The Simplicity of Cider
Fall in love with The Simplicity of Cider, the charming new novel about a prickly but gifted cider-maker whose quiet life is interrupted by the arrival of a handsome man and his young son at her family’s careworn orchard by the author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake and Luck, Love & Lemon Pie.Focused and unassuming fifth generation cider-maker Sanna Lund has one desire: to live a simple, quiet life on her family’s apple orchard in Door County, Wisconsin. Although her business is struggling, Sanna remains fiercely devoted to the orchard, despite her brother’s attempts to convince their aging father to sell the land.Single dad Isaac Banks has spent years trying to shield his son Sebastian from his troubled mother. Fleeing heartbreak at home, Isaac packed up their lives and the two headed out on an adventure, driving across the country. Chance—or fate—led them straight to Sanna’s orchard.Isaac’s helping hands are much appreciated at the apple farm, even more when Sanna’s father is injured in an accident. As Sanna’s formerly simple life becomes increasingly complicated, she finds solace in unexpected places—friendship with young Sebastian and something more deliciously complex with Isaac—until an outside threat infiltrates the farm.From the warm and funny Amy E. Reichert, The Simplicity of Cider is a charming love story with a touch of magic, perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Gayle Forman.

The Simplicity of Cider Details

TitleThe Simplicity of Cider
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 16th, 2017
PublisherGallery Books
ISBN1501154923
ISBN-139781501154928
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Fiction, Womens Fiction, Adult, Contemporary, Magical Realism, Contemporary Romance, Chick Lit

The Simplicity of Cider Review

  • Yodamom
    April 19, 2017
    Reading this book will leave you feeling refreshed and relaxed.The beautiful smells if the orchard, the colors, the tastes, even the roughness of the bark. It is like going on vacation without leaving the pages. You get that happy after glow just from the words. Pick up a nice glass of cider curl up under a beautiful tree and enjoy this beautiful book. This author has such a talent for spreading simple joy with her words.The story is about family, one family with a strong history to the land and Reading this book will leave you feeling refreshed and relaxed.The beautiful smells if the orchard, the colors, the tastes, even the roughness of the bark. It is like going on vacation without leaving the pages. You get that happy after glow just from the words. Pick up a nice glass of cider curl up under a beautiful tree and enjoy this beautiful book. This author has such a talent for spreading simple joy with her words.The story is about family, one family with a strong history to the land and trees. One family set a drift by a terrible death. Both families have skeletons that are pulled out and dusted off leaving that closest a cleaner happier place. The romance is slow and gentle, patient and just right for the characters. The drama is light, never so tense that you feel uncomfortable or stressed. Strong good people, doing their best, living the best way they know. Great relaxing read
    more
  • Elle ✦ Pretty Little Books ✦
    April 8, 2017
    Release Date: May 16, 2017 Genre: Women's FictionThe Simplicity of Cider is a sweet and charming read. Being new to the author, I wasn't sure what to expect in terms of how she delivers her stories so I was quite surprised to see that she does, in fact, deliver. I am so glad I was able to read a copy prior to publication! Now, while I did feel like there was a little too much going on within the story, I did appreciate how Reichert was able to make her characters relatable to many people. Thi Release Date: May 16, 2017 Genre: Women's FictionThe Simplicity of Cider is a sweet and charming read. Being new to the author, I wasn't sure what to expect in terms of how she delivers her stories so I was quite surprised to see that she does, in fact, deliver. I am so glad I was able to read a copy prior to publication! Now, while I did feel like there was a little too much going on within the story, I did appreciate how Reichert was able to make her characters relatable to many people. This is truly an added bonus to a wonderful novel. If your looking for a heartwarming read to get lost in for a few hours I would definitely recommend this book. After reading it, I am going to have to go back and pick up her other books based on this one.
    more
  • Holly
    March 19, 2017
    This book was exactly what I needed. It was such a heartwarming story filled with hope and a wonderful cast of characters. Each character was struggling with something that readers can relate to (in one way or another), and I found myself rooting for them throughout the entire book. The setting (Door County, WI) was absolutely perfect and added to the story's charm. I cannot recommend The Simplicity of Cider (or really all of Amy Reichert's novels) enough! If you're looking for the perfect read This book was exactly what I needed. It was such a heartwarming story filled with hope and a wonderful cast of characters. Each character was struggling with something that readers can relate to (in one way or another), and I found myself rooting for them throughout the entire book. The setting (Door County, WI) was absolutely perfect and added to the story's charm. I cannot recommend The Simplicity of Cider (or really all of Amy Reichert's novels) enough! If you're looking for the perfect read to curl up with and get lost in... this is it.
    more
  • Lolly K Dandeneau
    February 27, 2017
    via my blog https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com/Sanna had always appreciated the sanctuary of the orchard, and this revelation bonded Sanna like another root digging into the soil, finding nourishment. She’d never leave. An apple orchard has been in Sanna Lund’s family for five generations. Much like the apple trees, she is rooted, nourished by the family land. There is a magic in her blood and there is no way she can give up and let her brother force her father’s hand in selling it. Time is via my blog https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com/Sanna had always appreciated the sanctuary of the orchard, and this revelation bonded Sanna like another root digging into the soil, finding nourishment. She’d never leave. An apple orchard has been in Sanna Lund’s family for five generations. Much like the apple trees, she is rooted, nourished by the family land. There is a magic in her blood and there is no way she can give up and let her brother force her father’s hand in selling it. Time is against her, they are losing money and try as she might, she can’t get the cider just right. Cider that could be their salvation. This is her refuge, but when her father hires help her life is filled with more complications, especially her heart. A single father Isaac and his son Bass seem to worm their way into the core of her being. Sara has so much to focus on in order to save the orchard, the last thing she needs is a kid getting in the way. All she wants out of life is the orchard, hard work, the ‘simplicity of cider’ and certainly not a single dad no matter how much she is attracted to him. So what if his son’s goofy side is growing on her! Anyone can see Isaac is an attractive man, but so what? Who needs a man stealing time from her failing orchard?Isaac and Bass have left their own painful lives behind in California, this is meant to be a reprieve from their own problems, certainly not meant to be a permanent stay. Against her better judgement and desires to keep her life contained, Sanna is losing pieces of herself to the two. Sanna keeps her distance from people for a reason, but hiding won’t fix the land nor heal her heart. She may have a special gift but sometimes what you need is to open yourself to others, even those you’ve spent time denying, because that is the true magic. It may take love to nourish the land. Bass has his own difficulties with his mother, in this he and Sanna are the same. Long ago, her own mother left, and she hasn’t dealt with the rupture in her life.It’s a love story at heart, but not just romantic love. It’s about family, traditions and the running of an apple orchard. It’s fighting to keep a family business alive and how sometimes you have to learn to accept that you can’t do everything on your own and that maybe the changes fate brings are a new way of seeing. Sometimes change can be a gift. This novel was a nice break from heavy reading, a sweet love story. This is an advanced arc, and the novel will not be released until May.Publication Date: May 16 2017Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books
    more
  • Karma
    February 21, 2017
    Like her previous books--THE COINCIDENCE OF COCONUT CAKE and LUCK, LOVE & LEMON PIE--Amy E. Reichert has masterfully mixed food (in this case, cider making) with complex characters and a great love story. Sweet, heartfelt and with a touch of magic, this novel was a delight to read. I loved it!
    more
  • Melissa Marino
    November 29, 2016
    I had the pleasure to read the ARC of the newest (and I think also my new favorite!) novel from Amy Reichert. THE SIMPLICITY OF CIDER was such a delightful read, a novel centered around a family-owned apple orchard in Door County, Wisconsin, with Reichert's signature style. The characters are complex, but relatable. The setting? You are transported and submerged entirely. (Literally want to plan a trip to Door County after reading!) And the woven tale of family dynamics and loyalty is front and I had the pleasure to read the ARC of the newest (and I think also my new favorite!) novel from Amy Reichert. THE SIMPLICITY OF CIDER was such a delightful read, a novel centered around a family-owned apple orchard in Door County, Wisconsin, with Reichert's signature style. The characters are complex, but relatable. The setting? You are transported and submerged entirely. (Literally want to plan a trip to Door County after reading!) And the woven tale of family dynamics and loyalty is front and center.And...there is romance--a swoon-my-face-off-with-full-flails-romance. (Bearded single dad? HELLO.) This book kept me up to all hours, and sneaking a page or two while I prepared Thanksgiving dinner for a houseful of people. I can't wait for you all to read this magical, engaging book.
    more
  • Kelly Harms
    April 27, 2017
    pitch perfect
  • Weina
    March 29, 2017
    Caution! This book may give you that sweet sensation when you go say, "Ah..." when you're actually drinking beer. Even though it's a book about cider, a book about a quiet and lonesome girl who spends her entire life in an orchard making cider, a book about people trying to find happiness in an unlikely place. Reichert writes with a smooth touch that easily gets you hooked on her characters, tricks you with something unexpected, and weaves in humor-yes, now I know what a naughty teenager boy thi Caution! This book may give you that sweet sensation when you go say, "Ah..." when you're actually drinking beer. Even though it's a book about cider, a book about a quiet and lonesome girl who spends her entire life in an orchard making cider, a book about people trying to find happiness in an unlikely place. Reichert writes with a smooth touch that easily gets you hooked on her characters, tricks you with something unexpected, and weaves in humor-yes, now I know what a naughty teenager boy thinks when he sees someone taller than him. Highly addictive, this cup of cider!
    more
  • Sue
    February 21, 2017
    The Simplicity of Cider is another fantastic book by Amy Reichert. I have read her previous books and enjoyed them all but this is my favorite. The characters are so well done that you feel like you know them and the descriptions of Wisconsin (on Lake Michigan) are so beautiful that you want to visit.Sanna Lund and her father run an apple orchard that has been in their family for five generations. Along with growing apples, Sanna is trying to make cider that can help boost the profits of the orc The Simplicity of Cider is another fantastic book by Amy Reichert. I have read her previous books and enjoyed them all but this is my favorite. The characters are so well done that you feel like you know them and the descriptions of Wisconsin (on Lake Michigan) are so beautiful that you want to visit.Sanna Lund and her father run an apple orchard that has been in their family for five generations. Along with growing apples, Sanna is trying to make cider that can help boost the profits of the orchard. She is happy with her uncomplicated life and her love of the land. Then along come the complications - her brother wants to sell the orchard to a company that wants to build a water park on it. Her brother is justified in wanting to sell because the orchard is losing money. Along with that, her father hires a single father Isaac who has a young son Bass and they are fleeing family issues in California. Once her father falls and breaks several bones, things really become complicated for Sanna. The reader doesn't know if she'll be able to save her beloved orchard until the end of the book but readers are in for a fantastic story to find out. This is the perfect book - a little suspense, a little romance and a lot of family love in a charming community. Read it - you'll love it!Thanks to NetGalley for a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Ann
    February 7, 2017
    I love Amy Reichert books. She always features a food and just a hint of magic. Sanna and her father are trying to keep their apple farm going but it seems fate is against them. Her brother is trying to get them to sell to a big conglomerate and someone is sabotaging her trees. When Isaac and his son Sebastian arrive looking for work and a place to live, it seems maybe their luck is changing. Love seems to be helping the orchard thrive. A wonderful story with a perfect setting, great characters I love Amy Reichert books. She always features a food and just a hint of magic. Sanna and her father are trying to keep their apple farm going but it seems fate is against them. Her brother is trying to get them to sell to a big conglomerate and someone is sabotaging her trees. When Isaac and his son Sebastian arrive looking for work and a place to live, it seems maybe their luck is changing. Love seems to be helping the orchard thrive. A wonderful story with a perfect setting, great characters and a lovely storyline. Enjoy this happy, cute love story.
    more
  • Patty
    March 20, 2017
    The Simplicity Of CiderByAmy E. ReichertWhat it's all about...Sanna and her father Einers...I still have no clue how to pronounce these names...are the only members of their family who still live and work on their family's apple farm. Anders...the brother...only wants to sell it and Susanna...the mother...left this family years ago. Sanna is scarred by this abandonment which has left her a bit removed, icy, cold. Her love is for her trees, her apples and her ciders. Isaac and his son Bass are su The Simplicity Of CiderByAmy E. ReichertWhat it's all about...Sanna and her father Einers...I still have no clue how to pronounce these names...are the only members of their family who still live and work on their family's apple farm. Anders...the brother...only wants to sell it and Susanna...the mother...left this family years ago. Sanna is scarred by this abandonment which has left her a bit removed, icy, cold. Her love is for her trees, her apples and her ciders. Isaac and his son Bass are supposed to be traveling and having a fun summer but somehow they end up working at this orchard. Isaac's ex wife...a drug addict...has just died and for some unknown reason he doesn't want to tell his son...this seems ridiculous and ends up biting him you know where. Why I wanted to read it...I loved this author's first book...loved it! What made me truly enjoy this book...This author knows how to pull in "stuff" that makes a reader...this reader anyway...unable to put a book down. The irritating casserole making neighbor, the villain who wants to turn the orchard into a water park and the irritating ex of Sanna's who is sabotaging the orchard all make this book yummy! Of course it's up to Isaac to save everyone...if he can...and...of course there are sparks between surly Sanna and ever patient Isaac. There are tremendous food descriptions, too, so much so that I need apple pie now! And lasagna...and PB and J! Why you should read it, too...I loved this book even though at times I was irritated by everyone in it! Readers who love this kind of "good" irritation and Door County and fish boils and tense relationships and apples...will love this book! Thank you NetGalley!
    more
  • MaryAnn
    April 9, 2017
    Amy E. Reichert has done it again! This is another fantastic read, every bit as good as The Coincidence of Coconut Cake and Luck, Love & Lemon Pie. I don't know what anyone else calls this type of novel, but I consider it magical realism and rank this author right up there with Sarah Addison Allen's work.From her beautifully simple descriptions to her way with dialogue and character development, I was pulled into the story of Sanna Lund and her father's apple farm and lives immediately. Add Amy E. Reichert has done it again! This is another fantastic read, every bit as good as The Coincidence of Coconut Cake and Luck, Love & Lemon Pie. I don't know what anyone else calls this type of novel, but I consider it magical realism and rank this author right up there with Sarah Addison Allen's work.From her beautifully simple descriptions to her way with dialogue and character development, I was pulled into the story of Sanna Lund and her father's apple farm and lives immediately. Add in Isaac and son Sebastian, and the story got even better. The "whodunit" aspect was fairly laid back, not really being a large part of the story, but was no less interesting. What absolutely had me on the seat of my chair though, was Sanna's cider making skills. Even though I dislike anything made with apples except applesauce, I wanted to try some of her cider so badly! The descriptions of both color and flavor had me salivating and I so wanted her to be successful.This is very much a story of a farm and lives, that harken back to simpler times, when neighbor helped neighbor and families did the same for each other. If you're looking to get lost in a story this is definitely the book for you. I just finished reading this and can't wait for the author's next novel!Thank yous to the author, publisher and Netgalley for allowing me to read an ARC.
    more
  • Taylor
    May 2, 2017
    Another amazing read from Amy Reichert. I fell in love with her writing in The Coincidence of Coconut Cake (a must read for sure) and was excited to see another novel from her. This one had depth. It had mystery. It had love. It had magic. And it was centered around food, drink and working the land. Loved every moment in the book.
    more
  • BabeOBooks
    March 15, 2017
    This book was simply charming! It tells the story of Sanna, a cider maker her at her family apple orchard. Sanna likes the solitary life she lives with her father but it is all thrown in to disarray when a widower shows up with his young son to work at the orchard. Her life is further complicated when a conglomerate tries to buy the orchard to turn it in to a waterpark. This book is about family, ambition, and risking your heart for love. It is beautifully written and the characters are complex This book was simply charming! It tells the story of Sanna, a cider maker her at her family apple orchard. Sanna likes the solitary life she lives with her father but it is all thrown in to disarray when a widower shows up with his young son to work at the orchard. Her life is further complicated when a conglomerate tries to buy the orchard to turn it in to a waterpark. This book is about family, ambition, and risking your heart for love. It is beautifully written and the characters are complex and realistic. Looking forward to Reichert's next book. Fans of Sarah Addison Allen will really like this one
    more
  • Michelle
    April 15, 2017
    Pub date: May 16A lovely story! A romance set in an apple orchard, with Sanna the cider-maker and Isaac, who's getting away from CA for the summer with his son. A tiny bit of magic and lots of heart make this a good match for fans of Sarah Addison Allen.
    more
  • Vicki Petersen
    January 30, 2017
    This book is a favorite - a throughly enjoyable read. The characters feel real. They aren't idealized or stereotypes. The story isn't formula. It's a fresh, interesting read that takes you to Door County for a glimpse at a realistic look at a family business with its complications and the devotion of its owners. The story is about family, place, dedication, challenges and struggles as much as it is about love.It isn't a book that I would suggest for my book club to discuss because there aren't u This book is a favorite - a throughly enjoyable read. The characters feel real. They aren't idealized or stereotypes. The story isn't formula. It's a fresh, interesting read that takes you to Door County for a glimpse at a realistic look at a family business with its complications and the devotion of its owners. The story is about family, place, dedication, challenges and struggles as much as it is about love.It isn't a book that I would suggest for my book club to discuss because there aren't unanswered issues, motivations or actions. It is however a book I would definitely recommend!I was privileged to read an ARC of this book.
    more
  • Rebecca
    May 3, 2017
    Reading Amy Reichert's books has been such a great joy. Her depictions of the people and places of Wisconsin are just beautiful and true, and having spent most of my life in this state, I have so enjoyed reading books that are set here and are written about in a loving way. There is a scene in The Simplicity of Cider that describes the farm's store, and the description, down to the ancient cash register that I can picture and even hear very clearly, reminded me of all the orchards I've ever visi Reading Amy Reichert's books has been such a great joy. Her depictions of the people and places of Wisconsin are just beautiful and true, and having spent most of my life in this state, I have so enjoyed reading books that are set here and are written about in a loving way. There is a scene in The Simplicity of Cider that describes the farm's store, and the description, down to the ancient cash register that I can picture and even hear very clearly, reminded me of all the orchards I've ever visited.(OK, the part where I just gush about the author is now over.)The Simplicity of Cider is a contemporary and a romance of a kind (there is a romance, but it's not the sole focus of this book). It's being touted as having some magical realism, but I'd forgotten that element going in, so it didn't bother me that the magical realism is pretty much blink and you'll miss it. The essence of this book is Sanna's love for the orchard and the cider she's crafting. She's been focused on these things for so long that when Isaac and Bass's arrival disrupts her usual routine, it takes her some time to adjust and open up to the possibility of letting anyone else in. Isaac has ended up in Door County after a road trip he's taken his son Bass on in order to put off dealing with the difficulties of their life back in California. It soon comes out that the orchard is struggling to stay afloat financially, and Sanna must also struggle with the possibility of losing the one home she's ever had. This story is heartwarming without being trite or cheesy. As I already mentioned, I love the sense of place that this book evokes, and while I'm biased in my love of Wisconsin, I think the setting is well described enough to enjoy to those from far off as well. Those who read for character as well will find interesting, likeable characters here, too. I might find myself reaching for this one again when apple season rolls around in the fall. Advance e-galleys provided by Netgalley, Edelweiss and the publisher for an honest review.
    more
  • L Evans
    March 24, 2017
    I received an arc from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.I read this book in one day. It was a quick very enjoyable read that drew me in right away and had me thinking about the book during the minutes I had to adult before I finished it. I enjoyed learning about the cider making and the love the family had for the orchard. It brought me back to fond memories of apple picking trips with my family as a child.There were four characters I loved. Sanna and her father and Isaac and his s I received an arc from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.I read this book in one day. It was a quick very enjoyable read that drew me in right away and had me thinking about the book during the minutes I had to adult before I finished it. I enjoyed learning about the cider making and the love the family had for the orchard. It brought me back to fond memories of apple picking trips with my family as a child.There were four characters I loved. Sanna and her father and Isaac and his son. The names were a little hard for me at the beginning but I mostly got over it by the end. These characters had heart and warmth and faults, made mistakes and grew during the course of the story. I cheered for them to succeed and found the ending a satisfying one.Now for a few nit-picky criticisms! My biggest criticism with the book was that there were a lot of things going on outside of the main story line to cause conflict. It just felt like too much. To name a few...the drug use, the mom issues, the fall from the ladder, the financial problems, the buyout offer, the vandalism, the ex boyfriend, the brother and his family. I guess what I'm saying is the story was good enough that it didn't need all of those things. There was a bit of magic involved with the story. I wasn't a fan, but it didn't negatively impact the story for me. It was more of a case where I wasn't sure how the magic fit into this contemporary world. There was another story line with another pov of a potential buyer of the property. This was probably my least favorite part of the story. I didn't want to get invested with that character and didn't react positively when she turned from villain of sorts to savior. Overall very enjoyable and would recommend.
    more
  • Arlena
    May 3, 2017
    Title: The Simplicity of CiderAuthor: Amy E. ReichertPublisher: Gallery BooksReviewed By: Arlena DeanRating: FiveReview:"The Simplicity of Cider" by Amy E. ReichertMy Thoughts....The readers are in for a good read about cider making, the love of a family and to one who is getting away from CA for the summer with his son then you are in for a good read. This author really works her magic in giving the readers a good read about 'family, dedications, ambition, challenges, struggles, suspense and lo Title: The Simplicity of CiderAuthor: Amy E. ReichertPublisher: Gallery BooksReviewed By: Arlena DeanRating: FiveReview:"The Simplicity of Cider" by Amy E. ReichertMy Thoughts....The readers are in for a good read about cider making, the love of a family and to one who is getting away from CA for the summer with his son then you are in for a good read. This author really works her magic in giving the readers a good read about 'family, dedications, ambition, challenges, struggles, suspense and love that takes place in Door County, Wisconsin. The main characters from Sanna, Einers, Isaac to Bass...all are some very complex but so relatable to any one. Along with all of this the readers will be given a story from "The irritating casserole making neighbor,the brother...only wants to sell the orchard, the villain who wants to turn the orchard into a water park and the irritating ex of Sanna's who is sabotaging the orchard" all make this story such a interesting read. Now add all that is going on with Isaac and his son Bass along with the tremendous food descriptions the readers will get one heck of a good heartwarming read. In the end will Sanna be able to save her beloved orchard that she truly loved and will Sanna and Isaac end up finding each other? To get all the questions answered and so much more the reader will have to pick up this enjoyable read "The Simplicity of Cider" to see how this author will bring it all out to the reader.
    more
  • Sara Diane
    March 22, 2017
    I got this from NetGalley to preview.I requested this title because I LOVE Sarah Addison Allen, and I really enjoy magical realism. This one promised both, but sadly, it didn't quite deliver. I'd give it 3.5 stars if I could, because it wasn't all bad, but it just didn't captivate me as much as 4 stars demands.The pitfalls were that the relationship between the two main characters felt a bit contrived...there was a lack of foundation and just a general "attraction" that, while it might happen in I got this from NetGalley to preview.I requested this title because I LOVE Sarah Addison Allen, and I really enjoy magical realism. This one promised both, but sadly, it didn't quite deliver. I'd give it 3.5 stars if I could, because it wasn't all bad, but it just didn't captivate me as much as 4 stars demands.The pitfalls were that the relationship between the two main characters felt a bit contrived...there was a lack of foundation and just a general "attraction" that, while it might happen in real life, didn't have enough support for fiction. Also, I found the POV chapters of Eva, a somewhat minor character, a bit distracting overall. The names were a tad hard to wrap my head around, especially the constantly changing nicknames of the child, Sebastian. It was just overdone. The "magical realism" elements were just a tad underdone, and I felt that they didn't carry enough zing to propel the story into the magical realism arena. On the upside, I did finish the story because I did care enough about the characters, and I also enjoyed learning more about the care of an apple orchard (which is central to the book). So, overall, not bad but not a favorite. May or may not pick up another by this author.
    more
  • Leigh Kramer
    March 19, 2017
    Review to come.Disclosure: I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
  • Rebekah Bryan
    March 11, 2017
    It's always fun reading about Wisconsin hot spots in Amy's books. This one made me want to get back to Door County ASAP. I wasn't quite as invested in this story as Amy's other two, but I'm not sure why. I don't think I related to Sanna as much, but Isaac was pretty dreamy! His relationship with Bass was very touching and his affection for Sanna was apparent. The end was very satisfying and left me with warm fuzzies.
    more
  • Cricket
    January 7, 2017
    5/16/2017
  • Haley
    May 3, 2017
    Review to come soon.
  • Debbie Krenzer
    May 2, 2017
    I had a really hard time adjusting to the prickliness of the main character of this book, Sanna. She wore anger like her favorite outfit. She was not approachable, and believe me, no one wanted to. That is until Isaac and his son, Bass show up at her family's orchard. Thankfully Sanna starts to soften and seems to become human again. And lo and behold, she can and is a nice person. I have no idea how Isaac saw this at the beginning when he met her, but he was stricken with her. SMH.This was a ve I had a really hard time adjusting to the prickliness of the main character of this book, Sanna. She wore anger like her favorite outfit. She was not approachable, and believe me, no one wanted to. That is until Isaac and his son, Bass show up at her family's orchard. Thankfully Sanna starts to soften and seems to become human again. And lo and behold, she can and is a nice person. I have no idea how Isaac saw this at the beginning when he met her, but he was stricken with her. SMH.This was a very enjoyable read after I got through these quirky character's different emotions and personalities. It's a story about family, about finding love and there is even a mystery involved. Simply put, you will need tissues in order to finish this book, but it is worth it. An interesting story with an interesting ensemble. Truly entertaining and enjoyable.Thanks to Gallery, Threshold and Pocket Books for approving my request and to Net Galley for providing me with a free e-galley in exchange for an honest, unbiased review.
    more
  • Bibbidi Bobbidi Babs (BROOKLYN'S HERE)
    April 30, 2017
    RTC
Write a review