All the Ways the World Can End
Lenny (short for Eleanor) feels like the world is about to end. Her best friend is moving to New York City to attend Julliard and her dad has terminal cancer. To cope with her stress Lenny is making a list of all the ways the world can end—designer pathogens, blood moon prophecies, alien invasion—and stockpiling supplies in a bunker in the backyard. Then she starts to develop feelings for her dad's very nice young doctor—and she thinks he may have feelings for her too. Spoiler alert: he doesn't. But a more age-appropriate love interest might. In a time of complete uncertainty, one thing's for sure: Lenny's about to see how everything is ending and beginning. All at the same time.

All the Ways the World Can End Details

TitleAll the Ways the World Can End
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherFarrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN0374304254
ISBN-139780374304256
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Fiction, Contemporary

All the Ways the World Can End Review

  • Tissy
    June 6, 2017
    DNF.I really tried to complete this but the MC is extremely self absorbed and selfish which makes it hard to get into. But then again so are her mother and sister and this is despite the father dying of cancer. It may very well be that her callousness is purposeful but their is nothing edgy or dark about her like Gillian Flynn's character to keep me invested. Instead it just comes off bratty and annoying. The writing is good though so I think others might appreciate this on a level I couldn't.
    more
  • Mandy
    June 21, 2017
    DNF @ 13%*I won this in a Goodreads giveaway - thanks so much for the publisher for sending me over a copy!*I'm not really sure what to say about this one. This was one of the books that I added during a mindless Goodreads adding spiral. So when I won this, I was super excited but also sort of confused because I had no clue what to expect. What I got wasn't anywhere close to what I thought it was going to be. The first issue was that I felt bored. Like, really bored. A lot of the events together DNF @ 13%*I won this in a Goodreads giveaway - thanks so much for the publisher for sending me over a copy!*I'm not really sure what to say about this one. This was one of the books that I added during a mindless Goodreads adding spiral. So when I won this, I was super excited but also sort of confused because I had no clue what to expect. What I got wasn't anywhere close to what I thought it was going to be. The first issue was that I felt bored. Like, really bored. A lot of the events together just kind of...went. Like, I didn't feel any connection to what was going on. There were only two events that I really remember in the book - Lenny dealing with her flushing her father's wounds from cancer and going out to lunch to some place with a lobster. Was there anything more? I really have no clue. I read this book about a week ago, and I got nothing. I don't remember anyone's name or what happened or anything. Just anything. The second issue that I had was the voice meshing up with the tone of the book. The book has a very sarcastic, black humor type of feel to it. However, when dealing with the material, it just didn't seem to fit. Like, her father is having some super intense cancer consequences, and we literally spent like three paragraphs on nuts and her being super sarcastic about them. And everyone was so selfish. I did like the addition of the list of all the ways the world can end, but it felt like it was something that was just tagged on to make the book different, for me. I think it had a lot of potential to be good, but I think I gave up too early to see it fleshed out. No crowns since I DNF'ed and a Snow White rating!
    more
  • Stella Maria
    June 24, 2017
    "Nobody was safe. Nothing lasted. Never, in the history of time, could we slow or stop ourselves from self-destruction."Setting: 3 out of 5 ✩✩✩The format of the book was interesting. I liked how each chapter began with an explanation of possible ways the world can end, but the topics themselves weren't captivating. Writing: 2 out of 5 ✩✩Oh my darling, I SIMPLY COULDN'T DO IT. I really wanted to like it, but I felt like the MC was trying to hard to be cool..? I loved the small bits of diversity a "Nobody was safe. Nothing lasted. Never, in the history of time, could we slow or stop ourselves from self-destruction."Setting: 3 out of 5 ✩✩✩The format of the book was interesting. I liked how each chapter began with an explanation of possible ways the world can end, but the topics themselves weren't captivating. Writing: 2 out of 5 ✩✩Oh my darling, I SIMPLY COULDN'T DO IT. I really wanted to like it, but I felt like the MC was trying to hard to be cool..? I loved the small bits of diversity and mental health incorporated. I liked how the character is very factual and refuses to succumb to grief, but that was probably one of the biggest problems for me, too. Most of the writing felt like dramatic ranting as opposed to a novel. It's very sarcastic, which I usually appreciate, but not this much.Character development: 2 out of 5 ✩✩I'm not sure if Lenny grew out of her teenage self, but halfway through, I couldn't do it anymore. There were parts of her that I saw in myself - the parts where she felt the burden placed on her - but the whole romance aspect was foreign to me. I felt as if the sarcasm and humor was a fascade, where she was lying to herself and the reader. Though most of the writing was blunt, I don't think it was honest to its readers until the very end.Plot / storyline: 2 out of 5 ✩✩(view spoiler)[Every time Dr. Ganesh came into the picture, it was super awkward. Then once I understood why, it got even worse.. (hide spoiler)]Theme message: 3 out of 5 ✩✩✩Dying is a reality we all must face, but it shouldn't make living any less worth it.2.4 stars ✩✩
    more
  • Teresa
    April 19, 2017
    Lenny is trying her hardest to keep it together, even though it feels like she has no support. Her father is dying, her mother is constantly at work (or trying to push a new, clean eating diet on her family) and her older sister has run away from it all to college. Without any support, Lenny clings to the attention she gets from her father's young doctor, a doctor that is keeping their relationship purely platonic. Lenny broke my heart throughout this book but she was always able to put it back Lenny is trying her hardest to keep it together, even though it feels like she has no support. Her father is dying, her mother is constantly at work (or trying to push a new, clean eating diet on her family) and her older sister has run away from it all to college. Without any support, Lenny clings to the attention she gets from her father's young doctor, a doctor that is keeping their relationship purely platonic. Lenny broke my heart throughout this book but she was always able to put it back together piece by piece. I could only imagine what it would be like to be in her shoes. Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC!
    more
  • Emma (AccioEmmasBooks)
    June 5, 2017
    Eleanor (known as Lenny) is obsessed with researching ways the world could possibly end; viruses, ebola, tsunamis, alien invasion. This gives Lenny a sense of control, in fact its the only control she thinks she has. Lenny's dad has cancer, her sister is away at college, her best friend Julian is graduating early to go to college and her mum is overly happy. Her only hope is her dad's young and attractive doctor. Lenny has feelings for said doctor and is sure he can create a miracle to save her Eleanor (known as Lenny) is obsessed with researching ways the world could possibly end; viruses, ebola, tsunamis, alien invasion. This gives Lenny a sense of control, in fact its the only control she thinks she has. Lenny's dad has cancer, her sister is away at college, her best friend Julian is graduating early to go to college and her mum is overly happy. Her only hope is her dad's young and attractive doctor. Lenny has feelings for said doctor and is sure he can create a miracle to save her dad. There will be a full review up on my blog which you can read here Review: All the Ways the World Can End. I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was a great portrayal of different ways people cope with cancer and death. I nearly cried at the end of the book and I think it literally broke my heart. Lenny was so flawed but that is exactly why I loved her. This wasn't a cheesy book where one person has cancer but everything is completely fine. I feel like this has a more accurate portrayal on how people can cope with cancer and the other people in the situation (the family).
    more
  • Ms.Kim
    February 15, 2017
    Heartbreaking, in a good way. Some parts made me uncomfortable, and were hard to read, but that's kind of like life. I liked how the book deals with the hard issue of dealing with the inevitability and fear around death. That sounds morbid, but I just mean that I appreciate the fact that the book doesn't skirt the hard stuff...
    more
  • Rosemary
    May 7, 2017
    My brother-in-law and father both died of cancer within two years of each other. At some point shortly after both of those events, my sister and I took my nephew to see the movie "Up." Not a great idea, since someone dies, OF CANCER, in the first ten minutes of the film. Needless to say, we were both complete wrecks, and decided afterward that there needs to be an alternative rating system for movies that includes a rating of "C" for cancer. There's no spoiler in saying that this book needs to h My brother-in-law and father both died of cancer within two years of each other. At some point shortly after both of those events, my sister and I took my nephew to see the movie "Up." Not a great idea, since someone dies, OF CANCER, in the first ten minutes of the film. Needless to say, we were both complete wrecks, and decided afterward that there needs to be an alternative rating system for movies that includes a rating of "C" for cancer. There's no spoiler in saying that this book needs to have that "C" rating. Actually, it doesn't need that kind of warning at all, since official synopses of the book say straight up that the narrator Eleanor's dad is dying of colon cancer. As if that weren't enough, her best friend, Julian, is getting ready to move from upstate New York to San Francisco to attend a prestigious dance school, Eleanor's sister is away at college, and Eleanor's OCD leads her to engage in some pretty self-destructive behaviors. As heartbreaking as all of that sounds (and it is), there's some humor here, as well. Eleanor and Julian are both involved in an improvisational performance-art production at school, whose flaky director conceives of it as a mini-"Vagina Monologues" show focused on the life and loves of Georgia O'Keefe. It's as weird and disastrous as it sounds.And one of the ways Eleanor copes with her stress is by reading up on, as the title tells us, "all the ways the world can end," which are also (usually) presented in a sarcastic, funny manner. Eleanor's obsession with end-of-the world scenarios aligns this book with Shaun David Hutchinson's _We Are the Ants_, whose protagonist also imagines a range of apocalyptic scenarios. But I find Nora a far more sympathetic character. Maybe too sympathetic for me, personally: my mother had cancer my senior year of high school (she recovered and is still kicking 30+ years later, thank god), so I was completely empathetic when Nora talked about how she kept super-busy and avoided going home so as not to have to "go home and act like everything was fine or manageable...to go home and just wait for something to get better. Or worse."Unsurprisingly, this strategy doesn't work for the long haul, and as her father gets more ill, Nora gets more desperate and acts in increasingly bizarre ways. Her unraveling is believable, but disturbing--some young readers might find Nora's head too uncomfortable a place to be. Although even in Nora's most chaotic moments, author Abby Sher manages to inject some humor. For example, Nora's pursuit of her father's oncologist is equal parts mortifying and hilarious; even Nora knows Dr. Ganesh must see her as "the troublesome daughter with misplaced outrage, chronic halitosis, and obsessive-compulsive, continuously annoying idiosyncrasies with a dollop of Electra complex on top."None of this ends well. But Sher does manage to bring a very sad story to a touching and optimistic end. And _All the Ways the World Can End_ handles the magnitude of grief in a far more realistic way than, say, Carol Weston's recent _Speed of Life_. This is a tearjerker, for sure, and again, some young readers might not like the emotional intensity. I don't know if I'd teach it in my YA literature class, but I will definitely recommend it to students who enjoy writers like John Green but who also want that kind of story with a female narrator.
    more
  • Rebecca
    May 24, 2017
    This book is an emotional, erratic (and slightly reminiscent of Bridget Jones if she was young and had a poorly dad) rollercoaster. Eleanor, or Lenny to you and me, is going through a lot right now. Her dad has rectal cancer, his doctor is super cute and she's SURE he fancies her (he so doesn't but she royally embarrasses herself regardless as all of us have done in our time! Bad memories!) and her best friend is leaving town. So how does she cope? She doesn't really. She makes a bit of a mess, This book is an emotional, erratic (and slightly reminiscent of Bridget Jones if she was young and had a poorly dad) rollercoaster. Eleanor, or Lenny to you and me, is going through a lot right now. Her dad has rectal cancer, his doctor is super cute and she's SURE he fancies her (he so doesn't but she royally embarrasses herself regardless as all of us have done in our time! Bad memories!) and her best friend is leaving town. So how does she cope? She doesn't really. She makes a bit of a mess, along a slightly destructive path, and all whilst making lots of lists. Even before all of this Lenny was a list maker, but now her lists of how stuff in the World might someday be the cause of our eventual doom have become a coping mechanism for her. This might be an incredibly sad topic (expect plenty of tear jerker moments), but this is actually a pretty humorous book. Lenny is so funny, very silly and does a lot of things I think we've all done and regretted years later! It almost feels like a nostalgic read to be honest. It is sometimes quite a rushed narrative, and by this I mean that Lenny almost has a super fast, rushed pace of narrating, but it makes her all the more likeable. It can be a little confusing at times, but it's worth it.On a more sensitive note, this book deals very compassionately with cancer, and how people manage together to deal with such an overwhelming diagnosis. This will be close to home for many readers, but the author certainly nails what it feels like to be utterly helpless but entirely determined to find some way, any way, to help your loved one. I can't explain how perfectly they capture, through Lenny, how someone might feel during those moments.A likeable character, a painfully honest representation of what it feels to swim against the tide when faced with the imminent death of someone you love, but also an overwhelmingly heart warming and positive message at the end. Lenny is a goofball, but she's a goofball in a position nobody would wish upon anyone, and her story is worth a read. ARC provided free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Rebekah Crain
    June 8, 2017
    Lenny's world has just come crashing down around her. Her dad's cancer isn't getting better- it's actually getting much worse. Her workaholic mother has become totally checked out emotionally, and her sister is away at college. This leaves Lenny struggling to oversee her dad's medical care on her own while juggling her own self imposed teenaged drama.All the Ways the World Can End is a poignant story that will make you consider your own mortality, if only momentarily. For you see, long before he Lenny's world has just come crashing down around her. Her dad's cancer isn't getting better- it's actually getting much worse. Her workaholic mother has become totally checked out emotionally, and her sister is away at college. This leaves Lenny struggling to oversee her dad's medical care on her own while juggling her own self imposed teenaged drama.All the Ways the World Can End is a poignant story that will make you consider your own mortality, if only momentarily. For you see, long before her dad's diagnosis, Lenny was already obsessed with the array of cataclysmic events that could one day bring the Earth to its knees. A stickler for facts and research she has a theory for every scenario. Add to the mix her OCD and the fact that she's watching her father die slowly tips Lenny's obsessions into overdrive causing her to have to stop and evaluate her life. I have to say I didn't have any idea what to expect from book, but I'm happy I gave it a chance. All the characters, each with their own quirks; strengths; and weaknesses, drew me in to their stories. Even Lenny's teenage angst was written in such a way that I didn't find it obnoxious. Most of all, however, Lenny's connection to her dad felt so powerfully written that it kind of broke me a little. Thanks to Ms Sher, the publisher, and NetGalley for giving me this review opportunity.
    more
  • Kathy Heare Watts
    June 27, 2017
    Lenny (a teenager) must deal with what she considers real life crisis, the end of the world, or at least it is when you are young. Lenny comes up with all these various apocalypse theories. The scenarios are endless.I won an advanced uncorrected proof copy of this book during a Goodreads giveaway. I am under no obligation to leave a review or rating and do so voluntarily. So that others may also enjoy this book, I am donating it to a senior assisted living facility.
    more
  • Grimdlewold
    May 26, 2017
    This book just wasn't for me unfortunately. It wasn't poorly written and in places it did made me smirk, but it was slow and no character was particularly interesting or caught my attention enough to keep me reading. The over the top feminist dance teacher Marty I thought was far too over done. She didn't need to be that far-fetched to get the same point across. I made it to 25%, but counted finish. (This copy was provided to me for free by NetGalley)
    more
  • Emma
    May 26, 2017
    I recieved a copy of this book from netgalley in exchange for an honest review. The story follows Lenny and the many ways she tries to cope with her fathers terminal cancer. In the beginning, the book didn't grab me but I stuck with it and I was so glad I did. The book doesn't skirt around the subject, showing exactly what happened, slowly building to acceptance from Lenny. I really enjoyed the book the more I got into it, getting invested in the characters. 4/5 stars.
    more
  • Stacey Bookerworm
    June 24, 2017
    All The Ways The World Can End was a massive disappointment. I read it on my kindle and I tried to make it to at least 50% of the way through but I ended up giving up on it at around 20% of the way through.Read more of my review here: http://www.bookerworm.com/reviews/135...
    more
  • Amber Loyacano
    June 16, 2017
    This books felt like it had two different stories going at all times and they never came together. I had to forced myself through the middle and I am glad I did because it did redeem itself a bit in the end.
  • Jenn
    March 15, 2017
    Read via a Netgalley ARCI LOVED this! It's sweet and funny and painful and just a great read. I love Lenny :) I do wish there had been more acknowledgment of her mental health issues and that they were better addressed, but overall, great little book.
    more
  • Bethany
    February 10, 2017
    This book was painful to read on many levels. I definitely felt the pain of the whole parent dying of cancer thing, but overshadowing all that: Lenny's behavior is a train wreck and she seems to have some serious mental health issues that are never recognized or addressed by anyone outside the boy she has a crush on making her promise to stop hurting herself. The Lenny from the beginning, middle, and end of the book felt like three different characters, and not in a positive "look at how the cha This book was painful to read on many levels. I definitely felt the pain of the whole parent dying of cancer thing, but overshadowing all that: Lenny's behavior is a train wreck and she seems to have some serious mental health issues that are never recognized or addressed by anyone outside the boy she has a crush on making her promise to stop hurting herself. The Lenny from the beginning, middle, and end of the book felt like three different characters, and not in a positive "look at how the character has grown and changed" kind of way.
    more
  • Jennifer Woodruff
    February 6, 2017
    Abby Sher's style is light and easily readable, even with heavy topics. I cringed along with Lenny, and though I couldn't immediately relate with her internal struggles, Sher's consistency and full understanding of the characters kept me invested.
  • Miriam Joy
    June 21, 2017
    Reading this book was a deeply stressful experience, mostly because I suffer from an overwhelming terror of mortality and the inevitable fact that people I care about will one day die keeps me up at night on a regular basis. And thinking of all the ways in which things could go catastrophically wrong and kill us all didn't help either, though I guess I should've seen that coming. I liked the end of the book better than some of the earlier parts, but Lenny's crush on her dad's doctor made me real Reading this book was a deeply stressful experience, mostly because I suffer from an overwhelming terror of mortality and the inevitable fact that people I care about will one day die keeps me up at night on a regular basis. And thinking of all the ways in which things could go catastrophically wrong and kill us all didn't help either, though I guess I should've seen that coming. I liked the end of the book better than some of the earlier parts, but Lenny's crush on her dad's doctor made me really uncomfortable and I felt like the book didn't really address the fact he was about twenty years older than her ENOUGH, you know? Also she said she was nine years old in 2010 which made me realise that I'M OLD and that's not helping with the mortality thing. I don't know. I'm stressed now. I don't think I could honestly say I enjoyed this because mostly it just put me on edge.
    more
  • alice (arctic books)
    June 21, 2017
    DNF @ 15%.I did enjoy the list of the ways the world can end and the little facts between each chapter, but I felt like that was the only aspect that I really enjoyed. It reminded me of WE ARE THE ANTS, which I absolutely loved, but I just felt like the pacing was unbelievably slow and plot bland. I did kind of relate to Lenny, but it wasn't enough to keep me reading. I do think that many people will find comfort in this book, but it wasn't for me. Thank you to the publisher for providing me wit DNF @ 15%.I did enjoy the list of the ways the world can end and the little facts between each chapter, but I felt like that was the only aspect that I really enjoyed. It reminded me of WE ARE THE ANTS, which I absolutely loved, but I just felt like the pacing was unbelievably slow and plot bland. I did kind of relate to Lenny, but it wasn't enough to keep me reading. I do think that many people will find comfort in this book, but it wasn't for me. Thank you to the publisher for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
Write a review