The Unlikelies
Five teens embark on a summer of vigilante good samaritanism in a novel that's part The Breakfast Club, part The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, and utterly captivating.Rising high school senior Sadie is bracing herself for a long, lonely, and boring summer. But things take an unexpected turn when she steps in to help rescue a baby in distress and a video of her good deed goes viral.Suddenly internet-famous, Sadie's summer changes for the better when she's introduced to other "hometown heroes." These five very different teens form an unlikely alliance to secretly right local wrongs, but when they try to help a heroin-using friend, they get in over their heads and discover that there might be truth in the saying "no good deed goes unpunished." Can Sadie and her new friends make it through the summer with their friendships--and anonymity--intact?This rich and thought-provoking novel takes on timely issues and timeless experiences with a winning combination of romance, humor, and wisdom.

The Unlikelies Details

TitleThe Unlikelies
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherLittle, Brown and Company
ISBN0316382868
ISBN-139780316382861
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary

The Unlikelies Review

  • Lola Reviewer
    April 22, 2017
    Unrealistic, unlikely events.
  • Sherwood Smith
    March 11, 2017
    Sadie is a high school junior who hung out with the seniors, as her own class was full of losers. The summer after she said goodbye to them all, including her bestie, she goes to work at a local fruit and veg stand--at least, she starts the summer doing that. Then comes the Incident. Which changes everything.Sadie is our narrator, fiercely observant, full of big questions, full of heart. She ends up at a community lunch where she meets some other local teens. The group of them get together, and Sadie is a high school junior who hung out with the seniors, as her own class was full of losers. The summer after she said goodbye to them all, including her bestie, she goes to work at a local fruit and veg stand--at least, she starts the summer doing that. Then comes the Incident. Which changes everything.Sadie is our narrator, fiercely observant, full of big questions, full of heart. She ends up at a community lunch where she meets some other local teens. The group of them get together, and then decide to form a secret organization that does random acts of kindness.The story involves them all--goals, setbacks, motivations, promises. Problems, such as one girl's horrible descent into heroin addiction. Misunderstandings. Along the way, parents slowly become human beings, with pasts and problems of their own.It's a fast-paced, vivid book full of typical teen humor, passion, grim things and good things. A dash of wish fulfillment, but in the best way. I found the book nearly impossible to put down.I think teens and up would enjoy it, though parents who are on the watch for such things should know that there are some f-bombs here and there, and under-eighteens having casual sex. But I hope that those elements won't turn away possible readers: such a book, encountering various differing points of view and problems head on, and dealing with the consequences, has the potential to get parents and kids talking together about their own life choices. Communication, as illustrated here so well (sometimes heartbreakingly well), is so vital.Copy provided courtesy of NetGalley
    more
  • Olivia (The Candid Cover)
    June 2, 2017
    I have just started this one, but I am loving how positive it is! It tells the story of a group of heroes who team up to do good deeds. I can already tell that I am going to enjoy this book. I can’t wait to keep reading and see who The Unlikelies save next!
    more
  • Lisa
    April 5, 2017
    This is a light, summer read featuring positive teen hijinks and sugary sweet romance. A solid, fun read.
  • Juliana Mills
    March 18, 2017
    I've just finished reading an ARC of The Unlikelies, and it was every bit as good as I hoped it would be. Fans of Firestone's previous book, The Loose Ends List, will recognize her snappy dialogue and use of a large and varied cast of characters. The Unlikelies, however, is a little lighter in tone – a true summer tale. I have no doubt it will be a great vacation read once it hits bookstores in June.The Unlikelies brings us five Hamptons teens, thrown together at a Homegrown Heroes luncheon hono I've just finished reading an ARC of The Unlikelies, and it was every bit as good as I hoped it would be. Fans of Firestone's previous book, The Loose Ends List, will recognize her snappy dialogue and use of a large and varied cast of characters. The Unlikelies, however, is a little lighter in tone – a true summer tale. I have no doubt it will be a great vacation read once it hits bookstores in June.The Unlikelies brings us five Hamptons teens, thrown together at a Homegrown Heroes luncheon honoring good deeds they've carried out within the community. The five soon-to-be high school seniors, at a loose end over summer, find themselves bonding and setting off on a crusade that starts with standing up to online trolls and bullies, and ends up on a darker path as they take on drug dealers to protect a heroin addict friend.This lovely story handles difficult subjects such as addiction with delicacy and care. Firestone balances out her novel by packing it full of funny moments that had me actually laughing out loud. It has important messages about standing up to bullies – online and in real life – but at no moment does the book come across as preachy. Instead, it's a delightful and optimistic tale that will leave readers sighing for more.
    more
  • grace
    October 1, 2016
    What a beautiful book. With the outrageous amount of hate being thrown around may it be on social media or real life, this is exactly what we need to read right now. I can't even begin to explain how much I loved this.Never stop writing, Carrie Firestone.
    more
  • Karen Fortunati
    November 15, 2016
    You'll need to add THE UNLIKELIES to your TBR list asap. It's spectacular! Like her debut novel, THE LOOSE ENDS LIST, Firestone concocts an absolute blast of a story with vivid characters, sharp dialogue and even sharper humor. But this is much more than a tale about an "unlikely" crew who bonds over acts of guerrilla kindness to counter the pervasive trolling/hate. (Note - that alone is enough to set this story apart - this rebellion for decency and respect and acceptance.) Firestone dives deep You'll need to add THE UNLIKELIES to your TBR list asap. It's spectacular! Like her debut novel, THE LOOSE ENDS LIST, Firestone concocts an absolute blast of a story with vivid characters, sharp dialogue and even sharper humor. But this is much more than a tale about an "unlikely" crew who bonds over acts of guerrilla kindness to counter the pervasive trolling/hate. (Note - that alone is enough to set this story apart - this rebellion for decency and respect and acceptance.) Firestone dives deeper - exposing the impact and scars of bullying and the herd mentality of cyber group behavior. Substance abuse is also a major player in this story and Firestone lays out the horrors and destruction of heroin addiction. But in her trademark style, these topics are handled deftly with superb writing and skill. Firestone is one of my favorite authors - her stories are unique and brilliant and written in equal parts smart, funny and heartfelt. This comes out in June 2017 and I hope you can get your hands on an arc like I did. It's phenomenal!
    more
  • Crazy4Books
    May 29, 2017
    I just got a physical arc of this and since I read ebooks more than physical books I went to request it on Netgalley but it has disapeared lol guess Im reading the physical book.
  • Heather
    April 24, 2017
    Five teens spend the summer between their junior and senior year confronting bullies and shutting down drug rings....what could be more awesome. The book has been compared to The Breakfast Club, but I don't find that a fair comparison because not one of these five characters is a stereotype--not even from the beginning. The narrator, Sadie Sullivan (who is half Iranian, half Irish, all American), begins her summer recovering from injuries attained taking down a baby kidnapper. For that feat, she Five teens spend the summer between their junior and senior year confronting bullies and shutting down drug rings....what could be more awesome. The book has been compared to The Breakfast Club, but I don't find that a fair comparison because not one of these five characters is a stereotype--not even from the beginning. The narrator, Sadie Sullivan (who is half Iranian, half Irish, all American), begins her summer recovering from injuries attained taking down a baby kidnapper. For that feat, she is honored at the "Hometown Heroes" reception by the local Rotary Club, where she meets the five other honorees: Alice photographs rescued dogs, helping them get adopted; Val collects and distributes school supplies to local migrant workers' children; Jean runs an art camp for kids, and Gordie volunteers at the Turtle Trail Recreation Center for developmentally disabled adults. The "do-gooders" get together shortly after the banquet, and out of boredom execute their first good deed--slamming down trolls on the website of one of Sadie's less popular classmates. Their success spawns subsequent projects and a name for their anonymous group, "the Unlikelies." Each of the characters has their own demons to battle, and their crusade for kindness and goodness doesn't always go as planned, but their bravery and effort definitely lead to results. Firestone's funny and dramatic story is inspirational without ever feeling preachy or didactic. Give this to adults who don't think much of today's teens, to teens who could use a little inspiration and motivation, and to anyone who enjoys a good story.*Digital review copy from NetGalley
    more
  • Jennifer Lyon
    April 21, 2017
    This is a really good read for high schoolers. Seeing Sadie take courage and do what she felt was the right thing to do was impactful. That action lead to her being nominated for the Homegrown Hero Award. The HHA luncheon led her to 4 other teens being given the same award, all for vastly different volunteer reasons. I really liked how they were able to bond and form an amazing friend group, the Unlikelies, especially when they had almost nothing in common to begin with other than helping people This is a really good read for high schoolers. Seeing Sadie take courage and do what she felt was the right thing to do was impactful. That action lead to her being nominated for the Homegrown Hero Award. The HHA luncheon led her to 4 other teens being given the same award, all for vastly different volunteer reasons. I really liked how they were able to bond and form an amazing friend group, the Unlikelies, especially when they had almost nothing in common to begin with other than helping people and maybe going to the same school. Sadie has a "mission" of sorts to work through and Alice has a friend she is trying to help through some pretty big issues but as a group Val, Jean, Alice, Sadie and Gordie help eachother and grow closer in the process. This story is a great example of how friends don't have to be just like eachother and that differences can enhance the bonds of friendship.I was given an advance copy of this title from NetGalley for my honest review of this book.
    more
  • KarenaLynA
    December 1, 2016
    The Unlikelies is a beautiful story about five unlikeliest of teens. That come together and despite all their different backgrounds they just work. This book is absolutely one of the best books I have ever read. The Unlikelies is exactly what we need in the world right now. The characters are well written and very relatable. I felt myself connecting to each of the main characters. The Unlikelies provokes thought and emotions but most importantly inspiration. I found myself getting sad when the p The Unlikelies is a beautiful story about five unlikeliest of teens. That come together and despite all their different backgrounds they just work. This book is absolutely one of the best books I have ever read. The Unlikelies is exactly what we need in the world right now. The characters are well written and very relatable. I felt myself connecting to each of the main characters. The Unlikelies provokes thought and emotions but most importantly inspiration. I found myself getting sad when the pages I had left started to dwindle. I loved living in this book and the world Carrie Firestone has created. I did not want to put this book down. I read for hours straight and I ended up loosing track of time!I can’t wait for you all to read it! ADD IT TO YOUR SUMMER READING LIST BECAUSE IT IS A MUST! (Take it from a girl who is picky with books)We all have it in us to be Unlikelies especially now. Choose kindness because it goes a long way!
    more
  • Lindsey
    March 31, 2017
    Though this is not my usual genre, I loved this book. An incredibly diverse cast, all with their own issues to resolve, beautifully blended with a story about standing for kindness and fighting hatred and bullies. I loved that each character had their flaws and battles to fight. Though it's a summer friendship, budding romance, senior year of high school is coming YA book, The Unlikelies has heart, soul and a unique nature that really sets it apart.
    more
  • Eleanor.emma
    March 20, 2017
    In short, I will read anything Carrie Firestone writes. Her books are filled with emotion and leave you feeling like a better person than when you started. Thank you NetGalley!
  • Sam Kozbial
    May 12, 2017
    Rating: 3.5 starsAfter saying goodbye to all her graduating friends, Sadie expects her pre-senior summer to be long and lonely. Then, she is catapulted to a new status, when she performs a heroic act, and is honored for her actions. At the recognition luncheon, Sadie forms an unlikely friendship with four of the other "homegrown heroes". Together these five teens embark on a revolution of kindness, trying to covertly right some wrongs.This book was in the right place at the right time, because I Rating: 3.5 starsAfter saying goodbye to all her graduating friends, Sadie expects her pre-senior summer to be long and lonely. Then, she is catapulted to a new status, when she performs a heroic act, and is honored for her actions. At the recognition luncheon, Sadie forms an unlikely friendship with four of the other "homegrown heroes". Together these five teens embark on a revolution of kindness, trying to covertly right some wrongs.This book was in the right place at the right time, because I really needed some kindness warriors to erase some of the week's events for me. This may be a work of fiction, but I hope it inspires the use of social media for good instead of evil. I was totally in love with all the positive messages, and because of that, I was able to forgive other things that were not perfect in this book.I really liked getting to know all the characters in this book. The cast was very diverse with some quality that set them apart, but each also had a personal issue they were dealing with. Firestone painted an overall positive picture of these teens, but she did give them flaws, which I thought made them more real.Sadie had an Irish ex-cop dad and a Muslim Iranian mother. She was recovering from a traumatic event, and also feeling the loss of her best friend.Jean was an immigrant and gifted artist, who dedicated his time to teaching young artists, while he was recovering from the horrors he witnessed following the earthquake in Haiti. Val was an immigrant from El Salvador, who collected school supplies for the children of migrant workers. She had a boyfriends with Lupus, who was often unkind and controlling. Alice used her gift for photography to help get homeless animals adopted. She also was trying to save her best friend from her spiral into heroine addiction. Gordie dedicated his time to assisting at a center for developmentally disabled adults. Their bond formed quickly, but because it was based on mutual respect and a common cause, it was strong. Watching their friendships develop and change was quite wonderful. When one was in trouble, they came to their aid. When one had a mission, they were there to support them. That's the most you can ask for in a friend. Firestone did not make it all ice cream and rainbows, there were bumps in the road, and many apologies had to be made, but they worked through their problems, showed grace, and forgave each other. I am not going to lie, there were some plot points that were unrealistic, but this was a work of fiction, and when we talk about a means to an end, I forgive the OTT plot lines, because the overall message was so positive and made me feel good. At the same time, Firestone made an effort to keep it real. She showed the upside and the downside to dispensing random acts of kindness. She showed how good it could feel, when things go exactly as intended, but also how disheartening it could be when things do not go according to plan.You know if there is romance in a book, I will find it, latch onto it, and hold it tight. This book did have a bit of romance. It was quite sweet and adorable, and I had no problem shipping these two. I liked that they had some history, and there was something there prior to becoming the Unlikelies.This book was amusing, dramatic, even inspiring. It was a lovely story of friendship and the power of kindness, and a story I enjoyed reading. **I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the advanced copy of this book. Quotes are from an ARC and may change upon publication.BLOG|INSTAGRAM|BLOGLOVIN| FRIEND ME ON GOODREADS
    more
  • Ms.Kim
    March 5, 2017
    I absolutely loved this book! There were strong characters, and I especially loved the Unlikelies' friendships. The book had positive themes while dealing with serious issues like bullying and addiction.
  • Ashley
    May 31, 2017
    review to come.
  • M
    May 16, 2017
    I received a digital ARC from NetGalley; all opinions are my own!A 5-Star-Must-READ! This book has it all and bared it all! The "Unlikelies" are a group of mavericks with the simple goal of bringing kindness to the forefront of every day life and their unique kinship is born after each teen is honored for an extraordinary act of kindness in their hometown. The five teens simply begin by trolling websites for rude and nasty comments, replacing them with kindness and then asking others to join the I received a digital ARC from NetGalley; all opinions are my own!A 5-Star-Must-READ! This book has it all and bared it all! The "Unlikelies" are a group of mavericks with the simple goal of bringing kindness to the forefront of every day life and their unique kinship is born after each teen is honored for an extraordinary act of kindness in their hometown. The five teens simply begin by trolling websites for rude and nasty comments, replacing them with kindness and then asking others to join them. The summer escalates from there as the author delves deep into the lives of the diverse set of characters and their issues; drug-use, victims of violence and natural disaster, ugly rumors, and misplaced judgements. The author doesn't shy away from the ugliness of humanity, yet wields hope and kindness throughout the story like a ninja. YA readers will appreciate the realistic lens of bullying via social media and the techie way these teens disperse the online trolls. A must purchase for all YA collections and a perfect way to broach these sensitive and important topics!
    more
  • Christiana
    March 12, 2017
    Not my usual kind of book, but I'm glad I stuck with it. Dialogue was a little rough at times, but I was taken with the characters and liked the plot once it got going. A good early career book from an author to watch. Kind of reminded me of Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy, so could be a good read alike.
    more
  • Amy
    March 17, 2017
    Sadie Sullivan finds herself branded a "Hometown Hero" after she becomes an internet sensation for saving a baby from her abusive father. She's introduced to other hometown heroes, who quickly become known as "The Unlikelies": a group of kids dedicated to stopping Internet trolls and bullies and protecting the bullied. However, everything doesn't always go smoothly, especially when a close friend needs saving from much more sinister things. Sadie and her friends represent the best in all of us, Sadie Sullivan finds herself branded a "Hometown Hero" after she becomes an internet sensation for saving a baby from her abusive father. She's introduced to other hometown heroes, who quickly become known as "The Unlikelies": a group of kids dedicated to stopping Internet trolls and bullies and protecting the bullied. However, everything doesn't always go smoothly, especially when a close friend needs saving from much more sinister things. Sadie and her friends represent the best in all of us, and their stories are all as unique and thought provoking as hers. This book has me engrossed from the start, and I could barely put it down. Highly recommended.
    more
  • Jenn Lopez
    January 15, 2017
    Dear Carrie Firestone, We need The Unlikelies right now. We need them to bring their positivity into this negative world of social media, news coverage, hate crimes, and the anger people show to one another. I hope this starts a real Unlikelies group. I am purchasing this title for our library and recommending it to other librarians and teachers. Review:This is Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants - if they stayed home for summer - and had boys mixed in - and did good for others. Okay so it's nothi Dear Carrie Firestone, We need The Unlikelies right now. We need them to bring their positivity into this negative world of social media, news coverage, hate crimes, and the anger people show to one another. I hope this starts a real Unlikelies group. I am purchasing this title for our library and recommending it to other librarians and teachers. Review:This is Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants - if they stayed home for summer - and had boys mixed in - and did good for others. Okay so it's nothing like SotTP, but it has that friendship feel to it. But I really, really enjoyed the fact that this motley crew worked together to do good. This book comes at the perfect time we are living in. There are so many internet trolls out there, someone needs to fight the negativity. Actually, we all need to fight negativity. This book brings friendship, romance, humor, tragedy...everything to make an interesting story. It was a quick read, and the story flowed nicely. I love that they are secret superheroes in their hometown. The characters are well developed, and it's interesting from beginning to end.
    more
  • Jenni
    May 19, 2017
    This book was a quick and fast read, and perfect for summer. It had a sweet twang of nostalgia, and brings back many personal memories of my own senior year.The events in themselves were a tad dramatized, and I felt the action of the story was unbelievable. I did not yet have the draw to the characters to believe they acted in the way they did. It did not feel genuine to their characters- especially in the beginning when Sadie first "rescues" the baby.Overall, the writing felt a little choppy an This book was a quick and fast read, and perfect for summer. It had a sweet twang of nostalgia, and brings back many personal memories of my own senior year.The events in themselves were a tad dramatized, and I felt the action of the story was unbelievable. I did not yet have the draw to the characters to believe they acted in the way they did. It did not feel genuine to their characters- especially in the beginning when Sadie first "rescues" the baby.Overall, the writing felt a little choppy and quick. If the writing had been a little smoother, I might have been willing to give this book 4 stars, as I did like it, but it was too hard to look past those flaws.
    more
  • Teresa
    March 21, 2017
    Sadie is bracing for a long, boring summer but when she is filmed performing a heroic act (not that she feels that way) she becomes a viral sensation. When she is being honored for said deed at a local club luncheon, Sadie will meet four other teens that have done good deeds as well; together they will form a club that tries to patrol internet trolls and tries to do good deeds anonymously...calling themselves the Unlikelies. This book was so much fun but it also dealt with some pretty heavy topi Sadie is bracing for a long, boring summer but when she is filmed performing a heroic act (not that she feels that way) she becomes a viral sensation. When she is being honored for said deed at a local club luncheon, Sadie will meet four other teens that have done good deeds as well; together they will form a club that tries to patrol internet trolls and tries to do good deeds anonymously...calling themselves the Unlikelies. This book was so much fun but it also dealt with some pretty heavy topics (ie: emotional abusive relationships, addiction, immigration to name a few) and Carrie Firestone is able to weave stories that really pack an emotional punch. Thanks to Hachette for the ARC!
    more
  • Tara
    March 25, 2017
    I received this ARC from Netgalley for an honest review.This book is in between three and four stars. It was a good book, and I liked the characters, but it moved too slow in some spots and too fast in others. A lot was going on, and there were many different social issues discussed including a sick teen, drugs, various cultural backgrounds, and financial status. I appreciate that the author found a way to wrap up the many things that teen deal with every day. While it is slow in some spots, it' I received this ARC from Netgalley for an honest review.This book is in between three and four stars. It was a good book, and I liked the characters, but it moved too slow in some spots and too fast in others. A lot was going on, and there were many different social issues discussed including a sick teen, drugs, various cultural backgrounds, and financial status. I appreciate that the author found a way to wrap up the many things that teen deal with every day. While it is slow in some spots, it's worth sticking with it to get to the end. I already have teens in mind who I will share.
    more
  • Kimberly Larsen
    May 8, 2017
    Good character development, relevant & topical issues, friendship, romance and a feel good plot line (as in make the world a better place). The characters find themselves at a ceremony honoring local heroes and quickly become fast friends with a mission to "out" internet bullies. Setting = the Hamptons. Characters are mulit-racial and from different socio-economic backgrounds. Fast paced althought somewhat implausible. Would be a good summer read.
    more
  • Great Books
    May 26, 2017
    After saving a baby, Sadie’s boring summer before senior year takes an unlikely turn. She meets several other local do-gooders and this new group of friends begins positively changing the world with kindness. This novel will inspire readers to flood their world with random acts of kindness. Reviewer #8
    more
  • Lauren R.
    May 12, 2017
    Awwww that was such a feel-good book! I loved this group of unlikely (pun intended) people coming together to be kind and help others. Their dynamic was a lot of fun and the message was obviously heavy-handed but perfect. I'd read way more books about these people.
    more
  • alice (arctic books)
    May 25, 2017
    Full RTC!
  • Sophie
    June 2, 2017
    *3.5* This was a sweet story. The characters were diverse and the subject approached in a quirky way. I really enjoyed this book. Full review on the blog!
  • Deena Lipomi
    March 6, 2017
    Read for VOYA...check future issue for review!
Write a review