A-Force, Volume 2
A-Force is assembled — but for how long? When a massive dragon attacks, She-Hulk, Captain Marvel, Medusa, Dazzler, Nico Minoru and Singularity spring into action! But this dragon is more than she seems and has much bigger plans — including turning one of the team’s heaviest hitters against her allies! Will A-Force meet an early end at the hands of one of their own? Or will they be torn apart by the looming CIVIL WAR II? For when a predictive vision proclaims that one member is a murderer, Captain Marvel takes action — and a rift is created that sets in motion a chain of devastating events! Plus: A dazzling Thor steals the limelight! The foul-mouthed, gun-toting Elsa Bloodstone will blow you away! And the fate of A-Force may lie in the magical hands of Nico Minoru!Collecting: A-Force 5-10

A-Force, Volume 2 Details

TitleA-Force, Volume 2
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 30th, 2017
PublisherMarvel
ISBN0785196064
ISBN-139780785196068
Number of pages136 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Superheroes, Marvel, Graphic Novels Comics, Comic Book

A-Force, Volume 2 Review

  • Paul
    April 24, 2017
    I was a little hesitant going in, and there was a bunch of nit-picky stuff my longtime inner nerd could waffle on about for a couple of paragraphs if I let him, but I ended up totally falling in love with this book and I'm desperately sorry to see it cancelled.You know what killed this book? CROSSOVER EVENTS! The sooner editorial realise the short term sales spikes these events generate are not worth the long term damage they are doing to this industry, the better...
    more
  • Chelsea
    April 27, 2017
    I won't go on and on about how this sucked because of the forced CW II tie in. Just know that this is yet another series that was downgraded from its former glory because of Bendis' failed event. Interestingly enough, there was some added awkwardness from the pre Inhumans v X Men event. Anyway, this stars with a visitor from another universe. Another version of Thor has brought a fight with a villain named The Countess. The A-Force teams has to help vanquish this villain and they befriend the ne I won't go on and on about how this sucked because of the forced CW II tie in. Just know that this is yet another series that was downgraded from its former glory because of Bendis' failed event. Interestingly enough, there was some added awkwardness from the pre Inhumans v X Men event. Anyway, this stars with a visitor from another universe. Another version of Thor has brought a fight with a villain named The Countess. The A-Force teams has to help vanquish this villain and they befriend the new Thor along the way. This is a one in done in like 3 issues which was fine. The villain wasn't bad and the banter was okay. It got a little too syrupy for my tastes, if I'm being perfectly honest. Singularity was adorable as ever and I love Dazzler here. The next story begins with Jen in the hospital after the events of CW II #1. I'm pretty sure they added Nico in the hospital because I don't remember her in the CW issue. Dazzler is having it out with Carol because her thought process leading up to this was completely ridiculous. Carol's being an idiot like she was during the rest of the event and somehow I hate Medusa even more during this. Ulysses sees Nico killing someone named Alice and Carol wants to arrest her. Nico runs away and this leads to the second storyline where there's a bug people infestation in a small town. Nico runs into someone from NextWave Agents if H.A.T.E and I really loved that! This story is a tiny bit stronger in some ways because there wasn't too much syrupy banter. I enjoyed Nico's chemistry with this mystery character. Overall, this was a disappointment because the banter and camaraderie I loved about the first volume is missing. They don't really seem like friends here as much as they're just people who happen to work together. I can't unsee how utterly unlikable Carol and Medusa were in the CW II event. The attempt to make Carol's viewpoint seem reasonable was awful. Also, Dazzler is the standout character in this. She's suffering from the disease that's plaguing all mutants at this time. The terrigen mists are making them sick and their abilities are unreliable. If I remember correctly, this kills mutants and it's a huge deal right now. So, the scene where Medusa expresses sympathy and wishes she could do something to help makes no sense with what happens in the event later. Mutants are dying and the Inhumans are just shrugging their shoulders like "Whoops, sorry but we need more Inhumans". It's so unrealistic and it makes me hate Medusa even more. So, in conclusion, this was marred by Marvel's universe wide events and I'm so glad we won't have anymore of those for a while after this Secret Empire nonsense.
    more
  • Angela
    December 30, 2016
    Oh, A-Force, I am so conflicted with you. On one hand, I love you so very, very much. This is the girl power comic I didn't know I wanted, and which sparked my love of girl power comics. You have such a great line-up. And yet your final volume is mired in Civil War II drama, and you were sadly cancelled before your time, or before you could really give us a proper resolution to much of anything.I wish there had been a few more issues to wrap everything up, particularly in regards to She-Hulk. I Oh, A-Force, I am so conflicted with you. On one hand, I love you so very, very much. This is the girl power comic I didn't know I wanted, and which sparked my love of girl power comics. You have such a great line-up. And yet your final volume is mired in Civil War II drama, and you were sadly cancelled before your time, or before you could really give us a proper resolution to much of anything.I wish there had been a few more issues to wrap everything up, particularly in regards to She-Hulk. I wish the comic had escaped the Company!Wide!Crossover!Spectacular! of the season that was Civil War II. I hate these events so much, and they are slowly gravitating me away from Marvel entirely. I just want to be able to read a series without it being utterly interrupted and kicked around by the Event of the Moment. Despite the low rating here, which is mostly because of the grossly unresolved and unnecessary Civil War arc, I hope this series finds its way back sometime in the future, free of the encumbrances of the Marvel Event Machine.
    more
  • Mariana
    December 18, 2016
    above all i loved medusa and jen's interactions and fights for the leadership of a-force, everything else was civil war and i didn't like that
  • Jamie
    October 30, 2016
    I really enjoyed this series and wish it had sold better in stores. There was so much potential for more stories and I feel like A-Force wasn't given an opportunity to shine.
  • Becky
    October 9, 2016
    I don't think I've ever read Kelly Thompson before, but I really enjoyed this! She did a great job building on what Wilson left.
  • Iris Nevers
    October 20, 2016
    I love A-Force. Really, I do. And I feel a great injustice with Marvel axing the title. So it ended on #10 and I honestly feel like the book didn't get to tie up loose ends or to bring in new characters like the writers wanted. It's a shame, but what can I do?Sorry about the rant, I'm just angry with Marvel for cutting my favorite series
    more
  • Dan
    October 27, 2016
    Would have been a lot better if the great, quirky style that they had going during the series didn't disappear for the final "Civil War II" arc, which was a sort of weak ending to the series...
  • Amanda
    December 1, 2016
    SO sad that this series isn't going to continue. Dazzler, Niko, Medusa, Singularity, She-Hulk, and friends all made such a great team!
  • Emmanuel Nevers
    December 26, 2016
    I really liked these last two story arcs. I hope A-force comes back. This was lije the greatest female comics team ever!! (other than DC Bombshells)
  • Fiona
    March 4, 2017
    Dazzler!Thor totally looked like an Asgardian Elsa.Speaking of Elsas, Elsa Bloodstone is awesome!
  • Gary
    November 22, 2016
    Ben Caldwell's art turns it around and the book finally develops a personality; only to lose it with the introduction of Civil War II.
  • Cagne
    March 10, 2017
    Nice to see where Elsa Bloodstone ended up after the Secret wars series. Also, this was fun: (view spoiler)[(hide spoiler)]
  • David
    February 19, 2017
    Well - it was a good idea that didn't really go anywhere. That's a shame. I haven't gotten to far into Civil War 2 yet but I can see that it's going to destroy this series. Bah! Humbug.
  • Chris Lemmerman
    January 13, 2017
    [Read as single issues]As usual, titles that I enjoy have a short shelf life. I'm anathema to titles, I'm sure I am.Anyway. Kelly Thompson takes over from G. Willow Wilson and Marguerite Bennett for two short arcs; one thrusts the team into conflict with remnants from Battleworld, including Dazzler Thor and a mind controlling dragon lady, and then into the bowels of Civil War II with Elsa Bloodstone. Badass ladies all over the place here.The team dynamic in this book is easily the selling point. [Read as single issues]As usual, titles that I enjoy have a short shelf life. I'm anathema to titles, I'm sure I am.Anyway. Kelly Thompson takes over from G. Willow Wilson and Marguerite Bennett for two short arcs; one thrusts the team into conflict with remnants from Battleworld, including Dazzler Thor and a mind controlling dragon lady, and then into the bowels of Civil War II with Elsa Bloodstone. Badass ladies all over the place here.The team dynamic in this book is easily the selling point. Thompson, like the writers before her, make sure that all of the characters here feel realistic and react in very human ways. This is especially obvious in the Civil War II arc, which reads very well even without the event as a backdrop. I feel like Singularity gets the short end of the stick sometimes, mostly because she's an anomaly of a character, but she's adorable in the background.Ben Caldwell tackles the Rage, Rage, storyline with the dragon and Dazzler Thor, and is very good at giving the characters very distinctive body types without squashing them. He and colourist Ian Herring also have a very different colour palette, which gives a unique visual for a very psychadelic storyline. The Civil War II arc is drawn by Paolo Siqueria, and it's very clear cut and 'house style'-ish, which isn't a knock. He has a lot of fun with the alien bugs, which is an odd sentence to type.I hope Marvel resurrects this title/team idea soon. I need my avenging ladies fix.
    more
  • Michelle
    November 26, 2016
    The good:A fantastic team of characters with a quirky, fun and kick-butt dynamic. I love Singularity. I enjoy the balance of action and personal drama, and some mid-battle one-liners made me laugh out loud. I love these characters. (I specifically mention the following positive traits since they are rare in media, and comics in particular.) They are all distinctively different women. All the featured characters have multiple dimensions to their personalities, and rarely play to stereotypes. A wi The good:A fantastic team of characters with a quirky, fun and kick-butt dynamic. I love Singularity. I enjoy the balance of action and personal drama, and some mid-battle one-liners made me laugh out loud. I love these characters. (I specifically mention the following positive traits since they are rare in media, and comics in particular.) They are all distinctively different women. All the featured characters have multiple dimensions to their personalities, and rarely play to stereotypes. A wide range of female interpersonal relationships are shown, from the traditional loving friendship to maternal to competing for leadership, but also respected rivals, flirty, coworkers, teachers, cooperative leaders, and compassionate-despite-disliking-each-other. The bad: This arc unfortunately limped over the finishing line compared to its predecessors. Creative reshuffling, duty to publisher-dictated storylines, increasingly "boob job and hip bone" style art, and an over-reliance on some characters (to the total neglect of others) left me feeling less enthusiastic about this instalment. In particular, the decision to have a swimsuit cover for the final issue was bizarre. Not only was swimming a minuscule throwaway plot point (and most likely a device to justify the cover), it was entirely out of step with the characters and the series, which has featured strong women never needing to rely on their sexuality.
    more
  • Dorkthropology
    December 15, 2016
    Since I have little familiarity with Dazzler her story getting centered didn't do a lot for me, though Dazzler-Thor did have a great style. The Civil War event was okay, though I'm still generally aggravated at the event butting into everything.I liked both artists; both had their ups and downs. The colorists were excellent throughout. The panels where Medusa reminded me of Rose from Steven Universe made me sad that wasn't her standard look.While this series didn't really grab me I think I might Since I have little familiarity with Dazzler her story getting centered didn't do a lot for me, though Dazzler-Thor did have a great style. The Civil War event was okay, though I'm still generally aggravated at the event butting into everything.I liked both artists; both had their ups and downs. The colorists were excellent throughout. The panels where Medusa reminded me of Rose from Steven Universe made me sad that wasn't her standard look.While this series didn't really grab me I think I might have better luck with Thompson's take on something else. I look forward to what she does with Hawkeye.
    more
  • Jaime Starr
    January 31, 2017
    I still think Civil War 2 was a dumb idea, but the book was still amazing. I've never loved a character the way I love Singularity - she is so good and pure.
  • Michael (Mai)
    November 21, 2016
    It was alright. I really liked the art in some chapters and I really like blue but a lot of the rest was meh.
Write a review