Now
This is my favorite cloud. . .because it's the one I am watching.This is my favorite tree. . .because it's the one where I'm swinging.This is my favorite tooth. . .because it's the one that is missing.Follow a little girl as she takes you on a tour through all of her favorite things, from the holes she digs to the hugs she gives.

Now Details

TitleNow
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherRoaring Brook Press
ISBN1626721378
ISBN-139781626721371
Number of pages32 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Picture Books, Storytime

Now Review

  • Steve Holden
    July 20, 2017
    This is a beautiful looking new book from Antoinette Portis. The cover pulls you in, and it makes you want to open it up and see what you need to be reading now! The message is simple, but powerful; live in the moment and make the most of everything in front of you. I'll have to check out her extensive list of books - I'm not familiar!
    more
  • Tina
    July 8, 2017
    Beautiful depiction of being right here, right now, and appreciating every moment of it!
  • Janet
    January 2, 2017
    What a lovely chronicle of the simple joys of being in the moment. I just love this.
  • Mary Lee
    July 16, 2017
    I love the message of staying in the moment.I love the pattern, and then the break in the pattern. (fits with what I just read in Vinton's Dynamic Teaching for Deeper Reading)I love the way there are two stories going on -- the one in the text and the one in the pictures.I love the way the cover is designed to make you open the book and look at the front and back together, as one. (I wonder what the illustrator wants me to understand about the title or the theme by doing that?)
    more
  • Kate
    July 19, 2017
    Another read through and I'm a bit more enamored with Portis' latest book. Cheery red endpapers to match the red leaf on the cover. The colors of the girl's clothing matches the favorite thing and always includes stripes. At the end, we see the mother with vertical stripes and the girl with her usual horizontal stripes. Warm color palette, objects both concrete (e.g., tree, worm) and less so (song, smell) are familiar and relate-able to children.
    more
  • Mary
    July 14, 2017
    Creatively presented book that introduces the idea of mindfulness and living in the present to children without being preachy. The illustrations are fabulous - a blend of brush strokes and full color, inviting readers into this richly adorned world. Lovely!
    more
  • Lynn
    July 20, 2017
    When someone asks me what my favorite book is, I often reply, "The one I'm reading now."This original story helps the reader stay in the moment and enjoy whatever is happening at the time.Full color simplistic illustrations done with sumi ink, brush, and bamboo stick; color was added digitally.
    more
  • Desiree
    July 15, 2017
    What a great way to communicate the important of being in the moment. The reader is invited to enjoy the pleasure of enjoying all of life's simple pleasures in a easy to understand format. The illustrations take center stage while the text operates as supporting cast members in this beautiful book. Great book for bookwalks, one on one reading, and bed time stories.
    more
  • Paige M
    July 3, 2017
    I feel like I personally need to read this one everyday and anchor myself firmly in the moment.
  • Pam
    July 11, 2017
    A celebration of the simple joys in the present moment.
  • Jillian Heise
    July 8, 2017
    This was beautiful, in illustration & sentiment. A lovely story to share with young ones in your life, or older ones to remind them to appreciate and live in the moment.
  • Amy
    July 18, 2017
    Good for adults to read, too!
  • Kim
    July 18, 2017
    LOVE the illustrations.
  • Katie Dicesare
    July 15, 2017
    Favorite things matter to children present in the moment.
  • Jesse
    July 21, 2017
    A wonderful homage to what we are seeing, hearing, feeling right NOW. The illustrations were lovely, too, though my favorite also graces the cover.
  • Mary Librarian
    May 11, 2017
    Simple, repetition of what her favorite things are.From advanced reader copy.
  • Earl
    July 10, 2017
    A sweet simple book that celebrates enjoying the moment.
  • Hannah
    December 14, 2016
    In a gloriously minimalist ode to the present moment, a girl catalogs all of her favorite things--from clouds to trees to hugs. The rhythmic repetition invites a read-aloud, and the pace of the book along with the vibrant yet spare illustrations encourages readers to move intentionally, savoring each tiny moment. If ever there was a meditation in book form, NOW is it.
    more
  • Laura
    January 28, 2017
    How like a child: each thing they're doing NOW is their favorite (or best, or most hated, etc.) and having a book that acknowledges that is wonderful. I do wish that part had been stressed a little more, but otherwise...ARC provided by publisher.
  • Mary
    January 26, 2017
    Loved this. Very simple but beautiful. Showing you how to live in the moment. Beautiful illustrations. Would love to see Portis illustrate a graphic novel.
  • Angela
    January 10, 2017
    With poetry like Alice Walker (There is a Flower at the Tip of My Nose Smelling Me) and Portis's always engaging illustrations this is sure to find a few followers among picture book aficionados.
  • Yesha
    December 28, 2016
    OMG. If I could love Antoinette Portis's books any MORE, I would. But really, I can't. Just read this.
Write a review