Julia Defiant (Witch's Child, #2)
Fans of The Rose Society, Graceling, and Six of Crows will thrill to the masterful world-building and fiercely flawed heroine in this heart-pounding follow-up to Julia Vanishes, book two in the Witch s Child trilogy. Adventure, murder, romance, intrigue, and betrayal with a 16-year-old heroine that is both fierce and flawed at the same time. Hypable.com Julia and a mismatched band of revolutionaries, scholars, and thieves have crossed the world searching for a witch. But for all the miles traveled, they are no closer to finding Ko Dan. No closer to undoing the terrible spell he cast that bound an ancient magic to the life of a small child. Casimir wants that magic will happily kill Theo to extract it and every moment they hunt for Ko Dan, Casimir s assassins are hunting them. Julia can deal with danger. The thing that truly scares her lies within. Her strange ability to vanish to a place just out of sight has grown: she can now disappear so completely that it s like stepping into another world. It s a fiery, hellish world, filled with creatures who seem to recognize her and count her as one of their own. So . . . is Julia a girl with a monster lurking inside her? Or a monster wearing the disguise of a girl? If she can use her monstrous power to save Theo, does it matter? In this riveting second book in the Witch s Child trilogy, Catherine Egan goes deep within the heart of a fierce, defiant girl trying to discover not just who but what she truly is. Praise for Julia Vanishes: Egan s debut novel sparkles. A beautifully rendered world and exquisite sense of timing ensure a page-turning experience. Publishers Weekly, starred review Readers will find themselves immediately immersed in the narrative and invested in the fate of Julia, who is both feisty and flawed. Booklist, starred review Julia s a wonderful, fully realized heroine. . . . For those readers waiting for the sequel to Marie Lu s The Rose Society, a well-realized page-turner in the same vein. Kirkus"

Julia Defiant (Witch's Child, #2) Details

TitleJulia Defiant (Witch's Child, #2)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherKnopf Books for Young Readers
Number of pages464 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Paranormal, Witches

Julia Defiant (Witch's Child, #2) Review

  • Vicki
    April 18, 2017
    **thanks to Penguin Random for the ARC**Gah, okay. I had high hopes for this one. The first book in this series started pretty slow for me, but really picked up in the end, so I was thinking we were going to follow that vibe into Julia Defiant. Sadly, I had the same problem read this as I did Julia Vanishes. I felt like so much of this book was just filler and nothing really progressed. Until the last 50 or so pages I felt like the plot didn't move. I enjoyed the ending and there were some great **thanks to Penguin Random for the ARC**Gah, okay. I had high hopes for this one. The first book in this series started pretty slow for me, but really picked up in the end, so I was thinking we were going to follow that vibe into Julia Defiant. Sadly, I had the same problem read this as I did Julia Vanishes. I felt like so much of this book was just filler and nothing really progressed. Until the last 50 or so pages I felt like the plot didn't move. I enjoyed the ending and there were some great moments throughout, Egan's writing style certainly has matured. I'm invested in the story now, so I will continue on with the series. I really do enjoy some the characters, and I'm eger to see where Egan takes them. But, here's hoping the next book won't make me question why I'm reading 300 pages of filler to get to 50 pages of action and plot development.
    more
  • ☘Tara Sheehan☘
    February 11, 2017
    This is the second in the Witch Child Series, a sequel to Julia Vanishes, by Catherine Egan. Despite it being part of the same series and by the same author the writing style is different which is a good thing because it shows Egan stretching her literary legs proving she’s got more than the one book in her bag of tricks. You have to love a female teenage heroine who has been created to adeptly handle what life keeps throwing at her. It’s wonderful when an author shows a girl fighting for hersel This is the second in the Witch Child Series, a sequel to Julia Vanishes, by Catherine Egan. Despite it being part of the same series and by the same author the writing style is different which is a good thing because it shows Egan stretching her literary legs proving she’s got more than the one book in her bag of tricks. You have to love a female teenage heroine who has been created to adeptly handle what life keeps throwing at her. It’s wonderful when an author shows a girl fighting for herself rather than playing the helpless victim in need of a guy to fight all her battles. It’s even better when it’s a teenager so young girls can be reminded of the power they have inside. It moves at a much faster pace with tons of action packed scenes so it made for a very quick read, shorter chapters also gave the illusion of blowing through it quicker than I did with the first. Her scene development is much better in this one as she has provided much more details about the world the characters live in so you get a better feel for the shape their lives take. Even through all the positives it still has a bit of a feel of being a ‘sandwich’ book; you know kind of like Two Towers from Lord of the Rings. The early foundation has been set but you have to string some of the story along before you can get to the juicy meat of the conclusion. It’s not a bad thing because you obviously can’t appreciate the conclusion without understanding the journey. Egan has some true writing talent by being able to juggle multiple stories and subplots but making them all feel equally important and fulfilled. Too often when authors try this there ends up being plot holes, inconsistencies or characters contradicting each other. Thankfully she managed to escape the pitfalls by writing a well thought out book.Very much looking forward to her third book so I can see where she’s taking us on this journey full of exciting escapades, passion and secrecy.
    more
  • TJ Burns
    February 19, 2017
    I received a copy of this book from Random House Children's Books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
  • Owen
    January 14, 2017
    "There's fear, yes, but something else too, something I can't quite name — a sort of quivering thrill, like that feeling when you stand at the edge of a high ledge and you almost think you might step off it just to see what it's like to fall"4.5/5 stars, rounded up because this series is just way too good.This book's got a little bit of a different feel to it. The chapters are all much shorter, for one, so for the most part it feels like you're just getting quick snapshots of the action rather t "There's fear, yes, but something else too, something I can't quite name — a sort of quivering thrill, like that feeling when you stand at the edge of a high ledge and you almost think you might step off it just to see what it's like to fall"4.5/5 stars, rounded up because this series is just way too good.This book's got a little bit of a different feel to it. The chapters are all much shorter, for one, so for the most part it feels like you're just getting quick snapshots of the action rather than the all-encompassing whirlwind that characterized Julia Vanishes. Nevertheless, Egan makes it work, and I thought the world-building in Tianshi, while much different than Spira City, was still extremely well done. For what, in the end, ended up as a huge, 440-page build-up for book three, I'm still in awe of the intricacies Egan put in to this story, with several different sub-stories all unraveling as the book progressed, each complementing the whole.Fuller review coming closer to the release.
    more
  • Megmar
    December 11, 2016
    Love that cover reveal!
  • CrazyAboutBooks
    April 11, 2017
    3 StarsAn ARC was provided for me through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.You shouldn't read this book, if you haven't read Julia Vanishes yet.This book was actually better than the first book, which was probably because Catherine didn't have to focus too much on worldbuilding and building up the characters anymore. The plot was definitively less boring.But I have to say, that I still couldn't connect to the characters and therefore I didn't really care about them.Julia's powers are m 3 StarsAn ARC was provided for me through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.You shouldn't read this book, if you haven't read Julia Vanishes yet.This book was actually better than the first book, which was probably because Catherine didn't have to focus too much on worldbuilding and building up the characters anymore. The plot was definitively less boring.But I have to say, that I still couldn't connect to the characters and therefore I didn't really care about them.Julia's powers are more developed in this book, but sadly it wasn't at all appealing to me.I was constantly getting annoyed at her and I rolled my eyes at her actions, that were stupid and reckless at times. And if you can't connect to the protagonist by the second book, I guess this book is not your thing.Another annoying thing were the many retellings of what happened in book one in the first half of the book. Normally it doesn't annoy me, but in this book I groaned every time. And since I just read the first book, it got on my nerves even more.This book is longer than the first book and unfortunately that also means that this book was even more lengthy. The two main plotpoints of this book, finding Ko Dan and getting the magical book out of Theo, dragged until the end of the book. The book was still packed with action, but almost none of it got me excited. Only one scene made me turn the pages, because I wanted to know what will happen next.The romance in this book is only a bit better than in the first book. I get it that Julia isn't completely over Wyn, but that guy doesn't deserve her and I really thought that whatever they had was over in book one, so why do we have to deal with them again? Frederick wasn't really a love interest anymore and so what was the point of him being one in the first book? Julia and the new boy, Jun, surprised me, because they were pretty cute. But sadly I only thought that during a few scenes between them and not all their scenes. You can kinda say, that Julia doesn't have much luck with boys.I just couldn't bring myself to care about the things that happened. Not even when there were surprising plot twist or really bad things happened.We get some answers to the mysteries that that occured in the first book, but those actually only led to more questions, so that part wasn't satisfying at all. Overall the book still deserves 3 Stars, but it's not a book I will ever reread and I won't continue with this book series, not even to find out, why Julia has her powers. I guess I just can't warm up to Catherine's writing style.
    more
  • Karyn Silverman
    April 25, 2017
    So good. I liked the first one but this one was much stronger; the mythology and machinations are fantastic and just get deeper and deeper. Julia is an astoundingly strong character - deeply flawed and so self aware, and I like her so much even though she's not always a good person. The ending was a whole lot of OMG and I really would like the third book now; this volume moved this series from I like to must read territory.
    more
Write a review