Be True to Me
It's the summer of 1976 on Fire Island, where feathered hair and the Bicentennial celebration reign. Jean, a sometimes cruel, often insecure, and always envious rich girl, is accustomed to living in her glamorous older sister’s shadow. So when Gil Burke, a handsome newcomer with uncertain ties to one of the most powerful families in the exclusive enclave of Sunken Haven, notices Jean—not her sister—Jean is smitten. Then Fritz, a girl from outside the gilded gates who humiliated Jean in the Island’s tennis championship last year, falls for Gil herself. Soon the girls are competing for much more than a tennis trophy, with higher stakes than either of them can imagine. Told through the alternating perspectives of Jean and Fritz, as they experience feeling like an outsider and first love.

Be True to Me Details

TitleBe True to Me
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherAlgonquin Young Readers
ISBN1616206756
ISBN-139781616206758
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Romance, Historical

Be True to Me Review

  • Frankie Lovely
    May 13, 2017
    3.5 starsSee this review and others at A Thousand Lives of Frankie LovelyI received this sneak peek from Netgalley in exchange for an honest reviewThis review is for an excerpt of this book only. I was happy to be able to read the first few chapters of this book provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. The StoryThis story This story takes place over the summer of ‘76 and follows the lives of two rival girls (Jean and Fritz) who spend their summers in the upper class exclusive beac 3.5 starsSee this review and others at A Thousand Lives of Frankie LovelyI received this sneak peek from Netgalley in exchange for an honest reviewThis review is for an excerpt of this book only. I was happy to be able to read the first few chapters of this book provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. The StoryThis story This story takes place over the summer of ‘76 and follows the lives of two rival girls (Jean and Fritz) who spend their summers in the upper class exclusive beach town of Sunken Haven on Fire Island.What I likeI already feel like I have been tossed into this world I want to know more about! Unfortunately, the first few chapters I was able to read have not given me enough of the story to really know exactly what will be happening in this book, but I suppose that is a good thing. I feel like I might know where this book is going, but I'm not sure, which only makes me want to read the rest of this story even more.Both Jean and Fritz have already been painted as interesting complex and, right now, likeable characters. I am very excited to eventually get my hands on this book and continue the intriguing journey that Adele Griffin has already been able to paint in my mind.What I did not likeThe beginning of this book had a few little quirks that did not sit perfectly well with me. Nothing huge, just a couple of oddly formed sentences and scenes. Jean and Daphne’s sisterly rivalry led to a slightly weird confrontation about earrings and I was less than pleased about the chapter 1 instalove (gag). But as the story progressed these things bothered me much less. In ConclusionI will absolutely be adding this book to my tbr. I must know what becomes of Jean and Fritz and all the characters I have now had a taste of and need more!
    more
  • Kelly
    January 22, 2017
    Set on Fire Island in 1976, this is a story about two girls -- Jean and Fritz -- and the new boy they're fighting over. It's a story of heat and romance, of summer, and about two girls who don't hate each other, don't tear one another down, but who are fiercely competitive, both on the tennis court and off. Griffin can write twists in her stories and this one is no exception. I'd come to accept something as the resolution and then BAM it was pulled from me (in a good way). These are rich white k Set on Fire Island in 1976, this is a story about two girls -- Jean and Fritz -- and the new boy they're fighting over. It's a story of heat and romance, of summer, and about two girls who don't hate each other, don't tear one another down, but who are fiercely competitive, both on the tennis court and off. Griffin can write twists in her stories and this one is no exception. I'd come to accept something as the resolution and then BAM it was pulled from me (in a good way). These are rich white kids getting in trouble, so it should appeal hugely to those who loved We Were Liars or other books in that vain. Well written, and the setting in 1976 really gives flavor to that time period without feeling like it's an ode to nostalgia. One thing that I loved, and it's a small thing, was that both Jean and Fritz have sex with Gil in the book, and their experiences of that first time are so wildly differently. It's nice to see a story where that first sexual encounter is rendered in two very different, and yet totally normal, capacities.
    more
  • Michelle
    May 22, 2017
    Liked it.I had a bit of a time connecting with the book & some of the characters. For 1, this book takes place before my time LOL. And 2, I've never had to compete for a guy's attention & affection.Poor Fritz. She didn't deserve that dumb shit happening to her. I shed a few tears for her. Poor baby.And Jean, I started out kinda liking her. By the end of the book, Jean irritated the hell outta me.All in all, a good book.Received as a Gr giveaway.
    more
  • Amy's Book Reviews
    May 12, 2017
    ** I received a complementary copy of BE TRUE TO ME from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.**Meh. 1.5 stars 1976 Fire Island. 2 girls, 1 boy on a collision course. Jean lives in the shadow of her older sister Daphne, who's off to Europe for the summer. Last year, her tennis rival Fitz captured the title that was supposed to be hers. On the eve of Daphne's departure, family friend Gil notices Jean, not her prettier sister. For once, Jean outshines her prettier sister. Then Fitz arrives f ** I received a complementary copy of BE TRUE TO ME from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.**Meh. 1.5 stars 1976 Fire Island. 2 girls, 1 boy on a collision course. Jean lives in the shadow of her older sister Daphne, who's off to Europe for the summer. Last year, her tennis rival Fitz captured the title that was supposed to be hers. On the eve of Daphne's departure, family friend Gil notices Jean, not her prettier sister. For once, Jean outshines her prettier sister. Then Fitz arrives for the summer, sparking Gil's interest and Jean's jealousy.I was a few years younger than Jean in 1976, but I remember the the summer of the bicentennial well. BE TRUE TO ME felt more contemporary with several historical slang and cultural references from 1976 than a 1976 story. I needed more than a few songs and catch phrases to feel the era. I always thought Fire Island to be more of a Mecca for gay men to be out and proud back in the day than an old-money family place, but I'm probably wrong.Chapters alternated between Fitz's and Jean's points of view, though neither character grabbed my interest or particular sympathies. I didn't care enough about them to root for either. Adele Griffin is hit or miss for me. I wish she had filled the plot with more tension and made either or both girls more twisty, the way Megan Abbott writes teen girls. I found myself skipping pages, hoping to get excited about the story. I don't like failing to finish ARCs, or I probably would have. Unfortunately, BE TRUE TO ME is a miss.
    more
  • Alexis
    May 17, 2017
    * I received this as an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review *2.5 starts I'm going to start by saying that this book has a two tropes I'm not okay with, which is why I rated it as I did. This first is cheating. I really hate cheating in general as a trope it's literally one of my least favorite things in books. The next is girl hate. I hate in when authors push girls against each other and make them full of hate and trash talk each other. In this circumstance it was a lack of will * I received this as an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review *2.5 starts I'm going to start by saying that this book has a two tropes I'm not okay with, which is why I rated it as I did. This first is cheating. I really hate cheating in general as a trope it's literally one of my least favorite things in books. The next is girl hate. I hate in when authors push girls against each other and make them full of hate and trash talk each other. In this circumstance it was a lack of willingness on the characters to get to know each other. I felt like the main character could have been friends if circumstances allowed it. There was also a serious case of instalove which was a little to much for me, I hated the way that it played out.I also really hated the "triangle". It honestly didn't feel like a triangle, he obviously made his choice from the beginning but was too much of a douche to let the other girl go. Overall the characters are okay, I enjoyed the setting of the story that being said I just didn't enjoy the book. It just wasn't a story I enjoyed reading.
    more
  • Ms. Yingling
    May 26, 2017
    Lots of good 1970s details, but more of a high school book. Very slow paced compared to middle grade books. The party at the beginning of the book with the neighbors was spot on. I could practically taste the inevitable Jell-o mold that was lurking somewhere!
    more
  • Jennifer
    April 9, 2017
    If you read one book this summer...this is the one. DYN-O-MITE!At Reading Rants: http://www.readingrants.org/2017/04/0...
  • Sam Kozbial
    May 18, 2017
    A compelling story of trying to adapt, reinvent yourself, and stay true to yourself. Full review to follow. BLOG|INSTAGRAM|BLOGLOVIN| FRIEND ME ON GOODREADS
  • Colleen
    May 15, 2017
    I received this book from Netgalley as a early advanced copy. This was a really cute beach type of read! I think was like Dirty Dancing, but it was on the beach instead of a resort. It still had the same feel because the two girl characters reminded me of the sisters in the movie. I really liked the plot, and the time setting it was in. It'll be a perfect book to read while on vacation this summer. I also really love the cover, it makes me happy!
    more
  • Ilyda
    April 16, 2017
    While I appreciate the unique twist that alternating perspectives between two love rivals offers, what I've read of this book so far didn't particularly interest me.Jean is a compelling but confusing and unpleasant character, and despite it being told in first person, I haven't had any engagement or understanding of her actions at all. Her relationship with Gil seems like an instalove sort of thing, although things might certainly change further into the book.Admittedly, the bulk of the story is While I appreciate the unique twist that alternating perspectives between two love rivals offers, what I've read of this book so far didn't particularly interest me.Jean is a compelling but confusing and unpleasant character, and despite it being told in first person, I haven't had any engagement or understanding of her actions at all. Her relationship with Gil seems like an instalove sort of thing, although things might certainly change further into the book.Admittedly, the bulk of the story is probably in the romantic drama part (which has barely begun), but considering I have zero interest in the first loveline, I doubt that I'll be particularly torn apart with the introduction of the second. The dialogue is choppy and awkward (a pity - I love old-timey dialogue, when done right). I got about 70% through the sneak peak when I gave up, and needless to say, I don't feel any desire to read the rest of the book.An admirable effort, but not one that worked for me.
    more
  • Rachel Strolle
    December 28, 2016
    BE TRUE TO ME is unlike any book I have ever read--set in 1970s Fire Island, and featuring a 'summer romance' that is actually three teens caught in a dangerous love triangle. Griffin captures the imperfectness of loving someone and her words sweep you away to a mindset where you know there is no way for everyone to turn out happy, but for some reason you still hope they will figure out their lives
    more
  • Erinn
    January 11, 2017
    Excellent, immersive historical fiction. I ended up dreaming about this book.
  • Vina Le
    May 27, 2017
    I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. The feel when you want to like a book because the set up sounds interesting...and then the main character drives you to rip out your hair. Jean lacked self esteem to the point where she was the most self absorbed/selfish character I've ever experienced. She's that friend that falls instantly in love, analyzes every little thing the guy does, and then throws a fit when he doesn't call her because she's psychotic. So what is your s I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. The feel when you want to like a book because the set up sounds interesting...and then the main character drives you to rip out your hair. Jean lacked self esteem to the point where she was the most self absorbed/selfish character I've ever experienced. She's that friend that falls instantly in love, analyzes every little thing the guy does, and then throws a fit when he doesn't call her because she's psychotic. So what is your solution to the problem? She sleeps with him to keep him with her all the while talking about how she knowingly manipulates another boy that's in love with her through sexual interaction too. Jean is what Regina from Mean Girls was meant to be a caricature of. Fritz on the other hand is daisies and sunshine, getting over heartbreak and trying to fit in with a crowd that simply wont have her. She's confident in herself and knows who she is but there's just something about her that seems to be missing. Gil, don't even get me started there. He's a social climbing ambitious young man who was willing to reject his family for a place in high society. He's what our two girls are fighting over and while you see his conflict, he doesn't do much to mitigate it. The premise of the book in general is based in the 70s, and while I do understand that it's the 70s this crowd drive me insane. I think we'll housewives of Martha's Vineyard hanging out all summer trying to get along. They're wealthy they try to convince themselves through "volunteer" work to make themselves seem like normal people. All the while carrying things down to build a helicopter pad so that they could be a bit more comfortable in their lifestyle. They allow other teenagers to run around getting drunk all summer long on the beach with each other doing God knows what the parents are notorious for partying just as much as the kids. Overall the writing style was easy to read but the characters in general and the setting drove me nuts. Especially for current events, knowing we're currently dealing with the rampant over overprivileged young crowd that's simply out of touch with the world.
    more
  • Alicia
    May 28, 2017
    With the alternating perspectives of Jean and Fritz (both females) who make their way to Sunken Haven on Fire Island each summer (and this is 1976), there is a conflict around Gil, a family member who now has the privilege of making his summer home there as well. As we're introduced to Jean, she is falling head over heels, and it seems Gil with her, before summer. Readers don't know how Fritz yet fits into the story until we realize she's making her way to the island and the picture becomes clea With the alternating perspectives of Jean and Fritz (both females) who make their way to Sunken Haven on Fire Island each summer (and this is 1976), there is a conflict around Gil, a family member who now has the privilege of making his summer home there as well. As we're introduced to Jean, she is falling head over heels, and it seems Gil with her, before summer. Readers don't know how Fritz yet fits into the story until we realize she's making her way to the island and the picture becomes clearer. But then it's a battle around Gil. Fritz and Gil or Jean and Gil. Who will come out triumphant and what the real resolution becomes is intense SPOILER . So while this annoying battle over a boy is what the focus of the story is, it was also slow. Very slow. The alternating perspectives did not speed anything up. And it tried hard to be darker than it really was at times-- seeming uncharacteristic.
    more
  • Megan Conlan
    May 14, 2017
    *Thank you so much to NetGallery and to Algonquin Young Readers for sending me this e-arc to read in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions on this review are my own.*This book is a great summer read. It is unlike anything I've ever read!Be True To Me is a YA romance that is set in 1970s Fire Island. In this book, our 'summer romance' actually consists of a love triangle and two girls trying to outdo each other, it's quite a dangerous situation.I liked what the alternating pers *Thank you so much to NetGallery and to Algonquin Young Readers for sending me this e-arc to read in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions on this review are my own.*This book is a great summer read. It is unlike anything I've ever read!Be True To Me is a YA romance that is set in 1970s Fire Island. In this book, our 'summer romance' actually consists of a love triangle and two girls trying to outdo each other, it's quite a dangerous situation.I liked what the alternating perspectives between the two love rivals offered. Jean and Fritz are both interestingly complex characters and I enjoyed reading about both them and their thoughts.The ending of this novel was a surprise, it was very unpredictable. It was a complete page turner, I struggled to put it down. It was a rollercoaster. I loved hair griffin captured the imperfection of being in love, it was fully immersive.Overall, this book thoroughly exceeded my expectations! It was great. From amazingly developed characters to a brilliant plot, Griffin has definitely written the next best summer romance! I will definitely be buying this book when it comes out so that I can actually hold this work of art! I will also be on the lookout for any other books by Adele, she is an amazing author.
    more
  • Courtney
    May 8, 2017
    I'm so happy I won this ARC in a goodreads giveaway. I was completely surprised by what this book held. I wasn't expecting it to be as good as it was. I read it in two days, if that says anything about it. I couldn't put it down. Normally contemporary aren't my thing, but this was great. It had lovable characters, but also a few you love to hate. I honestly didn't know where I was hoping the story would go, I mean don't you always have to pick sides in a love triangle? But the ending I got was s I'm so happy I won this ARC in a goodreads giveaway. I was completely surprised by what this book held. I wasn't expecting it to be as good as it was. I read it in two days, if that says anything about it. I couldn't put it down. Normally contemporary aren't my thing, but this was great. It had lovable characters, but also a few you love to hate. I honestly didn't know where I was hoping the story would go, I mean don't you always have to pick sides in a love triangle? But the ending I got was so different from what I expected. To be honest, the last two chapters had me a little confused. I don't want to spoil it so I won't say more about that. But eventually I understood what happened. This was the first book in a long time where I didn't guess the ending. So I give major props to Adele Griffin for surprising me. This book was amazing, it's great for the summer and puts you in a summery mood. On June 13th I suggest you go pick up this book and travel to Fire Island 1976!
    more
  • Brittany
    May 26, 2017
    The most accurate way to describe this would be if there was a seventies era soap opera for teens. It's the type of story where "summer" is a verb, the characters are named Fritz, Weeze and Carpie and "Lobster Party" is always capitalized. The first 75% of this was a solid three star book, but the conclusion and absolute cheap and wasteful way to end this left me nothing but irritated and pissed off. The dual points-of-view were interesting as they told the same story but from vastly different p The most accurate way to describe this would be if there was a seventies era soap opera for teens. It's the type of story where "summer" is a verb, the characters are named Fritz, Weeze and Carpie and "Lobster Party" is always capitalized. The first 75% of this was a solid three star book, but the conclusion and absolute cheap and wasteful way to end this left me nothing but irritated and pissed off. The dual points-of-view were interesting as they told the same story but from vastly different perspectives. One of the girls, Jean, was nothing but selfish and vapid and so hard to read, while Fritz had a certain girl-next-door charm. I don't quite understand the appeal and lure of the mysterious Gil and that is why the ending feels so pointless. The comparison to "We Were Liars" is spot on, but this was a miss for me.
    more
  • bjneary
    May 4, 2017
    Thank you to NetGalley and Algonquin Young Readers for the Sneek Peek, Be True to Me by Adele Griffin. I read the few chapters provided and was completely hooked by the premise of this historical fiction summer beach read. Two teens, Jean Custis and Fritz O’Neill approach another Fire Island summer with excitement and a little dread as they vie for a guy, but that is just the tip of the iceberg. There are social classes, resentments, and many other drama going on in this delicious read. I have p Thank you to NetGalley and Algonquin Young Readers for the Sneek Peek, Be True to Me by Adele Griffin. I read the few chapters provided and was completely hooked by the premise of this historical fiction summer beach read. Two teens, Jean Custis and Fritz O’Neill approach another Fire Island summer with excitement and a little dread as they vie for a guy, but that is just the tip of the iceberg. There are social classes, resentments, and many other drama going on in this delicious read. I have pre-ordered my copy of the book as soon as it comes out in June and I can’t wait to read it!!!
    more
  • Caroline
    May 20, 2017
    The comparisons to the wonderful We Were Liars made me push this to the front of my reading list and I am glad I did. Set in the 1970's at summertime I just loved the overall vibe of this book.Its a story of rivalry between 2 girls Jean and Fritz, they used to just be rivals in tennis competitions but now they have fallen for the same boy, new guy Gil. Its told from both of their perspectives and I loved reading their insecurities and deep rooted envy for each other. The author really did nail t The comparisons to the wonderful We Were Liars made me push this to the front of my reading list and I am glad I did. Set in the 1970's at summertime I just loved the overall vibe of this book.Its a story of rivalry between 2 girls Jean and Fritz, they used to just be rivals in tennis competitions but now they have fallen for the same boy, new guy Gil. Its told from both of their perspectives and I loved reading their insecurities and deep rooted envy for each other. The author really did nail the intense feelings of first love perfectly and the ending was a real shock.
    more
  • Wanda
    May 8, 2017
    This turned out to be far more than the light summer romance I was expecting. On the surface, it's a teen triangle set in the 70's, at an exclusive beach community where two girls set their sights on the new guy. But it goes much deeper than that as the two rivals, in trying to outmaneuver each other, learn some hard truths about their community and, for one, about herself. 3 1/2 stars.I received this book for free from Goodreads Giveaways.
    more
  • Theresa
    May 5, 2017
    This was a very good page-turner, I am passing this to my "young" friends, because this wonderful little novel, teaches a very valuable lesson or three to young people, specifically girls, about, gossip, crushes, bullying & learning about trust, jealousy & first love & friendship. I loved the setting too, everyone always wishes they had "lazy summers spent by the ocean"!! In the end, "Jean" had to learn a very, valuable hard lesson. A very nice summer read Adele!!
    more
  • Lucy
    May 9, 2017
    Wow. This book was definitely a rollercoaster, but that kind that makes you want to throw your hands in the air and scream. The characters were vibrant and well-developed, and this story was just so summery and feel-good, it's virtually impossible not to like! I'm definitely looking forward to more releases from this very talented author!
    more
  • Kelly Trowbridge
    May 29, 2017
    Incredibly mediocre. Jean was annoying and made me want to just take and shake her. Her parents were just something else and felt so silly and arbitrary. I liked Fritz but what the hell was that ending? People need to stop relating books to We Were Liars.
    more
  • Rachel Rodrigues
    May 6, 2017
    Once I started reading this book, I could not put it down. Lot's of characters but I loved getting to know them all, always wanting to know what they were gonna do next. A very good read but sad that I'm done, I didn't want it to end. Thank you!
  • Emma
    March 3, 2017
    from AAP BookBUzz
  • Emily
    January 10, 2017
    Full review to come!
  • Amy
    January 29, 2017
    3.5 stars. Fairly compelling read but its comparison to WE WERE LIARS, which is one of my all time favorites, didn't do it any favors. I understand why that comparison was made - similar settings, class conflicts, forbidden love, etc etc - but in every aspect WE WERE LIARS does it better.
    more
  • Adele Griffin
    April 6, 2017
Write a review