The Beloved Hope Chest (Amish Heirloom, #4)
In the final installment of the Amish Heirloom series, the Fisher sisters learn the mystery behind their parents’ marriage—and about the sibling who has never been spoken of.Mattie Fisher’s three daughters know that she’s been keeping a secret from them. With each item pulled from the beloved family hope chest, they’ve discovered a new clue about their mother’s past.But there’s a reason Mattie has been keeping her history hidden, and she’s not sure she’s ready to reopen old wounds. Will dredging up the past change the way her children view her? Or her marriage to their father? And can she handle the pain of revisiting the memories that preceded the last few happy decades?Mattie’s story is one of grief and learning to love again. But like the best things preserved in a hope chest, it's a story of love and redemption born out of heartache—and it's past time to share it.

The Beloved Hope Chest (Amish Heirloom, #4) Details

TitleThe Beloved Hope Chest (Amish Heirloom, #4)
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseMay 9th, 2017
PublisherZondervan
ISBN0310341973
ISBN-139780310341970
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreAmish, Christian Fiction, Amish Fiction, Christian, Fiction

The Beloved Hope Chest (Amish Heirloom, #4) Review

  • Lori Parrish
    March 26, 2017
    What a stunning conclusion to this series!!Oh my!!! My breath has just been absolutely taken away!!!Amy has done a fabulous job on this novel. i loved this series from the beginning and yes I would advise reading the first book before this one.Mattie has a secret that she has kept hiding from us since book one.I definitely can relive Mattie's story.I cried because I understood what she was going through. Time is the essence of this book. Grief has no time of when it will it will ever be over. He What a stunning conclusion to this series!!Oh my!!! My breath has just been absolutely taken away!!!Amy has done a fabulous job on this novel. i loved this series from the beginning and yes I would advise reading the first book before this one.Mattie has a secret that she has kept hiding from us since book one.I definitely can relive Mattie's story.I cried because I understood what she was going through. Time is the essence of this book. Grief has no time of when it will it will ever be over. Healing is a process through time. Time is our greatest need.I still miss what I have lost. I wonder every day Why God? What have I done to deserve This? Loss is hard no matter who or what we have lost. Grief is the same. Time has no meaning. Over time it has helped me that this is God's will. Our time on Earth is limited. God knows the hour, day, etc when our time is done.I loved that Amy put in God is our refuge and strength, a time of help in our present time of trouble.I will have to say this, I love this song by Mary McDonald. God is always with us. It is us who leave him. I really don't know what else to say except repeating myself that this is a must read and I strongly recommend this book for people who love reading Amish stories. I believe that this book also shows us that Amish people are no different than us. They suffer loss and grieve just as we do. They make mistakes just like they do.The only difference they try not to live of the world but apart from it. (I think I've got this right). Correct me if I'm wrong.I am going to re-read this series in the future because I enjoyed it so much! Thank you Netgalley for letting me read and review this wonderful book by one of my favorite authors! I received a complimentary copy from Netgalley and was in no way required to review this book. All words are my own
    more
  • Elizabeth
    April 6, 2017
    The Beloved Hope Chest ( Amish Heirloom - Book 4 )By: Amy ClipstonThe Beloved Hope Chest is book four and the final installment of Amish Heirloom series. Fans of Amy Clipston will not be disappointed . I have loved all the stories in this series. I am proud to have read the other books in this series. In The Beloved Hope Chest You will have reference back to the other books. I would advise you to read the books in order. This is Maddie’s story. Maddie has three daughters and they know that their The Beloved Hope Chest ( Amish Heirloom - Book 4 )By: Amy ClipstonThe Beloved Hope Chest is book four and the final installment of Amish Heirloom series. Fans of Amy Clipston will not be disappointed . I have loved all the stories in this series. I am proud to have read the other books in this series. In The Beloved Hope Chest You will have reference back to the other books. I would advise you to read the books in order. This is Maddie’s story. Maddie has three daughters and they know that their mother its hiding something from them. The Beloved Hope Chest has secrets of the past. Will Maddie’s daughters ever find out the secrets of behind Maddie’s past? This story is of grief ,redemption, and learning to love again. What is stored in the Beloved Hope Chest that Maddie has kept a secret?I was given a complimentary ARC copy of this book , but was not told that I had to give a positive review. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Cecily Wolfe
    February 15, 2017
    I've been waiting for Mattie's story since the beginning of this series, since hints kept coming during her daughter's stories and I became more and more intrigued. This is the best of the series (which is saying a lot) and I am so sorry to see it end, although it has been a wonderful, hopeful ride. There is a lot of angst and emotion, but without that, the joy wouldn't be as intense when everything works out for the best, with Mattie and Leroy's family as living proof.
    more
  • Deana Dick
    April 12, 2017
    What a beautiful ending to an emotional series. This one really tugged at my heart and I believe it is the authors best book to date. She wrote with such compassion as the characters experienced pain, disappointment grief and loss of trust. When the hope chest is opened we are swept back to a time when Mattie was on top of the world. She slowly began to tell her story that had long been a secret . As the items from her hope chest are revealed her children begin to hear about their mom's past. Is What a beautiful ending to an emotional series. This one really tugged at my heart and I believe it is the authors best book to date. She wrote with such compassion as the characters experienced pain, disappointment grief and loss of trust. When the hope chest is opened we are swept back to a time when Mattie was on top of the world. She slowly began to tell her story that had long been a secret . As the items from her hope chest are revealed her children begin to hear about their mom's past. Is Mattie ready to relive the past? Is the pain still fresh as she begins to share her memories? Mattie was a woman in love . She had found the man she wanted to spend the rest of her life with. But in one instant everything changes for Mattie. She begins to realize her husband has been gone along time. He went to the bank but that was hours ago. A knock on her door will send her into despair and grief. How will she deal with the sudden death of her husband ? I loved how the author showed readers that Amish are just as vulnerable as anyone else when we go to public places. Mattie is told that her husbsnd died a hero but that doesn't make her pain any easier. What will she do now that she is alone and pregnant? I have to say that Leroy was my favorite character. He is a very good , honest and caring man. He has known Maddie since they were kids. Leroy has always loved Maddie but stepped aside when her heart fell for another. He hates to see her in pain and decides to step in and marry her. He wants to do everything he can to help Mattie and the baby she is carrying. Will they be able to handle anymore tragedies? Will Mattie turn to Leroy for support? What a wonderful man Leroy is. He reminded me of my husband so much. We had a lot of problems through out early married life. My husband continued to stand by me and pray for me even when I hurt him emotionally. He showed me what unconditional love was and helped me find my way back to God. This story is about forgiving, trusting God and letting go of the past. I loved how the author used a basket from one of the earlier books in the series. It will play a pivotal role in Mattie and Leroy's relationship. Throughout the book we see how hard it is for Mattie to let anyone in as she griefs . Do we push people away when we are hurting? Do we forget that God is there waiting to comfort us? One of the things I loved the most about this book was how Leroy would not give up. He knew that God had chosen Mattie to be his wife and he held on to that promise. I encourage you to grab some tissues as you read this emotional story of grief and unconditional love. I received a copy of this book from the author. The review is my own opinion.
    more
  • Connie Lynch
    April 3, 2017
    This final chapter in the Amish Heirloom series, The Beloved Hope Chest, by Amy Clipston is by far the most gripping of the 4 books. This books ties everything neatly into a bow and leaves you wishing for more. Mattie Fisher reveals her heart and her family secrets with her daughters and breaks your heart. Amy Clipston brings the characters to life and you know you can reach out and comfort them. This is a real testament of Faith and Love unconditional. If you are a fan of Amish Fiction this ser This final chapter in the Amish Heirloom series, The Beloved Hope Chest, by Amy Clipston is by far the most gripping of the 4 books. This books ties everything neatly into a bow and leaves you wishing for more. Mattie Fisher reveals her heart and her family secrets with her daughters and breaks your heart. Amy Clipston brings the characters to life and you know you can reach out and comfort them. This is a real testament of Faith and Love unconditional. If you are a fan of Amish Fiction this series should be in your stack of must read books. I was honored by receiving this advance copy book as a gift and have chosen to leave this review. Enjoy reading.
    more
  • kerrycat
    January 18, 2017
    (Romantic Times Book Reviews, May edition, four and a half stars, top pick: https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...)Clipston has woven hints of Mattie and Leroy’s history throughout the first three books in this series, leaving her best novel yet to conclude this family’s story of loss, love and hope. Readers will be as captivated as Mattie’s daughters are to discover the tragic secrets of their parents’ past, as well as the love that grew to bind Mattie and Leroy together and create the family (Romantic Times Book Reviews, May edition, four and a half stars, top pick: https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...)Clipston has woven hints of Mattie and Leroy’s history throughout the first three books in this series, leaving her best novel yet to conclude this family’s story of loss, love and hope. Readers will be as captivated as Mattie’s daughters are to discover the tragic secrets of their parents’ past, as well as the love that grew to bind Mattie and Leroy together and create the family they now share.Mattie is discussing baby names one moment, and mourning the death of her husband the next. Isaiah’s heroic actions have saved the life of another, but now leave her pregnant and alone. Leroy, her best friend since childhood, offers marriage and the stability she wants for her baby, and while she is sure they would make a good team, she is certain they will never have a romantic relationship. Leroy has loved her for so long that he can’t help but be patient with Mattie as she struggles to adjust to their married life, but will she ever come to love him as she loved Isaiah?
    more
  • Kelly Tyree
    February 23, 2017
    The Beloved Hope Chest is book #4 in the Amish Heirloom series and it showcases the beginnings of the marriage of Mattie and Leroy Fisher. At the end of book #3, Mattie and Leroy's daughters find Mattie's hope chest. In it they find a onesie and an envelope with a lock of hair in it. Mattie opens this book by sitting her daughter's down and telling them the beautiful story of how she and their father's marriage started.Mattie was married to Isaiah and was expecting their first baby. When he is s The Beloved Hope Chest is book #4 in the Amish Heirloom series and it showcases the beginnings of the marriage of Mattie and Leroy Fisher. At the end of book #3, Mattie and Leroy's daughters find Mattie's hope chest. In it they find a onesie and an envelope with a lock of hair in it. Mattie opens this book by sitting her daughter's down and telling them the beautiful story of how she and their father's marriage started.Mattie was married to Isaiah and was expecting their first baby. When he is suddenly killed, Mattie leans on her best friend Leroy. Leroy determines to take care of Mattie and become a father to her baby. Mattie and Leroy marry. Leroy determines to give Mattie all of the space she needs to heal from her loss and they wait expectantly for Mattie's baby to be born. Leroy has always loved Mattie and love is beginning to grow in Mattie's heart for Leroy. Things change when Mattie suffers another devastating loss. As Mattie goes through yet another period of grief, Leroy is steadfast in his love and support for Mattie. The actions he takes are so heartwarming. The Beloved Hope Chest is a wonderful book that demonstrates love really can conquer. The one great thing about Mattie and Leroy is they asked for God to lead them to each other. They prayed to be the husband and wife God intended them to be. The Beloved Hope Chest was well written and was a perfect end to a great series.
    more
  • Tina
    February 28, 2017
    The Beloved Hope ChestBy Amy Clipston Fans of Amish Fiction and Amy Clipston won’t be disappointed by her newest release, The Beloved Hope Chest, which is also the conclusion to her Amish Heirloom Series. In the story, we get to learn Mattie’s story. Mattie is the mother to the three girls in the first three books of the series: Rachel, Veronica, and Emily. We get to see Mattie as a young wife, expecting her first child, and feel her heartache when everything goes wrong. When she loses her husba The Beloved Hope ChestBy Amy Clipston Fans of Amish Fiction and Amy Clipston won’t be disappointed by her newest release, The Beloved Hope Chest, which is also the conclusion to her Amish Heirloom Series. In the story, we get to learn Mattie’s story. Mattie is the mother to the three girls in the first three books of the series: Rachel, Veronica, and Emily. We get to see Mattie as a young wife, expecting her first child, and feel her heartache when everything goes wrong. When she loses her husband and the love of her life, she marries an old friend so that her child will have a father and she won’t be a burden to her family. Walk with them while they discover how to love each other, live together, and hold each other up through all the rough times. I really enjoyed it because there were so many references to the first three books, including the basket Rachel used when providing meals for Mike’s family in an earlier novel. Clipston does an excellent job of holding you captive and keeping you there while you anxiously turn the page to see what will happen next. I hate to say goodbye to the characters, and hope that, just maybe, we can see them again in a different novel. I received a free copy of this story for my honest review from NetGalley.
    more
  • Maureen Timerman
    March 23, 2017
    This is book four and the final book in the Amish Heirloom Series, and from the first to the last page it does not disappoint. I really could not put this one down, and even though you know the ending from the beginning it was still compelling.Warning you need to have the tissues handy, so much heartache and loss, and yet there is love abounding in this close knit Amish Community. This is the Fisher daughter’s mom’s story, and what a hidden story she has, how it had never come out before is surp This is book four and the final book in the Amish Heirloom Series, and from the first to the last page it does not disappoint. I really could not put this one down, and even though you know the ending from the beginning it was still compelling.Warning you need to have the tissues handy, so much heartache and loss, and yet there is love abounding in this close knit Amish Community. This is the Fisher daughter’s mom’s story, and what a hidden story she has, how it had never come out before is surprising, but the results are the same, and there are three young woman who hear it that are the proof.One cannot comprehend how grief is handled from one person to another, we are all different, and have to come to terms with it as well as we can. You might not think Mattie handles it very well, but we would never know unless we walk in her shoes, and no one would choose to do so. What a kind man Leroy is and he sure wore his heart on his sleeve, and it was there years before Mattie even realized. We know the ending here, and thank goodness, but the path sure wasn’t an easy one. I know I am going to miss this family, and wish there were more to come, but this does wrap up beautifully.I received this book from the Author, and was not required to give a positive review.
    more
  • Carol
    March 18, 2017
    Wonderful wrap up for the series. Amy has a knack for weaving stories together, and this one is no different. So glad that I had read 2 of the 3 books that precede this last book. (I have book 3, coming to my doorstep soon!) Seems these Amish novels all have heartbreaking scenes, as well as interesting facts, forgiveness, grace offered, and just clean, nice stories. Stories of hard working families, all doing their part to keep the family functioning well, from youngest to oldest, they all pitch Wonderful wrap up for the series. Amy has a knack for weaving stories together, and this one is no different. So glad that I had read 2 of the 3 books that precede this last book. (I have book 3, coming to my doorstep soon!) Seems these Amish novels all have heartbreaking scenes, as well as interesting facts, forgiveness, grace offered, and just clean, nice stories. Stories of hard working families, all doing their part to keep the family functioning well, from youngest to oldest, they all pitch in..Only regret, is that there is not a book 5 to read now, and also I will be missing all of these friends that I have shared the good and the bad days with, while reading! Highly recommend this series, as well as her earlier series!
    more
  • Michele Benchouk
    March 7, 2017
    I received an advance copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Netgalley!This book is a beautiful culmination to a story that has been hinted at over the course of the first three books in the series. The story is about Leroy and Mattie -- the parents of the main female characters in the other three books. Throughout the story, we get a deeper understanding of Leroy and Mattie and the Fisher family. The community becomes more three-dimensional as we learn abou I received an advance copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Netgalley!This book is a beautiful culmination to a story that has been hinted at over the course of the first three books in the series. The story is about Leroy and Mattie -- the parents of the main female characters in the other three books. Throughout the story, we get a deeper understanding of Leroy and Mattie and the Fisher family. The community becomes more three-dimensional as we learn about struggles that carried over through time, and how each character's actions reflected truthfully on their history. We even see that in Tillie's story, which is more of a sidebar in this novel. Although The Beloved Hope Chest is part of a series, you don't have to have read the others to understand what is happening. In fact, it might be interesting to start with this one, and view the three other stories with this historical knowledge.The characters are believable and likable, and it is easy to feel their pain. Although there was a lot of "pursuing" and "pushing away" in this book, it didn't feel redundant or unrealistic.This was a quick and enjoyable read, and I finished it in one day. Moreover, it was a satisfying ending to the series. Highly recommended!
    more
  • Becky
    February 20, 2017
    The Beloved Hope Chest is the culmination of a series of books by Amy Clipston and I have to say that she's saved the best for last. While Mattie is explaining the contents of her hope chest to her daughters, Amy has brought about a deeper thought for anyone reading. This book wasn't just a book about two Amish people falling in love, it was about worthiness to receive love. Mattie married Leroy shortly after her husband, Isaiah, died, because she was pregnant and wanted her child to have a fath The Beloved Hope Chest is the culmination of a series of books by Amy Clipston and I have to say that she's saved the best for last. While Mattie is explaining the contents of her hope chest to her daughters, Amy has brought about a deeper thought for anyone reading. This book wasn't just a book about two Amish people falling in love, it was about worthiness to receive love. Mattie married Leroy shortly after her husband, Isaiah, died, because she was pregnant and wanted her child to have a father. After the baby was stillborn, she went into a serious depression--widowed, married, lost child all add up to a serious high on the stress scale. She couldn't see her worthiness to be Leroy's fraa. While I don't think this was Amy's goal in writing this book, she has presented a picture of us as Christians, especially those of us who do not see ourselves as being worthy. God sees us through the sacrifice of Jesus Christ and in Amy's book, Mattie has to learn to see herself through Leroy's eyes to find her worth. This is one of the most endearing books I've read by Amy. Her characters and plot lines resonate through me and bring about a new appreciation for the God we serve, and the sacrifice of His Son. Absolutely a Five Star book, with two thumbs up, and a coffee cake to munch on while you read.My thanks to Zondervan Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book.
    more
  • Teresa Kander
    March 1, 2017
    This is a wonderful wrap-up to this series. I've been curious about Mattie's story since we started getting clues about it in the other books. Reading what she and Leroy went through at the beginning of their marriage, and the journey to make things right, is very emotional--so make sure you have your tissues handy as you read.I have to admit to getting frustrated with Mattie's actions more than once, but her grieving is just that, her grieving....we all handle it differently, and we can't know This is a wonderful wrap-up to this series. I've been curious about Mattie's story since we started getting clues about it in the other books. Reading what she and Leroy went through at the beginning of their marriage, and the journey to make things right, is very emotional--so make sure you have your tissues handy as you read.I have to admit to getting frustrated with Mattie's actions more than once, but her grieving is just that, her grieving....we all handle it differently, and we can't know how we would react to losing not just one, but two people who meant the world to us in such a short time.Leroy is strong, loving and compassionate, and he goes beyond the call of duty with his attempts to reach Mattie's heart through her grief and depression.This book, and this entire series, reinforces my love of Amy Clipston's writing.
    more
  • Patty Champion
    February 27, 2017
    I really enjoyed the conclusion to this series. It was perfect . I loved how when Mattie started telling her story how she went into the past and stayed there until the end, Mattie and Leroy had a rough start but Leroy persisted and showed Mattie what love was all about.
    more
  • Tish
    February 1, 2017
    This is the last book in this series. It tells the story of the Fishers mother and the child she had lost so many years ago. The sisters find some things in a Hope Chest and question there Mother (Mattie ) about them. Mattie tells her daughters the story behind them. She tells her daughters about her marriage to her first husband and how he was killed saving a women from a abusive husband. She tells them about her being pregnant with his child and struggling his death and not knowing where she a This is the last book in this series. It tells the story of the Fishers mother and the child she had lost so many years ago. The sisters find some things in a Hope Chest and question there Mother (Mattie ) about them. Mattie tells her daughters the story behind them. She tells her daughters about her marriage to her first husband and how he was killed saving a women from a abusive husband. She tells them about her being pregnant with his child and struggling his death and not knowing where she and the newborn would live. She tells them about her childhood friend Leroy,their Father asking her to marry him and he would take care of her and the child.. This book is the story of Leroy and Mattie's struggle with their marriage and also the lost of the child. Will Leroy's love for Mattie be enough to hold them together? A beautiful story about loss and love being found again. Read this for a honest review.
    more
  • Vicky Sluiter
    April 6, 2017
    I’ve enjoyed every book in this series, but this is my absolute favorite. Author Amy Clipston showcases her writing gift in this one!In The Beloved Hope Chest we revisit the Fisher family. The daughters search for the answer to the secret their mother is hiding but is it worth pursuing? The secret involves pain as they learn that their family isn’t what they thought. Will Mattie be able to finally let go of the past? As the story unfolds, so does the theme of grace, love, and forgiveness. Join o I’ve enjoyed every book in this series, but this is my absolute favorite. Author Amy Clipston showcases her writing gift in this one!In The Beloved Hope Chest we revisit the Fisher family. The daughters search for the answer to the secret their mother is hiding but is it worth pursuing? The secret involves pain as they learn that their family isn’t what they thought. Will Mattie be able to finally let go of the past? As the story unfolds, so does the theme of grace, love, and forgiveness. Join other reads one last time for an emotional, love filled journey with the Fisher family.
    more
  • Tina
    April 11, 2017
    Excerpt“A knock on the front door interrupted their conversation. "I wonder what that is" Lizanne said. Mattie followed her sister to the front door. Lizanne pulled it open and crisp February air flooded the warm house as two police officers stood on the front porch.”My ThoughtsMattie is overjoyed to be expecting her first child with, her husband, Isaiah. At only three months along, she was incredibly happy with her life, and could not wait to be a mother. This elated feeling was sadly short liv Excerpt“A knock on the front door interrupted their conversation. "I wonder what that is" Lizanne said. Mattie followed her sister to the front door. Lizanne pulled it open and crisp February air flooded the warm house as two police officers stood on the front porch.”My ThoughtsMattie is overjoyed to be expecting her first child with, her husband, Isaiah. At only three months along, she was incredibly happy with her life, and could not wait to be a mother. This elated feeling was sadly short lived. With a knock on her door one dreadful, cold, Saturday night in February, Mattie’s life would change, forever. When I sat down to write my review on, The Beloved Hope Chest I was not sure where to start. From the moment I opened this book, I was flooded with emotion. I knew this was going to be one of the best stories Amy Cliptson has written, and I was eager to continue. It is difficult to put into words, how deeply this story touched my heart. It made me reflect on my own life and circumstances, and made me give thanks to the Lord, for all the blessings He has given to my family over the years. This story is a good reminder that we will never know much time we have with our loved ones, we must learn to cherish and love them every day. I was given a copy of this book to give my opinion and review which I have provided above.
    more
  • Sarah
    March 27, 2017
    If you have never read any of the books from the Heirloom series, you are seriously missing out. If you are an avid amish reader, this series is for you! If you have never read an amish book in your life, don't worry, this series and book still is for YOU! The Beloved Hope Chest is by far my favorite book to date that Ms. Clipston has written. Imagine your married to one man for the rest of your life when an accident takes him and your world is turned upside down. Then, you not only lose him, bu If you have never read any of the books from the Heirloom series, you are seriously missing out. If you are an avid amish reader, this series is for you! If you have never read an amish book in your life, don't worry, this series and book still is for YOU! The Beloved Hope Chest is by far my favorite book to date that Ms. Clipston has written. Imagine your married to one man for the rest of your life when an accident takes him and your world is turned upside down. Then, you not only lose him, but something else so precious and dear to you. This is a story of grief, faith, love, forgiveness and redemption. It is a story where we see how God is working even when we do not always see the full story or what He is doing, but we know He has a good plan. This book will make you laugh, cry and you'll be rooting for Leroy! Although this is part of a series, it can be read as a stand alone, but I highly recommend reading the entire series, you won't regret it. This book has me still thinking on certain days as I am so deeply connected with the character of Mattie. Thank you to author for providing me an ARC copy. A positive review was not required. I give this book 5/5 stars. The opinions expressed here are my own.
    more
  • Deanna Stevens
    April 11, 2017
    This book just grabbed my heart and really touched me. We just celebrated the early arrival of twin grandchildren and my heart just ached as I read this story. "It’s a story of love and redemption born out of heartache" describes this story exactly. Get this one.. Amy Clipston will quickly become one of your favorite authors too!
    more
Write a review