Our Year of Maybe
Aspiring choreographer Sophie Orenstein would do anything for Peter Rosenthal-Porter, who’s been on the kidney transplant list as long as she’s known him. Peter, a gifted pianist, is everything to Sophie: best friend, musical collaborator, secret crush. When she learns she’s a match, donating a kidney is an easy, obvious choice. She can’t help wondering if after the transplant, he’ll love her back the way she’s always wanted.But Peter’s life post-transplant isn’t what either of them expected. Though he once had feelings for Sophie too, he’s now drawn to Chase, the guitarist in a band that happens to be looking for a keyboardist. And while neglected parts of Sophie’s world are calling to her—dance opportunities, new friends, a sister and niece she barely knows—she longs for a now-distant Peter more than ever, growing increasingly bitter he doesn’t seem to feel the same connection.Peter fears he’ll forever be indebted to her. Sophie isn’t sure who she is without him. Then one blurry, heartbreaking night twists their relationship into something neither of them recognizes, leading them to question their past, their future, and whether their friendship is even worth fighting for.

Our Year of Maybe Details

TitleOur Year of Maybe
Author
ReleaseJan 15th, 2019
PublisherSimon Pulse
ISBN-139781481497763
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult, Lgbt, Romance

Our Year of Maybe Review

  • Rachel Solomon
    January 1, 1970
    1/15/19: Welcome to the world, OUR YEAR OF MAYBE!! 6/7/18: And we have a cover! Some facts about OUR YEAR OF MAYBE:- It's dual POV.- Sophie is Jewish.- Peter is half Jewish and grappling with what that means when he feels more connected to Judaism than to anything else.- Peter identifies as bisexual on-page from the beginning.- This isn't a spoiler, but given there's a bit of a love triangle, I feel it's important to know: there is NO CHEATING in this book.You might enjoy OUR YEAR OF MAYBE if yo 1/15/19: Welcome to the world, OUR YEAR OF MAYBE!! 6/7/18: And we have a cover! Some facts about OUR YEAR OF MAYBE:- It's dual POV.- Sophie is Jewish.- Peter is half Jewish and grappling with what that means when he feels more connected to Judaism than to anything else.- Peter identifies as bisexual on-page from the beginning.- This isn't a spoiler, but given there's a bit of a love triangle, I feel it's important to know: there is NO CHEATING in this book.You might enjoy OUR YEAR OF MAYBE if you like:- dancer girls who are confident onstage but still figuring out real-life relationships - soft boys who play piano- yearning- self-discovery- the agony of unrequited love between best friends- Jewish characters having feelings about Judaism- bands that aren't very good but are really trying- first kisses in bookstores- jokes about Seattle- a chinchilla named Mark
    more
  • Heather
    January 1, 1970
    Solomon has a way of writing beautifully, sad books. I adored this one!
  • Vicky Who Reads
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsLuscious, poignant, and another stunner from Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone. It’s safe to say that Our Year of Maybe was just as moving and well-written and finely crafted as Solomon’s debut, and I could not be more excited. Sophie and Peter are such different and dynamic main characters–they change so much in this novel, but not in a rushed way. They’re dynamic and they learn and they find out new things and they grow and it’s really great story-wise seeing 4.5 starsLuscious, poignant, and another stunner from Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone. It’s safe to say that Our Year of Maybe was just as moving and well-written and finely crafted as Solomon’s debut, and I could not be more excited. Sophie and Peter are such different and dynamic main characters–they change so much in this novel, but not in a rushed way. They’re dynamic and they learn and they find out new things and they grow and it’s really great story-wise seeing this, but it’s also great for teens to see this coming of age happen. If anything, this whole book felt so natural, which is honestly one of the things that I like the most about Solomon’s novels. Natural in the way that although Solomon writes about specific situations with specific people and specific hobbies, they’re all fitting together and you wouldn’t think twice if these people were real and this actually happened in real life. Not only is it natural, but it also keeps it real and Solomon talks about so many things not commonly represented in YA–Judaism, masturbation, bisexuality, sex, toxic friendships, and so much more. It’s the little things that counts, and some of the smallest scenes are still things that are so rarely portrayed in YA and it really feels like Solomon knows teenagers and just how big the struggle is. It’s just so refreshing to read her books, and Our Year of Maybe did not disappoint plot-wise. With books that are very friendship/family focused, it can be scary in case things become slow, but I’m really glad to say that Solomon does an amazing job of keeping things interesting and happening and progressing in the story and letting it flow, even though the plot is very intangible in the way that it’s not a physical force.And the exploration of toxic friendship was amazing, of course. It wouldn’t be rated this highly if it wasn’t. I really loved how in the beginning, I was kinda shipping Peter and Sophie (I mean they’re childhood best friends and I love that trope), but by the middle, I was definitely just wanting them to be happy as possible, even if it meant separating. Plus, the ending scene was just wow. I am not ashamed to say that I cried during it and was feeling all the feels as it happened. Whew.I admit that Our Year of Maybe was slightly less poignant for me than You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone (and when I say slightly, I mean very slightly) just because I resonated more with Tovah and Adina’s story more than Sophie and Peter’s. This is why I took off a half star (so you know which one is my slightly more favorite), but also understand that this is by no means saying that Our Year of Maybe was written worse–just that I personally didn’t enjoy the subject matter as much as You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone. If anything, I think Our Year of Maybe is written and developed better than You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone, but the topic itself wasn’t something I was as connected to.Overall, Our Year of Maybe was just as good, if not better, than You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone–and both of them are amazing. I definitely recommend if you want a real contemporary that explores so many themes and lessons teens will need.Plus, check out some more things I’ve written about Rachel Lynn Solomon’s works you might want to see!- My review of You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone.- My mini post about Our Year of Maybe in the Barnes and Noble teen blog!Thank you so much to Simon & Schuster and Rachel Lynn Solomon & Netgalley for providing me with a digital review copy in exchange for an honest review!Blog | Instagram | Twitter
    more
  • Jasmine
    January 1, 1970
    ***Actual rating: 4/5 Lovin’-So-Hard Stars*** And then I let go of him first, this boy who never belonged to me.Ilet go first. Peter and Sophie have been best friends since childhood; growing up together, Peter’s feeling for Sophie is always nothing more than F.R.I.E.N.D.S. whereas Sophie starts having undeniable crush on him day by day. When Sophie realizes Peter never feels the same as she does, her secret crush morphs into a much more dangerous obsession, which has totally taken its toll ***Actual rating: 4/5 Lovin’-So-Hard Stars*** And then I let go of him first, this boy who never belonged to me.Ilet go first. Peter and Sophie have been best friends since childhood; growing up together, Peter’s feeling for Sophie is always nothing more than F.R.I.E.N.D.S. whereas Sophie starts having undeniable crush on him day by day. When Sophie realizes Peter never feels the same as she does, her secret crush morphs into a much more dangerous obsession, which has totally taken its toll on their friendship. There’s only one goal Sophie’s determined to achieve: Getting Peter to love her back, even if it meant giving him her kidney when he’s so desperately in need of one. Just when Sophie thinks Peter will change his feeling about her after gratefully accepting her kidney, she’s proven completely wrong. Peter finds the keyboardist in his newly joined band, Chase, so attractive that the more time they spend with each other, the more often they’re aware of the chemistry between them. We hold each other in my bed for a while, because there’s no rush to leave this room. He drums a melody on my back while I play an accompaniment on his rib cage. Torn between not wanting to let Sophie down and following his heart to be with Chase, Peter makes some good and bad decisions along the way. Good decisions? He does eventually pluck up the courage and tell Sophie where his heart belongs in all honesty. Bad ones? Well, under the most frustrating circumstances, Peter does something unforgivable (in my opinion) to Sophie and shatters her heart as a consequence. What I appreciate most in this book is the character development. Both Peter and Sophie grow so much throughout the story and I love all the experiences shaping into who they are today. From Peter and Sophie’s self exploration, they show me that people indeed change all the time. During different phases in life, one will be affected by people they meet, people they befriend, and things they encounter with. Even if the friends around you may turn into someone you barely recognize, just bear in mind there’s still innocence in their characters and that their true essence still remains unchanged.Moreover, the best part of this book to me is the ending. The story’s wrapped up flawlessly and beautifully because Peter and Sophie finally figure out who they are and whom they’re destined to be this entire time. Seriously, I can’t think of a better way to sum up the book and *sigh* even recalling the perfect ending to Peter and Sophie’s story puts a goofy smile on my face!Unfortunately, despite the fact that I thoroughly enjoy almost 90% of the book, there are still plot designs and concepts I don’t fully agree upon. For example, Sophie’s younger sister gets pregnant, becomes a mother, and grows her own family with her teenage boyfriend at such a young age as 16. The whole story makes this incident look like the most normal thing ever. As if teenagers nowadays can do whatever they want without having to take the responsibility/consequences seriously. It’s strange, my younger sister growing this family of her own. While Tabby and Josh have been together since they were fourteen, I didn’t know they were having sex until Tabby told us she was pregnant. She’d advanced to level forty, and I was still trying to beat level one. Aside from the premarital sex reference, I find the mention of sex toys (*cough* vibrators *cough*) quite disturbing as well. I don’t mind if people use them to satisfy their carnal desire but I personally think it’s utterly unnecessary and irrelevant to highlight something so private in a young adult novel. I mean, don’t you think it’s a bit inappropriate for younger readers? *shrugs*All in all, Our Year of Maybe is a coming-of-age, contemporary, diverse story featuring bisexual characters and focusing on self-explorations. Even though the book’s not 100% my cup of tea, I can easily foresee its success once published officially since it’ll certainly be an overnight sensation in the LGBTQ+ community as well as diverse readers/advocates/supporters. Besides, because of the wonderfully written character development, readers can resonate with the protagonists without doubt ; hence, I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone thinks about Our Year of Maybe, and I of course will RECOMMEND this book to those who’re uncertain of themselves or those who’re still in search of their questionable existence (like me before reading this book). ***Thanks to the author and the publisher for kindly sending me an e-ARC in exchange for an honest review.***
    more
  • Marty :} (thecursedbooks)
    January 1, 1970
    Rachel Lynn Solomon is slowly becoming one of my all-time favorite authors, I’m waiting on her third book that sounds even more painful and full of angst than this one and You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone to make it official. But so far, she is amazing. This book is about co-dependence in friendship, about unrequited love, the consequences of a transplant between friends (how does Rachel come with those bold ideas and execute them so well?? I will never understand). I liked everything about this boo Rachel Lynn Solomon is slowly becoming one of my all-time favorite authors, I’m waiting on her third book that sounds even more painful and full of angst than this one and You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone to make it official. But so far, she is amazing. This book is about co-dependence in friendship, about unrequited love, the consequences of a transplant between friends (how does Rachel come with those bold ideas and execute them so well?? I will never understand). I liked everything about this book and I’d totally recommend it.
    more
  • Dahlia
    January 1, 1970
    This was a really, really lovely exploration of codependent friendship and at what point it becomes toxic and whether there's a point at which it can be saved. I think my heart wanted to see more from the end but not in a "this book did it poorly" way; I just really liked the discussions they were opening and I wanted more. Probably not realistic IRL, but as someone who had a male best friend with whom she was very close in a way that made relationships tricky and okay also maybe she was in unre This was a really, really lovely exploration of codependent friendship and at what point it becomes toxic and whether there's a point at which it can be saved. I think my heart wanted to see more from the end but not in a "this book did it poorly" way; I just really liked the discussions they were opening and I wanted more. Probably not realistic IRL, but as someone who had a male best friend with whom she was very close in a way that made relationships tricky and okay also maybe she was in unrequited love with him, this hit me in some very familiar ways <3
    more
  • Marie
    January 1, 1970
    You know what, I loved this so much. The childhood friends trope, my heart, my feelings, how realistic everything felt, how three -dimensional these characters were, the sisters relationship, the families, MY FEELINGS.My heart is very happy right now. I loved this. Really, really did.Full review coming soon :)My Blog - Drizzle & Hurricane Books - Twitter - Bloglovin'
    more
  • Shannon (It Starts At Midnight)
    January 1, 1970
    You can find the full review and all the fancy and/or randomness that accompanies it at It Starts at Midnight "Because I was in love with him— the kind of love that made my throat ache with all the things I couldn’t say." This is probably going to be one of "those" reviews that just amounts to incoherent gushing, and I am not sorry. When I heard there was a new Rachel Lynn Solomon book coming out, I had no doubt I'd like it. I loved  You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone , but more than that I could j You can find the full review and all the fancy and/or randomness that accompanies it at It Starts at Midnight "Because I was in love with him— the kind of love that made my throat ache with all the things I couldn’t say." This is probably going to be one of "those" reviews that just amounts to incoherent gushing, and I am not sorry. When I heard there was a new Rachel Lynn Solomon book coming out, I had no doubt I'd like it. I loved  You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone , but more than that I could just kind of tell that the author had a certain... specialness to her writing. "The only regrets I have when it comes to Peter are things I don’t do. Things I don’t say." And right I was. This book was absolutely everything I had hoped and expected, but then somehow, it was even more. In YMMWIG, while I related to the characters quite deeply on a human level, I never went through many of the things they had gone through. This one... well, it was different. Because it spoke to me. Told me things I needed to hear. And honestly, it's pretty damn powerful when a book has that ability. "It takes a lot of energy to love someone this much without being loved back the way you want. It drains you." And sure, I will tell you about all its positives from a more objective angle! The characters are incredibly relatable, whether you have been through any of the junk they have or none at all. Just like YMMWIG, it has the uncanny ability to make you love and care for these characters. They are flawed, and messy, and at their cores just good, decent people trying to navigate the world. The world with all its unwanted feelings and harshness and ups and downs.You need more? Sure! It has funny moments, charming moments, heartwarming moments, and yeah, heartbreaking moments. The stories-within-stories make the pages fly by. You'll learn so much about all the relationships, beyond just their friendship-turned-mess. You'll see them coming of age, and dealing with all the highs and lows it encompasses. "Sometimes you hurt, and sometimes you ache, but the worst pain is one you can’t put a name to and can’t swallow a pill to fix." And yes, maybe you'll learn something about yourself, or about relationships of all sorts. Maybe this book will help you process some of your own bullshitty life stuff. Maybe it'll tell you stuff you had to hear, had to hear in the way Rachel Lynn Solomon tells it. Maybe, if you're really lucky, it'll be exactly what you need. Bottom Line: This book is beautiful and honest and relatable, and quite frankly, flawless.
    more
  • Sierra
    January 1, 1970
    imagine having a wig remaining after finishing this book.....cannot relate!Sweet, heartbreaking, haunting, and beautiful.
  • Samantha (WLABB)
    January 1, 1970
    I jumped at the opportunity to read this book based on all the amazing things I had heard about Solomon's debut, You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone, and let me tell you, it was a great decision. This book was a painfully beautiful exploration of a friendship, and how quickly something so seemingly solid can deteriorate.Sophie and Peter shared a friendship, which worked well in a bubble, but post-transplant, a lot of cracks begin to become more prominent, and I know I struggled with being both happy fo I jumped at the opportunity to read this book based on all the amazing things I had heard about Solomon's debut, You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone, and let me tell you, it was a great decision. This book was a painfully beautiful exploration of a friendship, and how quickly something so seemingly solid can deteriorate.Sophie and Peter shared a friendship, which worked well in a bubble, but post-transplant, a lot of cracks begin to become more prominent, and I know I struggled with being both happy for and frustrated with Peter.What could be more amazing, than to be given a chance to actually live? Peter had made peace with the idea that he would not have a long life. His world was pretty much his parents, his doctors, piano, and Sophie. He never really took the opportunity to figure out who he was or what he wanted out of life, and therefore, I was overjoyed that the transplant worked. Peter had the opportunity to go to school, make new friends, and explore his identity. He was rushing forward, but he wasn't taking Sophie with him, and that pained me. I am going to tell you right now, there were tears, many tears. I think I cried during each and every one of Sophie's chapters. Sophie was the one I felt was being left behind. Even if I understood the why's, it still broke my heart, because I identified so hard with her. And unrequited love always, ALWAYS causes me heartache. Loving someone, who will never return those feelings is never easy, and Solomon did a fantastic job pulling me into Sophie's emotional wreckage.The alternating point of view was a nice way to juxtapose the way Sophie and Peter were dealing with their changing dynamic and their new situation. Sophie was struggling with being left behind and not having her feelings reciprocated, while Peter grappled with wanting to explore his options, while feeling so indebted to Sophie. It was not easy for either of them, but I was glad that BOTH were having new and positive experiences.A quick run-down of things I adored• Great family dynamics and present parents• Siblings• Mark the chinchilla• Music, music, music!• Dancing and the dance team• Books• The band, Tabby, Luna, Josh, Chase and his family - I loved them allOverall: A wonderful story of love, family, friendship, and identity, which was messy and packed with emotion.*ARC provided in exchange for an honest review. BLOG | INSTAGRAM |TWITTER | BLOGLOVIN | FRIEND ME ON GOODREADS
    more
  • Robyn
    January 1, 1970
    Rachel Lynn Solomon blew me away with her debut book, You’ll Miss Me When I am Gone. So, I can’t tell you how excited I was when I found out that her second novel, Our Year of Maybe was to be released soon. I NEEDED this book! I once thought that Solomon could not get any better than her debut, but I was wrong, this book is everything I ever hoped it could be and so much more. Sophie has been in love with Peter almost her entire life. They are the best of friends. Sophie would do anything for Pe Rachel Lynn Solomon blew me away with her debut book, You’ll Miss Me When I am Gone. So, I can’t tell you how excited I was when I found out that her second novel, Our Year of Maybe was to be released soon. I NEEDED this book! I once thought that Solomon could not get any better than her debut, but I was wrong, this book is everything I ever hoped it could be and so much more. Sophie has been in love with Peter almost her entire life. They are the best of friends. Sophie would do anything for Peter and she does by giving him a kidney he so desperately needs. They share a bond that is unbreakable, but once Peter receives his new kidney their relationship slowly starts to change. Sophie wants more while Peter is finally free to explore life and live for once something he was unable to do while he was sick. Their friendship is tested over and over again, but will their friendship take the ultimate hit one evening when things go to far?I really fell in love with Sophie and Peter. They are young sometimes impulsive, but they always had each other’s best interest at heart. Their story really made me think of some of the friendships that I had when I was younger. I don’t think I have ever shared so close of a bond with any of my friends at least not like the one Sophie and Peter share. Also, to give my kidney to someone, that is such a hard decision to make, but one that Sophie did wholeheartedly. Sophie is brave and such a wonderful person deep down inside. Sophie’s love for Peter is so easy to see and feel. But, on the other hand as the story progresses you can see how both Sophie and Peter are codependent on one another each for different reasons. Their lives are both changing and with that comes a sense of independence as they both come to terms with where their friendship is going and even if their friendship can survive. With the new kidney, Peter has this whole world now opening up to him and he is finally able to see and do things he was unable to do prior to the transplant. Rachel Lynn Solomon really delves deep into teenage life with Sophie and Peter without the unnecessary drama that is often associated with being a teenager. They are fleshed out relatable characters that are three dimensional and I felt like I really got to know the both of them on a personal level which made both Sophie and Peter relatable and loveable all at the same time. Solomon shows how teenage life is sometimes messy and flawed, but on the other hand shows that real bonds can be formed no matter how young or old you are. While Sophie and Peter are both young they do have this level of maturity about them and their characterization just goes to show how much of a fantastic and talented writer Solomon really is.Our Year of Maybe is absolutely brilliant and breathtaking. Rachel Lynn Solomon writes from the heart and it so easy to see all of the love and passion she puts into her stories and characters. This is one of those books that you instantly know should be on the bestsellers list. It is a timeless story that will be talked about for years to come. This is a five star must read book.
    more
  • PinkAmy loves books, cats and naps
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 STARSSophie is in love with her neighbor and best friend. She can’t help hoping Peter will feel the same way after she donates a kidney to him. Peter is now free, healthy enough to live his life, go back to school and pursue his interests.If Peter doesn’t return Sophie’s romantic love, can their friendship survive.Rachel Lynn Solomon’s sophomore book is every bit as engaging and well written her debut, YOU’LL MISS ME WHEN I’M GONE. OUR YEAR OF MAYBE is a complicated, multitiered story about 4.5 STARSSophie is in love with her neighbor and best friend. She can’t help hoping Peter will feel the same way after she donates a kidney to him. Peter is now free, healthy enough to live his life, go back to school and pursue his interests.If Peter doesn’t return Sophie’s romantic love, can their friendship survive.Rachel Lynn Solomon’s sophomore book is every bit as engaging and well written her debut, YOU’LL MISS ME WHEN I’M GONE. OUR YEAR OF MAYBE is a complicated, multitiered story about relationships, healthy and dysfunctional. Each major and minor character has layers and a unique personality. I was never confused who was who. I also never wondered whether or not I was reading Sophie’s or Peter’s point of view.Most of the relationship enmeshment came from Sophie. Throughout her life she chose Peter over the potential for other school friends. Her introversion and shyness probably played part of that. I felt frustrated when she blamed Peter for choices she made. He never asked anything of her. Sophie’s insecurity was a big turn off from me, as well as her clinginess. I rooted against a relationship with Peter. Her younger sister Tabitha, a teen mom, added so much to the story. Seeing Sophie from Tabby’s POV gave even more insight into Sophie. I loved Peter and the way he was finally able to embrace life.Solomon incorporated so much diversity seamlessly into the story including: dyslexia, bisexuality, race, belief and nonbelief, finding the Jewish religion (in a nonpreachy unobtrusive manner), family, friendship, teen pregnancy. OUR YEAR OF MAYBE sex positive with self and others relying heavily on consent, again in an unobtrusive way. Peter decides not to continue to kiss Sophie, or more, because she’s drunk. In another case two people make love, asking each other if X or Y is okay. The scenes aren’t graphic or overly sexual.I love Solomon’s books and can’t wait to see what she writes next.
    more
  • dezzy
    January 1, 1970
    5 stars.My first five-star read of 2019, yay!!It was so easy to rate Our Year of Maybe five stars. I love this book so much.- Rachel Lynn Solomon's writing is so easy and fun to read. Not once did I feel bored while reading this, the plot & pacing were great!- THE CHARACTERS, oh my gosh. Peter and Sophie's relationship was so complex and intriguing to read about, and my heart hurt so much for Sophie at times. - I LOVE PETER AND CHASE. They're so cute and ahhh I absolutely loved their friends 5 stars.My first five-star read of 2019, yay!!It was so easy to rate Our Year of Maybe five stars. I love this book so much.- Rachel Lynn Solomon's writing is so easy and fun to read. Not once did I feel bored while reading this, the plot & pacing were great!- THE CHARACTERS, oh my gosh. Peter and Sophie's relationship was so complex and intriguing to read about, and my heart hurt so much for Sophie at times. - I LOVE PETER AND CHASE. They're so cute and ahhh I absolutely loved their friendship and romance 😭💕 I smiled and squealed so much while reading their scenes, hahah.- I'm so happy for Sophie and the person she grew to be by the end of the book. She deserves the world and I love the way the book ended for her.- The character development & dynamics was A+!!- I loved the side characters as well: Sophie's dance team friends - Montana, Liz (SHE WAS A BOOKWORM AND I LOOOOVED THAT), and Peter's band friends - Aziza, Dylan, and Kat.- Oh and it was so interesting to read about Sophie's sister Tabby, who's a teen mom.- Both Sophie and Peter's parents were so great and supportive.- Great LGBTQ+ representation!! (Especially bi rep) <3- I've never read a book about a kidney transplant before, and it was extremely fascinating to read about the post-transplant life for both Peter and Sophie and the complexity - guilt, regret, bitterness, and heartbreak - that came with it.- This book was so emotional yet engaging & fun to read!!I have so much love for this book, I'll never stop screaming about Our Year of Maybe. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE read it for its complex characters, emotional scenes, adorable and smile-inducing romance, and lots & lots of music and dancing!! 💖 "I let go first.
    more
  • Victoria Lee
    January 1, 1970
    I think I'm doomed to be obsessed with anything and everything Rachel Lynn Solomon writes.I was lucky to read an early copy of this book and I will never get over it? The way Solomon writes is stunning to start with, just like...craft-wise. But she also does such an incredible job wrestling with really difficult topics like toxic relationships, codependence, chronic illness.... As a person with chronic illness myself (lupus) who's ALSO Jewish and ALSO bisexual, seeing myself represented on the p I think I'm doomed to be obsessed with anything and everything Rachel Lynn Solomon writes.I was lucky to read an early copy of this book and I will never get over it? The way Solomon writes is stunning to start with, just like...craft-wise. But she also does such an incredible job wrestling with really difficult topics like toxic relationships, codependence, chronic illness.... As a person with chronic illness myself (lupus) who's ALSO Jewish and ALSO bisexual, seeing myself represented on the page like this was just al;ksdfa INCREDIBLE? Solomon does such a good job writing about chronic illness, too. She's clearly done her research and has so much empathy and it really comes across on the page.
    more
  • rachel
    January 1, 1970
    04/16/2018: That description is perfect. Sophie and Peter and Chase and Tabitha and Luna and Josh and the entire cast will steal your heart. This book, like Rachel's debut, deals with intense love, debts, and high school dramallama. It will be perfect for fans of her debut (DUH), but also for fans of Siobhan Vivian and Corey Ann Haydu.01/06/2018: What a book. Rach's characters never cease to amaze me. <3 I am lucky enough to be Rachel's critique partner and have read many drafts of this book. 04/16/2018: That description is perfect. Sophie and Peter and Chase and Tabitha and Luna and Josh and the entire cast will steal your heart. This book, like Rachel's debut, deals with intense love, debts, and high school dramallama. It will be perfect for fans of her debut (DUH), but also for fans of Siobhan Vivian and Corey Ann Haydu.01/06/2018: What a book. Rach's characters never cease to amaze me. <3 I am lucky enough to be Rachel's critique partner and have read many drafts of this book. It is also dual point of view (I'm sensing a trend here, Rach...) about two best friends, obsession, love, and a kidney transplant. It is ALSO LGBTQIA+!!!! And diverse! The points of view are Alex, a Jewish redhead who is on her school's dance team, who gives her kidney to her BFF/long time crush, Peter (the other POV in this book). This book deals with family and Seattle (again, sensing a theme here), and love. Also bad decisions. SUPER BAD DECISIONS. You should read it in 2019.
    more
  • Lea (drumsofautumn)
    January 1, 1970
    "dancer girls who are confident onstage but still figuring out real-life relationships" wow I've been called out
  • Elise (TheBookishActress)
    January 1, 1970
    this is a book about the issue of transplants and best friendship, feat. a bi lead. cool. 
  • Stacy Fetters
    January 1, 1970
    "I gave Peter a piece of me- but maybe I also have him the freedom to figure out who he was without me. And I should have realized much sooner that I’d given myself the exact same thing."When you love and care about someone so much, you would do anything for them. No matter the cost and no matter what kind of toll it takes on your body. Would you put your life on hold for a friend?Sophie does that exact thing for her best friend, Peter. Peter is on the kidney donor list and his time is running o "I gave Peter a piece of me- but maybe I also have him the freedom to figure out who he was without me. And I should have realized much sooner that I’d given myself the exact same thing."When you love and care about someone so much, you would do anything for them. No matter the cost and no matter what kind of toll it takes on your body. Would you put your life on hold for a friend?Sophie does that exact thing for her best friend, Peter. Peter is on the kidney donor list and his time is running out. His parents aren’t a match and they are all out of options. His best friend, Sophie gets tested and she’s a perfect match. She would do anything to save her best friends life and she decides to donate her kidney to him. After the surgery, she believes that this will bring them closer together. As wounds heal and life tries to go back to normal, relationships take a hit. Peter and Sophie spend time with our people and they grow further and further apart. Until something happens that changes their lives. Will it be for the best or will it ruin everything? Relationships are complicated mess but will that be their fall? Sophie and Peter have a bond that we all crave in a friendship. They also make you want to be a better person. Their witty banter and closeness fill you with such joy. Our Year Of Maybe is fragile but exquisite. This was a tender book that will make your heart shatter and tears stream down your face. This is one book to look forward to in the new year.
    more
  • Monica
    January 1, 1970
    Peter and Sophie's characters were so well developed. I really appreciated being 'with them' as they grew and went through phases of their friendship. Teenage life can be messy and this book embraced that without being too dramatic. I found their feelings realistic and thought out which made them really relatable.
    more
  • K.A.
    January 1, 1970
    Bloody brilliant, as is literally EVERYTHING Rachel Lynn Solomon writes. The voice, the real characterization, the messy truth about teenage love and friendship and life, it's all so perfectly amazing, this author is quickly rising to the top of my favorite YA contemp authors. I cannot say enough about this book. LOVED IT!
    more
  • Booklovin✮
    January 1, 1970
    What could be more amazing, than to be given a chance to actually live? Overall, this was a beautifully written book that tackles difficult issues while pulling you into its world.The ending surprised me and I loved it.
  • Kate
    January 1, 1970
    Any book that makes snot stream down my face deserves all the stars
  • USOM
    January 1, 1970
    (Disclaimer: I received this free book from Edelweiss. This has not impacted my review which is unbiased and honest.)Our Year of Maybe hooked me from line one. Solomon has this way of writing which is equal parts carefree simplicity and also hard hitting kicks to the feels. On a pure writing level, there were so many lines that I just had to highlight because they were so beautiful.But not only that, but our characters, Peter and Sophie are characters that you root for, not only because we have (Disclaimer: I received this free book from Edelweiss. This has not impacted my review which is unbiased and honest.)Our Year of Maybe hooked me from line one. Solomon has this way of writing which is equal parts carefree simplicity and also hard hitting kicks to the feels. On a pure writing level, there were so many lines that I just had to highlight because they were so beautiful.But not only that, but our characters, Peter and Sophie are characters that you root for, not only because we have dual POV's in their head, but also because they have these fears that get at the heart of what being a teen is.full review: https://utopia-state-of-mind.com/revi...
    more
  • Norelle
    January 1, 1970
    Jēziņ, šīs grāmatas loģika... wow.... Sākšu ar labo:* 70% no Pītera POV nodaļām bija tīri ok. Tas, kā viņš beidzot cenšas izmantot iespējas, iegūt jaunus draugus, jo beidzot viņam ir iespēja.... Tas likās uzrakstīts ticami un man gribējās, lai viņam izdodas.* Tabby un Josh mazā ''ģimenīte'' bija diezgan reālistiska. Tīņu grūtniecība, paturēts bērns un tas, kā dzīve galīgi nav rožu dārzs pēc tam. Bet they try to make it work. Un viņš viņu nepameta ar bērnu. Lielākā problēma šai grāmatai...*SOFIJA Jēziņ, šīs grāmatas loģika... wow.... Sākšu ar labo:* 70% no Pītera POV nodaļām bija tīri ok. Tas, kā viņš beidzot cenšas izmantot iespējas, iegūt jaunus draugus, jo beidzot viņam ir iespēja.... Tas likās uzrakstīts ticami un man gribējās, lai viņam izdodas.* Tabby un Josh mazā ''ģimenīte'' bija diezgan reālistiska. Tīņu grūtniecība, paturēts bērns un tas, kā dzīve galīgi nav rožu dārzs pēc tam. Bet they try to make it work. Un viņš viņu nepameta ar bērnu. Lielākā problēma šai grāmatai...*SOFIJAProtams, grāmatas loģika paredzēja beigās, lielajā kašķī pataisīt Pīteru par lielo ļaundari par visām iespējamām lietām. Vai viņš prasīja, lai Sofija ziedo savu nieri? Nē.Vai viņš pieprasīja, lai Sofijai nav citu draugu un visa viņas dzīve un nākotnes plāni ir pakārtoti viņam? Nē.Tās bija viņas pašas izvēles. Tad kāda velna pēc pie tā, ka Sofija nejēdz normāli draudzību veidot, viņš pēc tam skaitās ļaunais egoists????? Viņš nepieprasīja viņai, lai viņa viņu padara par savas pasaules centru.Sofija ir apsēsta ar to čali visu grāmatu. Vai viņa priecājas, ka viņas draugam tagad ir iespēja kaut ko pasākt dzīvē? Nē. Viņa toksiski pūšas par to, ka oh nooooo, viņš uzdrošinās spēlēt klavieres kopā ar citiem cilvēkiem, nevis tikai ar viņu. Riebeklis tāds. Kā viņš uzdrīkstas iepazīties ar citiem cilvēkiem skolā, uz kuru viņam beidzot veselība ļauj iet??????Problēma ir fakts, ka Sofija nepareizo iemeslu dēļ vispār izvēlas ziedot orgānu. I mean - kad tu izvēlies otram ziedot orgānu, tev tas jādara no tīras sirds. Negaidot neko pretī un nemēģinot kko pēc tam no situācijas panākt vai pēc tam pārmest. Un pēc tam, nu nav tev tiesību pūsties par to, ka šim cilvēkam tagad ir iespējas dzīvot pilnvērtīgi un viņš tās izmanto. Nu nav. Tu viņam šo iespēju devi. Īpaši, ja tu apgalvo, ka šis cilvēks ir tavs labākais draugs. Tad tev būtu jāpriecājas, ka tavam labākajam draugam tagad ir pilnvērtīgāka dzīve. Bet Sofijas viens no iemesliem(lai ko viņa teiktu, tas vnk ir REDZAMS 300lpp garumā), ir tas, ka viņas prātā, Pīteram tagad būtu pēkšņi jāsaprot, ka viņš viņu neprātīgi mīl un tagad viņiem jābūt kopā, jo viņiem tak ir vienādas rētas, viņā iekšā ir daļa viņas un vēl visādi poētiski crap texti ar vienu domu - ka nu tik viņi būs vēl tuvāki. Un kad tas tā nenotiek... viņa par to cepas. Bet nu tu nevari ar tādu mindsetu ziedot orgānus. Tu nevari pieņemt to lēmumu(neviens neizdarīja spiedienu uz viņu) un tad nez ko gaidīt no otra, vai cepties par to, ka tagad šis otrs izmanto iespēju dzīvot normāli, nevis tikai sēdēt mājās vai riņķot ap tevi.Pēdējās 40lpp ir vispār kaut kāds sviests. Sākot ar to seksu un beidzot ar to pilnīgo murgu sporta zālē. Sofija nav šīs situācijas cietēja. Nav. Viņa izvēlējās savu dzīvi pakārtot Pīteram(kurš piemēŗam, nevienā minūtē neprasīja, lai viņa saskaņo savus universitātes nākotnes plānus ar viņu un nez ko gadu gaida, vai arī lai viņa nepavada laiku kopā ar citiem draugiem), bet redz beigās viņš ir vainīgs? Kā? Reizēm man likās, ka galvenajai varonei ir nevis 18, bet 14 gadi. Also - ja situācijas būtu apgrieztas un tas būtu čalis, kas meitenei ziedotu orgānu, liktu savai dzīvei riņķot ap viņu un gaidītu, ka nu tagad taču viņa iemīlēsies, ka viņiem tomēr būtu jābūt kopā... diez vai 5 zvaigznes tā lidotu šī darba virzienā.
    more
  • Laurie Flynn
    January 1, 1970
    I absolutely ADORED this book. I've been a huge Rachel Lynn Solomon fan since her debut, YOU'LL MISS ME WHEN I'M GONE, so I was eagerly awaiting her sophomore novel. And OUR YEAR OF MAYBE did not disappoint. Told in dual POV, it's the story of Sophie and Peter, lifelong best friends who have at turns felt something more, but never at the same time. When Sophie donates a kidney to Peter the summer before senior year, she thinks it will bring them closer together, and that maybe she will be able t I absolutely ADORED this book. I've been a huge Rachel Lynn Solomon fan since her debut, YOU'LL MISS ME WHEN I'M GONE, so I was eagerly awaiting her sophomore novel. And OUR YEAR OF MAYBE did not disappoint. Told in dual POV, it's the story of Sophie and Peter, lifelong best friends who have at turns felt something more, but never at the same time. When Sophie donates a kidney to Peter the summer before senior year, she thinks it will bring them closer together, and that maybe she will be able to express her true feelings for him. But... life gets very complicated as Peter reenters high school and explores interests (and people) outside of Sophie, and Sophie tries to find the courage to pursue her own passions separate from Peter. Rachel Lynn Solomon masterfully explores a complex situation using two fully realized, flesh-and-blood main characters who you'll truly feel for. The supporting cast is just as strong. I loved the ever-shifting family and friend dynamics. It's a great compliment to say that a book feels like it could be real life, and that's the case here. Rachel's writing is brave and at times unexpected, and as a fellow author, I respect that she doesn't take the easy way out. Nuanced, authentic, and heartfelt, OUR YEAR OF MAYBE is a novel you won't want to put down until you find out what happens with Sophie and Peter. (And you'll have to read it, because I'm not telling!)
    more
  • Colleen's Conclusions
    January 1, 1970
    I need to point out the fact that I am not sure when I am supposed to post this review. I signed up for the blog tour, but my name isn’t on the schedule and I got approved for the Netgalley book anyway. So I decided to just post on my chosen date just in case even though I’m not officially on the tour. I just like meeting deadlines when I’m supposed to.Now that I have that out of the way…let’s all go back to admire that cover. Isn’t that cover simply stunning? It may have been one of the reasons I need to point out the fact that I am not sure when I am supposed to post this review. I signed up for the blog tour, but my name isn’t on the schedule and I got approved for the Netgalley book anyway. So I decided to just post on my chosen date just in case even though I’m not officially on the tour. I just like meeting deadlines when I’m supposed to.Now that I have that out of the way…let’s all go back to admire that cover. Isn’t that cover simply stunning? It may have been one of the reasons why I had wanted to read this book in the first place, as well as the plot. I love beautiful book covers and that alone makes the book be rated highly. I can’t rate a book alone on just the cover because that’s not the point of a review.This thought may seem a little bit redundant now from me, but I had no way of knowing which way this book was going to go for me. I honestly wanted to DNF the book based on the prologue alone because it was a sex pact and I was just like… woah. We don’t know anything about these characters and they are making a vow to be each other’s first when the timing is right? Uh….. am I the only one not ok with that? But I reminded myself that a prologue is a prologue, it takes place way before the story starts so I had to keep telling myself that in order to get over that huge warning misgiving it kept giving me.I was able to get through the next few chapters since they weren’t like that, we were able to get more of the friendship between Peter and Sophie. One major thing I did not like about this book is how Sophie seemed to be dependent on Peter, even though there was a reason why she was. For example, I didn’t like how she didn’t always try new things or make new friends because she was too worried about Peter and his health and seemed to put her life on hold for his. She basically was willing to do anything for him to take his pain away. That part I was ok with since they were best friends, but it was dependent thing I wasn’t ok with.Then there was the fact that she thought she could try to use something that happened to her in order to get what she wanted out of their friendship in order to make it be more.I was able to let those things go (mostly) because teenagers aren’t perfect and it’s unfair to expect teenager characters to be perfect.This story was a 4.5 out of five stars and I rounded up to five on Goodreads. It was written well, with just those things as some misgivings. I liked the friendship aside and this book was actually pretty emotional. I didn’t cry, but I’d say there could probably be some trigger warnings for health and sexuality stuff. I’d recommend this for the older high school students. I was glad I was given the chance to read this book. Thank you Netgalley and the publishers for giving me the chance to read this book!
    more
  • Annie
    January 1, 1970
    I liked this! It's human and diverse and complex. (You can read my full review and enter a giveaway for the book here!) Read it if you like:💑 Complex friendships and an exploration of how friendship can become toxic👶 Family! (Including a younger sister who's a teen mom)💃 Music and dance🧠 Messy, real characters and relationships💕 Dual POV✡ Diversity, including Jewish protagonists and some exploration of religionDiversity Rep: main character who is bisexual, Jewish, and has chronic kidney disease; I liked this! It's human and diverse and complex. (You can read my full review and enter a giveaway for the book here!) Read it if you like:💑 Complex friendships and an exploration of how friendship can become toxic👶 Family! (Including a younger sister who's a teen mom)💃 Music and dance🧠 Messy, real characters and relationships💕 Dual POV✡ Diversity, including Jewish protagonists and some exploration of religionDiversity Rep: main character who is bisexual, Jewish, and has chronic kidney disease; Jewish and dyslexic main character; multiple LGBTQ+ side charactersWarnings: sexual content (some younger readers may not feel comfortable reading)
    more
  • Clara
    January 1, 1970
    I'm glad that I have so long to write a review before release day because I'm going to need that time to sort out my many emotions. This was SPECTACULAR.
  • Savanna Waddle
    January 1, 1970
    i'm like really hurt, so i'm gonna need a bit.
  • Jen Petro-Roy
    January 1, 1970
    This was amazing.
Write a review