Escaping from Houdini (Stalking Jack the Ripper, #3)
In this third installment in the #1 bestselling Stalking Jack the Ripper series, a luxurious ocean liner becomes a floating prison of scandal, madness, and horror when passengers are murdered one by one…with nowhere to run from the killer. . Audrey Rose Wadsworth and her partner-in-crime-investigation, Thomas Cresswell, are en route to New York to help solve another blood-soaked mystery. Embarking on a week-long voyage across the Atlantic on the opulent RMS Etruria, they’re delighted to discover a traveling troupe of circus performers, fortune tellers, and a certain charismatic young escape artist entertaining the first-class passengers nightly.But then, privileged young women begin to go missing without explanation, and a series of brutal slayings shocks the entire ship. The strange and disturbing influence of the Moonlight Carnival pervades the decks as the murders grow ever more freakish, with nowhere to escape except the unforgiving sea. It’s up to Audrey Rose and Thomas to piece together the gruesome investigation as even more passengers die before reaching their destination. But with clues to the next victim pointing to someone she loves, can Audrey Rose unravel the mystery before the killer’s horrifying finale?

Escaping from Houdini (Stalking Jack the Ripper, #3) Details

TitleEscaping from Houdini (Stalking Jack the Ripper, #3)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 18th, 2018
PublisherJIMMY Patterson
Rating
GenreHistorical, Historical Fiction, Young Adult, Mystery

Escaping from Houdini (Stalking Jack the Ripper, #3) Review

  • Kerri
    January 1, 1970
    8/9/18 UPDATE:EFH Fall Tour announcement can be found here! (along with signed editions available throughout the US on release day!)https://kerrimaniscalco.com/2018/08/0...INTL Pre-orders (available to all) can be found here:http://premierecollectibles.com/escap... IG--I'm hosting an INTL giveaway RIGHT NOW and it ends on 8/16/18!https://www.instagram.com/kerrimanisc...7/23/18 UPDATE:both the US pre-order prizes and INTL pre-order giveaway have been announced! US pre-order: https://www.jimmypatt 8/9/18 UPDATE:EFH Fall Tour announcement can be found here! (along with signed editions available throughout the US on release day!)https://kerrimaniscalco.com/2018/08/0...INTL Pre-orders (available to all) can be found here:http://premierecollectibles.com/escap... IG--I'm hosting an INTL giveaway RIGHT NOW and it ends on 8/16/18!https://www.instagram.com/kerrimanisc...7/23/18 UPDATE:both the US pre-order prizes and INTL pre-order giveaway have been announced! US pre-order: https://www.jimmypatterson.org/titles...INTL giveaway: https://www.instagram.com/p/BllHpLWFM...4/6/18 UPDATE:i'm hosting the very first ARC giveaway on twitter RIGHT NOW! go forth and enter, friends! remember, there aren't going to be very many ARCs in the world, so don't miss out!!!xoxo1/16/18 update: COVER REVEAL IS THIS FRIDAYYYYYYYYYY (1/19/18)xoxo*****12/17/17 update: title, summary, and tentative release date are being announced TOMORROW! *****title announcement coming before the end of december. are you ready???*****i am having a little too much fun writing this dark draft :)
    more
  • destiny ☠ howling libraries
    January 1, 1970
    #1: Stalking Jack the Ripper ★★★★★#2: Hunting Prince Dracula ★★★★★#3: Escaping From Houdini ★★★★★ Let me tell you guys, I have been dying to post this review! It’s been a few months since I read this one, but the publisher did request that I wait to post my thoughts until close to the book’s release, and naturally, I obliged. Now that I can finally gush freely with you all, I have to tell you that I adore this series. It is such a fun roller coaster of emotions and suspense, and I honestly think #1: Stalking Jack the Ripper ★★★★★#2: Hunting Prince Dracula ★★★★★#3: Escaping From Houdini ★★★★★ Let me tell you guys, I have been dying to post this review! It’s been a few months since I read this one, but the publisher did request that I wait to post my thoughts until close to the book’s release, and naturally, I obliged. Now that I can finally gush freely with you all, I have to tell you that I adore this series. It is such a fun roller coaster of emotions and suspense, and I honestly think Kerri could write a dozen books following the adventures of Audrey and Thomas, and I would happily read each and every one of them. He flashed a quick grin. “A lifetime full of surprises, remember, Wadsworth?”“Indeed.” I could not imagine a future that didn’t include unwinding each secret he possessed. Just the same as in the past two installments, my favorite parts are each and every moment in which Audrey and Thomas are alone, whether they’re swapping flirty banter, admiring one another’s intellect, sneaking steamy moments in hidden corners, or confessing sweet, tender emotions and desires. That said, this installment relies less on relationship building and more on suspense, intrigue, and a bit of con work. “Truth is often compared to a blade. I question those who marvel when it pricks.” What I expect to be a controversial topic is Audrey’s behavior in this book, which I ultimately loved, despite struggling with at first. Escaping fell slightly below Hunting Prince Dracula in terms of enjoyment for me because of her actions, which I hold conflicting feelings about: on the one hand, her deceit is heartbreaking as we see the pain it causes her loved ones, but on the other, Audrey proves herself as a bright young woman who has come to recognize that she has to figure things out for herself and to see if she’s settling, or truly on the path she needs to be on. That said, I think readers everywhere will be pleased with the end of her curious emotional journey. “Hope is an invisible, but mighty force. Don’t dismiss its power.” On a less conflicting note, let me tell you, the setting is this book is fantastic; it is so delightful and intriguing. Nothing is ever quite what it seems to be on the ship, and there’s a lot of world-building for the circus and its performers that lends to an immersive, captivating arena for the murders. “Miss Audrey Rose Wadsworth, conqueror of my soul—you are an absolute fiend. You’d like to flout tradition simply because of your need for my body.” He held a hand over his heart. “I swear I have never loved you more.” As for my favorite aspect of the series, Thomas: he has developed into this delightfully kind creature when it comes to his love for Audrey, but his humor and snark are still fully present, as is his brilliant wit. Thomas is truly one of my favorite YA love interests of all time, because not only is he funny, charming, and cute—he’s also incredibly respectful and in awe of Audrey’s talents, and even when it breaks his heart, he’s fully prepared to do whatever it takes to ensure that she feels free to make the choices she needs to make. I just love him so, so much. “Swords, secrets, and stolen kisses.” Finally, our newest prominent player: Mephistopheles, the ring-leader of the traveling show. I know that there have been some mixed feelings about him from other ARC reviewers, but I have to say that, despite some of the really twisted things he does, I thought he was a phenomenal addition to the story. He’s got this moral greyness to him that you can never quite determine the shade of, and his motives are rarely, if ever, clear. “You speak the language of my complicated heart, Wadsworth. I am a very lucky man.”I hoped he still believed that once I’d confessed my morning activities in full. Genuinely, I am so interested in seeing what the general consensus is when the finished release rolls around and reviews start to roll in, because I think Kerri made a lot of risky moves while writing this story (which paid off). I definitely looked at Audrey Rose a little differently by the time I closed the cover on this one (not in a bad way, though), and I wonder if it will shift even further once the finished ending comes out—because, in case you didn’t know, the ARCs don’t have the final ending. Kerri wrote a fake ending for the advance copies, which gives me the perfect excuse to reread this beauty when my pre-order arrives in September.I’ll come back and update this review after I’ve finished, to let you all know if any of my thoughts have changed, but as it stands, I can promise you that I will still be recommending this series to anyone and everyone, as it is such a fun read with a truly lovable cast of characters.All quotes come from an advance copy and may not match the final release. Thank you so much to Jimmy Patterson Books for providing me with this ARC in exchange for an honest review!You can find this review and more on my blog, or you can follow me on twitter, bookstagram, or facebook!---Buddy read with Kayla and Amy!
    more
  • Candace Robinson
    January 1, 1970
    This is such a fun series. I like the gory factors, Cresswell—especially Cresswell, and the cool themes that are intertwined. So when I saw carnival on a ship, I was incredibly ecstatic.Let me start out by saying the book started off very well—we get some killing right away. But then a mysterious guy with a face mask who is the carnival's leader, Mephistopheles, comes into the picture. This is where our girl, Audrey Rose, starts getting a little ridiculous.My favorite thing about this series has This is such a fun series. I like the gory factors, Cresswell—especially Cresswell, and the cool themes that are intertwined. So when I saw carnival on a ship, I was incredibly ecstatic.Let me start out by saying the book started off very well—we get some killing right away. But then a mysterious guy with a face mask who is the carnival's leader, Mephistopheles, comes into the picture. This is where our girl, Audrey Rose, starts getting a little ridiculous.My favorite thing about this series has been how Audrey and Thomas Cresswell are a team. A lot of this book Cresswell wasn't even there ... but Mephistopheles was. Uh oh, that means possible love triangle. I hate when you're so invested in two characters, especially when you are at book three—there does not need to be another guy in the picture!Anyway, so besides Audrey acting ridiculous, I loved the book! The atmosphere was gorgeous, awe-inspiring and creepy—a mixture of the best kind. It was incredibly well written, and I'm excited to see what happens in book four!
    more
  • may ❀
    January 1, 1970
    i find it absolutely incredible that i can look at a cover and thing 'wow i want to marry that someday' LIKEMYVOCABULARY CANNOTEVEN BEGINTODESCRIBEHOWBEAUTIFUL
  • Jasmine from How Useful It Is
    January 1, 1970
    I started reading Escaping from Houdini on 7/8/18 and finished it on 7/19/18. This book is an excellent read! I find the romance between Thomas and Audrey Rose intoxicating because of their limited time, privacy, and secrecy. I like the sharp tongues exchanges between Audrey and Mephistopheles. I like all the fancy clothes Audrey Rose wears: silks and velvets as well as the decorations to the live shows. I like the mystery to Mephistopheles’ background because he’s always wearing a mask. I like I started reading Escaping from Houdini on 7/8/18 and finished it on 7/19/18. This book is an excellent read! I find the romance between Thomas and Audrey Rose intoxicating because of their limited time, privacy, and secrecy. I like the sharp tongues exchanges between Audrey and Mephistopheles. I like all the fancy clothes Audrey Rose wears: silks and velvets as well as the decorations to the live shows. I like the mystery to Mephistopheles’ background because he’s always wearing a mask. I like the friction between Thomas, Audrey Rose, and Mephistopheles and their endless witticism/sarcasm/banter/charm/well-timed quips. I can’t tell Mephistopheles’ intentions toward Audrey Rose but the air of mystery makes the read interesting. I like how the characters are good at keeping a poker face in tense situations.This book is told in the first person point of view following Audrey Rose Wadsworth, 17, as she, Thomas Cresswell, and her Uncle Jonathan Wadsworth, whom readers learned from book 1 that he’s an expert in reading crime scenes are boarding a cruise ship called the Etruria heading to New York. There is entertainment on this cruise ship and the newest entertainer to excite everyone on board is Mephistopheles and his Moonlight Carnival crew. Their performance promises the audience of tricks that will both be dazzling and on the brink of danger. Audiences clap wildly from one act to the next with excitement and eagerness until at last, when there’s a knife protruding from the back of their fellow audience that left a puddle of blood on the floor, no one thought twice that it was a real murder but part of an act. Audrey finds herself trapped on a boat at sea with a murderer on the loose. Audrey, her uncle, and Thomas now find themselves with a dead body to examine and it might not be the only one.Escaping from Houdini is truly mesmerizing. I love the topic of magic performances and how it all takes place on a cruise. As much as I love following Thomas and Audrey Rose breaking curfews and sneaking out on secret adventures, I do love the change in this book with Thomas having a competitor. It’s interesting how Thomas is still consider a “friend” after all of those stolen moments. I like Mrs. Harvey in this book more than in the previous books. I like the pictures before each chapter, especially the late 19th century circus performers because it gives readers an idea of what’s to come and their costumes are really out there! I love books with epilogues. I couldn’t guess who the murderer is but I did flipped back to read again to see if there were clues I might have missed. This book is a must read and the series shouldn’t be missed. I highly recommend everyone to read it!Pro: fast paced, page turner, suspense, mystery, cruise, circus, diversity, humor/banterxoxo, Jasmine at www.howusefulitis.wordpress.com for more details
    more
  • Stacee
    January 1, 1970
    I have been on board with these books since SJTR, so when I got my greedy hands on a arc of Houdini, I screamed at my UPS guy.As always, Audrey Rose and Thomas are perfection. I love their banter and flirting and the way they are true partners in all things. Mephistopheles is an intriguing addition and of course he was quite charming and so infuriating. There is a fairly large cast of secondary characters on the ship and I will admit to not being able to keep up on the passengers, but it didn’t I have been on board with these books since SJTR, so when I got my greedy hands on a arc of Houdini, I screamed at my UPS guy.As always, Audrey Rose and Thomas are perfection. I love their banter and flirting and the way they are true partners in all things. Mephistopheles is an intriguing addition and of course he was quite charming and so infuriating. There is a fairly large cast of secondary characters on the ship and I will admit to not being able to keep up on the passengers, but it didn’t slow me down.Plot wise it was captivating. I loved that the setting was a ship, so there wasn’t anywhere to go and it made everyone a suspect. I was constantly second guessing everything and the reveals are so deliciously slow. I will say there was a small thread of plot that I wasn’t a fan of — it did make some sense and all that, it just wasn’t something I cared for.Overall, it might be my favorite of the three, but I’m not ready to commit to that statement. I loved so many things about this story and even though there were scenes and things that made me want to scream, it was so satisfying. I can’t even wait to see what the next book brings.**Huge thanks to Jimmy Patterson Books for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Danielle
    January 1, 1970
    I love this series so much oh my god give me more please
  • Grace (BURTSBOOKS)
    January 1, 1970
    IM NOT EVEN HALF WAY THROUGH THE FIRST BOOK AND I'M ALREADY HYPE FOR THIS
  • Rachel E. Carter
    January 1, 1970
    I NEED THIS BOOK. NOOOOOOW!!!!!
  • Maram
    January 1, 1970
    The cover is absolutely stunning! 😍 Can’t wait to get my hands on it 😭😭😭
  • Elise (TheBookishActress)
    January 1, 1970
    this... is a gorgeous cover
  • Patty
    January 1, 1970
    "New Year’s afternoon aboard the Etruria began like a fairytale, which was the first indication a nightmare lurked on the horizon, waiting, as most villains do, for an opportunity to strike." The first chapter can be read here. Trust me, you want to read it!!!20/01/18: Read the first chapter. I'm even MORE excited (if that's even possible) for this to be released!!! And can we talk about the "creative ways of stealing kisses" ?!?! AHHHHHHHHkkjnkjNKBjrbkgkfd!!!!!!!19/01/18 OMG. The cover reveal "New Year’s afternoon aboard the Etruria began like a fairytale, which was the first indication a nightmare lurked on the horizon, waiting, as most villains do, for an opportunity to strike." The first chapter can be read here. Trust me, you want to read it!!!20/01/18: Read the first chapter. I'm even MORE excited (if that's even possible) for this to be released!!! And can we talk about the "creative ways of stealing kisses" ?!?! AHHHHHHHHkkjnkjNKBjrbkgkfd!!!!!!!19/01/18 OMG. The cover reveal was today. ITS SO PRETTY 😭💛!!!!!!! Hello precious. 03/10/17: 2018? Okay, okay. I can do that but like, I need a month. Like a date to work towards. SOMETHING!?!?! Really hoping it won't be September 2018 because that's WAY TOO LONG of a wait LOL. *slightly crying*
    more
  • Nadia
    January 1, 1970
    01/19/18 - OKAY BUT THAT COVER!! IS SO BEAUTIFUL!!! I CAN'T HANDLE MYSELF!! PLEASE JUST LOOK AT THAT!! IT'S GORGEOUSHOW CAN I EVEN BEGIN TO SUM UP MY FEELINGS???? IT'S SO BEAUTIFUL! Like, seriously, I want that cover to come over to my house and just give me a masterclass on what to do to look better because I think I can use some advice. 12/18/17 - WE HAVE A TITLE AND A RELEASE DATE AND A SYNOPSYS AND I'M WAY TOO FUCKING EXCITED FOR THIS. HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO WAIT UNTIL NEXT SEPTEMBER????!!Orig 01/19/18 - OKAY BUT THAT COVER!! IS SO BEAUTIFUL!!! I CAN'T HANDLE MYSELF!! PLEASE JUST LOOK AT THAT!! IT'S GORGEOUSHOW CAN I EVEN BEGIN TO SUM UP MY FEELINGS???? IT'S SO BEAUTIFUL! Like, seriously, I want that cover to come over to my house and just give me a masterclass on what to do to look better because I think I can use some advice. 12/18/17 - WE HAVE A TITLE AND A RELEASE DATE AND A SYNOPSYS AND I'M WAY TOO FUCKING EXCITED FOR THIS. HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO WAIT UNTIL NEXT SEPTEMBER????!!Orignal - you seriously expect me to wait for a year after that ending without at least trying to steal the manuscript?
    more
  • Faye*
    January 1, 1970
    Look at that cover, it's so pretty!! I need this book now!!!! 😍😍😍
  • Kayla Brunson
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you Jimmy Patterson Books for providing me with a copy for an honest review. "I inquire once more, which will you lose before the week is through? Your heart? Your head? Perhaps, you will lose your life, your very soul to this magical traveling show." This a very dark and fun ride! I always enjoy the books in this series and Escaping From Houdini was no different! When I heard that this would take place on a cruise ship to America I was sold. I was once again impressed by Kerri Maniscalc Thank you Jimmy Patterson Books for providing me with a copy for an honest review. "I inquire once more, which will you lose before the week is through? Your heart? Your head? Perhaps, you will lose your life, your very soul to this magical traveling show." This a very dark and fun ride! I always enjoy the books in this series and Escaping From Houdini was no different! When I heard that this would take place on a cruise ship to America I was sold. I was once again impressed by Kerri Maniscalco's writing and ability to keep me on the edge of my seat. My favorite character from this series will always be Thomas freaking Cresswell. That shouldn't surprise anyone really. Any moment with Thomas was grand. I loved reading about him and his knacks for seeing the things that others don't. Along with his humor and wit. I could live off his humor alone! "Actually, I was contemplating a murder.""Not mine I hope. Though I am rather handsome in this suit. I suppose if it's my time to go, I might as well go in style. Be sure to keep my face intact. I want you to swoon and mourn at my funeral." We are introduced to a different side of Audrey Rose here. She has a darkness in her that was hinted at in the other books but we get a bigger glimpse here. While she wasn't my favorite in this book, her storyline was good and full of mystery. Audrey Rose and Thomas are perfection together. I will always be greedy to read a scene about those two. All I know is, Thomas and Audrey Rose better be married before this series is over because my heart can't take much more. I need them to seal the deal!The plot was great! I couldn't tell who the murderer was the entire time and she shocked me with the big reveal like always. I will say this always, only Kerri Maniscalco can make me read a murder mystery. Not even just a murder mystery, but historical fiction. Those are not genres that I will read. But for her? Give me everything!!!!Now take my review and quotes with a grain of salt because I heard that she rewrote the ending after ARCs went out. So pick this up in September and let's be surprised together!Long live CRESSWORTH!! Follow Books and Blends on:Blog | Instagram | Twitter**Quotes are from an ARC and are subject to change upon publication. Buddy read with Amy and Destiny! ♥
    more
  • Jiana
    January 1, 1970
    Update 19/01/2018: I may or may have not been screaming for the past 2 hours at how glorious that cover is OH MY GOD.
  • Haadiya // Hiatus
    January 1, 1970
    this cover has blessed me in more than one way
  • mahana ✧・゚: *✧・゚
    January 1, 1970
    ☆ full review now on my blog ☆ This review is based on an uncorrected copy. My thoughts and opinions are subject to change with the final copy. Yes, I've been informed that the ending is significantly different to the final copy (though, most of my complaints have nothing to do with the end in the first place). Yes, I know this fandom is particularly adverse to ARCs of this book, even though the author herself posted on Twitter that she wants people with a copy to read it instead of allowing i ☆ full review now on my blog ☆ This review is based on an uncorrected copy. My thoughts and opinions are subject to change with the final copy. Yes, I've been informed that the ending is significantly different to the final copy (though, most of my complaints have nothing to do with the end in the first place). Yes, I know this fandom is particularly adverse to ARCs of this book, even though the author herself posted on Twitter that she wants people with a copy to read it instead of allowing it to collect dust. If you're here to get mad for that reason: please just leave and wait for the release date. I have a plan to compare this uncorrected proof to the final copy, so please just worry about yourself for the time being. So, what is Escaping from Houdini about? Audrey Rose, Thomas and Dr. Wadsworth are on the RMS Erutria en route to America. One night when they visit the ship’s magic show, the girl sitting beside Audrey Rose mysteriously dies while the lights go down for a second. Subsequently, the bodies of more rich, young women begin showing up on the ship and Audrey Rose and Thomas investigate who is behind these killings.
    more
  • Mel
    January 1, 1970
    I JUST NEED TO TALK ABOUT THE FACT THAT this book is circus related and I love circus plots SO DAMN MUCH and I love this series SO DAMN MUCH. This is everything I ever needed in my life and more.Also, I guessed a while back she would cover H.H Holmes in this book, just based on the end of book 2, and part of me wonders if that's still a possibility...
    more
  • Nadhira Satria
    January 1, 1970
    SIGN ME THE FUCK UP I MISS MY SON THOMAS
  • Asimina
    January 1, 1970
    IT'S ABOUT HOUDINI!! THIS WILL BE EPIC.I NEED THIS BOOK.
  • ambsreads
    January 1, 1970
    I would kill a man for this book (but what’s new???)
  • Rivka
    January 1, 1970
    I know this was a very early draft of the book and I’m sure I’ll love the finished version more. But for now I had few issues with it (especially the ending but we all know that she changed it so not worried there)
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    January 1, 1970
    1/12/18Cover reveal!!! Love the blue! Still not a fan of the cover model, but this is definitely my favorite cover of the series so far =D-Clues pointing to someone she loves? I swear Thomas better be safe! -Ooo...Houdini? This should be interesting
  • Lizzy (Bent Bookworm)
    January 1, 1970
    OMG LOOK AT THAT COVER. Freakin' killing me here. <3
  • The Girl Murdered by Her TBR
    January 1, 1970
    I really can't wait to have this book. Stunning and intriguing title and cover.
  • keira
    January 1, 1970
    18/12/17WE HAVE A TITLE AND SUMMARY AND RELEASE DATE AND I CANT WAIT TO READ IT the summary sounds SO good omg i'm so excited for more Cressworth
  • Maddy Max
    January 1, 1970
    Who will it be this time? WHO?! I need to know!Edit:I don't know anything about Houdini but I'm in.
  • Nastassja
    January 1, 1970
    One word: Gorgeous 😍 I am long time suspicious of covers with maidens on the front, but this one is an exception that proves girl-covers can be gorgeous. You can read excerpt from book 3 here: http://ew.com/books/2018/01/19/escapi...What I expect from the book: a) More Cresswell;b) More Cresswell;c) More Cresswell;d) Smoking-hot romance;e) A fine mystery to solve.
    more
  • TheYALibrarian
    January 1, 1970
    Holy shit I saw the cover for this on Maniscalco's instagram its sooo pretty!!!!This better be good I'm going to give this series one more chance but I'm not going to get my hopes and expectations up.
Write a review