Textrovert
It’s bad enough when high-school senior Keeley grabs the wrong phone while leaving her small town’s end-of-summer fair. It’s even worse when she discovers that the phone she now has belongs to the obnoxious, self-centered Talon and that he’s just left for football camp … with her phone. Reluctantly, the two agree to forward messages for a week. And as Keeley gets to know Talon, she starts to like him. Keeley learns there’s more to Talon than the egocentric jock most people see. There’s more to Keeley, too. Texting Talon, she can step out of the shadow of her popular twin brother. Texting Talon, she can be the person she’s always wanted to be. Sparks fly when the two finally meet to exchange their phones. But while Keeley has been playing a part online, Talon has been keeping a secret. He has a different connection to Keeley — one that has nothing to do with phones, and one that will make their new relationship all but impossible. Knowing what she now knows, can Keeley trust him? And can love in the present erase mistakes of the past?

Textrovert Details

TitleTextrovert
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 2nd, 2017
PublisherKids Can Press
ISBN1771387351
ISBN-139781771387354
Number of pages235 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Textrovert Review

  • Tanya
    April 21, 2017
    Received from netgalley for an honest review.https://tanyasreading.wordpress.com/2...3.5 Stars!Textrovert is a story about two strangers who accidentally switch phones and start a friendship over it. It pretty much a cute high school story about showing your true self and not what people think over you. It pretty much was like Romeo & Juliet with text messages since the main couple were from rival schools where the football teams couldn't stand each other.It also got a little bit of Beauty a Received from netgalley for an honest review.https://tanyasreading.wordpress.com/2...3.5 Stars!Textrovert is a story about two strangers who accidentally switch phones and start a friendship over it. It pretty much a cute high school story about showing your true self and not what people think over you. It pretty much was like Romeo & Juliet with text messages since the main couple were from rival schools where the football teams couldn't stand each other.It also got a little bit of Beauty and the Beast since the main love interests was kind of full of himself until Keeley knocked him down a peg or two. It would have gotten four stars from but towards the 70% mark of the book, there were some unnecessary drama that was added that didn't help the story at all. It honestly hindered because it started to feel juvenile. Granted this is a book dealing with high schoolers but the drama could have been a little more mature than immature. This writing was good but the one gripe I have is that it should have been in 1st pov than 3rd. I can't believe I'm saying this cause I love 3rd pov than 1st pov. The fact the whole book was pretty much show all the events and thoughts of these in events in Keeley's point of view and no want else's, warrant's for it to be in 1st pov. In my head I kept changing the pronouns and the narrative flowed better since I saw everything in her mind. Overall it's a cute story but nothing grand about it...
    more
  • Hristina
    December 7, 2016
    Here's the deal. Is there a good story in this book? Yes there is. Is it told the right way? No.I feel like the book in the form I read it in isn't the final draft. It's two drafts before the final draft. I liked everything it had to offer, I just didn't like it enough.If I was the editor I'd say that the dialogue is a bit off, there should be a few more dialogue tabs here and there, the characters need to be worked on and the plot is predictable.As a reader I had trouble with all of this. It's Here's the deal. Is there a good story in this book? Yes there is. Is it told the right way? No.I feel like the book in the form I read it in isn't the final draft. It's two drafts before the final draft. I liked everything it had to offer, I just didn't like it enough.If I was the editor I'd say that the dialogue is a bit off, there should be a few more dialogue tabs here and there, the characters need to be worked on and the plot is predictable.As a reader I had trouble with all of this. It's fast pace and it's cute, but it needs to be just... better. I hate playing the could've, would've, should've game with any read, but it's all my mind did while I was reading it.Of course, this is just my opinion, and I'm sure that not everyone will see it this way. Maybe it just wasn't for me, or it wasn't for me at this point in time.
    more
  • Stacy Fetters
    April 22, 2017
    "What I wish is that you didn't exist. When are you coming back?In a week. What am I supposed to do till then?Dream of me. Word on the street is I'm pretty impressive if you know what I mean 😉" I won this book in a Goodreads first reads giveaway. Opinion is my own! I've always wanted a man with dreamy eyes to sweep me off my feet and call me baby doll. And then I woke up from my dream, glad I wasn't a sixteen-year-old girl anymore and poked my gorgeous husband. Imagine this.... you lose your ph "What I wish is that you didn't exist. When are you coming back?In a week. What am I supposed to do till then?Dream of me. Word on the street is I'm pretty impressive if you know what I mean 😉" I won this book in a Goodreads first reads giveaway. Opinion is my own! I've always wanted a man with dreamy eyes to sweep me off my feet and call me baby doll. And then I woke up from my dream, glad I wasn't a sixteen-year-old girl anymore and poked my gorgeous husband. Imagine this.... you lose your phone!! I think ninety-nine percent of the world would freak out. All the crazy, weird pictures on your phone, the hilarious drunken texts and your not cleared browser history. All cringe worthy. Makes you hold your phone close like a baby. Kelley is one of those girls that would lose her head if it wasn't attached. Always leaving her phone somewhere and forgetting that place. She goes through phone after phone and her parents are cutting her off. She goes to the fair with her best friend and she leaves her phone on a picnic table. Realizing her problem, she runs with all her might and with her luck she finds it. Stuffing it into her pocket for safe keeping. When she gets home, she receives a strange phone call from a guy claiming their phones got switched up. Looking through the phone, she indeed has the wrong phone and they are stuck that way for a few days until Talon gets back from football camp. Her twin brother Zach is the star quarterback for their high school football team and all he can think about is crushing their opponents at the next game. The hatred runs deep with this rivalry and huge college scouts will be watching. He must out beat the other team's captain, JT. Keeley is smitten from the start with Talon but doesn't want to admit it. He's quite the charmer and she falls just as deep as he does. After swapping phones they continue to still talk daily. This becomes something more than a phone swap, but Zach isn't too thrilled. There are a few secrets that Talon forgot to mention while secretly dating Keeley. Ones that can ruin their relationship even before it begins. Even though this was a hundred percent predictable, I still highly enjoyed this. It was different in a lot of ways. Usually, girls are glued to their phones all day every day, they password protect their phones and will likely do and fall for charmer with the bright blue eyes. Keeley had other things in mind but lead to the ultimate prize. Which shocks not only you but me. Predictability is one of those things that can ruin an entire book for me. This was too cute not to love. I look forward to reading more work by this author and will likely be rereading this again very soon. We all need a little pick me up in our lives and this is a good way to start.
    more
  • Olivia (The Candid Cover)
    April 21, 2017
    3.5 starsReview to come!
  • Scrill
    April 24, 2017
    Textrovert by Lindsey Summers was sweet and super cute. After accidentally grabbing the wrong phone, Keely and Talon get to know each other over the week before they have a chance to exchange the phones to the rightful owners. Under the guise of anonymity they are able to be themselves and get to know each other honestly, or as honestly as it may seem on a surface level. After swapping phones, they still can’t get enough of each other. However, their true identities might actually get in the way Textrovert by Lindsey Summers was sweet and super cute. After accidentally grabbing the wrong phone, Keely and Talon get to know each other over the week before they have a chance to exchange the phones to the rightful owners. Under the guise of anonymity they are able to be themselves and get to know each other honestly, or as honestly as it may seem on a surface level. After swapping phones, they still can’t get enough of each other. However, their true identities might actually get in the way of the connection they had been building. While everything they told each other was the truth, it’s what wasn’t said that actually gets in the way of their relationship.So this book was pretty short; easy enough to finish in just a few hours of reading. Despite the shortness, you still get a full story for a YA contemporary. The story is simple, relatable, and tackles a subject that many teens have to come to terms with-honesty in who they are growing up to be.The premise of this story largely wraps around the idea that these two kids had their phones swapped and slowly get to know each other. There is something about talking to someone who you don’t know at all that makes it easy to not have any sort of expectation of the outcome. You can be entirely yourself without the pressure of the consequences of letting them down. Technology and social media makes it so easy for us to make friends in ways that are entirely unique to this current generation that makes this book applicable to the younger readers that may pick it up. The only thing that I would have added into the book would be the real complication of building a foundation to friendship via texting-there is no way to convey secondary communication via tone of voice or non-verbal cues. Emojis only go so far, and this concept could have added to any sort of miscommunication or drama that could have ensued.The characters were great. Our main character, Keely, is able to really let herself out and learn to have her personality show via her interactions with Talon. She had lived the life of trying to please the people around her that she never really got to be selfish in her own way and never got to win any battles when it came to her needs versus those of her twin or her best friend. Talon, despite superficially having a super life, was given a little depth. Nothing that was excessively deep, but enough to give the kid some personality, something that was more than what first meets the eye. What I liked about the relationship between Keely and Talon was that it was super low key and not over the top romantic antics. It was realistic on the level of teenagers. Sometimes, YA contemporaries have these moments that are too much like a scene from a teen movie. Life just isn’t like that. While the characters had their immaturity as far as doubts and emotions, they still had their moments where they had to sit and think about their own actions and reflect on them. While that’s the case, there weren’t crazy big parties, sex scenes, or even outrageous dates. It was real, it was just two kids getting to know each other and jumping the hurdles that came their way.The delivery of the book was great. When I first looked into the book I thought it would largely been written as text messages back and forth, but really the communication is just a underlying factor. We are still given a full story with just enough feels to make your heart get a few twists during the misunderstandings.This book will be released on May 5, 2017. Thank you to Goodreads and the publishers for the ARC.
    more
  • Hana Bilqisthi
    November 14, 2016
    I received a digital copy of Textrovert from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.I have read the Wattpad version and it is sweet, cute and page turner :D I really like itSo I am excited to see how it come out in print. The editing is really good. Question and plot hole that I've been asking when reading Wattpad version is now has been covered up and answered. Example: In Watpadd version, I was wondering why Keeley and Talon did not lock or put password on their phone because many people a I received a digital copy of Textrovert from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.I have read the Wattpad version and it is sweet, cute and page turner :D I really like itSo I am excited to see how it come out in print. The editing is really good. Question and plot hole that I've been asking when reading Wattpad version is now has been covered up and answered. Example: In Watpadd version, I was wondering why Keeley and Talon did not lock or put password on their phone because many people around me did.Now I got my question answer. I like Lindsey come with more believable back up story in this version :)Now I really want to have the physical copy of this book :) Can't wait for May to come :D Btw, I really love the cover. The cover is really cute :D
    more
  • Danielle
    April 26, 2017
    I received a copy of the book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.3.5 StarsThis was a really quick little read. We follow Keeley and Talon as they accidentally switch phone for a week. Snappy banter and romance ensue. This was a good contemporary filled with all of the tropes we love. It was really addictive for me, and really easy to read. Things I Liked :-Kelley & Zach. I’m a sucker for any twin relationship and this one is no different. I like that they are su I received a copy of the book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.3.5 StarsThis was a really quick little read. We follow Keeley and Talon as they accidentally switch phone for a week. Snappy banter and romance ensue. This was a good contemporary filled with all of the tropes we love. It was really addictive for me, and really easy to read. Things I Liked :-Kelley & Zach. I’m a sucker for any twin relationship and this one is no different. I like that they are supportive of one another and genuinely care for each other. They have really cute talks and want to make sure they stay close with college coming up. It was just a really sweet and heart-warming relationship.-Relatable. I really thought that Keeley struggling and questioning her future was really relatable and authentic. She’s feeling a little lonely because her brother and her best friend each have their own thing going on. They have direction and Keeley feels like she’s being left behind. I could empathize with Keeley and it helped me connect with her.-Banter. There is some grade A flirty banter in this book. The texts between Keeley and Talon and snappy and quick. They made me laugh out loud and get invest in their relationship. Things I Liked Less :-Wanted more. I felt like I could have used more in the story as a reader. More development from side characters (view spoiler)[Gavin’s relationship to Talon felt like it came out of nowhere, what about Nicky worrying about if she could go to college? (hide spoiler)], more development in Keeley and Talon’s relationship, more tension from the drama. It didn’t fall flat, but I think adding more would have made the story seem more fleshed out and well developed.-Talon. Talon was just o.k. to me. He was really funny and charming. BUT he was a little too secretive, a little too arrogant, a little too schmoozy. (view spoiler)[I’m glad that Keeley confronts him about not being upfront with her and making decisions for her, but I never really connected with him that much. I also never really got over what happened with Claire. I’m glad there was consequences in their relationship and they actually discussed how they felt, and what they would do moving forward, but I felt like his character was tainted. I didn’t really care for him after that reveal. (hide spoiler)]A fun and flirty read. Great to get you out of a slump. Even though this was a hundred percent predictable, I still highly enjoyed this. I love the cheesy tropes and the high school drama. It’s always so much fun and this book is no exception.
    more
  • cyborgcinderella
    April 23, 2017
    This book was cute. That's about all I can say about it. It wasn't awful but I didn't love it. It was a quick read and a cute story overall.I'm a sucker for a "falling in love via text/email/online" story, which was what originally drew me to this book. I thought that part of the story was done well overall, although I don't think they were given enough time to really get to know one another. However, it didn't feel like instalove when they met either and I don't think they ever actually said th This book was cute. That's about all I can say about it. It wasn't awful but I didn't love it. It was a quick read and a cute story overall.I'm a sucker for a "falling in love via text/email/online" story, which was what originally drew me to this book. I thought that part of the story was done well overall, although I don't think they were given enough time to really get to know one another. However, it didn't feel like instalove when they met either and I don't think they ever actually said they loved one another, so it felt pretty genuine in that sense. My biggest issue with this book was my issue with a love of books: lack of communication. It kind of felt like no one in this book really knew how to communicate with one another, so there were SO MANY misunderstandings and problems because nobody bothered to TALK TO ONE ANOTHER. I feel like a lot of the problems that arose in this book happened because nobody would use their words to communicate with each other. I find it so tiring and irritating to read stories like that, so this was no exception. I thought the romance was cute though. It kind of irritated me that Talon kept calling her "Baby Doll" because it felt super condescending and misogynistic, but I generally thought their relationship was sweet and adorable. Again, I wish they had communicated more with one another, but overall I liked their relationship.This book was cute and if you like the "falling in love via text/email/online" trope like I do and don't mind miscommunication as a plot device, I would recommend this book to you.Thank you to Kids Can Press for the arc of this book!
    more
  • Melanie
    November 14, 2016
    Textrovert is a really sweet YA contemporary which will appeal to many. I read this in 1 sitting and although it sits around 300 pages, its a quick read due to some of the book told in instant messages. I've only read a few books like that and find they hold my attention more, plus I also feel the author has to work harder to get the feelings etc across. After all, like in real life its hard to show emotion (Without the smilies) across a digital message of any kind. I'd not read anything by Lind Textrovert is a really sweet YA contemporary which will appeal to many. I read this in 1 sitting and although it sits around 300 pages, its a quick read due to some of the book told in instant messages. I've only read a few books like that and find they hold my attention more, plus I also feel the author has to work harder to get the feelings etc across. After all, like in real life its hard to show emotion (Without the smilies) across a digital message of any kind. I'd not read anything by Lindsey before and found her writing style easy to read. She told me enough to keep me interested but also kept enough back to keep me hanging on. Its a clever knack to get the right balance with a YA book (Especially from an adult readers point of view).The characters were likeable, Keeley at times came across as super naive but as the book went on you saw her grow and change even in the short period it is set over. I loved the relationship with her brother and although I didn't really like her best friend, it made sense later in the book as to why things were the way they were. Tallon is a great book boyfriend for the younger ones, I liked his attitude and smarts, plus he came over as over confident but in a humorous way.The story has a good pace, it covers a wide range of topics which I personally feel would be suitable for about 13/14 upwards. There's some good lessons in there too and the issues were handled well (Not giving spoilers).I gave Textrovert 3.5 stars, it is a good read and one I feel should be looked out for by the YA audience. I can see this book being one of those gems people stumble upon and are glad they did.
    more
  • Nihlaeth
    October 26, 2016
    Rating: a solid three starsTextrovert is a light, enjoyable read. Solid writing and decent character building. The romance isn't bad either, with a few surprisingly adults decisions considering this is young adult. The ending felt a bit too easy, but it didn't spoil the story.There's hundreds of young adult contemporary romance books like this out there, and I can't say there's anything to make it jump out (hence the three stars). If you're looking for an uncomplicated story well told, Textrover Rating: a solid three starsTextrovert is a light, enjoyable read. Solid writing and decent character building. The romance isn't bad either, with a few surprisingly adults decisions considering this is young adult. The ending felt a bit too easy, but it didn't spoil the story.There's hundreds of young adult contemporary romance books like this out there, and I can't say there's anything to make it jump out (hence the three stars). If you're looking for an uncomplicated story well told, Textrovert is the perfect choice.
    more
  • Merry Miller moon
    December 28, 2016
    Thank you to Goodreads and Kids Can Press for the free ARC! The isn't supposed to be released until May 2017. I started to read it before I realized that it is a teenage read. No problem. Summer is about to end and Keeley has just dropped her cell phone at the food table at the county fair. She runs back to get her phone only to find that it has dropped under the table onto the ground. She and her friend, Nicky run off after retrieving her phone. Over the course of several days, Keeley starts to Thank you to Goodreads and Kids Can Press for the free ARC! The isn't supposed to be released until May 2017. I started to read it before I realized that it is a teenage read. No problem. Summer is about to end and Keeley has just dropped her cell phone at the food table at the county fair. She runs back to get her phone only to find that it has dropped under the table onto the ground. She and her friend, Nicky run off after retrieving her phone. Over the course of several days, Keeley starts to get strange text messages on her phone-only to discover that she has managed to pick up someone else's phone and someone has her phone. Phone calls begin and it turns out that Keeley starts to like this guy, Talon who has her phone. He is smart, funny and she can come out of her shell and say things she normally wouldn't say. They have agreed to meet to exchange to phones. In the meantime, summer is about to end and Keeley has a ton of extra school work to do to prepare for applying to colleges and finishing up her senior year of high school. When they meet, Keeley says something to Talon about her twin brother, Zach being the quarterback of Edgewood High. For whatever reason, Talon is spooked and leaves Keeley at the Java Hut. ***POSSIBLE SPOILERS AHEAD***Turns out that Talon isn't just 'Talon' but he's JT and that's a huge problem for Keeley's twin Zach. Keeley falls hard for Talon and a sweet story unfolds. I would've loved this story back when I was in high school. Of course, that was eons ago!
    more
  • thebookbitch
    November 28, 2016
    In no way is this a bad book, I just found it hard because I was comparing Textrovert to the original book that I read on Wattpad known as The Cell Phone Swap. I still really love Lindsey's writing, it flows so well and the characters she creates are so realistic. But my 3 star rating comes from how lacking it is in depth and descriptions. I was left waiting for more in certain scenes but it felt like it cut off early and went straight to the next chapter. And there were certain moments from The In no way is this a bad book, I just found it hard because I was comparing Textrovert to the original book that I read on Wattpad known as The Cell Phone Swap. I still really love Lindsey's writing, it flows so well and the characters she creates are so realistic. But my 3 star rating comes from how lacking it is in depth and descriptions. I was left waiting for more in certain scenes but it felt like it cut off early and went straight to the next chapter. And there were certain moments from The Cell Phone Swap that I wished were part of the new version, because it was typically Talon. However, Textrovert is certainly an adorable summer read.
    more
  • Hareem S.
    November 3, 2016
    This was the second book that I read on Wattpad, and probably one of the best written books I've read on that app! Lindsey is such a great author and her way of writing is incredible! I was so excited to find out that The Cell Phone Swap would be published as Textrovert, and I can't wait to get my hands on one of the copies. Keely and Talon's relationship is unique, but of course, Tucker's the main character... All in all, this book deserves endless reads and love, because the story identifies t This was the second book that I read on Wattpad, and probably one of the best written books I've read on that app! Lindsey is such a great author and her way of writing is incredible! I was so excited to find out that The Cell Phone Swap would be published as Textrovert, and I can't wait to get my hands on one of the copies. Keely and Talon's relationship is unique, but of course, Tucker's the main character... All in all, this book deserves endless reads and love, because the story identifies the type of relationship that is started in society nowadays based on quirky texts! I love it!
    more
  • Jamie (Books and Ladders)
    January 27, 2017
    This was pretty adorable but I'm not sure how much I loved the conflict and it's resolution.
  • Nora
    April 27, 2017
    I received a digital copy in exchange for a fair and honest review. This doesn't affect my opinions in any way.Actual rating: 3,5 starsTextrovert was a quick and easy read. The phone swap was believable enough and I really enjoyed the first conversation Keeley and Talon had. The messages between the two were funny and I loved Keeley's sarcasm and her refusal to back down or be intimidated by his confidence and remarks. This book follows the common romance book formula. The characters weren't ove I received a digital copy in exchange for a fair and honest review. This doesn't affect my opinions in any way.Actual rating: 3,5 starsTextrovert was a quick and easy read. The phone swap was believable enough and I really enjoyed the first conversation Keeley and Talon had. The messages between the two were funny and I loved Keeley's sarcasm and her refusal to back down or be intimidated by his confidence and remarks. This book follows the common romance book formula. The characters weren't overly original, some were actually kinda flat and a bit exaggerated in their actions/characteristics and it was very predictable. But I tend to think that the predictability lies in the genre itself, it’s expected from a contemporary romance novel. Spoiler: They get together. Have a fight/can’t be together anymore. Get back together etc. But I didn’t mind that much because the book was hella funny. Nicky was very one dimensional and her antics were a bit over exaggerated, but I do like her. A lot. She is an awesome friend and I appreciate that this book had such a strong female friendship in it. Without any jealousy fits or any other drama. Just support and having each others back. Zach was ... well, I think I liked him, though he was kinda cliche too. He could be quite unreasonable at times. But that one scene where the twins had their heart to heart talk was cute and heartwarming. The Talon/Keeley drama felt a bit constructed at times. Though they had quite a few adorable moments that made up for that. And as I've said before: the conversations between Keeley and Talon (either through text or in person) were really amusing to read and often very adorable/funny/sarcastic/witty all in one. So, while this book isn't something extremely new, it hasn't the most original characters in the world and it is quite predictable, don't let that scare you off. I enjoyed it for what it was. A fun story, with endearing characters, snarky texts, and cute scenes. I liked the whole concept of the story. And I loved the writing style. It was so entertaining to read. I suppose this would be the perfect book to get out of a reading slump. Fun, quick and easy. It even made me laugh, really laugh, a few times. And while I loved the writing style in general, I think I would've preferred the book to be written in first point of view. It would have fit the story better, in my opinion, would’ve let me connect more with Keeley and the third person took a bit of my enjoyment away at certain points. So I would recommend this book. Maybe in between two more difficult to read books (I’m looking at you high fantasy tomes), or as I've said to get you out of a reading slump. I'm certainly glad I read it!
    more
  • Nya Martinez
    April 17, 2017
    3.5(Received a digital copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review)It was adorable! I loved it, Keeley was such a relatable character, Talon was sweet, Zach and Nicky were a little annoying but I liked them anyways. The whole concept was good, great actually, swapping cell phones by accident and having to get to know the person who has your phone. But was this the best story ever? Something groundbreaking? Memorable if you didn't know about the Wattpad version like I did?Absolutely not. 3.5(Received a digital copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review)It was adorable! I loved it, Keeley was such a relatable character, Talon was sweet, Zach and Nicky were a little annoying but I liked them anyways. The whole concept was good, great actually, swapping cell phones by accident and having to get to know the person who has your phone. But was this the best story ever? Something groundbreaking? Memorable if you didn't know about the Wattpad version like I did?Absolutely not. In fact, I think the Wattpad version is better. The published version just seems shorter, and goes by so fast. So many scenes were cut out from the Wattpad version, like we never really got to know Darlene (Talon's mom) or the extent of the school's rivalry, or even more than one football game. I loved this story, and how easy it was to read and just how fun and cute it was. But I feel like it could have been longer. We should have been with these characters and gotten to know them a little bit more before the story ended. Overall: read the Wattpad version. Only read the published one if you love the Wattpad enough to realize the full glory and wonderfulness of the Cell Phone Swap (Textrovert)
    more
  • Vera
    April 4, 2017
    I was reading the premise of this book and I was like 'I have seen this before. This is the exact copy of..." and then I looked at the author's name. I had no idea this book was being published! And on my birthday month!! I really enjoyed reading this one on wattpad and it's one of those books that after reading it I wished it could be published one day, so I could have a physical copy of it, and because it was so good and it deserved the attention of a wider audience. So happy! I am definitely I was reading the premise of this book and I was like 'I have seen this before. This is the exact copy of..." and then I looked at the author's name. I had no idea this book was being published! And on my birthday month!! I really enjoyed reading this one on wattpad and it's one of those books that after reading it I wished it could be published one day, so I could have a physical copy of it, and because it was so good and it deserved the attention of a wider audience. So happy! I am definitely getting it when it comes out!
    more
  • Chelsea at A Very Bookish Girl
    April 25, 2017
    Such a cute contemporary read, exactly what I needed after my Fantasy & Thriller recent reads. Review coming soon!
  • zoe
    April 7, 2017
    I think it was about me and Zayn being twins in a Freeform Original Movie for families!
  • John Clark
    April 9, 2017
    Imagine a rainfall of probabilities and coincidences, and you're a soon to be senior in high school. How would it affect you. This is such a story. Keeley loses her cell phone at the fair and when she rushes back to the food booth where she remembers setting it down, she's hugely relieved to find it in the grass under the table. Later that night, she discovers it's not her phone, but belongs to a guy, a self-centered and arrogant football jock named Talon. He's got hers and is off to a week long Imagine a rainfall of probabilities and coincidences, and you're a soon to be senior in high school. How would it affect you. This is such a story. Keeley loses her cell phone at the fair and when she rushes back to the food booth where she remembers setting it down, she's hugely relieved to find it in the grass under the table. Later that night, she discovers it's not her phone, but belongs to a guy, a self-centered and arrogant football jock named Talon. He's got hers and is off to a week long football camp. He's so not her type, but in order to get her text messages, and for Talon to get his, they have to communicate. What begins as a snippy back and forth, quickly becomes something both look forward to. When they meet, the attraction is even stronger, but Talon has secrets that will seriously threaten any future relationship, secrets that involve Keeley's twin brother Zach and force both teens to do some soul searching. Factor in Keeley's nest friend feeling abandoned, her where to go to college dilemma as well as an intense football game where she's caught in the middle and you have a perfect dessert of high school drama served up in a way that teens who share any of the issues involved or who simply like their romance blended with intrigue will very much enjoy. It's a good book for any library to consider and is another example of why Wattpad impresses me as a venue for new authors.
    more
  • Marta
    April 26, 2017
    2,5 * review here
  • Chrissy
    December 29, 2016
    I genuinely do hate it when I dislike a book -- not only because I feel like my time was somehow wasted (which is mostly my fault, especially when I realize early into the story that it's just not going to jive with my tastes), but also because I genuinely DO hate leaving negative reviews.That said, I will try to be as fair and candid as possible, by starting with the fact that I am probably NOT the intended audience for Textrovert. I'm not terribly fond of cheesy love stories, I'm not a young a I genuinely do hate it when I dislike a book -- not only because I feel like my time was somehow wasted (which is mostly my fault, especially when I realize early into the story that it's just not going to jive with my tastes), but also because I genuinely DO hate leaving negative reviews.That said, I will try to be as fair and candid as possible, by starting with the fact that I am probably NOT the intended audience for Textrovert. I'm not terribly fond of cheesy love stories, I'm not a young adult, and I'm not one who typically enjoys cheese love stories about young adults.So why DID I pick up Textrovert? Honestly, it's all about that cover -- it's young, fun, and modern, which caught my eye and captured my attention.Unfortunately, the story itself failed to do the same.The basic premise is that two high schoolers inadvertently end up swapping phones and thus must connect in order to switch the phones back to their rightful owners. Shy, softspoken Keely feels emboldened by her anonymity and experiments with humor and sarcasm, while popular jock Talon hides unfavorable connections he has to Keely's family that threaten to destroy any future relationships between the two characters. Keely and Talon fall in love, encounter obstacles, and struggle to assert their true identities amongst the angst of teenage trials and tribulations.The Good? -- the concept was cute and pretty creative. I enjoyed seeing the texts between the two characters, which served to break up the story with a fun and youthful format.The Bad? -- I hated the characters. They were immature, flat, and hypocritical. Everything that each criticized about the other was annoyingly multiplied in their own character flaws, which neither seemed to realize or care. The dialogue between the characters felt so awkward and I felt invested in neither the characters nor their convenient story of nearly-insta-love which was ridiculously overly dramatic for no good reason.Who might like this book? -- I think I would most recommend this book to very young female teenagers who are looking for a cute twist on a tired love story.I did receive a copy of Textrovert for the purpose of providing an honest review. All thoughts are my own and are uninfluenced by the manner in which the work was received.
    more
  • Laura
    November 1, 2016
    This is a well written, but typical YA romance. Girl meets "bad-boy"™ and falls in love. It is a little cleaver in that it is done through switched phones and text messages. But I get so tired of beautiful boys and girls. And girls that are slightly clumsy, as their fault.I kept hoping to be surprised, but I wasn't, although some elements were interesting. If you want a cleaver YA romance that is basically two white people falling in love from a white middle class neighborhood somewhere in south This is a well written, but typical YA romance. Girl meets "bad-boy"™ and falls in love. It is a little cleaver in that it is done through switched phones and text messages. But I get so tired of beautiful boys and girls. And girls that are slightly clumsy, as their fault.I kept hoping to be surprised, but I wasn't, although some elements were interesting. If you want a cleaver YA romance that is basically two white people falling in love from a white middle class neighborhood somewhere in southern California, then this is the book for you. If you are looking for diversity, or just about anything else, I would steer clear. Thanks to Netgalley for making this book available for an honest review.
    more
  • Stephanie
    November 6, 2016
    I got this from NetGalley and I was really excited to read it, but unfortunately the only version provided to download is a PDF and large portions of the book were missing. I tried reading it on my Nook Simple Touch and on my computer and every time there were "text bubbles" it was just bubbles with no text and sometimes a couple of blank pages in a row. Since texting is obviously an important part of the book, I do not want to try and read it without having those portions, so I guess I will wai I got this from NetGalley and I was really excited to read it, but unfortunately the only version provided to download is a PDF and large portions of the book were missing. I tried reading it on my Nook Simple Touch and on my computer and every time there were "text bubbles" it was just bubbles with no text and sometimes a couple of blank pages in a row. Since texting is obviously an important part of the book, I do not want to try and read it without having those portions, so I guess I will wait to read it until it's a finished copy.
    more
  • Natasha
    November 7, 2016
    this was a cute, light read, easy breeze through. i finished in just over a day. what a breath of fresh air to read about a girl who is funny, sweet and doesnt make stupid desisions! i have a brother, i love him heaps and we have a close relationship. it was lovely reading about the bond and brother and sister can share. i recieved a free copy on netgalley in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Michelle J
    January 16, 2017
    read this like last year on wattpad haha
  • Yasuhiro
    November 29, 2016
    ( I was provided this book by Netgalley for a true and honest review. | This review may contain spoilers. ) I wish I could give this book a higher rating. Honestly, I was tempted to give it a 2 star rating, but I remembered there was a lot I did like. The 3 star rating comes from how disappointed I was by the time the book ended. I go into it more in-depth about my disappointment in the review I wrote for my blog (here: http://buff.ly/2gHVMK7), but it boils down to this: Talon, for as much as I ( I was provided this book by Netgalley for a true and honest review. | This review may contain spoilers. ) I wish I could give this book a higher rating. Honestly, I was tempted to give it a 2 star rating, but I remembered there was a lot I did like. The 3 star rating comes from how disappointed I was by the time the book ended. I go into it more in-depth about my disappointment in the review I wrote for my blog (here: http://buff.ly/2gHVMK7), but it boils down to this: Talon, for as much as I believe that he is one of the better written characters in the book, lied to her from the get-go and when she reacted as she should to all of his lies, he not only ran from her, but when she found out his major secret and got rightly upset, he turned himself into a victim and got upset with her for reacting the way she did.Personally, I found myself wanting Keeley to leave Talon because the foundation of their relationship was a lie and only continued to be filled with lies. The fact that the other characters were adamant that she forgive him because “love should conquer all”™, especially Talon’s brother. (I mean, what kind of absolute crap was that line / question about making mistakes when angry? Never have I made a mistake quite like that in anger and I try not to have people like that around me. But that’s just me.)As this is a problem that is prevalent in Young Adult romance novels. The female character of the book ends up finding out the male character she has fallen for has done some shady crap or was dishonest in someway, everyone around her sees that she’s upset and obviously going through heartbreak when she decides to walk away from the situation, and rather than be, oh, I dunno, good friends and family, they advise her to focus on her love. At the end of the day, you can love someone with all your heart, but when they do some thing shady and it’s found out after other bouts of shadiness, it may be time for you to realise that the relationship isn’t the healthiest for you.Putting aside my disappointment for the climax to the ending portion of the book, this was still a good read up until that point. The characters were human and flawed (Talon came with a boatload of issues and Keeley, while the least flawed, was a huge pushover), the pacing was good despite the main bulk of the story taking place over the course of the week, and the plot line was interesting. And it was because of all of that why the book received 3 stars instead of 2.
    more
  • Miya Cervantes
    December 20, 2016
    There is this girl named keeled and she lost her phone. She lost her phone by grabbing the wrong phone at the end of summer fair. She was so worried so how she found it was by texting her phone from a different phone. Someone replied it was a guy, a guy had her phone. Later on that night her brother texted her. He asked her if she could come and pick him up from his friends house. But she didn't have her phone so her brother got in trouble because she didn't answer and he didn't get a ride home There is this girl named keeled and she lost her phone. She lost her phone by grabbing the wrong phone at the end of summer fair. She was so worried so how she found it was by texting her phone from a different phone. Someone replied it was a guy, a guy had her phone. Later on that night her brother texted her. He asked her if she could come and pick him up from his friends house. But she didn't have her phone so her brother got in trouble because she didn't answer and he didn't get a ride home. Boy was her brother mad. His sister also got in trouble because it was her "fault" but it wasn't because the guy took her phone. One theme is that she needed to get her phone back and she most likely wouldn't have gotten in trouble. Another theme is that we need to keep track of our stuff. We also need to make sure we have something that we don't want to get stolen that you keep it with you at all times. Keep track of your stuff guys unless you want it to get stolen. I loves this book because it was a way good book and it wasn't a mystery or scary type of book. It had a great message to it to. I loved what this book was about. The author is an great author and she right amazing books like this one. This book thought me not to lose my personal things that someone could still and always keep it with you or hide it in a great hiding place. This is why I loved this book!!!
    more
  • Ashalyn
    March 7, 2017
    Featured Review on Novel Nerd Reviews : http://www.novelnerdreviews.com/2017/...FUN READ!!!!Let me start with saying I actually was familiar with this story from Wattpad. Even follow the author and have read the "Cell Phone Swap" (original stories name on Wattpad) so going in I knew I would enjoy it. I always enjoy reading Wattpad books that are published to compare the stories see what is there and what is missing. Please note during this review I will be comparing aspects between both Wattpad Featured Review on Novel Nerd Reviews : http://www.novelnerdreviews.com/2017/...FUN READ!!!!Let me start with saying I actually was familiar with this story from Wattpad. Even follow the author and have read the "Cell Phone Swap" (original stories name on Wattpad) so going in I knew I would enjoy it. I always enjoy reading Wattpad books that are published to compare the stories see what is there and what is missing. Please note during this review I will be comparing aspects between both Wattpad and the published version with no spoilers.It is very quick esp since a lot of the pages include text boxes instead of words so even thought it is 300 pages it isn't really. I finished actually in one night which I rarely do because of work and family stuff.So lets start off with the title Textrovert is an amazing title. So much better then "Cell Phone Swap" not that it isn't a good name but with the cover it fits great and much more of a catch the eye kind of book. Plus Cell Phone Swap kind of tells you more of what the story is about compared to actually wanting to grab the back of the book and read the blurb. So A+ on the change.This story basically takes you on the story of Keeley and Talon who they accidentally swap phones at the fair a night before he leaves for football camp. It is told completely in Keely's POV so you never really know much about Talon other then what he is texting. (There is a story on Wattpad started in his POV https://www.wattpad.com/story/7467918... although it is slow updated last update was in December) I really like her character but feel this story might of been a bit better with his perspective as well in the published edition (or at least hopefully the wattpad version is quicker to update before publication) Here you learn Keely is the somewhat awkward sister of her ever popular brother Zach the school quarterback and unbeknownst to her Talon is the rivals school quarterback. They after meeting continue to talk and of course bring on the star crossed lovers romance. It is cute and enjoyable.The biggest dislike I think is because the Wattpad version there were so many great scenes that are missing. I understand having to scale back some but some of the scenes make the story. My favorite was the text from football camp about him not getting it up. (I know this is geared for a little bit younger of an audience but that was the best scene of the story) plus the game night scene. How things happened just did not feel right and sort of rushed. I did not love the characters as much as I did in the version. I think had I not read the Wattpad version it might not of bothered me as much. I do really look forward to reading more Lindsey Summers books and continue to follow on wattpad. Side Note: PLEASE UPDATE I am TalonThank you Edelweis and Kids Can Pres for sending me a copy of the ARC to review
    more
  • Kyra
    February 14, 2017
    I was looking for something quick, sweet and a little cheesy, and this book really hit the spot. It's definitely aimed at teens / young adults, which put me off a little bit. In a sense that none of the characters issues felt very relatable. But that didn't make this any less fun. The story is a little predictable and unbelievable, but there are enough surprising elements and twists and turns. I think the lead guy, Talon, is a bit of an ass. But I like Nicky an Zach a lot. Keeley has just the ri I was looking for something quick, sweet and a little cheesy, and this book really hit the spot. It's definitely aimed at teens / young adults, which put me off a little bit. In a sense that none of the characters issues felt very relatable. But that didn't make this any less fun. The story is a little predictable and unbelievable, but there are enough surprising elements and twists and turns. I think the lead guy, Talon, is a bit of an ass. But I like Nicky an Zach a lot. Keeley has just the right amount of fierceness. I just wish she didn't have such a ridiculous name. Keeley. Out of all the names an author can pick. Ah, well...I read it on Wattpad, so I won't take the lack of editing into consideration in my rating. The published version is probably a lot better.
    more
Write a review