Witchtown
When sixteen-year-old Macie O’Sullivan and her masterfully manipulative mother Aubra arrive at the gates of Witchtown—the most famous and mysterious witch-only haven in the world—they have one goal in mind: to rob it for all it’s worth.But that plan derails when Macie and Aubra start to dig deeper into Witchtown’s history and uncover that there is more to the quirky haven than meets the eye.Exploring the haven by herself, Macie finds that secrets are worth more than money in Witchtown.Secrets have their own power.

Witchtown Details

TitleWitchtown
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJul 18th, 2017
PublisherHMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN0544765575
ISBN-139780544765573
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

Witchtown Review

  • K
    March 7, 2017
    I read an ARC, so this might be fixed in the final book.But a solidly average story was kind of dampened for me by the fact that (view spoiler)[Macie's ex-boyfriend, Rafe, is a black man who's described using some very coded, stereotypical language. Like, for example, when he comes to her door, he's described as a "dark, dangerous" figure and in her next flashback he's incredulously responding to the fact that she thought he was a "drug dealer" when she met him. While these assumptions are under I read an ARC, so this might be fixed in the final book.But a solidly average story was kind of dampened for me by the fact that (view spoiler)[Macie's ex-boyfriend, Rafe, is a black man who's described using some very coded, stereotypical language. Like, for example, when he comes to her door, he's described as a "dark, dangerous" figure and in her next flashback he's incredulously responding to the fact that she thought he was a "drug dealer" when she met him. While these assumptions are understandable given the context — the first time they met, he threatened her after she found the cursed bags of money he'd buried in the woods — the stereotypical nature of that kind of language and those kinds of assumptions of black men left a bad taste in my mouth that made me unable to enjoy their romance. (hide spoiler)]Aside from that, it was really a very average book. The town could have been more richly described, the neighbors delved into more to really drive in the sense of community and flesh out the setting to explain Macie's attachment to Witchtown. As it is, you only really meet about ten different people, and only get to know about four of them well enough to care about them. Her romance with Kellen wasn't fleshed out enough for me to care about either; it felt tacked on to what could have otherwise been an interesting friendship. I think my favorite character in this was Aubra; she was fascinating.It's not a terrible book, though. Just not quite what I was expecting after so great a premise.
    more
  • Juliana
    February 28, 2017
    Overall rating: 3.50/5 stars Many thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review!Witchlands follows the story of Macie O'Sullivan, a sixteen-year-old girl traveling across the country with her mother robbing witch Havens. The best way to describe Witchlands is Halloweentown meets the Accords / registration in Civil War. Overall, this was a quick and easy read and I did enjoy it. However there were definitely areas that I would have liked to se Overall rating: 3.50/5 stars Many thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review!Witchlands follows the story of Macie O'Sullivan, a sixteen-year-old girl traveling across the country with her mother robbing witch Havens. The best way to describe Witchlands is Halloweentown meets the Accords / registration in Civil War. Overall, this was a quick and easy read and I did enjoy it. However there were definitely areas that I would have liked to see expanded, as not much happened and I was left wanting a lot more. The writing style was a bit abrupt; I think it needed a lot more description. I would have liked to get a whimsical or dark sight on her surroundings, as it had potential to be either but was presented in a noticeably plain manner. The town itself didn't have any witchy quirks, and, in fact, the actual subject of magic and powers weren't touched on as much as I would have expected. Most of the twists were unnecessary or predictable. I think that with different spins or ways the protagonist deals with these situations, could make it a lot more interesting. I can't wait to see the final product, I definitely think this is one I would have read off the shelf! I will perhaps do a more in-depth review once we hit release date. I wish I could talk about everything!
    more
  • Ami
    March 5, 2017
    This is an easy and fun read. The basic premise of the mother/daughter con artist team coupled with a dash of occult fun, traditional angst, some romance, a bit of mystery, and the desire for book two make this the kind of book you can honestly read just for fun. I would love to see the author make this into a series, I feel that the characters and setting have that sort of staying power. Also don't be surprised if you see a companion cookbook; which would be amazing, the food described at the W This is an easy and fun read. The basic premise of the mother/daughter con artist team coupled with a dash of occult fun, traditional angst, some romance, a bit of mystery, and the desire for book two make this the kind of book you can honestly read just for fun. I would love to see the author make this into a series, I feel that the characters and setting have that sort of staying power. Also don't be surprised if you see a companion cookbook; which would be amazing, the food described at the Witchtown bakery will make you hungry for more.
    more
  • Samantha
    February 8, 2017
    Sixteen-year-old Macie and her mother Aubra are con artists and thieves. Aubra is also a very powerful natural witch. Together, the two travel from haven to haven, where all witches are required to live, and steal all the town has to offer before moving on. Now the two have arrived in Witchtown, where Aubra swears they will pull their last job and then find a place to settle down for good. Macie is still stinging from events from their last con and she is angry with her beautiful, powerful, cold Sixteen-year-old Macie and her mother Aubra are con artists and thieves. Aubra is also a very powerful natural witch. Together, the two travel from haven to haven, where all witches are required to live, and steal all the town has to offer before moving on. Now the two have arrived in Witchtown, where Aubra swears they will pull their last job and then find a place to settle down for good. Macie is still stinging from events from their last con and she is angry with her beautiful, powerful, cold mother. She is also so guarded that she has never experienced what it means to have friends or really care about anyone else. All that changes in Witchtown and it isn't long before Macie discovers she may not be the one in control of the con this time around. This was such a fun read and I thank NetGalley and the publisher for an ARC to review. Full of teen angst, teen romance, and those turbulent mother-daughter relationships that all girls, young and mature, enjoy. There is plenty here to keep those pages turning and keep the reader guessing. Recommended for YAs largely due to mild language and the unfortunate but hilarious use of the word "fuck-wits" on one momentous occasion. See? Now YOU want to read it, don't you? More mature middle school readers would also enjoy the story. Scheduled publication date July 18, 2017.
    more
  • Joelene Weeks
    January 28, 2017
    I had a hard time putting this one down, it grabbed me from page one. The writing style was great, I really enjoyed the originality of the plot, and the pace was perfect, no real slow spots. I would have liked a little more character development, especially with the secondary characters since they are integral to the story. As the heroine, I wish Macie had done more to deal with her problems herself instead of always relying on her friends. Parts of the ending felt a little too convenient, as th I had a hard time putting this one down, it grabbed me from page one. The writing style was great, I really enjoyed the originality of the plot, and the pace was perfect, no real slow spots. I would have liked a little more character development, especially with the secondary characters since they are integral to the story. As the heroine, I wish Macie had done more to deal with her problems herself instead of always relying on her friends. Parts of the ending felt a little too convenient, as tho the author was in a rush to tie up loose ends. I'm not sure if there will be anymore books about the witchtown world but I certainly hope so! *Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for the ARC!*
    more
  • Alice Kuehr-McLaren
    February 3, 2017
    Good LGBT+ representation. Kelley is a jerk. The plot was average and the words were unoriginal and confusing. Realistic portrayal of magic in a world of magical realism.
Write a review