Shattered Warrior
It is ten years after Colleen Cavanaugh's home world was invaded by the Derichets, a tyrannical alien race bent on exploiting the planet's mineral resources. Most of her family died in the war, and she now lives alone in the city. Aside from her acquaintances at the factory where she toils for the Derichets, Colleen makes a single friend in Jann, a member of the violent group of rebels known as the Chromatti. One day Colleen receives shocking news: her niece Lucy is alive and in need of her help. Together, Colleen, Jann, and Lucy create their own tenuous family. But Colleen must decide if it's worth risking all of their survival to join a growing underground revolution against the Derichets.

Shattered Warrior Details

TitleShattered Warrior
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseMay 16th, 2017
PublisherFirst Second
ISBN1626720894
ISBN-139781626720893
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Comics, Graphic Novels Comics, Aliens, Fiction

Shattered Warrior Review

  • Lola Reviewer
    May 27, 2017
    Well… that was quite something. I had trouble understanding what was going on in the beginning. An alien race invaded Colleen’s world and took over as the new leaders of the planet without, of course, giving the humans a choice in the matter. Colleen lost her family. She is now alone. To survive, she works in some kind of factory under the supervision of the alien specie. Eventually, she rebels against the aliens by joining a group of rebels with the mission of getting rid of the aliens. Pretty Well… that was quite something. I had trouble understanding what was going on in the beginning. An alien race invaded Colleen’s world and took over as the new leaders of the planet without, of course, giving the humans a choice in the matter. Colleen lost her family. She is now alone. To survive, she works in some kind of factory under the supervision of the alien specie. Eventually, she rebels against the aliens by joining a group of rebels with the mission of getting rid of the aliens. Pretty straightforward when it’s explained to you, but not so easy to get when you read the actual graphic novel.It’s a little more complicated than that. Much more is actually happening. Colleen finds a member of her family to care of. She falls in love. She loses people. It’s quite complex, you could say. In fact, it feels like the type of graphic novel that is inspired by a novel. The art is fantastic. I truly loved it. The characters are strong and memorable, especially the heroine. The story overall, however, is not of the same quality as the previous elements. I think it’s overdone. Aliens invading the planet, rebels rebelling. Meh, don’t you think?Plus I believe this to be a standalone graphic novel, thus the ending is the real ending, and let me tell you that it is not satisfying. I don’t think you can illustrate a war in one single book of around 250 pages. It’s not that easy. It seemed too easy for Colleen and her friends.Not that no one got hurt, because they did, but I really don’t think an alien specie so powerful could get fooled so easily. And also, we know barely anything about them. We saw not all aliens were cruel in the book, so then how come there isn’t an alien group fighting for the humans too? Meh, the story didn’t feel complete. It was like we were thrown not at the beginning but at the middle of it and we never truly reached the end. Blog | Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Bloglovin’
    more
  • First Second Books
    May 16, 2017
    Colleen Cavanaugh's home world wis ruled by Derichets, a tyrannical alien race bent on exploiting the planet's mineral resources.Most of her family died in the war, and she now lives alone in the city. Aside from her acquaintances at the factory where she toils for the Derichets, Colleen makes a single friend in Jann, a member of the violent group of rebels known as the Chromatti. One day Colleen receives shocking news: her niece Lucy is alive and in need of her help. Shattered Warrior is a grip Colleen Cavanaugh's home world wis ruled by Derichets, a tyrannical alien race bent on exploiting the planet's mineral resources.Most of her family died in the war, and she now lives alone in the city. Aside from her acquaintances at the factory where she toils for the Derichets, Colleen makes a single friend in Jann, a member of the violent group of rebels known as the Chromatti. One day Colleen receives shocking news: her niece Lucy is alive and in need of her help. Shattered Warrior is a gripping science fiction adventure with a sweeping romance at its heart.
    more
  • Christy
    May 21, 2017
    I wasn't really sure what I was getting into but I'm super glad I read this!
  • Lexie
    March 8, 2017
    Overall I greatly enjoyed this graphic novel (which as of this review, March 8, 2017, is a stand alone according to the publisher). I found Colleen to be a good blend of traits - strong, but hiding her vulnerability which made her realize she was missing something.This isn't a "soft" book - quite a few chars who don't deserve it get beaten, killed or abused in some way. It's also not too worried about history building - we learn about the Chromatti and how they evolved to the group they were. We Overall I greatly enjoyed this graphic novel (which as of this review, March 8, 2017, is a stand alone according to the publisher). I found Colleen to be a good blend of traits - strong, but hiding her vulnerability which made her realize she was missing something.This isn't a "soft" book - quite a few chars who don't deserve it get beaten, killed or abused in some way. It's also not too worried about history building - we learn about the Chromatti and how they evolved to the group they were. We learned a brief bit about why the Derichet came to the planet, a little about the social structure before they came to the planet. Agnit, a Derichet overseer who is...well the best way to describe him versus Korso, another overseer, is the difference between Benedict Cumberbatch and Michael Fassbender's characters in "12 Years a Slave". Agnit is a villain who pretends at decency, but ultimately agrees with the status quo while Korso is a creep & a bully and doesn't pretend otherwise. Also a bit loosy-goosy, but something fans of Shinn's novels are well used to, is how the book meanders to it's point. This isn't to say it has filler for filler's sake, but with no real concept of time the pacing is both too slow and too fast. I did love the artwork here. It's not overly complicated, but very well detailed. I haven't seen Ostertag's work before, tho I've heard of her comic. My only real unease is the flat nature of the Derichet. We have no real sense of their culture, no real sense of why they conquer instead of negotiate/trade. Korso & Agnit are the only two named, despite dozens of extras, and they're two ends of the same stick really. While the reader is given all the reasons to side with the humans, there's no nuance so no matter what Agnit does you are waiting for him to turn into a villain because the only other Derichet given time is a villain.I'm also somewhat confused by Jann's insistence about Colleen's family's birthright. He's the only one who puts emphasis on it (aside from a few remarks about the estate) and it makes no sense. It's not like Colleen is lost royalty who, once the Derichet are dealt with, can reclaim her throne. It was as maddening for me as it was for Colleen.
    more
  • Anne
    May 20, 2017
    I really enjoyed this. A few of the emotional beats moved too quickly for my liking, and overall the story felt a little fast, but I really liked the glimpse into this world, the characters introduced, and the plot points. And the artwork is lovely. I'd love to see more from this universe.
    more
  • Jessie (Ageless Pages Reviews)
    May 11, 2017
    3.75/5Weird that a year ago I had never read a Sharon Shinn novel and now I seek out anything she's worked on.Anyway. This is her first graphic novel and I can see some of the old trademarks of why I love her as an author. I do think her style is a bit hampered by the necessary brevity for dialogue and rare instances of worldbuilding. The GN itself is 256 pages and the plot can skip along easily for lack of time to develop it further. Still, a quick,enjoyable, and suitably dark look at an Earth 3.75/5Weird that a year ago I had never read a Sharon Shinn novel and now I seek out anything she's worked on.Anyway. This is her first graphic novel and I can see some of the old trademarks of why I love her as an author. I do think her style is a bit hampered by the necessary brevity for dialogue and rare instances of worldbuilding. The GN itself is 256 pages and the plot can skip along easily for lack of time to develop it further. Still, a quick,enjoyable, and suitably dark look at an Earth invaded and controlled by an alien cat-like species.Full RTC.
    more
  • Michael
    April 12, 2017
    Great artwork, and a very enjoyable story about a ragtag band of humans against overwhelming alien odds. Yeah, it could be a generic riff, but Shinn imbues the characters with such heart and provides a strong emotional awakening for her tragedy-laden protagonist, enabling her to overcome a fairly blah plot scenario to craft a truly memorable story.
    more
  • Vi
    April 12, 2017
    Not too graphic, implied violence towards others. Great story.
  • Critterbee
    December 5, 2016
    A grim tale of oppression by off-worlders, and the fight for freedom. It looks like this is the first in a series? Not too sure, but the ending led me to believe that there was more to come.Very nice story-telling, but a bit too dark and violent for my tastes. The drama and the revenge and the seething, insanity-driven indignation! I think this would be enjoyed by many people.**eARC Netgalley**
    more
  • Cecelia
    May 22, 2017
    Sharon Shinn! Oh man, talk about one of the greatest discoveries of my blogging life – I found Sharon Shinn’s books through a blog challenge, and now I keep a sharp eye out for everything she does. It may or may not hit all of my sweet spots, but her work is always emotion-inducing (by which I mean I usually cry AND want to throw her books across the room/hug them in equal measure). tl;dr Sharon Shinn makes me read books/plots/subgenres I didn’t know I wanted, and like it. Folks, when I heard sh Sharon Shinn! Oh man, talk about one of the greatest discoveries of my blogging life – I found Sharon Shinn’s books through a blog challenge, and now I keep a sharp eye out for everything she does. It may or may not hit all of my sweet spots, but her work is always emotion-inducing (by which I mean I usually cry AND want to throw her books across the room/hug them in equal measure). tl;dr Sharon Shinn makes me read books/plots/subgenres I didn’t know I wanted, and like it. Folks, when I heard she had a sci-fi graphic novel coming out with one of my favorite publishers, I was IN, 110%, YES PLEASE AND THANK YOU, and I was not disappointed.Not long ago, Colleen Cavenaugh was a beloved daughter of the great house of Avon, and she and her sister were showered with luxuries. Then the Derichets came and Colleen lost her whole family, and everyone on the planet lost their freedom. Now Colleen lives alone in her empty house and works in a factory sorting precious minerals for the Derichet overlords – and does not let anyone or anything touch her heart. That fragile cocoon is broken when a band of Chromatti threatens her safety, her lost niece is found, and the Valenchi resistance turns from rumor to real. Will she act, or will she try to preserve the status quo? The answer could change her planet’s future.One of Sharon Shinn’s trademarks is delicious world- and character-building, and though the graphic novel format limits prose a bit, Molly Knox Ostertag’s art adds layers of history and meaning. Colleen’s world is restricted to places she can reach on foot, by bike, or by treadway (underground public transport on moving walkways), and so the scope of the book is narrow – this isn’t a grand starship journey. That said, there is plenty to explore on-planet – the opressive Derichet (who look like nothing so much as the Dark Elves from the 2nd Thor film!) pose an ever-present danger, but the Chromatti (ex-miners tattooed with phosphorous ink who roam about in bands) threaten as well, and Colleen is a particularly vulnerable target as a member of the former upper class, a woman, and a person with dependents.Colleen herself is marked by loss. She lives one day at a time, trying to keep her head down, trying to stay safe and sane. But of course, it wouldn’t be a story if there weren’t things to knock her out of her comfort zone! One of those things is a Chromatti man named Jann, who both frightens and intrigues her in equal measure. It’s one of those “they would never have met if it weren’t for the ‘end of the world’” type of relationships. The delicate communication that Colleen and Jann cultivate ultimately leads to more, and it is one of the best parts of the book.Colleen is also changed by her eventual involvement in the resistance. Though I didn’t love that it took a Derichet’s violence against a woman (this trope is still used to signal evil?! …yeah) to make up her mind, Colleen does get involved in a small way. Officially, the Valenchi “don’t exist,” they blow up transport a la French resistance fighters in WWII, and Colleen does her part but does not immediately become the leader – something that I’ve seen before in stories that always rings false. Subtlety = yesssss!Other things I liked, because this review is getting really long: the stakes are high (plot could mean death!), gender equality in facing danger and putting everything on the line, old class system & wealth break down in the face of occupation (like Star Wars!), found family, diversity (seems like it was probably an artist decision more than an author one, but I’ll take it), and a bisexual love interest (heavily implied)(yay!).Things I didn’t like: I wish there had been more page time for the legend the book title is based on, and I also wish there was more of this story, period. I think that further development of the Lucy-Colleen relationship would not have gone amiss. But. If my only complaint is that I wanted more, you know I liked the book!So that brings us to the art, which is just fantastic. Molly Knox Ostertag really takes this story and makes it shine – the illustrations up the stakes, ground it in a place (make Avon & Comstock city come alive!), make you see and feel the characters’ changing emotions and attachments. The art is where the diversity in skin color, architecture, and clothing all tell their own stories – and come together to make the book something more, to show you a history that is unusual and interesting. I’ll be checking out everything Ostertag has ever done, and I usually don’t say that about art (I’ll say it once in a blue moon about an author, so this is a big thing).In all, Shattered Warrior is a high-stakes rebellion/unexpected love story mash-up with to-die-for art. Read it!Recommended for: fans of Princess Leia, the Saga graphic novels, and older teen and up audiences who enjoy science fiction with love stories and diverse characters.
    more
  • Kelly
    May 18, 2017
    Check out this and other reviews on my young adult book blog, Here's to Happy Endings!I was never much of a graphic novel reader, but once I discovered a few that I liked, I'm pretty much hooked and want to read more of them. When I was contacted about being part of the blog tour for Shattered Warrior, I was super excited, because I had recently finished reading Scott Westerfeld's Spill Zone, and I fell in love with it.I love science fiction, so when I saw that a science fiction story line was g Check out this and other reviews on my young adult book blog, Here's to Happy Endings!I was never much of a graphic novel reader, but once I discovered a few that I liked, I'm pretty much hooked and want to read more of them. When I was contacted about being part of the blog tour for Shattered Warrior, I was super excited, because I had recently finished reading Scott Westerfeld's Spill Zone, and I fell in love with it.I love science fiction, so when I saw that a science fiction story line was going to be combined with fabulous art in Shattered Warrior, I was incredibly eager to pick this up and have the chance to read it. As predicted, I found myself reading the entire book in one sitting, and then going back and reading it again, because it's just that amazing!Our story starts out ten years after our main character, Colleen Cavanaugh's, home world has been invaded and taken over by the alien race the Derichets. They want to take over the world and make all of the humans mine the planet's mineral resources, which they then export off the planet. Colleen, who was the daughter of a wealthy family, needs money to keep herself fed and clothed, so she has to take a job in one of the mines. She makes a few friends there, and together they try to stay alive while coming up with ideas of how they can possibly take down the Derichets and get them to leave their planet once and for all.One night, Colleen meets Jann, who is a member of a violent group trying to oppose everything that is going on on the planet. While Jann and Colleen should never become friends, they do - Jann finds himself drawn to Colleen, and although Colleen is wary of becoming a friend with a member of the Chromatti, she is lonely.When Colleen receives the news that her seven year old niece, Lucy, is still alive and being held by the Derichets, she comes up with money in order to bring her home. Getting Lucy to trust and feel safe is a difficult task, but she does well around Jann, and the three of them quickly become close. "'Every year, as the world revolves, the constellation dissolves. And every year, when the stars realign, you can see the Shattered Warrior again. Brought back to life by love.'" When Colleen starts to fall for Jann, and Jann for her, she tries to convince herself it would not work out because of the situation going on around them, and how they must work together to form their own resistance to try and get the Derichets off the planet, but the two of them find themselves caught up in each other regardless.As Colleen, Jann, and Lucy find themselves trying to make their lives as happy as possible, creating their own little family, Colleen and Jann are working with some others to try and plan something that will shock and hopefully get rid of the Derichets.Shattered Warrior was a little bit of a lot of things, and those things mesh together wonderfully to create a brilliant story with illustrations that really capture the emotion of the book.I loved all the characters in this book - I honestly felt like I got to know them and care for them, even if the book was shorter than I would have liked (I hope there's going to be a sequel!). While the ending kind of wrapped things up, I can see it being somewhat open to allow the story to be added on to in the future, which I loved.Even if you aren't really a graphic novel fan, Shattered Warrior is sure to wow you. This book is complete perfection, all wrapped up in a gorgeous cover. Colorful, engaging, and exciting, this book is sitting on my favorites shelf, where it is sure to be read over and over again.Part romance, part science fiction, and a whole lot of action, this graphic novel deserves to be on your shelf!Note: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - Thank you!
    more
  • Jenna
    May 26, 2017
    An intriguing sci-fi dystopia graphic novel. I wish that we had more time or it had been spread out into two volumes, as it felt rather rushed and some of the world-building was never really explained. But interesting characters that had their own agendas that don't get thrown to the wayside for romance. Covers the atrocities of war and urban violence, what constitutes terrorism, what happens to those who have been subjugated, and how you define your family in that sort of world. Drawing style w An intriguing sci-fi dystopia graphic novel. I wish that we had more time or it had been spread out into two volumes, as it felt rather rushed and some of the world-building was never really explained. But interesting characters that had their own agendas that don't get thrown to the wayside for romance. Covers the atrocities of war and urban violence, what constitutes terrorism, what happens to those who have been subjugated, and how you define your family in that sort of world. Drawing style was minimal and the aliens looked rather fantasy-influenced rather than any sci-fi species.Review based off an eARC provided by Edelweiss.
    more
  • Lori
    May 9, 2017
    Such a good start to (what I hope is) a new science fiction graphic novel series about humans banding together and starting a revolution from a race of aliens who have taken over Earth for its resources. I absolutely loved the artwork and seriously hope there is more coming about these characters and their story!
    more
  • Jennifer
    May 30, 2017
    Took a bit to get into and the art wasn't quite my thing, but the story has depth and the word-building is good. Overall 3.5.
  • Snow
    February 10, 2017
    reviewing for Booklist
  • Andréa
    November 20, 2016
    Note: I received a digital galley of this book through NetGalley.
  • Amy
    November 17, 2016
    Since there's no blurb, just going by the cover. At least I know the art is going to be nice, since I follow Molly's webcomic, Strong Female Protagonist, that she does with Brennan Lee Mulligan.
  • Stacey Shapiro
    November 4, 2016
    I can't wait to read more in this story!
Write a review