Ash and Quill (The Great Library #3)
The unforgettable characters from Ink and Bone and Paper and Fire unite to save the Great Library of Alexandria from itself in this electrifying adventure in the New York Times bestselling series.Hoarding all the knowledge of the world, the Great Library jealously guards its secrets. But now a group of rebels poses a dangerous threat to its tyranny....Jess Brightwell and his band of exiles have fled London, only to find themselves imprisoned in Philadelphia, a city led by those who would rather burn books than submit. But Jess and his friends have a bargaining chip: the knowledge to build a machine that will break the Library’s rule.Their time is running out. To survive, they’ll have to choose to live or die as one, to take the fight to their enemies—and to save the very soul of the Great Library....

Ash and Quill (The Great Library #3) Details

TitleAsh and Quill (The Great Library #3)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherBerkley
ISBN0451472411
ISBN-139780451472410
Number of pages368 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Historical

Ash and Quill (The Great Library #3) Review

  • Danielle (Love at First Page)
    March 15, 2017
    4-4.5 starsTHE GREAT LIBRARY continues to be one of my favorite series - what reader doesn't love books about books?! And, if it was even possible, I love its group of characters even more now. They are so endearing together, and I just need them to stay that way - together! The cliffhanger is particularly evil here; the wait for the 4th (and second to last) book will not be easy. With relentless high stakes, a love for books, characters you will adore, and a sprinkle of swoons, I highly, highly 4-4.5 starsTHE GREAT LIBRARY continues to be one of my favorite series - what reader doesn't love books about books?! And, if it was even possible, I love its group of characters even more now. They are so endearing together, and I just need them to stay that way - together! The cliffhanger is particularly evil here; the wait for the 4th (and second to last) book will not be easy. With relentless high stakes, a love for books, characters you will adore, and a sprinkle of swoons, I highly, highly recommend this series!
    more
  • Mohammed Arabey
    March 21, 2017
    The End of the beautiful Trilogy Era..they're making it 5 books.. cause 5 is apparently the new 3.You can't imagine how much I get obsessed with Ink & Bone which is a HUGE novel in perfect pages.., that made me tolerate Paper & Fire where nothing much happening in more pages.I kept my high hopes for the HUGE finale...Book Three, where a huge events are awaits..Then, it's extended..to 2 more books.That's mean book two all over again, that's just like Twilight and Divergent last book made The End of the beautiful Trilogy Era..they're making it 5 books.. cause 5 is apparently the new 3.You can't imagine how much I get obsessed with Ink & Bone which is a HUGE novel in perfect pages.., that made me tolerate Paper & Fire where nothing much happening in more pages.I kept my high hopes for the HUGE finale...Book Three, where a huge events are awaits..Then, it's extended..to 2 more books.That's mean book two all over again, that's just like Twilight and Divergent last book made in 2 movies, here book 3 is made in 3 books..I just cross my fingers it worth it.I just hate if it's like book two, where not much happening.Sorry for the negative review..I'll try to get an ARC , may I got a better one then..-and sure can't wait for my hardcover edition..-Mohammed Arabey21 March 2017
    more
  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
    May 5, 2017
    How in the world did I not know this WASN'T a trilogy? Gah!This was so good. Full review to come closer to release date.
  • Yodamom
    February 21, 2017
    On NG now
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    November 19, 2016
    I have not even read the first book yet, but my goodness I just have to say this entire series has the most beautiful covers ever. I fall in love each time I see them. And you know what else it has? Consistency! Each cover is absolutely gorgeous, while still retaining a semblance of similarity. Thank you Berkley Publishing for doing series covers correctly!
    more
  • Sammm (out of commission. back later)
    April 21, 2017
    UPDATES: Okay, I have to admit, I feel more than just a little bit cheated =P. I received what I apparently won from the below, and it turns out... it's an ARC. A physical PAPERBACK ARC. DAMMIT; NOWHERE on the giveaway description did it say it was suppose to be an ARC, so I honestly thought I'd be getting THE hardback, which was what the giveaway page was linking to. Knew it was too good to be true. Hey I won a free physical ARC for the first time... I'm not really complaining, it just wasn't w UPDATES: Okay, I have to admit, I feel more than just a little bit cheated =P. I received what I apparently won from the below, and it turns out... it's an ARC. A physical PAPERBACK ARC. DAMMIT; NOWHERE on the giveaway description did it say it was suppose to be an ARC, so I honestly thought I'd be getting THE hardback, which was what the giveaway page was linking to. Knew it was too good to be true. Hey I won a free physical ARC for the first time... I'm not really complaining, it just wasn't what I was expecting to be getting.I like the size of the book, but paperbacks are just... so fragile DxI CANNOT BELIEVE I ACTUALLY WON A GOODREADS GIVEAWAY!www.goodreads.com/giveaway/show/229814(along with 19 other people =D)Whelp... I was going to wait until the 5th book to catch up with this series... IDK... I'll have to decide if I like it well enough to get the entire series in US hardback, just so I can match this book lol. (I'm still leaning towards catching up later though, bahaha)
    more
  • Alyssa
    July 11, 2016
    YAAAAAASSSS, I CAN'T WAIT!!! According to Caine, the title will be Ash and Quill -- love it!
  • Zaheerah
    July 19, 2016
  • Nicole Chinnici
    April 25, 2017
    Wait, WHAT?! I somehow missed the fact that this was no longer the final book in a trilogy until I got to the end and found a MASSIVE cliffhanger! Which apparently was announced back in early March here. But I didn’t know!!! And I was so excited to marathon this and close the loop. Now I’m stuck in the middle waiting for the fourth book to be released who knows when. Bah!Okay, I think I’m done ranting. Maybe now I can wrap my brain around the actual contents of Ash and Quill. I am happy to say t Wait, WHAT?! I somehow missed the fact that this was no longer the final book in a trilogy until I got to the end and found a MASSIVE cliffhanger! Which apparently was announced back in early March here. But I didn’t know!!! And I was so excited to marathon this and close the loop. Now I’m stuck in the middle waiting for the fourth book to be released who knows when. Bah!Okay, I think I’m done ranting. Maybe now I can wrap my brain around the actual contents of Ash and Quill. I am happy to say that Caine has found her stride again. Where Paper and Fire was lacking, this novel reanimated The Great Library series for me. For which I am immensely glad, given that there will now be TWO more books. (Guess I wasn’t done ranting. Sorry, not sorry.)The fast pace of this novel actually followed a series of events that mattered, to this book and the overall story arc, setting up future action to come later. About halfway through, I had been wondering how everything was going to wrap up by the end, given the relatively short amount left, but now I know; it wasn’t. Given that, I do understand the reasoning behind extending the series. The characters also finally begin to grow and evolve, becoming more dimensional with each plot turn. Jess really started coming to life for me here, along with some of the other main characters, which not only enhanced my reading experience, but also encourages me to want to keep reading this series. If you’ve read even the first novel, Ink and Bone, you will know how diverse this cast already is, and that aspect has grown with this novel as well.So far, this series as a whole has been completely entertaining. Ash and Quill felt like the turning point that was necessary to hook me in to continuing on, and I do hope Caine delivers in whatever comes next. At this point, I would recommend The Great Library books to readers who like adventure stories with a bit of history and magic (and, books, of course!) mixed in.*Thanks to the publisher for providing an arc of this edition via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Beth
    April 24, 2017
    I received this ARC copy of Ash and Quill from Berkley Publishing Group. This is my honest and voluntary review. Ash and Quill is set for publication July 11, 2017.
  • Lauren
    April 4, 2017
    Oh goodness gracious this series is going to kill me before it's over. First thing to know is that it's not a trilogy. I believe there will be 2 more books to come. At least one more for sure. Second, I am completely invested in the lives of these characters. Jess, Thomas, Morgan, Khalila, Dario, Glain, Wolfe and Santi begin the story captured by the Burners in Philadelphia. But a group filled with this much brain power and scheming can't be contained for long. Still, the opposition is closing i Oh goodness gracious this series is going to kill me before it's over. First thing to know is that it's not a trilogy. I believe there will be 2 more books to come. At least one more for sure. Second, I am completely invested in the lives of these characters. Jess, Thomas, Morgan, Khalila, Dario, Glain, Wolfe and Santi begin the story captured by the Burners in Philadelphia. But a group filled with this much brain power and scheming can't be contained for long. Still, the opposition is closing in on all sides and the stakes are higher than ever. The road these 8 are traveling was never going to be smooth or straight, and sometimes you have to go through the potholes to get through it. But I love the dynamic between these characters. They each contribute something different to their group that is vital. Brendan, Jess' twin also plays a larger role in this book. Although I've never been quite sure whether to trust him or not, I enjoyed watching these brothers together. The romance in this story continues to be steady but not the focus. No love triangles anywhere to be found or unnecessary angst either. Wolfe and Santi are as amazing as ever, and Jess and Morgan are still sweet and new, but I loved the growing strength of their bond and the way they work together and communicate. Even Dario and Khalila have their moments. Now I'm just going to go and quietly fall apart as I think about how long I have to wait for the next installment in their story. Full review to come.
    more
  • Erikka
    April 1, 2017
    So I enjoyed this book, I really did. I enjoyed all the stuff about it that I loved in the first two books. But holy cow, that ending was super confusing! I kinda hope it's polished up or fleshed out in the final copy (I had an ARC, thank you, Netgalley). I love the alt history/future weird setting, I love the focus on the printing press as an inevitability, and the characters are solid and well developed. I just didn't care for the ending...
    more
  • Ashley *Hufflepuff Kitten*
    November 19, 2016
    COVER. COVER IS GORGEOUS. I HAVE NEEDS.
  • Chelsea
    July 20, 2016
    CAN'T. WAIT.
  • Christina
    May 7, 2017
    I'm never really certain about what to say when it comes to sequels. I don't want to soil anything, but, alas, I must reveal spoilers for the first two books to review this one.This one starts off immediately after the end of Paper and Fire. Jess and crew are stuck in the Burner city of Philadelphia. They are instantly taken prisoner and have to scheme their ways out of persecution.I was glad to see more of some of my favorite characters this time around. Not that they weren't there before, but I'm never really certain about what to say when it comes to sequels. I don't want to soil anything, but, alas, I must reveal spoilers for the first two books to review this one.This one starts off immediately after the end of Paper and Fire. Jess and crew are stuck in the Burner city of Philadelphia. They are instantly taken prisoner and have to scheme their ways out of persecution.I was glad to see more of some of my favorite characters this time around. Not that they weren't there before, but Brendan and Dario had much smaller parts to play in the first two books, whereas they are both very important to this installment. Brendan is quite the schemer himself, just as much as Jess. And I loved really learning more about him. It was also good to see the two interact more.Then we have some of the old favorites, like Wolf and Santi, Khalila, Glain, Thomas, and of course Morgan. Thomas is beginning to get more and more cunning the more he hangs with Jess. And we get to see some more of his engineering prowess in action.I'll be straightforward. This series is full of action, adventure, plotting, betrayal, and people that love books. What could be better? As Jess and crew try to take on the Great Library of Alexandria, everything always falls apart. And the only thing that can save them all is their wits. Especially the wits of Jess and Brendan. Morgan and Jess's relationship blossoms even more, and Morgan sacrifices parts of herself to save everyone. The cliffhanger here is a doozy, and I cannot wait until the fourth installment is out as well.If you weren't hooked before, you will be now. If you weren't in love with Paper and Fire, I beg you--give Ash and Quill a shot. It brings back the fast pace of the first book while diving deeper and deeper into the characters the way the second book did. It never drags, and the romance is sweet but not a focus at all. If anything, Jess sacrifices Morgan for the greater good, because he knows he needs to, rather than doing the selfish thing and staying hidden and happy.OverallThis was probably my favorite so far in the series. If you have been considering reading this series, do it!Characters: 5 starsPlot: 5 starsWriting: 5 starsWorld: 5 starsFeels: 4 starsTotal - 5 stars
    more
  • Katie V
    May 11, 2017
    I absolutely love this series. I love books about books. I love alternative histories. This series has compelling characters, and Rachel Caine keeps the twists and turns coming, even 3 books into the series. I have not found that this series has suffered from a slow middle, and with that cliffhanger I do not forsee any slowing down. Thank you NetGalley for the e-galley!
    more
  • Elizabeth
    May 14, 2017
    Wow, I did not see that ending coming! Also did not know there'd be a fourth book! Which is great because I love this universe and I'm so down for another book (or like 5 thousand). A lot changed, not just the characters. They have so much power, but also so much more to lose. Ahhhh, I need the next book right now!
    more
  • Sarah
    February 23, 2017
    LOVE LOVE LOVE this book. So many twists and turns that I never saw coming. Characters that weren't as prominent in other books are stepping up as pivotal pieces in this story, giving this book a well-rounded cast of characters that each bring a unique voice to this book.
    more
  • Grace Ormerod
    February 1, 2017
    I ADORE THESE BOOKS.Sorry. Not sorry. Love the characters to bits, and can't wait.
  • Hannah (fullybookedreviews)
    November 23, 2016
    COVERRR
  • Michelle
    April 13, 2017
    This is without a doubt one of my all time favorite series, right up there with Harry Potter. I really enjoy the range of characters and the conflict between the Burners and the Library and those in between, never a dull moment. This third book really left off in the middle of everything, so I'm hoping the next book is coming soon. Can't wait!
    more
Write a review