Release
Inspired by Mrs Dalloway and Judy Blume's Forever, Release is one day in the life of Adam Thorn, 17. It's a big day. Things go wrong. It's intense, and all the while, weirdness approaches...Adam Thorn is having what will turn out to be the most unsettling, difficult day of his life, with relationships fracturing, a harrowing incident at work, and a showdown between this gay teen and his preacher father that changes everything. It's a day of confrontation, running, sex, love, heartbreak, and maybe, just maybe, hope. He won't come out of it unchanged. And all the while, lurking at the edges of the story, something extraordinary and unsettling is on a collision course.

Release Details

TitleRelease
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 4th, 2017
PublisherWalker Books
ISBN1406377279
ISBN-139781406377279
Number of pages287 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Glbt, Fiction, Young Adult Contemporary, Queer, Realistic Fiction, Gay, Romance, Family

Release Review

  • Korrina (OwlCrate)
    February 23, 2017
    Wow. Just wow. I read this book in just a few short hours, completely transfixed from the first page. There's something very special about Patrick Ness's writing.
  • Kai
    February 17, 2017
    Preordered!Find more of my books on Instagram
  • Raeleen Lemay
    February 7, 2017
    ACTUALLY DYING over the US cover. I'm 100% obsessed 10/10 need it now
  • anna
    July 22, 2016
  • joey (thoughts and afterthoughts)
    July 22, 2016
    My soul is already crushed. Just Ness things.
  • Elise (The Bookish Actress)
    December 14, 2016
    Meanwhile I'm obsessing over this cover. It's so gorgeous!
  • Maria (Big City Bookworm)
    July 22, 2016
    The excitement is real.
  • Giulia China
    March 21, 2017
    I need this now, I already know it's gonna be amazing!
  • Mel
    October 1, 2016
    I need a new Patrick Ness book right now pleeeeeeaaaaaseeeee
  • Alison
    February 27, 2017
    A wonderful book on a single day in the life of a teen, in which everything changes.Ness's writing is something to be admired.
  • Elena
    July 24, 2016
    IM SCREAMING PATRICK NESS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE AUTHORS I CANNOT WAIT FOR THIS BOOK
  • Kayley Hyde
    April 26, 2017
    4.5/5
  • Figgy
    February 23, 2017
    Review to come, closer to release.OMG THIS JUST TURNED UP I CAN'T BREATHE I NEED TO READ IT NOW THIS HAS MADE MY YEAR!!!!!!!!!!1!!!!1
  • Michael Earp
    February 18, 2017
    Patrick Ness really knows how to put words together. The strength of his writing is breathtaking at times. This literally has ALL THE EMOTIONS. I think it has instantly become my favourite of his books, but I say that as a gay man who grew up in a Christian family. There's a whole lot that resonates so loudly, so personally. There's also a lot to celebrate with some of the content that feels like it's reaching a level that has long been accepted in straight YA literature. But more than any of th Patrick Ness really knows how to put words together. The strength of his writing is breathtaking at times. This literally has ALL THE EMOTIONS. I think it has instantly become my favourite of his books, but I say that as a gay man who grew up in a Christian family. There's a whole lot that resonates so loudly, so personally. There's also a lot to celebrate with some of the content that feels like it's reaching a level that has long been accepted in straight YA literature. But more than any of that, it's a powerful story of self-realisation, acceptance and the power of release. An outstanding example of young adult literature.
    more
  • Izzy
    October 1, 2016
    THIS IS EVERYTHING I EVER NEEDED IN LIFE
  • Anna
    September 20, 2016
    RTC.How do you find words to explain the book made by the man that has all the words in his grasp?EDIT:A cover!A beautiful, gorgeous cover!* * *Nearly had a fit at work!!!Can't wait!!!
  • Neil (or bleed)
    October 1, 2016
  • Boris
    March 18, 2017
    Имах възможност да прочета предварително копие на романа и затова може би малко и от себе си съм дал на оценката.Това е можеби втория или третия LGBT роман, който чета. Хареса ми, че засяга темата за лепването на етикети - разглежда се като ограничение и като ключ. Размишления, които биха били полезни на едни съзряващи читатели. Действието се развива в рамките на един ден и общо взето показва героят, на който никак не му върви този ден. Това звучи като клише, така е, но Патрик Нес представя този Имах възможност да прочета предварително копие на романа и затова може би малко и от себе си съм дал на оценката.Това е можеби втория или третия LGBT роман, който чета. Хареса ми, че засяга темата за лепването на етикети - разглежда се като ограничение и като ключ. Размишления, които биха били полезни на едни съзряващи читатели. Действието се развива в рамките на един ден и общо взето показва героят, на който никак не му върви този ден. Това звучи като клише, така е, но Патрик Нес представя този "кофти ден" не просто като случайни събития в рамките на само този ден, а като в резутлат от това, че героят няма опита да се справя с проблеми, които връстниците му умеят да преодоляват лесно. Причината за това е, че семейството му не го подкрепя и той чувства "далечни" хора повече като свое семейство, отколкото действителното му такова. Сексуалността му, разбира се, е една от главните причини за това.Имаше сексуални сцени, който ми стояха... непбичайно на фона на историята. Това е може би минусът, който ми идва на ум. В личната ми Патрик Нес класация 'Часът на чудовището' все още е номер 1, а Release може би се нареда след Чудовището и преди Освен този живот.
    more
  • Melissa Veras
    July 22, 2016
    A new Patrick Ness novel! May 2017 can't come soon enough. GIVE IT TO ME.
  • Tiff at Mostly YA Lit
    February 7, 2017
    Inspired by Mrs. Dalloway? My favorite novel EVER? And written by Patrick Ness? *falls over*
  • Fantine
    February 15, 2017
    I don't know what to I don't umm I so many emotions?? also confusion?? and good?? but ??!!!AHHH. So. This definitely felt like his most personal book yet.This personalNess (yes I just made up a word and a pun at the same time I am multi faceted complex woman) perhaps could have clouded my judgement. But I don't think it was just that it was personal to one of my favorite authors that affected me so much. It felt... universally personal.The struggles that the protagonist Adam goes through are wha I don't know what to I don't umm I so many emotions?? also confusion?? and good?? but ??!!!AHHH. So. This definitely felt like his most personal book yet.This personalNess (yes I just made up a word and a pun at the same time I am multi faceted complex woman) perhaps could have clouded my judgement. But I don't think it was just that it was personal to one of my favorite authors that affected me so much. It felt... universally personal.The struggles that the protagonist Adam goes through are what many lgbt+ kids face, are facing everywhere right now. Certain issues that aren't being talked about and I'm ashamed to admit I hadn't given much thought to or was even fully aware of- which is part of the problem. The fact that one of the most popular Young Adult authors IS addressing these taboo topics is remarkable. Oh also as well as following Adam Thorn, gay teen suffocating in conservative christian household there is a lake ghost, ancient mythology, goat people and somehow? the two stories are weaved together perfectly. Goddamit Patrick Ness. This novel made me feel it made me think, and that's all I hope for when I pick up a book. I didn't really understand my own reasoning for my 4(and a half)/5 star rating till I just wrote this review. That's the magic thing about Ness' work, that sparkling golden blend of easy to read YA writing coupled with an emotional and thoughtful impact that reverberates through you long after the last page has been turned.Release didn't leave me staring blankly at a wall with tears running down my face like The Knife of Never Letting Go or gushing about Ness' cleverness and making far-flung Buffy comparisons like The Rest of Us Just Live Here. Though different than all his other books upon completion Release left me with that same feeling that can only be described as: ???!!!!???!! and then, right now days later: aha.
    more
  • Tran Thanh Tu
    January 27, 2017
    C'mon it's a Patrick Ness book!! I'm crying out loud over hereeeee
  • Karoline Potter
    April 15, 2017
    RELEASE af Patrick Ness Jeg havde utrolig høje forventninger til denne bog, efter at have læst og elsket andet forfattet af Patrick Ness. Selvom jeg havde tårnhøje forventninger, fyldestgøre RELEASE hver og en. Historien er en sød og meget troværdig historie - noget af tiden. Man følger to unge mennesker i deres kamp for, at finde ud af hvordan man frigør sig fra alt det omkring en. En kamp som jeg forestiller mig, at rigtig mange teenagere, inklusiv mig selv, har kæmpet. Den ene af hovedperso RELEASE af Patrick Ness Jeg havde utrolig høje forventninger til denne bog, efter at have læst og elsket andet forfattet af Patrick Ness. Selvom jeg havde tårnhøje forventninger, fyldestgøre RELEASE hver og en. Historien er en sød og meget troværdig historie - noget af tiden. Man følger to unge mennesker i deres kamp for, at finde ud af hvordan man frigør sig fra alt det omkring en. En kamp som jeg forestiller mig, at rigtig mange teenagere, inklusiv mig selv, har kæmpet. Den ene af hovedpersonerne, Adam, er fanget på mange forskellige måder og står ved et skillepunkt i sit liv. Sådan et tror jeg, alle mennesker har på et eller andet tidspunkt og Ness forstår virkelig, at beskrive hvordan man føler i denne situation. Det betyder, at bogen er utrolig nem at relatere til, selvom situationen Adam står over for, ikke er den samme som i ens eget liv. Samtidig er der også et eventyrligt og fiktivt aspekt i bogen, som der ofte er hos Ness. Selvom bogen er ren fiktion, føles det ikke sådan. Der er både fiktions elementer i ikke-fiktionen, den oprindelige historie foregår i. Disse elementer mødes og passer perfekt sammen. Der er to meget ens handlinger/fortællinger i bogen , men hver især sin egen historie med forskellige karakterer og vendepunkter. I starten troede jeg, at det ville blive mærkeligt med fiktion og ikke-fiktions elementerne, men Ness skriver det på sådan en måde, at det bare passer perfekt sammen og på ingen måde føles unaturligt. Det er en fantastisk bog, som er endnu bedre end hvad selv den største Patrick Ness fan kan forestille sig. Den har gjort et kæmpe indtryk på mig personligt og har været med til at få mig til at forstå, hvordan verden nu engang fungerer. Det handler ikke altid om dig, men når det gør, er det vigtigt selv at se det og at sørge for, at man selv står i første række nogle gange. Det er netop det, denne bog har fået mig til at indse.
    more
  • Fie Sejr Ravn Jensen
    March 30, 2017
    Heads-up before you read - don't worry this review contains no spoilers whatsoever so go ahead and read it! And remember to pick up the book yourself when it's out!English review (for Danish translation scroll down): I never quite know how to start a review of a Patrick Ness novel. But damn, this was a beautiful book, and I see why people are saying this might be Ness' most personal book to date. Ness' writing was as captivating and poetic as ever. This man REALLY knows how to put words together Heads-up before you read - don't worry this review contains no spoilers whatsoever so go ahead and read it! And remember to pick up the book yourself when it's out!English review (for Danish translation scroll down): I never quite know how to start a review of a Patrick Ness novel. But damn, this was a beautiful book, and I see why people are saying this might be Ness' most personal book to date. Ness' writing was as captivating and poetic as ever. This man REALLY knows how to put words together that capture the reader's attention. And oh how I wish I could share some quotes with you, but I won't spoil the experience for you. Another thing I will always admire about Ness' writing - and something that recurs in all of his books - is Ness' extraordinary ability to use the supernatural as a methaphor for the human emotions in his books - without the supernatural stealing focus from what his books are always centered around. The raw human emotions. I feel like this book might have been a long time coming for Ness. The book is centered around the main character Adam, and how he deals with being gay and living in a very religious family. I won't make assumtions about Ness' personal life and as he says in the acknowledgements his own father is not to be found on these pages. But the insecurieties and fear for judgement that Adam feels through-out the book is something I think we all feel from time no matter if it's about our sexuality or not. And I applaud Ness for being able to describe the stage you can find yourself in when things begin to accumulate. This book is - as the title suggest - about letting go, and releasing the feelings holding you back, it's about being honest and have the courage to learn how to release yourself. Bloody brilliant.Dansk anmeldelse: Jeg ved aldrig helt, hvordan jeg skal starte en anmeldelse af en Patrick Ness bog. Men wow, hvor var det her en rørende bog, jeg kan sagtens se, hvorfor nogle folk har kaldt det her Ness' mest personlig bog indtil videre.Ness' sprog er ligeså fængslende og poetisk som altid. Den her mand ved altså VIRKELIGT, hvordan han skal sætte ord sammen, så de fanger læserens opmærksomhed. Og åh altså, hvor ville jeg ønske, jeg kunne dele nogle citater med jer, men jeg vil ikke ødelægge oplevelsen for jer. En anden ting, som jeg altid beundrer, når det kommer til Ness sprog - og noget som gentager sig i alle hans bøger - er Ness' fantastiske evne til at bruge det overnaturlige som en metafor for menneskelige følelser i hans bøger, men helt uden, at det overnaturlige tager over og stjæler fokus fra, hvad hans bøger altid omhandler - menneskets fuldkomne rå følelser. Jeg har en mistanke om, at den her bog, har været lang tid undervejs for Ness. Bogen omhandler hovedpersonen Adam, og hvordan han håndtere det at være homoseksuel og samtidig være del af en meget religiøs familie. Jeg vil ikke lave antagelser omkring Ness' privatliv, og som han siger i bemærkningerne til sidst i bogen, så er hans egen far ikke at finde på disse sider. Men usikkerheden og frygten for at blive dømt af andre, som Adam oplever igennem det meste af bogen, er noget, jeg tror, vi alle føler en gang imellem - om det så har rod i vores seksualitet eller ej. Jeg beundrer Ness for at kunne beskrive måden, man har det på, når tingene begynder at ophobe sig. Denne bog er - som titlen antyder - en bog, om at give slip og frigøre sig fra de følelser, du holder tilbage, den handler om at være ærlig og at have modet til at lære, hvordan man frigører "release" sig selv. Fuldstændig fantastisk.
    more
  • Sarah (treesofreverie) McMahon
    March 25, 2017
    Loved it!! Review to come!
  • Liam
    July 22, 2016
    Did you say Patrick Ness?
  • Diane
    October 4, 2016
    I NEED MY NESS FIX.
  • Emily May
    April 10, 2017
    Who cared if he’d grow out of it? That didn’t make it any less true in those painful and euphoric days when it was happening. The truth was always now, even if you were young. Especially if you were young. I am so torn. I'm not even sure how I feel about Release overall. It's like there are two books in here - one I absolutely loved, and the other I just didn't enjoy at all.Ness is one of those authors who never writes the same book, or same kind of book, twice. Liking one is no guarantee you w Who cared if he’d grow out of it? That didn’t make it any less true in those painful and euphoric days when it was happening. The truth was always now, even if you were young. Especially if you were young. I am so torn. I'm not even sure how I feel about Release overall. It's like there are two books in here - one I absolutely loved, and the other I just didn't enjoy at all.Ness is one of those authors who never writes the same book, or same kind of book, twice. Liking one is no guarantee you will like another. I absolutely adored his Chaos Walking trilogy - The Knife of Never Letting Go, The Ask and the Answer and Monsters of Men, I thought A Monster Calls was a beautiful middle grade book, and I loved what Ness did in More Than This. However, The Crane Wife didn't work for me, and I thought The Rest of Us Just Live Here was clever, but boring.Release is a strange story, heavily influenced by Mrs. Dalloway and Judy Blume's Forever. In fact, it's a little meta for my tastes (kind of like The Rest of Us Just Live Here was) and even includes direct references to Forever in the story, whilst the first and last lines are plays on the first and last lines of Mrs. Dalloway. When I said it felt like there were two books in one, that's because the story alternates between a day in the life of Adam Thorn, and a weird, kinda magical realism ghost story about a faun and a queen, which clearly had something to do with the recent death of a meth addict, but I'm still not 100% sure I get what the hell was going on. The faun wishes to tell her, tell her that she is caught, his Queen, snagged and bound by a frightened soul. He needs to tell her that she is in danger of becoming lost forever, but he cannot. He can only look at the sun, less than an hour from its midday peak. The faun is worried. The faun is very worried. Adam Thorn's story, on the other hand, is very powerful. He is the gay son of a preacher, struggling against his family's beliefs, trying to ward off the sexual advances of his boss, and working through some serious heartbreak... all in the space of one day. The book manages to cover sex, love, friendship, family and loss in so few pages, and in such a moving way. Adam's chapters are hard-hitting, beautiful and sad. His ultimate realization towards the end of the book carries with it that certain bittersweetness that only comes with the letting go of someone you loved deeply.But I just didn't enjoy the experimental style of the other chapters. I'm sure it was supposed to be deep and meaningful, but the choice to add it felt cold and intellectual in a book that was otherwise so emotionally tense. I wanted more Adam, less weird.I would hesitate before recommending this book. Though Adam's story was compelling and his character so well-drawn, a lot of this short book is taken up with metaphoric wanderings into the weird and - sometimes it seemed - nonsensical. But maybe smarter people than me will appreciate it. Otherwise, I recommend reading Silvera's History Is All You Left Me instead. Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube
    more
  • Pauline
    April 7, 2017
    The writing and the emotion in this novel is just beautiful. Definitely one for the older readers.
  • Brandon
    February 7, 2017
    *screeches and grabby hands
Write a review