Unquiet Ghosts
Eight years ago, her husband and children were killed in a plane crash. Now, new evidence reveals that they didn’t die—her husband deliberately vanished—and that he knows a secret the powerful forces will stop at nothing to keep hidden.Kathy Kelly’s world was shattered when a plane carrying her husband—an Iraq War veteran and devoted father—and her two children vanished from the sky one night. No trace of the plane was ever found.Eight years later, Kathy has struggled to rebuild her life, but then wreckage of his plane is found in the wilderness of Great Smoky Mountain National Park—hundreds of miles from where her husband’s plane should have been. The pilot perished in the crash, but there is no sign of Jack or the children. Could they have made it out alive after all? But if so, where have they been all this time? Where are they now?As Kathy searches for any clue about what happened to her family, the investigation uncovers some unsettling clues—including a briefcase containing millions of dollars in cash, a priceless mask stolen from an Iraqi museum, and a clue that links Jack’s disappearance with the suspicious death of Kathy’s mother years ago.But she soon learns that others have been looking for the wreckage and its occupants for a long time. Others who are determined to make sure she never finds her family and that they remain dead. Shadowy, powerful people who will kill for what was on board—a secret her husband was the keeper of. A secret so powerful it will open a Pandora’s box of bloody revenge—one that reaches back into the past and into the highest echelons of wealth and power, all the way to the White House.This breathless, pulse-pounding thriller examines the very real billions in cash and priceless artifacts that vanished into the pockets of powerful American men during the Iraq war, and examines the extreme lengths some people will go to protect the secrets of what really happened to all that money.

Unquiet Ghosts Details

TitleUnquiet Ghosts
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherHoward Books
ISBN1476797412
ISBN-139781476797410
Number of pages414 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Fiction

Unquiet Ghosts Review

  • Larry H
    December 5, 2016
    I'd rate this 3.5 stars.Political intrigue and corruption. Stolen antiquities. The aftereffects of war. Family secrets. Glenn Meade's Unquiet Ghosts hits all of those buttons, and then some. This is a thriller in which very little is what it seems.Kathy Kelly's life was turned upside down when her husband Jack, a veteran of the Iraq war, was killed in a plane crash, along with the couple's two young children, Amy and Sean. Not a day has gone by when she hasn't felt the pain of losing all of th I'd rate this 3.5 stars.Political intrigue and corruption. Stolen antiquities. The aftereffects of war. Family secrets. Glenn Meade's Unquiet Ghosts hits all of those buttons, and then some. This is a thriller in which very little is what it seems.Kathy Kelly's life was turned upside down when her husband Jack, a veteran of the Iraq war, was killed in a plane crash, along with the couple's two young children, Amy and Sean. Not a day has gone by when she hasn't felt the pain of losing all of them, and although she has tried valiantly to rebuild her life, she can never seem to get the pieces to fit back together the way they used to when her family was alive.While their deaths were an absolute shock, they are something she has come to accept every day for the last eight years. Needless to say, she is utterly unprepared for a freak discovery, when a plane crash in the middle of a storm leads authorities to locate the wreckage of Jack's plane, deep in the middle of Great Smoky Mountains National Park, nowhere near where the plane should have been. And while they've been able to find the pilot's remains, there's no sign of Jack's or the children's.Could they be alive, after all this time? And if so, why have they been hiding from Kathy and making her believe her life had ended with theirs?The investigation into what happened that night eight years ago uncovers more questions than there are answers, especially based on some mysterious discoveries, and Kathy's growing understanding that there were things her husband, as well as her soldier father and brother, who fought alongside Jack, kept hidden. And the secrets keep on popping up, as Kathy begins to see that other events that marked her life, such as her mother's death years before, may be connected.Kathy wants the truth. But the truth might kill her, and if it doesn't, it certainly will endanger her and her loved ones, not to mention cause her to question everything and everyone she has held dear. Because there are people who wanted Jack dead, and they'll do anything to make sure this time he gets that way.Meade throws lots of twists and turns and mystery into this book. There are a lot of parallel plot threads which eventually come together, and they really make you wonder whether there is some truth to some of the fiction that he has created. You may figure out what happened and who was responsible before everyone else does, but this is far from a boring ride—there is some great suspense and some strong action scenes. Meade definitely knows how to tell a story.Even with all of the above, the book's pacing didn't move as quickly as I wanted it to, and a few times my attention flagged. But overall, this is a good thriller, and I could totally see it being adapted into a movie sometime soon.NetGalley and Howard Books provided me an advance copy of the book in exchange for an unbiased review. Thanks for making this available! See all of my reviews at http://itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blo....
    more
  • Joan
    February 27, 2017
    Meade has crafted a contemporary novel that portrays the after effects of the Iraq War. The plot revolves around Kathy whose husband, Jack, and two children were presumed to have died in an airplane accident eight years ago. Just recently the plane was found and the only body was that of the pilot. Officials think Jack and the children may very well have survived the accident.The story behind the crash and the possible survival of Jack and the children unfolds very slowly, layer by layer. It has Meade has crafted a contemporary novel that portrays the after effects of the Iraq War. The plot revolves around Kathy whose husband, Jack, and two children were presumed to have died in an airplane accident eight years ago. Just recently the plane was found and the only body was that of the pilot. Officials think Jack and the children may very well have survived the accident.The story behind the crash and the possible survival of Jack and the children unfolds very slowly, layer by layer. It has its roots in money and artifacts that had gone missing during the Iraq War. Things went wrong during battles and there were cover ups. Some benefited greatly from their war experience and will do anything, kill anyone, to keep their deeds hidden.I had difficulty maintaining my interest in this novel. Much of it is written from Kathy's viewpoint. She thinks a great deal, sometimes pages of wondering this or that. I have to admit that I began skipping those sections. I always find it interesting when a man writes a novel with a woman as the main character. I think this time Meade way overdid the female thinking aspect, making the book bog down in many places. Other parts of the novel were written from the universal viewpoint. I did not like that and would prefer a consistent viewpoint.Meade reminds us in a note at the end of the novel that much of it is based on actual facts. At least $8 billion of aide money went missing, as did many artifacts. Many of the soldiers saw horrific things and suffered PTSD, as did characters in this novel.I have read other novels by Meade and I do not think this is his best. The plot is very complex. I couldn't count the number of times someone told Kathy that there was something she needed to know – another secret begrudgingly and slowly revealed. I did not like the characters. None of them made me feel sympathy for them, even Kathy. So many had their lives built on lies. Many of the twists in the book were just lies being revealed.I think the book could have been shorter, with much of Kathy's thinking left out. I do recommend this novel to those who like to get into the mind of a character and are satisfied with action interspersed here and there.I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher. My comments are an independent and honest review.
    more
  • Fiction Aficionado
    March 15, 2017
    Write this down if you want, and never let anyone tell you otherwise: Love has a price. There never can be—never will be and never has been—a single love that comes without agony.Another thing I’ve learned: Sometimes those we worship harbor unimaginable secrets.Glenn Meade’s newest thriller is a thoroughly engrossing read, and packs quite an emotional punch to boot—although, maybe that’s just because I’m a female reader (and a wife and mother)! Kathy Kelly’s life has already involved devastation Write this down if you want, and never let anyone tell you otherwise: Love has a price. There never can be—never will be and never has been—a single love that comes without agony.Another thing I’ve learned: Sometimes those we worship harbor unimaginable secrets.Glenn Meade’s newest thriller is a thoroughly engrossing read, and packs quite an emotional punch to boot—although, maybe that’s just because I’m a female reader (and a wife and mother)! Kathy Kelly’s life has already involved devastation upon devastation, but nothing could possibly prepare her for the events that unfold in these pages—events that also make a serious statement about the realities of war and the potential breeding ground it creates for greed and corruption.Kathy is the primary narrator of the story, and her point of view is presented in the first person, which made her character particularly easy to identify with. She’s a character given to reflection—profound and intensely personal reflection, at times—and during the first third or so of the book, the details of her past devastations unfold in tandem with the present day situation. There were occasions when I felt as though she wallowed in her reflections a little, and there was some repetition that I thought should have been picked up in edits, but it was such a compelling story that my eyes were riveted to the page regardless.As the novel progressed, it became focussed on the present day situation, where Kathy finds herself desperate for answers, constantly pulled in different directions, and unsure of where to turn and whom to trust. The tension is heightened by those times when secondary characters take the narrative reins, letting the reader in on circumstances that are as yet hidden from Kathy, but even then it was impossible to predict what would happen next or who was really what they seemed. And when it came to the final showdown? Boy, oh boy!When the dust settles, the novel is brought full circle with some reflections from Kathy that mirror the opening of the novel. It’s a poignant ending that drives home the point that “[War] breaks us all in the end, even those of us who are mere watchers from the shore, for we are broken by the same cruel tempest that destroys the ones we love.”This is a physically and emotionally tense thriller that is well worth the read.I received a copy of this novel from the publisher. This has not influenced the content of my review.
    more
  • Kelly Spaulding
    July 24, 2017
    This was the first book that I have ready by Glenn Meade. I would give it a solid 4.5 stars. There were a lot of characters which made it confusing at times and he tended to be repetitive quite a bit, but overall, it was a really great read! The plot was different and really interesting. It kept me hooked and I could not wait to finish it to find out what had really happened to Kath's family. I will be looking forward to checking out some other titles by this author.
    more
  • Gail Welborn
    July 11, 2017
    ***the complexity & intrigue make "Unquiet Ghosts" a gripping & memorable read***"Unquiet Ghosts" is a complex tale of chilling secrets, conspiracies and intrigue, a multifaceted mystery rooted in real life events so intense the pages almost turn themselves. The fast-paced story begins with rich, influential and enigmatic Chad Benton's visit to the empty gravesite his divorced wife Kathy visited every anniversary of the plane crash that had claimed her missing family eight years ago. Ch ***the complexity & intrigue make "Unquiet Ghosts" a gripping & memorable read***"Unquiet Ghosts" is a complex tale of chilling secrets, conspiracies and intrigue, a multifaceted mystery rooted in real life events so intense the pages almost turn themselves. The fast-paced story begins with rich, influential and enigmatic Chad Benton's visit to the empty gravesite his divorced wife Kathy visited every anniversary of the plane crash that had claimed her missing family eight years ago. Chad had been close friends with Kathy's husband Jack, an Iraq war vet and no one was too surprised when Kathy and Chad married months after her husband's plane went missing. Even though Kathy's grief for her missing family was intense, especially for eight year-old Sean and five year-old Amy, she accepted Chad's marriage proposal. Now Kathy watched Chad step from the "gleaming, silver chauffeured Bentley." Although their marriage resulted in divorce they remained friends. Chad knew how important Kathy's annual visit to her family’s empty gravesites was and wondered what brought him here. However there was nothing that could prepare her for the words he said, "...they found Jack's aircraft, but only the pilot's remains." Chad wanted to take her to the crash site and the "clatter of helicopter blades" drowned out Kathy's questions as Chad guided her to the plane. Twenty minutes later Kathy saw TV crews and reporters dotting the swampy waters and forested landscape below. Soon Kathy would find answers to questions that had plagued her ever since Jack's plane went missing. She couldn't know she was still asking all the wrong questions.Thus begins a chilling thriller "inspired by actual events" from the 2003 Iraq war in Baghdad where priceless artifacts and eight billion government dollars vanished without a trace. The events would forever change Jack, Kathy, her brother Kyle and Kathy's father, Colonel Frank Kelly who served alongside her husband in Iraq. Add political intrigue, corruption and well-kept secrets and you have a mystery impossible to unravel until the last page turns. Well drawn characters and intense suspense , inspired by the complex and true-to-life plot keep pages turning with parallel plot threads that at times slow the story down as it moves back and forth in time. However, the complexity, intrigue and suspense make “Unquiet Ghosts" a gripping and memorable read. 'Unquiet Ghosts: A Novel,' by Glenn Meade, Howard Books, 7-11-2017, Hardcover, 432 Pages, 978-1476797410, $25.00Midwest Book Reviews: "Gail's Bookshelf" April 2017Google+GailWelbornPinterest: GailWelbornTwitter: @GailWelbornFaceBook: Gail Welborn
    more
  • Kathleen Gray
    May 8, 2017
    Although we've seen the basic plot line before (man disappears with/out kids but did he really die?) but Meade has updated it with an interesting topical twist. The Iraqi money and PTSD upped the game, even if the conspiracies were a bit much. Kathy is a very complex character and Meade gives us a lot (maybe too much) insight into her thought process. This is a well written novel but it would have benefited from another edit to tighten it up a bit. Thanks to edelweiss for the ArC. You'll like th Although we've seen the basic plot line before (man disappears with/out kids but did he really die?) but Meade has updated it with an interesting topical twist. The Iraqi money and PTSD upped the game, even if the conspiracies were a bit much. Kathy is a very complex character and Meade gives us a lot (maybe too much) insight into her thought process. This is a well written novel but it would have benefited from another edit to tighten it up a bit. Thanks to edelweiss for the ArC. You'll like this if you enjoy mystery thrillers with a woman seeking the truth.
    more
  • Courtney Mansell
    July 25, 2017
    Excellent read! I didn't want to put it down...every time I finished a chapter thinking I was going to stop...something MAJOR happened! Very well written, so many true piecese of information surrounding East Tennesesse, the Iraq War, and southern culture in Knoxville and surrounding areas. Worth the investment - entertaining & eye opening at the same time!
    more
  • Linda
    February 12, 2017
    An engrossing, pulse-pounding thriller that brings to the center the sufferings of our soldiers returning from the Iraq war and their battles with PTSD, wrapped around the theft of priceless artifacts and billions of dollars from war-torn Iraq. Another high octane story from one of the best in the genre.Highly recommend!
    more
  • Judie
    July 26, 2017
    A good read - a little long where kathy's thoughts are concerned, but Unquiet ghosts still held my interest and I read late into the night. It was hard to put down. What more could I ask for.
  • Netty
    July 23, 2017
    Another excellent read from this author . Never failed. Full of turn and twist . An u expected betrayal. Keep you suspense with each page turning . Strong g up of emotions. Loving it 👍👍👍
  • Sarah
    February 17, 2017
    Unquiet Ghosts is my second read by Glenn Meade and again another moving book that plot twists and turns all over the place. It is a absouteley a suspenseful thriller that has the power of story, which is hard to find in books today. This book is very unique and will have readers on edge the whole way through! I loved the character dynamic and fell in love with the mystery of not only finding Kelly's family, but also the mystery of Jack. This book had a great pace and it kept me up reading becau Unquiet Ghosts is my second read by Glenn Meade and again another moving book that plot twists and turns all over the place. It is a absouteley a suspenseful thriller that has the power of story, which is hard to find in books today. This book is very unique and will have readers on edge the whole way through! I loved the character dynamic and fell in love with the mystery of not only finding Kelly's family, but also the mystery of Jack. This book had a great pace and it kept me up reading because I wanted to know how the story ended. You won't want to miss this beautiful book, so make sure you pre-order a copy !! I give this book 5/5 stars. I was given an ARC copy by the folks at Howard Publishing and a positive review was not required.
    more
  • Mike
    November 13, 2016
    I was given a digital copy of this book by the publisher Howard Books (via Netgalley) in return for an honest, unbiased review.Before going any further, I have to admit to being a big fan of Glenn Meade’s books and when becoming fortunate enough to receive this advance copy of his latest novel for review, I was somewhat pleased to say the least.So is “Unquiet Ghosts” as good as his previous offerings? In my opinion the answer is an unequivocal yes. With the author’s uncanny knack of keeping you I was given a digital copy of this book by the publisher Howard Books (via Netgalley) in return for an honest, unbiased review.Before going any further, I have to admit to being a big fan of Glenn Meade’s books and when becoming fortunate enough to receive this advance copy of his latest novel for review, I was somewhat pleased to say the least.So is “Unquiet Ghosts” as good as his previous offerings? In my opinion the answer is an unequivocal yes. With the author’s uncanny knack of keeping you wondering in which direction the story is going to turn next, I was kept on the edge of my seat finding it difficult to put my Kindle down.The story revolves around Kathy Kelly who lost her husband and 2 children to an air crash 8 years previously. But when the aircraft wreckage, lost since the day of the accident, is found with no sign of the bodies, there are many questions that need answering.Are her family still alive? If so, why have they kept away all these years and what other secrets have been kept from her since the crash and previously to that? The story continues to build towards an exciting climax with one or two surprises and shocks along the way.I have to say that I’ve never been particularly keen on books, movies, TV etc that frequently jump from the present day into to the past and back; however in this case the flashbacks are essential to the story (not always the case I might add) and are reasonably effortless. It does help with an added sub-heading at the start of the chapters, leaving you in no doubt as to where (or when) you are.Well written, but then I wouldn’t expect anything less from Glenn Meade; it has to be one of the most enjoyable novels I have read for quite some time.
    more
  • Jean Kolinofsky
    December 1, 2016
    I would like to thank NetGalley for providing a copy of this book for review. Kathy Kelly has spent eight years rebuilding her life after losing her husband and children in a plane crash. At the time of her loss, the plane was never found. When another plane crashes, investigators find what is left of her husband's plane nearby. The pilot's remains are still in the cockpit, but there is no sign of any other bodies, indicating that Jack and the children survived.Prior to Jack's disappearance, he I would like to thank NetGalley for providing a copy of this book for review. Kathy Kelly has spent eight years rebuilding her life after losing her husband and children in a plane crash. At the time of her loss, the plane was never found. When another plane crashes, investigators find what is left of her husband's plane nearby. The pilot's remains are still in the cockpit, but there is no sign of any other bodies, indicating that Jack and the children survived.Prior to Jack's disappearance, he had served in Iraq along with Kathy's father and brother. Evidence at the crash scene connects to the disappearance of artifacts and money from Iraq, but there are people who would prefer that Kathy not look for answers.Glen Meade has written a story that keeps you on the edge of your seat. From the opening plane crash to the final confrontation, he constantly surprises the reader and short chapters keep the story moving at a rapid pace. The effects of military service on the family and Kathy's search for answers leave you on an emotional roller coaster and you are never sure who she can trust. Meade is a writer who has perfected his craft and Unquiet Ghosts will not disappoint.
    more
  • Barbara
    January 3, 2017
    This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. A great story that kept me reading late into the night. The main character in the book is Kathy Kelly and I found it amazing the Glenn Meade was able to write so convincingly with the thoughts of a woman when he is a man. Kathy believes that her husband, son and daughter have died in a plane crash. She finds out that they actually didn't and the chase begins to find out what really happened. The action never stops and secrets are revealed This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. A great story that kept me reading late into the night. The main character in the book is Kathy Kelly and I found it amazing the Glenn Meade was able to write so convincingly with the thoughts of a woman when he is a man. Kathy believes that her husband, son and daughter have died in a plane crash. She finds out that they actually didn't and the chase begins to find out what really happened. The action never stops and secrets are revealed as he investigation continues. Thanks to Simon and Schuster for sending the book to me in exchange for a review. I certainly can recommend it to other readers who enjoy an adventurous read.
    more
  • BabeOBooks
    January 13, 2017
    With hints of the lush southern writing of Pat Conroy and the twisted mystery of Harlan Coben, Meade delivers a solid novel of suspense about a woman whose military husband and children disappeared in a plane crash eight years ago. When the remnants of the crash are discovered, she discovers that her family did not die in the crash and that she is not the only trying to find them. The novel moves backward and forward in time, slowly revealing dark secrets. It was a fast paced read with interesti With hints of the lush southern writing of Pat Conroy and the twisted mystery of Harlan Coben, Meade delivers a solid novel of suspense about a woman whose military husband and children disappeared in a plane crash eight years ago. When the remnants of the crash are discovered, she discovers that her family did not die in the crash and that she is not the only trying to find them. The novel moves backward and forward in time, slowly revealing dark secrets. It was a fast paced read with interesting characters. The ending failed to tie up all of the loose ends but it was still a satisfying read.
    more
  • Susanne Gulde
    November 4, 2016
    I read this book as a digital review copy from the publisher through Edelweiss.I was disappointed in this book, wanted to like it more. I thought the writing was uneven, and I didn't really like any of the characters.
  • Alyssa
    November 22, 2016
    DNF 1 chapter in. Don't like the writing style.
Write a review