Blind Item
No one knows her name, but now everyone wants to.As an assistant publicist in Hollywood, Nicola spends her days (and nights) sweeping up the scandals of singers, movie stars, and TV actors. Fresh from Ohio, she’s rapidly discovering the real Hollywood is rotten under its glittering skin. Everyone is a hustler with a hard bottom line and a soap opera sob story.When she breaks her own rules and starts dating a movie star, the Los Angeles scene starts to spill into her own life. As the paparazzi begin the hunt for sexy star Seamus O’Riordan’s new mystery girl, Nicola’s best friend Billy has her back while he prowls parties for the latest scoop to sell to the tabloids. Her roommate Kara keeps tabs on things too—in between befriending a former child star and transforming herself from stylist to reality TV sensation.As the scandals pile up behind them, their pasts will be exposed… And every secret can be sold.Written by two Hollywood insiders, the jaw-dropping scandals are real, but the names are not. And they’ll never tell.An Imprint Book

Blind Item Details

TitleBlind Item
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherImprint
ISBN1250122252
ISBN-139781250122254
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Romance, Adult, Adult Fiction

Blind Item Review

  • Kara
    May 31, 2017
    DNFing on page 35. Some of the writing reads stilted and amateurish, but I think I could get past that if I pushed on. I'd rather not though. Look, I knew going in there was going to be scandals, drugs, paparazzi, and a bunch of Hollywood stuff, but I didn't expect so much drugs. It's also incredibly catty and shallow, and I was expecting something a little more lighthearted, and I don't know, chick lit-y?BLEH. Just not my thing. If I wanted this, I could read boy band fan fiction instead. But I DNFing on page 35. Some of the writing reads stilted and amateurish, but I think I could get past that if I pushed on. I'd rather not though. Look, I knew going in there was going to be scandals, drugs, paparazzi, and a bunch of Hollywood stuff, but I didn't expect so much drugs. It's also incredibly catty and shallow, and I was expecting something a little more lighthearted, and I don't know, chick lit-y?BLEH. Just not my thing. If I wanted this, I could read boy band fan fiction instead. But I don't.
    more
  • Christine Beidel
    April 3, 2017
    Dishy and funny and just everything you want in a summer read. Grab a fruity cocktail and a beach chair and get comfy because you'll want to devour it in one sitting! I don't want to give away any details because they're all so fun...and true. The PR Grand Dame is so well drawn that I wanted to call her office to set up drinks! Highly recommend. Enjoy!
    more
  • Sarita
    June 22, 2017
    Fun trashy Hollywood read, sort of like a modern Jackie Collins. Nicola is a small town Ohio transplant in LA working PR for an eccentric demanding boss (Can we get a book just about the boss, she was so delightful, kind of like a loveable Devil Wears Prada type!), and just trying to get over her tragic past. Her gay BFF Billy, who makes a living selling stories to the tabloids, always has her back, and her roommate Kara, who is chasing fame a-la-Kardashian's always keeps her entertained. At an Fun trashy Hollywood read, sort of like a modern Jackie Collins. Nicola is a small town Ohio transplant in LA working PR for an eccentric demanding boss (Can we get a book just about the boss, she was so delightful, kind of like a loveable Devil Wears Prada type!), and just trying to get over her tragic past. Her gay BFF Billy, who makes a living selling stories to the tabloids, always has her back, and her roommate Kara, who is chasing fame a-la-Kardashian's always keeps her entertained. At an industry party, Nicola runs into superstar Seamus O'Riordan, who sweeps Nicola off of her feet. Seamus has a secret, however, that could ruin his career and his growing relationship with Nicola if the truth gets out.A fun read if this is your sort of thing. I definitely lol-ed at some parts. I'd say it's the perfect beach read.
    more
  • Lauren
    June 24, 2017
    A great summer pool, beach, plane, train, boat or even couch read! I was a little nervous when I saw reality to celeb Kim what's her face and her daughter promoting it but I read the synopsis and thought it sounded like a fun easy read so I gave it a shot. Only 380 pages so it doesn't drag out. A little sad it didn't have a happier ending but all in all I'm satisfied with the story and hope that there might be a sequel! Nicola is a good protagonist and I like Billy and Gaynor too. Kara I could d A great summer pool, beach, plane, train, boat or even couch read! I was a little nervous when I saw reality to celeb Kim what's her face and her daughter promoting it but I read the synopsis and thought it sounded like a fun easy read so I gave it a shot. Only 380 pages so it doesn't drag out. A little sad it didn't have a happier ending but all in all I'm satisfied with the story and hope that there might be a sequel! Nicola is a good protagonist and I like Billy and Gaynor too. Kara I could do without. And Seamus who couldn't love a handsome Scot? Pretty sure O'Riordan is an Irish name though... If you're looking to entertain yourself with some faux Hollywood scandals and a bit of sex and romance than this is the summer read for you!
    more
  • Rick eich
    June 25, 2017
    Loved it. This book is SO Hollywood from start to finish. And I'm talking about the Hollywood most people don't know about. Trust me when i say its not all glam and glitz like the magazines make it out to be. It all starts out innocently enough and then wham, Hollywood sideswipes the best of em. You might be next lol. If you're in the right place at the right time anything can happen. Wow you might get lucky and even meet a star. Anyways I'm not going to spoil this one. Its definitely worth rea Loved it. This book is SO Hollywood from start to finish. And I'm talking about the Hollywood most people don't know about. Trust me when i say its not all glam and glitz like the magazines make it out to be. It all starts out innocently enough and then wham, Hollywood sideswipes the best of em. You might be next lol. If you're in the right place at the right time anything can happen. Wow you might get lucky and even meet a star. Anyways I'm not going to spoil this one. Its definitely worth reading so you can find out yourself.
    more
  • Paul Amirault
    June 8, 2017
    Los Angeles finally gets the “Tales of the City” treatmentWith echoes of “Notting Hill,” “The Devil Wears Prada” (movie version), and “Wag the Dog”—as well as Armistead Maupin’s beloved “Tales of the City” books—Kevin Dickson and Jack Ketsoyan’s new novel, "Blind Item," is a hilarious insider look at the Hollywood scene—with all its glittering and garish parts. The plot follows three twentysomething friends trying to make it in the entertainment capital of the world—without destroying their mora Los Angeles finally gets the “Tales of the City” treatmentWith echoes of “Notting Hill,” “The Devil Wears Prada” (movie version), and “Wag the Dog”—as well as Armistead Maupin’s beloved “Tales of the City” books—Kevin Dickson and Jack Ketsoyan’s new novel, "Blind Item," is a hilarious insider look at the Hollywood scene—with all its glittering and garish parts. The plot follows three twentysomething friends trying to make it in the entertainment capital of the world—without destroying their moral compasses. This gives the writers an opportunity to shine a spotlight on Tinseltown’s underbelly—and the outrageous parties, secret fetishes, celebrity coddling and strange alliances that routinely play out behind the scenes. But the book really hits its delicious stride when it focuses on the thrilling game of one-upsmanship waged by savvy industry publicists against their adversaries (both paparazzi and competitor), as they struggle for power and the right to control “the story.”The writing is intelligent, incisive, and often, laugh out loud funny. The characters are well-drawn and likable—even the most roguish among them. And while settling for a straight-up "Cinderella" tale might have been an easier path for Dickson and Ketsoyan to take, happily, they opted for realism instead—which makes "Blind Item" an engaging page-turner until the very end.Five stars!
    more
  • Julie
    May 14, 2017
    I liked that this book showed Hollywood and the publist's job. This was certainly a NA book . There was parties, drinking, drugs, secret hook up and a romance. I loved Billy , and Kara such good friends who are also dealing with their issues. Almost reminded me of a Jackie Collins novel with all the smut of Hollywood.
    more
  • Morgan
    June 23, 2017
    Can't wait for the sequel
  • Jill
    June 25, 2017
    Abandoned quickly. Maybe I've read too many of these but even Jackie Collins' were better.
  • Sarah H. M.
    June 17, 2017
    So. Much. Fun.
  • Aline E
    June 30, 2017
    Great summer read. I love reality tv and this read lis like one.
Write a review