Demon, Volume 3
With his demon powers, nothing is denied Jimmy Yee. Sex, drugs, and rock-n-roll that's just for amateurs. He s experienced every earthly pleasure known to man, and even invented a few of his own. Confident that he and his daughter Sweetpea have outlived all of the their enemies, Jimmy spends his day reveling in his immortality. But after 250 years, immortality is getting a little dull.Jimmy's bacchanal lifestyle is about to get a shake up. The OSS is back and ready for a showdown, and this no-holds-barred battle promises to be Jimmy's most violent and raunchy one yet.From the brilliant and profane mind of Jason Shiga comes Demon: a four-volume graphic novel epic about the unspeakable chaos that one indestructible man can unleash on the world and the astronomical body count he leaves behind."

Demon, Volume 3 Details

TitleDemon, Volume 3
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJul 18th, 2017
PublisherFirst Second
ISBN1626724547
ISBN-139781626724549
Number of pages224 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Graphic Novels Comics, Politics, Government, Paranormal, Demons, Death

Demon, Volume 3 Review

  • Rebekah
    March 15, 2017
    Well that was unexpected! Seriously, I love how I can't predict what's coming next. This is some masterful storytelling - weird, violent, and amazing. A must read for graphic novel lovers.
  • Ettore Pasquini
    July 30, 2016
    What an ending! This is one crazy f-up story, (view spoiler)[with thousands of people dead across centuries (hide spoiler)] and tons of surprises along the way. Again the amount of people that die here is ridiculous. I don't remember seeing something like this in any written work! That being said this is a very funny, hilarious book. There are some more slapstick laugh-out-loud moments that are really, really great! Jason's panels keep getting better and better, communicating so much with so lit What an ending! This is one crazy f-up story, (view spoiler)[with thousands of people dead across centuries (hide spoiler)] and tons of surprises along the way. Again the amount of people that die here is ridiculous. I don't remember seeing something like this in any written work! That being said this is a very funny, hilarious book. There are some more slapstick laugh-out-loud moments that are really, really great! Jason's panels keep getting better and better, communicating so much with so little. The part in the "void" (let's call it that) where it's all black is incredible. All panels are black or shades of black with Jimmy's thoughts as the only interposition. The timing and pace is perfect. And what follows (surprise! hahaha) is even better. The way Jimmy masters the "possession weapon" continues to improve as if Jason had somehow... tried it himself?? It's just another point that proves in my mind that this is a really well thought-out story that grows with its characters. (Not that I needed that confirmation, I suppose.)I recommend Demon to every human, inhuman or demonic creature alike.
    more
  • Elaine
    December 10, 2016
    one of the most bananas graphic novels I've ever read
  • Daniel
    February 27, 2017
    This is definitely one of the odder graphic novel series' I've come across but the first two books really took my by surprise (read the review for Volume 1 here and the review for Volume 2 here). I've been completely sucked into this short-run series (four volumes) and was really delighted to see the third volume available.And then I read it.Remember, please, that I really liked the first two volumes, despite (or because of) its being extremely quirky and violent. But those first two volumes hel This is definitely one of the odder graphic novel series' I've come across but the first two books really took my by surprise (read the review for Volume 1 here and the review for Volume 2 here). I've been completely sucked into this short-run series (four volumes) and was really delighted to see the third volume available.And then I read it.Remember, please, that I really liked the first two volumes, despite (or because of) its being extremely quirky and violent. But those first two volumes held secrets that were slowly being revealed to us and each page moved us forward, if only slowly. This volume comes across as a book intended to placate and hold the reader until the last volume, rather than actually giving us something new to look forward to.My reaction, coming out of this volume was, "So..is Jason Shiga just trying to see how far he can push the reader's tolerance? Is he trying to turn me off?"This book was one long, nasty chase sequence, filled with dead bodies, violence, bestiality, violence, homosexuality, and more violence.Oh, yeah, there's some story here, but it didn't feel like there was anything new.The last chapter in the volume does give us a little teaser - something to look forward to in the next volume. Part of my reaction to this being a 'filler'' volume comes with this last chapter, though. Twenty-plus pages and the art was nothing more than black panels and word balloons. Yes...you read that correctly.Normally, I might think Shiga is being creatively brilliant, but after this book filled with extraneous chase scenes and dialog that felt redundant, the page after page after page of black panels felt more like a cop-out than something creative.If this series was longer than four books, this volume would likely be my last. But if there truly is only one more volume, I'm interested in seeing how this wraps up.Looking for a good book? Despite Volumes 1 & 2 being a worthwhile read, Demon Volume 3 by Jason Shiga, doesn't follow through with anything to keep the reader going.I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher, through Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Allison
    November 3, 2016
    I'm not really sure how to rate this book. I read volume 1 and then skipped to this 3rd volume. I know I missed things but I was still able to catch up and follow along. Even after the violence of the first volume, the violence in this one jolted me a bit. Shiga can take such deceptively simple looking illustrations and put so much story and gore into them and manage to tell a crazy tale of demon possession, time, death, and betrayal. Good story and great illustrations. Galley courtesy of publis I'm not really sure how to rate this book. I read volume 1 and then skipped to this 3rd volume. I know I missed things but I was still able to catch up and follow along. Even after the violence of the first volume, the violence in this one jolted me a bit. Shiga can take such deceptively simple looking illustrations and put so much story and gore into them and manage to tell a crazy tale of demon possession, time, death, and betrayal. Good story and great illustrations. Galley courtesy of publisher and Netgalley.
    more
  • Tracey
    December 14, 2016
    *reviewed from uncorrected egalley* adult graphic novel. clever and original--I appreciate the correct grammar, though sometimes it gets a bit too crude/violent, by which I mean sometimes it gets extremely crude/violent--fortunately it's in a graphic format that can be easily skimmed to the next scene.
    more
  • Donna Sanders
    November 12, 2016
    Received from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Volume 3 in the Demon graphic novel series. It has been over 200years of demonizing for Jimmy and Sweetpea. Jimmy almost seems to be done with it all but Sweetpea is just getting started until Hunter returns. The graphics are on par with the first 2 instalments, definitely not for the faith of heart.
    more
Write a review