Sparks of Light (Into the Dim #2)
For the first time in her life, Hope Walton has friends . . . and a (maybe) boyfriend. She’s a Viator, a member of a long line of time-traveling ancestors. When the Viators learn of a plan to steal a dangerous device from the inventor Nikola Tesla, only a race into the past can save the natural timeline from utter destruction. Navigating the glitterati of The Gilded Age in 1895 New York City, Hope and her crew will discover that high society can be as deadly as it is beautiful.

Sparks of Light (Into the Dim #2) Details

TitleSparks of Light (Into the Dim #2)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 1st, 2017
PublisherHMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN0544609573
ISBN-139780544609570
Number of pages448 pages
Rating
GenreScience Fiction, Time Travel, Young Adult, Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Adventure, Science Fiction Fantasy

Sparks of Light (Into the Dim #2) Review

  • Cait • A Page with a View
    January 17, 2017
    Release date: August 1, 2017DNF around the middle. 2.5 stars.I liked the first book in this series a LOT more. This one kept jumping back and forth between old memories & the present and just really lost my interest. The basic idea is the Dim still won't allow anyone to go back to the same timeline, but Tesla might have a device that would give a traveler a few more days. So they all troop back to Victorian New York aaaaand the plot gets super boring. I think these books mostly lose me with Release date: August 1, 2017DNF around the middle. 2.5 stars.I liked the first book in this series a LOT more. This one kept jumping back and forth between old memories & the present and just really lost my interest. The basic idea is the Dim still won't allow anyone to go back to the same timeline, but Tesla might have a device that would give a traveler a few more days. So they all troop back to Victorian New York aaaaand the plot gets super boring. I think these books mostly lose me with how young the main character sounds. And I cannot STAND her attitude towards other girls. She still gets so incredibly jealous and hateful that it's unpleasant & annoying to sit through at best. I do still like the side characters, though!And I liked the Scotland element in the first book, but there are so many other time travel books that involve these locations and time periods (but with better characters). I'd suggest Passenger by Alexandra Bracken, Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier, or The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig if you want a YA time travel story!Thank you to the publisher for sending me an ARC
    more
  • Sandra
    January 18, 2016
    WHY IS 2017 SO FAR AWAY? (LOL)I NEED THIS BOOOOOOK
  • Jaime (Two Chicks on Books)
    December 6, 2016
    A great follow up! Didn't love it as much as the first book but it was really good! And I can't wait for book 3!!!!!!
  • Cassie James
    March 4, 2016
    Thanks to the author for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review, This doesn't in any way influence my opinion on it. Sparks of Light is a thrilling sequel to Into The Dime. Just as intense, active, romantic, suspenseful and magical as it's predecessor. From the synopsis, I knew I am in for a wild marvelous ride. A lot of interesting developments took place, some I saw coming and some I couldn't but still loved. The writing was superb and easy to flow with. Sparks of Light is definite Thanks to the author for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review, This doesn't in any way influence my opinion on it. Sparks of Light is a thrilling sequel to Into The Dime. Just as intense, active, romantic, suspenseful and magical as it's predecessor. From the synopsis, I knew I am in for a wild marvelous ride. A lot of interesting developments took place, some I saw coming and some I couldn't but still loved. The writing was superb and easy to flow with. Sparks of Light is definitely what I could have hoped for after Into The Dim. It begins with a bang or as Hope said "Decapitation" (Yeah you definitely want to read that). It's been two months since the previous book and a lot has happened, Hope becoming a little bit more badass with training, Mac adopting a cat (or as I like to call her hellcat), Hope remembering more and more things from her childhood, Dealing with the PTSD Sarah has after her ordeal in the past. I love the pace Sparks of Light has, it made reading it easier to follow. A lot of aspects about the book made a lot of sense and the combination of so many things was awesome. The dual timeline is also another part of this book that made it more lush and rich. The characters have had a lot going on for them and I loved the way it reflected in their character development. From the beginning it started with action and epic interactions among the group. I must say, One thing that makes this series work so well is the characters. They just have this amazing chemistry that makes every scene very enjoyable especially Bran and Hope, their feelings for each other are so sizzling hot and intense I could have sworn I felt the heat. Hope is really quite more mature and grounded in this book (Not that I didn't absolutely adore her in Into The Dim) and that development is the character was a huge plus. During a Scottish festival, Bran surprises everyone with a surprise visit along with new information about his psychotic mother. This leads the group to travel back in time to 1895 to try spoiling Celia's machinations, I really love the time traveling aspects of this series. It just so good, Janet B. Taylor definitely knows her stuff. The 1890's is not fun at all, seriously. Despite the beautiful splendor of 'society', It's full of racists, sexists, bigots and homophobes. But it does have some good parts, It was entertaining seeing the reaction of the characters to the atmosphere of things. Fun stuff happened during their stint to the past, an ambush , banishment to an insane asylum (You get to meet some really intriguing people) and many more interesting events. Sparks of Light is definitely a great follow up to Into The Dim, I am glad I got to read this. Hope and Bran's story is one captivating tale every reader needs to know. After that explosive ending, I certainly can't wait for the next book in this series. Janet B. Taylor has weaved a majestic masterpiece full of action, fun, romance, time travel, suspense and splendid characters.P.S: BEWARE!! You're not going to be able to put this book down, It is unputdownable. That's just how good it is.
    more
  • Rhea Dsouza
    February 19, 2016
  • Brittany (Brittany's Book Rambles)
    March 27, 2017
    Read my full review of Sparks of LightSparks of Light—the darker and more serious sequel to Into the Dim—was simultaneously adventurous, calamitous, and tragic. This time around, the Viators are traveling to New York City during The Gilded Age, (which was somehow less fun than England in the Middle Ages. Imagine that? xD) and significantly more ominous. As with the first installment, I adored how Taylor intertwined real history into the plot. Her interpretation of real historical characters—as w Read my full review of Sparks of LightSparks of Light—the darker and more serious sequel to Into the Dim—was simultaneously adventurous, calamitous, and tragic. This time around, the Viators are traveling to New York City during The Gilded Age, (which was somehow less fun than England in the Middle Ages. Imagine that? xD) and significantly more ominous. As with the first installment, I adored how Taylor intertwined real history into the plot. Her interpretation of real historical characters—as well as their backstories—was incredible.Janet B. Taylor bravely and fiercely tackles many of the societal hardships of the time in a heart-wrenching and realistic manner. Though I did miss some of the lighter and more romantic aspects that were in book one, following Hope on her journey to becoming a full member of the Viators was marvelous. Overall, this was a fantastic, somber, and tumultuous sequel that I thoroughly enjoyed reading. I only hope that there will be a happy ending for these wonderful characters in the conclusion to this trilogy.
    more
  • Tara
    March 1, 2017
    While I really loved the first one in this series, Into the Dim, I had a bit of trouble getting into this one. All of the characters are still around with their Scottish humour, family banter and tender moments (gaelic phrases of love are always good!) and there is another new adventure for them to undertake, this time heading to New York in the late 1800's. There was adventure and thrills, and fancy dresses and institutions, some swoon and even some grief after losing one of the group.I can't q While I really loved the first one in this series, Into the Dim, I had a bit of trouble getting into this one. All of the characters are still around with their Scottish humour, family banter and tender moments (gaelic phrases of love are always good!) and there is another new adventure for them to undertake, this time heading to New York in the late 1800's. There was adventure and thrills, and fancy dresses and institutions, some swoon and even some grief after losing one of the group.I can't quite put my finger on why I didn't enjoy this one as much.... maybe I wanted a bit more of Bran! Overall, a 3 1/2 star 'good read'.Thanks to Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Children's Book Group for the ARC via NetGalley.
    more
  • Shea Olsen
    January 5, 2017
    This is just what fans of INTO THE DIM have been waiting for!!!!! A fun, fast-paced read just like book one to satisfy our need for more of this incredible adventure!I can't recommend this book enough!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE!I wish there were 10 more books in this series... I don't want it ever to end.
    more
  • Shannon Parker
    March 21, 2017
    I was so, so happy to be back in the Scottish Highlands with Hope and her friends. Into the Dim taught me that I love time travel books so I was eagerly awaiting this sequel! This story begins only weeks after Into the Dim ended but so much has changed for the time traveling crew (no spoilers). Sparks of Light is a novel rich in lavish historical detail (some gruesome and some awe inspiring). The author clearly did her research and I felt like I was with the young time travelers--The Viators—as I was so, so happy to be back in the Scottish Highlands with Hope and her friends. Into the Dim taught me that I love time travel books so I was eagerly awaiting this sequel! This story begins only weeks after Into the Dim ended but so much has changed for the time traveling crew (no spoilers). Sparks of Light is a novel rich in lavish historical detail (some gruesome and some awe inspiring). The author clearly did her research and I felt like I was with the young time travelers--The Viators—as they travelled to Victorian era New York. Some of the descriptions stopped me outright in my reading and I had to reread and reread just for their beauty, such as: "Outside, the Highlands were a riot of green and purple, yellow and white. And always, always the gray granite peaks of the mountains, gnarled and knowing and eternal, they watched over the pastures and townships below. The river foamed, dividing the valley." (quoted from uncorrected proof) I am so grateful I got a chance to see an early copy of this book because I adored Into the Dim. Fans of Into the Dim will not be disappointed in the journey these kids must make or the treachery then need to overcome!! And there’s kissing! But mostly there is fierce loyalty among friends and I love that about both books!! Now I’d like a third book please, Janet B. Taylor!!
    more
  • Jessica (a GREAT read)
    February 15, 2017
    Review to come July 24th
  • Milena
    December 26, 2016
    3 preliminary starsI received an ARC of Sparks of Light from Edelweiss and the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Sparks of Light is the second book in Into the Dim series and follows team of young time travelers, The Viators, who travel to Victorian era New York in this installment. I must say I didn't enjoy Sparks of Light as much as I liked the first book. When I started reading this book I was a little lost and felt like I needed a recap of who is who and what happened in Into the D 3 preliminary starsI received an ARC of Sparks of Light from Edelweiss and the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Sparks of Light is the second book in Into the Dim series and follows team of young time travelers, The Viators, who travel to Victorian era New York in this installment. I must say I didn't enjoy Sparks of Light as much as I liked the first book. When I started reading this book I was a little lost and felt like I needed a recap of who is who and what happened in Into the Dim. The writing in Sparks of Light is disjointed, the story keeps jumping from present to past memories without any transition and makes following the story very confusing. The writing improved in the second half of the book and I actually enjoyed the story much more than in the beginning. This series have an amazing potential, I l like the characters a lot, I like author's approach to time travel and I want to know what happens next. Since I was reading very early advanced copy of the book I really hope it will be edited and polished before the release in August 2017.
    more
  • Miranda
    January 23, 2017
    Thanks to the publisher for access to this title in return for a fair review. This book starts up just weeks after the first one ended, and the time-travelers are headed back into the past to try to stop the villains from altering time and gaining control of a device that could change the way they travel through time. Hope and Bran are once again on opposite sides of things, though Bran is trying his hardest to protect her and her family from his mother. But there is also a new player in the gam Thanks to the publisher for access to this title in return for a fair review. This book starts up just weeks after the first one ended, and the time-travelers are headed back into the past to try to stop the villains from altering time and gaining control of a device that could change the way they travel through time. Hope and Bran are once again on opposite sides of things, though Bran is trying his hardest to protect her and her family from his mother. But there is also a new player in the game, and Blasi has his own agenda and will stop at nothing to reach his goal, including murder. Can the crew find their way through time and stop his scheme? Will they ever find Michael?This was a great second book for the series. A lot happened in this one, though their goal remains the same. The glimpses into the past weren't as well-defined in this book, but it was still good to see the real people as characters in the story. A great addition for fans of time-travel.
    more
  • Alana
    January 26, 2017
    Feels like another YA book where an author was pushed into rushing things for the sake of publication. Unfortunately, this book shows more promise than anything else, and does not live up to the expectations of the first. 2.5 really, but I feel Taylor has a real talent here, good characters that need more development, and an interesting world I enjoy spending time in.
    more
  • Cassie
    January 3, 2017
    I loved seeing the Viators visit the Gilded Age. The details of the time were fascinating (especially the assylum--scary!) and the Viator's was mission exciting. I liked getting more of Hope and Bran's backstory.
  • Athena Ludwig
    March 24, 2016
    I need this right now!!! I'm so excited I can't wait I loved the first so much
Write a review