The Awkward Path to Getting Lucky
A humorous novel about a cupcake shop owner with a physical ailment that's kept her from having sex for two years, and the desperate antics that ensue as she tries to overcome it.Having sex wasn't a big priority while Kat Carmichael's successful cupcake shop was taking off. But when she realizes that it's been nearly two years since she and her boyfriend, Ryan, have been intimate, she makes a pact to break her dry spell-and cure her vaginismus, a muscular condition that can make sex physically impossible.Out of guilt, Kat calls for a break in her relationship with Ryan, so that he can see other people while she attempts to fix the issue on her own. She throws herself into physical therapy, but soon discovers her solo mission is more complicated than she anticipated. Fortunately, Ben Cleary, the shop's best (looking) customer, is also a physical therapist, and volunteers to help out.As time goes on, however, the boundaries Ben and Kat have set between friendship and love quickly become blurred, leaving her more confused than ever about what to hang on to and what to let go.

The Awkward Path to Getting Lucky Details

TitleThe Awkward Path to Getting Lucky
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherMIRA Books
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreAdult, Fiction, Contemporary

The Awkward Path to Getting Lucky Review

  • Amelia
    May 15, 2017
    When I received my advanced reading copy of The Awkward Path to Getting Lucky, I clutched it to my chest and squeed like a school child who's just snatched up the oh-so-longed-for toy on their birthday. I knew I had a special experience ahead of me.I was not wrong.Just like when I actually was a school child, I devoured this book in two days, staying up way too long after dark, sniggering and guffawing way too loudly, and identifying way too closely with the lead character. I found myself altern When I received my advanced reading copy of The Awkward Path to Getting Lucky, I clutched it to my chest and squeed like a school child who's just snatched up the oh-so-longed-for toy on their birthday. I knew I had a special experience ahead of me.I was not wrong.Just like when I actually was a school child, I devoured this book in two days, staying up way too long after dark, sniggering and guffawing way too loudly, and identifying way too closely with the lead character. I found myself alternating between snorty giggles and stunned moments of wondering if Summer had actually spent time observing me to write this story. While the plot and character continually hit close to home, the story telling constantly delighted me. It was so easy to get lost in Kat's world, to feel her pains, to ponder her frustrations, and to wish I could be half as quiptastic. They were two good, glitter-filled nights. We will always have those nights, Kat and I. And I'll definitely be returning to The Awkward Path the next time my giggle-snort meter has run low.
    more
  • Rachel Solomon
    June 3, 2017
    This book was so, so refreshing, with a uniquely exuberant voice. I love humorous women's fiction, especially when it isn't focused on marriage or children (tough for me to personally relate), and this is modern and feminist in a way I've never seen in WF. Women are so often shamed for even *having* vaginas. Somehow the word itself became dirty, which infuriates me. Why should we be embarrassed about the things they do - the normal things, the wonderful things, the strange things, and as demonst This book was so, so refreshing, with a uniquely exuberant voice. I love humorous women's fiction, especially when it isn't focused on marriage or children (tough for me to personally relate), and this is modern and feminist in a way I've never seen in WF. Women are so often shamed for even *having* vaginas. Somehow the word itself became dirty, which infuriates me. Why should we be embarrassed about the things they do - the normal things, the wonderful things, the strange things, and as demonstrated here in great detail, the painful things - when men so rarely are? This book made me laugh and fist-pump and feel so grateful it exists.And Ben was pretty appealing, too.
    more
  • Jessica
    July 1, 2017
    Upon further reflection, I upped my rating to 5 stars because I can't stop thinking about how much I LOVED this. It was practically perfect. I haven't laughed this hard while reading in ages! This is the feminist Women's Fic I've been waiting for, with positive female friendships and a woman who isn't afraid to take charge of her needs. Heacock's debut is full of delicious voice and dynamic characters, and uniquely handles what's often an awkward and painful topic with laughter and grace. Highly Upon further reflection, I upped my rating to 5 stars because I can't stop thinking about how much I LOVED this. It was practically perfect. I haven't laughed this hard while reading in ages! This is the feminist Women's Fic I've been waiting for, with positive female friendships and a woman who isn't afraid to take charge of her needs. Heacock's debut is full of delicious voice and dynamic characters, and uniquely handles what's often an awkward and painful topic with laughter and grace. Highly recommend. Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for the ARC!
    more
  • Stacy Fetters
    July 11, 2017
    "Any morning that starts with me in a backless gown and my bare ass on a tissue paper covered exam table is not a good day. I don't know what I was thinking. Well, yes I do. I thought I'd dive right into therapy, and it would be all rainbows and lollipops and my vagina and I would go skipping off into the sunset together." I'm so intensely in love with this vagina book. I thought chick lit was something someone was going to have to force me to read and then this gem showed up in my life. You kn "Any morning that starts with me in a backless gown and my bare ass on a tissue paper covered exam table is not a good day. I don't know what I was thinking. Well, yes I do. I thought I'd dive right into therapy, and it would be all rainbows and lollipops and my vagina and I would go skipping off into the sunset together." I'm so intensely in love with this vagina book. I thought chick lit was something someone was going to have to force me to read and then this gem showed up in my life. You know you're in for a hell of a ride when the book starts off with "I can't frost this cupcake, my vagina is broken." I was so frustrated that life got in the way of me finishing this in one sitting. Any chance I got, I tore into this. Imagine that your life is at its peak, you own your own business with your best friends, business is booming and your boyfriend is the hero of your life. Until.... your "special" is on the fritz. But your life has been so busy that you didn't do anything to fix it until now. Instead of going the normal route, you disrupt your life and others to take this journey alone. You're now on the quest to relax your muscles, sleep a soundless sleep and to make your hoo-hah function properly again. This is the life of none other than Kat.It's been two very long lonely years since Kat has gotten anything. And by anything... I'm talking downtown! Seriously, feeling disgusting with her boyfriend and with her cupcake business skyrocketing, she just never found the time or the energy to help her condition. Enough is enough and Kat is ready to lay down.... with a man. Will Kat ever find the time or the perfect person to help her through her time of need? I laughed so hard at this book that I actually had tears in my eyes. It had me rolling through some awkward moments and it was stellar. Kats friends were so helpful that it made you think about your own friends and would they help you out like they did with her. And let's be honest ladies and Gents.... We all need a steamy book with the bearded, tatted, buff Joe. Can we make this happen? Seriously!!?
    more
  • Kate Quinn
    June 22, 2017
    Ever since reading THE HATING GAME last fall, I've been on the hunt for similar romance/chic lit type books to scratch that similar itch. While not as full on swoony, this book definitely scratched the itch. It was clever, wonderfully feminist, laugh out loud funny, and had a great romance story line. But my favorite part of the novel were the female friendships and how they were really the bedrock of the story. Sure, I love an HEA at the end of a book, but here it's even better to know that eve Ever since reading THE HATING GAME last fall, I've been on the hunt for similar romance/chic lit type books to scratch that similar itch. While not as full on swoony, this book definitely scratched the itch. It was clever, wonderfully feminist, laugh out loud funny, and had a great romance story line. But my favorite part of the novel were the female friendships and how they were really the bedrock of the story. Sure, I love an HEA at the end of a book, but here it's even better to know that even if things don't work out with the guy, Kat will always have her friends to help her ride off into the sunset.
    more
  • Dayle (the literary llama)
    July 24, 2017
    Okay, so I feel like the official book synopsis does not do this book justice. I mean, technically it's accurate, but it doesn't touch on a very important and hilarious ingredient for the success of this book, which is the female relationships and secondary characters. Somewhere it should say something like:"Kat, along with her fantastic friends (Shannon, Butter, and Liz), learn to balance relationships, struggles, and cake with all the grace of women who can't stop themselves from making a good Okay, so I feel like the official book synopsis does not do this book justice. I mean, technically it's accurate, but it doesn't touch on a very important and hilarious ingredient for the success of this book, which is the female relationships and secondary characters. Somewhere it should say something like:"Kat, along with her fantastic friends (Shannon, Butter, and Liz), learn to balance relationships, struggles, and cake with all the grace of women who can't stop themselves from making a good vagina joke. Because what's better than a few bawdy jokes between coworkers and friends when you're supposed to be having a serious business meeting?"Add that tidbit in and you'll have a much better idea of what to expect from this book... because it's also a lot of fun with some truly snicker worthy moments. You'll want to share this book with your girlfriends (I know I do).Poor Kat and her legitimately broken va-jay-jay. Things are rough and she's having a bit of a meltdown and an epiphany all at once, and this pretty much happens for the entirety of the book. You would think that it would get excessive and annoying but somehow the author manages to weave a hilarious and touching tale until the very last word. I loved it. You would think that creating a story around a vaginal muscular condition would be awkward (especially since the very word is in the book title) or cringeworthy but NO! Heacock writes a book that feels empathetic while also maintaining an amusement that isn't flippant. It's pretty genius.Plus cake!!! You can never have enough cake and frosting in books. It's a fact. And there are recipes at the very end (which I have every intention of trying out soon) which is one of my favorite book perks, when fiction books surrounding food include recipes at the end. Gimme! ... So the action centers around the ladies and their bakery, which is fantastic because just using Kat and her personal problems as the basis for the entire book would be dull. Instead we get a group of women who are so much fun to read about. Their friendships and banter are where this book truly shines. I couldn't get enough...seriously, Summer Heacock, if you want to write more books about these different women I am so on board (hint hint, wink wink).I should probably mention the romance, since this is still technically a romance book. Like everything else I've mentioned it's comedic and sweet in equal turns. And also serious when it needs to be. You feel just like one of Kat's friends looking in on the different romantic developments as you read. You want to jump in and give her advice too. The whole situation is complicated in the way that chick-lit romances get complicated, it's a lack of communication (in numerous areas with both the men in her life) but it's also what makes it fun. We don't want things too easy, there needs to room for Kat's antics to entertain us!You might think that a book that starts with a problem about a vagina and the leading lady's determination to end her 2 year dry spell would be over-the-top naughty and filled with blush-inducing descriptors but that is not the case here. Yes, there are bawdy jokes, and an armful of fake penises at one point, but it doesn't veer into the erotic fiction category at all. In fact any bedroom business is written and treated with the same delicacy and careful cut-aways as cable TV. It's sort of sweet actually and I have no problem recommending this book to my mom, if that helps you gauge the naughty levels (my mom isn't a shy one though, so there's that).All in all, I really enjoyed the heck out of this book. And if you're looking for a fun chick-lit type book with great characters, bawdy bits and bobs, and lots of cupcakes, then I highly recommend THE AWKWARD PATH TO GETTING LUCKY.
    more
  • Dee
    May 30, 2017
    This book was so fun. I had been looking forward to reading it and was really happy to get my hands on an early copy. It was every bit as entertaining as I'd hoped! The characters each had their own quirks and the cast blended so well together. This is a book you can dive right into, with pages you'll want to keep turning (even if it's way past bedtime). It was the perfect mix of lighthearted, serious, humor, and "OMG she didn't" moments.I can't wait to read more of the author's books!I received This book was so fun. I had been looking forward to reading it and was really happy to get my hands on an early copy. It was every bit as entertaining as I'd hoped! The characters each had their own quirks and the cast blended so well together. This is a book you can dive right into, with pages you'll want to keep turning (even if it's way past bedtime). It was the perfect mix of lighthearted, serious, humor, and "OMG she didn't" moments.I can't wait to read more of the author's books!I received an advance copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Heather Balog
    July 1, 2017
    When I first won this from Goodreads, I read the blurb on the back cover and cringed. It seemed crass and plotless. I felt like it was going to be one of those harlequin romances my grandmother used to hide in her nightstand because it was so dirty. I don't read "those" kind of books. I even put the book aside for a few weeks, bowing never to read it unless I was desperate. Well I decided to take the plunge when I ran out of books to read and I'm delighted I did. While the subject matter was a b When I first won this from Goodreads, I read the blurb on the back cover and cringed. It seemed crass and plotless. I felt like it was going to be one of those harlequin romances my grandmother used to hide in her nightstand because it was so dirty. I don't read "those" kind of books. I even put the book aside for a few weeks, bowing never to read it unless I was desperate. Well I decided to take the plunge when I ran out of books to read and I'm delighted I did. While the subject matter was a bit unusual and of the "adult" variety, this was not some trashy bodice ripper that I was expecting. It was a delightfully crafted foray into relationships---sexual relationships and even friendships. The characters were witty and their interactions made me LOL. The women talked like truck drivers and embarrassed the men. It was hilarious. While the plot itself was predictable (as chick lit is expected to be), the way the plot developed was unexpectedly funny and even a little raw at times. Seriously, all the feels. Congrats to the author on creating genuine and flawed characters that the reader can actually feel for and relate to. I'll be looking for more by this author.
    more
  • Cristina
    June 26, 2017
    Original review can be found on my blog, As Dreams Are Made. So I still don’t know how I feel about this book…Kat’s lady bits are broken.  At least that’s what she tells her friends after two years of not having sex.  She decides to finally do something about it, but doesn’t want to keep her boyfriend Ryan hanging, waiting for her to “fix” herself.  She tells him they need a break while she figures stuff out and he’s free to see other people.  However, she never planned on Ben, one of the shop’s Original review can be found on my blog, As Dreams Are Made. So I still don’t know how I feel about this book…Kat’s lady bits are broken.  At least that’s what she tells her friends after two years of not having sex.  She decides to finally do something about it, but doesn’t want to keep her boyfriend Ryan hanging, waiting for her to “fix” herself.  She tells him they need a break while she figures stuff out and he’s free to see other people.  However, she never planned on Ben, one of the shop’s cute regulars.  When he offers to help her with her problem since he’s a physical therapist, Kat leaps at the chance, but she doesn’t factor in that emotions might get in the way…I really don’t know how I feel about this book.  I liked it? But I didn’t really like it? I think I just had issues with a few things.First off, Kat can be a bit selfish (something her friends point out to her).  I feel like the majority of the narrative was her acting like “IT’S ALL ABOUT ME PEOPLE!!”.  Like, we get it. I was so happy when she is finally told off for it.  Also, the reason behind all her selfishness seems a bit shallow and undeveloped.  I felt like the author needed a reason Kat is the way she is so she threw it in there without any sense of development or context.  The rest of the characters were fine, but they seemed a bit one dimensional to me.  Not that I didn’t enjoy the dynamics between Kat and the rest of her cupcake team, but they seemed a bit too out there for the sake of being “out there”.  It made them unbelievable.In fact, I think that’s the problem with this whole book.  The premise seems a bit unbelievable to me.  Not the whole illness thing.  I get that.  But the whole “let’s take a break with my boyfriend and then start seeing somebody else while trying to get back with my boyfriend in the end” thing.  It just seemed so far-fetched and something that no rational person would actually do, that I think it built this wall for me.  I couldn’t get behind anything that these characters did.I did enjoy some humorous moments in this and some of the characters were endearing, but I was just expecting more from this book.From the sound of it, it had all the makings of a really great chick lit book, but it just failed to deliver everything I had wanted for it.  Overall, I’d skip this for some much better quality chick lit out there.
    more
  • Lauren R.
    June 30, 2017
    4-4.5 stars. This was so good. Delightful, honestly. I smiled and laughed so much with this main character and the ship was sooooo good. I love nerdy Ben <3 I think the humor was spot-on for the most part, but was trying a little too hard sometimes. I saw a comparison to THE HATING GAME and I think I agree. Solid friendships also!
    more
  • Kelsey Rodkey
    June 8, 2017
    I received a review copy via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Let's get right down to it. Here's what I liked about The Awkward Path to Getting Lucky:It's a story I've literally NEVER read before. Kat has vaginismus and a whole list of stressors that comes before her sex life. She's an independent, quirky, strong woman, who deals with something many vagina-having people have gone through while also dealing with a relationship on a plateau and a thriving business.Ben is pretty freaking I received a review copy via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Let's get right down to it. Here's what I liked about The Awkward Path to Getting Lucky:It's a story I've literally NEVER read before. Kat has vaginismus and a whole list of stressors that comes before her sex life. She's an independent, quirky, strong woman, who deals with something many vagina-having people have gone through while also dealing with a relationship on a plateau and a thriving business.Ben is pretty freaking adorable and he does this thing that makes me respect and approve of him (HE ASKS FOR CONSENT TO DO, LIKE, EVERYTHING AND IT'S BEAUTIFUL). The ladies at the cupcake shop are also really fun and I loved seeing the dynamics between them as they all try to help Kat with her "problem."While the relationship with Ryan had me cringing and screaming and also feeling so sad, it felt so real (to a certain point, which I can't discuss because of spoilers) and overall, I believed it. Here are the things I didn't like:There's a lot of repetition of things we already know, particularly in the beginning of the book. I felt as if the book could do with one more clean sweep for things like: is this being too heavy-handed for the readers? Lastly, there were a few instances of insensitive words like crazy, etc. that are used in daily conversations by a lot of people who don't mean anything ill by them, but...still.
    more
  • Sandra
    June 7, 2017
    This was a rather predictable book, but still a fun read. Great characters. Thanks to Goodreads for the giveaway.
  • Emily Lynne
    May 24, 2017
    I received a copy of this book through the Goodreads Giveaway program in exchange for an honest review - and honestly, this was NOT what I expected (in a good way!). After reading the back, and awkwardly trying to hide both the title and jacket summary from family/friends ("vagina" and "orgasm" seemed to jump right off the back of the book), I was a bit apprehensive about the kind of book I was about to read. Instead of being generic, "trashy" (for lack of a better word) chick lit, I found mysel I received a copy of this book through the Goodreads Giveaway program in exchange for an honest review - and honestly, this was NOT what I expected (in a good way!). After reading the back, and awkwardly trying to hide both the title and jacket summary from family/friends ("vagina" and "orgasm" seemed to jump right off the back of the book), I was a bit apprehensive about the kind of book I was about to read. Instead of being generic, "trashy" (for lack of a better word) chick lit, I found myself relating closely to and loving the main character and her trio of girlfriends. I also found myself crying tears of laughter at various times through the book and falling a little bit in love with Ben. As a previous reviewer mentioned, this is an awesome blend of fun and thought-provoking, and absolutely NOT just about vaginas and orgasms. LOVE IT!
    more
  • Sarah Hollowell
    May 23, 2017
    [full disclosure: I received a free ARC from the author, who is my friend]I AM ALL HEART-EYES RIGHT NOW TBH. This book is so sweet and funny. There were parts where I actually couldn't breathe because I was laughing so hard. I was just laying in bed, kicking my legs, emitting high-pitched laugh-squeaks in between breaths.So yeah I'm a fan.
    more
  • Julie Casciano
    May 24, 2017
    This book was so funny I was laughing out loud at many parts. I'm so happy I read this book. It actually pertained to my issue that I didn't know I had until this book. I thought it was just me being weird but it's an actual condition. Wow!!! Great book
    more
  • Mel
    May 23, 2017
    Honestly, this was a great read! I found myself laughing out loud. I am sure this book will have amazing book sales.
  • Tina
    May 24, 2017
    This book is absolutely hilarious. Like actually laugh out loud funny in a number of places. I completely loved it. The plot was a bit predictable, in the way these romantic comedy type things generally seem to fit a certain formula, with the main character's endlessly bad decisions driving the plot. But the humor throughout made this one a highly enjoyable light read. (I received a free advance galley copy of this book through a giveaway on goodreads)
    more
  • Jeanmarie Anaya
    May 24, 2017
    What a perfect mix of humor and depth. I've spent the few several days reaching for this book every time I had a free moment and needed a laugh. And it definitely delivered. Who would expect anything less from Summer Heacock? With her talent and wit every bit as equal to one of my favorites, Allie Larkin, Summer's debut is sure to be the first book in a long, successful career.
    more
  • Danielle Schoonover
    May 24, 2017
    This was a fun, entertaining read. It was funny and lighthearted. I enjoyed it very much. *I received a free ARC of this book from a Goodreads giveaway.
  • Gina Heron
    May 18, 2017
    Review to follow
  • nick
    July 11, 2017
    3.5/5Honestly, Kat was the worst. She's very self-centered and frankly, makes really stupid decisions. What I loved though here were the secondary characters, the bake shop and Ben. Plus, it had me laughing my butt off so I have to give the book credit for that!RTC
    more
  • Christi
    July 13, 2017
    This hysterically funny book about a woman dealing with a common, but not often talked about disorder, hits all the right notes. Kat has a "broken vagina" and is looking to fix the issue without ruining her relationship with her boyfriend. Enter Ben Cleary, regular at the cupcake shop Kat co-owns, and adorable nerd who agrees to help Kat work through her problem. Sexy, awkward, and hilariously dirty, this novel and its colorful cast of characters had me absolutely laughing out loud.
    more
  • Molly
    June 22, 2017
    I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review. [Review forthcoming!]
  • Leah
    July 20, 2017
    “I can’t frost this cupcake. My vagina’s broken.” In The Awkward Path to Getting Lucky, Kat is the successful (and stressed) part owner of a bakery called Cup My Cakes. She works at this bakery with her friends Butter, Shannon, and Liz. When Kat realizes it has been two years since her and her boyfriend Ryan had sex due to Kat's vaginismus (a condition that makes sex unbearable), she decides they should take a break. During this break she want's Ryan to go get his kicks with other women while Ka “I can’t frost this cupcake. My vagina’s broken.” In The Awkward Path to Getting Lucky, Kat is the successful (and stressed) part owner of a bakery called Cup My Cakes. She works at this bakery with her friends Butter, Shannon, and Liz. When Kat realizes it has been two years since her and her boyfriend Ryan had sex due to Kat's vaginismus (a condition that makes sex unbearable), she decides they should take a break. During this break she want's Ryan to go get his kicks with other women while Kat sorts this vaginismus thing out herself. Soon she gets help from Ben, the cutest bakery customer and physical therapist. However, as time goes on the boundaries between Kat and Ben's friendship blurs as romantic feelings start to creep in. This book was definitely a tasty treat! I thought it was a lighthearted read and found the characters easy to relate to. Heacock creates a great cast of girlfriends (Butter, Shannon, and Liz) to help Kat through her problems, both medical and relationships. As much as this is a romance, it is also a great story of friendship. All of the characters grow and build together, and the girlfriends end up being more important then the love interest- which I loved. Finally, at the end of the book Heacock gives us recipes for some of the "cuppies" in the book! Thank you to NetGalley who gave me a copy of this book for an honest review.
    more
  • Shelly
    July 14, 2017
    This was just a hilarious summer read! I've heard amazing things from so many people that I trust so I knew I had to check it out. If you're looking for an adorable romance with hilarious one-liners, I recommend this one. A fun bonus: the main character owns a cupcake shop and there's some very delicious descriptions.
    more
  • Tamara Morning
    July 6, 2017
    Running a successful bakery takes time. Lots of time. So much time that Kat is astonished to realize it’s been almost two years since she’s had sex with her boyfriend. It isn’t that she doesn’t want to, but last time they tried, it proved physically painful and impossible. And Kat’s been so busy, she forgot to follow up with her physical therapy. Oops.With their anniversary looming, Kat gives Ryan a break from the relationship, while she works on her physical therapy, with a little—okay, a lot—o Running a successful bakery takes time. Lots of time. So much time that Kat is astonished to realize it’s been almost two years since she’s had sex with her boyfriend. It isn’t that she doesn’t want to, but last time they tried, it proved physically painful and impossible. And Kat’s been so busy, she forgot to follow up with her physical therapy. Oops.With their anniversary looming, Kat gives Ryan a break from the relationship, while she works on her physical therapy, with a little—okay, a lot—of advice from her best friends/business partners. Their best customer is Ben, who just happens to be a physical therapist, so Kat enlists his help in her crusade. But Ben isn’t interested in just being a means to an end, and Kat has to figure out what is really important to her (besides cupcakes).The Awkward Path to Getting Lucky is a hilarious romp of a novel, filled with awkward—of course—moments, lots of friendly banter, and cupcakes. So. Many. Cupcakes. I laughed so hard at Kat’s escapades with her friends: she has a knack for open-mouth-insert-foot, usually loudly and when Ben can overhear. If you need a laugh, a dose of friendship, or an appetite stimulant, this is the book for you.(Galley provided by Harlequin/MIRA via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.)More reviews at Tomorrow is Another Day
    more
  • Julie
    July 21, 2017
    This is SUCH a great romcom read. I laughed out loud several times. Kat reminded me so much of myself and I loved Ben!
Write a review