration. This does not in any way affect the honesty or sincerity of my review.
    more
  • Alex
    December 31, 2016
    How many of these "recently discovered" manuscripts are there?!
  • ♛ Garima ♛
    April 4, 2017
    Who is writing this book?"Michael Crichton passed away from lymphoma in 2008. He was 66 years old."
  • Megalion
    February 21, 2017
    A previously unpublished book. If you're expecting Jurassic Park, the prequel, you will not get it. This is a Wild West type of story. To be more precise, a historical fiction tale set in the Wild West of 1880s about the literally cutthroat competition between 2 key figures in the hunt for dinosaur bones. A rare step away from his normal speculative fiction back into the early days of dinosaur fossil hunting. What we now call palentology but with less bloodshed.From his research, he presents a n A previously unpublished book. If you're expecting Jurassic Park, the prequel, you will not get it. This is a Wild West type of story. To be more precise, a historical fiction tale set in the Wild West of 1880s about the literally cutthroat competition between 2 key figures in the hunt for dinosaur bones. A rare step away from his normal speculative fiction back into the early days of dinosaur fossil hunting. What we now call palentology but with less bloodshed.From his research, he presents a novelization of his interpretation of what happened in this real life clash over discovering dinosaurs. Begins with an snotty rich college kid who gets "forced" into joining a dinosaur bone hunting expedition in order to save face among his peers. Not a great start. Jerks like that, who needs them? The first hook for me was that he dedicates himself to learning photography in order to be allowed into the very selective group. Then there's the odd and seemingly paranoid stuff from the professor about credit stealing conspiracies. From there, I don't think it's an unfair characterizion to say that he became Alice and fell down a rabbit hole lined with dinosaur bones and Indian arrows. Not the best Crichton book ever, but a decent one and since he's been 6 feet under for almost a decade, I'LL TAKE IT! Thank you to the publisher for the free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Eric Mikols
    February 13, 2017
    So this is a western, using dinosaur bones as a means of getting me to read a genre I tend to avoid. I can't say I'm not disappointed, wanted more dinosaur-facts and paleontology but it's a great read anyway. It reads like the best of Crichton's early work, having more in common with The Great Train Robbery than Jurassic Park. History brought to life through action and characters that are almost on tour through the world's events. While it's incredibly sad to me that this will (most likely) be t So this is a western, using dinosaur bones as a means of getting me to read a genre I tend to avoid. I can't say I'm not disappointed, wanted more dinosaur-facts and paleontology but it's a great read anyway. It reads like the best of Crichton's early work, having more in common with The Great Train Robbery than Jurassic Park. History brought to life through action and characters that are almost on tour through the world's events. While it's incredibly sad to me that this will (most likely) be the last book we see published under Crichton's name, it's a good one to go out on. It almost brings all his work full circle, asking us to start all over again.
    more
  • Brandon Forsyth
    April 22, 2017
    Stagecoach chases, gunfights in the streets, life on the frontier, sex, danger, and even an extended cameo from Wyatt Earp - this newly discovered Crichton moves in a terrific way, and should more than satisfy the summer reading crowd. It reads more than a little breathless, with some strange combinations of perspective, but this is an adventure first and foremost. I had a hell of a time with it.
    more
  • Nostalgia Reader
    March 11, 2017
    2.5 stars, rounded up.I really wanted to like this more than I did. It had everything--Western history, the Bone Wars, the Earp brothers... the pages should have dripped Western aura. But sadly, they did not. I never got a feeling for the places as described. I got vivid imagery, yes, but I never felt like I connected with the story. It was also fast-paced... a bit too fast-paced, especially for a story where the actual action doesn't really start until mid-way through. It was mostly a fluffy re 2.5 stars, rounded up.I really wanted to like this more than I did. It had everything--Western history, the Bone Wars, the Earp brothers... the pages should have dripped Western aura. But sadly, they did not. I never got a feeling for the places as described. I got vivid imagery, yes, but I never felt like I connected with the story. It was also fast-paced... a bit too fast-paced, especially for a story where the actual action doesn't really start until mid-way through. It was mostly a fluffy read for me, which I didn't mind, but I was hoping for something with more weight to it.*This was an ARC copy.*
    more
  • Maxine
    March 23, 2017
    It is 1876 and William Johnson, a young, wealthy and somewhat indolent Yale student who is always boasting about his mostly fictional exploits is bet that he can’t get a position on Othniel Marsh’s annual fossil hunt to the western territories. Surprisingly he succeeds but what was hopefully going to be just an exciting undergraduate adventure, not to mention the satisfying besting of a hated classmate, quickly turns much more dangerous than Johnson could have imagined. For one thing Marsh in co It is 1876 and William Johnson, a young, wealthy and somewhat indolent Yale student who is always boasting about his mostly fictional exploits is bet that he can’t get a position on Othniel Marsh’s annual fossil hunt to the western territories. Surprisingly he succeeds but what was hopefully going to be just an exciting undergraduate adventure, not to mention the satisfying besting of a hated classmate, quickly turns much more dangerous than Johnson could have imagined. For one thing Marsh in convinced that Johnson is a spy for Edward Cope, his despised rival. For another, Custer’s disastrous Battle of the Little Bighorn has left the western territories in constant turmoil.Dragon Teeth was a manuscript by Michael Crichton written in the 1970s and discovered posthumously. It is an early historical thriller written around the very real feud between Marsh and Cope, rival paleontologists of the 19th century. Johnson is a fictional but interesting character. For the most part, I enjoyed this book. However, it felt like Crichton had begun to edit the novel but abandoned it about half way through. As a result, the first half feels polished but the second half feels much less so. Still, it’s a compelling tale and should satisfy Crichton’s fans.Thanks to Edelweiss and the publisher for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Amanda Drover-Hartwick
    April 28, 2017
    When HarperCollins sent me a complimentary Advance Reader's E-Proof of Dragon Teeth by Michael Crichton for review I was convinced that I wouldn't enjoy it all that much. A book about Paleontology in the Wild West isn't something I would have ever selected to read. By the end of the first chapter I was hooked. Full spoiler-free review on my blog: https://amandadroverhartwick.wordpres...
    more
  • Marika
    March 14, 2017
    Quick read, but how many of these *undiscovered* manuscripts are there going to be? Quintessential Chrichton with discoveries of HISTORIC PROPORTION, adventure and good vs evil. Historical fiction as it portrays the rivalry between real-life paleontologists Cope and Marsh.I read an advance copy and was not compensated.
    more
  • Joe Jones
    December 28, 2016
    Another "lost book" by the late Michael Crichton as he revisits the topic of Dinosaurs again, but this time we are just dealing with their bones. It blends fact and fiction as we journey to 1876 and the Bone Wars between Othniel Charles Marsh and Edwin Drinker Cope. The story is told through the fictional Yale student William Johnson. Fans of that time period will appreciate the references and appearances of several real life people. I thought Wyatt Earp was one of the better choices to include. Another "lost book" by the late Michael Crichton as he revisits the topic of Dinosaurs again, but this time we are just dealing with their bones. It blends fact and fiction as we journey to 1876 and the Bone Wars between Othniel Charles Marsh and Edwin Drinker Cope. The story is told through the fictional Yale student William Johnson. Fans of that time period will appreciate the references and appearances of several real life people. I thought Wyatt Earp was one of the better choices to include. We also get a more nuanced look at the Indian Wars of the time. Now for the downside. It does have the feel of an early draft and is not one of his best books. Overall, I still thought it was a fun read! A good choice for fans of the Old West, Paleontology, or just those who like adventure.
    more
  • Nicole
    March 20, 2017
    As a huge Crichton fan, I was over the moon to hear that the late author had a new novel that was to be published posthumously. I've dogeared and ruined so many copies of Jurassic Park that I've lost count. I've read Crichton novels in multiple countries, states and nearly every year since my discovery when I was thirteen. Special thanks to Harper Collins for giving me access to an ebook copy in exchange for my honest review. This book will release on May 23, 2017.William Yates is a Yale-educate As a huge Crichton fan, I was over the moon to hear that the late author had a new novel that was to be published posthumously. I've dogeared and ruined so many copies of Jurassic Park that I've lost count. I've read Crichton novels in multiple countries, states and nearly every year since my discovery when I was thirteen. Special thanks to Harper Collins for giving me access to an ebook copy in exchange for my honest review. This book will release on May 23, 2017.William Yates is a Yale-educated student of privilege. When he makes a bet with an arch-rival (a rivalry that made me as a reader think classic rivals like those in Animal House or Revenge of the Nerds) to go West with the 'crazy' professor Othniel Charles Marsh, Yates is tasked with being the official photographer of the expedition. Yates, determined to see this bet through, goes to learn all about photography and the materials necessary to 'pass' as an official photographer. During the beginning leg of the trip, Marsh's paranoid nature rears its ugly head--he is convinced the young photographer is working for his rival, Edwin Drinker Cope. Marsh abandons Yates, and Yates ends up with Cope. While Yates (and his group with Cope) discover something that will change the entire field of paleontology, their group ends up being sabotaged. Yates finds himself in charge of this new 'treasure' and while stranded out west, he is tested against some of the West's most well-known criminals. The sensible thing to do would be to run. But Yates has learned a few things about life during his stint with the bone collectors. And he will do anything to keep his word, and protect the cache of bones that he has been tasked to return back east.Welcome to 1876's Bone Wars. Who would read this: Fans of crichton's work, fans of science and paleontology, someone looking for a good summer read.Time to Read: 5 hours, because I REALLY focused on it.Rating: 4.5/5 starsFunny Story: I have very little western knowledge--but there is a situation in this novel that doesn't make sense. I researched it a little bit and confirmed that it could not have happened as it did in the novel... I still enjoyed it, though. Final thoughts: I think this novel was an awesome read and i cannot wait to read it again when it comes out--it's definitely one for the personal collection!
    more
  • Lindsey
    March 5, 2017
    This manuscript was the most complete of Michael Crichton's unpublished works, written sometime in the mid-70's and a forerunner to Jurassic Park. Based on the historical rivalry between two dinosaur bone hunting paleontologists in the late 1800's, Marsh and Cope, Crichton brings you right in the midst of their battle through the eyes of fictional Yale student William Johnson. A rich, lazy boy, Johnson makes a bet with a fellow student that he will go West that summer and promptly signs up to jo This manuscript was the most complete of Michael Crichton's unpublished works, written sometime in the mid-70's and a forerunner to Jurassic Park. Based on the historical rivalry between two dinosaur bone hunting paleontologists in the late 1800's, Marsh and Cope, Crichton brings you right in the midst of their battle through the eyes of fictional Yale student William Johnson. A rich, lazy boy, Johnson makes a bet with a fellow student that he will go West that summer and promptly signs up to join Professor Marsh on a dinosaur bone hunting adventure. From there it's pure Old West fun wrapped in historical fiction. Famous figures from Robert Louis Stevenson to the Earp brothers themselves make appearances as Johnson encounters the general dangers of the west, the Indian wars, and the infamous town of Deadwood in a journey that will change him forever. Crichton did his homework and though most of the book is simplistic in its writing style, pulling from "journals" and feeling much like an old fashioned orally told story, Dinosaur Teeth is jam packed with the history of bone collecting in the best possible way. I learned a lot along this fun, quick to read journey and now I think it may be time to re-watch Tombstone.
    more
  • Yvonne
    January 21, 2017
    A fun and entertaining read that will be easy to recommend to readers looking for a new western, especially ones not familiar with the author's previous books. It wasn't what I expected from a 'Crichton' novel.
  • Cristina
    February 11, 2017
    Though my favorite Crichton novels are his techno-thrillers, he weaves a damn good historical fiction. Set in 1876, this story follows the rivalry of two (real life) paleontologists and the treacherous trade of fossil excavation in the West. Though not particularly seat-gripping, the tale is immersive and educational (and, as most of his novels are, extraordinarily well-researched). Really I'd give 3.5 if we were allowed half stars, it's made me want to give his other posthumous work a chance.
    more
  • Christopher Shawn
    March 9, 2017
    A hundred years before Dr. Grant was digging up dinosaurs in the Montana badlands, there was a fierce game of one-upsmanship between two rival paleontologists. Weaving actual historical facts and characters with his trademark gift for thrill-ride fiction, this is a treasure from the late Michael Crichton's archive. A young man named William Johnson has perhaps foolishly boasted to his Yale classmates that he would soon be heading West, to the unexplored frontier patrolled by hostile Indian tribe A hundred years before Dr. Grant was digging up dinosaurs in the Montana badlands, there was a fierce game of one-upsmanship between two rival paleontologists. Weaving actual historical facts and characters with his trademark gift for thrill-ride fiction, this is a treasure from the late Michael Crichton's archive. A young man named William Johnson has perhaps foolishly boasted to his Yale classmates that he would soon be heading West, to the unexplored frontier patrolled by hostile Indian tribes. His only ticket out is in the accompaniment of a Professor Othneil Marsh, a boastful, prideful, angry man whom is always on the lookout for his rival, Professor Edward Cope. Johnson soon finds that these two characters are not quite what they seem, and that the West is a lot more Wild than perhaps he could've ever anticipated. In between sabotages, Indian raids, and harsh weather conditions, digging up fragile old bones is the easy part.After the miraculous discovery of a new species of dinosaur, the Brontosaurus, Johnson finds himself stranded out in the perilous frontier. How will an East Coast Yale boy survive in the West? Can he trust anyone he meets? How far will he go to protect his discoveries? To be sure, he will not return the same man he was when he left. If he makes it.
    more
  • Kim McGee
    March 9, 2017
    William Johnson is a city slicker who finds himself not in Europe with the rest of his Yale friends but instead on a scientific fossil hunt in the wild West. He is given the task of photographer and Professor Marsh and the others seem boring but the glamour soon disappears as he is left in town and branded a spy for another dinosaur hunter. He soon joins forces with the enemy and is given the opportunity to travel with Professor Cope and his entourage. To find these ancient bones the rag tag gro William Johnson is a city slicker who finds himself not in Europe with the rest of his Yale friends but instead on a scientific fossil hunt in the wild West. He is given the task of photographer and Professor Marsh and the others seem boring but the glamour soon disappears as he is left in town and branded a spy for another dinosaur hunter. He soon joins forces with the enemy and is given the opportunity to travel with Professor Cope and his entourage. To find these ancient bones the rag tag group will face an unforgiving land filled with hostile Indian tribes, gunslingers and corruption. This is the ultimate coming of age story of a lost college kid from the East who is transformed into a gun toting man of the wild West. Historical fiction with a sharp edge that shows how the innocent can get caught up in a bloodthirsty feud between two scientists with dreams of glory. My thanks to the publisher for the advance copy.
    more
  • Jennifer Armstrong
    March 17, 2017
    Moderately entertaining, although none of the characters have any of the appeal of characters from Jurassic Park. Seems more of a rough draft that could have used more work before Crichton's death.
  • John Amory
    March 15, 2017
    Sluggish. I have to think that the reason Crichton never published this, despite notes claiming it was completed about 40 years ago, is because it was a practice run. The pacing is slow, the story is inconsequential and tedious, and there are a slew of contrivances and coincidences and dei ex machina that grated on me. It was awesome to get a "new" Crichton novel, but Dragon Teeth should have stayed buried.
    more
  • Mike
    March 6, 2017
    Michael Crichton casts his imaginative free reign towards the uncharted western territory of the United States during 1876. Two rivaled Professors of Paleontology form separate expeditions to venture forth into unknown jeopardy that comprises of savage Indian tribes who claim the raw land as their home. Crichton applies his familiar fictional brilliance to Dragon Teeth, as well as sprinkling historical facts taken from some of the more famous people and westward explorations during the 1870's. Michael Crichton casts his imaginative free reign towards the uncharted western territory of the United States during 1876. Two rivaled Professors of Paleontology form separate expeditions to venture forth into unknown jeopardy that comprises of savage Indian tribes who claim the raw land as their home. Crichton applies his familiar fictional brilliance to Dragon Teeth, as well as sprinkling historical facts taken from some of the more famous people and westward explorations during the 1870's. This unique novel structures its chapters cliffhanger style into a steady unpredictable adventure that only the ingenious Michael Crichton is capable of conjuring up.
    more
  • Brian
    March 8, 2017
    ***
  • Pamela
    February 20, 2017
    A fun fictionalization of two real-life paleontologists (O.C. Marsh and Edward Cope) in the 1870s as they race to discover dinosaur bones across the wilds of North Dakota and Montana. Appearances by some famous characters such as Wyatt Earp and Dead Eye Dick lend colorful moments.
    more
  • Emmeline Joy
    February 15, 2017
    Wait, isn't Mr. Crichton dead? I mean, of course I'll read it, but it better not be as awful as "Mirco," also published posthumously...
  • Katelyn
    January 12, 2017
    An immensely readable and enjoyable story from Crichton about paleontologists in the Black Hills area in 1876. I didn't learn until the afterword that it's based on real people (Cope and Marsh)--although there is a fun part set in Deadwood with Wyatt Earp. I'm giving it three stars because I'll definitely recommend this book to many people, but it's not as meaty as his best work.
    more
  • Jonathan Toth
    February 1, 2017
    Quick read. Entertaining, could've used more umph.
  • Tim
    March 30, 2017
    Dinosaur adventure it was not.
  • Marianne Mason Sievers
    April 23, 2017
    Well. Michael Crichton managed to make the Bone Wars boring.Disappointed.
Write a review