Venturess (Mechanica, #2)
Young inventor Nicolette Lampton is living her own fairy tale happy ending. She's free of her horrible step-family, running a successful business, and is uninterested in marrying the handsome prince, Fin. Instead, she, Fin, and their friend Caro venture to the lush land of Faerie, where they seek to put an end to the bloody war their kingdom is waging. Mechanical armies and dark magic await them as they uncover devastating secrets about the past and fight for a real, lasting happily-ever-after for two troubled countries—and for themselves.

Venturess (Mechanica, #2) Details

TitleVenturess (Mechanica, #2)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 1st, 2017
PublisherClarion Books
ISBN0544319273
ISBN-139780544319271
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Steampunk, Retellings

Readers also enjoyed


Venturess (Mechanica, #2) Review

  • Kelsi
    October 4, 2016
    Is that . . . is that Jules? Is that Jules flying? Give me this book. Right now. Please.
  • Mel (Daily Prophecy)
    August 4, 2016
    *pets pretty cover*Shame I disliked the first book so much.
  • Haley
    April 24, 2016
    I'm so excited for this book! Mechanica was one of my favorites of 2015, and I can't wait to step back into that world.
  • Darque Dreamer
    February 26, 2017
    Make sure you have read Mechanica, Betsy's imaginative, steampunk retelling of Cinderella, because Venturess is a tale you do not want to miss. It is full of adventure, suspense, and beauty and has an aura of fairy tale nostalgia. Imagine adding characteristics of Peter Pan and Avatar to the story of Cinderella and you will find Venturess. Venturess will not only continue the story from book one, Mechanica, but it will take you on a new journey. Venturess holds the struggles between right and wr Make sure you have read Mechanica, Betsy's imaginative, steampunk retelling of Cinderella, because Venturess is a tale you do not want to miss. It is full of adventure, suspense, and beauty and has an aura of fairy tale nostalgia. Imagine adding characteristics of Peter Pan and Avatar to the story of Cinderella and you will find Venturess. Venturess will not only continue the story from book one, Mechanica, but it will take you on a new journey. Venturess holds the struggles between right and wrong, humanity and the hunger for power, and imagination and banality. Venturess will find that magical place in your heart, that you never knew needed to be filled, and will nestle itself there.I could not put this one down! This sequel to Mechanica was everything I expected it to be and so much more! The story continued with the amazing friendship between Nicolette, Caro, and Fin that I absolutely adore, and kept me on my toes with some unexpected twists! I found intrigue in the airship travel, and Captain Wheelock, and felt like the journey to Faerie was a self discovery quest for Nicolette. Faerie felt so real to me and I fell in love with the Fey leader, Talis, and the Fey people. My heart broke toward the end when I learned the truth about the Ashes that powered the automatons, but I felt that ending of the book was fitting and heartwarming! Definitely a must read for fairy tale lovers! This sequel to Mechanica will not disappoint. Venturess will be one that stays with you always.A very special thank you to Tara in Digital Marketing and Publicity Specialist with Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Books for Young Readers for allowing me access to this Advanced Reading Copy of Venturess!
    more
  • Rachel Lightwood
    June 12, 2016
    Oh my God, this cover is gorgeous! And I'm actually rather intrigued to see where this story goes... it sounds promising.
  • Danielle
    March 6, 2017
    DNF at about 20 pages- As much as I liked the whole feminist Cinderella vibe, the telling of it is just SO. DULL. Nothing even mildly exciting happens in the first book either, sad to see there wasn't;t much improvement. I WANT to like this, I do. But it's just... dry.
    more
  • Brianna, Conqueror
    May 3, 2017
    Jumping back into the world of Mechanica after having read the first book a little over a year ago was a bit jarring, but the book was easy to get back into as long as you vaguely remembered the gist of the first book.Venturess was interesting if not just for the origins of Ashes, but also the exploration of familial bonds. I guessed a bit of the plot points before they happened, and while I’m not sure that was intended to happen, it made the book seem a little less appealing as I wondered where Jumping back into the world of Mechanica after having read the first book a little over a year ago was a bit jarring, but the book was easy to get back into as long as you vaguely remembered the gist of the first book.Venturess was interesting if not just for the origins of Ashes, but also the exploration of familial bonds. I guessed a bit of the plot points before they happened, and while I’m not sure that was intended to happen, it made the book seem a little less appealing as I wondered where the author was going with this. The automata didn’t really convey a sense of horror as one would normally associate with a clone. The sense of danger surrounding the fact that something who looks like the prince and could be used to further a side’s goals was quickly stifled, because the cast immediately left, leaving themselves open to this outcome. The reasoning was justifiable, but they left no countermeasures against the possibility. (I may have muddled the timeline a bit, but in essence that was my reaction.) The book quickly makes up for it though. I fell in love with Jules and the other buzzers all over again, and the origin of the Ashes and how it haunted them pulled at my heartstrings.I’d recommend this book to people who enjoy main characters who aren’t entirely engulfed in a romance. It’s not the greatest read, but it has some interesting concepts.
    more
Write a review