The Fourth Monkey
For over five years, the Four Monkey Killer has terrorized the residents of Chicago. When his body is found, the police quickly realize he was on his way to deliver one final message, one which proves he has taken another victim who may still be alive.  As the lead investigator on the 4MK task force, Detective Sam Porter knows even in death, the killer is far from finished. When he discovers a personal diary in the jacket pocket of the body, Porter finds himself caught up in the mind of a psychopath, unraveling a twisted history in hopes of finding one last girl, all while struggling with personal demons of his own. With only a handful of clues, the elusive killer’s identity remains a mystery. Time is running out and the Four Monkey Killer taunts from beyond the grave in this masterfully written fast-paced thriller. 

The Fourth Monkey Details

TitleThe Fourth Monkey
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherHoughton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN0544968840
ISBN-139780544968844
Number of pages416 pages
Rating
GenreThriller, Fiction, Mystery, Mystery Thriller, Dark, Crime, Suspense, Detective, Horror

The Fourth Monkey Review

  • Meredith
    April 24, 2017
    4.5 starsThis has to be one of the most sick and twisted books I have ever read...I LOVED every moment! I’m going to keep this short because I don’t want to give anything away. A cat and mouse game ensues between a detective and serial killer when the killer gifts the detective with his diary, which tells the story of his extremely disturbing childhood. The voice of the serial killer jumps off the page and lures the reader into his deranged world.The Fourth Monkey moves at a fast pace. There's 4.5 starsThis has to be one of the most sick and twisted books I have ever read...I LOVED every moment! I’m going to keep this short because I don’t want to give anything away. A cat and mouse game ensues between a detective and serial killer when the killer gifts the detective with his diary, which tells the story of his extremely disturbing childhood. The voice of the serial killer jumps off the page and lures the reader into his deranged world.The Fourth Monkey moves at a fast pace. There's a lot of detailed gory scenes which made me cringe, but there’s some humor mixed in to ease the tension. The last page left me wanting more. I highly recommend!I received a copy of this book from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Paromjit
    May 23, 2017
    This is a horrific serial killer thriller that will have you reading non stop till the end with its gripping narrative. Sam Porter is a Chicago detective dealing with a personal trauma that has him on leave. Then he gets a call from his partner, Brian Nash, to get himself pronto to a traffic death. For five years, Sam has been trying to get the Fourth Monkey serial killer, who sends three white boxes consecutively, containing the ear, the eyes and tongue of the victim alluding to the three monke This is a horrific serial killer thriller that will have you reading non stop till the end with its gripping narrative. Sam Porter is a Chicago detective dealing with a personal trauma that has him on leave. Then he gets a call from his partner, Brian Nash, to get himself pronto to a traffic death. For five years, Sam has been trying to get the Fourth Monkey serial killer, who sends three white boxes consecutively, containing the ear, the eyes and tongue of the victim alluding to the three monkeys who hear, see and speak no evil. This is to punish a relative of the victim, who turns out to have done evil in direct contradiction to the fourth monkey saying, do no evil. This is a dark tale, lightened only by the humour and banter of Sam's team. The traffic death is that of the serial killer, who was in the process of posting a white box with an ear in it. Sam and his team race to find the final victim before she dies. There are several items on the body of the killer, all of which are vital clues for the police as the killer taunts them from beyond the grave. One is a journal, that Sam reads, that depicts the childhood of the killer with his parents and their next door neighbours, the Carters. It is a grisly read with parts I do not care to dwell on, I really don't need the nightmares. The killer has a close relationship with his parents, particularly his father. who instills the need to be polite at all times. What happens is directly related to the police investigation. The victim turns out to be fifteen year old Emory Connors, the illegitimate daughter of Arthur Talbot, a powerful and wealthy man. As Sam and his team try to get to the bottom of what exactly Talbot has done and find Emory, there is twist after twist until the connections come together and the surprising truth comes to light. It is odd to think of a serial killer being driven by the moral imperative to put an end to evil deeds. This moral ambiguity gives rise to some questions, a man who does despicable things to innocents, to punish the guilty? Is it possible to feel empathy for the killer? Then there is the final twist which does not give Sam's reaction to the act. An impressively plotted novel with a narrative that is bound to hit the bestseller lists. A brilliantly gruesome read that I highly recommend. Thanks to Harlequin for an ARC.
    more
  • Maureen
    April 4, 2017
    I've found it particularly difficult to write a review for this one. Whenever I tried to transfer my thoughts to paper ( ok ipad ) I found that ( in my excitement) I seemed to be giving away some small detail that would possibly spoil it for other readers. The shock and horror that I personally felt whilst reading this story, would have little value for others if they knew what they were about to read.Unusually, the story begins with the death of the man known as The Fourth Monkey Killer, a kill I've found it particularly difficult to write a review for this one. Whenever I tried to transfer my thoughts to paper ( ok ipad ) I found that ( in my excitement) I seemed to be giving away some small detail that would possibly spoil it for other readers. The shock and horror that I personally felt whilst reading this story, would have little value for others if they knew what they were about to read.Unusually, the story begins with the death of the man known as The Fourth Monkey Killer, a killer that has terrorised Chicago for the last 5 years. We're all familiar with the three monkeys - hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil. The fourth monkey represents 'do no evil' which, coming from a serial killer is something of a contradiction in terms!On the day he dies, he was about to deliver a message to police informing them of his latest abduction, so the race is now on to discover her whereabouts before it's too late.The killer leaves behind a handful of clues for Detective Sam Porter, not least a personal diary, which dates back to his childhood. Herein lies the fascination with this story - this was no ordinary childhood - and his thoughts and actions (given his age) are utterly chilling! Oh boy, this was a completely gripping storyline , but exceptionally graphic, and not for the squeamish. It played havoc with my emotions and was really distressing at times, yet impossible to put down.So why, if I found parts of it so distressing would I rate it 5 Stars? Well, it was an exceptionally clever and well thought out plot - the writing was simply superb - and the author brought this serial killer very much to life, the minutiae of his life story was utterly absorbing, and then there was the conclusion - just when I thought it had ended, when everything had been done and dusted, there was another twist right on the last page, and oh boy was it a cracker!!As psycholigcal thrillers go, it doesn't get any better than this. A remarkable read that I think will be one of the stand out books of 2017!* Thank you to Netgalley, HQ and J.D.Barker for my ARC for which I have given an honest unbiased review*
    more
  • Kaceey
    May 27, 2017
    All I can say is...WOW!Inside the depraved mind of a serial killer. The cold, chilling evil.So what is it about serial killer books? Curious, human nature I suppose. This is my third one this month, and by far the most disturbing. Normally I avoid these but they seem to be “creeping” into my library. Each one getting darker and more sinister. And I’m so glad I picked this one up. Everything you’ve heard about this book is true...it's just that good!The fourth monkey represents “Do No Evil.” Disp All I can say is...WOW!Inside the depraved mind of a serial killer. The cold, chilling evil.So what is it about serial killer books? Curious, human nature I suppose. This is my third one this month, and by far the most disturbing. Normally I avoid these but they seem to be “creeping” into my library. Each one getting darker and more sinister. And I’m so glad I picked this one up. Everything you’ve heard about this book is true...it's just that good!The fourth monkey represents “Do No Evil.” Dispensing his own brand of vigilante justice. And the goal - punish a family member who’s relative has run afoul of the law.A recent accident leaves a man dead in the street. It appears that luck is on the side of law enforcement and the man hit by the bus is no other than the infamous 4MK (Fourth Monkey Killer). For half a decade the city of Chicago has endured a nightmare that left 7 girls murdered in its wake. Can the good people of Chicago finally breathe a sigh of relief? Come on now, nothing is ever that simple. Evidence is found next to the dead man that shows there may be one more victim out there...and this one may still be alive! With the clock ticking, detectives Porter and Nash fight against time and fearful citizens, to find the killer’s next victim before it's too late.Told through several points of view including the killer's own diary - The deep, dark journey into the world of a madman. Disturbing, twisted. (My favorite parts).Although I had a few plot lines figured out, there were plenty of bumps and shocking moments. And ooh, the ending!!Absolutely could not put it down. Again...WOW! Highly recommend.Thank you to NetGalley, J.D. Barker and Houghton Mifflin Harcourt for an ARC to review.
    more
  • Maxine (Booklover Catlady)
    December 22, 2016
    Absolutely freaking brilliant! I didn't want this book to end but what a fantastic finish! This is going to be THE crime thriller of 2017. This is already in my list of Top 17 Books of 2017, skipping the long list and the short list.I'm a huge fan of J.D. Barker, he's an exceptionally talented writer and this book has been given some great kudos from top authors and reviewers for a good reason - it's really bloody good! Unputdownable good.I've read his novel Forsaken, his short stories and eager Absolutely freaking brilliant! I didn't want this book to end but what a fantastic finish! This is going to be THE crime thriller of 2017. This is already in my list of Top 17 Books of 2017, skipping the long list and the short list.I'm a huge fan of J.D. Barker, he's an exceptionally talented writer and this book has been given some great kudos from top authors and reviewers for a good reason - it's really bloody good! Unputdownable good.I've read his novel Forsaken, his short stories and eagerly await the prequel to Dracula he's been asked to pen alongside Dacre Stoker, yes relative of THE Bram Stoker. When I got my hands on this ARC my squeal could be heard in towns all around. We have a serial killer at work. A very clever, very evil serial killer who has evaded the police for a very long time...they need to catch this psychopath and quickly. The book pulls no punches as from opening pages you are going to be hooked by the dynamic plot that will have you trying to figure out the ending from page one.The book might beat you - I warn you now. Twists and reveals to die for! Don't get too complacent you've got it all worked out.I couldn't put this book down. I read it over a few hours and loved every single word. The characters are brilliant and the victims...oh, the victims. I was right there with them. This crime thriller is not afraid to push the boundaries. This is dark, scary and twisty.It doesn't matter what genres you love. This book has mass reader appeal and I am predicting it to be a best seller on publication date in June. One of those much talked about books that will make your reading year so much better. I'm not revealing any plot. The plot itself is brilliant. It threw me around and left me with bruises.I had moments where I yelled for characters, held my breath and re-read paragraphs to let the enormity of it all sink-in. This is book entertainment people. Fantastic! I'm gushing right? Well, I just really think it's a book that deserves my high praise. I love a good serial killer book and J.D. Barker delivered me the goodies in every way. I fudged so much about this book that my husband read it and loved it too. That's significant as in 10 years of marriage he's read 4 books! Books are not his thing but this one got his full attention. I'm working on his conversion to book lover.Available to pre-order now from Amazon. You should add this gem to your list of must read books of 2017. Join the team. The team of #4MK fans!This is one serial killer you really DO need to meet this year. 5 huge stars. Superb!Also you can enter to win a draft copy of the book here! - http://jdbarker.com/fourth-monkey-con...I read an ARC of this novel. All review opinions are entirely my own and completely unbiased. What you get from me are honest reviews.
    more
  • Sue
    April 3, 2017
    THE FOUTH MONKEY (4MK) by talented author J.D. Barker is a dark and twisting novel; a combination of Se7en meets The Silence of the Lambs. Psychological thrillers are my favourite genre so was very much looking forward to reading it. As I started to read it, I was transported to a time when I watched my favourite movie, Se7en. I was drawn and hooked to this book, and had work not got in the way, I would have finished it earlier. I would describe The Fourth Monkey as very graphic in parts and not THE FOUTH MONKEY (4MK) by talented author J.D. Barker is a dark and twisting novel; a combination of Se7en meets The Silence of the Lambs. Psychological thrillers are my favourite genre so was very much looking forward to reading it. As I started to read it, I was transported to a time when I watched my favourite movie, Se7en. I was drawn and hooked to this book, and had work not got in the way, I would have finished it earlier. I would describe The Fourth Monkey as very graphic in parts and not for the faint-hearted. The Four Monkey Killer (4MK) was a serial killer, who tortured his victims before killing them, mailing body parts back to their families.I enjoy reading books about serial killers in order to understand what makes them tick, getting inside the mind of a deranged and twisted character. Who is he? Why does he do this?The Four Monkeys comes from a shrine in Japan, where there is a carving above the entrance.“HEAR NO EVIL, SEE NO EVIL, SPEAK NO EVIL. THE FOURTH MONKEY REPRESENTS, DO NO EVIL.” The serial killer follows this pattern.The Four Monkey Killer (4MK) has terrorized the residents of Chicago, for over five years. There had been a massive manhunt for this serial killer. When his body is found, the police soon realize he was on his way to deliver one final message, one which proves he has taken another victim who may still be alive. Detective Sam Porter had been there from the beginning. As the lead investigator on the 4MK task force, Detective Sam Porter discovers a personal diary in the jacket pocket of the body, and Porter finds himself caught up in the mind of a psychopath. He must now try to save the life of a young girl…caught in the middle by this sadistic killer.“With only a handful of clues, the elusive killer’s identity remains a mystery. Time is running out and the Four Monkey Killer taunts from beyond the grave in this masterfully written fast-paced thriller.”The novel is told from multiple pints of view with the main two being Detective Sam Porter and from 4MK’s diary. This diary tells the story of his life from childhood to the evil monster he became. This diary is creepy and gave me the chills…but I had to know why!This is a very well written novel with engaging and flawed characters to add depth and tension to the story. An easy five stars for me. Preorder this novel. It will be worth your time!I predict that this novel is going to be one of the most talked about books of the year!I received an ARC copy of this novel. All opinions are my own and my review it unbiased.Expected publication: June 27th 2017 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
    more
  • Jan
    May 1, 2017
    What a ride this was! I was hooked from the start and with each turn of the page became more and more obsessed. I could NOT put this down! Top 5 things I loved:1) The Diary chapters-amazingly creepy and disturbing, but captivating at the same time. I love when an author allows the reader to go inside the life and mind of a psychopath.2) Detective Sam Porter's character. He's smart, vulnerable and funny. The sarcasm playing between him and Nash helped balance out some of the disturbing violence.3 What a ride this was! I was hooked from the start and with each turn of the page became more and more obsessed. I could NOT put this down! Top 5 things I loved:1) The Diary chapters-amazingly creepy and disturbing, but captivating at the same time. I love when an author allows the reader to go inside the life and mind of a psychopath.2) Detective Sam Porter's character. He's smart, vulnerable and funny. The sarcasm playing between him and Nash helped balance out some of the disturbing violence.3) The plot! There are a lot of twists and turns, but it's the cat and mouse games being played that really keep the reader on edge. 4) The writing style. Whether the action is fast paced or things have slowed down to give the reader a chance to breathe, it all just flows together seamlessly. Barker held me memorized and I have a dirty house to prove it!5) The ending. I was wondering how things were going to wrap up, especially when I noticed I was nearing the end of pages. I actually yelled an excited 'YES!' when it was all said and done.What I didn't like:1) Absolutely nothing! This was perfection in my book...bloody brilliant!This is a must read for any mystery/suspense/police procedural junkies. My thanks to Maxine (Booklover Catlady) for providing the ARC.Opinions in the above review are mine alone and are not biased in any way.
    more
  • Sandy
    April 15, 2017
     Chicago homicide detective Sam Porter has spent much of the last 5 years hunting for the “Fourth Monkey Killer” (4MK). Seven victims, twenty-one little white boxes…..each containing first an ear, then the eyes & last, the tongue. Hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil. But it’s the fourth monkey that is the clue to the killer’s motive. Do no evil. Each victim is related to someone guilty of crimes that went unpunished & 4MK stepped up to act as judge & executioner. Now Sam & h  Chicago homicide detective Sam Porter has spent much of the last 5 years hunting for the “Fourth Monkey Killer” (4MK). Seven victims, twenty-one little white boxes…..each containing first an ear, then the eyes & last, the tongue. Hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil. But it’s the fourth monkey that is the clue to the killer’s motive. Do no evil. Each victim is related to someone guilty of crimes that went unpunished & 4MK stepped up to act as judge & executioner. Now Sam & his partner Nash have reason to believe he’s been stopped. Literally. They’re called to the scene of an accident, a case of man vs. bus. The bus won. And on the pavement beside the dead man’s body is a small white box. The good news is their search for 4MK is over. The bad news: somewhere out there is a new victim with one ear. They realize they’ve only got 2 or 3 days to find her & the old 4MK task force is quickly reassembled. The dead man had no ID but was carrying a journal that turns out to be his memoir. It begins with descriptions of his childhood & ends by taunting police to decipher the cryptic clues he’s left behind. This is a fast paced thriller with a sea of red herrings to keep you guessing. There are many side stories that run parallel. Secrets, old crimes, hidden agendas & historical connections are just a few of the threads the task force has to unravel before they can figure out 4MK’s master plan. Chapters alternate between their investigation, the victim’s ordeal & entries from the killer’s journal. Despite the publicity blurb, this doesn’t have the pervasive menace of Se7en or Silence of the Lambs. Descriptions of crime scenes are graphic (should answer all your burning questions about maggots) but it’s offset by the characters we spend most time with. Sam, Nash & their crew work well together & their dialogue is full of lame jokes & gentle ribbing. These are cops who actually wouldn’t be out of place in a cozy & they provide a marked contrast to the actions of the killer. There’s a refreshing lack of the plethora of personal issues & office politics that seem to afflict so many fictional detectives. The crimes are brutal but I actually found the chapters detailing 4MK’s childhood to be the creepiest part of the whole thing. From idyllic to surreal, his story contains all the clues needed to understand his motivation. It’s a pacey read with a whack of twists to keep you turning the pages. Sam & his posse are a likeable bunch & judging by the final pages, we’ll be hearing from them again.
    more
  • Linda Strong
    February 21, 2017
    There's a new serial killer in town and he is a doozie! Chicago is used to seeing dark things ..but no one has seen the likes of this killer.It all starts with the death of a man .... who was carrying a box with an ear to be delivered to a businessman. He jumps in front of a bus and is instantly killed.Is this the 4MK killer that Detective Porter has been hunting for the past few years?This is one of those books I just could not put down for more than a couple of minutes without picking it up ag There's a new serial killer in town and he is a doozie! Chicago is used to seeing dark things ..but no one has seen the likes of this killer.It all starts with the death of a man .... who was carrying a box with an ear to be delivered to a businessman. He jumps in front of a bus and is instantly killed.Is this the 4MK killer that Detective Porter has been hunting for the past few years?This is one of those books I just could not put down for more than a couple of minutes without picking it up again. I was so eager to get to the end and then I was wishing I had read a little slower.Brilliantly written, this tale has clues within clues, games within games, and twists and turns rapid fire. The book is told basically by the Detective who is hunting the killer.... and then there's the diary found on the dead man. That in itself could be a whole fascinating book. And whatever you think you know is thrown out the window with the advent of the next chapter.Sound confusing? It is not ... it's cleverly written and the reader never loses sight of all the action. But beware ... not everyone is who they seem to be.This book automatically moves into first place of my Top Ten books of the year!Many, many thanks to the author and publisher for the digital ARC of this novel. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
    more
  • Amy
    March 8, 2017
    All of my reviews can be found on www.novelgossip.comI’ve mentioned before that I have a sick fascination with serial killers and I’m especially interested in the way they think and what made them this way. Were they born to literally kill? Were they taught that killing is a way of life? Were they abused and mistreated then something inside them just snapped one day? The Fourth Monkey is an insanely creepy look inside the mind of a serial killer with a twist. The FMK actually dies at the very be All of my reviews can be found on www.novelgossip.comI’ve mentioned before that I have a sick fascination with serial killers and I’m especially interested in the way they think and what made them this way. Were they born to literally kill? Were they taught that killing is a way of life? Were they abused and mistreated then something inside them just snapped one day? The Fourth Monkey is an insanely creepy look inside the mind of a serial killer with a twist. The FMK actually dies at the very beginning of the book, but he left one last victim for the police to find. She’s hidden away somewhere in Chicago and she doesn’t have long before she dies. Porter has been chasing FMK for years now and he won’t let another young woman die on his watch. He’s forced to follow the breadcrumbs left behind by a sadistic killer, but can he figure out the puzzle before it’s too late? This is told from Sam Porter’s point of view in the present as he tries desperately to outwit a cunningly smart killer and also has chapters from 4MK’s diary. These entries made my skin crawl as much as they transfixed me, it outlines his childhood and shows how he became the monster he is today. Getting a deep look inside the darkest of minds was so scary, 4MK is so emotionless as he describes his horrifying childhood it gave me chills. This was a daring, fearless, in your face read. Barker holds nothing back in terms of his graphic and oftentimes gory descriptions, this is definitely not for the squeamish. I, however loved this approach and even though sometimes the detailed manner in which crime scenes were described was a bit hard to stomach, it really added something dark and sinister to the story. Barker’s writing is fluid and sharp at the same time, it held me tight in it’s menacing grip throughout and weaved some stunning twists and turns along the way. This was a down and dirty, nitty gritty read that was an easy five stars for me, no hesitation. Preorder this one, it’s not available until this summer, but I think it’s one that everyone will be talking about, don’t miss out!
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    April 23, 2017
    Ha ha LOVED this. Easy 5* read. Clever plotting, great characters and a spot on "bloody hell" ending. Gruesome too. I rather relished the gruesomeness not sure what that says about me.Still. Excellent excellent stuff.Full review closer to publication at request of publisher. Put it on your lists though folks!
    more
  • Adrian Dooley
    May 28, 2017
    Wow. What a book. Seriously, what a book. The Fourth Monkey is the nickname for a serial killer that has been terrorising Chicago for over five years. With victims found many months apart, the killer sends body parts to the family in white boxes with black ribbons, the ear, the eyes and the tongue, before the body finally turns up - hear no even, see no evil, speak no evil(the same as the famous monkeys). The Fourth Monkey Killer follows these mantras and the lesser known Fourth Monkey - Do No E Wow. What a book. Seriously, what a book. The Fourth Monkey is the nickname for a serial killer that has been terrorising Chicago for over five years. With victims found many months apart, the killer sends body parts to the family in white boxes with black ribbons, the ear, the eyes and the tongue, before the body finally turns up - hear no even, see no evil, speak no evil(the same as the famous monkeys). The Fourth Monkey Killer follows these mantras and the lesser known Fourth Monkey - Do No Evil. Detective Sam Porter is on leave after a recent personal tragedy when he is contacted by one of his team regarding the Fourth Monkey killer. Sam has been on the team from the beginning, trying to track him down for half a decade.A mans body has turned up. Killed in a road traffic accident, hit by a bus when crossing the street, he was carrying one of the white boxes with him to post. An ear is in the box. They also find a personal diary of sorts on the body. They are now sure that they have found The Fourth Monkey Killer. But they are aware that there is another victim out there somewhere, still alive for sure as this is just the first part of the killers ritual, but can they piece together the clues and find the latest victim in time and is all as it seems? With no clues or evidence over the last five years how come this all lands in their lap now? Is this another game being played by the killer, even if he is as it appears, dead?The story is mostly told from two perspectives. From Sams as he works his way through the clues left at the accident, and also from the found diary as Sam reads it. The diary goes into great detail about the serial killers childhood and family life and what moulted him into the killer he is. I said wow at the start of the book and this one really is a wow. It has a real cinematic feel to it. Would love to see it adapted for the big screen. The story is fantastic. The writing is fantastic. The characterisation is fantastic. The pacing is fantastic. The book is just bloody fantastic. It's like you get two stories for the price of one but of course they are essential to each other. The diary is a brilliant device to get into the mindset of the killer as we relive his childhood and family life. It's bonkers. Absolutely bonkers but utterly gripping. Both narratives in the story are equally strong so there was no isssue when jumping back and fourth between them, both were utterly compelling throughout. I just can't say enough good things about this book. It's my favourite read of the year so far. It's just brilliant from start to finish. A five star review all day long. I received an ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Sue
    April 2, 2017
    THE FOUTH MONKEY (4MK) by talented author J.D. Barker is a dark and twisting novel; a combination of Se7en meets The Silence of the Lambs. Psychological thrillers are my favourite genre so was very much looking forward to reading it. As I started to read it, I was transported to a time when I watched my favourite movie, Se7en. I was drawn and hooked to this book, and had work not got in the way, I would have finished it earlier. I would describe The Fourth Monkey as very graphic in parts and not THE FOUTH MONKEY (4MK) by talented author J.D. Barker is a dark and twisting novel; a combination of Se7en meets The Silence of the Lambs. Psychological thrillers are my favourite genre so was very much looking forward to reading it. As I started to read it, I was transported to a time when I watched my favourite movie, Se7en. I was drawn and hooked to this book, and had work not got in the way, I would have finished it earlier. I would describe The Fourth Monkey as very graphic in parts and not for the faint-hearted. The Four Monkey Killer (4MK) was a serial killer, who tortured his victims before killing them, mailing body parts back to their families.I enjoy reading books about serial killers in order to understand what makes them tick, getting inside the mind of a deranged and twisted character. Who is he? Why does he do this?The Four Monkeys comes from a shrine in Japan, where there is a carving above the entrance.“HEAR NO EVIL, SEE NO EVIL, SPEAK NO EVIL. THE FOURTH MONKEY REPRESENTS, DO NO EVIL.” The serial killer follows this pattern.The Four Monkey Killer (4MK) has terrorized the residents of Chicago, for over five years. There had been a massive manhunt for this serial killer. When his body is found, the police soon realize he was on his way to deliver one final message, one which proves he has taken another victim who may still be alive. Detective Sam Porter had been there from the beginning. As the lead investigator on the 4MK task force, Detective Sam Porter discovers a personal diary in the jacket pocket of the body, and Porter finds himself caught up in the mind of a psychopath. He must now try to save the life of a young girl…caught in the middle by this sadistic killer.“With only a handful of clues, the elusive killer’s identity remains a mystery. Time is running out and the Four Monkey Killer taunts from beyond the grave in this masterfully written fast-paced thriller.”The novel is told from multiple pints of view with the main two being Detective Sam Porter and from 4MK’s diary. This diary tells the story of his life from childhood to the evil monster he became. This diary is creepy and gave me the chills…but I had to know why!This is a very well written novel with engaging and flawed characters to add depth and tension to the story. An easy five stars for me. Preorder this novel. It will be worth your time!I predict that this novel is going to be one of the most talked about books of the year!I received an ARC copy of this novel. All opinions are my own and my review it unbiased.Expected publication: June 27th 2017 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
    more
  • Petra
    April 8, 2017
    Hear no evil - See no evil - Speak no evil - Do no evil!Sergeant Sam Porter has been chasing The Fourth Monkey Killer (4MK) for years, so he can hardly believe it when a traffic accident provides the most valuable clues yet as to the elusive serial killer's identity. But can Porter and his team find 4MK's latest victim before time runs out?Believe the hype! I'm sure this will be one of my top thrillers for 2017. I kept seeing this turn up in my newsfeed and finally succumbed. I started it dreadi Hear no evil - See no evil - Speak no evil - Do no evil!Sergeant Sam Porter has been chasing The Fourth Monkey Killer (4MK) for years, so he can hardly believe it when a traffic accident provides the most valuable clues yet as to the elusive serial killer's identity. But can Porter and his team find 4MK's latest victim before time runs out?Believe the hype! I'm sure this will be one of my top thrillers for 2017. I kept seeing this turn up in my newsfeed and finally succumbed. I started it dreading that it would turn into another book that everybody but me loves. But from page one, I was totally and utterly mesmerized by this dark and twisted tale. Containing graphic scenes of violence and torture, this is not for the faint of heart. There were several OMG moments. The writing - switching between present and past - was superb. The diary of the serial killer was deeply disturbing and the creepiest part of the entire book. I absolutely loved it!I also really enjoyed the good-natured banter between the investigative team and the relationship between Porter and Nash and the rest of the team.As you read this, it's easy to see the movie play out in your head. Can't wait to see this on the screen. It's cleverly plotted and the ending is just great. Without a doubt, a definite 5-star read.My thanks to Maxine for providing me with an ARC.
    more
  • Bibliophile Book Club
    March 1, 2017
    I was lucky enough to read and review an early copy of this book, and it’s definitely one to look out for in 2017! Initially, apart from the blurb and a cracking recommendation from author Lisa Hall, I didn’t know much about The Fourth Monkey. I had no real expectations going into the book, other than I had heard it was twisted, so needless to say I was looking forward to reading it.The Fourth Monkey is a crime thriller featuring Detective Sam Porter, and it is eerily reminiscent of early Jeffre I was lucky enough to read and review an early copy of this book, and it’s definitely one to look out for in 2017! Initially, apart from the blurb and a cracking recommendation from author Lisa Hall, I didn’t know much about The Fourth Monkey. I had no real expectations going into the book, other than I had heard it was twisted, so needless to say I was looking forward to reading it.The Fourth Monkey is a crime thriller featuring Detective Sam Porter, and it is eerily reminiscent of early Jeffrey Deaver. There are echoes of The Bone Collector whispering through the pages of this book, which is very exciting to see as it shows the author has some serious writing skills.As usual, no plot dissection or spoilers here. The Fourth Monkey is creepy, atmospheric and completely compelling. Excellent characterisation and a twisty turny plot make this an enthralling crime thriller. I loved the concept and I think J. D. Barker has a knack for keeping the reader turning the pages.Highly recommended!
    more
  • Amanda Jane
    March 8, 2017
    A cracker of a book! Review closer to publication as requested by publisher
  • Janet
    April 23, 2017
    A cross between Se7en and Hannibal they say....... what they didn't say is 'and then some!' The Fourth Monkey is a book that once started I struggled to put it down even in the dead of night!Porter is a 50 something Chicago Metro detective recovering from a personal traumatic event. He gets called out to a scene whereby a man has been run over by a public bus. The victim is the notorious Fourth Monkey Killer aka #4MK who has been terrorising the city of Chicago for the past few years. Porter has A cross between Se7en and Hannibal they say....... what they didn't say is 'and then some!' The Fourth Monkey is a book that once started I struggled to put it down even in the dead of night!Porter is a 50 something Chicago Metro detective recovering from a personal traumatic event. He gets called out to a scene whereby a man has been run over by a public bus. The victim is the notorious Fourth Monkey Killer aka #4MK who has been terrorising the city of Chicago for the past few years. Porter has been the man hot on his tail but the killer always remains a few steps ahead. A personal diary is recovered from the scene and gives Porter a psychological insight into the mind of a depraved killer. Slowly through different narratives a story is revealed as to why the The Monkey Killer is why the way that he is.This is one heck of a read that once grabbed me by the jugular just refused to let go until the very last page. Many times I thought I knew where roads were leading only to be thrown completely off and blown away by the latest reveal. As I read along it just got better and better and there were times where I swear I stopped breathing.The Fourth Monkey is a fast paced thriller that left me gasping. I literally couldn't turn the pages quick enough and even forsake meals!! Yes..... sometimes eating gets in the way of a good book!I highly recommend this one and dearly hope there will be more ...... please Mr Barker!Thank you to those involved for my review copy.
    more
  • Chloe
    May 26, 2017
    The Fourth Monkey by J.D. Barker is a brilliant, dark, twisty, psychological thriller.This book is narrated with different viewpoints, one being Detective Sam Porter and another the diary of a serial killer. At the start of the book Porter is called at a scene of a crime where a man is killed in front of a bus who was carrying a box with an ear to be delivered to a businessman. Porter suspects the dead man is the Fourth Monkey killer, who sends three white boxes to the kidnapped victim’s family, The Fourth Monkey by J.D. Barker is a brilliant, dark, twisty, psychological thriller.This book is narrated with different viewpoints, one being Detective Sam Porter and another the diary of a serial killer. At the start of the book Porter is called at a scene of a crime where a man is killed in front of a bus who was carrying a box with an ear to be delivered to a businessman. Porter suspects the dead man is the Fourth Monkey killer, who sends three white boxes to the kidnapped victim’s family, containing the ear, the eyes and tongue relating to the three monkeys who hear, see and speak no evil. Thus, begins the race against time to find the kidnapped victim.This is a great mystery thriller with very well-developed characters that have great depth. It is a fast-paced novel with engaging dialogue and lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing till the end.Many thanks to the publisher & NetGalley for this sample copy in exchange for my honest and fair review.This and more reviews at https://chloesbooksblog.wordpress.com/
    more
  • Abby (Crime by the Book)
    February 24, 2017
    Between 4 to 4.5/5 stars for this twisted read!!! I've just finished this book moments ago and boy do I need to watch a happy TV show or something!!! This is one bloody, relentless, gasp-inducing crime novel. It's definitely NOT a subtle read - this book is all kinds of dark, in-your-face craziness. I did predict the big twist of this story, but I honestly was so swept up in it that this didn't bother me much. This book will be excellent, twisted entertainment for fans of Criminal Minds, Se7en, Between 4 to 4.5/5 stars for this twisted read!!! I've just finished this book moments ago and boy do I need to watch a happy TV show or something!!! This is one bloody, relentless, gasp-inducing crime novel. It's definitely NOT a subtle read - this book is all kinds of dark, in-your-face craziness. I did predict the big twist of this story, but I honestly was so swept up in it that this didn't bother me much. This book will be excellent, twisted entertainment for fans of Criminal Minds, Se7en, and THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS. Full review to come!
    more
  • Warrengent
    May 23, 2017
    Will review in full when nearer publication date.I was saving this book for my summer holidays, but couldn't wait any longer absolutely brilliant. This truly as got to be a summer bestseller and I am so clad it's heading for the big screen EPIC in every sense. Only a few novels have really got me, in a sense of you know your not reading something that,comes along to often and that feeling of pure bless,in the fact that you no your time was not wasted, but enriched J.D.Barker is my new favourite Will review in full when nearer publication date.I was saving this book for my summer holidays, but couldn't wait any longer absolutely brilliant. This truly as got to be a summer bestseller and I am so clad it's heading for the big screen EPIC in every sense. Only a few novels have really got me, in a sense of you know your not reading something that,comes along to often and that feeling of pure bless,in the fact that you no your time was not wasted, but enriched J.D.Barker is my new favourite author and believe me when I say this novel, was the reason why I joined NG. EPIC is an understatement.
    more
  • Christine
    May 9, 2017
    4.5 starsI wasn’t going to read this one. You know the deal. It looks good, but not attractive enough to toss on top of the TBR mountain, especially since I’ve been deleting unread books like mad trying to make things manageable. On the other hand, it was hard to ignore the 5-star after 5-star after 5-star reviews that were piling up. Finally, one of my trusted booky friends gave me a shove, and I went for it. Turned out to be a great move!This is a book in which the reader can really become imm 4.5 starsI wasn’t going to read this one. You know the deal. It looks good, but not attractive enough to toss on top of the TBR mountain, especially since I’ve been deleting unread books like mad trying to make things manageable. On the other hand, it was hard to ignore the 5-star after 5-star after 5-star reviews that were piling up. Finally, one of my trusted booky friends gave me a shove, and I went for it. Turned out to be a great move!This is a book in which the reader can really become immersed. We get a dead body, an important dead body, right off the bat, and the ride is nonstop from there. The Fourth Monkey, aka 4MK (speak no evil, see no evil, hear no evil, do no evil—remember those 4 monkeys?), has struck again and it’s a race to find the young victim before she dies. This however is more than a simple serial killer read. The plot is intricate and rich with intrigue; I’d be interested in hearing from anyone who figures it all out before the reveals. I loved Sam Porter, the lead detective on the case, which is set in Chicago. I also liked the repartee between his team members Clair (what a firecracker) and Nash. The star of the show though is 4MK, who intentionally gets his diary into the hands of Porter. The contents are a shocking commentary on the shaping of this individual’s personality. Nature? Sure there must certainly be some of that. But nurture? You bet. I would like to say more, but that would get into spoiler territory. As a final note, this guy had a very interesting modicum of decency in him, something you don’t see too often in serial killers. What keeps this from being a full 5 star read? Well, despite the comparisons to Silence of the Lambs, and based on the movie only, I found the foreboding, the menace, the constant sinister atmosphere to be much less in The Fourth Monkey. Don’t get me wrong. It is terrifically entertaining, but not because of those specific elements. There are some pretty graphic nasty scenes and also some animal scenes, but the reader is given plenty of lead time to go into skim/skip mode if so desired (I did desire and I did skip the animal scenes). And I would have liked more character development in Sam, Clair and Nash. Overall, this book is a winner, especially for the compelling plot, the quick pace, and the author’s choice of using diary entries to introduce us to the serial killer. What a great device to “show” rather than “tell” us about this guy. I also loved the epilogue, especially the last paragraph. Ooh-Whee!!!! It plastered a big Cheshire cat smile on my face. You go, J.D. Barker! I am ready whenever you are!
    more
  • Sarah
    March 27, 2017
    My notes for this book are 14 pages long, most of it spoilery, but all of it bringing back how I felt when I read this, which is what notes are supposed to be for really, I shall try to write this without spoiling anything, so here we go.It's told from multiple pints of view with the main two being Detective Sam Porter and from entries of the diary Sam finds in the pocket of a man hit by a bus. This diary belongs to the Four Monkey Killer who has been terrorising Chicago for over 5 years and it My notes for this book are 14 pages long, most of it spoilery, but all of it bringing back how I felt when I read this, which is what notes are supposed to be for really, I shall try to write this without spoiling anything, so here we go.It's told from multiple pints of view with the main two being Detective Sam Porter and from entries of the diary Sam finds in the pocket of a man hit by a bus. This diary belongs to the Four Monkey Killer who has been terrorising Chicago for over 5 years and it tells the story of his life and why he is who he is and why he does what he does.Very well written, how the story twists and turns and weaves together, the characters are fleshed out and fun to read about, the humour between Sam and his team is wonderfully done to take a little bit of the pressure and tension away before it builds up again and the diary is twisted and violent yet surprisingly loving and family driven.I loved the last few chapters where it ramped up an extra level and the end of the book was just right for me, I loved it.Hoping that this turns into a series or we get another book with these characters. I would definitely be picking that up!!*Huge thanks to J. D. Barker, HQ and NetGalley for this copy which I chose to read and all opinions are my own*
    more
  • Denise
    April 15, 2017
    Hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil -- do no evil.The 4MK (Four Monkey Killer) has been taunting 52-year old Detective Sam Porter of the Chicago Police Department for years. When a man's body is found after he stepped in front of a city bus, Sam wonders if they finally lucked out and the murder spree is at an end. A big clue on the street tells them they have their man. 7 victims over five years and not a shred of evidence to lead the cops to the killer. The clue is a box that is wrapped in Hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil -- do no evil.The 4MK (Four Monkey Killer) has been taunting 52-year old Detective Sam Porter of the Chicago Police Department for years. When a man's body is found after he stepped in front of a city bus, Sam wonders if they finally lucked out and the murder spree is at an end. A big clue on the street tells them they have their man. 7 victims over five years and not a shred of evidence to lead the cops to the killer. The clue is a box that is wrapped in white paper, tied with black string and addressed to an investment banker and real estate tycoon named Arthur Talbot. There is no identification on the dead man, but the item inside the box tells Sam that another person has likely been added to the victim list. In addition, when the police examine the dead man's belongings, there are some peculiar items found in his pockets, including a note that seems to be directly addressed to Sam and it indicates that the man is 4MK. It ends, "We are going to have such fun, you and I."What follows is a fast-paced, action-filled grisly investigation with a complicated backstory that attempts to explain the origins of 4MK and why he committed the previous murders. Meanwhile, there is a young girl missing, his likely last victim, and the race is on to find her alive. Without 4MK alive, things look bleak for the detectives as they try to sift through the clues.No further spoilers, but this is an entertaining and complicated story that flips back and forth in time and includes the viewpoint of a boy whom the reader assumes was the young 4MK. This author is new to me, and I always enjoy a good thriller so can recommend this one. Liked the characters and the relationship the police team had with each other -- and I wonder if there will be a follow up or a series featuring Sam Porter. Dark and twisted, just how I like them.Thank you to NetGalley and Houghton Mifflin Harcourt for the e-book ARC to read and review.
    more
  • J.D. Barker
    April 26, 2017
    Want your own letter from a serial killer? It's an actual prop from the upcoming television series and film to be directed by Marc Webb (The Amazing Spiderman, Gifted, 500 Days of Summer). Better yet, how would you like a draft copy of the novel? We're giveaway this and more - follow the link below for details: http://jdbarker.com/fourth-monkey-con..."We are going to have such fun, you and I."#4MK
    more
  • Sahina Bibi
    February 4, 2017
    This, like Behind Closed Doors, is another book that we’re publishing at work and man oh man are you guys in for a treat when this is published! *shameless plug because you guys NEED this on your radar - coming out June 27th, 2017, from HQ at HarperCollins* You may think you know what you’re getting yourself into when you read the blurb - blah blah another psychological thriller about some killer. YEAH YEAH YOU HEARD IT ALL BEFORE. And. You’d be right- in part - but what trumps this (and not in This, like Behind Closed Doors, is another book that we’re publishing at work and man oh man are you guys in for a treat when this is published! *shameless plug because you guys NEED this on your radar - coming out June 27th, 2017, from HQ at HarperCollins* You may think you know what you’re getting yourself into when you read the blurb - blah blah another psychological thriller about some killer. YEAH YEAH YOU HEARD IT ALL BEFORE. And. You’d be right- in part - but what trumps this (and not in the ugly POTUS Trump, but you know, the OTHER trump) is the story and writing on which this thriller hangs. Fluid writing, split between past and present - I’ve read loads of books that do this, but never before have I been so enamoured by both sides that I wanted to just read all the ‘past’ chapters in one go and the ‘present’ chapters in another go. They blend so seamlessly well together, that I just find myself nodding along, ‘yes, yes, genius, you go go glen coco’ - any excuse for a Mean Girls moments, really. I’ve encountered dark and twisted books, like Behind Closed Doors (the review for which can be found here) or even Gone Girl (again, review here) - but this was something else. The less I reveal, I think the better - because you need to read it to be on the same page as me. It does make you wonder how the author, came up with such ideas, and actions for this book. Delving deep, perhaps too deep, into the human psyche? Who knows. WHO EVEN KNOWS. Well the author does. But you know, my question wasn’t really meant to be answered. In terms of the characters, so strong was the plot of the book, and the events that were the driving factor, that I felt like the characters weren’t fleshed out (pun intended) enough, given enough dept. They were basic and needed more dimension to really hammer this story home. There were a few twists in the book that I did see coming, but the biggest one was a shocker. Again, shan’t say no more in case I ruin it for people. I know there’s a lot of psychological and thriller books out there, and this is pretty much diving into that throng - but it’s bold and twisted and certainly one that if read, will stand out, because you’ll probably be putting the book down every few chapters and thinking to yourself ‘… what in the actual fuuuuu is going on WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT’. Or along those lines. I will also take a moment to add, that the cover - yeah it preeeettty much reminds me of The Human Centipede, am I right? Gross. I know this is a really, really short review - but there isn't much more I can add without ruining the anticipation for you mes amigos. Well paced, well written, and certainly one to look out for for 2017. Mark it on your calendars. The Fourth Monkey will strike soon. Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
    more
  • Thebooktrail
    April 7, 2017
    There are some books that stay in your mind for the sheer mental images they produce. This is one of those books. Very Stephen King with all the vivid torture and horror scenes. A bit graphic in places, I'm not going to lie but the overall effect was one I almost fainted as a result of the denouement.It's a macabre plot with someone called the Monkey Killer having terrorised the city of Chicago for more than 5 years. A city on the edge - well I was by the end of the book. What does go on inside There are some books that stay in your mind for the sheer mental images they produce. This is one of those books. Very Stephen King with all the vivid torture and horror scenes. A bit graphic in places, I'm not going to lie but the overall effect was one I almost fainted as a result of the denouement.It's a macabre plot with someone called the Monkey Killer having terrorised the city of Chicago for more than 5 years. A city on the edge - well I was by the end of the book. What does go on inside the mind of a writer never mind a serial killer? Jeepers, It's raw and relentless - Imagine I felt very similar to the characters in the book. Although the horrors in which one victim is placed - well I don't want to go there!It's taunt, fast paced and relentless. Any future visits to Chicago are going to be marked with this macabre history but I may well stroll past Chicago PD and salute Sam Porter. If he comes back in another novel, I will be reading - maybe with both eyes covered like that monkey... A novel which stabs you, twists the knife and leaves you reeling. And remember the proverb don't see, hear or speak any evil. And then just remember there is a fourth monkey who might just do all three.
    more
  • Elaine Tomasso
    February 26, 2017
    I would like to thank Netgalley and Harlequin Uk for an advance copy of The Fourth Monkey which tells of the Chicago police's hunt for a serial killer dubbed The Four Monkeys Killer or 4MK for short.A man is run over by a bus, an accident apparently until they realise he was carrying a neatly wrapped box with an ear in it. The 4MK is dead but who is he and where is his latest victim?What a great, absorbing and different read. There are two things that make this novel stand out from the crowd, th I would like to thank Netgalley and Harlequin Uk for an advance copy of The Fourth Monkey which tells of the Chicago police's hunt for a serial killer dubbed The Four Monkeys Killer or 4MK for short.A man is run over by a bus, an accident apparently until they realise he was carrying a neatly wrapped box with an ear in it. The 4MK is dead but who is he and where is his latest victim?What a great, absorbing and different read. There are two things that make this novel stand out from the crowd, the first that the starting point is a dead killer with no identification and the second that the police investigation is intercut with excerpts from a diary found in the killer's clothing which tells its own tale of incidents from the killer's childhood. You will think you've read it all before, but trust me, not like this you haven't. 4MK takes deviousness to a whole new level in his plotting with twist upon twist with a final one in the last few paragraphs - I was hanging on every word. The hunt for Emory, the missing girl is good but the excerpts from the diary are brilliant. The unnamed 12 year old narrator, "Champ" to his father, starts off describing a very happy household but there is an edge to it which soon becomes apparent. Champ is very obviously a psychopath, his narration is chilling in its matter of factness and his actions reinforce this detachment. Some of it is quite funny in a macabre way. There is no way, however, I could have guessed at how events would unfold and it had me mesmerised at its twists and turns. It's a tour de force in its portrayal of Champ.I have no hesitation in recommending The Fourth Monkey as an excellent read to anyone looking for something a bit offbeat.
    more
  • Kira Simion
    May 27, 2017
    Kaceey's and Christine's reviews convinced me!
  • Jennifer
    April 25, 2017
    I received this book from Booklover Cat Lady & NetGalley in exchange for an honest review4 solid starsWhat can I say other than “believe the hype”. This is a strong, and I mean strong, psychological thriller. Normally, I would tend to shy away from detective driven plot lines and characters. It doesn’t appeal to me and I always feel that authors make our protagonist the same character over and over. A rebel cop who can’t seem to follow the rules, always in trouble with their superior, heavy I received this book from Booklover Cat Lady & NetGalley in exchange for an honest review4 solid starsWhat can I say other than “believe the hype”. This is a strong, and I mean strong, psychological thriller. Normally, I would tend to shy away from detective driven plot lines and characters. It doesn’t appeal to me and I always feel that authors make our protagonist the same character over and over. A rebel cop who can’t seem to follow the rules, always in trouble with their superior, heavy drinker, troubled / haunted past, marital problems, blah, blah, blah. Just like me, you’ve read it all before.BUT, and this is a big but, 4MK is nothing like your typical detective centric thriller. Yes, Sam Porter, a detective with Chicago homicide is our main character, but he is not a cliché. In fact, while the author does allude to and expand upon a bit of Sam’s personal life, this is 4MK’s story. The story is told from multiple POV and flips back and forth between past and present. The past being told my 4MK in a diary entry fashion. Typically when I read books with parallel story lines / past present there is one more dominant story line that I am more interested in. Not in this case. Both stories are full of suspense, twists and turns and storytelling that keeps you wanting to read “one more chapter”.I highly recommend this book and fully expect this to be a highly talked about book of 2017. It’s sick, twisted, dark, thrilling and excellent. Do not read any spoilers and don’t bother with the plot synopsis. Just pick up this book and buckle your seatbelt. Seven meets Hannibal Lector is the most accurate description I have seen for this read. And, I promise I am not giving anything away, dare I say that this just might lead to a series?
    more
  • Alex Dolan
    October 24, 2016
    In THE FOURTH MONKEY, J.D. Barker interweaves multiple mysteries into an exhilarating thriller with a compelling new villain. The complexity of the puzzles and the lighting pace funnels the reader through a Rube Goldberg contraption of twists and turns. Buckle yourself in and have fun!
    more
Write a review