Tornado Weather
Iowa MFA graduate Deborah Kennedy tells the story of a five-year old girl who goes missing in a small town, a place where everyone knows something different about her disappearance and about each other, in a debut that brings to mind Everything I Never Told You.Five-year-old Daisy Gonzalez’s father is always waiting for her at the bus stop. But today, he isn’t. As the bus driver, Fikus, lowers her wheelchair to the ground and looks around, chaos erupts behind him as one child has an accident and the rest begin to scream. When Daisy says her house is right down the road, she’ll be fine, and begins to wheel herself away, Fikus lets her go. And that's the last time she is seen. Nearly everyone in town suspects or knows something different about what happened, if they could only put the pieces together. They also know a lot about each other. The immigrants who work in the dairy farm know their employers’ secrets. The manager of the Laundromat knows who laid a curse on the town and why. A soldier daydreaming of his hometown can see it more clearly than the people still there. And the police officer doesn't realize how much he knows. They are all connected, in ways small and profound, open and secret.By turns unsettling, dark, and wry, the powerful voices bring the town’s rich fabric to life. Tornado Weather is an affecting portrait of a complex and flawed cast of characters striving to find some measure of fulfillment in their lives. Though the characters’ triumphs are often modest, the hope for redemption is real--and Kennedy brilliantly shows that there is nothing average about an average life.

Tornado Weather Details

TitleTornado Weather
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherFlatiron Books
ISBN1250079578
ISBN-139781250079572
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Mystery

Tornado Weather Review

  • TL
    February 24, 2017
    I received this via Goodreads Giveaways in exchange for my honest review. All my opinions are my own :)----3.5 starsA steady-paced, sometimes slow-burn of a story... very character driven, everyone with problems and flaws. A novel to be read when you can devote your full attention to it.The feel of this one reminded me of the Lovely Bones in a way, the atmosphere and certain elements going on. A taste of the something in the air and in the people... Sometimes it was confusing and I had to go ba I received this via Goodreads Giveaways in exchange for my honest review. All my opinions are my own :)----3.5 starsA steady-paced, sometimes slow-burn of a story... very character driven, everyone with problems and flaws. A novel to be read when you can devote your full attention to it.The feel of this one reminded me of the Lovely Bones in a way, the atmosphere and certain elements going on. A taste of the something in the air and in the people... Sometimes it was confusing and I had to go back and re-read or think on who was currently speaking but I enjoyed going along for the ride with this town and seeing how thing unfolded. I had a feeling what they were going to find from the very start but it didn't deter my enjoyment of the story any.This is more focused on the people in Colliersville than the mystery surrounding Daisy but she is still floating around (so to speak) in the thoughts of everyone in town. Some trying to help in their own way, keeping the hope alive and praying for her safe return.At times, the narrative felt disjointed but it fit the way everything was being told in its own way. The book started to drag toward the end for me... still good, just lost its steam a bit. Can't pinpoint where exactly. The POVs of different people was interesting though and saved that part of the story for me.The last chapter/epilogue was written beautifully but to me, felt unnecessary though one part of it did appeal to me and had me thinking.All in all, a very good debut novel and I would recommend. I would suggest reading it when you have maybe a couple days where you don't have any plans and can devote the time to savor it :).(Crappy review haha, pardon me)
    more
  • Michele
    February 24, 2017
    A powerful book that will keep you in suspense. Lots of surprises in this book!
  • Lewis Szymanski
    April 28, 2017
    I received an ARC of this book through a Goodreads giveaway.I'm so glad I randomly entered and won this giveaway.Set in 2010, this is a character-driven novel of life in a small Indiana town and the reaction of a community when a little girl goes missing. If you are expecting a straight narrative thread you will be disappointed. Each chapter is a character study/inner monolog of a different character.I loved the varied points of view and the different voices. I never wanted it to end. I wanted t I received an ARC of this book through a Goodreads giveaway.I'm so glad I randomly entered and won this giveaway.Set in 2010, this is a character-driven novel of life in a small Indiana town and the reaction of a community when a little girl goes missing. If you are expecting a straight narrative thread you will be disappointed. Each chapter is a character study/inner monolog of a different character.I loved the varied points of view and the different voices. I never wanted it to end. I wanted to read forever about the inner thoughts and opinions of the townspeople and to see them through the eyes of their neighbors.I can't say enough good things about Tornado Weather, and I am eagerly awaiting Deborah Elaine Kennedy's next book.
    more
  • lisa
    April 18, 2017
    This is one of those wonderful books that I love so much, where one story is told from the point of view of everyone in town, and only by reading the whole thing, do you begin to put the pieces together and realize what everyone's role is. If you liked Olive Kitteridge, or The Tsar of Love and Techno (as I did) you will most likely love this story set in a small town in Indiana of the reaction of a community when a little girl goes missing. I loved the varied points of view, and the different vo This is one of those wonderful books that I love so much, where one story is told from the point of view of everyone in town, and only by reading the whole thing, do you begin to put the pieces together and realize what everyone's role is. If you liked Olive Kitteridge, or The Tsar of Love and Techno (as I did) you will most likely love this story set in a small town in Indiana of the reaction of a community when a little girl goes missing. I loved the varied points of view, and the different voices. Sometimes when I read this type of book I get the characters mixed up, but that was not a problem for this book, since each character sounds uniquely like their self. This was one book that I never wanted to end. I wanted to read more about the thoughts and opinions of the townspeople, and to see them through the eyes of their neighbors, their friends, and their families. I wanted to know ALL the stories in the town, and I wanted the POV from all the people mentioned who did not get their own chapter. I think the ending is especially beautiful, and not really where I expected the story to end up, so it was a (pleasant) surprise. Highly, highly recommended, and thank you to the publisher and Shelf Awareness for the ARC!
    more
  • Paula
    March 3, 2017
    I was very fortunate to win this book in a Goodreads giveaway. The wonderful cast of characters in this story weave together a tapestry that in the end reveals how connected they truly are despite their apparent differences. Five year old Daisy Gonzalez is dropped off at the bus stop in her wheelchair. Her father isn't waiting for her that day and she disappears. There is a varied cast of characters who have an opinion about what may have happened which, at times, made the story a bit confusing I was very fortunate to win this book in a Goodreads giveaway. The wonderful cast of characters in this story weave together a tapestry that in the end reveals how connected they truly are despite their apparent differences. Five year old Daisy Gonzalez is dropped off at the bus stop in her wheelchair. Her father isn't waiting for her that day and she disappears. There is a varied cast of characters who have an opinion about what may have happened which, at times, made the story a bit confusing but also interesting. The author did a good job of writing a multilayered story that keeps you enthralled. The story of Daisy's disappearance is the first storyline you find yourself following. Shortly after, you find yourself drawn into the world of the townspeople and their lives in this small town. The storylines intertwine into a book that I highly recommend.
    more
  • Kim H.
    April 26, 2017
    This novel is a character driven mosaic of life in a community in the aftermath of the disappeearance (and presumed abducton/kidnapping) of 5 year old Daisy Gonzalez. Each chapter is written from the perspective of a different character, building on the relationships (however tenuous) between them (neighbors, employers, former classmates, hairdresser/clients, church group members, etc.). As such, if you are expecting a straight narrative thread or linear unfolding of a "who dunnit," you will be This novel is a character driven mosaic of life in a community in the aftermath of the disappeearance (and presumed abducton/kidnapping) of 5 year old Daisy Gonzalez. Each chapter is written from the perspective of a different character, building on the relationships (however tenuous) between them (neighbors, employers, former classmates, hairdresser/clients, church group members, etc.). As such, if you are expecting a straight narrative thread or linear unfolding of a "who dunnit," you will be disappointed. There are times you may wonder how what you're reading has anything to do with the story of the disappearance of Daisy. Forge ahead! You are being let in on the nitty gritty details of the lives of certain elements of Colliersville, Indiana. For me, everything came together in the final chapter. I think this is because I have personal experience of visitations in avian form from recently departed love ones. Therefore, I LOVED the way Kennedy wrapped up the story!!Thanks to the publisher for the ARC I received in exchange for this fair and honest review.
    more
  • Lizzy
    March 10, 2017
    *This is an ARC Good Reads giveaway* The story was interesting enough. It was sometimes jarring to try to guess who the narrator was in each chapter. What was really fascinating was the study of race relations in a small town and how America is changing and how people are handling it. Was surprisingly moved by the ending - very creative and beautiful.
    more
  • Leah Rachel
    June 19, 2017
    I read Tornado Weather as rumbles of thunder lit across the grey Chicago sky, and the humid air seemed to be trembling with the weight of the water it was getting ready to unleash. Deborah E. Kennedy’s debut novel is a twisting of interconnected tales, all binding together a rural Midwestern town full of prejudices, gossip, and struggle. The stories are united by the disappearance of five-year-old Daisy Gonzalez, but vary wildly in tone and characterization.To begin with the bad: Kennedy’s twist I read Tornado Weather as rumbles of thunder lit across the grey Chicago sky, and the humid air seemed to be trembling with the weight of the water it was getting ready to unleash. Deborah E. Kennedy’s debut novel is a twisting of interconnected tales, all binding together a rural Midwestern town full of prejudices, gossip, and struggle. The stories are united by the disappearance of five-year-old Daisy Gonzalez, but vary wildly in tone and characterization.To begin with the bad: Kennedy’s twisting between characters is really impressive, but can be hard to keep track of. You know that I’m a lover of postmodern fiction, so I’m used to things being a bit difficult, and usually enjoy it, but sometimes the return to some character, or the little clues I should have been picking up on, were more like annoying tidbits I couldn’t quite put my finger on. There were also a couple inaccuracies or small things that bothered me, but for the most part Kennedy keeps her voices sometimes infuriatingly accurate—the mother of a trans woman continues to misgender her, since she just began her transition, for example, or the white citizens of the town who harbor virulent racism against the Mexican immigrants who now work at the dairy farm.It’s worth the sometimes confusing twists and turns of the plot, because Kennedy forms a really intricate and interesting portrait of a town that recently gained a large immigrant population. She gives us an impressive variety of voices and relationships, and I had a really good time reading the book that is both thriller (where is Daisy? did someone kidnap her, and if so, who?) and postmodern exploration into the Midwestern rural America of today. The writing is good, and it takes a magical realist and then downright fantastical turn that I think really shows what Kennedy is capable of. I think that Kennedy’s debut is ambitious, and good have been just a little tighter, but that she’s a writer to watch, capable of some really fantastic stuff. I received a copy of this book from Flatiron Books in exchange for an honest review. Check out Tornado Weather, out July 11, for your next good summer read.
    more
  • Gayle Slagle
    June 7, 2017
    Tornado Weather by Deborah Elaine Kennedy is a jewel of a book. This is a debut novel by Kennedy and she shows the potential of becoming a major author. She is a master at developing character and presents an array of interesting and realistic people . The story takes place in Colliersville, Indiana, in 2010, and revolves around the sudden disappearance of five-year old Daisy Gonzalez at her bus stop. Each chapter in the book presents one of the citizens of Colliersville and makes each of them r Tornado Weather by Deborah Elaine Kennedy is a jewel of a book. This is a debut novel by Kennedy and she shows the potential of becoming a major author. She is a master at developing character and presents an array of interesting and realistic people . The story takes place in Colliersville, Indiana, in 2010, and revolves around the sudden disappearance of five-year old Daisy Gonzalez at her bus stop. Each chapter in the book presents one of the citizens of Colliersville and makes each of them real, warts and all. If you enjoy reading books that are character-driven, then you will enjoy Tornado Weather. It is a book that I will treasure, and I recommend it without reservation to all book lovers. I look forward to further books by Ms. Kennedy and hope that she is able to meet the expectations set by Tornado Weather.
    more
  • Jazz Eisinger
    June 7, 2017
    This book is quirky, sad, maddening, and amazing. Set in a small Indiana town, we get to see the impact one young girl has on her father, a classmate, the school janitor, the laundrymat woman, and may more characters. Deborah Kennedy has created a book that will take you through a myriad of emotions, and you will love the book for it.
    more
  • Laura
    May 16, 2017
    too many characters, too little mysteryI wish this book was marketed with a different synopsis. The writing was well done, the stories interesting, but I kept hoping for more of the missing girl and less of all the other characters.
  • Shannon A
    March 28, 2017
    Daisy’s disappearance is big news in her small town and as each person that knew her shares their narrative of what they thought happened; what unfolds is a beautiful, raw and hopeful portrait of a town and its people searching for atonement amid the bitterness of loss. A hauntingly dark and powerful debut.
    more
  • Sarah Wagner
    March 16, 2017
    *I received this book though a GoodReads Giveaway.*I knew this book was set in a small Indiana town, but as I read the first few chapters with their references to an abandoned amusement park called Fun Spot and towns like Shipshewana, I realized this book is set in the northeast Indiana I call home. (Turns out the author is from Fort Wayne, the same city I live in.) This added an extra richness to the story, as I could easily picture the places discussed in the novel and I could see bits of my n *I received this book though a GoodReads Giveaway.*I knew this book was set in a small Indiana town, but as I read the first few chapters with their references to an abandoned amusement park called Fun Spot and towns like Shipshewana, I realized this book is set in the northeast Indiana I call home. (Turns out the author is from Fort Wayne, the same city I live in.) This added an extra richness to the story, as I could easily picture the places discussed in the novel and I could see bits of my neighborhoods in the characters. I loved it & I'd recommend this book to anyone seeking a picture of small-town American life and the issues which arise from it.
    more
  • Laurie White
    March 9, 2017
    I rec'd this book thru a Goodreads giveaway in exchange for an honest review. I wanted to like this book but unfortunately i didn't, it just wasn't for me. Not saying that someone else wouldn't enjoy it. It was intriguing at first but then I just found it confusing without a point at times. It was more of the writing style that I found daunting. Each chapter, which were very long, was a different character with a different story, with multiple side characters woven in, way too much character dev I rec'd this book thru a Goodreads giveaway in exchange for an honest review. I wanted to like this book but unfortunately i didn't, it just wasn't for me. Not saying that someone else wouldn't enjoy it. It was intriguing at first but then I just found it confusing without a point at times. It was more of the writing style that I found daunting. Each chapter, which were very long, was a different character with a different story, with multiple side characters woven in, way too much character development. The chapters would start a new story line each time and I had a hard time understanding who was even talking. I found myself having to flip back so many times reminding myself who people were when they came up again and how they related. Maybe it was how it was meant to be but the missing girl felt more of a backstory than the main point of the story. I guess she brought the town together, after so much division and disaster?? It began with her and ended with her, with just little mention of her missing within each chapter. Everyone seemed miserable and maybe I missed it but what was the point of getting to know any of these characters in such depth, to have such little growth by some of them. I definitely appreciated the read but it felt more like a chore to read rather than enjoyment.
    more
  • Amanda
    March 6, 2017
    I received this book for free through Goodreads Giveaways. As always, an honest review.Tornado Weather by Deborah Kennedy is an interesting book about complex characters set in small town America. The main story is that a young girl goes missing. Everyone wonders what happens to her, and from this we learn about the town’s interesting residents. At first only the story intrigued me, not the characters, but I grew to at least understand them. Most of the book is getting to know the characters, th I received this book for free through Goodreads Giveaways. As always, an honest review.Tornado Weather by Deborah Kennedy is an interesting book about complex characters set in small town America. The main story is that a young girl goes missing. Everyone wonders what happens to her, and from this we learn about the town’s interesting residents. At first only the story intrigued me, not the characters, but I grew to at least understand them. Most of the book is getting to know the characters, their lives, and motivations. No one was perfect or even completely likable, like real human beings they were flawed. Some more than others. There were more than a few racist, sexist, homophobic, and transphobic characters. Some people were simply uneducated while others were downright mean. For awhile I wasn’t sure what the point of this story was, and I’m still not completely sure if I have it right. People are people. Some are great, some are terrible, but most are a mix of both. Flawed and trying to better themselves. Living unglamorous lives, hoping for more but being thankful for their current blessings. Tornado Weather is about people. Flawed but redeemable people. It’s an interesting book; one I wasn’t sure about in the beginning but grew to like. And the ending was simply beautiful. Completely worth the read.
    more
  • Joseph Carano
    March 11, 2017
    I recently won a ARC of this book on Goodreads. Deborah E. Kennedy is one helluva good writer. Her words seem to flow off the page . After reading this novel, I will have to put her on my follow in the future list. The book is about a small town, divided by economic and racial lines, which is dying, or at least seems to be. This book comes at the reader at many different levels, humor, mystery, and drama among other feelings. My only complaint was the over abundance of characters, way too many I recently won a ARC of this book on Goodreads. Deborah E. Kennedy is one helluva good writer. Her words seem to flow off the page . After reading this novel, I will have to put her on my follow in the future list. The book is about a small town, divided by economic and racial lines, which is dying, or at least seems to be. This book comes at the reader at many different levels, humor, mystery, and drama among other feelings. My only complaint was the over abundance of characters, way too many to keep track of to the point of needing a glossary of the town, but otherwise, a fantastic adventure.
    more
  • AJ
    June 28, 2017
    Note: I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest reviewWow. This is probably one of my favorite books of 2017, and I hadn’t even heard of it before I requested it from Netgalley. The mystery sounded interesting to me, but I wasn’t expecting such a thoughtful and beautiful story of a small town in rural USA. I immediately looked for Kennedy’s other books to read before I remembered this is, incredibly, her debut novel.The description says it’s about a young girl’s disappearance Note: I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest reviewWow. This is probably one of my favorite books of 2017, and I hadn’t even heard of it before I requested it from Netgalley. The mystery sounded interesting to me, but I wasn’t expecting such a thoughtful and beautiful story of a small town in rural USA. I immediately looked for Kennedy’s other books to read before I remembered this is, incredibly, her debut novel.The description says it’s about a young girl’s disappearance, but it is a much larger story about the entire town of Colliersville, Indiana. I grew up in a small town in the Rust Belt, long after all the steel mills left in the 70’s, so I recognize the problems Kennedy portrays in Colliersville. The narrow-minded prejudice, the unemployment, the difficulty of getting out, and the quick judgement on both outsiders and established families alike. In my hometown, your last name was often enough to tell teachers or employers what to assume about you, just like the Seaver’s in Tornado Weather. It was completely unfair and often based on something uncles or grandparents did long ago, yet it still haunts those who carry that name.Also, heaven help you if you were different. I felt so bad for Willa growing up in that environment, because I saw firsthand how difficult it was for some of my classmates. The small town feeling and a child daring to be themselves reminded me of The Flood Girls by Richard Fifield (also an incredible novel).While the main catalyst of the novel is young, wheelchair-bound Daisy’s disappearance, each chapter is told from a different resident’s POV. So many POVs can be tricky to pull off, but Kennedy manages to give each character a distinct voice and perspective that adds new layers to the town and other characters. Every character is brilliantly and tragically human, flaws and all. They didn’t necessarily shed more light on the disappearance, but they gave the reader a clearer picture of the town itself and how everyone is connected, whether they want to be or even know it.I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great character study of a small town with a tragic mystery thrown in.
    more
  • Blaire Benson
    June 19, 2017
    I received an advanced copy of this book. So here is my honest review. In the small town of Colliersville, IN, gossip spreads like wildfire. It actually reminds me a lot of my hometown. Everyone knows everyone else's business. And there is a lot of business to know. Between illegal immigrant workers, boys talking to animals, cheating couples, boys wanting to be girls, people on drugs, and roadkill collectors, there is so much to learn about how this town works.This book is written from many diff I received an advanced copy of this book. So here is my honest review. In the small town of Colliersville, IN, gossip spreads like wildfire. It actually reminds me a lot of my hometown. Everyone knows everyone else's business. And there is a lot of business to know. Between illegal immigrant workers, boys talking to animals, cheating couples, boys wanting to be girls, people on drugs, and roadkill collectors, there is so much to learn about how this town works.This book is written from many different points of view. In fact, I think only one person has a second turn. It is a cross between a soap opera and a jigsaw puzzle. Everyone tells their story and it gradually starts to fit together to make sense. The first half of the book is confusing because none of the pieces have started to fit together and it seems like a lot of jibber jabber. Luckily, it does all come together in the end and sense is finally made. The reason I only gave this book 3 stars is because of the end. While some people may find the ending satisfying because it does answer some questions that the other viewpoints left out, I thought it was stupid. I had everything worked out fine. However, the author decided that she needed to make a little trip into the land of the mystic in order to tie up any loose ends. This was completely unnecessary and ruined the tone of the book. I would have liked it much better if the last chapter was just completely deleted.
    more
  • Merry Miller moon
    May 26, 2017
    Thanks to Goodreads for the free ARC of this book. I was very excited when I saw that the author was from Indiana, a fellow Hoosier. ***POSSIBLE SPOILERS AHEAD*** The book is about the disappearance of a five year old who is bound to a wheelchair, named Daisy Gonzalez. Daisy's father adores his little girl. He is a hard working teacher, who provides for his only child to the best of his abilities. See, Daisy's mother was killed by the freak car accident that made Daisy paralyzed. One day Daisy j Thanks to Goodreads for the free ARC of this book. I was very excited when I saw that the author was from Indiana, a fellow Hoosier. ***POSSIBLE SPOILERS AHEAD*** The book is about the disappearance of a five year old who is bound to a wheelchair, named Daisy Gonzalez. Daisy's father adores his little girl. He is a hard working teacher, who provides for his only child to the best of his abilities. See, Daisy's mother was killed by the freak car accident that made Daisy paralyzed. One day Daisy just disappears. The book is told by the perspective of several different people-Helman Yoder, the former dairy owner who fired his staff and replaced them with immigrant Mexican workers, who were paid next to nothing. His wife,whom he has had committed to a mental institution. A hairdresser, a stripper, the roadkill worker, police officers investigating the disappearance and so many others I had a hard time keeping track. Very interesting story. But, my only beef with the book is that a chapter would start with a person' perspective, but it took a page or so of reading to discover who it was who was speaking. This can get so confusing when there are so many stories. Maybe the author should've had the person's name at the top of the chapter? I don't know-perhaps less characters? The ending was beautiful. I will read more books written by this author.
    more
  • Tori
    May 27, 2017
    ****I received this ARC from a Goodreads giveaway!****This book was very dark and really didn't pull any punches. I found it different from other crime stories or mysteries, because it wasn't completely focused on just the mystery, but really spent time revealing the character of all the people I'm this town. I felt the reactions (and lack of reaction) of some of the people in this story was very realistic and made it more of a commentary on our society, seeing as the girl was Hispanic, than jus ****I received this ARC from a Goodreads giveaway!****This book was very dark and really didn't pull any punches. I found it different from other crime stories or mysteries, because it wasn't completely focused on just the mystery, but really spent time revealing the character of all the people I'm this town. I felt the reactions (and lack of reaction) of some of the people in this story was very realistic and made it more of a commentary on our society, seeing as the girl was Hispanic, than just your normal whodunit. Some parts were a little dragging, but overall it kept me engaged enough to want to keep reading to find out where it was going. I'm glad I was selected as a winner and would highly recommend this book for anyone looking for something raw and real with a little mystery at its heart.
    more
  • Coleen
    June 9, 2017
    This book started out, I thought, with an interesting plot. Little girl in a wheelchair, Daisy, gets off school bus without her father or babysitter to meet her, and disappears. My only explanation to myself for why I continued to read, boring as it was, was that I wanted to find out what happened. Unfortunately, there was no one in the story that I could even remotely like, except the missing little girl. Most of the characters had mental illnesses or mental disorders, even if undiagnosed. And This book started out, I thought, with an interesting plot. Little girl in a wheelchair, Daisy, gets off school bus without her father or babysitter to meet her, and disappears. My only explanation to myself for why I continued to read, boring as it was, was that I wanted to find out what happened. Unfortunately, there was no one in the story that I could even remotely like, except the missing little girl. Most of the characters had mental illnesses or mental disorders, even if undiagnosed. And a lot of the writing seemed to me to be stream of consciousness, or unconsciousness, as the case really was.Yes, I did read the entire book, and I did find out what happened to Daisy. But it was not worth the time that it spent to read the book.I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway.
    more
  • Brie
    May 31, 2017
    I won this book in a Goodreads First Reads contest.It was more like a collection of short stories about different residents of a small town than a straightforward novel. All the stories had elements that intertwined but were solidly stand alone stories about different characters. I found some more interesting than others. I also admit I got a bit tired of this style choice near the end of the book. It started to feel overly long.The ending....yeah. Not at all sure what to think of it because it I won this book in a Goodreads First Reads contest.It was more like a collection of short stories about different residents of a small town than a straightforward novel. All the stories had elements that intertwined but were solidly stand alone stories about different characters. I found some more interesting than others. I also admit I got a bit tired of this style choice near the end of the book. It started to feel overly long.The ending....yeah. Not at all sure what to think of it because it came out of nowhere in it's reincarnation weirdness. Not sure I am a fan of it though it was a bit moving emotionally at times.A bit of a strange read. Not uplifting, not depressing.....just odd like the town in the book.
    more
  • G Christine
    June 20, 2017
    Five-year-old Daisy Gonzalez’s is always met at the bus stop by her father, but when he doesn’t show up the bus driver has to decide whether to attend to another child on the bus or help Daisy. He decides to let Daisy wheel herself away towards her home when she reassures him that she will be fine. And that's the last time she is seen. Thus begins the novel, a story that involves an entire town with characters abundant with flaws, each telling a different version of what they believe happened. M Five-year-old Daisy Gonzalez’s is always met at the bus stop by her father, but when he doesn’t show up the bus driver has to decide whether to attend to another child on the bus or help Daisy. He decides to let Daisy wheel herself away towards her home when she reassures him that she will be fine. And that's the last time she is seen. Thus begins the novel, a story that involves an entire town with characters abundant with flaws, each telling a different version of what they believe happened. Ms. Kennedy has a gift for writing with clear descriptive concise sentences and a talent for creating quirky, interesting characters. She also has a connection to Cincinnati as her brother and sister-in-law live here.
    more
  • Janice Cafarelli
    February 28, 2017
    I won this ARC on Goodreads. I ,after finishing this book, still am not totally sure what direction the author was taking. At times if I put the book down had to go back and reread back pages to try to figure out where I was in the story(?) and who I was reading about at that time. The ending of the book was really far fetched and did not really fit the rest of the book. I think some refiguring of the format and changing the ending might help. The story starts with a child that goes missing but I won this ARC on Goodreads. I ,after finishing this book, still am not totally sure what direction the author was taking. At times if I put the book down had to go back and reread back pages to try to figure out where I was in the story(?) and who I was reading about at that time. The ending of the book was really far fetched and did not really fit the rest of the book. I think some refiguring of the format and changing the ending might help. The story starts with a child that goes missing but somehow this fact gets lost or put on the back burner for the most part until the very end of the book.
    more
  • Vnunez-Ms_luv2read
    June 10, 2017
    This is a very good book told from the perspective of various people in a small town where a young girl has gone missing. This book will take you through a variety of emotions. Very good character detail. This is my first time reading this author but it will not be my last. The ending of this book is beautiful. Thanks to NetGalley, the author and the publisher for the ARC of this book in return for my honest review.
    more
  • Alex Miklos
    June 16, 2017
    I received this book as part of a Goodreads giveaway. I really enjoyed reading this book. It was the first book I have read where each chapter is from a different character's point of view, and I loved that. You got to see how everyone was reacting to what was happening in town, each of their stories were weaved together. You got to see how the characters saw each other. It really showed how everyone grew and moved on. Suspenseful at times and such a great read.
    more
  • Brandi
    May 19, 2017
    I won this on this site and was very pleased. I was very pleased that another book about a missing girl was not overly focused on being all about the search. This felt like a portrait of a community, which is told from different viewpoints. I was confused at times as to who was who, especially in the chapters that are written in 1st person when most were 3rd person. There was a lot of humanity in here and as it progressed it came together well. I enjoyed the light hearted ending.
    more
  • KBev
    May 6, 2017
    3.5 stars, really. I was fully on board until the end. It does have a lot of characters narrating & it does get a bit confusing at times. Could have easily been solved with putting the narrators name at the top of each chapter break. But overall, an enjoyable read & a much different take on the disappearance of a young girl. It's more about the people in the town & their relationships to one another, than the actual disappearance.
    more
  • Lex Poot
    June 29, 2017
    I won this one on Goodreads. I was hoping to find a kaleidoscope of small town America. I was not disappointed. Illegal immigrants and white supremacists among others are brought to life in this book. Sad as it may be the girls disappearance does not play a big part in the book other than a vehicle to write the story around. Looking forward to the authors next book.
    more
  • Katlyn Ulinski
    June 26, 2017
    This book just isn't for me. I don't really like the sentence structure and I just am not really interested in any of the characters. for that matter it's kind of annoying to be thrown into a point of view and trying to figure out who's speaking. I am still appreciative to have been able to have this book before the release date but I just can't read anymore when I'm not interested
    more
Write a review