Wesley James Ruined My Life
Sixteen-year-old Quinn Hardwick’s having a rough summer. Her beloved grandmother has been put into a home, her dad’s gambling addiction has flared back up and now her worst enemy is back in town: Wesley James, former childhood friend—until he ruined her life, that is.So when Wesley is hired to work with her at Tudor Tymes, a medieval England themed restaurant, the last thing Quinn’s going to do is forgive and forget. She’s determined to remove him from her life and even the score all at once—by getting him fired.But getting rid of Wesley isn’t as easy as she’d hoped. When Quinn finds herself falling for him, she has to decide what she wants more: to get even, or to just get over it.

Wesley James Ruined My Life Details

TitleWesley James Ruined My Life
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJul 18th, 2017
PublisherSwoon Reads
ISBN1250123739
ISBN-139781250123732
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult, Romance

Wesley James Ruined My Life Review

  • Stacee
    February 12, 2017
    3.5 stars I am a sucker for the hate to love trope. It's one of my favorites and between that cover and the synopsis, I was sold.Quinn is a decent character. She's a good person, but everything is completely overshadowed by her need for revenge on Wesley James. Wesley seems like a nice guy. It didn't feel like we really got to know him since all of his interactions with Quinn are combative. There are a few other characters, but no one really stood out.Since Quinn was obsessed with something that 3.5 stars I am a sucker for the hate to love trope. It's one of my favorites and between that cover and the synopsis, I was sold.Quinn is a decent character. She's a good person, but everything is completely overshadowed by her need for revenge on Wesley James. Wesley seems like a nice guy. It didn't feel like we really got to know him since all of his interactions with Quinn are combative. There are a few other characters, but no one really stood out.Since Quinn was obsessed with something that happened 5 years ago, literally the entire book is about the fallout. It did get a bit old and sadly, I didn't quite see the transformation of Quinn's hate to love. The last couple of chapters were exactly what I wanted, but they felt rushed.Don't get me wrong, I did enjoy the book. Overall, it was a quick and cute read. I just wish there was a little more of Quinn and Wesley together.**Huge thanks to Swoon Read for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Alyssa
    June 24, 2017
    ***Review to come***
  • Marochka
    March 17, 2017
    Эта книга ужасно близка мне по духу, так как я, как и героиня, просто обожаю Лондон. Книга смешная, забавная и очень-очень милая. Что называется «летняя романтика». Она легкая, с такой книгой в руках очень хорошо расслабиться и отдохнуть. Погрузиться в атмосферу веселья и романтики. И как же дико мне захотелось снова куда-нибудь поехать, далеко-далеко… Ой, ладно, будем честными, снова хочу в Лондон. В книге нет драмы, нет «тяжелых судеб», да как таковых проблем даже особо нет… Но при этом она де Эта книга ужасно близка мне по духу, так как я, как и героиня, просто обожаю Лондон. Книга смешная, забавная и очень-очень милая. Что называется «летняя романтика». Она легкая, с такой книгой в руках очень хорошо расслабиться и отдохнуть. Погрузиться в атмосферу веселья и романтики. И как же дико мне захотелось снова куда-нибудь поехать, далеко-далеко… Ой, ладно, будем честными, снова хочу в Лондон. В книге нет драмы, нет «тяжелых судеб», да как таковых проблем даже особо нет… Но при этом она действительно «цепляет» этой своей простотой, она на несколько часов буквально вырвет читателя из серых будней и поместит его в мир романтики и дружбы.Очень рекомендую.Персонажи очень милые, немного наивные, но идеальные для такого романа. Искренние, забавные и добрые. Героиня была мне очень близка. Я так же, как и она, одержима Лондном. Была, до того, как побывала там. После поездки я стала, как и, уверена, Куин, любить его еще больше. Доходило до смешного: я в первый день после двух ночных перелетов и 80 часов без сна, точно так же, как и Куин, пока вся остальная часть моей группы пошла в отель отдыхать, решила, что я спать буду дома, и направилась к Биг-Бену и другим достопримечательностям. Каково же было мое удивление, когда я прочитала в эпилоге точно такие же мысли героини. В общем, герои мне понравились. Для меня они особо реалистичны были.Очень-очень простой язык, читается невероятно легко. А уж размер книги… она крошечная. Я прочла ее буквально за 1,5 часа (без преувеличений). Но, божечки, какая же она милая. Вот прямо то, что нельзя назвать иначе, кроме как «милотаааа».
    more
  • cyborgcinderella
    April 23, 2017
    This book was ADORABLE. Seriously, it was SO CUTE and I'm so glad I traded for this book!I started reading this book around midnight last night and even though I was sleepy, I kept saying "oh, I'll just read one more chapter." Well, after a while I figured I might as well just finish it, so I did. I don't regret it though, because it was super cute and gave me all the feels!I thought the developing relationship between Quinn and Wesley was really cute! I was definitely rooting for them and I rea This book was ADORABLE. Seriously, it was SO CUTE and I'm so glad I traded for this book!I started reading this book around midnight last night and even though I was sleepy, I kept saying "oh, I'll just read one more chapter." Well, after a while I figured I might as well just finish it, so I did. I don't regret it though, because it was super cute and gave me all the feels!I thought the developing relationship between Quinn and Wesley was really cute! I was definitely rooting for them and I really liked how their romance happened. Wesley seemed like such a genuinely nice guy and it was SO obvious that he liked Quinn, even if she couldn't see it. He was incredibly sweet, but he wasn't perfect, and I liked that. I also liked Erin. I thought she was a good friend, but that she was also just a generally good person. She didn't really approve of Quinn's plan, so she would support her in some ways, but didn't encourage her to enact revenge on Wesley. She was really cool and I liked her.The only thing I didn't like was that Quinn kept blaming Wesley for her parents' divorce, and even though she explained why at the end, it still annoyed me because some random kid is not going to manage to break up a marriage unless that marriage was already falling apart. But that was kind of my only issue with this book. (view spoiler)[Oh, and that there was kind of a love triangle/square thing going on. It reminded me of Anna and the French Kiss, especially the part where Quinn was using the guy who liked her to try and get back at Wesley and to try to put her feelings for Wesley aside. That's exactly what Anna does in AatFK and it bothered me so much in that book, and it bothered me in this one too. Thankfully, that didn't last too long and it was mostly well resolved, so it was okay for me. (hide spoiler)]Overall, this book was a lot of fun and just really sweet! I would definitely recommend it if you're looking for something cute and quick.
    more
  • Katy Upperman
    June 19, 2017
    This forthcoming debut was everything I was hoping for in a summer read: voice-y, witty, and swoony, but with depth I always appreciate. Quinn's summer is becoming quite a mess: her grandmother is suffering from Alzheimer's, her father has gambling addiction that's costing him a lot more than money, she's lost her shot at a band trip to England, and her friend-turned-nemisis, Wesley James, is back in Seattle after years spent in Portland. Quinn makes it her mission to punish Wesley for a mistake This forthcoming debut was everything I was hoping for in a summer read: voice-y, witty, and swoony, but with depth I always appreciate. Quinn's summer is becoming quite a mess: her grandmother is suffering from Alzheimer's, her father has gambling addiction that's costing him a lot more than money, she's lost her shot at a band trip to England, and her friend-turned-nemisis, Wesley James, is back in Seattle after years spent in Portland. Quinn makes it her mission to punish Wesley for a mistake he made years before, but along the way, she starts to realize that maybe she doesn't hate him quite as much as she'd like. Quinn and Welsey have fantastic banter and flirty chemistry, but their relationship is deeper than that, too, and I loved watching it rekindle, and then develop into more. I also loved this story's setting: Seattle and, more specifically, Quinn and Wesley's workplace, Tudor Tymes, which is full of charm and ridiculousness. Pick this one up in a few weeks if you're looking for a fun, smart, romantic poolside read.
    more
  • abi❁
    June 14, 2017
    It was a really cute summer read, I really loved it! This is the kind of book that I will re-read all the time.
  • Jaime Arkin
    March 26, 2017
    Not as swoony as I had hoped for, but definitely a quick and cute read! This book however, had the unfortunate luck to be read after what will probably be at the top of the list of my favorite reads this year which means I was probably tougher on it than I might have been otherwise. Quinn Hardwick and Wesley James used to be inseparable ... until he up and ruined her life and then moved to another state, and Quinn still hasn't forgiven him. She feels like every big thing that has gone wrong over Not as swoony as I had hoped for, but definitely a quick and cute read! This book however, had the unfortunate luck to be read after what will probably be at the top of the list of my favorite reads this year which means I was probably tougher on it than I might have been otherwise. Quinn Hardwick and Wesley James used to be inseparable ... until he up and ruined her life and then moved to another state, and Quinn still hasn't forgiven him. She feels like every big thing that has gone wrong over the years can be attributed to Wes and the thing he did just before he left town. To top everything off, Quinn's grandmother has alzheimer's and she's now in a nursing home. Her grandmother instilled a love of London and she has the chance of a lifetime - go to London with her band ... that is if she can save up the money to pay for it. With her father's gambling addiction and her mother working hard just to make ends meet, she has to earn her way and she's working at a restaurant called Tudor Times, and Quinn actually likes it on most days... that is until Wesley James comes back to town and gets a job working at her restaurant. So... yeah... it kind of seems like there is a lot of things going on here, and you're not wrong. Honestly though, the story flowed pretty well with all the things happening. The story itself reads really quick. What I found a little hard to suspend belief about is the idea that Quinn is 16 and still blaming a boy for the divorce of her parents and the subsequent "bad" things that happen. (her father's gambling and inability to keep a job etc etc.) I felt like that had her coming across as incredibly juvenile and way younger than her actual age. I also felt that the evolution of her relationship with Wesley James was incredibly rushed and a little bit unbelievable... It was just kind of ... fast. I don't want to get into too much detail about that simply because it might spoil something, but needless to say, I liked Wesley, I just didn't buy the relationship between these two.Overall a super cute read and if you're looking for something sweet definitely check this one out! Thank you to Swoon Reads for an early copy in exchange for my honest thoughts.
    more
  • Eileen (BookCatPin)
    June 19, 2017
    Wesley James Ruined My Life is a fun, light and quick read. I love a great rivalry love story and this one definitely hit all the marks for me.I love the setting: Tudor Tymes is amazing. The restaurant sounds like such a fascinating place to eat at; the cast of characters make me want to visit. I may be a little old for its usual crowd but I'd 100% go if I'm ever within range of such a place!Quinn and Wesley were childhood besties before he did something unforgivable (in Quinn's eyes) at his mov Wesley James Ruined My Life is a fun, light and quick read. I love a great rivalry love story and this one definitely hit all the marks for me.I love the setting: Tudor Tymes is amazing. The restaurant sounds like such a fascinating place to eat at; the cast of characters make me want to visit. I may be a little old for its usual crowd but I'd 100% go if I'm ever within range of such a place!Quinn and Wesley were childhood besties before he did something unforgivable (in Quinn's eyes) at his moving-away party. "Relationships are built on trust. Without that, you've got nothing." (ARC, p188). Years later when Wesley comes back into her life, she concocts a revenge plan to get rid of him. I enjoyed watching Quinn discover things about herself. It was quite an emotional ride but one she was able to learn from.Ms. Honeybourn brought up a variety of teen issues. I was surprised. While the matters were mostly on the lighter side, I appreciate their inclusion and how they're ongoing not easily solved matters. Everything was not tied up in a neat bow by the end. The realistic way the author has her characters deal with their problems made for a well-rounded story.The reasoning behind Quinn's hatred for Wesley was a tad immature for me to get behind. It seemed rather silly for her to be holding such a grudge after all the time that's passed. Even her best friend repeatedly tried to tell her that. Having said that, given the timing and the outcome of what happened back then, I can see why Wesley's supposed betrayal hit her so hard. I thought her reactions and actions were appropriate for her age.I'm so glad the story wasn't overly dramatic or frustrating. It was fun and even dealt with a few mature issues. Wesley James Ruined My Life is a book I definitely recommend for the summer!
    more
  • Hazel (Stay Bookish)
    June 13, 2017
    Actual rating: 3.5- characters & romance = silly and cute- liked set up of Tudor Tymes- thoughtful grandmother with Alzheimer's *wipes tear*- resolution with gambler dad was pretty touching and hopeful- in summary: light & fluffy contemp
  • Tiffany
    June 21, 2017
    actual rating 3.5this is super cute and light! full review to come.
  • Sabina
    March 19, 2017
    'Wesley James Ruined My Life' ia a quite short novel about holding a grudge, forgiveness, love, loss and all things connected with flaws of our human nature. Quinn and Wesley used to be best of friends but Quinn as a child misjudged some of the situations that have highly influenced her life. Will she go past all the things she thought were true and hurtful? I find this novel really down to earth with all the problems we struggle with every day.
    more
  • Maggie
    March 18, 2017
    I can't even put into words how happy this book made my heart. As a former clarinet player, as a former high schooler whose grandma suffered with Alzheimer's, I identified so hard with Quinn. Everything about it was incredibly relatable. Not only was the setting adorable (who doesn't love a medieval themed restaurant?!) but each character was fleshed out in a completely natural way. Watching Wesley and Quinn's love-to-hate-to-love relationship and all of the obstacles that come along with it was I can't even put into words how happy this book made my heart. As a former clarinet player, as a former high schooler whose grandma suffered with Alzheimer's, I identified so hard with Quinn. Everything about it was incredibly relatable. Not only was the setting adorable (who doesn't love a medieval themed restaurant?!) but each character was fleshed out in a completely natural way. Watching Wesley and Quinn's love-to-hate-to-love relationship and all of the obstacles that come along with it was truly a joy. I gobbled it up in one sitting.
    more
  • Princess Bookie
    April 6, 2017
    My Thoughts: When I saw the summary of this one, I figured it was right up my alley! Sounded interested and a fun light read.We are introduced to Quinn who is working a medieval themed restaurant and it’s a real riot. It's a job and she needs money right now. It isn’t perfect but it's okay for her. She goes to work, does her job, and goes home and copes with the rest of her life. She is dealing with her grandmother not remembering her and being put in a nursing home. She has a tough life.It gets My Thoughts: When I saw the summary of this one, I figured it was right up my alley! Sounded interested and a fun light read.We are introduced to Quinn who is working a medieval themed restaurant and it’s a real riot. It's a job and she needs money right now. It isn’t perfect but it's okay for her. She goes to work, does her job, and goes home and copes with the rest of her life. She is dealing with her grandmother not remembering her and being put in a nursing home. She has a tough life.It gets even more tough when a new hire comes along. His name is Wesley and Quinn has quite the past with him. She basically hates his guts and doesn’t want anything to do with him because of their past. I really liked seeing these two quarrel. I really wanted to support Quinn and hate him from the get go, but I just couldn’t. All I could see was this sweet boy who was trying. I liked the way things went along and I liked seeing their interactions. I really did like the characters for the most part but I did just have a hard time really connecting with them for some reason.I’m glad I read this one even though I did have some issues with following along with the story! However, I did like the different pranks going on! Overall: I liked this one but maybe a little less than I thought I would. It was still a fast light read and I did like certain parts more than others. I’d still recommend it, it probably just isn’t my top read of the year! But you also have to remember, contemps are my cup of tea!! So I read a lot of them! Cover: Love it! Love how fun and cute it looks. What I’d Give It: 3/5 Cupcakes_______Taken From Princess Bookiewww.princessbookie.com
    more
  • Katie
    April 28, 2016
    I read an early copy of this book and absolutely loved it. The setting is unique and the characters are realistic. I haven't read a story this fun, flirty, and hilarious in a long time. It's the perfect summer read!
  • Cariadne
    June 26, 2017
    Despite the predictable story and the repetitive cursing of Wesley James (almost as if the author loooved her title so much, she needed to repeat it lest she forget her train of thought as she kept writing), it was an entertaining enough story. Some elements felt a bit forced and manipulative (i.e., gambler dad) and I could imagine a ton of folks I know hating Quinn's mission to ruin Wes. However, I think the author demonstrates enough writing skill that will hopefully mature/improve in future s Despite the predictable story and the repetitive cursing of Wesley James (almost as if the author loooved her title so much, she needed to repeat it lest she forget her train of thought as she kept writing), it was an entertaining enough story. Some elements felt a bit forced and manipulative (i.e., gambler dad) and I could imagine a ton of folks I know hating Quinn's mission to ruin Wes. However, I think the author demonstrates enough writing skill that will hopefully mature/improve in future stories. 2.5 stars out of 5 stars.
    more
  • Abby
    May 9, 2017
    Quinn works at Tudor Tymes, a restaurant and she is saving up money to go on a band trip to England. Wesley James moves back to town and gets a job with Tudor Tymes. Quinn makes it her mission to get Wesley fired because she blames him for causing her parents' divorce. Quinn doesn't expect to fall for Wesley and she has to decide to stick to her mission or give in to her feelings. Quinn's grandma has alzheimer's and her dad has a gambling problem.This is a very quick read!
    more
  • Victoria
    June 8, 2017
    I give this book a 3.5 out of 5 stars.Aspects of the cover are not cohesive with the story, and the girlfriend storyline is completely ignored after being introduced for no reason.Also the best friend character was not really dwelled upon and just cast aside after a few scenes, she was ultimetly useless to further the plot. Besides that it was the perfect summer read.
    more
  • Briana Burlingham
    June 25, 2017
    *I received a free ARC of this book in a Goodreads giveaway*I enjoyed this book so much! I felt angry through a lot of the first part of the book, because that's how the main character was feeling, but that just made me want to keep reading, so I could get to the wonderful happy feelings that happen! I'm so glad I had the opportunity to read this book!
    more
  • Gina
    May 9, 2017
    Cute, fast read full of Quinn crushing on a boy that she thinks ruined her life. The characters are adorable, and girls are going to like Wesley and all his charming traits. This is a good clean read, and a great starter romance for middle school.
  • Teresa
    March 21, 2017
    Quinn's already bad streak just got worse, thanks to Wesley James (aka her mortal enemy) returning back to her town and getting a job with her at the medieval themed restaurant. With Wesley back in her life, Quinn is determined to hurt him just as much as he hurt her...so let the planning begin! Along the way, Quinn may have to re-think her plans though because try as she might, she simply can't stop falling for him!A fun new voice in YA lit and I can't wait to see what she comes out with next!T Quinn's already bad streak just got worse, thanks to Wesley James (aka her mortal enemy) returning back to her town and getting a job with her at the medieval themed restaurant. With Wesley back in her life, Quinn is determined to hurt him just as much as he hurt her...so let the planning begin! Along the way, Quinn may have to re-think her plans though because try as she might, she simply can't stop falling for him!A fun new voice in YA lit and I can't wait to see what she comes out with next!Thanks to NetGalley for the ARC!
    more
  • Seanean
    March 10, 2017
    It's summer and Quinn has nearly reached her goal to fund her band trip to England. She's always wanted to go there and, with her English grandmother now in a hospice so that she can get care as she suffers from Alzheimer's, Quinn feels the need to go more than ever.But Quinn's simple summer of band practice and working at Tudor Tymes becomes complicated when the boy she blames for ruining her parents' marriage returns to town after five years away. Not only is Wesley James back, but she can't s It's summer and Quinn has nearly reached her goal to fund her band trip to England. She's always wanted to go there and, with her English grandmother now in a hospice so that she can get care as she suffers from Alzheimer's, Quinn feels the need to go more than ever.But Quinn's simple summer of band practice and working at Tudor Tymes becomes complicated when the boy she blames for ruining her parents' marriage returns to town after five years away. Not only is Wesley James back, but she can't seem to get away from him. He's everywhere.Things go from bad to worse when her gambling father borrows her money to pay back a bookie and ends up making another bad bet instead. Now Wesley James is in band, making tons of money in tips at Tudor Tymes (while Quinn does all the work), and he's going to England. Basically, the guy who ruined her life is taking her life and leaving her behind to suffer.But Quinn won't let him get away with it...Final thoughts: Yet another cotton candy rom-com book. It's cute enough, but the ending feels rushed, like the author reached her word minimum at some point and just jammed in the last chapter or two with little regard to detail. This is an early ARC, so things might change, but that end just felt a little off from the rest. On a separate note, that cover is really wrong. The food truck shows up only in the second half and it's a Tudor Tymes truck, so it's decorated to be medieval and Quinn even complains about having to wear her velvet costume inside, which means the 60's trailer vibe and current clothes aren't right. It's nit-picky on my part, but it bugs me all the same.Rating: 3/5Thanks to NetGalley for the ARC
    more
  • Nikki Katz
    June 23, 2017
    An adorable novel and fast summer read! I especially loved the medieval restaurant scenes :)
  • Amanda
    June 26, 2017
    Really loving these swoon reads lately!!
  • Christina
    March 22, 2017
    Super cute - a must for fans of Medieval Times!
  • Charlotte
    June 17, 2017
    That was an overall "okay" book.I did enjoy that it was short and fast-paced. It only took me a couple hours to read. It was a light read, though not a lot of swoon which was a bit disappointing.I was irritated by Quinn throughout the book. Sometimes it was because her grudge against Wesley was so irrational but at the same time I couldn't fault her too much since it was her coping mechanism for how chaotic her life was/is. Other times I was irritated at how easily she let others influence her a That was an overall "okay" book.I did enjoy that it was short and fast-paced. It only took me a couple hours to read. It was a light read, though not a lot of swoon which was a bit disappointing.I was irritated by Quinn throughout the book. Sometimes it was because her grudge against Wesley was so irrational but at the same time I couldn't fault her too much since it was her coping mechanism for how chaotic her life was/is. Other times I was irritated at how easily she let others influence her and how childish her reactions are. (She is young, I believe 16 or 17, but her immaturity was a little too much for her age.)
    more
  • Tracey Neithercott
    August 3, 2016
    This was just what I was looking for: a light, fun romance with characters I could root for. It’s a quick read—and absolutely perfect for fans of Holding Court.
  • Rose
    February 21, 2017
    I won this charming book on twitter and it was a wonderful joy to read. A fun weekend read.
  • Andrea Dillon
    August 2, 2016
    Quinn is growing up. The past five years have been rough and she is desperately trying to hold on to her past...even her grudges. I loved the growth of the main characters and I loved that the characters all have their flaws. This book is an unedited manuscript available from Swoon Reads. It is slated to be published in July of 2017 and is currently in edit. I will definitely be checking this one out again once it is edited and published!
    more
  • Rebecca
    January 24, 2017
    Such a cute, fluffy contemp -- but with a real emotional heart. The romance isn't actually the main focus here, and I loved that. Quinn is in such a tough spot, and acted "unlikeably" sometimes (god, I hate that word), but it totally made sense for her situation. This made me really want to go to a Medieval theatre restaurant! I've never been, but it sounds amazing!
    more
  • Helene
    April 27, 2016
    Read this on swoonreads and can't wait for it to be published. A very fun read. Will for sure be re-reading this when it's published in 2017.
Write a review