The Noble Servant (A Medieval Fairy Tale, #3)
She lost everything to an evil conspiracy . . . but that loss may just give her all she ever wanted.Since meeting Steffan, the Duke of Wolfberg, at Thornbeck Castle, Lady Magdalen has not been able to stop thinking about him. She knows—as a penniless lady with little to offer in terms of a dowry—she has no real hope of marrying such a highly titled man, so it comes as a great surprise when she receives a letter from him, asking for her hand in marriage.But all is not what it seems at Wolfberg Castle. Steffan has been evicted by his scheming uncle, and his cousin has taken over the title of duke. Left for dead, Steffan is able to escape, and disguised as a shepherd, hopes to gain entry to the castle to claim the items that will prove he is the true Duke of Wolfberg.Journeying to the castle, Magdalen has no idea what awaits her, but she certainly did not expect her loyal maidservant to turn on her. Forcing Magdalen to trade places with her, the servant plans to marry the duke and force Magdalen to tend the geese.Without their respective titles—and the privileges that came with them—Steffan and Magdalen are reunited in the shepherd’s field. Together they conspire to get back their rightful titles. But they must hurry . . . or else they risk losing it all to the uncle’s evil plan.

The Noble Servant (A Medieval Fairy Tale, #3) Details

TitleThe Noble Servant (A Medieval Fairy Tale, #3)
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseMay 9th, 2017
PublisherThomas Nelson
ISBN0718026608
ISBN-139780718026608
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreHistorical Fiction, Christian Fiction, Christian, Romance, Young Adult, Fantasy, Fairy Tales, Historical, Fairy Tale Retellings, Medieval

The Noble Servant (A Medieval Fairy Tale, #3) Review

  • Alyssa
    January 23, 2017
    I actually really enjoyed this one! I think this may be the best MD book I've read so far.
  • Julie Carpenter
    March 13, 2017
    I love the story of The Goose Girl and didn't realize that was what this book was about. I'd previously read and listened to (multiple times) "The Goose Girl" by Shannon Hale and absolutely loved it! This was a fun retelling by another favorite author and it did not disappoint! This one is more of a Christian fiction than Hale's retelling but I loved how it was done. I'll post my full review when it gets closer to the release date! I can't wait for Melanie Dickerson fans to read it. Content: Cle I love the story of The Goose Girl and didn't realize that was what this book was about. I'd previously read and listened to (multiple times) "The Goose Girl" by Shannon Hale and absolutely loved it! This was a fun retelling by another favorite author and it did not disappoint! This one is more of a Christian fiction than Hale's retelling but I loved how it was done. I'll post my full review when it gets closer to the release date! I can't wait for Melanie Dickerson fans to read it. Content: Clean, some fighting and a couple deaths but nothing graphic. Characters talk about God and pray several times asking for his help and guidance. I received an ARC from the Publisher, Thomas Nelson, via NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions in the review are my own. Happy Reading!!!
    more
  • Cara Putman
    March 14, 2017
    This book is a sweet step back in time to medieval Germany. Magdalen has been forced from her rightful position by a servant and now works as a goose girl. The duke has also lost his position. Together they must try to save their positions so they can save their countries. The plot has threads of danger, romance, and intrigue. It was a sweet story, and one I enjoyed. It is also a retelling of a Grimm tale I wasn't familiar with. Perfect for teen readers and those who enjoy a great story.
    more
  • Crystal (Books Are Sanity!!!)
    March 9, 2017
    The Noble Servant by Melanie DickersonThis story grabs the reader immediately and pulls them straight into the medieval era and Magdalen's life. Dickerson possesses magic in her fingertips because she weaves such a spellbinding tale that the reader cannot put it down! Magdalen's character drew me in with her sweet disposition and her kind and beautiful heart. I had no idea how she would resolve her situation but I knew she would persevere somehow because she never gave up. Her kindness towards o The Noble Servant by Melanie DickersonThis story grabs the reader immediately and pulls them straight into the medieval era and Magdalen's life. Dickerson possesses magic in her fingertips because she weaves such a spellbinding tale that the reader cannot put it down! Magdalen's character drew me in with her sweet disposition and her kind and beautiful heart. I had no idea how she would resolve her situation but I knew she would persevere somehow because she never gave up. Her kindness towards others and her faith in God made for a heroine that all women would want to be like. My heart was pumping with adrenaline for all of the precarious situations she and Steffan found themselves in! And man was Steffan handsome, he would make any girl swoon with his good looks and chivalrous personality! Dickerson has done it again with The Noble Servant! She transported me to another time and place to where I forgot my world completely and became entrenched in Magdalen's! Bravo for a beautifully written Christian medieval tale! Five stars and I cannot wait for whatever Dickerson writes next! I received a copy of this via Netgalley and I was under no obligation to review it.
    more
  • Shahzoda (PlatinumWriter)
    February 8, 2017
    I Received this ARC from Thomas Nelson Fiction via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. And trust me, this review will be brutally honest. Now, I hate writing scathing reviews almost as much as I like reading them but I’ve learned that in life, sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do. I didn’t find The Noble Servant to my liking and I feel like I have to justify my reasoning, seeing as there are many positive reviews for this book. First of all, I think I may have started reading it on t I Received this ARC from Thomas Nelson Fiction via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. And trust me, this review will be brutally honest. Now, I hate writing scathing reviews almost as much as I like reading them but I’ve learned that in life, sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do. I didn’t find The Noble Servant to my liking and I feel like I have to justify my reasoning, seeing as there are many positive reviews for this book. First of all, I think I may have started reading it on the wrong foot and with completely skewed expectations. You see, I didn’t really know the author and so thought I was getting a book like Shannon Hale’s The Goose Girl. I mean come on, look at the cover. However, as I read through the first chapter, I felt a little cheated. It wasn’t awful but it wasn’t what I was expecting. Instead of this: I got this:I can’t even find the right words to convey my disappointment, seeing as The Goose Girl is one of my favorite books and this one didn’t even come close to it. But, being the mature person that I am, I reeled in my despair and decided to give Melanie Dickerson a fair trial. I even checked out two of her other books, The Captive Maiden and The Beautiful Pretender. I liked the latter the best out all three because of the interesting premise but it still wasn't the epitome of a great story. I tried. I really, really tried but I could not get into this book.The characters were all flat, the plot was all flat, and the writing was all flat and I don’t just mean flat because they were all squished in between the pages of a 300-page book. No, no, NO!I liked Magdalen in The Beautiful Pretender but in this book, she seemed to have lost that vital whatever it was that made her an interesting character in the other book. Maybe it was too much screen page time, I don’t know. She was contradictory in the worst sense of the word. See, she wants to help her people but she doesn’t seem to have a problem looking down on servants and animals. I kept hoping Magdalen would be like Ani from The Goose Girl who had a horse, whom she adored, and who actually connected to the geese and befriended the servants, instead of look down upon them, but that never happened with Magdalen. It felt like the author couldn't decided who Magdalen was. Either she's a nice person or not, because sometimes Melanie Dickerson tried hard to make her pitiable and compassionate and then I turned the page only to find Magdalen thinking about hanging people and stabbing people in their sleep. And don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind when the characters have a little blackness in their heart but it just wasn’t executed properly in this book.Then there was Steffan. Oh Steffan. I wanted to like him, very much, but alas, it was not meant to be. He fell into the same trap as Magdalen and that was annoying, self-contradictory behavior of I’m innocent and Off with their heads and I wuv her but I kant mavvy her. Boohoo, is that all you care about? Also, neither of the protagonists acted like well-educated individuals. The readers were just told that they were. Other characters were very simple caricatures of villains and servants. I didn’t care for any of them, except maybe Lenhart. I wanted to say I wish there was more of him in the book but I’m afraid that would just ruin him just as it ruined Magdalen. Ok, as for the plot. I think it was a good idea, a great one actually but I wished it was executed better. Like, why were the villains so obviously evil and stupid? Hazen and Elrich, I’m looking at you. I can’t tell you what they did because I don’t want to be spoilering my review but it was so far out of the realm of believable that I couldn’t find any cares to give for the protagonists. Like come on, there are so many loopholes in the villains’ master plans that I’m surprised they got as far as they did. Maybe that’s why the story felt like it was dragging. The villains were so clearly bad at their jobs that the author had to keep coming up with boring and lazy ways to stop the characters from achieving their goals. (view spoiler)[I'd rather not plague this review with spoilers, sorry, but if you read the book you'll see what I mean. (hide spoiler)]And finally, we come to the writing. It was simplistic and read like a book for children. The descriptions were vague, as in I couldn’t imagine the world the story was taking place in. And the dialogue was redundant and halting and sometimes it didn’t even seem to matter to the story. Also there were too many German words without translation. Now, I like the inclusion of another language, but please be kind enough to translate it, instead of making the readers guess at it and interrupting the flow of the story. In the end, I didn’t care for the book nor for Magdalen and Steffan. The only reason it got two stars from me and not one is because of the premise. It was really, really good, but unfortunately, everything else couldn’t hold up the weight of all that potential. And there was potential.
    more
  • Karen
    February 17, 2017
    Another creative romantic adventure tale set in Medieval Germany! Following closely on the heels of The Beautiful Pretender, this story starts out in 1365 in the Barony of Mallin, a neighboring kingdom of Thornbeck. Loosely based on the Grimm fairy tale, The Goose Girl, the heroine in this tale suffers betrayal and danger, leaving her alone and vulnerable in desperate circumstances. A perfect set up for a hero. Only the man she hoped would rescue her is in the same boat. True valor, good charac Another creative romantic adventure tale set in Medieval Germany! Following closely on the heels of The Beautiful Pretender, this story starts out in 1365 in the Barony of Mallin, a neighboring kingdom of Thornbeck. Loosely based on the Grimm fairy tale, The Goose Girl, the heroine in this tale suffers betrayal and danger, leaving her alone and vulnerable in desperate circumstances. A perfect set up for a hero. Only the man she hoped would rescue her is in the same boat. True valor, good character--chivalrous and faithful--cannot be hidden for long though, and together the pair find hope in the midst of their dark situation. Magdalan is a sweet character, and her goodness humbles everyone around her. Steffan would have had to been blind to not notice her--she totally stands out. He needs a little work on his communication skills though. Don't we all? Some extra action and developing romance towards the last half made this a more engaging read later on. I wasn't sure where this pair would actually end up. Recommend for readers who enjoy clean historical romances with a bit of adventure and faith. Can be read as a stand alone, but it helps to read The Beautiful Pretender first to understand overlapping characters. (An e-book was provided by NetGalley and the publisher. All opinions are my own.)
    more
  • Kara
    March 24, 2017
    my rating is 3.5will post my review in April, closer to release day :)
  • kerrycat
    February 27, 2017
    (Romantic Times Book Reviews, May edition, four and a half stars, top pick: https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...)The Goose Girl, a little retold fairy tale, sparkles in Dickerson’s hands, with endearing characters and a charming setting that will appeal to teens and adults alike. Magdalen and Steffan are adorably sweet together as they discover not just a love between them, but a strength in their relationship and their shared faith that makes their story a delightful addition to this series (Romantic Times Book Reviews, May edition, four and a half stars, top pick: https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...)The Goose Girl, a little retold fairy tale, sparkles in Dickerson’s hands, with endearing characters and a charming setting that will appeal to teens and adults alike. Magdalen and Steffan are adorably sweet together as they discover not just a love between them, but a strength in their relationship and their shared faith that makes their story a delightful addition to this series.Lady Magdalen is surprised when the Duke of Wolfberg sends for her with an offer of marriage, but her happiness is cut short when she is overtaken by her maid during their travels and threatened with violence if she does not switch identities with the girl. Upon their arrival, her maid, posing as Magdalen, insists that Magdalen be given the most menial of jobs, and she becomes the goose girl. The duke, Steffan, is nearly killed by his uncle’s men on his way home from studying in Prague, and must hide his identity upon his return, watching in frustration as his cousin claims to be the duke. Posing as a shepherd, he meets the goose girl, and they recognize each other from a meeting two years before. Determined to claim their rightful positions, they put their trust in God, but will it be enough to save not only their titles, but their very lives?
    more
  • Katie Clark
    January 27, 2017
    Another lovely story by Melalnie Dickerson! This one moved at a slower pace than some of her other stories, but the love story was natural and sweet, and one I enjoyed watching unfold. You cannot go wrong with a Melanie Dickerson fairy tale retelling! If you're a fan of her other novels you will definitely want to add this one to your collection.
    more
  • Susan K
    February 24, 2017
    Romance, clean, Christian elements.This was more of a 3.5 for me as a reader, but rounded up because it was still very intricately detailed. Definitely more cute than serious period, but that being said, it was still a fun read. Magdalen and Steffan's story is part of this Medieval story series, but it is a standalone read. Magdalen's kind and tender heart, her willingness to stand for others as they face evil and cruelty attract the eye of Steffan. Both are hiding their real identities, and bot Romance, clean, Christian elements.This was more of a 3.5 for me as a reader, but rounded up because it was still very intricately detailed. Definitely more cute than serious period, but that being said, it was still a fun read. Magdalen and Steffan's story is part of this Medieval story series, but it is a standalone read. Magdalen's kind and tender heart, her willingness to stand for others as they face evil and cruelty attract the eye of Steffan. Both are hiding their real identities, and both fall for each other in disguise. Things conspire against them, and they are compelled to join together to fight the evil that is hurting both them and their loved ones and servants. Lovely fall, sweet and tender feelings, create the magic in this story. My wish for stronger side characters, and maybe more true to historical norms (view spoiler)[(would they really have been able to sleep in the same room/same cave without a chaperone, and not have her reputation ruined?)/(view spoiler)[ All in all, still a fun read, with sincere and honest hearts and characters, and one that would appeal to a wide variety of ages who are willing to suspend their disbelief a bit. (hide spoiler)] (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Tanya Grech Welden
    March 1, 2017
    Unfortunately this was a disappointing read. The author did not succeed in capturing the essence of the period depicted. The Christian undertones to the story, while not bothering me, failed to reflect the true context of the story (which was supposed to be Catholic...it actually felt very Christian fundamentalist). Overall this made the story feel inauthentic.Overall, I was not convinced by the plot and this was not aided by a narration that was lackluster at best, and sloppy at its worst.
    more
  • mclara
    February 14, 2017
    The Goose Girl is one of my favorite fairy tail stories and I was very excited when I saw that Melanie Dickerson would be writing a retelling.She did a fantastic job, as usual!The book is filled with enough tension that makes it impossible to put down. I was curious to see how Magdalen and Steffan would eventually find their happy ending, considering that at least one part was pretty much aloof towards the other.I adored Magdalen from the start. But I was surprised at how Steffan didn't call my The Goose Girl is one of my favorite fairy tail stories and I was very excited when I saw that Melanie Dickerson would be writing a retelling.She did a fantastic job, as usual!The book is filled with enough tension that makes it impossible to put down. I was curious to see how Magdalen and Steffan would eventually find their happy ending, considering that at least one part was pretty much aloof towards the other.I adored Magdalen from the start. But I was surprised at how Steffan didn't call my attention from the start. Quite the contrary... but oh it didn't take long for him to show a noble side. I appreciated the work and transformation the author did with his character.Magdalen and Steffan went through some challenging situations. It seemed like things would never work in their favor and they had enough reason to lose heart. But oh the way they persevered and encouraged each other! They held on to truth and God until the very end. And in the end they found out that the path of obedience and sacrifice, even if a difficult one, is worth it and in the end what you find is love and family. Precious gifts from the above!** Many thanks to the publisher for providing me a copy through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Amy
    February 16, 2017
    The Noble Servant is the third installment from A Medieval Fairy Tale series. I enjoyed this story. Steffan and Magdalen were wonderful characters and loved how they interacted with one another.I thought this book was a pretty good read and recommend it.4 stars
    more
  • Lexi
    January 29, 2017
    This book was flippin' AMAZING!!!! I mean good grief, Charlie Brown! Melanie Dickerson, do not EVER stop writing. I was enthralled with the story from page 1 (as usual). I had never heard of the goose girl story, but I love it. One of my favorite things about Melanie is her ability to emotionally connect me with her characters. I am a sucker for good character development, and this story does not disappoint. Lady Magdalen was such a sweet character, and Stephen was *sigh* swoon worthy. They were This book was flippin' AMAZING!!!! I mean good grief, Charlie Brown! Melanie Dickerson, do not EVER stop writing. I was enthralled with the story from page 1 (as usual). I had never heard of the goose girl story, but I love it. One of my favorite things about Melanie is her ability to emotionally connect me with her characters. I am a sucker for good character development, and this story does not disappoint. Lady Magdalen was such a sweet character, and Stephen was *sigh* swoon worthy. They were both so broken but remained positive through it all. And the gentle romance was so heart wrenching. I would recommend this book to anybody who wants to be captivated by an amazing story and charming characters 5/5 stars for sure* Disclaimer* I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Therese May
    February 6, 2017
    This story was great! I really enjoyed it. Most especially since the kissing and "romance" were kept towards the end of the book when the main characters were actually betrothed. I really loved this and found it very admirable in Mrs. Dickerson keeping up the tension and interest of the reading in the main characters story even while waiting until the right moment for them to kiss. The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale was a book I read as an early teen and I personally loved reading about the girl wor This story was great! I really enjoyed it. Most especially since the kissing and "romance" were kept towards the end of the book when the main characters were actually betrothed. I really loved this and found it very admirable in Mrs. Dickerson keeping up the tension and interest of the reading in the main characters story even while waiting until the right moment for them to kiss. The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale was a book I read as an early teen and I personally loved reading about the girl working with the geese in the fields. When I heard this book was a retelling of the Goose girl, I wondered if it would contain that element. I am happy to report it did! The scenes with the main characters looking after their respective flock and gaggle were some of my favorite parts...and the humor that flowed between them was quite fun to read. Definitely another good read for teens! Ratings (# out of 5) Romance: 4 (This book was actually very clean in my opinion! The only kissing that happened before Steffan and Magdalen were betrothed was kissing on the cheek. There were only about five not super descriptive kisses after they were betrothed.) Violence: 3 (Steffan kills three men throughout the course of the book. Of course in self-defense, and it's not very descriptive at all.)Language: 5 Substance Abuse: 5 (Don't remember any language or substance abuse.)
    more
  • Stacey
    March 3, 2017
    Melanie Dickerson works her story-telling magic again with a character based in the Brothers Grimm fairy-tale, The Goose Girl. Dickerson fans first meet Magdalen of Mallin in The Beautiful Pretender. She is a true friend to Avelina, who ends up marrying the Margrave of Thornbeck. But, two years have past and Magdalen struggles in an unwelcoming home and suffers to watch the people of her land battle poverty. An unexpected invitation to marry the Duke of Wolfberg offers Magdalan a chance to impro Melanie Dickerson works her story-telling magic again with a character based in the Brothers Grimm fairy-tale, The Goose Girl. Dickerson fans first meet Magdalen of Mallin in The Beautiful Pretender. She is a true friend to Avelina, who ends up marrying the Margrave of Thornbeck. But, two years have past and Magdalen struggles in an unwelcoming home and suffers to watch the people of her land battle poverty. An unexpected invitation to marry the Duke of Wolfberg offers Magdalan a chance to improve the state of her home and people. She also hopes the the Duke will remember her from her brief time at Thornbeck and perhaps may come to feel a fondness for her as she has felt for him over the last two years. However, all is not as it would seem in Wolfberg. Magadalen loses her identity, and while caring for some testy geese discovers nothing is as it would seem! This is a delightful young adult tale about identity, faith, self-control, and finding the courage to face the challenges of life even when the outcome may be difficult and painful. Beautiful cover and well written tale - Another good story in the Thornbeck series!I received a complimentary copy of this book from Netgalley.
    more
  • Lucy (That Book Gal)
    March 13, 2017
    It's always so fun to read a Melanie Dickerson book. Every single one is well plotted and well researched and this book is no different. The world built around the story was on point, and the story was full of unforeseen twists and adorable characters. The romance was attraction at first sight but slow burning. It was clear that Melanie Dickerson knew exactly what she was doing in every aspect of the story. The romance was adorable, and Magdalen and Stefan were just so, so perfect for each other It's always so fun to read a Melanie Dickerson book. Every single one is well plotted and well researched and this book is no different. The world built around the story was on point, and the story was full of unforeseen twists and adorable characters. The romance was attraction at first sight but slow burning. It was clear that Melanie Dickerson knew exactly what she was doing in every aspect of the story. The romance was adorable, and Magdalen and Stefan were just so, so perfect for each other! I loved how the "villains" were more than the eye could see, it made them feel more human and all of the characters more accessible.One this I did find though was that Magdalen's perspective seemed to tell more than show, but I only noticed that because I was a writer and I was specifically paying attention because I was a reviewer. As simply a reader, the telling didn't bother me as much.While there were more relatable villains, there was definitely on (the "main" villain, per se) that was just EVIL. like I hated him. Everything he did was selfish or mean. Also I feel like I was supposed to recognize Avelina?? I've read all of the Hagenheim books but I didn't recognize her so maybe I need to reread or just ask a knowledgeable human??? My memory is crap :P (maybe I should pursue different jobs options :/ )But overall this was a really fun story and I loved all the new characters and the high stakes retelling of the goose girl's tale, which isn't often retold. CONTENT GUIDESexual - kissingCussing - noneImbibing - no drugs, no alcohol Violence - threats
    more
  • Nicole
    March 6, 2017
    I received this book from net galley for an honest review. Thank you!!This novel was an enjoyable read. The writing, plot and characters were good. The story brings in romance, betrayal, faith, adventure, and hope.Steffan, the Duke of Wolfberg, has been betrayed by his uncle. His uncle is a greedy man and has tried to kill Steffan. By killing him, his uncle plans to make Alexander, his son, the Duke of Wolfberg. Lady Magdalen is a poor baron's daughter. Her father has died and her mother is crue I received this book from net galley for an honest review. Thank you!!This novel was an enjoyable read. The writing, plot and characters were good. The story brings in romance, betrayal, faith, adventure, and hope.Steffan, the Duke of Wolfberg, has been betrayed by his uncle. His uncle is a greedy man and has tried to kill Steffan. By killing him, his uncle plans to make Alexander, his son, the Duke of Wolfberg. Lady Magdalen is a poor baron's daughter. Her father has died and her mother is cruel to her and blames her for everything. When her mother receives a letter saying the duke of Wolfberg wants to marry Magdalen, her mother sends her immediately. Magdalen met the duke two years ago and has not forgotten him. However, on the way to Wolfberg castle, she is betrayed by her maid Agnes and her father. They force Magdalen to become a servant and threaten her to keep the secret.Steffan finds a way to Wolfberg castle to stop his uncle. He keeps his identity a secret but recognizes Magdalen from two years ago. Both of them have been betrayed and want to get their identities back. Steffan needs to find his portrait that was hidden from his uncle, which would prove his claim. Steffan and Magdalen confide in each other about their true identities and agree to work together. They both protect and help each other. Magdalen has much faith, which shows the strength of her character. She also sees the goodness in people. Her faith and strength help Steffan become a better person. They begin to care for each other and fall in love. Magdalen believes Steffan will not love her because he does not believe in marrying for love, which has to do with his childhood. Magdalen will marry for love but also wants to help her people.However, there are those whom will betray them and spies all around. Why did Steffan's uncle want to have his son marry Magdalen? Will Steffan and Magdalen confess their true feelings before it is too late? Will they both have their true identities confirmed and restored? Read and find out!!
    more
  • Janus Vielle the Erudite Artist
    February 22, 2017
    The best thing about reading Melanie Dickerson's books is that they're so easy to read.
  • Julie
    February 14, 2017
    The Noble Servant is a fairy re-telling of the Goose Girl story. I don't believe I've ever read this story (gasp!) before and as I was reading this book, I didn't have anything to compare it to as other reviewers have. I absolutely love a good fairy tale and this one is no exception. This is the story of Lady Magdalen (I just love that name!!) and Duke Steffan. They are both in the wrong place at the wrong time and things get really messy really fast! Lady Magdalen has her sites set on marrying The Noble Servant is a fairy re-telling of the Goose Girl story. I don't believe I've ever read this story (gasp!) before and as I was reading this book, I didn't have anything to compare it to as other reviewers have. I absolutely love a good fairy tale and this one is no exception. This is the story of Lady Magdalen (I just love that name!!) and Duke Steffan. They are both in the wrong place at the wrong time and things get really messy really fast! Lady Magdalen has her sites set on marrying Duke Steffan and when a letter arrives to her home requesting she come marry him, she jumps at the chance! I mean, who wouldn't want to marry a Duke! On her quest to reach her future husband's home, Magdalen is hijacked by her ladies maid and the maid's father and is demanded to change places with Agnes. Fearing for her life, Lady Magdalen complies and ends up becoming the Goose Girl at the castle. Can she stop the wedding of her ladies maid to the Duke? Whatever will she do? This is the third book in a series of medieval fairy tales. I have not read the other 2 books so I'm not sure if these characters appear in other novels by Melanie Dickerson or not. However, I did not feel like I was missing any pieces by reading a book "out of order". I love Ms. Dickerson's writing style and how she weaves a great story! There is romance, suspense, and even a few comical moments throughout. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it! I did receive a complimentary copy of this book from the publishers via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Becky
    March 7, 2017
    Melanie Dickerson takes ordinary fairy tales and reworks them to make complete novels. She does a masterful job at taking the child-like story and making it an enjoyable narrative for adults to read. Magdalen has been called to Wolfberg to wed the Duke there. She only goes because she wants to better the lives of the people living in her demesne since the copper in her father's mines has played out. Steffen is the Duke, but he's been in Prague going to school and his uncle has been overseeing hi Melanie Dickerson takes ordinary fairy tales and reworks them to make complete novels. She does a masterful job at taking the child-like story and making it an enjoyable narrative for adults to read. Magdalen has been called to Wolfberg to wed the Duke there. She only goes because she wants to better the lives of the people living in her demesne since the copper in her father's mines has played out. Steffen is the Duke, but he's been in Prague going to school and his uncle has been overseeing his land and castle. His uncle calls him home to get married, but. . .The story is set in Germany and puts the The Goose Girl into a setting where she is allowed to bloom and grow even though her identity has been stolen from her. Steffen becomes her ally in this problematic situation because his life was being threatened by his uncle.The Noble Servant is quite a story that is a quick read and hard to put down. I appreciate Melanie's talent in telling the tale and her ability to make it so enjoyable.Five stars, two thumbs up, and a goose-feather quill.My thanks to Thomas Nelson for allowing me to read and review this book.
    more
  • CM
    March 14, 2017
    Melanie Dickerson has crafted another exciting, sweet, and enjoyable story set in medieval Germany. This story is a retelling of The Goose Girl with a little bit of The Prince and the Pauper thrown in, too, so there were plenty of cases of mistaken identity amid all the intrigue, plots, and adventure. The story was a lot of fun!
    more
  • Candace Wondrak
    February 27, 2017
    2 stars. As the Goodreads' star-rating system states: it was okay. I think the book and I just don't get along. There are plenty of other four and five star reviews--so maybe it's just me. I was expecting. More action, more plotting...just more. It wasn't until I already started reading when I happened across its Goodreads' page, and found out it's Christian fiction. Not that there's anything wrong with Christian fiction-there's not! I just like my characters in different shades of grey, 2 stars. As the Goodreads' star-rating system states: it was okay. I think the book and I just don't get along. There are plenty of other four and five star reviews--so maybe it's just me. I was expecting. More action, more plotting...just more. It wasn't until I already started reading when I happened across its Goodreads' page, and found out it's Christian fiction. Not that there's anything wrong with Christian fiction-there's not! I just like my characters in different shades of grey, rather than black and white. Give me morally ambiguous characters. Heroes who aren't afraid of bloodshed. But, it is what it is. The book contains a chaste romance that's sure to make fans of the genre swoon, and a HEA ending that you know is coming. Because i saw that it's Christian fiction, I couldn't sense the danger. The danger of being 'found out' never felt genuine. That, I think, is why I couldn't enjoy the book to its fullest extent. Plus, there was so much "He doesn't love me" and "I'm not marrying for love" talk (or thoughts) from both main characters. Honestly, that got a tad tiring and repetitive. If you're a fan of Christian fiction, I'm almost certain you'll enjoy this. Don't let my two stars sway you. You'll like this book more than I. I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Joan Arning
    March 10, 2017
    Castles, dukes, lords, ladies, conspiracies, dangers, mines and geese are all part of The Noble Servant! Author Melanie Dickerson has written an exciting tale with interesting characters and twists! You will enjoy this medieval story. I read an early copy of this book through Net Galley. This is my honest opinion.
    more
  • Martha
    March 6, 2017
    I try to never go into Melanie Dickerson's books with expectations. For some reason, even though I know that the ones based on fairy tales will be familiar, she never ceases to surpass my expectations I do have. This story, light, fun, but with hints of deeper meaning, spoke to my heart. It reminded me of a story that I had mapped out years ago, but never wrote. I loved the sweet retelling of this fairy tale, with the depth and heart that she has. It is one that young adults and adults will enjo I try to never go into Melanie Dickerson's books with expectations. For some reason, even though I know that the ones based on fairy tales will be familiar, she never ceases to surpass my expectations I do have. This story, light, fun, but with hints of deeper meaning, spoke to my heart. It reminded me of a story that I had mapped out years ago, but never wrote. I loved the sweet retelling of this fairy tale, with the depth and heart that she has. It is one that young adults and adults will enjoy alike. When you are looking for a good book, that will brighten your life, look to buy this one.
    more
  • Susan
    February 21, 2017
    As this is one of my current favorite authors, I was excited to find this pre-release NetGalley title available for my honest review! As it turned out this new book had a great storyline, with a mostly good accumulation of characters, both good and evil. However, it seemed a bit forced to me. The writing seemed in need of further development and/or editing, and the flow was sometimes interrupted. Is Dickerson facing tighter deadlines, forcing a slightly underdeveloped product? Don't get me wrong As this is one of my current favorite authors, I was excited to find this pre-release NetGalley title available for my honest review! As it turned out this new book had a great storyline, with a mostly good accumulation of characters, both good and evil. However, it seemed a bit forced to me. The writing seemed in need of further development and/or editing, and the flow was sometimes interrupted. Is Dickerson facing tighter deadlines, forcing a slightly underdeveloped product? Don't get me wrong, this was still a fun book, but not as fully refined as The Beautiful Pretender - now that is solid and just wonderful. This sequel barely seemed related - Magdalen and sometimes Steffan did not seem like the same characters. Magdalen's mother could have been more developed, and their relationship possibly improved. The conclusion was less developed where Lord Hazen was concerned (and others too) and less satisfying; in fact instead it seemed just an enumeration of who ended up where. Several German phrases in the book could have included an English translation in context for easier understanding. But I loved the goose girl & shepherd connection and it was an interesting twist on The Prince & the Pauper. I love the Christian and faith filled references. The plot was satisfying and entertaining. This was still a fun Melanie Dickerson offering!
    more
  • Tabby Shiflett
    March 1, 2017
    3.5 Stars A loose adaptation of The Goose Girl with Christian elements for tweens and teens. The two MCs are written with flaws that appear to be overcome by the end. I respect that the "good" characters struggle with forgiveness; makes it feel more authentic. The story flows nicely, although there is a small section in the middle that drags just for a moment. I wish the author had gone into more detail about what happened to certain supporting characters after their main part in the story was r 3.5 Stars A loose adaptation of The Goose Girl with Christian elements for tweens and teens. The two MCs are written with flaws that appear to be overcome by the end. I respect that the "good" characters struggle with forgiveness; makes it feel more authentic. The story flows nicely, although there is a small section in the middle that drags just for a moment. I wish the author had gone into more detail about what happened to certain supporting characters after their main part in the story was revealed. For YA readers who like historical romances and fairy tale retellings.Net Galley Feedback
    more
  • Elodie (Readable Mélange)
    February 15, 2017
    I really love Melanie Dickerson's books, and I most definitely intend to read all of her future releases, but The Noble Servant didn't quite cut it for me. It read more like a rough draft of a novel than the completed manuscript. It felt longer than it needed to be to tell the story it was telling, and several subplots were never resolved - most notably Katrin and Agnes.The writing style was not the best either; it tended towards the juvenile side, and whilst the characters were for the most par I really love Melanie Dickerson's books, and I most definitely intend to read all of her future releases, but The Noble Servant didn't quite cut it for me. It read more like a rough draft of a novel than the completed manuscript. It felt longer than it needed to be to tell the story it was telling, and several subplots were never resolved - most notably Katrin and Agnes.The writing style was not the best either; it tended towards the juvenile side, and whilst the characters were for the most part well written, the writing style took away from the effect. The book was also really preachy (more than her previous books that I can recall). I have always appreciated, however, the relatively unbiased portrayal of Catholicism. That's something for which I've always admired Ms Dickerson considering she (I assume, based on her publishers) is Protestant. Whilst I had some beefs with the mechanics of The Noble Servant, I enjoyed the story and the characters of Magdalen and Steffan. I can't wait for Ms Dickerson's next book.I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Anita Ojeda
    January 29, 2017
    The third installment of the Melanie Dickerson's Medieval Fairy Tale collection tells the story of Magdalen, Avaelina's confidant in The Beautiful Pretender. Two years have passed, and Magdalen's family fortunes have fallen further—leaving her with little hope of finding a suitable marriage. When she receives an invitation to come to Wolfberg Castle to marry Steffan, she eagerly accepts. After all, she's thought about him plenty since she first met him at Thornbeck Castle. The opportunity to esc The third installment of the Melanie Dickerson's Medieval Fairy Tale collection tells the story of Magdalen, Avaelina's confidant in The Beautiful Pretender. Two years have passed, and Magdalen's family fortunes have fallen further—leaving her with little hope of finding a suitable marriage. When she receives an invitation to come to Wolfberg Castle to marry Steffan, she eagerly accepts. After all, she's thought about him plenty since she first met him at Thornbeck Castle. The opportunity to escape from her disapproving mother is an added bonus.Along the way, unscrupulous servants conspire against her, leaving her penniless and without hope. When she arrives at Wolfberg Castle, she discovers something foul afoot. Will she ever find true love? Will she ever escape the drudgery of herding geese? Has Staffan really changed so much in two years? Or has something truly evil happened at Wolfberg?You won't want to miss this fast-paced book with well-developed characters who struggle with universal questions about human relationships.
    more
  • Kelly Bridgewater
    February 2, 2017
    Full Review Coming Soon!
Write a review