Stranger
Warning: Stranger by Robin Lovett is a scorching, intense romance novel featuring an anti-hero out to get revenge against the trust-fund woman whose family destroyed his life. This isn’t supposed to be a love story. This is not the kind of book where a girl gets swept off her feet. Where the hero is her knight in shining armor. This is a novel about ruining someone’s life. But even the simplest plans for revenge can go wrong. I like the way he watches me, this man I don’t know. It’s something I’ll never confess to, never tell a soul. But with one look of those penetrating eyes, I feel as if he’s unwrapped me, turned me inside out, rubbed away at my trust-fund-holding, good-girl exterior until I’m raw and exposed.He looks like he wants to destroy me. Like he wants to obliterate me and my shallow, perfect life until there’s nothing left.And once I meet Logan, the crazy part is, I want him to.***I hate Penny Vandershall.I hate her money and her family and her privilege. I hate her innocence and her smile and her shine. I want to annihilate her lightness and consume her with my darkness, my anger, my red-hot rage until there is nothing left of her.I know the truth about her, the truth that will make it easy to bring her down. To ruin her for good. But through the blinding haze of my hatred, my burning need for revenge, she's starting to get to me. She looks at me in wide-eyed fear, like a girl approaching the tiger’s cage. And yet she refuses to walk away; edging closer until she can meet the beast who wants to rip her apart.And even though I set out to ruin her, she may be the one to destroy me.This is a series of standalones that can be read separately or in this order:Book 1: Stranger, a dark stalker romance Book 2: Deceiver, a dark revenge romanceBook 3: Keeper, a dark captive romance

Stranger Details

TitleStranger
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherSMP Swerve
Number of pages300 pages
Rating
GenreDark, Romance, Contemporary, Suspense

Stranger Review

  • Selene
    June 18, 2017
    3.5 starsGenre: EroticaPOVs: Dual, first-personWhat a pleasant surprise this story turned out to be!Penny Elizabeth Vandershal is a twenty-one year-old NICU nurse who's fighting off depression after her father's recent death. She feels abandoned and isolated in life, despite having an older brother and supportive girl friends. This emotionally black period makes her feel rebellious and needy, and she hungers for anything that will distract her from grieving for the only parent she's ever known. 3.5 starsGenre: EroticaPOVs: Dual, first-personWhat a pleasant surprise this story turned out to be!Penny Elizabeth Vandershal is a twenty-one year-old NICU nurse who's fighting off depression after her father's recent death. She feels abandoned and isolated in life, despite having an older brother and supportive girl friends. This emotionally black period makes her feel rebellious and needy, and she hungers for anything that will distract her from grieving for the only parent she's ever known. Logan Kane quickly becomes that distraction. ◆ This book had the potential to be something great! I loved the synopsis and the idea of this story, but some areas of this book fell a bit short for me.Issues?It took me up until the 38% percent mark to warm up to the main characters and I had to suspend reality for that portion because almost all of the issues I had with this book occurred within that time frame. Some of Penny's doormat-ish behavior and naive decisions made her appear more unintelligent than emotionally unstable, thereby making her more susceptible to being taken advantage of in a sinister way. Also, Logan's inner monologue focused on him being "bad" and having "dark" ways, but there was more telling than showing of any of that. He was just a desperate man who wanted his claims validated by one important person: Penny. (view spoiler)[Logan Kane was trying to blackmail Penny (in the beginning) and she didn't ask for any evidence before marching down to the courthouse with him! She accepted his verbal explanation and didn't seem to think anything through! Common sense and concerns of personal safety took a backseat to her attraction to Logan! (hide spoiler)] Penny was also inconsistent: she felt passionate enough to attack Logan whenever he insulted her father, but she was only a little bit fearful when Logan made his flimsy accusations in order to blackmail her at the start of this story. ◆ This book was NOT dark, but worked very well in a dark-ish fantasy kind of way: a stranger stalks a girl and assumes he can scare her to pieces--anticipates and thrives off that expectation, only to find out that she loves being scared. Despite the issues I had with this story, I still enjoyed it and definitely look forward to reading more from this author! *ARC provided by St. Martin's Press via NetGalley.
    more
  • Aɤɩ
    June 17, 2017
    4 stalker stars Read this review @Readin' Under Street-Lamps So this book was rather intense. Was this the first of its kind for me? No, definitely not. I think I’ve read many books in this theme by now, but this certainly held a certain charm to it. I was captivated, but at the same time, the characters got on my nerves. I think the only proof to that is how long it took me to read it. It took me over 3 days to finish it, and it wasn’t exactly one of those longer books. So yeah.. there were som 4 stalker stars Read this review @Readin' Under Street-Lamps So this book was rather intense. Was this the first of its kind for me? No, definitely not. I think I’ve read many books in this theme by now, but this certainly held a certain charm to it. I was captivated, but at the same time, the characters got on my nerves. I think the only proof to that is how long it took me to read it. It took me over 3 days to finish it, and it wasn’t exactly one of those longer books. So yeah.. there were some problems.Let me make this review rather short and get to the main point- the characters.Penny and Logan were two weird characters. And when I say weird, I don’t say that because one of them is a serial stalker and the other one likes that. Nada. I liked the stalking stuff, but it was the abrupt change in both their behaviors that became an issue for me.Logan made it plenty clear that Penny’s wealth annoyed him. Might I even say that he was jealous of it, because growing up he had none, and he and his sister really had to struggle for money. So yeah, I get that he wants to marry her for her money.. but then what?Excuse my lack of brain cells, my exams just got over, and I’m trying to give my head a rest, but what was Logan’s ultimate plan exactly?He married her, and then planned to take over her trust fund, and then he’d leave with the money. And then?! How the fuck does it get a revenge over Penny’s dead dad who was his sister’s rapist/murderer?! The man’s dead. He never really cared for his children, then why the hell would leaving them kind of poor affect him?Really what the hell were his plans?!OK, I’m confused now.I think other than his questionable revenge plan, my other problem was how quickly everything escalated. One minute he’s stalking her, and then the next they’re married and trying to convince her brother that they are in love and the next he’s threatening her, and the next they’re having wild sex, and then making love and then telling “I love you’s”, and then.. and now I’m confused.The whole book, if I am not wrong happens in the span of 2 weeks. Two measly weeks, and Logan falls in love with a girl who doesn’t value money, when all his life he hated trust-fund babies, and two weeks, and Penny falls in love with the man who scares the shit out of her, and two weeks and everyone is suddenly OK with the fact that Penny’s father had raped and murdered Logan’s sister.It was a sudden fairy tale ending, and I’m sorry, but I hate fairy tale endings, especially when I don’t see the reason for the change.I saw the anger and the hatred, and I saw the love. What I did not however see was the gradual development of feelings. So yeah, a 4 star for that reason.Another thing I had an issue with was how quickly Penny agrees to marry Logan. Dude! I get it, he’s threatening to taint your dead father’s name in the society, but did you even fucking ask to see the proof of what he was talking about!? No! He told her that her father had raped his sister 8 years ago, and that as a retribution, she had to marry him and give him her trust fund, and she agrees?! She literally marries a stranger who is a possible psychopath as far as she knows, on no fucking proof!Besides that, like I already said, I quite enjoyed this book. The story was well written, barring those stuff I told you, and it was somewhat intense. Am I kind of excited for the next book? I’d be lying if I said no. So let’s see what Lovett gives us with Blake then shall we?
    more
  • Sissy's Romance Book Review
    June 11, 2017
    Book Review For: Stranger by Robin Lovett Stranger: A Dark Stalker Romance by Robin Lovett My rating: 4 of 5 stars 'Stranger' by Robin Lovett is book One in the New Series " A Dark Stalker Romance". This is the story of Logan and Penny. Penny just lost her father just a few months ago which she is finding emotionally upsetting. Although they were not that close he was still her father. Her brother though seems to hate their father and doesn't understand her feelings. One day she happens to see a Book Review For: Stranger by Robin Lovett Stranger: A Dark Stalker Romance by Robin Lovett My rating: 4 of 5 stars 'Stranger' by Robin Lovett is book One in the New Series " A Dark Stalker Romance". This is the story of Logan and Penny. Penny just lost her father just a few months ago which she is finding emotionally upsetting. Although they were not that close he was still her father. Her brother though seems to hate their father and doesn't understand her feelings. One day she happens to see a man on her lunch break just standing their looking at her. Penny does nothing but see him again when she gets off this goes on for almost a week before she confronts him. Logan has been watching Penny and waiting for her to approach him. Logan hated Penny's father and now feels like his revenge on her father would have to come through Penny. When he tries to tell her what her father has done she doesn't listen and walks away. But she slowly comes back to him another day to listen. Although she is reluctant to believe him, she does believe his threats to tell the media. Their relationship starts with blackmail but it slowly starts to grow into love and for these two lost soles to come together. Although their story has a happy ending her this book does lead you into the second book with a small tease into that second book.A Dark Stalker Romance:Stranger, Book 1Deceiver, Book 2Keeper, Book 3"My honest review is for a special copy I voluntarily read."https://www.amazon.com/gp/profile/A2H...... http://sissymaereads.blogspot.com/ http://booklikes.com/bloghttps://roma...... https://www.tumblr.com/blog/romancebo... View all my reviews 
    more
  • Christina
    June 4, 2017
    4 Stars - 3 Flames Wowza! I just couldn't put this down. I mean, I TOTALLY knew the entire plot and guessed a few things here and there, but it didn't matter. I was so captivated with "how" it was going to happen that I kept turning those pages until I got what I wanted. And I still want more!!!Penny's dad died a few months ago. She's having a hard time dealing with his death, but something still feels...off. The only thing that doesn't feel off is that fact that there is a really hot guy stalki 4 Stars - 3 Flames Wowza! I just couldn't put this down. I mean, I TOTALLY knew the entire plot and guessed a few things here and there, but it didn't matter. I was so captivated with "how" it was going to happen that I kept turning those pages until I got what I wanted. And I still want more!!!Penny's dad died a few months ago. She's having a hard time dealing with his death, but something still feels...off. The only thing that doesn't feel off is that fact that there is a really hot guy stalking her at work. The way he stares at her, the way his eyes seem to look right through her, all without saying a word. She's dying to speak with him. To find out what he wants. But shouldn't she be scared? Logan sees nothing but red. The red that has vengeance written all over it. Vengeance he's been seeking for years. And now his time has finally come. Penny is in his grasp and he's about to ruin her life just like his life's been ruined. At least...that's the plan. Dark? Eh...some parts of this can be considered dark, so I guess that's why it's in the title. I've read a LOT darker. Nothing sexual is ever forced on to Penny. But there are definite mind games being played. And not just by Logan. The way these two end up craving each other is electric and after reading the anticipation build up, we're not disappointed when we finally get to the good stuff (if you know what I mean). Like I stated earlier, it's not that I didn't figure out how this was going to play out, but the way the author wrote the story, I couldn't help but be intrigued. In fact, I'm super glad that this is just the beginning. Because although I knew where it was going, it's not the end. And I need to find out just how serious Blake is. *I received this book from the Jeep Diva in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Megan
    June 2, 2017
    The first novel by Robin Lovett that I've read, but will definitely not be the last. A unique story that's incredibly well written. Starting book 2 next and am super excited about it! 100% recommend! :)
  • Aresha
    June 2, 2017
    ***Received an advanced reader's copy in exchange for a fair and honest review***I LOVED IT!!! Stranger is a dark stalker romance which I absolutely adored. Logan stares at her from far despising everything she stands for. Despising HER. He's out for revenge and absolutely nothing will stand in his way. Logan feels hate and rage when he's around her but even his quest for revenge can't deny his sexual attraction to Penny. The sex was off the charts HOT! Penny is still grieving the lost of her fa ***Received an advanced reader's copy in exchange for a fair and honest review***I LOVED IT!!! Stranger is a dark stalker romance which I absolutely adored. Logan stares at her from far despising everything she stands for. Despising HER. He's out for revenge and absolutely nothing will stand in his way. Logan feels hate and rage when he's around her but even his quest for revenge can't deny his sexual attraction to Penny. The sex was off the charts HOT! Penny is still grieving the lost of her father and the secrets Logan holds can completely discredit everything she knows. This story was a bit heartbreaking and when I found out why Logan was out for revenge by heart broke a little. With blackmail and a burning hot passion between them, I loved reading and watching them fall in love. Even the preview of the next book got me hooked. I'm totally recommending this book guys!For more reviews check out my blog Aresha's Book Corner @ Areshasbookcorner.simplesite.com 😘
    more
  • The Romance Rebels ~ Julia
    June 13, 2017
    Penny is a young woman who is being stalked by a man in the shadows. Always watching her every move, Even though she is scared, its a thrilling experience for her. She is captivated by the man behind the mask. Logan lusts for revenge and his mark is Penny Vandershall. His world came crashing down before his very eyes and Penny's father is responsible. He executes the perfect plan, walk into her life with a storm and ruin her. But before they realize it, feelings start to come into play........ T Penny is a young woman who is being stalked by a man in the shadows. Always watching her every move, Even though she is scared, its a thrilling experience for her. She is captivated by the man behind the mask. Logan lusts for revenge and his mark is Penny Vandershall. His world came crashing down before his very eyes and Penny's father is responsible. He executes the perfect plan, walk into her life with a storm and ruin her. But before they realize it, feelings start to come into play........ They find that they heal one another from the scars of their past, Stranger is not your typical romance, its raw, and demeaning.. Different from what I'm used to, but I loved every minute of it.
    more
  • Dísir
    May 31, 2017
    ‘Stranger’ quite boldly goes where many romances don’t go, with its questionable take on love (if anyone can even call it that) and revenge that comes in the form of blackmail with sexual gratification and revelation of information as the bartering currency. The subversiveness in the blurb appealed from the start and but it did cross some boundaries into the darker aspects of sex and ‘love’ while juggling some mystery and suspense, so it’s probably not for those who prefer cute reads. ’Stranger’ ‘Stranger’ quite boldly goes where many romances don’t go, with its questionable take on love (if anyone can even call it that) and revenge that comes in the form of blackmail with sexual gratification and revelation of information as the bartering currency. The subversiveness in the blurb appealed from the start and but it did cross some boundaries into the darker aspects of sex and ‘love’ while juggling some mystery and suspense, so it’s probably not for those who prefer cute reads. ’Stranger’ is a no-holds-barred version of lust, hate and destruction, that much I get and accept and even like because of how far this actually deviates from the enemies-to-lovers trope. Robin Lovett does write—believably—about the blurred boundaries between depravity, pleasure and despair, and how freedom, no matter how fleeting, can be found in the most unexpected places with the worst kind of people. Logan and Penny, for most part, are caught in this downward spiral of hate sex and denial and I did wonder how they were both going to come out of this drama created out of their own making, let alone find that HEA. Instead, this cycle goes on for pages without really getting to the heart of the mystery and it ultimately proved frustrating. Disclosure were slow in coming and I had questions that weren’t ever quite addressed fully even by the end of the book, all of which contributing to the stuttering pacing that did weaken the story’s overall impact for me. (view spoiler)[Why had Penny fallen so easily to Logan’s blackmail without even thinking of asking to see factual evidence of what Logan was accusing her dead father of—before agreeing to marry him just so he could have access to her trust fund? Why didn't she call the police which would have been a natural reaction, it seems, for most people, when she realised he was stalking her? Was Logan’s endgame really only to get Penny’s money after years of plotting, despite his saying that it as to destroy her family and her too facile? And if so, why had he waited until her father died to exact his revenge? (hide spoiler)]There is nonetheless, a thread of tension and wariness that never goes away by the end, although there is, to some extent, some depth of character that accounts for my rating of the story. Penny’s self-centered world of denial did shatter when Logan revealed his version of the reality she never could accept, though I would have liked it better if Penny had tried figuring out her own mind and emotions rather than constantly struggling and bouncing between her brother and Logan, whose aggression and dominance did seem too much for her. Yet I couldn’t help but feel Logan remained as shady as ever (his past was never really revealed) and all he seemed to be was a poor man of vengeance dressed as a beach bum, whose future was always in doubt, right up to the cliffhanger end which pretty much confirmed that the story arc was far from finished. *ARC by netgalley(bewildered but still grateful, as always)
    more
  • Michaelene
    June 4, 2017
    3.5 stars! I’m his prey. I want to be.The blurb in Robin Lovett’s Stranger intrigued me so hard! I wondered how the author was going to make this stalker guy the hero of the tale, and it was a riveting, adrenaline-pumping story.Penny’s being stalked. She sees this guy from the shadows, and though she’s scared, there’s something about him watching her that fires her blood. Until the day she makes contact and her whole world is placed into upheaval.Right off the bat, you’ve got the mystery reeling 3.5 stars! I’m his prey. I want to be.The blurb in Robin Lovett’s Stranger intrigued me so hard! I wondered how the author was going to make this stalker guy the hero of the tale, and it was a riveting, adrenaline-pumping story.Penny’s being stalked. She sees this guy from the shadows, and though she’s scared, there’s something about him watching her that fires her blood. Until the day she makes contact and her whole world is placed into upheaval.Right off the bat, you’ve got the mystery reeling the reader in. Who is this guy? Why’s he watching her? What’s this guy’s deal?! It’s told in first person from both perspectives and I like the element of dark in here. Make no mistake, this is definitely a dark tale. There’s a lot of anger and sadness and fear. Adrenaline is pumping on both sides as well as this element of intrigue. That’s before the sexual component blazes to life, and it’s dominating and harsh and powerful.Maybe I hope that in his flames, I’ll be more.But because there’s so much latent anger and pain on both sides, it also lends to things being left unspoken for a bit too long. The first person POV led to quite a bit of each of them ruminating over the same thoughts and feelings without moving the story forward. I also noticed quite a few inconsistencies because of it. But around the halfway mark, the story starts coming out and with such an emotional driven plot, I couldn’t help but be drawn along.I’m even more excited that Stranger is book one in a series that focuses on an anti-hero. I’m looking for unique storylines that tackle an original cast, and this is definitely that. No traditional heroes here! I recommend anyone looking for a bit of darkness, a bit of predatory intent, to give this series a try. I voluntarily received an arc via NetGalley. Reviewed by Michaelene from Alpha Book Club
    more
  • 2OCC Reviews
    June 7, 2017
    This book was fast paced and highly additive. At times I wanted to be annoyed with how fast everything moved; but as the story went on, I couldn't help but love it. Penny was a little naïve, but I felt that I like that about her. As the story goes on you see the real her and I loved who she was. Logan wanted revenge but sometimes it doesn't work out the way we want it to, and Logan found that out. He wasn't a prince st the start of the book. I have always been drawn to Broken characters and he w This book was fast paced and highly additive. At times I wanted to be annoyed with how fast everything moved; but as the story went on, I couldn't help but love it. Penny was a little naïve, but I felt that I like that about her. As the story goes on you see the real her and I loved who she was. Logan wanted revenge but sometimes it doesn't work out the way we want it to, and Logan found that out. He wasn't a prince st the start of the book. I have always been drawn to Broken characters and he was broken. The plot was fast paced and kept me interested all the way through. I was able to read it in one sitting so it was very long, but very enjoyable. Revenge is a big part of this story, but finding out the truth is the most important. The author did an amazing job at having you question everything and everyone. Overall, this was an awesome book with a heroine who could handle her own, and a hero that is a jerk the whole book but has this vulnerability about him that you can't help. It want to give him love. I can't wait to see what's going to happen in the. Eat book! I will say that there are a lot of unanswered questions that I hope will be answered in the next book! 4 stars #2OCCJD
    more
  • Ashlee
    June 13, 2017
    Stranger This story opens with Penny our main character being watched by this blonde haired Adonis (Logan) who stalks her at the hospital she works at. Penny is curious and a bit leary but intrigued by him. Poor Penny is young and heartbroken by the death of her father. Shes just numb to her life. Til logan begins his revenge on her for her father's sins. Logan is consumed in hate for the things Penny's father did to his sister and family. Hes made up a plan since Pennys father is dead to ruin Stranger This story opens with Penny our main character being watched by this blonde haired Adonis (Logan) who stalks her at the hospital she works at. Penny is curious and a bit leary but intrigued by him. Poor Penny is young and heartbroken by the death of her father. Shes just numb to her life. Til logan begins his revenge on her for her father's sins. Logan is consumed in hate for the things Penny's father did to his sister and family. Hes made up a plan since Pennys father is dead to ruin Penny's world instead. He blackmails Penny into marrying him to get her trust fund for the pain and suffering of his sister. But very quickly everything gets much more complicated because he pretty much instantly starts falling for Penny. So will he get his revenge? Will he give it up for Penny? Or will he ruin her just to atone for sins that belong to her father? Id give this 2 stars the character development didn't really work for me. I didn't feel really anything for the characters, the plot was pretty predictable and honestly very over used. I did enjoy seeing Logan become more then a villain and watch while Penny grows into her own though and stands up for herself
    more
  • Book Loving Fairy-Blog
    June 16, 2017
    I received Stranger by Robin Lovett in an ARC in exchanged for a honest review. I am giving this book 5 stars because I loved how the author created this world where it starts off with hate but ends with passion and love. Penny thought her life couldn't get any worse after her father died. Even though she was not close to her dad she still feels horrible that his dead, but her brother on the other hand can't understand why his sister even sad and mourns their father. But Penny about to find out I received Stranger by Robin Lovett in an ARC in exchanged for a honest review. I am giving this book 5 stars because I loved how the author created this world where it starts off with hate but ends with passion and love. Penny thought her life couldn't get any worse after her father died. Even though she was not close to her dad she still feels horrible that his dead, but her brother on the other hand can't understand why his sister even sad and mourns their father. But Penny about to find out what a monster her dad was and why her brother hates him so much. Because of her father she about to become collateral damage. Penny thinks her new stalker is someone who wants in a good way, but when she confronts her stalker she finds out that he out for revenge, and if he can't get it from her dead daddy he's going to take it out on her. Logan world has been torn apart because of one man who is now dead. So the only option is to go after his innocent daughter, but what started off as blackmail and revenge is now turning into something more that Penny and Logan never seen coming. They are both starting to become invested in one another the only problem is can they look past what brought them together in the first place. They both have a lot to work through but can love in the end be enough you will have to read the book to find out. What I love is this journey has just began there is still two more books to see how these people lives ends, and how one man could have created this domino effect that will change lives forever. If you love books like this then this is the book for you.
    more
  • Christine
    June 3, 2017
    A romance novel about a stalker?YES! And it works beautifully.Logan Kane is out for revenge and his mark is Penny Vandershall. His life took a dark turn and her father was responsible for it. The only way he can get revenge is to likewise ruin Penny’s life.He has his plan and executes it flawlessly, inserting himself into her life so he can start tearing it down. That is until Logan and Penny start to see what is under each other’s surface. Whether they realize it or not, it is only through thei A romance novel about a stalker?YES! And it works beautifully.Logan Kane is out for revenge and his mark is Penny Vandershall. His life took a dark turn and her father was responsible for it. The only way he can get revenge is to likewise ruin Penny’s life.He has his plan and executes it flawlessly, inserting himself into her life so he can start tearing it down. That is until Logan and Penny start to see what is under each other’s surface. Whether they realize it or not, it is only through their desire for each other and to heal that they can come through this with a minimal amount of emotional scars. Stranger is a fast and engrossing read. It is not your usual romance but has a completely satisfying ending. I highly recommend this novel.
    more
  • Brandi
    May 31, 2017
    He watched her every move. One thought ran rampant through his head. He wanted to destroy her. Take everything away she held dear without an ounce of remorse. Logan viewed Penny as his prey as he hid in the shadows waiting to make a move. When she finally gives in and approaches the elusive man who has observed her every move she realizes that her life is about to change. Having no choice she surrenders to Logan knowing it is the only way to protect her father. As she begins to realize Logan is He watched her every move. One thought ran rampant through his head. He wanted to destroy her. Take everything away she held dear without an ounce of remorse. Logan viewed Penny as his prey as he hid in the shadows waiting to make a move. When she finally gives in and approaches the elusive man who has observed her every move she realizes that her life is about to change. Having no choice she surrenders to Logan knowing it is the only way to protect her father. As she begins to realize Logan is not half the monster he claims she comes to realize everything she once thought was true. Will Logan realize the revenge is has spent eight years planning no longer holds the appeal it once did as Penny captivates his every thought?I received an advance copy for an honest review and I absolutely loved it.
    more
  • Heidi Svendsen
    June 15, 2017
    When I started reading the book I thought it would be a dark stalker novel, and were quite pleased with that. It kept me on my toes, and I just wanted to read more.But after a while the story stopped progressing. It became all about the couple in the book and their dark relationship. It was still exciting to read, but it was not why I would like to read this book. I would more have the scary book of a stalker and the fantasy of that type of relationship.I had a feeling while reading this book th When I started reading the book I thought it would be a dark stalker novel, and were quite pleased with that. It kept me on my toes, and I just wanted to read more.But after a while the story stopped progressing. It became all about the couple in the book and their dark relationship. It was still exciting to read, but it was not why I would like to read this book. I would more have the scary book of a stalker and the fantasy of that type of relationship.I had a feeling while reading this book that it tried hard to be three different stories in too short of a space. You have the beginning with one story, the middle with an other and the end with the last. Reminding me a lot about the 50 shades series, only that that series too its space to write three stories.The story it self is predictable, and as I said, it did not progress a lot. In the beginning the flow was good, then it stopped and the end made me feel that the author remembered the main story and hurried to wrap it up. The characters are one sided, and do not evolve much. It seems they are there to make a point and not much more.In conclusion, it was a nice read, but not for the story it self. It fits perfectly for lazy summer days or evenings where you are too tired to do a lot.*Copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Lea
    June 24, 2017
    This is a nail biter, an unconventional love story with a hero you'll love to hate - but he is redeemable. Will be writing a review.
  • Bookgasms Book Blog
    June 13, 2017
    Stranger was an exhilarating and psychological read that kept me on my toes. I wasn't sure what would happen next but I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. I highly enjoyed the chemistry between Logan and Penny and despite the sad and horrible reasons for initially "stalking" her, I felt their chemistry was HOT and combustible with a great story. I can't wait for the next book in this series!After feeling dead inside after the sudden and recent death of her father, heiress Penny Vandersha Stranger was an exhilarating and psychological read that kept me on my toes. I wasn't sure what would happen next but I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. I highly enjoyed the chemistry between Logan and Penny and despite the sad and horrible reasons for initially "stalking" her, I felt their chemistry was HOT and combustible with a great story. I can't wait for the next book in this series!After feeling dead inside after the sudden and recent death of her father, heiress Penny Vandershall suddenly feels exhilarated and excited by the sudden and menacing attention from Logan Kane. His incessant stalking begs the question of WHY and also evokes a deep-seeded need in her to remain in his cross hairs. What follows however is a deeply engrossing, sexy and emotional story of two people who are both victims in their own right but who must deal with the repercussions of a horrible crime and its long standing effects. All in all I really enjoyed STRANGER and look forward to the two remaining (standalone) books in this series. I would like to thank Netgalley and the SMP Romance team for an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Bravo! 4 Stars ~ Ratula
    more
  • Laura Brown
    June 19, 2017
    I had the pleasure of reading an early version of this story and I just loved the romance with a dark edge! The stalker situation was handled beautifully by Robin Lovett and I enjoyed watching both characters change and grow. A must read!
  • Oz Girl
    June 12, 2017
    I love dark reads and Stranger is definitely dark, truly intriguing and a definite must read. This was my first read from this author and in no way, my last…. I’m addicted! The story-line draws you in, the characters keep you wanting more…always guessing and definitely turning the pages in anticipation. If you are looking for a book that is filled with intensity, revenge, mystery, hate, destruction and of course, heated passion, then look no further. Be sure to add this one to your reading list, I love dark reads and Stranger is definitely dark, truly intriguing and a definite must read. This was my first read from this author and in no way, my last…. I’m addicted! The story-line draws you in, the characters keep you wanting more…always guessing and definitely turning the pages in anticipation. If you are looking for a book that is filled with intensity, revenge, mystery, hate, destruction and of course, heated passion, then look no further. Be sure to add this one to your reading list, you will not be sorry instead, you will become obsessed with this very different, very unusual and highly addictive take on a romance read that will have you pleading for more!**I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an Honest Review**
    more
  • Julie
    June 13, 2017
    Stranger has a scary beginning as Penny notices a stranger staring at her from afar. Logan despises Penny and her family, the rage he feels is burning him up and he needs revenge, and Penny is going to pay. The plan he devises has no faults, or so he thought until he meets the lady and a sexual attraction takes over...and he finds himself fighting his changing feelings for her. A rollercoaster of suspense and angst with hot, steamy love scenes that are full of passion. Looking forward to book #2 Stranger has a scary beginning as Penny notices a stranger staring at her from afar. Logan despises Penny and her family, the rage he feels is burning him up and he needs revenge, and Penny is going to pay. The plan he devises has no faults, or so he thought until he meets the lady and a sexual attraction takes over...and he finds himself fighting his changing feelings for her. A rollercoaster of suspense and angst with hot, steamy love scenes that are full of passion. Looking forward to book #2.
    more
  • Ratula
    June 13, 2017
    Full Review: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...
  • Sarah Wayne
    June 9, 2017
    I really liked this story, but it wasn't as bad or dark as some claimed it would be. I wish he had been more dominate actually and would have liked her to struggle with it a lot more, but all in all it was a great read. Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Valeen Robertson
    June 30, 2017
    Stranger was a pretty unpleasant read. First off, I have to warn that if you are looking for a truly dark romance, don't read Stranger, because it's not dark by any means. It's sort of moody and bleak and kind of icky, but it's not dark.Penny is a rich girl grieving for her father, who passed a few months prior. She's got a stalker, a stalker that she sees staring at her all the time. But, he never approaches her, just sits around and stares at her in a really creepy way. Penny is a naive, silly Stranger was a pretty unpleasant read. First off, I have to warn that if you are looking for a truly dark romance, don't read Stranger, because it's not dark by any means. It's sort of moody and bleak and kind of icky, but it's not dark.Penny is a rich girl grieving for her father, who passed a few months prior. She's got a stalker, a stalker that she sees staring at her all the time. But, he never approaches her, just sits around and stares at her in a really creepy way. Penny is a naive, silly girl who is excited by her stalker. And that's what her stalker wants, he wants her to be excited, to come to him, then he'll wreck her, ruin her life with the truths he has carried with him for so long. Sounds like the setup of a great story, but the execution is severely lacking.Usually in truly dark romances, the passion between the two MCs is undeniable, blazing hot, even if one of them doesn't want to want the other. Here in Stranger, though, I never felt the connection between Penny and her stalker to be that strong. Their passion was rather cold and kinda meh. And in the end when they exchange their ILYs, I didn't believe it, I didn't feel the love or the passion between them. I think had Robin Lovett taken Stranger to that next stage and made this a truly dark romance, the connection between Penny and Logan would have been strengthened. As it is, though, it felt like a teenager's view of what dark should be, kind of like a kid playing at dark and twisted and coming across as juvenile and silly.And then there's the fact that I couldn't stand either Penny or Logan. Penny, because she's ridiculously stupid and naive and a total doormat. Logan, because he's really obnoxious and cold. Yes, I get the driven by revenge thing, but in him it didn't manifest in an exciting way. Rather, it just made him unlikable, but not in a passionate, interesting way.So, if you're looking for DARK, this is not the story for you. Some of the best dark authors I've read include A. Zavarelli, Tillie Cole and J.M. Walker, these women have dark and twisted down cold. However, if you want dark lite, or just bleak with no redeeming qualities, Stranger just might be your thing.I received an ARC through NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • S. T.
    June 15, 2017
    The premise sounded interesting but the story was too disjointed. And I couldn't connect with either the H/h. I didn't even like the side characters. I realize her brother was afraid that he would be like his father and hurt people but he was not likable at all. And since the next book will be about him, I probably won't be reading that one. Logan the hero has been stalking Penny in order to get his revenge on her......because her father hurt his sister. He has such an intense hatred of her yet The premise sounded interesting but the story was too disjointed. And I couldn't connect with either the H/h. I didn't even like the side characters. I realize her brother was afraid that he would be like his father and hurt people but he was not likable at all. And since the next book will be about him, I probably won't be reading that one. Logan the hero has been stalking Penny in order to get his revenge on her......because her father hurt his sister. He has such an intense hatred of her yet he can't resist her and falls for her too easily. Penny is depicted as weak and flip flopping in her emotions. She starts off grieving for her father and yet all her hurt goes out the window when Logan shows up. There are plenty of sex scenes between the H/h but because I couldn't connect with the characters, the scenes fell flat.
    more
Write a review