Juniper Lemon's Happiness Index
It’s been sixty-five days since the accident that killed Juniper’s sister, and ripped Juniper’s world apart.Then she finds the love letter: written by Camilla on the day of the accident, addressed mysteriously to “You,” but never sent. Desperate to learn You’s identity and deliver the message, Juniper starts to investigate.Until she loses something. A card from her Happiness Index: a ritual started by sunny Camie for logging positives each day. It’s what’s been holding Juniper together since her death – but a lost card only widens the hole she left behind. And this particular card contains Juniper’s own dark secret: a memory she can't let anyone else find out.The search for You and her card take Juniper to even less expected places, and as she connects with those whose secrets she upturns in the effort, she may just find the means to make peace with her own.This is a smart, funny, poignant book guaranteed to make you laugh and cry – and maybe even take notes.

Juniper Lemon's Happiness Index Details

TitleJuniper Lemon's Happiness Index
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 30th, 2017
PublisherKathy Dawson Books
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Fiction, Family, Young Adult Contemporary, Realistic Fiction

Juniper Lemon's Happiness Index Review

  • M.L. Rio
    February 28, 2017
    YA is not really my genre, so let me offer you an interloper's opinion: Juniper Lemon is a lemony fresh, fantastic read. It's smart, funny and poignant, and manages to tackle everything from first love to first loss without trivializing the trials of being a teenager. Juniper's anger and grief and shame are tangible, but Israel manages to give them the gravitas they need without weighing the story down. (My favorite device for walking that tightrope appears in a painful family dinner scene, wher YA is not really my genre, so let me offer you an interloper's opinion: Juniper Lemon is a lemony fresh, fantastic read. It's smart, funny and poignant, and manages to tackle everything from first love to first loss without trivializing the trials of being a teenager. Juniper's anger and grief and shame are tangible, but Israel manages to give them the gravitas they need without weighing the story down. (My favorite device for walking that tightrope appears in a painful family dinner scene, where Juniper resorts to Monopoly metaphors to make sense of her grieving parents' belabored communication.) Israel's wit shines through in Juniper's narration, which is by turns sarcastic, self-effacing, and so insightful that I stopped more than once and said to myself, "I've had exactly that thought." Though some of the other characters are familiar, they're never cliché, and some stereotypes are turned refreshingly upside-down; Juniper's bad-boy-next-door has unexpected soft spots, her nice-boy-next-door unexpected secrets. But where Israel truly excels is in capturing the harrowing everyday drama of high school: throughout the story I found myself blushing with secondhand embarrassment and dreading familiar disasters I could see crouching just around the corners. But there's sweetness here, too: Israel writes the teenage agony of we-both-know-we're-going-to-make-out-but-we're-both-shy-about-it-and-therefore-awkward with such sympathy and tenderness that you can't help smiling, because it's all so familiar. But my favorite thing about this whole story is the ending, because it simultaneously defies and satisfies expectations. The little mysteries kept me entranced until the very last page, and Israel ties it all up in the best unexpected way. All in all, well worth a read, for strangers to YA and genre experts alike.
    more
  • Lauren R.
    June 1, 2017
    Ahhhh. My love/obsession wavered a smidge at the end (especially with how some things "wrapped up") but I still loooooooved this. I read it in one day because I just couldn't stop. There's no better feeling than when a book you super hyped up for yourself ends up meeting (probably exceeding tbh) your expectations. I loved the premise and cover the moment I saw them - anything with lists or letters or secret identities will make it onto my TBR. I loved how Juniper pulled together her own little f Ahhhh. My love/obsession wavered a smidge at the end (especially with how some things "wrapped up") but I still loooooooved this. I read it in one day because I just couldn't stop. There's no better feeling than when a book you super hyped up for yourself ends up meeting (probably exceeding tbh) your expectations. I loved the premise and cover the moment I saw them - anything with lists or letters or secret identities will make it onto my TBR. I loved how Juniper pulled together her own little friend group, tried to figure out her sister's mysteries, and started to find herself again. All of the intricacies in the plot points and characters were perfect.
    more
  • Frances
    May 20, 2017
    This was such a fun read! Tackling grief, friendship and first love, it may not seem to be the most lighthearted contemporary, but Juniper is sassy, sarcastic and down right hilarious in parts, which lightens the mood when needed. I loved the index card idea, and the way it is used throughout the story too. I would highly recommend this if you want a funny contemporary, with romance and mystery, but that has more too it than the usual ya tropes I'm also a little in love with the 'bad-boy' and Ju This was such a fun read! Tackling grief, friendship and first love, it may not seem to be the most lighthearted contemporary, but Juniper is sassy, sarcastic and down right hilarious in parts, which lightens the mood when needed. I loved the index card idea, and the way it is used throughout the story too. I would highly recommend this if you want a funny contemporary, with romance and mystery, but that has more too it than the usual ya tropes I'm also a little in love with the 'bad-boy' and Junipers new found friends! I want to have my lunch at their table!
    more
  • YA Wednesdays
    May 26, 2017
    MARK YOUR CALENDARS! We'll be on the blog tour with our review and a little something special we're cooking up on June 2nd.
  • Trisha
    April 14, 2017
    There's a lot going on here, but the author manages to balance it all, and neatly tie up the plot threads satisfactorily.
  • Karen Barber
    May 28, 2017
    Juniper is trying to come to terms with the fact her elder sister died, and they never really got to sort out their arguments beforehand. Since Cammie's death Juniper has rated every day, examining what events have happened and how they've impacted on her happiness. Only one day she loses the index card on which she writes her thoughts.Desperate to avoid anyone learning of her secret, Juniper searches through rubbish to try and find the missing card. What she ends up with are secrets and notes f Juniper is trying to come to terms with the fact her elder sister died, and they never really got to sort out their arguments beforehand. Since Cammie's death Juniper has rated every day, examining what events have happened and how they've impacted on her happiness. Only one day she loses the index card on which she writes her thoughts.Desperate to avoid anyone learning of her secret, Juniper searches through rubbish to try and find the missing card. What she ends up with are secrets and notes from other students that suggest everyone has things they want to avoid facing. As much about friendships and finding yourself as dealing with loss, this is a sweet story. I'm not sure it's one I'll remember in years to come, but it was thoughtful. My key frustration was that 'You' never became more than a device to force the next phase of Juniper's recovery.Thanks to NetGalley for the advance copy.
    more
  • Lauren (Northern Plunder)
    February 10, 2017
    so i finished this last night and i just want to type up an inital thoughts review before i get down to writing the actual full length one later because i really enjoyed this book which surprised me.- im not usually one to pick up contemporarys but the arc arrived at work which meant there was 0 committment to me reading + reviewing it so i thought i'd try- the main story itself is kinda predictable but all the bits that fill in the holes are what make this a really cool read- also can we get th so i finished this last night and i just want to type up an inital thoughts review before i get down to writing the actual full length one later because i really enjoyed this book which surprised me.- im not usually one to pick up contemporarys but the arc arrived at work which meant there was 0 committment to me reading + reviewing it so i thought i'd try- the main story itself is kinda predictable but all the bits that fill in the holes are what make this a really cool read- also can we get the uk cover up on gr because it also includes the theme of holes in how happiness is written and i really like that touch!!- shows different ways of dealing with grief - some kind of lgbt rep but like kinda hidden till the end... with only 1 hint earlier / but this book is about secrets so in a way it makes sense but still yknow
    more
  • Meg Eden
    March 6, 2017
    ***Note: I'm so excited about this book that I'm having trouble discerning over whether what I'm saying contains spoilers, so I'm selecting "Hide review b/c of spoilers" just in case.***WOW--I LOVED this book! I love the voice, the structure, the details, the takeaways--this book is stellar on all fronts! There's a great attention to detail, and so many small moments that seem inconsequential that in fact have a larger significance. For example, the book Great Expectations comes up right away as ***Note: I'm so excited about this book that I'm having trouble discerning over whether what I'm saying contains spoilers, so I'm selecting "Hide review b/c of spoilers" just in case.***WOW--I LOVED this book! I love the voice, the structure, the details, the takeaways--this book is stellar on all fronts! There's a great attention to detail, and so many small moments that seem inconsequential that in fact have a larger significance. For example, the book Great Expectations comes up right away as everyone complains about having to read it for lit (personally, it's my favorite book of all time, but I get it's long). Great Expectations continues to pop up, and honestly I don't think that's meaningless--Miss Havingsham, one of the main characters, copes with loss through vengeance, bitterness, and literally freezing her life to the point before she lost the man she loved--and her response to loss has consequences on the other characters in her life. "Juniper Lemon's Happiness Index" is all about loss and how we cope with loss. The characters all cope with the loss of Camie Lemon in different ways, and it's up to Juniper to figure out how she'll personally choose to cope. Juniper is creative, interesting, and totally relatable. I definitely related to how she instinctually worked to "fix" things--and how Brand even points this out as problematic. It was so satisfying to see Juniper find her own creative ways to assert her sister's presence back into the world. I loved how much we discover about the people in Juniper's lives through found objects--this was so creative, but also much more powerful than explicit explanations. I felt like I really knew all the characters, which is really impressive!My only comment is that the cursing at some point felt excessive to the point of disingenuine. This might just be me. I believed it when characters like Brand cursed, but I didn't always buy Juniper's cursing. It became less powerful and meaningful when they cursed because it was relatively frequent--I wish that had been honed in just a little more so when they did curse, it was more powerful. But again, this may have just been my reading, and honestly--if that's the most I can point out, that's pretty stunning. This book is so solid, so thorough, and I definitely said: "Wow, I wish I had written that!" multiple times while reading. This book is a MUST-READ, and definitely one of my top most-anticipated releases for 2017!!!
    more
  • Laura
    June 1, 2017
    This book gave me so many feelings!
  • Nikki Katz
    March 7, 2017
    I loved this book, read it very quickly and it stuck with me after I put it down. Juniper's loss is very poignant without being overly dramatic and sad, and her journey is one you will want to follow.
  • Girlwithapen93
    May 27, 2017
    I learnt about this book at a Penguin Random House Showcase event that was held at the beginning of the year. I have been waiting for its release since then and was super excited to read it when I was given a copy recently. First, the way the publisher talked about this book made me want to read the story, but secondly, the beautiful art work on the front cover which wraps around to the back is B.E.A.U.T.I.F.U.L. A great cover and book on the inside.The story follows Lemon, on a journey of grief I learnt about this book at a Penguin Random House Showcase event that was held at the beginning of the year. I have been waiting for its release since then and was super excited to read it when I was given a copy recently. First, the way the publisher talked about this book made me want to read the story, but secondly, the beautiful art work on the front cover which wraps around to the back is B.E.A.U.T.I.F.U.L. A great cover and book on the inside.The story follows Lemon, on a journey of grief and immense pain. She’s trying to work out how to live in a world where her big sister is no longer in it. In a family which is different to the one she grew up in, in a cold and haunted house which is filled with a ghost of a mother who no longer knows how to live without her daughter. When Lemon finds, her sisters love letter without a name on it, she makes it her mission to find out who she was writing it for. This mission leads her down a new and different path in her life. One where she is hurt and angry and tries to make new friends out of the hurt that she finds whilst looking for her sister’s lover. “At this, something in me shifts. It’s like all the residual rage is suddenly pushed back, banished by this one little candle after so much darkness. To have someone remember Camilla with me – for a moment she’s not just a memory some dream I’m forgetting. She is real: confirmed by this stranger’s validation, this piece of her he holds that fits with mine” page 64.A lot happens in this book. This book drowns in the theme of death and grief. It is swallowed by the thought of trying to move on and live in a world without a loved one. But it is underneath the theme of grief, there is a beautiful story of friendship that emerges. Friendships that wouldn’t happen without the first fallen domino but a consequence happily welcomed within the book. A needed consequence in the book as it can get dark and heavily emotional through most of it.The characters in this book, all go through a lot of growth and change in the less than 400-page novel they sit in. The writing in the book bring to life death in a way that is sad and complex. The writing brings to life a family that is not keeping it together and working through their issues. There are situations of domestic and children’s abuse, negligence and drink driving. This is a forward-thinking book that talks about a lot of topics that teenagers and young adults should read more about so that they are comfortable talking about them in real life. There is one thing in the book that I didn’t like, there was no definition on who ‘You’ was and it drove me crazy as the number of pages dwindled. I just wish there was some resolution for the reader as there is for Juniper, but it feels like the reader is being led on and the author just gives up.If you like tough but brutally honest books about death and how they affect teenagers and their family with a bit of a scavenger hunt within, then this is the book for you.
    more
  • Latkins
    March 18, 2017
    This is a rather endearing American YA novel about the eponymous Juniper Lemon, a high school student whose older sister Camilla has recently died after a party on 4th July. Juniper copes by continuing the 'happiness index' - a chronicle of the good and bad points of her day - which Camie had encouraged her to begin in order to combat her natural pessimism. When Juniper returns to school for the autumn term, she finds that her best friend Lauren can no longer talk to her, but she discovers new f This is a rather endearing American YA novel about the eponymous Juniper Lemon, a high school student whose older sister Camilla has recently died after a party on 4th July. Juniper copes by continuing the 'happiness index' - a chronicle of the good and bad points of her day - which Camie had encouraged her to begin in order to combat her natural pessimism. When Juniper returns to school for the autumn term, she finds that her best friend Lauren can no longer talk to her, but she discovers new friends in the shape of newcomer in town Nate and bad boy band singer Brand. Juniper then finds a note that Camie had written to a secret lover before she died, which she never got to deliver, and Juniper becomes determined to find out who the secret lover was. She also loses one of her index cards which had personal feelings on it, so starts to look through rubbish at the school to try and find it. It's then that she discovers secrets about a number of her schoolmates, and, like Jane Austen's Emma, rather naively tries to make their lives better by befriending them. This doesn't quite go to plan... And what really happened the night Camie died? Essentially, this is a novel about overcoming grief and forming new friendships, and I did enjoy it, but I've recently read a rather similar novel, One Of Us Is Lying, which I thought was better. It does explore some good issues though - bullying, suicide, neglectful and abusive parents - without ever becoming too downbeat or morbid.SPOILER ALERTI was a bit disappointed that the mystery of the lover was never resolved. Not that I think that novels should never be open-ended - sometimes unresolved mysteries work very well, but with this one I just felt a bit let down.
    more
  • Siobhan
    May 15, 2017
    Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index is a moving YA novel about loss and friendship, about having secrets and knowing what to do with other people’s. Juniper Lemon is lost without her older sister Camilla. She writes a daily Happiness Index in her sister’s memory and doesn’t know how to get through to her grieving parents. When she discovers a mysterious letter written by her sister to “You” on the day of her death, Juniper starts on a path to try and solve this mystery, protect her own secrets, and Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index is a moving YA novel about loss and friendship, about having secrets and knowing what to do with other people’s. Juniper Lemon is lost without her older sister Camilla. She writes a daily Happiness Index in her sister’s memory and doesn’t know how to get through to her grieving parents. When she discovers a mysterious letter written by her sister to “You” on the day of her death, Juniper starts on a path to try and solve this mystery, protect her own secrets, and find a way of keeping Camilla close as the days keep going on.The novel has a vibrant cast of characters, following Juniper as she makes new friends and deals with old relationships in the light of recent tragedy. The way in which Juniper realises she has brought people together around her is particularly powerful and leaves a lasting message about the importance of connecting with other people even—and especially—when terrible things have occurred. The mysteries and secrets unfold in a satisfying way whilst all being relatable issues and ideas to a teenage audience and there is a wealth of understated detail, but it is the characters who really shine through and their emotions are what makes the book important. In particular, the highlighting of different points of view—how thinking you’re helping somebody might not actually be the help they need, for example—is significant, showing how Juniper’s actions are well-meaning but can have negative consequences too.Uplifting yet not cloying, Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index will appeal to anyone who enjoys YA books that balance friendship, love, and serious issues, with a tinge of mystery and ambiguity.
    more
  • Rebecca
    May 22, 2017
    Juniper recently lost her sister, and now all she can see is reminders of her sisters life - even her friends at school are a constant reminder. But when Juniper finds a letter simply addressed to "You" it sets her on a path riddled with secrets which might shed a little more light on her sisters life. Because Juniper must find out the identity of the person her sister needed to message so badly, and maybe if she can this might make things just a little more bareable for Juniper too.This book cl Juniper recently lost her sister, and now all she can see is reminders of her sisters life - even her friends at school are a constant reminder. But when Juniper finds a letter simply addressed to "You" it sets her on a path riddled with secrets which might shed a little more light on her sisters life. Because Juniper must find out the identity of the person her sister needed to message so badly, and maybe if she can this might make things just a little more bareable for Juniper too.This book cleverly deals with loss. I particularly like how the author captures the almost obsessive behaviour grief often brings out in people (Juniper has a Happiness Index which helps her cope), but even more so how well they show that grief manifests differently for everyone. This is an important book for young people, or anyone really, feeling the struggle. I also really like some of the themes throughout - there are so many little secrets, twists and turns within this book; I mean the whole concept is based on a mysterious person! But the eventual conclusion ties all of those secrets up so well. I did find Juniper quite random. She is hilarious as a narrator, but also quite erratic. I couldn't ever decide if this was an utterly brilliant way of capturing someone's inner thoughts or just a bit confusing - but I liked it I think! Overall, a good read which intelligently deals with love and loss. It is relatively predictable, but you won't care because you'll be hooked on Juniper before you even notice! ARC provided free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Eve
    May 11, 2017
    After losing her sister, Juniper is finding it hard to face certain people at her school, Lauren and Camilla were friends and then there's Heather and Kody too.When she uses Camilla's bag and finds a letter addressed to a boyfriend or girlfriend Camilla had, Juniper takes it upon herself to find out just what her sister was keeping from her.Frustrated at herself for not saving her sister and seeing flashbacks to the July 4/5 accident where Camilla was driving and filming at the same time resulti After losing her sister, Juniper is finding it hard to face certain people at her school, Lauren and Camilla were friends and then there's Heather and Kody too.When she uses Camilla's bag and finds a letter addressed to a boyfriend or girlfriend Camilla had, Juniper takes it upon herself to find out just what her sister was keeping from her.Frustrated at herself for not saving her sister and seeing flashbacks to the July 4/5 accident where Camilla was driving and filming at the same time resulting in the car crash accident which killed her, Brand sees her smash up the ceramics department and helps her by taking the detention punishment and helps Juniper dumpster dive for her lost index card from her collection of past events.Juniper spends the course of the book trying to piece together the life her sister kept hidden from her and along the way finds out secrets of her closest friends which wrecks and repairs relationships.The unique part of the book aside from the mystery romance her sister his from her, is the fact that she keeps a physical record of the most important memories from set days in a modern day where we mostly rely on technology, I liked that. It was also a promise she made to her sister she continued despite her being gone. Which shows her loyalty and connection is still strong.Many thanks to the publishers for allowing me to review this book for them!
    more
  • Lauren
    May 21, 2017
    This was a very thought out, loud novel: lots of stuff happening. But they all focused on a grief stricken girl struggling to keep her grip on the memories of her dead sister. As she reaches for straws in determining who the secret man was her sister was seeing (and spoiler: we never really find out but it's pretty clear who it is) she finds and helps some fellow teens struggling themselves at school and creates strong friendships.Full honesty: this was a wonderfully written novel with very stro This was a very thought out, loud novel: lots of stuff happening. But they all focused on a grief stricken girl struggling to keep her grip on the memories of her dead sister. As she reaches for straws in determining who the secret man was her sister was seeing (and spoiler: we never really find out but it's pretty clear who it is) she finds and helps some fellow teens struggling themselves at school and creates strong friendships.Full honesty: this was a wonderfully written novel with very strong themes and characters, and it was almost a five star book. BUT I seriously just felt it was too unrealistic in the whole Camilla thing. Like yes, you lost your sister and that is awful. But ALL the other characters were just swept along in Juniper's never ending grief and hunt for her sister's mystery bf and they were all totally whatever about that? I mean, it went on for almost a year! That's just so over dramatic for me.
    more
  • Teresa
    March 11, 2017
    This book....I mean This. Book. I picked it up on a whim, the cover and the blurb helped to lure me in, but once I picked it up I couldn't put it down...I read it in one sitting. I laughed out loud in parts, cringed in others and even teared up in a couple places. Julie Israel put me through the ringer and I came out on the other side a smiling fool. Juniper Lemon has made my list of favorite characters...she is so strong, smart, determined...I could go on and on. Buy this book, that is all.Than This book....I mean This. Book. I picked it up on a whim, the cover and the blurb helped to lure me in, but once I picked it up I couldn't put it down...I read it in one sitting. I laughed out loud in parts, cringed in others and even teared up in a couple places. Julie Israel put me through the ringer and I came out on the other side a smiling fool. Juniper Lemon has made my list of favorite characters...she is so strong, smart, determined...I could go on and on. Buy this book, that is all.Thanks to Penguin for the ARC.
    more
  • Briony
    May 21, 2017
    Damn, I liked this book way more than I thought I would! My favourite thing was all the characters, and their interactions and developing friendships with each other. Also really loved the way it was centred on Juniper's relationship with her sister, and her grief - it was explored in such a realistic way, and the 'holes' theme/images worked surprisingly well! And the mystery element of the plotline was perfectly balanced against character development, to keep the story moving along. Will defini Damn, I liked this book way more than I thought I would! My favourite thing was all the characters, and their interactions and developing friendships with each other. Also really loved the way it was centred on Juniper's relationship with her sister, and her grief - it was explored in such a realistic way, and the 'holes' theme/images worked surprisingly well! And the mystery element of the plotline was perfectly balanced against character development, to keep the story moving along. Will definitely be keeping an eye out for future books by Julie Israel!
    more
  • Alice
    May 29, 2017
    I am a massive YA fan - even though I am 28 - and I have read a lot of mediocre titles in this genre. This book is certainly not mediocre. It is fantastic! The characters are well drawn and engaging, the story moves along at a good pace and I couldn't put it down. I read it in 24 hours! If you're looking for a summer read that explores grief, love & friendship then pick this book up. I highly recommend it!A free copy was provided by netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jasmine Killick
    May 12, 2017
    I loved this book. It had me gripped,I didn't want to put it down.
  • Lauren AKA randomfreckles
    May 29, 2017
    2.5 stars Juniper Lemon's happiness index could have been really good, but I don't think it ended up being for me. It was cheesy and cliché at times, but it handled grief well.
  • Carmensutra
    June 1, 2017
    This was beyond wonderful. Review to come tomorrow!
  • Melissa
    February 8, 2017
    A very sweet YA title dealing with loss and friendship
  • Jacquie
    March 9, 2017
    (This review is based off of an Advanced Reader's Copy I recently received from a book convention.)Wow.This book really packed a punch.I loved getting to read Juniper's story, and follow her story as she navigated through her life after the loss of her older (and only) sister, Camilla. (Spoilers to the first few pages) This book is about Juniper and her sister's relationship Before, and how life is for her Now, when her parents are hardly talking and her best friend is avoiding her.This book had (This review is based off of an Advanced Reader's Copy I recently received from a book convention.)Wow.This book really packed a punch.I loved getting to read Juniper's story, and follow her story as she navigated through her life after the loss of her older (and only) sister, Camilla. (Spoilers to the first few pages) This book is about Juniper and her sister's relationship Before, and how life is for her Now, when her parents are hardly talking and her best friend is avoiding her.This book had a great voice, and I was reading this book any free moment I had.The chapters titles are the number of days it's been since the accident. Before her death, Camilla encouraged her sister to keep track of something every day that she was happy about, and Juniper writes it out on a different numbered note card every day. Juniper attempts to follow this pattern after Camilla's death, but finds it causes more trouble than she realizes. Particularily when she loses a note card that holds one of her biggest secrets.I'm looking forward to reading any other books Julie Israel writes.
    more
  • Sarah
    May 3, 2017
    Juniper Lemon's Happiness IndexAwesome book that really kept me glued to the pages through out the story. very much recommend this book to be added to your book shelf :)
  • Sonia C
    February 18, 2017
    A great debut book by Julie Israel! I received the ARC of Juniper Lemon through my work, and I found it to be refreshing, compared to the books I normally read (I'm partial to fantasy fiction or books with dystopian/post-apocalyptic themes) The book is well-written, and even though it deals with death and grief, it didn't feel heavy or dark. I really liked the way the chapters are numbered, the idea of the happiness index and negative space and watching the main character's journey to accept her A great debut book by Julie Israel! I received the ARC of Juniper Lemon through my work, and I found it to be refreshing, compared to the books I normally read (I'm partial to fantasy fiction or books with dystopian/post-apocalyptic themes) The book is well-written, and even though it deals with death and grief, it didn't feel heavy or dark. I really liked the way the chapters are numbered, the idea of the happiness index and negative space and watching the main character's journey to accept her loss. It's a sweet, enjoyable read and I hope others will like it too.
    more
  • Jennifer Imai
    February 9, 2017
    A great debut! Juniper is a nice blend of sensitivity and teenage irreverence, genuine and clever, so you want to listen to the story she tells. She's immersed in her high-school world of classes, friends and extra-curriculars, but she isn't perfect--an outburst of her understandable rage results in detention--nor is she sappy--in fact some of her asides and inner monologues made me chuckle. Israel does a good job with a tough subject--grief--as her lead character tries hard to deal with the los A great debut! Juniper is a nice blend of sensitivity and teenage irreverence, genuine and clever, so you want to listen to the story she tells. She's immersed in her high-school world of classes, friends and extra-curriculars, but she isn't perfect--an outburst of her understandable rage results in detention--nor is she sappy--in fact some of her asides and inner monologues made me chuckle. Israel does a good job with a tough subject--grief--as her lead character tries hard to deal with the loss of her sister by compulsively creating rituals that, she hopes, will ensure not a single memory will fade. Themes of negative space, holes created by absences, and Dala horses thread throughout this well-constructed story, which is rich with Pacific Northwest references--a fun read for Oregonians, especially.
    more
  • Aoife
    January 31, 2017
    Can't wait for everyone to read this. I really enjoyed it and loved the characters.
Write a review