Emily and the Spellstone
Emily picks up a stone that looks like a cell phone but has unexpected magical powers. It's a Spellstone! Now that she has become an unwilling Stonemaster—one who wields the power of the Stone—she has to figure out Spellstone technology fast if she is to survive a hair-raising adventure among giant dogs, demons, clones, mean girls, and deeply wicked people who want the Stone. A witty tale of a quiet girl who discovers she's a hero when she needs to be. Stonemasters rule!

Emily and the Spellstone Details

TitleEmily and the Spellstone
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherClarion Books
ISBN0544790863
ISBN-139780544790865
Number of pages288 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Childrens, Middle Grade, Young Adult

Emily and the Spellstone Review

  • Wendi Lee
    April 10, 2017
    *Copy received from Netgalley in exchange for a honest review*Emily finds what she thinks is an ordinary stone on the beach. What she soon finds out is this stone is actually a supernatural phone that dials straight into adventure! Here's what I think: it was an entertaining book and I really liked the message about friendship, but the first half was really slow. I think MG adventure books need to have a good pacing, and I'm not sure if I would have continued reading if I was 10 or 11. The secon *Copy received from Netgalley in exchange for a honest review*Emily finds what she thinks is an ordinary stone on the beach. What she soon finds out is this stone is actually a supernatural phone that dials straight into adventure! Here's what I think: it was an entertaining book and I really liked the message about friendship, but the first half was really slow. I think MG adventure books need to have a good pacing, and I'm not sure if I would have continued reading if I was 10 or 11. The second half was fun and interesting, and I enjoyed the ending. The puns were a bit youngish for me, but I think the target audience might enjoy it.
    more
  • Lilyn G. (Scifi and Scary)
    May 19, 2017
    Review to come closer to release date, but...This was awesome, folks. The perfect blend of fun, puns, adventure, and excitement.Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book free from Netgalley for review consideration.
  • Bee {Quite the Novel Idea}
    May 22, 2017
    Quite The Novel Idea ~ Words from the CloudsIf I had to choose one word to describe this book, it would be amusing. Either that or charming. It's everything a middle grade fantasy book should be at its core. Fun, charming, exciting, amusing,... And while I enjoyed it very much, I found that it lacked that little extra that would have made it amazing.Emily and the Spellstone is about the twelve-year-old Emily, a girl that hates adventures. One day when she visits the beach with her family, she fi Quite The Novel Idea ~ Words from the CloudsIf I had to choose one word to describe this book, it would be amusing. Either that or charming. It's everything a middle grade fantasy book should be at its core. Fun, charming, exciting, amusing,... And while I enjoyed it very much, I found that it lacked that little extra that would have made it amazing.Emily and the Spellstone is about the twelve-year-old Emily, a girl that hates adventures. One day when she visits the beach with her family, she finds a cellphone. Only, it's not a cellphone. It's a magical stone. And by picking it up, she has become a stonemaster. Soon Emily is swept up in one of the adventures she never wanted to have, fighting off evil monsters, wicked people that want the stone and befriending a demon. And all that while fending off mean girls at school and avoiding her parents finding out about any of it.I really enjoy Michael Rubens' writing a lot. He has such a nice writing style with so much humor that's easy to get into. I loved his YA book The Bad Decisions Playlist so I was eager to check out this one and for the most part, it did not disappoint. I loved the overall story and the dynamics between Emily and the demon Gorgo, who was just so very amusing. I loved their banter and their growing friendship. And I loved the friendship that blossomed between Emily and Angela. I also liked the message the book sent.The story, while exciting and kind of original in some parts, did wrap up a bit easily for me, but it's Middle Grade so I guess I can forgive it for that? The villains seemed a bit... easily defeated. And while the ending was left open just enough for a possible sequel, I don't like that even if it's a standalone, it just ended up basically in the same spot where we started. With just a few details changed. It went back to the status quo instead of raising the stakes a bit. I know, I know, middle grade. But I think we should encourage middle grade fantasy where the stakes are a bit higher.Also her parents were just... kind of... there. If they'd been left out completely, nothing would have changed. That is something that irritates me more in MG than in YA. And it irritates me A LOT in YA. But in MG the protagonists are even younger so WHUT ARE YOU DOING PARENTS? Seriously. I never could have gotten away with any of this at twelve years old. Never.All in all, Emily and the Spellstone was a very amusing and charming story that I really enjoyed despite my issues with it overall. if you're a fan of Middle Grade Fantasy, I highly encourage picking it up.
    more
  • Susan
    June 13, 2017
    Emily is convinced that her parents don't even know how old she is. It's her twelfth birthday and the birthday candle is 11 instead of 12. She is upset as she didn't eat the birthday present that she really wanted - a cell phone. Her parents said no when her older sister had to get physical therapy for her hands due to all the texting she does. She walks along the beach and discovers a stone that reminds her of a cell phone. She hides it in her pocket so her little brother doesn't get it. Being Emily is convinced that her parents don't even know how old she is. It's her twelfth birthday and the birthday candle is 11 instead of 12. She is upset as she didn't eat the birthday present that she really wanted - a cell phone. Her parents said no when her older sister had to get physical therapy for her hands due to all the texting she does. She walks along the beach and discovers a stone that reminds her of a cell phone. She hides it in her pocket so her little brother doesn't get it. Being new in school as her parents moved to this new home has left her forlorned. She discovers that her special stone is more special than she thought. She discovers a demon in her spellstone. They become friends. How? When someone succeeds in stealing it, she must find a wat to save her little brother who has been kidnapped besides her stolen spellstone.How will Emily find him? How will Emily keep her parents from knowing her brother is missing? Will she be able to get her spellstone and brother back?This is a fun and delightful book to read even with a demon in it. The story isn't slow or boring as something is always happening. Part of it is a true adventure story. I think both boys and girls will enjoy reading it. I did! Will there be another spellstone story? I hope so!Disclaimer: I received an arc of this book free from the author/publisher from Net-galley. I was not obliged to write a favorable review, or even any review at all. The opinions expressed are strictly my own.
    more
  • Rosie Rizk
    May 22, 2017
    Another great children's fantastical adventure book!I think a lot of children would identify with this book because of the interesting premise - a girl wishing for a cellphone for her birthday, finds instead an amazing magical rock that's even better. I'd be happy to trade in my cellphone for a spellstone!I also identified with Emily's family position - her younger brother gets away with the worst mischief, while she's held to a higher accountability. At the same time, her sister gets all the pr Another great children's fantastical adventure book!I think a lot of children would identify with this book because of the interesting premise - a girl wishing for a cellphone for her birthday, finds instead an amazing magical rock that's even better. I'd be happy to trade in my cellphone for a spellstone!I also identified with Emily's family position - her younger brother gets away with the worst mischief, while she's held to a higher accountability. At the same time, her sister gets all the privileges of being the oldest child, while Emily is treated as a kid, except for when it comes time for punishing her for losing her temper. The book is geared towards younger readers - maybe ages 8-12, but I'm several years past that expiration date, and I highly enjoyed it too. Also, the plot didn't rely on mythology, which is getting a bit overdone these days, so it's a good change if you're getting bored of all the other Middle Grade books out there.Disclaimer: I received a free copy though NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Serenity
    June 7, 2017
    I'll admit it took me a long time to read this book. Part of the issue was I read it on my phone. Also, it started off a little slow and it was a bit hard for me to get into (her screen-obsessed older sister and totally obnoxious younger brother who is never corrected by their parents were a bit over the top). Buuut, by about halfway through I was really enjoying myself and I think it got better as the story progressed. I would love to read a sequel. Emily is an average kid, hoping for a great t I'll admit it took me a long time to read this book. Part of the issue was I read it on my phone. Also, it started off a little slow and it was a bit hard for me to get into (her screen-obsessed older sister and totally obnoxious younger brother who is never corrected by their parents were a bit over the top). Buuut, by about halfway through I was really enjoying myself and I think it got better as the story progressed. I would love to read a sequel. Emily is an average kid, hoping for a great twelfth birthday. She is very disappointed that she doesn't get a new phone, but instead finds a weird stone at the beach. She eventually discovers it is a magic stone, and she has become a Stonemaster. Mayhem ensues as she almost burns down her school and has to learn to master the stone to save her family and protect the stone from the bad guys. *I received an e-arc of this book from the publisher through NetGalley*
    more
  • Wensday
    June 12, 2017
    Many readers young and old will relate to Emily and her situation as it relates to family and school. Although the book had a slow and lackluster start for me; I really thought the book was going to be another boring typical genie in the lamp book, I was glad that I kept reading and finished the book. I really got into the adventure and enjoyed the book overall.
    more
  • K.L. Beckmeyer
    January 17, 2017
    What if a comedian wrote a coming of age fantasy that was tastefully ridiculous?Well, here it is. I loved it.
  • Trshava
    April 10, 2017
    *ebook given through Netgalley which doesn't affect my opinion*
Write a review