Until It Fades
Twenty-four-year-old truck stop waitress and single mother Catherine Wright has simple goals: to give her five-year-old daughter a happy life and to never again be the talk of the town in Balsam, Pennsylvania: population two thousand outside of tourist season.And then one foggy night, on a lonely road back from another failed attempt at a relationship, Catherine saves a man’s life. It isn’t until after the police have arrived that Catherine realizes exactly who it is she has saved: Brett Madden, hockey icon and media darling.Catherine has already had her fifteen minutes of fame and the last thing she wants is to have her past dragged back into the spotlight, only this time on a national stage. So she hides her identity. It works.For a time.But when she finds the man she saved standing on her doorstep, desperate to thank her, all that changes. What begins as an immediate friendship quickly turns into something neither of them expected. Something that Catherine isn’t sure she can handle; something that Catherine is afraid to trust.Because how long can an extraordinary man like Brett be interested in an ordinary woman like Catherine…before the spark fades?

Until It Fades Details

TitleUntil It Fades
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherAtria Books
ISBN1501133381
ISBN-139781501133381
Number of pages356 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, New Adult, Contemporary, Sports and Games, Sports, Contemporary Romance, Sports Romance, Adult, Fiction, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Romantic

Until It Fades Review

  • Christy
    June 18, 2017
    4 stars!! “Young, single mom saves life of hockey star and celebrity son and then wins his heart? It sounds like a fairy tale.” When I read a KA Tucker book, I expect one of two things. Angst or suspense. This book was different for her. It was a sweet, slow burn romance with a lot of heart. The pace was a bit slower than I would have liked, but overall I enjoyed the story a lot! Catherine Wright is a 24 year old single mother with a past. Because of that past, she keeps to herself. She has h 4 stars!! “Young, single mom saves life of hockey star and celebrity son and then wins his heart? It sounds like a fairy tale.” When I read a KA Tucker book, I expect one of two things. Angst or suspense. This book was different for her. It was a sweet, slow burn romance with a lot of heart. The pace was a bit slower than I would have liked, but overall I enjoyed the story a lot! Catherine Wright is a 24 year old single mother with a past. Because of that past, she keeps to herself. She has her five year old daughter, a waitressing job that keeps them fed, and that’s enough for her. One night, she witnesses a car accident and stops to help. She doesn’t know it at the time, but she saves a famous man’s life. Catherine does not want the attention or the accolades this brings. She lives in a small town and she’s had her fair share of ‘attention’ in the past. Thanks, but no thanks. So she asks her friend on the police force not to share her name with the public. And that works. For a while. Brett Madden is a big time hockey player. After the accident that took his friends life, he’s trying to heal and part of that is meeting and thanking the person who saved his life. When he meets Catherine, he is blown away by her beauty and strength. He admires her. Someone with a child and so much to lose risked her life for him. He feels a connection with her he can’t explain. The relationship between Catherine and Brett was pretty non-existent for a lot of the book. It started as a friendship and very slowly grew into much more. That’s okay with me, though. I don't mind when romance sometimes takes a bit of a back seat to the story. I feel like it worked with this book. With Catherine’s past, it made sense. I liked seeing into her past, why she was the way she was, and seeing her growth. Until it Fades is a swoony, sweet, slow building Cindrealla-type romance. I loved both Catherine and Brett, the supporting characters, and all the interactions with Catherine’s adorable daughter. If you’re looking for a charming, small town romance, this is one I would recommend!
    more
  • Melissa
    May 15, 2017
    Served up “for the fairy-tale lover in all of us”, Until It Fades is a different side of K.A. Tucker; one we haven’t seen before. In the acknowledgements, she owns her veer off course, going so far to say, “I needed to write this story. It’s very different from the ones I’ve written recently.” She’s right, so don’t mince her words, this is nothing like her previous books. In fact, if someone had handed this to me with the author’s name omitted, K.A. Tucker would have been my last guess. This boo Served up “for the fairy-tale lover in all of us”, Until It Fades is a different side of K.A. Tucker; one we haven’t seen before. In the acknowledgements, she owns her veer off course, going so far to say, “I needed to write this story. It’s very different from the ones I’ve written recently.” She’s right, so don’t mince her words, this is nothing like her previous books. In fact, if someone had handed this to me with the author’s name omitted, K.A. Tucker would have been my last guess. This book is everything her two contemporary romance series’ were not—boring, repetitive and the ever dreaded . . . predictable. Where was the crazy intense chemistry that has in many ways become synonymous with K.A. Tucker and her utterly addicting reads?Cath is a 24-year-old truck-stop diner waitress and single mother to a 5-year-old. She’s been slut-shamed and made the villain by the small-town she lives in after the relationship she had with her art teacher in high school was made public knowledge. Getting pregnant a few mere months later, after a one-night stand, didn’t help the situation any either. She prides herself on not asking for monetary help and just wants to fade into the background and raise her daughter . . . alone.That all changes when she witnesses a horrific car crash, late one night, on a remote road and she manages to pull a man twice her size from a burning vehicle. Turns out, he’s a mega hockey star, headed to the playoffs. Or he was.I’m sure you can guess what happens from here. Cath and Brett’s relationship is a bit of a cliché—rich guy swoops in and saves the struggling poor girl—but that’s not what bothered me. It was the bland and drawn out execution that left much to be desired. Get comfortable because this is an extremely slow build; the author really takes her time setting up the story and it gets a little tedious. It isn’t until well past the 50% mark that anything remotely exciting happens between the waitress and the hockey star. The snail’s pace, along with the regurgitation of the same information over-and-over, had me contemplating whether I should just throw in the towel. For some reason, the thought of being labeled a quitter kept me going.It didn’t matter how many times Brett claimed it wasn’t gratitude for Cath saving his life that was driving his feelings for her, I didn’t buy it. How could he be crazy about her when he didn’t even know her or let those insta-love-ish feelings fall out of his mouth? Brett’s character, at least for me, resembled a cardboard cutout of perfection, rather than any actual man. Where were his flaws and why were Cath’s made so prominent? I guess you could chalk Brett’s character traits up to the whole fairy-tale theme, if you’re like me, looking for some type of excuse or rational explanation.This past year has definitely taught me a valuable and hard-learned lesson—just because I’ve loved one or even several of an author’s books in the past, does not guarantee I’m going to adore them all. While I won’t go so far to say this book is horrible, I much prefer the suspense riddled, fast-paced, exciting K.A. Tucker to the lighter, softer side. I struggled between a 2.5 (rounded down to a 2, because I rarely round up) and a 3 star rating; in the end, I decided to be a little generous.*Thank you to Atria Books and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Deanna
    June 10, 2017
    My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...I was really interested after reading the description for this book. "Until it Fades" is my first K.A. Tucker read. I have heard great things about her books. I also read that this book is nothing like her other books. So I wasn't sure what to expect.After being the "talk of the town" once in small town Balsam, Pennsylvania, twenty-four-year-old Catherine Wright isn't eager for that to happen again. She just wants to blend i My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...I was really interested after reading the description for this book. "Until it Fades" is my first K.A. Tucker read. I have heard great things about her books. I also read that this book is nothing like her other books. So I wasn't sure what to expect.After being the "talk of the town" once in small town Balsam, Pennsylvania, twenty-four-year-old Catherine Wright isn't eager for that to happen again. She just wants to blend into the background and live in peace with her five-year old daughter.Unfortunately, if you save the life of a hockey star that everyone...especially the media loves? It's not so easy keeping a low profile.Catherine is heading home after a terrible first date. It's a foggy night so she's taking it slow, not like the red sports car that zips past her. But a few miles down the road she's horrified to see that the car that just sped by her has crashed. She jumps out of her car to help and ends up saving the life of Philadelphia Flyers star hockey player, Brett Madden.Suddenly everyone wants to talk to the small town heroine. But Catherine wants to remain anonymous. She wants no part of the media circus that surrounds her act of heroism.Catherine hasn't always made the best choices and has had some pretty crappy experiences which combined would understandably give anyone trust issues. And living in a small town where no one lets you forget your past is definitely not easy. Now that she has a child however, she is trying to move on with her life. However being alone can be very....lonely. And although she wants to be independent, somewhere in the back of her mind she hopes for a happily ever after.We learn a lot about Catherine. Her history and present life. This takes up quite a bit of the book. Not that it's not interesting because it is, but the rest of the story really took it's time getting going. Sometimes I love a good slow burning read, but this one was quite a bit slower than normal. However, there was a lot about this book that I enjoyed. I really liked Catherine's relationship with her daughter, Brenna and how focused she was on being a good mother. Brenna was such a sweet character. They way she spoke and her mannerisms made me smile and laugh aloud at times.The book is well written and the story was easy to follow. I don't read a lot of romance books, but I found Catherine and Brett interesting and enjoyed how they interacted with each other and other characters. So while it did take some time to get going and it was a bit predictable, it really was a sweet story with some surprises that made me glad I stuck with it.I think that many people will love this book. Sometimes it's nice escaping reality into a sweet and sexy romance novel.Thank you NetGalley and Atria Books for providing an advanced readers copy of this book for me to read in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Sabrina
    February 7, 2017
    NOW LIVE!*Amazon*Paperback*B&NLiving in a small town means everyone knows all there is to know about the other residents, and no one forgets anything. For Catherine Wright that means she's unable to live a peaceful life with her daughter, and move on from the past wildness of her teenage years. Everyone in her small town loves to remind her of her mistakes so she does her best to hide. Which becomes very difficult when she saves the life of Brett Madden, one of hockey's biggest stars, and ev NOW LIVE!*Amazon*Paperback*B&NLiving in a small town means everyone knows all there is to know about the other residents, and no one forgets anything. For Catherine Wright that means she's unable to live a peaceful life with her daughter, and move on from the past wildness of her teenage years. Everyone in her small town loves to remind her of her mistakes so she does her best to hide. Which becomes very difficult when she saves the life of Brett Madden, one of hockey's biggest stars, and every news station wants her story. And when the man himself shows up to thank her, there is definitely no hiding from him. Or the passion he ignites in her. Until It Fades is a slow moving romance but there is so much going on in this story that it will definitely keep you intrigued. It's told completely by Cath's POV and also goes back in time for some parts to explain her past. I'm not a big fan of a story going back and forth but for this book I actually enjoyed it. I felt like getting her story of how she came to be where she was in life was a really big part of her character so it fit well with the book. I do wish we had more of Brett in the book and more of him and Cath together, but I liked his character from just what we got to see of him. He wasn't some playboy hotshot athlete, he was very sweet and understanding. I loved that he let Cath control the speed of their relationship and was willing to just be friends with her for as long as she needed. He seemed out of his element at times, especially when it came to being only friends with an attractive woman, but it was endearing to see him find his way with Cath and I loved seeing that.There were a few twists involved in the story too that kept me on my toes and had me invested in this story from the beginning. And every single time I thought I knew everything there was to know, K.A Tucker would shock me again. It was a never ending roller coaster ride that I thoroughly enjoyed. Bottom line, you need to pick this book up and read it as soon as it's available. It has the romance, the mysteries, the sexiness, and even some funny moments, so what else do you need from a book? Seriously, read it! ARC kindly provided in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    February 1, 2017
    4.5-5 unique stars <33I have to admit that I didn't expect to love it so much, but it happened!Until It Fades is a beautiful,sweet and romantic story.The story is well written and the characters lovable.I was captured and intrigued from the beginning.What I like most in this story is the slow build up between Catherine and Brett.I loved them and you could feel their attraction for each other.Brett and Catherine had some really sweet and intense moments. The secondary characters are also very 4.5-5 unique stars <33I have to admit that I didn't expect to love it so much, but it happened!Until It Fades is a beautiful,sweet and romantic story.The story is well written and the characters lovable.I was captured and intrigued from the beginning.What I like most in this story is the slow build up between Catherine and Brett.I loved them and you could feel their attraction for each other.Brett and Catherine had some really sweet and intense moments. The secondary characters are also very good and important to this story.K.A. Tucker delivers an unforgettable,unique and beautiful story.Until It Fades is a story I would love to read again and again.    
    more
  • Aestas Book Blog
    June 2, 2017
    ::: FULL REVIEW NOW POSTED ::: “I wake up every morning thinking about you.” My head thumps softly against the wall as I close my eyes, reveling in the feel of his mouth against my ear. “I go to bed at night thinking about you.” Blood rushes through my veins with the adrenaline his words create. “Please tell me it’s not just me.” *SWOOOOOON* This was such a sweet love story that showcased a new and wonderful side of K.A. Tucker's writing. This story is full of love, family, and swoon! It was ::: FULL REVIEW NOW POSTED ::: “I wake up every morning thinking about you.” My head thumps softly against the wall as I close my eyes, reveling in the feel of his mouth against my ear. “I go to bed at night thinking about you.” Blood rushes through my veins with the adrenaline his words create. “Please tell me it’s not just me.” *SWOOOOOON* This was such a sweet love story that showcased a new and wonderful side of K.A. Tucker's writing. This story is full of love, family, and swoon! It was a well-written, slow-burning romance that genuinely made me happy to read it! If you're a fan of heart-melting Alpha heroes and single mom heroines, you should definitely read this book! So this story is about a Catherine Wright, a young single mother working as a truck stop waitress in a small town. She had a past that she was desperate to keep hidden from the media and her young daughter, but her world was turned upside down when she rescued a mysterious man from a burning car wreck on the side of a lonely country road one foggy night... What she didn't know until later is that her mystery man was none other than Brett Madden, a famous hockey star and media darling and his rescue had become the talk of every news reporter in the country. Even though she tried hard to keep her identity hidden, Brett was determined to find out who the woman who saved his life was and when they finally met, neither of them could ignore their attraction...One of the many things I loved about this story was that, especially since the whole thing was told from Catherine's POV, the story took the time to show us her past in the very beginning in a way that made you really understand what she was going through and why she tried so hard to keep her identity away from the media at first. The story was never rushed allowing you to experience her emotions and worries along with her. But despite her attempts to keep away from the media, Brett did eventually find out who she was and showed up in person to thank her. “I’ve been lying in a hospital bed for the past week, thinking of what I’d say when I finally met you, and here I am now and even though I’m talking, I feel completely speechless… And in awe.”“You’re in awe?” I snort, and then my cheeks burn bright with embarrassment and I avert my gaze to the floor, because I just snorted in front of Brett Madden.“I would be dead if it weren’t for you.”“Anyone would have done the same.”“No. That’s not true. A lot of people would not have done the same. A lot of people would have taken one look at the car and not bothered. Or they would have seen the first flame and ran.” His large hand gently and completely wraps around my biceps, his touch both soothing and inducing heart palpitations. “You’re half my size, you have a child, and you did the impossible, and because you did that, I’m standing here right now.” Oh my gosh, Brett was such a gorgeous hero! Not only was he a sexy swoony hockey player, he was also just a genuinely GOOD guy through and through. He was completely unaffected by his wealth and fame, and was a grounded, caring, generous, and kind man who treated everyone as his equal. And given his humble nature, he was deeply drawn to Catherine who didn't want to accept anything from him in return for saving his life. Her sincere attitude was a welcome relief in his world and he couldn't help wanting to spend more time around her... “Do you know how many people want you two to get together? You should see all the stuff online.”“No, thanks.” I fumble with the apron ties around my waist. “Why do people even care? They don’t know us. What happens between us has no impact on them.”“Because it’s like a fairy tale!”A fairy tale.The poor, lonely waitress with a past, the jaded single mother with scars, who scrubs ketchup off tables and serves fries to truck drivers ensnares the rich, gorgeous, kind prince. I guess it’s kind of like Cinderella. Though Cinderella got herself beautiful glass slippers on her night of magic. Mine involved shabby black heels, which were left for dead in a ditch. Theirs was a truly slow-burning love story -- there's no insta-love here -- but the slower pacing made complete and total sense for these characters and everything they'd been through both together and separately. I actually really appreciated that nothing was rushed and that the story took the time to become quite believable. He grins sheepishly. “When I went home that night, I told my parents that I was madly in love with this brave and beautiful woman who saved my life.”Oh my God. My heart’s beating in my throat.“Of course they convinced me that I was completely overwhelmed and that I needed to get some rest.”“I’m sure they were right,” I mumble.“I thought so too, honestly.” He swallows hard. “But then you had to go and be not just brave and beautiful but also humble, and funny, and honest. And I couldn’t stop thinking about what it’d be like to be with you… So I need you to tell me what I need to do for you to give me that chance.” His jaw tenses as he locks eyes with me. “Please.” And I think my favorite part of the whole story was how sweet Brett was with Catherine's young daughter. I loved the way he always included her every time he asked Catherine to go anywhere with him. Even if he was just inviting her over to watch a game, he openly invited her daughter along and always included her. Plus, kids that age pretty much have no filter and reading about her and Brett chatting away together was utterly heart-melting! Even though on the surface, much of their story feels a little like a modern fairy-tale, it's also a beautiful story about a woman who has been let down by life and love and nearly everyone in her life (including herself) learning to trust again, learning to be fearless and daring to follow her heart both for the sake of her own happiness and to set a strong example for her daughter. I read this book in one afternoon and loved it! As the story got closer to the end though, I'm not gonna lie, I flipped those pages pretty fast with that omg-how-is-everything-going-to-be-resolved-before-the-last-page feeling but luckily everything was in a beautiful, swoon-filled happily ever after befitting of this modern fairy tale. K.A. Tucker has been one of my favorite authors for many years now. I love her writing style and her stories always draw me in. This one was much lighter in feeling than many of her previous books and I really enjoyed it! It was a truly well-written and delightful read that I'd highly recommend to all romance readers!Rating: 4-4.5 stars! Standalone Contemporary Romance. Buy UNTIL IT FADES (Kindle) Buy UNTIL IT FADES (Paperback) __________________________ For more of my reviews, book news and updates:✦ Main blog: Aestas Book Blog✦ Facebook Blog Page✦ Twitter ✦ Subscribe by email
    more
  • Megan✦❋Steamy Reads Blog❋✦
    June 27, 2017
    “It does feel magical. It does feel like a fairy tale. That a man like Brett – so charming, so talented, so breathtakingly handsome, so seemingly perfect in every way – would become infatuated with an ordinary woman like me.” I have highly anticipted this story for a while now, ever since I read the synopsis. I couldn’t wait to see what K. A. Tucker had in store for us, and I was not disappointed in the least. It was the sweet, slow-burning love story I was hoping for. It’s in those slower se “It does feel magical. It does feel like a fairy tale. That a man like Brett – so charming, so talented, so breathtakingly handsome, so seemingly perfect in every way – would become infatuated with an ordinary woman like me.” I have highly anticipted this story for a while now, ever since I read the synopsis. I couldn’t wait to see what K. A. Tucker had in store for us, and I was not disappointed in the least. It was the sweet, slow-burning love story I was hoping for. It’s in those slower sections that you get to know the characters more intimately and it makes you want to travel on their journey right along-side of them. Until it Fades centres around Catherine Wright; a young truck stop waitress and single mother with a chequered past. Catherine has had a somewhat troubled youth and as a result, is desperate to keep herself hidden from world; especially her small hometown of Balsam. Catherine is no stranger to idle gossip and indiscretions. One fateful night, after the blind date from hell, Catherine is driving home when she comes across a horrendous car wreck on the side of the road. In an act of complete selflessness and bravery, she dives into the wreckage to save the passenger of car before it is set alight (and in the process injures herself). The person she saves from the accident was none other than Brett Madden, Philadelphia’s star hockey player. Not that Catherine knows who he is.With her past still haunting her, Catherine is passionate about the protection of her young daughter and family. If the past is ever dredged up, it will cause more shame and humiliation to her and the ones she loves. Catherine is determined to keep her identity hidden and remain out of the spotlight. Brett, however, is determined to find the woman who saved his life. Once they meet, their attraction for each other is undeniable and neither of them could ignore the feelings that were starting to develop. I have to say though Brett was such a lovable hero. He’s lived in the spotlight for so long, not only as a professional athlete, but also being the offspring of Hollywood royalty, which has in turn led him to being the media’s golden boy. Much to my surprise, he never comes across as a typically arrogant or egotistical famous douche. Instead he’s thoughtful, caring and oh so sweet. Until it Fades is a really slow-burning romance which I didn’t mind in the least, because I felt it added to the anticipation of a love story developing from friendship; a special bond and connection that was unbreakable. Catherine and Brett truly were kindred spirits. “I would be dead if it weren’t for you.”“Anyone would have done the same.”“No. That’s not true. A lot of people would not have done the same. A lot of people would have taken one look at the car and not bothered. Or they would have seen the first flame and ran… You’re half my size, you have a child, and you did the impossible, and because you did that, I’m standing here right now.” Once they meet, their relationship turns to a beautiful friendship and Brett was literally in awe of Catherine’s bravery, selflessness and courage. He couldn’t for the life of him understand why a single mom would risk her life to save his. Until it Fades was such a beautifully well written love story that made me feel all warm and fuzzy. If you love your romance stories to be almost fairy tale like, then definitely check this out, you are sure to fall head over heels for Catherine and Brett.
    more
  • Rachel Reads Ravenously
    May 15, 2017
    3 stars “Something good will come from the bad. It always does. That’s how life balances itself out. That’s how people keep going.” Single mother Catherine is driving home from a disastrous blind date when she comes upon a car crash, and she saves the life of the passenger inside. It turns out the man she saved is a hockey star and a celebrity. Having already been through a scandalous affair with her teacher when she was a teen, she doesn’t want any of the media attention that comes with the 3 stars “Something good will come from the bad. It always does. That’s how life balances itself out. That’s how people keep going.” Single mother Catherine is driving home from a disastrous blind date when she comes upon a car crash, and she saves the life of the passenger inside. It turns out the man she saved is a hockey star and a celebrity. Having already been through a scandalous affair with her teacher when she was a teen, she doesn’t want any of the media attention that comes with the accident and tries to remain anonymous. But her identity is blown, and that’s when she meets Brett Madden and the connection between them is immediate. “I promised myself I’d be smarter.” K. A. Tucker is a great writer, she has the ability to suck you into a story effortlessly. I thought this was an interesting story, a girl who made mistakes in her past and does everything she can to overcome them. Catherine was a great, strong female protagonist and she was someone the reader could admire. Brett seemed like a really sweet guy and exactly what she needed.The pacing of this book was very slow, we didn’t even see that much interaction between the main couple until about 60% in. Cinderella story tropes aren’t my favorite, on top of that this book was very sweet so it just didn’t match with my personal tastes. I think a lot of readers will really love this book and this story, so I encourage you to pick it up and decide for yourself. “No wonder people want the happily ever after between us. I want the happily ever after.” ARC provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review Follow me on ♥ Facebook ♥ Blog ♥ Instagram ♥ Twitter ♥
    more
  • Christie«SHBBblogger»
    April 25, 2017
    Title: Until It FadesSeries: StandaloneAuthor: K.A. TuckerRelease date: June 27, 2017Cliffhanger: NoHEA(view spoiler)[Yes (hide spoiler)]I want the happily ever after. Even if I’m having a hard time allowing myself to believe it can exist.Until It Fades is a pretty classic fairytale story that's sure to set a lot of romantic hearts aflutter. Though the subject matter is, let's face it, pretty far-fetched, it's escapism at its best. The star professional hockey player gets saved by the single mot Title: Until It FadesSeries: StandaloneAuthor: K.A. TuckerRelease date: June 27, 2017Cliffhanger: NoHEA(view spoiler)[Yes (hide spoiler)]I want the happily ever after. Even if I’m having a hard time allowing myself to believe it can exist.Until It Fades is a pretty classic fairytale story that's sure to set a lot of romantic hearts aflutter. Though the subject matter is, let's face it, pretty far-fetched, it's escapism at its best. The star professional hockey player gets saved by the single mother waitress, suddenly bringing her back out of the shadows she’s been hiding in since high school. I'm sure many readers will be able to empathize, or even identify with the heroine. She's a very relatable character, flawed but doing the right thing for herself and her child and trying to move past the mistakes she has made in her teen years.The book introduces you to Catherine at the culmination of her string of bad choices and mistakes. As a rebellious young woman, her life took a disastrous turn that led her to a minimum wage job at a truck stop diner, and a child to take care of all on her own. I think getting her backstory through the flashback in the introduction immediately helps you to empathize and understand the path that she's traveled down to become the strong woman she is. She’s had to depend on herself for a long time, but she's just fine with that. She just wishes the loneliness weren't quite so consuming.After an appallingly bad blind date, her late night drive home leads her to a man she'd probably never meet in normal circumstances. Son of a Hollywood star, captain of the Philadelphia Flyers hockey team, Brett Madden has led a very privileged life. He's well liked by everyone for his good heart and generosity towards those less fortunate than him. And right now, on this empty stretch of road, he is the one in dire need of help. Catherine is the one person who happened upon him, and risked her own life in order to get him to safety. This was such a great twist on your typical rescue scenario, where we'd normally see the hero charging in on his white horse. It was really refreshing to see the dichotomy in that theme. I genuinely liked both main characters. Brett was a wonderful man, very giving, sweet, and concerned for Catherine’s well being during the media storm that developed because of his rescue. He wasn’t the type that let fame or fortune get to his head, in fact, he was someone whom you knew you could depend upon. Someone you’d gladly trust to have your best interests at heart. He was very patient with the heroine’s fears, and gentle with her heart. Catherine was strong, resilient, and a wonderful mother to her young child. Even after so much adversity in her life, she worked herself to the bone in order to provide for herself and her little girl. An important thing to note about this story is that it’s a slow build romance. Don’t expect the relationship to unfold at a breakneck speed. The first half of the book heavily focuses on the heroine’s past, her present situation, and the stress of trying to come to terms with being the focus of public scrutiny again. The lack of real interaction between the two protagonists didn’t particularly bother me up until around 65%, and then I was starting to feel a bit impatient for a real build between them. I think the flashbacks seemed a bit excessive after a while, but in hindsight, there was a purpose and a direction to them. This story was about mending family, and believing in love again after being knocked down hard searching for it in the wrong places. If you’re looking for a light romance with a fairytale feel, this could be the perfect book for you. FOLLOW SMOKIN HOT BOOK BLOG ON:
    more
  • Jennifer
    February 3, 2017
    4.5/5 starsKA Tucker is one of my favorite authors. So Until It Fades was one of my most anticipated reads of 2017. And it did not disappoint me!Until It Fades is a contemporary romance. I would categorize it as somewhere in between New Adult and Adult, but it also could be considered Woman's Fiction. It is a standalone. The narrator is 24 year old waitress Catherine/Cath. The book is set in the tourist town of Balsam Pennsylvania, which has a population of three thousand people.The book takes p 4.5/5 starsKA Tucker is one of my favorite authors. So Until It Fades was one of my most anticipated reads of 2017. And it did not disappoint me!Until It Fades is a contemporary romance. I would categorize it as somewhere in between New Adult and Adult, but it also could be considered Woman's Fiction. It is a standalone. The narrator is 24 year old waitress Catherine/Cath. The book is set in the tourist town of Balsam Pennsylvania, which has a population of three thousand people.The book takes place in the present (2017). But there are some flashbacks to 2010.I was completely hooked right from the first chapter. I am not usually a big fan of going back and forth in time. But in this case I was so interested in 2010 that I did not mind at all. Also most of the 2010 stuff is in the first couple of chapters.The premise: Something happened in Cath's life when she was 17. It was a turning point in her life and it greatly affected her relationship with her family. But there was also a backlash from the community and the town turned against her. Now she's an adult trying to live her life. Now in the present, Catherine is on her way home from a date when she sees something that ends up being key to the story.The pace of this book is very different from most books in the contemporary romance genre. It's definitely a much slower pace in regards to the romance. But I actually enjoyed the slower pace.I really could not put this book down. I do like contemporary romance. But I don't like predictability. There were actually a lot of enjoyable things in this story, including some twists that I did not see coming.The things I liked: Hockey plays an important part of the story. I loved how the author made hockey such a key element in this story. Two of the characters in the book play hockey. And a few others are big time hockey fans. It really worked for the story.The characters were so unique and well-developed. I was so impressed with the characters in this story. I adored Lou, the lady who owns the diner. I loved actress Meryl Price. I enjoyed Cath's friends Misty and Keith, and her brother Jack. I even enjoyed Cath's parents. Brett was such a lovable guy. And little Brenna was fantastic.I was really fascinated by Catherine's relationship with her family. I liked seeing what it was like in 2010 and what it was like in the present. Not all families get along all of the time. And sometimes people make choices that their family does not agree with. I really love that the author spent so much time on Cath's family dynamics.I thought that the small town/tourist town setting was very interesting. I really enjoyed that Cath was from a small town. And found that it worked very well with this story.The slow pace of the romantic aspect of the story was so unusual. There are no romantic scenes at the beginning of this story. The book takes a completely different approach. There is a lot of character development and plot development that takes over the first half of the book. But there is romance. The author just takes her time to get to it.I found it interesting that we only get Cath's POV. There are so many books these days that give us dual points of view. But I loved that we only get to see what Cath is thinking and feeling. This is her story and it totally works for this book, IMO.Overall, this book is a different kind of book for this author. The pace of the romance is very slow. There were a couple predictable events. But I could not put this book down. It was sweet and charming and it made me feel good while I was reading it. There were definitely enough interesting plot points to keep me completely invested in the story. I would highly recommend this book!*I only read the full book blurb after finishing the book. I hate spoilers and find that so many book blurbs give away too much of the story. I was shocked at how much this blurb gave away. Do yourself a favor and don't read the entire book blurb. I really do not think that I would have enjoyed this book as much if I had read the blurb beforehand.Complimentary copy provided by publisher in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. Thanks to Atria and netgalley for allowing me to read this book.
    more
  • Jacqueline's Reads
    April 14, 2017
    You can request on Netgalley HERE5 Fantastic StarsGAH!!!! I needed this book. I had ZERO expectations going into Until It Fades. I read the first sentence of the prologue and realized it was a single mama book, well I had to read it.I’ll be honest. It’s been awhile since I read a KA Tucker book. I’ve been a fan of her for years and I don’t know why I took a break. I’m so glad I took a chance on this one because it was wonderful. This is different from her previous books, it’s slightly lighter an You can request on Netgalley HERE5 Fantastic StarsGAH!!!! I needed this book. I had ZERO expectations going into Until It Fades. I read the first sentence of the prologue and realized it was a single mama book, well I had to read it.I’ll be honest. It’s been awhile since I read a KA Tucker book. I’ve been a fan of her for years and I don’t know why I took a break. I’m so glad I took a chance on this one because it was wonderful. This is different from her previous books, it’s slightly lighter and slightly sugary sweet, BUT a good kind where you just want more and more until your teeth ache.Catherine is a single mom with a lot of issues. She is kind of an outsider to her small hometown and because of that she keeps to herself. Until one night she saves someone. Someone who is famous and from there, EVERYTHING in Catherine’s life changes.The thing that really worked for me in this book was the writing style. This book has a lot of meat and a lot of character of development. I didn’t feel like I was reading about characters, I felt like I was part of the characters. I felt whatever Catherine felt and I just wanted to give the girl a hug.Brett is a hockey player and after being saved from an accident all he wants to do is thank the person who saved his life, but the person wants to be anonymous. I completely loved and swooned after Brett. He’s sweet, caring and charismatic. He is 100% Mr. Book Boyfriend material.I love the relationship between Brett and Catherine and you throw in a spunky five year old, it just makes the book even BETTER. From start to finish this book was amazing. I could have read it again or a hundred more pages. An ARC was provided AMAZON
    more
  • Dana
    March 23, 2017
    *imitates the most interesting man in the world* I don't often read romances, but when I do I read KA.Tucker. This was once again another great offering from the queen of New Adult. Young mother and waitress Catherine, is thrust into the limelight following her heroic actions which saved a famous hockey players life. They soon find themselves falling for eachother, but Catherine's dark past threatens to undo everything. The book is split between the past and the present, and I definitely preferr *imitates the most interesting man in the world* I don't often read romances, but when I do I read KA.Tucker. This was once again another great offering from the queen of New Adult. Young mother and waitress Catherine, is thrust into the limelight following her heroic actions which saved a famous hockey players life. They soon find themselves falling for eachother, but Catherine's dark past threatens to undo everything. The book is split between the past and the present, and I definitely preferred the present sections. The past was a bit of a downer. I loved the romance between Catherine and Brett, even if at times their issues were purely a result of Catherine's stubbornness, which was a bit frustrating. While I have yet to find a romance novel that isn't at least a little predictable, I did have a lot of fun reading this and felt that it was a well done, relatively light read. 3.5/5Check out more of my reviews hereNote: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Betul
    October 18, 2016
    **ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review**4.5 stars"With Brett... I wouldn't fall in love, I'd plummet."Until it Fades had been on my radar ever since I read the blurb. It is one of my most anticipated reads of 2017, and I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. KA Tucker hooked me from the start, the prologue was very unconventional and it intrigued me to find out more. Catherine Wright is a twenty-four-year-old single mother and truck stop waitress. Every decision she makes, s **ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review**4.5 stars"With Brett... I wouldn't fall in love, I'd plummet."Until it Fades had been on my radar ever since I read the blurb. It is one of my most anticipated reads of 2017, and I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. KA Tucker hooked me from the start, the prologue was very unconventional and it intrigued me to find out more. Catherine Wright is a twenty-four-year-old single mother and truck stop waitress. Every decision she makes, she makes with her five-year-old daughter in mind. It was very obvious that she is a great mother to her cute little daughter Brenna. I loved how Cath saved Brett's life, it was very original and it had me curious to see how their relationship would develop. I was happy that Brett wasn't your typical athlete, and most of that was a result of his great upbringing. "It's good to have dreams. Without dreams, we wouldn't have goals. And without goals...what's the point of living?"Cath is very reluctant to be in the limelight and to start something with Brett. I loved both of their personalities, and I was glad the author took her time to develop the bond between them. I also loved the side characters, Keith (Cath's best friend) and Jack (Cath's brother) in particular. I wouldn't mind them getting their own story. There were so many amazing characters in this book that I couldn't get enough of. I especially loved the scenes with Brenna, she was such a cute, happy and curious little girl. I do wish there were a couple of extra chapters to really cement the relationship between Brett and Catherine, it really felt like that the last chapters were a bit rushed. Overall Until it Fades was a great contemporary romance and it kept me interested from start to finish. I really wish this was a series, and that the other characters would get their own book.
    more
  • Angela (Reading Frenzy Book Blog)
    April 11, 2017
    Call me a softy, but Until it Fades really tugged at my heartstrings. Having read a lot of romantic comedies and erotic books lately, it was refreshing to read a story that has a little more depth to it but still retains the romantic elements that I enjoy.Catherine is a young single mom who endured a crushing scandal in her small hometown. I appreciate a strong female character, and this independent and determined survivor, who never felt sorry for herself, won me over from the beginning. Her fo Call me a softy, but Until it Fades really tugged at my heartstrings. Having read a lot of romantic comedies and erotic books lately, it was refreshing to read a story that has a little more depth to it but still retains the romantic elements that I enjoy.Catherine is a young single mom who endured a crushing scandal in her small hometown. I appreciate a strong female character, and this independent and determined survivor, who never felt sorry for herself, won me over from the beginning. Her four-year-old daughter Brenna is absolutely adorable and a bit too observant. At times it creates frustration for Catherine and humor for the reader. When Catherine saves Brett’s life, she has no idea he is a famous athlete and is unprepared for the media frenzy that follows. She prefers to remain an anonymous good Samaritan rather than have her painful past dredged up by greedy reporters. She wants no accolades or monetary support. I can never understand why heroines reject gifts from rich people who can easily afford to give them. Only in books. In real life, if I was driving a beaten up sedan held together with duct tape, I would gladly accept a shiny new car, but maybe that’s just me. In Catherine’s case, her pride gets in the way.So Brett. Insert huge dreamy sigh here. Let me think of one major flaw. Nope. I’ve got nothing. Martin Luther King, Jr. said, “The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.” Given all the pressures, pain, and uncertainty, post-accident Brett was fascinating to me. I was anxious to see how he would measure up.There’s a diverse group of characters that bring even more dimension to this heartwarming story. I enjoyed every single one of them, but my favorite supporting character is Lou. She’s the owner of the diner where Catherine works, and is a wise, no-nonsense, caring surrogate mom to her.This story is engaging, touching, and sweet. It’s swoony without being too steamy. Some may find it too “fade to black,” but I was satisfied. It reminds me of the romance stories that made me fall in love with the genre, and for that alone it’s a winner in my book.Recommended for fans of:Single momsDinersSweet romance**ARC received in exchange for an honest review.**
    more
  • Andie
    June 20, 2017
    I'm still fairly new to the KA Tucker train. I read He Will Be My Ruin last year and fell in love with her writing. She immediately became one of those authors who I knew I would read anything and everything she wrote. Until it Fades is only the second of her novels I've read, and while it's a completely different genre than the previous, I loved it just as much. Brett and Catherine come from different worlds and only come together in the wake of tragedy. Catherine Wright is no stranger to the s I'm still fairly new to the KA Tucker train. I read He Will Be My Ruin last year and fell in love with her writing. She immediately became one of those authors who I knew I would read anything and everything she wrote. Until it Fades is only the second of her novels I've read, and while it's a completely different genre than the previous, I loved it just as much. Brett and Catherine come from different worlds and only come together in the wake of tragedy. Catherine Wright is no stranger to the spotlight and bad press after a scandal during her teen years that rocked her small town. But getting involved with the famous hockey star, Brett Madden, brings a whole lot of publicity that she's not sure she can handle. Not to mention the old scars and possible secrets that could be dug up. But she can't deny the sparks between them for long, especially when Brett is so determined to be a part of her life. Until it Fades is a sweet modern day cinderella story with a whole lot of heart. It's a story that will give you all the warm fuzzies and leave you just feeling really good inside and believing in fairy tales again. This is a perfect read for the summer and definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a light, heart warming read.*Thank you so much to BeaulitfulBuzz, KA Tucker, and Atria Books for sending me an ARC in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • Amber Robertson
    June 30, 2017
    Was this full of tropes? Sure.How about cliches? You bet. Some expected plot twists? Yep. However, it was full of love. Just utter and complete love in so many ways. Love for family, for friends, for friends you make family, and love for yourself. Full review to come.
    more
  • ♥Rachel♥
    May 10, 2017
    3.5 StarsCatherine thought she was in love with her thirty-year old art teacher when she was seventeen. Her mother dragged her to the police and made her make a statement when she caught them sneaking off together. Her reputation was dragged through the mud and Catherine’s teacher let her take all the blame, crushing her heart in the process. Six months later, Catherine finds herself eighteen, pregnant and with very little job options seeing as most in town shun and whisper against her. My heart 3.5 StarsCatherine thought she was in love with her thirty-year old art teacher when she was seventeen. Her mother dragged her to the police and made her make a statement when she caught them sneaking off together. Her reputation was dragged through the mud and Catherine’s teacher let her take all the blame, crushing her heart in the process. Six months later, Catherine finds herself eighteen, pregnant and with very little job options seeing as most in town shun and whisper against her. My heart went out to Catherine, because her mother threw her under the bus and she was ostracized by the town when it should’ve been her lecherous art teacher who got in trouble! I was outraged for her! At any rate, Catherine let her dreams of going to Art College and now works as a diner waitress to support her and her five-year old daughter. Catherine’s love life leaves something to be desired which is why she’s driving herself home after a blind date gone wrong on the stretch of highway that Brett Madden, a famous hockey player, has just crashed on. Seeing the wreck, Catherine stops and saves Brett, but won’t let her name be released to the press or Brett in an attempt to stay under the radar. She’s had her brush with fame or infamy and doesn’t want any more attention. It’s only a matter of time before Brett and the press gets a hold of her name. Brett is grateful, of course, but there’s an immediate connection and attraction. Is it just the gratitude drawing him to her or could it be something deeper they both feel? Catherine trusted those swoony feelings before and was burned, so she has a tough time letting her guard down. I totally understand where Catherine was coming from; she went through so much at such a young age with little support from anyone except Lou, Misty and Keith. I would feel the need to be cautious, too, but it was a just a tiny bit frustrating in a few spots. I was irritated Catherine kept letting her relationship with Brett stagnate to the point he might move on. I so desperately wanted some happiness for Catherine romantically, that I wanted to shake her a few times. But, she really deserved to be swept off her feet after everything she went through. Brett, on the other hand, was an absolute dream come true. He was so steady, honest and humble in spite of being such a big star and a total hunk! There wasn’t a ton of angst which I’m not real keen on, so good news for me, but Until It Fades wasn’t my favorite K.A. Tucker story. Still, it was a feel good, fairy tale sort of sweet romance that’ll leave you happy in the end. A copy was kindly provided by Atria Books in exchange for an honest review.This review is also posted at The Readers Den.
    more
  • Allison ❤️Will Never Conquer Her TBR❤️
    April 2, 2017
    LOVED! ....there was a poor, young, single mom, struggling to support her young daughter. When suddenly she finds herself the heroine...saving the life of a prince (or famous hockey player). Does she hide in her tiny little cottage, like Cinderella hid, leaving her glass slipper behind? Or does she let her prince save her like she saved him?KA Tucker has proven time and again she can write just about anything and I'll really enjoy it. Until It Fades is a bit lighter a romance plot than some of h LOVED! ....there was a poor, young, single mom, struggling to support her young daughter. When suddenly she finds herself the heroine...saving the life of a prince (or famous hockey player). Does she hide in her tiny little cottage, like Cinderella hid, leaving her glass slipper behind? Or does she let her prince save her like she saved him?KA Tucker has proven time and again she can write just about anything and I'll really enjoy it. Until It Fades is a bit lighter a romance plot than some of her past novels, but no less enjoyable. I read it in a day! It felt like a Cinderella love story and who doesn't love a fairy tale? Until It Fades is a story centered around strength and perseverance when life throws some huge lessons. A story of a young single mom who picks up the pieces of her shattered reputation and with blood, sweat and tears, building a happy, stable home for her daughter, Brenna. A struggling waitress with a GED, she finds herself on a foggy rural road one night, stumbling upon a serious accident. Without a second thought, Catherine jumps into action to save the life of the passenger. A man twice her size, smoke filling the car, she jumps into action- her own safety a second thought. She just had no idea who she was saving....Brett is a professional hockey player for the Philadelphia Phillies when he's miraculously spared his life at the hands of... who? The Good Samaritan is refusing to come forward, no matter how much the media hype surrounds his accident. Who is he/she? And why hide?Until It Fades is quite the slow burn. KA Tucker really spent a great deal of the book acclimating the reader to the depth of Catherine's character. Her relationships with friends, family and her darling daughter Brenna. Brenna was so cute, bright, and spunky, she practically stole the show for me. I really loved Catherine's selfless devotion to her little Brenna and protecting her from all things within the media frenzy. She just wanted normalcy and the events surrounding the famous hockey player's accident would bring her quiet life into the spotlight. Then there's Brett. The humble yet famous hunk of guy that just wants to thank the person who saved his life. But Catherine wants no part of it. But where there's a will, there's a way. Catherine didn't stand a chance with him. He was noble, humble, HOT...perfection. A story of both conflict and love between family, friends, of second chances and an unconventional fairy tale love. Until It Fades will tug at the heart strings and leave you with a warm smile on your face!Advanced copy received by Atria publishing via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Bj
    May 4, 2017
    See the Tour/5X Book Giveaway that goes live at midnight tonight at BJ's Reviews. 4.5 "Accidental Love" Stars!I love how KA Tucker can switch romance sub-genres and prove that she's a great writer no matter what she writes! Please note that Until it Fades has a very different feel from some of Ms. Tucker's prior works. This is a sweet romance, not romantic suspense. Unlike many of Ms. Tucker's prior romances which have a strong suspense element and a darker, more angst-filled feeling to them ove See the Tour/5X Book Giveaway that goes live at midnight tonight at BJ's Reviews. 4.5 "Accidental Love" Stars!I love how KA Tucker can switch romance sub-genres and prove that she's a great writer no matter what she writes! Please note that Until it Fades has a very different feel from some of Ms. Tucker's prior works. This is a sweet romance, not romantic suspense. Unlike many of Ms. Tucker's prior romances which have a strong suspense element and a darker, more angst-filled feeling to them overall, this book is a gem to be treasured when you're in the mood for a light, sweet, hope-filled and inspiring romance. In the right mood, this book is sure to leave you with a warm, contented feeling. There are some experiences that are so fundamental that they can completely shape your life in either a positive or negative way. Unfortunately for Catherine Wright, the first such experience happened when she was but a teenager and too young to perhaps know any better but blamed nonetheless. Having experienced her 15 minutes of infamy, she approaches her life content to wallow in anonymity, even if it does mean that with a few exceptions, including her young daughter, she leads a fairly solitary life (eschewing any attempts at a romantic connection).All that changes, however, when a chance meeting on a winding road places her face to face with an accident scene. Rather than flee at the first sign of danger, however, she does a rather selfless act, and saves a man. What she couldn't have known at the time was that the man she saved was none other than Brett Madden, a hockey legend and the son of a famous movie star. As you can imagine, being the good samaritan who saves someone like Brett, sparks the potential for a whole new, even bigger 15 minutes of fame. Moreover, this time a positive one. Although she would be viewed as a hero this time, however, she nonetheless was so traumatized by her prior experience that she prefers to grasp on to her anonymity, even to the point of refusing to allow her friend and police officer who is handling the case to disclose her name to Brett. But Brett is a powerful man, who comes from an even more powerful family, and he is reluctant to take no for an answer. So when he inevitably finds her and seems drawn to her, Catherine is forced to make a very difficult decision of determining whether she's ready to break her own rules and allow someone to get close to her again.Until it Fades drew me in and warmed my heart. Moreover, I really enjoyed a number of the secondary characters which added depth to the plot. In the end, I was left with a hopeful feeling that even those in the most unfortunate of situations are equally capable of reversing their fortunes provided they are willing to trust and open up their hearts. Source: Review copy provided for review purposes.
    more
  • Elle ✦ Pretty Little Books ✦
    June 7, 2017
    Release Date: June 27, 2017 Genre: Women's Fiction + RomanceAwe! I really enjoyed Until it Fades. It's a heartwarming read and apparently much different than the authors previous novels (which I haven't read yet, sigh). Now, while there was a developing romance in this one, the main focus was on the heroine herself- the lift she leads, the troubles she has gone though, and raising a daughter as a single mom- so I would consider it a bit more women's fiction than a romance. This doesn't bother Release Date: June 27, 2017 Genre: Women's Fiction + RomanceAwe! I really enjoyed Until it Fades. It's a heartwarming read and apparently much different than the authors previous novels (which I haven't read yet, sigh). Now, while there was a developing romance in this one, the main focus was on the heroine herself- the lift she leads, the troubles she has gone though, and raising a daughter as a single mom- so I would consider it a bit more women's fiction than a romance. This doesn't bother me in the slightest of course because I LOVE women's fiction novels especially as they are a way for me to escape the predictable tropes that we see in most romances. However, if you are a pure romance reader and you like a book to be only about the romance aspects then I would warn you that you don't get much of that in this novel. Also, the hero, Brett (who is also a very famous hockey player) doesn't have much of a backstory that many readers would be looking for. I truly didn't feel like I knew anything about him because the main focus of the book was for Cath, but it didn't really bother me much. So that's just a fair warning for those who NEED to know what they are getting into before reading. Other than this, I thought this was a really sweet read. I truly enjoyed getting to know the heroine who is a very timid and introverted female. I enjoyed her uniqueness and learning about her past (which was pretty shocking). And I enjoyed her growth throughout the story. In terms of the hero, he is probably as kind as they get. Sure, we aren't able to get to know him on a very deep level, but it didn't take away from the story or from my views of him as a whole. Would I recommend this book to fellow readers? Absolutely! It's an uplifting read with just the right amount of drama to keep readers on their toes and enough romance that make your hearts swell. Would I read more of the authors book based on this one? I sure would! But I know that her other books are much different then this one- instead of being clean and sweet they are supposedly more suspenseful and a bit darker? Either way, she writes a good story so I am interested in seeing how different her other books are. Rating: 4 stars Source: I received a copy of this novel via the publishers in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
    more
  • Shayna
    May 19, 2017
    WOW! Just WOW! Slow burn romances aren't my favorite, but there was just something about KA Tucker's UNTIL IT FADES that was SO WORTH the wait! Just brilliant! A fairy tale romance that will fill your heart with so much hope, joy, and love. I wholeheartedly ADORED Cath and Brett's story! It brought tears to my eyes and a bright light to my soul. THIS was K.A. Tucker PERFECTION!I'm embarrassed to say that even though I received an advanced copy of UNTIL IT FADES, I didn't pick it up and start it WOW! Just WOW! Slow burn romances aren't my favorite, but there was just something about KA Tucker's UNTIL IT FADES that was SO WORTH the wait! Just brilliant! A fairy tale romance that will fill your heart with so much hope, joy, and love. I wholeheartedly ADORED Cath and Brett's story! It brought tears to my eyes and a bright light to my soul. THIS was K.A. Tucker PERFECTION!I'm embarrassed to say that even though I received an advanced copy of UNTIL IT FADES, I didn't pick it up and start it right away. There is just something about Tucker's writing that completely incapacitates me. I get these book hangovers like crazy, and I think about the book, the characters, the plot for days after I finish. There was also the fact that I wanted to savor Catherine and Brett's story. I heard early on from some blogger friends that they love love loved this book and that I NEED to read it now, so I relented, thought I'd bite the bullet and dive right in. After I finished, I was kicking myself for worries early on. I craved every word like it was the last. I immersed myself in this book and I never wanted to come back to reality. This book right here, and all of the incredible emotion it dragged out of me, is what makes K.A. Tucker one of my all time FAVORITE authors. No matter the genre, this author KILLS it every single freaking time, leaving me in a pile of feels and no way out.If the book cover or synopsis doesn't reel you in, then the author's name at the bottom of the book should do it! I have so much trust in this author, that the book cover or book synopsis is irrelevant. Ms. Tucker writes it. I read it. It's as simple as that. UNTIL IT FADES might be a slow-burner romance, but it certainly packs enough punch in the FEELS department to keep me engaged the whole way through. This story was UNFORGETTABLE! This story was BEAUTIFUL! This story was EVERYTHING!
    more
  • Dilinna
    June 27, 2017
    DNF @ 40% it was alright but jst couldnt hold my interest...
  • Brandie
    April 9, 2017
    3.5 stars. Cute and predictable.
  • Tanya (Girl Plus Books)
    June 19, 2017
    4.5 STARSSpoiler alert: I loved this book! It's been two weeks since I read Until It Fades and wrote the review below. And in those two weeks I still haven't stopped thinking about these characters and their story. I completely fell in love with Cath, with Brett, with their journey - and, even though I rarely re-read anything, I'm already wanting to pick this one up, flip to the beginning and experience it all again. I hope you'll pick up Until It Fades and love it just as much as I did. Now on 4.5 STARSSpoiler alert: I loved this book! It's been two weeks since I read Until It Fades and wrote the review below. And in those two weeks I still haven't stopped thinking about these characters and their story. I completely fell in love with Cath, with Brett, with their journey - and, even though I rarely re-read anything, I'm already wanting to pick this one up, flip to the beginning and experience it all again. I hope you'll pick up Until It Fades and love it just as much as I did. Now on with the review...Catherine has spent the last several years keeping her head down, working hard to support her young daughter on her own, and trying to live down the scandal of an affair with her teacher while she was a seventeen year old high school student. The small town's vitriol was firmly aimed her way once the affair became public (the teacher being the beloved son of a prominent family). Now twenty-four, Catherine has a small circle of friends and leads a quiet life.All that changes when she saves the life of a man after a horrific car accident. And not just any man - Brett Madden is one of the top hockey stars in the country and the son of Hollywood royalty. As the media descends on the small town, Catherine at first refuses to come forward, having no desire to once again be the center of attention, or have her past dredged up for public consumption. But then Brett Madden shows up and she begins to question if it's times to take a chance and really live, and love, again. I connected with Catherine quickly and it was easy to feel for this young woman who had weathered so much on her own. The high school affair and ensuing scandal fractured her already tenuous relationship with her family so her support systems consisted of her boss at the diner where she worked, a fellow waitress, and a childhood friend turned local cop. Tucker created such a fully developed character in Catherine that I felt like I knew her inside and out, knew how she would react in any given situation. And when Brett entered the picture, it was easy to understand her hesitation - not just for the spotlight to be on her once again, but also to explore their undeniable connection and attraction. I was so invested in the budding relationship between Catherine and Brett and, despite the obvious spark between them, Catherine's skittishness meant the romance was definitely of the slow burn variety. I found myself looking forward to their every interaction and ate up every flirty text message, every phone call, every meeting. Brett was completely genuine and had an ease about him even as he was dealing with the aftermath of the accident and the sudden uncertainly of his ability to return to the career he loved. It was impossible not to fall for his sweetness, his humor and his thoughtfulness. Until It Fades also included an amazing cast of secondary characters. From Lou and her husband Leroy, the diner owners, to Catherine's best friend Keith and her brother Jack, to Brett's parents (I adored Brett's father), each one added so much and made for a richer story. As a longtime fan of Tucker's, I tend to read everything she writes. This contemporary romance is lighter than her usual work and I absolutely loved it. It was sweet, it was heartfelt, it was emotional and it instantly became a new favorite. Do yourself a favor and experience this feel-good story for yourself. You can thank me later.
    more
  • Gabby
    November 15, 2016
    Thank you to the publishers for sending me an e-ARC on netgalley.I love K.A. Tucker's He Will be My Ruin and I was so excited when I got approved for a netgalley ARC! I love romances that involve hockey players, it's a guilty pleasure of mine. Unfortunately, this book was boring as shit. It follows Catherine, a single mother of a five year old daughter, who is a waitress in a very poor town. One night after a terrible blind date, she stumbles upon a car accident and somehow manages to pull this Thank you to the publishers for sending me an e-ARC on netgalley.I love K.A. Tucker's He Will be My Ruin and I was so excited when I got approved for a netgalley ARC! I love romances that involve hockey players, it's a guilty pleasure of mine. Unfortunately, this book was boring as shit. It follows Catherine, a single mother of a five year old daughter, who is a waitress in a very poor town. One night after a terrible blind date, she stumbles upon a car accident and somehow manages to pull this guy (who is twice her size) from the wreckage before the car goes up in flames. Later on, she discovers that she saved an extremely popular well-known hockey player, Brett Madden, who is also the son of Hollywood actress Meryl Price (I know, the name makes me cringe too, it's too similar to Meryl Streep lol.)I enjoyed the beginning of this book a lot, and I liked the prologue, seeing how Catherine originally got pregnant, and the drama of her sleeping with a teacher. I thought it was so interesting and entertaining. I thought the small town she lived in was described very well, and I definitely felt the desperation for her to get a job and make money. I guess the main problem I had with this book is that it's advertised as a romance, but there is zero romance in this book until past the halfway point, and even after that, the romance wasn't written very well in my opinion. This book gets extremely repetitive about Catherine dealing with the drama of wanting to stay out of the news after saving this hockey player, and the press harassing her for interviews and photos, etc. I was skimming through conversations about Catherine wanting to be left out of the magazines and not on the news, and she doesn't want her daughter to be forced into the spotlight, and for her old past to be brought up again. They have these conversations over and over and over again. Like WE GET IT, you want nothing to do with it, and you don't want your name in the news.This book just follows a really boring repetitive cycle after the accident happens. Catherine spends every minute talking about it, thinking about it, trying to remain anonymous, and it's so repetitive. She just goes to work, plays with her daughter, and talks with her family about her situation. Then once Brett finally makes an appearance in the story, the romance is so cheesy and cringe-y and they start texting each other a lot and I just wasn't really feeling the romance.I don't know what happened with this one, I wanted to love it but I just couldn't. I'm still willing to give more of K.A. Tucker's future books a chance though, because I think she's a talented writer, this book just wasn't for me.
    more
  • Jessica (Angie & Jessica's Dreamy Reads)
    March 27, 2017
    “Young, single mom saves life of hockey star and celebrity son and then wins his heart? It sounds like a fairy tale.” Until It Fades IS a fairy tale of sorts, the kind of story that makes you believe anything is possible, a Cinderella story about a young waitress who essentially goes from social outcast to paparazzi princess after meeting her own Prince Charming in the form of a famous hockey player. But this story is far from your cliche happily ever after. KA Tucker packs this book with inten “Young, single mom saves life of hockey star and celebrity son and then wins his heart? It sounds like a fairy tale.” Until It Fades IS a fairy tale of sorts, the kind of story that makes you believe anything is possible, a Cinderella story about a young waitress who essentially goes from social outcast to paparazzi princess after meeting her own Prince Charming in the form of a famous hockey player. But this story is far from your cliche happily ever after. KA Tucker packs this book with intense emotion and a complex plot that, at times, felt anything but magical. Catherine and Brett's unconventional love story is born from tragedy and it's checkered with uncertainty and impossibility. But this story, from beginning to end, is the embodiment of why I read romance. It's a beautiful, hopeful, slow burning love story that's as light and sexy as it is heartfelt and downright captivating. I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN. Until It Fades is up there as an all-time KA Tucker favorite. I was completely engrossed within moments of starting chapter one. I don't know if it was the messy, emotional backstory of how life came crumbling down around Catherine Wright, or if it was simply the mesmerizing quality of KA Tucker's lush writing style, but I was gone. There are books I want to devour just to see how they end and there are books I want to savor, hoping they never end at all. I knew this book was one to be savored early on, well before I'd even been introduced to Brett Madden. The build and pacing of this storyline had me riveted, the masterful way Tucker allows this story to unfold was perfection.The love story between Catherine and Brett is brilliantly layered with passion and devastation, a romance that'll stay with you for so many reasons. But the intense attraction between these characters aside, Catherine's heartbreaking journey from town pariah to national heroine, from family black sheep to the strong, resilient woman she proves herself to be, is magnificent all on its own. Catherine may be my most favorite heroine in all the books I've read from KA Tucker. She's so flawed, so strong, so afraid, so humble, so real. I adored her and her journey wholeheartedly. The icing on an already delicious cake was Brett. I already loved everything about this book before Brett Madden came along but upon meeting him, I plummeted. Brett and Catherine, together with every single character within these pages, layer this story with drama, humor, romance, and emotion, culminating into one of my absolute favorite reads of the year. Simply put, Until It Fades is PHENOMENAL and I won't stop thinking about it anytime soon.
    more
  • Megan • Reading Books Like a Boss (book blog)
    November 20, 2015
    WANT!!
  • AJ
    April 20, 2017
    4.5 stars!Love, love, loved it! A sweet and romantic slow burner with no angst, and a couple that you can't help but root for. I loved every moment of it!Catherine Wright hasn’t had an easy life. She has been made mistakes and she has paid the price, she has been the victim of manipulation, scandal and scorn, and she has persevered. And now, aged 24, she is the single mother to an adorable 5-year-old, working at a diner in her small town and trying hard to keep a low profile and make a good life 4.5 stars!Love, love, loved it! A sweet and romantic slow burner with no angst, and a couple that you can't help but root for. I loved every moment of it!Catherine Wright hasn’t had an easy life. She has been made mistakes and she has paid the price, she has been the victim of manipulation, scandal and scorn, and she has persevered. And now, aged 24, she is the single mother to an adorable 5-year-old, working at a diner in her small town and trying hard to keep a low profile and make a good life for her and her daughter. That proves impossible when she comes across a fatal car crash one night, and saves the life of a man who turns out to be Brett Madden, the NHL’s golden boy.From the moment her identity as Brett’s rescuer is leaked she finds herself the target of journalists and the paparazzi who not only stalk her, but also dig up past secrets that she has tried so hard to move on from. The press’s attention also allows the man in question to find her, and when Brett shows up on Cath’s doorstep to thank her, the spark of attraction is instant. Catherine and Brett share an immediate bond that even from the beginning feels deeper than friendship. But with Catherine sure that the only thing Brett feels towards her is gratitude, and the press watching their every move, Brett has a battle on his hands. “I’m crazy about you and you won’t even answer my calls. I need to know how to fix that so you’ll give me a chance. Please.”I loved this book! The story is told entirely from Catherine’s perspective, which I loved, because there is this element of mystery about Brett - about what he is feeling and how strongly he is feeling it - and it adds a wonderful sense of anticipation to the slow pacing as we wait for the inevitable to all unfold. And I felt everything! He meets my gaze again, his eyes raw and heated, his breaths ragged. “This has never been about gratitude, Catherine.”I’m having a hard time breathing. “Tell me you believe me.” Cath’s backstory is pretty much revealed upfront, but flashbacks provide a lot of depth, allowing us to experience all that she went through just as she did as a naïve 17 year old. I thought that it allowed us to really get to know her, and I certainly empathised with her and could understand the impact it had on her life and why it made her so frightened of throwing herself all in with Brett.And Brett… OMG, I love him! He’s an absolute sweetheart, and I adored his sweet, gentle nature. He’s not a manwhoring alpha, but he is a man who knows what he wants, and his pursuit of Catherine was perfect – he was slow, considerate and gentle, but didn’t hold back on his feelings, and I was easily swept up in their developing romance. “Life is too short to do what other people think you should do.” It’s a deliciously sweet, heartfelt love story, and it had me so captivated that I struggled to put the book down. Like Tucker’s other books, there is more to it than just the romance, and I thought that the love story blended really well with the personal and family storylines that made up the book.There’s a phenomenal bunch of side characters – both Catherine and Brett’s family and friends fit into the story so well, and I’m hoping that this book becomes a series because I would love to read more about them. There are stories there just begging to be told.I loved this book. It’s sweet and romantic with a nice amount of depth without becoming overly dramatic or angsty, and it left me with a huge grin on my face. A truly charming, heartwarming read.4.5 stars. An Advanced Review Copy was generously provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Lexxie (un)Conventional Bookviews
    February 4, 2017
    This review was originally posted on (un)Conventional Bookviews Until it Fades features an extremely hot hockey player, a single-mom waitress and a strong connection that one of them wants to keep private.Catherine and Brett didn't exactly meet, but at the beginning of Until it Fades, Catherine saved Brett's life seconds after the car his friend was driving hit a tree and was on fire. She managed to leave the scene without any journalists bothering her, but when she realized that the man she sa This review was originally posted on (un)Conventional Bookviews Until it Fades features an extremely hot hockey player, a single-mom waitress and a strong connection that one of them wants to keep private.Catherine and Brett didn't exactly meet, but at the beginning of Until it Fades, Catherine saved Brett's life seconds after the car his friend was driving hit a tree and was on fire. She managed to leave the scene without any journalists bothering her, but when she realized that the man she saved was a famous hockey player, she felt the need to hide from the public eye. When she was still in high school, the public had judged her harshly, and she had no wish to end up with busybodies talking about her again. Ever.Until it Fades was a beautiful story, where the past truly cast a shadow over Catherine's present, and possibly her future as well. The most important person in her life was her daughter, Brenna, who completely seduced me - just as much as Catherine and Brett did! Catherine had a strained relationship both with her parents and most of the people in her town. She never really recovered from her high school slip-up, where she was blamed for everything, while the man in the equation got away scot free.I found the theme of Until it Fades to be well presented, it had both to do with judging women harsher than men, and with forgiveness. I think the person who had to forgive Catherine the most was herself. Only when she realised that Brett wanted to get to know her not only because she saved his life, but because of her, she finally got more confident, and even managed to reconstruct a semblance of a relationship with her parents once more.Until it Fades is beautifully written, even as it touches on some tough subjects, and I enjoyed how tentative Catherine was - who wouldn't be in her situation, after all? Written in first person perspective, from Catherine's point of view, Until it Fades made me get under Catherine's skin, and it was really a pleasure to get to know her so well. Tucker managed to tug on my heartstrings more than once, both when it came to Catherine, her with Brenna, her with her parents, and, of course, her with Brett. Some of the story is set in the past, and that really showed what Catherine had been through in the past, and how it affected her present in every way. *sighs*I may have wanted to escape, but then again, all these people are desperate to leave their big city lives to escape here. Maybe I'm the lucky one. Maybe there's a way I can still make a great life for Brenna and me, here.This man... I stare at him and think he cannot be the same man hunched in the passenger seat of that crumpled car, unconscious and bleeding profusely from his forehead. He cannot be the same man I begged and pleaded and screamed at, to please get out of the car. 
    more
  • Beverly
    June 2, 2017
    ARC kindly provided in exchange for an honest review.
Write a review