King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor (King Flashypants, #1)
The first in a fun new series - 'Brilliantly original and hilarious ... it's nearly as good as one of my books' David Walliams. 'One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates' The GuardianEdwin isn't an ordinary boy. He is a king, with a throne, and his own suit of armour and a castle with secret passages and everything.Every Friday, King Edwin spends all his money on chocolate for the peasants. But when the money runs out, Edwin finds himself in a fix. Cue the arrival of evil Emperor Nurbison, in his pointy-collared black cloak and accompanied by scary striding music. He has had his eye on Edwin's kingdom for a while and intends to use the peasants' unhappiness to his advantage!When the emperor builds a fake dragon out of a cow, green crepe paper, furry monster novelty slippers and two birthday cake candles, to scare the peasants, Edwin knows it's time to come up with the first sneaky plan he's ever had in his life ...

King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor (King Flashypants, #1) Details

TitleKing Flashypants and the Evil Emperor (King Flashypants, #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 14th, 2016
PublisherHodder Children's Books
Number of pages224 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens

King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor (King Flashypants, #1) Review

  • Susan
    July 30, 2016
    Recently, I have seen this book everywhere – on television, in newspaper reviews and on kids websites – so obviously Hodder Children’s Books feel they have something worth pushing and I was keen to read this with my daughter and see whether it was worth all the hype. Author Andy Riley is an Emmy and Bafta -award winning scripwriter, who has written cartoon books and comic strips, before turning his attention to children’s books. At around 200 pages, with loads of black and white illustrations, s Recently, I have seen this book everywhere – on television, in newspaper reviews and on kids websites – so obviously Hodder Children’s Books feel they have something worth pushing and I was keen to read this with my daughter and see whether it was worth all the hype. Author Andy Riley is an Emmy and Bafta -award winning scripwriter, who has written cartoon books and comic strips, before turning his attention to children’s books. At around 200 pages, with loads of black and white illustrations, short chapters (and even a theme tune to learn to play) this has loads of appeal for children of approx 5+. It has particular appeal for reluctant readers, as it is a fairly easy read, without too much text on each page. However, of course, to make it work, it has to have a good story and I am pleased to say that this certainly does. Edwin is a nine year old boy who just happens to be a king. Ruler of Edwinland, he spends all of his pocket money buying chocolate for the villagers, while Minister Jill really does all the ruling. Then, one day the money runs out and Edwin finds he is danger of being invaded by his evil arch enemy, Emperor Nurbison (who of course has an evil laugh, “Foo Hoo Hoo Hoo!”). You can, of course, tell he is evil by his scary castle, complete with narrow path and lots of bats…Can King Edwin come up with a sneaky plan to defeat the Evil Emperor Nurbison? Can he get hold of some more pocket money? What follows is a madcap story, with fantastic characters and a book which really cries to be read aloud. Even better, it looks as though King Edwim will have more adventures – we look forward to reading them.
    more
  • Fran Soto
    June 20, 2017
    My son read most of this, not I, but I enjoyed the tale. We particularly enjoyed the song that goes 'stick your toes up your nose' and regularly sing this to one another at bedtime.I received my copy from Goodreads.
  • Monique
    April 20, 2017
    Foe Hoe Hoe Hoe, wat een leuk boek!
  • Cristina Borghesi
    March 1, 2017
    Recensione completa: http://leggereinsilenzio.blogspot.it/...« Leggere Il Re Bambino e l'Imperato Cattivo è stato come tornare bambina, riscoprendo quelle genuine sensazioni di meraviglia che un po' vanno perdute con il sopraggiungere dell'età adulta. Un racconto ironico e divertente, pungente e sprezzante che fa di un umorismo diretto e sorprendente la sua arma migliore ( inoffensiva, s'intende! ); presentandosi fin dalle primissime battute con uno stile linguistico fresco ed irriverente, capac Recensione completa: http://leggereinsilenzio.blogspot.it/...« Leggere Il Re Bambino e l'Imperato Cattivo è stato come tornare bambina, riscoprendo quelle genuine sensazioni di meraviglia che un po' vanno perdute con il sopraggiungere dell'età adulta. Un racconto ironico e divertente, pungente e sprezzante che fa di un umorismo diretto e sorprendente la sua arma migliore ( inoffensiva, s'intende! ); presentandosi fin dalle primissime battute con uno stile linguistico fresco ed irriverente, capace di far breccia in modo naturale e spontaneo nel cuore di grandi e piccini... »
    more
  • Maiko Lenting
    July 18, 2016
    If you need a laugh LOOK NO FURTHER! The answer to your ailment comes in the form of a boy-king, his fancy, fancy crown and his wonderful sidekicks/employees. King Flashypants is a read-in-one-go-and-then-read-again-right-away book. I know I did. Also, now I know the real reason I've never come across a bottomless pit. I mean, how long would it take to dig one of those...
    more
  • Erik
    January 23, 2017
    DNF at page 100. This is sooo boring and funny at all.
  • Mehsi
    June 1, 2017
    Dit was echt een superleuk boek, ik ben blij dat ik hem heb geleend uit de bibliotheek. Het enige jammere, en ook vaak de reden waarom ik niet boeken lees die vertaald zijn naar het Nederlands, is de vertaling. Er waren wat dingen die niet lekker klonken, namen die je gewoon had kunnen laten staan. Maar verder lag ik dubbel, koning Edwin (sorry, ik noem hem bij zijn Engelse naam) was een goede koning, een dappere, hij heeft alleen nog veel te leren over het beheren van geld (arme Jill). De slech Dit was echt een superleuk boek, ik ben blij dat ik hem heb geleend uit de bibliotheek. Het enige jammere, en ook vaak de reden waarom ik niet boeken lees die vertaald zijn naar het Nederlands, is de vertaling. Er waren wat dingen die niet lekker klonken, namen die je gewoon had kunnen laten staan. Maar verder lag ik dubbel, koning Edwin (sorry, ik noem hem bij zijn Engelse naam) was een goede koning, een dappere, hij heeft alleen nog veel te leren over het beheren van geld (arme Jill). De slechte keizer was inderdaad heel slecht, maar ook best een sukkel.Het boek is ook gevuld met gezellige, hilarische illustraties die het boek nog veel leuker maken.
    more
  • Eve Marie
    December 14, 2016
    I read this to a six-year-old boy and he loved it. It was fun for me to read as well, which is great as otherwise story-time can be a pain. A funny book with wacky pictures, silly character names and even music at the back to learn the evil Emperor's striding theme. A fantastic book for kids just getting into reading; I've been recommending it to other parents.
    more
  • Breakaway Reviewers
    June 22, 2016
    Bonkers and utterly brilliant! I read "King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor" to my 6-year-old daughter. She absolutely loved it, laughed out loud often and chanted "read the book, read the book" whenever I took a break to make a few notes. So much so that this review will be more about feelings than a description of the narrative. Have I mentioned I loved it too? Well I did, in fact I got quite as excited as my little one. The plentiful jokes for adults in the form of witty asides and the fanta Bonkers and utterly brilliant! I read "King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor" to my 6-year-old daughter. She absolutely loved it, laughed out loud often and chanted "read the book, read the book" whenever I took a break to make a few notes. So much so that this review will be more about feelings than a description of the narrative. Have I mentioned I loved it too? Well I did, in fact I got quite as excited as my little one. The plentiful jokes for adults in the form of witty asides and the fantastic Minister Jill (who wants to go to Grey Cardigan Land where the cardigans are so amazingly dazzlingly grey it hurts your eyes) made it justifiable that I loved it, but if I'm going to be honest it was the kid bits I loved even more. Reading this made me feel bright eyed and astounded, excited and incredulous, booing the Evil Emperor (you know he's evil because he wears black and has a little goatee beard) and his dastardly ways and cheering the brave King and his loyal advisers. My perma-smile at the language and imagery was interrupted only by my shocked inhales of breath at the machinations of the Evil Emperor. My daughter especially loved the illustrations - childlike in the best possible way and actually helping to move the story forward.The adult in me absolutely delighted at the political allegory - all that glitters is not always gold, and what someone says to get into power may have little or no resemblance to what you actually get (and is probably based on a lie). The moral didn't have to be subtle though because everyone gathers at the end to discuss what they have learned.This book was crazy, clever, original, surreal, deep and utterly shallow - pretty much perfect in every way. In fact, the only negative I have is that I had to explain to my little girl why she couldn't build a machine to shoot chocolate at people. Oh, and the excellent cliff-hanger has me desperate for the next one!I will be recommending this book to all the year 2 parents I know as a summer read; less homework and more irreverent fun that won't keep you and your little one apart. Don't read it at bedtime though, you'll be up there all night!LucyBreakaway Reviewers received a copy of the book to review.
    more
  • Helen French
    February 14, 2017
    My son read most of this, not I, but I enjoyed the tale. We particularly enjoyed the song that goes 'stick your toes up your nose' and regularly sing this to one another at bedtime.
  • Katy Noyes
    July 11, 2016
    Unashamedly child-focused - the plot feels just perfectly as if taken from a primary classroom, it's aimed beautifully at the age group.A young King, Edwin, spends all his pocket money each week on chocolate for his peasants, who love him for it, but who also start feeling hard done by when the Royal pocket finds itself empty... Will the evil Emperor Nurbison in the kingdom next door (who has his own striding theme - included) be able to use this to his advantage an taken over Edwin's realm?It's Unashamedly child-focused - the plot feels just perfectly as if taken from a primary classroom, it's aimed beautifully at the age group.A young King, Edwin, spends all his pocket money each week on chocolate for his peasants, who love him for it, but who also start feeling hard done by when the Royal pocket finds itself empty... Will the evil Emperor Nurbison in the kingdom next door (who has his own striding theme - included) be able to use this to his advantage an taken over Edwin's realm?It's hilariously silly, it's a great cast of characters (lots of females - Edwin's Minister Jill and Megan the Jester). The chapters are short so will keep the attention of a young reader or listener (my son is five and thought it was great fun), and is easily readable for an 8 or 9 year old. He said the pictures reminded him of Captain Underpants, and for him that's definitely a compliment. I liked the comic-look of it too, it kept with the tone.We will definitely be looking out for the next in the series. Edwin makes a memorable and likeable King.
    more
  • Pauline
    September 7, 2016
    This book is laugh out loud hilarious! With an even balance of text and illustration it is a wonderful introduction to humour for the independent reader, but even adults will enjoy this story and its ridiculous names and sound effects. King Edwin is a wonderful ruler but when his money runs out evil Emperor Nurbison, whose code evil laugh is, “Foo hoo, hoo, hoo, hoo, hoo, hoo” (mainly because “Bwahahahaha” and “muhahahahaha’’ have already been done in evil stories) sees his chance to grab the ki This book is laugh out loud hilarious! With an even balance of text and illustration it is a wonderful introduction to humour for the independent reader, but even adults will enjoy this story and its ridiculous names and sound effects. King Edwin is a wonderful ruler but when his money runs out evil Emperor Nurbison, whose code evil laugh is, “Foo hoo, hoo, hoo, hoo, hoo, hoo” (mainly because “Bwahahahaha” and “muhahahahaha’’ have already been done in evil stories) sees his chance to grab the kingdom. Edwin and his trustworthy assistant Minister Jill, with the help of the clever little Natasha, must use their wits to convince the peasants not to revolt, escape on a tightrope across crocodile infested waters to win back his kingdom and defeat Nurbison. Ending on a cliffhanger, we can’t wait to read more of Edwin’s adventures.Suitable for 7+ - humour, dragons, castles, evil Emperors, courageous kings, chocolate.
    more
  • Tim Roast
    August 31, 2016
    "Edwin wasn't an ordinary nine-year-old... Edwin was the ruler of the kingdom of Edwinland." It's a nice kingdom until... "Your Majesty? The money's all gone."Meanwhile in neighbouring Nurbisonia Emperor Nurbison has his eye on "Edwinland! Ruled by that moon-faced boy with that ridiculous shining crown he loves so much. He's a proper little king flashypants." Seeing the trouble caused in Edwinland by all the money disappearing Emperor Nurbison sees his chance and strikes.The story has plenty of "Edwin wasn't an ordinary nine-year-old... Edwin was the ruler of the kingdom of Edwinland." It's a nice kingdom until... "Your Majesty? The money's all gone."Meanwhile in neighbouring Nurbisonia Emperor Nurbison has his eye on "Edwinland! Ruled by that moon-faced boy with that ridiculous shining crown he loves so much. He's a proper little king flashypants." Seeing the trouble caused in Edwinland by all the money disappearing Emperor Nurbison sees his chance and strikes.The story has plenty of humour which is enhanced by the drawings throughout which are also done by the author. And, of course, King Flashypants comes out on top at the end. Looking forward to the next one.
    more
  • Julie Garner
    July 4, 2016
    Fun book. I feel like it is a book for the younger David Walliams fans.
  • Charlie Pearson
    January 12, 2017
    Absolutely brilliant! I read this to my five year old and he was in stitches and there's plenty of humour for mums and dads. Loved it.
  • Kathleen Dixon
    December 14, 2016
    The grandchildren loved this book, and it was fun reading it aloud.
  • Lucy Lollipop
    March 27, 2017
    A great book. I love all the humour and FOO HOO HOOs but I finished it in just over a week. I would have preferred to have it longer than it was
  • Pauline
    August 21, 2016
    4.5 stars
Write a review