Hello Goodbye Dog
For Zara s dog, Moose, nothing is more important than being with his favorite girl. So when Zara has to go to school, WHOOSH, Moose escapes and rushes to her side.Hello, Moose!Unfortunately, dogs aren t allowed at school and Moose has to go back home.Goodbye, Moose.But Moose can t be held back for long. Through a series of escalating escapes, this loyal dog always finds her way back to Zara, and with a little bit of training and one great idea, the two friends find a way to be together all day long."

Hello Goodbye Dog Details

TitleHello Goodbye Dog
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherRoaring Brook Press
ISBN1626721777
ISBN-139781626721777
Number of pages40 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Picture Books, Animals, Dogs

Hello Goodbye Dog Review

  • Kate Olson
    July 10, 2017
    Thanks to the author for providing me with a galley of this book for review - all opinions are my own. HELLO GOODBYE DOG is an incredibly sweet story about a dog who just does NOT want to stay at home without his girl, since there is nothing he loves more than HELLO! Everytime Zara tells Moose "Goodbye" when she leaves for school, he gets so so upset and expresses things like, "Goodbye was an itch that couldn't be scratched" and chases after her. After enough attempts, he eventually proves just Thanks to the author for providing me with a galley of this book for review - all opinions are my own. HELLO GOODBYE DOG is an incredibly sweet story about a dog who just does NOT want to stay at home without his girl, since there is nothing he loves more than HELLO! Everytime Zara tells Moose "Goodbye" when she leaves for school, he gets so so upset and expresses things like, "Goodbye was an itch that couldn't be scratched" and chases after her. After enough attempts, he eventually proves just how wonderful he can be at school and ends up being trained as a therapy dog! He passed tests on temperment, sitting down, staying, being with children, being around wheelchairs and finally is certified as a class reading dog. This story is just adorable and a perfect fit for parents, children, teachers and librarians who appreciate the power of a dog in creating a warm and welcoming environment for readers. As a librarian with a Read to Rover program, this book has been field tested with the students and dog/handler team - it was met with a resounding HOORAY! The author's note at the end includes information on therapy dogs and therapy dog reading programs. I have now purchased 3 copies of this book - 1 for home, 1 for school and 1 for our Read to Rover team.
    more
  • Linda Atkinson
    August 1, 2017
    Let's hear it for tx dogs <3
  • Sarah Blackburn
    July 20, 2017
    Hello Goodbye Dog is a sweet story about Moose's love for her owner Zara. Moose loves to hear the word "hello," from Zara, but hates goodbye. Moose continues to make a break for Zara during her day at school. She loves to listen to Zara read and Zara promises Moose will stay quiet. Every time the adults try to get Moose to stay away she finds a more creative way to get back to Zara.I loved the repetition in this story. There is a rhythm that builds throughout the story. The figurative language i Hello Goodbye Dog is a sweet story about Moose's love for her owner Zara. Moose loves to hear the word "hello," from Zara, but hates goodbye. Moose continues to make a break for Zara during her day at school. She loves to listen to Zara read and Zara promises Moose will stay quiet. Every time the adults try to get Moose to stay away she finds a more creative way to get back to Zara.I loved the repetition in this story. There is a rhythm that builds throughout the story. The figurative language is beautiful and helps move the story forward. The pictures draw you into the story. I know children will love the building story and resolution. Thanks to the #kidlitexchange network for the review copy of this book - all opinions are my own.
    more
  • Lynn
    July 27, 2017
    This feels like an update to "Mary Had a Little Lamb" which could provide an opportunity to compare and contrast the two.This creative work provides traits of an accumulative tale with an excellent resolution. Excellent opportunities for expanding reader's language: "Goodbye was an itch that couldn't be scratched," or"Hello was having a book and someone to read it to you." Students could make up their own versions of hello and goodbye.The soft illustrations extend the text with details, such as This feels like an update to "Mary Had a Little Lamb" which could provide an opportunity to compare and contrast the two.This creative work provides traits of an accumulative tale with an excellent resolution. Excellent opportunities for expanding reader's language: "Goodbye was an itch that couldn't be scratched," or"Hello was having a book and someone to read it to you." Students could make up their own versions of hello and goodbye.The soft illustrations extend the text with details, such as Zara's parents holding a leash and Mrs. Chen laying down croissants to lure Moose to the door.Author's Note includes information about therapy and library dogs.
    more
  • Becky
    August 2, 2017
    Wonderful illustrator. The story itself was bothering me almost until the very end because I was getting mad about how terribly untrained she was and that Zara's parents were bad owners for their dog constantly escaping. When they finally got her trained, I was relieved; that it was to be a therapy dog was the aww factor for most readers, I'm sure.
    more
  • Nancy Furstinger
    August 1, 2017
    HELLO GOODBYE DOG just arrived and it's as terrific as all the buzz. Bosco and Rosy give it 4 paws up and woofed out that Moose and Zara should land on the bestseller list! Plus it's a creative way to teach kids opposites.
  • Aliza Werner
    July 22, 2017
    Moose the dog finds her calling as a therapy dog when all she wants is to go to school with her human Zara. Love the everyday diversity: MC in wheelchair and has black mother and white father, classmates and teachers are diverse, etc. Sweet and loving.
    more
  • Rebecca
    July 14, 2017
    4.5*
  • Edward Sullivan
    August 1, 2017
    A cheerful, loyal pooch named Moose becomes a therapy dog.
  • Marcie
    July 31, 2017
    There are getting to be many more books about therapy dogs as there are getting to be more and more opportunities for kids to encounter them.
  • JoEllen
    July 27, 2017
    Love this illustrator and the diverse cast of characters depicted throughout the story. Most enjoyed the end notes that support "pawsitive" impact of therapy dogs and library pals.
  • Ireadkidsbooks
    August 2, 2017
    Adorable introduction to service dogs with a multiracial cast of characters.
  • Lisa
    July 25, 2017
    What a great book! All about a therapy dog. Neat.
  • Margie
    July 16, 2017
    When a dog and their human connect, it's indescribably beautiful. If you are one of those humans, each day you look at your dog thinking how fortunate you are. Surely this is a miracle this wild thing chooses to be with me.It's as if two separate souls become inseparable. As a human, whether you realize it or not, you have become a member of a pack. Your dog's loyalty is one of the most humbling experiences you will ever have. Hello Goodbye Dog (Roaring Brook Press, July 25, 2017) written by Mar When a dog and their human connect, it's indescribably beautiful. If you are one of those humans, each day you look at your dog thinking how fortunate you are. Surely this is a miracle this wild thing chooses to be with me.It's as if two separate souls become inseparable. As a human, whether you realize it or not, you have become a member of a pack. Your dog's loyalty is one of the most humbling experiences you will ever have. Hello Goodbye Dog (Roaring Brook Press, July 25, 2017) written by Maria Gianferrari with illustrations by Patrice Barton is the story of two hearts full of love, the one for the other.My full recommendation: http://librariansquest.blogspot.com/2...
    more
  • Alison
    August 2, 2017
    I think the "we need diverse books" efforts are working. On its cover, this picture book features a biracial girl in a wheel chair with the eponymous dog. Folks of various ethnicities populate the girl's classroom and school community. But/and most importantly, this is a well written and beautifully illustrated (by Patrice Barton) picture book.
    more
  • Michele Knott
    April 9, 2017
    The role of a therapy dog will always have a close place in my heart because I've seen the healing power they have on young children. I love that Moose the dog finds his talent in this book.
Write a review