Long May She Reign
The Girl of Fire and Thorns meets The Queen of the Tearling in this thrilling fantasy standalone about one girl’s unexpected rise to power.Freya was never meant be queen. Twenty third in line to the throne, she never dreamed of a life in the palace, and would much rather research in her laboratory than participate in the intrigues of court. However, when an extravagant banquet turns deadly and the king and those closest to him are poisoned, Freya suddenly finds herself on the throne.Freya may have escaped the massacre, but she is far from safe. The nobles don’t respect her, her councillors want to control her, and with the mystery of who killed the king still unsolved, Freya knows that a single mistake could cost her the kingdom – and her life.Freya is determined to survive, and that means uncovering the murderers herself. Until then, she can’t trust anyone. Not her advisors. Not the king’s dashing and enigmatic illegitimate son. Not even her own father, who always wanted the best for her, but also wanted more power for himself.As Freya’s enemies close in and her loyalties are tested, she must decide if she is ready to rule and, if so, how far she is willing to go to keep the crown.

Long May She Reign Details

TitleLong May She Reign
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 21st, 2017
PublisherHarperTeen
ISBN0062418688
ISBN-139780062418685
Number of pages422 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

Long May She Reign Review

  • Cait (Paper Fury)
    January 11, 2017
    Oh just a hold on a sec while I have a SMALL REVIEWER CRISIS over my thoughts about this book. It had a lot of potential?? But I have a small picnic basket full of quibbles that's really bothering me. Obviously this is JUST ME and I hope you try this book and if you enjoy it, I'm ever so happy for you. But I can't help feeling that that the fantastic premise was let down with the execution. It's also possibly I've read a gazillion fantasy novels and MY EXPECTATIONS ARE ALWAYS OFF THIS PLANET AND Oh just a hold on a sec while I have a SMALL REVIEWER CRISIS over my thoughts about this book. It had a lot of potential?? But I have a small picnic basket full of quibbles that's really bothering me. Obviously this is JUST ME and I hope you try this book and if you enjoy it, I'm ever so happy for you. But I can't help feeling that that the fantastic premise was let down with the execution. It's also possibly I've read a gazillion fantasy novels and MY EXPECTATIONS ARE ALWAYS OFF THIS PLANET AND THIS IS A PROBLEM.So. Here we are. #CrisisIntensifies(Although NOTE: despite the premise being the mass death of half the court [says in the blurb so it's not a spoiler!] it's actually a lighter fantasy and not too dark for younger YA audiences. So not exactly my favourite [I likee dark] but definitely would appeal across the YA age spectrum.)P L O T:• I mean, the whole idea of a girl who is 23rd in line for the throne actually GETTING THE THRONE due to literally the whole court being poisoned is A REALLY GREAT PREMISE AND I LIKE IT. It is the #1 reason I was standing around hollering for this book.• But.• The whole "mystery" behind the poisoning was kind of anticlimatic.• And the book turned out to be 98% politics and 2% she's-falling-in-love-with-a-boy-who's-possibly-related-help-us-all. So if you like political plot lines with like NO ACTION = this is fro you.• If you like action like I like action = possibly go try to give your cat a bath in an inflatable rubber pond. You will see more action. You will also die BUT I DIGRESS.• I was great seeing Freya learn to be queen! Except she was all righteous-indignation and perfection and I have ZERO CLUE how she didn't get murdered because she didn't listen to anyway BECAUSE ADULTS ARE DUMB and managed to make everyone accept her with one visit to an orphanage. Dude. Really?• Is it bad that I expected a really cutthroat court but the whole thing was so polite and laid back that it was anti-climatic?? Pls someone remove me from all my cutthroat fantasies.• And the whole ending (view spoiler)[with finding out Madeline was a mass-murderer of the ENTIRE COURT [400+ people, might I add] was just allowed to leave because awww, SHE WAS A GOOD FRIEND (!!) and did Freya's hair nicely that one time and she only wanted to cull the frikkkin' court because she thought they were vapid and wasteful...but naaaah. Let her run off. Bye bye darling, send a postcard. I'm sure this is fine. [CUE CAIT WALKING INTO A BRICK WALL] (hide spoiler)] So I am disgruntled and annoyed.F R E Y A:• Okay at first I loved her because she's introduced as (A) a girl who loves science and asks questions and reads and makes discoveries and has a laboratory, (B) she loves her cat and would literally die for him which makes sense because pets > people, every time; and (C) she seems to have social anxiety!! WOOOO FOR MENTAL HEALTH REP IN FANTASY BOOKS!!• But apparently she can turn the social anxiety on and off. She had panic attacks in crowds to start with but by the end? BOOM DARLING. THAT'S GONE.• Sure social anxiety is different for everyone. My experience isn't going to be the same as Bob's down the road, for instance. BUT YOU CAN'T JUST SUDDENLY BE "CURED" OUT OF NO WHERE AND IT'S ACTUALLY FRUSTRATING TO READ ABOUT.• Also Freya 100% looked down on people who weren't into science. She had the Better Than Thou attitude going allllll the time and I kind of wanted to smack her in the head with a test tube. The way she automatically assume everyone else was vapid DROVE ME A LITTLE BATTY.R O M A N C E:• Hahahahaahhaha• If she's 23rd in line for the throne she has to be somewhat related to the king, right? And Fitzroy is the king's bastard son?• ARE THEY NOT RELATED AT LEAST DISTANTLY?• #help• I did think their romance was cute....but it was totally thrown in (She only realises she's even likes him halfway through the book! That's not enough time to develop the relationship!) and it would've been sooo much more satisfying to have them just be friends.S M A L L T H I N G S T O L O V E:• It heavily focuses on female friendships!! YAYYAYAY• The fantasy world IS NOT SEXIST!! I can literally count non-sexist fantasy worlds on one hand. I'm literally crying with happiness.• There is a cute psycho cat. #niceS M A L L T H I N G S T O D I S L I K E:• Since the cake was poisoned, I'm absolutely brutally CRUSHEd. Cake is my favourite. It has now been sullied.• The romance = no go from me Jo.• Very little world building. It just seems like Freya was ruling once city. No clue what the plebs are doing out there. WHO CARES.• There is very little, erm, logic in how the kingdom is run. Like the court was freaking poisoned, but they continue serving the queen stuff without properly examining it. Dude. No. She also runs around without guards. Erm. The badies also don't make much attempt to really kill her???• Freya was basically PERFECT. She had like no faults and everything she did was Perfectly Justly Queen Wonder and basically it was boring.• Honestly not much was happening in the book. I'm not saying I napped, but I wish the political intrigue had been more ... intriguing? Maybe poison a few more cakes, I DON'T KNOW.ALL IN ALL: It had a lot of things to love but ultimately it was disappointing for me. I just want mooooore from my fantasy worlds these days?? They seem too simplistic and lowkey, whereas I don't think it would've been THAT HARD to shove a teen queen (OOOH IT RHYMES) off the throne. Like just, erm, stab her or something is all I'm saying? Also still sad about the "sudden disappearance" of the social anxiety theme. And absolutely in mourning over the thought that cake could be poisoned.How can the world sink so low, omg.
    more
  • Cait • A Page with a View
    June 30, 2016
    Release date: February 21, 20173.5 stars overall. This had all the elements of a typical YA fantasy book, but was actually more like a murder mystery! I'll post a more detailed review closer to the release date, but for now here are some basic thoughts:I was super into the first 20% of this book but then kind of lost interest when the pacing slowed down. The beginning quickly establishes the main character of Freya, who's pretty far down the line of succession for the throne. She isn't well-vers Release date: February 21, 20173.5 stars overall. This had all the elements of a typical YA fantasy book, but was actually more like a murder mystery! I'll post a more detailed review closer to the release date, but for now here are some basic thoughts:I was super into the first 20% of this book but then kind of lost interest when the pacing slowed down. The beginning quickly establishes the main character of Freya, who's pretty far down the line of succession for the throne. She isn't well-versed in court etiquette or politics and would rather spend time working in her laboratory. She was an intelligent, level-headed, and capable main character.Freya leaves a banquet at the palace early and pretty much everyone who stays is poisoned. Everything is thrown into chaos as she's suddenly queen and has to learn to navigate court politics and stay alive while she tries to figure out who the murderer is. But this is also where the book slows down a lot. There are a variety of characters with different motives, a potentially complicated love interest, and... just a lot of people? The only character I was really interested in was Torsten Wolff (BECAUSE HOW AWESOME IS THAT NAME). Basically this is a great setting with a refreshing main character, but I wasn't terribly into the story after the initial massacre. I just didn't find the pacing particularly gripping and ended up not really caring about anything in the end. I've never been that into murder mysteries, though, so maybe that affected my rating.Thank you to the publisher for sending me an ARC!
    more
  • Lonleypurplecat
    July 25, 2015
    Please don't make her stupid blushing violet that somehow creates a love triangle with two (hot) idiots.
  • Sana Khalid °¤°
    March 23, 2017
    this title gives me chills idk why
  • Lexie
    July 31, 2016
    This was honestly so good, I should have traded more than a vague promise of good behavior for an ARC.Standalone fantasy. It's where all the good one-shot plots have escaped.Review to come when the aforementioned good behavior allows it.Bottom line: it's more than just a pretty face cover.
    more
  • Sarah
    February 4, 2017
    (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “I couldn’t be queen. I couldn’t. So many people would have to die for me to inherit the throne, and they couldn’t be gone.” This was a YA fantasy story featuring a girl who was never meant to be queen.Freya was an okay character, and I liked how she used her strengths to her best advantage, even when it didn’t seem obvious how she could possibly do that.The storyline in this was about the King and his c (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “I couldn’t be queen. I couldn’t. So many people would have to die for me to inherit the throne, and they couldn’t be gone.” This was a YA fantasy story featuring a girl who was never meant to be queen.Freya was an okay character, and I liked how she used her strengths to her best advantage, even when it didn’t seem obvious how she could possibly do that.The storyline in this was about the King and his court all being killed by poison, and Freya who was twenty-third in line to the throne suddenly becoming queen. We then had a bit of mystery over who had killed everybody, and Freya had a lot of issues with knowing how to be queen and knowing how to rule a kingdom. We did get a little touch of romance, but not a lot, and although the pace was a little slow, the story was enjoyable.The ending to this was quite action-packed, and probably the best part of the book for me.6.5 out of 10
    more
  • Sa96ar
    June 25, 2016
    the title reminded me of Reign the TV show & i LOVE that show soooo.... :")
  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
    January 13, 2017
    3.5 Stars!I was drawn to this story after seeing the cover and reading the synopsis and that fascination, that curiosity just grew after the first chapter and even more so the further I got into the story.The fact that this is a stand alone, made it even more appealing. The simple truth that it was somewhat addicting and hard to put down, even better. Let's face it, there are very little stand alone novels out there lately. Instead the market of both adult and young adult, are riddled with duol 3.5 Stars!I was drawn to this story after seeing the cover and reading the synopsis and that fascination, that curiosity just grew after the first chapter and even more so the further I got into the story.The fact that this is a stand alone, made it even more appealing. The simple truth that it was somewhat addicting and hard to put down, even better. Let's face it, there are very little stand alone novels out there lately. Instead the market of both adult and young adult, are riddled with duologies, trilogies, and series, and while I love them, it is nice to have a read once in a while that you know will be all done, all wrapped up in one sitting. Add in a protagonist that is every bit as compassionate as she is headstrong and smart, you have a story that was down right irresistible. I was really surprised with how much I enjoyed this and I can't even completely say why other than it was just really fun and downright entertaining. It wasn't a completely new concept but it was a well written one and that mattered more to me than anything else. These days having a read that is just good and gives me what I want just when I want it, seems to matter more than originality or unique design.If you are looking for something that will let you get away for awhile, entertain, and just let you have a good time, this is the read for you. *ARC copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • Beth
    July 26, 2016
    Freya is the girl that shouldn’t have become queen. When someone poisons the court, Freya misses the attack because she bowed out to get in some chemistry time in her homemade lab. Now, she is thrust into political intrigue, a position of power and is surrounded by someone who wants her dead.Freya has no idea how to be queen. She struggles with her new circumstances and must learn to overcome her shortcomings in order to become a good ruler. The story was a little slow going but in the end I lik Freya is the girl that shouldn’t have become queen. When someone poisons the court, Freya misses the attack because she bowed out to get in some chemistry time in her homemade lab. Now, she is thrust into political intrigue, a position of power and is surrounded by someone who wants her dead.Freya has no idea how to be queen. She struggles with her new circumstances and must learn to overcome her shortcomings in order to become a good ruler. The story was a little slow going but in the end I liked it. It even includes a dash of romance. Long May She Reign was more historical mystery than fantasy but very enjoyable. I received this ARC copy of Long May She Reign from HarperTeen in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication February 21, 2017.Written by: Rhiannon ThomasMy Rating: 3.5 starsHardcover: 432 pagesPublisher: HarperTeen Publication Date: February 21, 2017ISBN-10: 0062418688ISBN-13: 978-0062418685Genre: Scifi | Fantasy | MysteryBarnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/long-...Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Long-May-Reign...Itunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/long...Reviewed for: http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • ☆Stephanie☆
    March 25, 2017
    Title: Long May She ReignAuthor. Rhiannon ThomasPublisher: HarperTeen, 2017 (Feb 21)Genre: YA FantasyThis review can be found on my Blog. TeacherofYA's Tumblr, or my Goodreads page My Review: Ok. You all know I'm a sucker for a pretty cover. 9 times out of 10 it actually works for me. Really. The wrapper matches the inside and I'm a happy girl. I'm a coverwhore but a lucky one.This was not one of those times. Thank goodness I got this from Overdrive...if I had bought this, I would have been disa Title: Long May She ReignAuthor. Rhiannon ThomasPublisher: HarperTeen, 2017 (Feb 21)Genre: YA FantasyThis review can be found on my Blog. TeacherofYA's Tumblr, or my Goodreads page My Review: Ok. You all know I'm a sucker for a pretty cover. 9 times out of 10 it actually works for me. Really. The wrapper matches the inside and I'm a happy girl. I'm a coverwhore but a lucky one.This was not one of those times. Thank goodness I got this from Overdrive...if I had bought this, I would have been disappointed. (This is why I mainly only buy books that I have read). With limited funds, I must be discretionary with my money.I had to cleanse myself of the recent contemporary read with some fantasy...and I had really been looking forward to this book. It was so pretty, and it was fantasy, and it was about a princess...and then I started reading. And realized it was a "who dun it" mystery...and I thought... But let me just tell you about Long May She Reign first before I tirade.Freya is a scientist. She has no interest in frivolity and when she must attend court for the King's birthday, she's reminded why she's so lucky NOT to be in line for the throne. She's awkward and says the wrong thing all the time. If it wasn't for Naomi, her only friend and Partner-In-Crime (her science PIC), she would have no one but her father. Her mother died long ago, and he tries to encourage her simply to fit in.When Freya has an idea she must try in her lab, she and Naomi run back to Freya's basement lab to test the theory. She plans go return to the extravagant party, but falls asleep mid-experiment.When she awakes, her father busts in, surrounded by guards, and informs Freya that she is now Queen. A terrible crime has been committed and everyone before her in line for the throne is dead. Freya is now Queen. By default. But that doesn't mean Freya is safe.Whoever killed the King and the others at the party is still at large. Freya is essentially a walking target. Was it an accident putting her on the throne, as she was meant to be at the party? Or was it deliberate? The King's illegitimate son doesn't trust her, and either does the King's best friend...but that also could be a cover, as ANYONE could be a suspect.Even her own father. As Freya tries to expose the person responsible for the multiple deaths, she must deal with suspicious nobles, unhappy peasants, and a fathef who tries to make Freya just like the old queen. Are they taunting her when they shout, "Long may she reign?" Is it Classroom-Appropriate?I guess it is, as there is material you could use. I came up with a rating system today to clear up different levels of classroom appropriateness, as I've always wanted a way to express it simply at the end of my two cents. Since I wanted to stick with my POP theme, I decided to make a teacher graphic...and who's the best Professor of them all?DUMBLEDORE! Thata right, I picked Dumbledore to help make decisions on classroom use of YA books. Now, I'll be using this first for this book, so hold tight. Long May She Reign doesn't have what seems like a specific era, so there's no cultural significance. The murder mystery is an interesting angle, if you are into that kind of thing, but I can't see a use for it in a classroom. Freya's "queenly" transformation could be a good lesson, as is the different experiments she creates. She discusses the Scientific Method, demonstrates all the processes for testing chemicals, etc. as she tries to find a way to detect poison. But that's pretty much all that can be extrapolated from the novel. So when it comes to classroom appropriateness, I give Long May She Reign: As in yes, but there are better choices. It could work, but why try when you can find something much better to use? If you're determined, then there are some avenues listed, but it's not going to get you far with material.Age RangeThere's no Lexile score for this book, and there aren't any instances of steamy moments or swearing. This book is as PG as it gets. I would say as young as 12 as long as they could keep attention on the murder plot, which was even hard for me to do. But it's definitely a book middle-grade readers could grab and you wouldn't have to worry about content. The "romance" between Freya and one of the characters involves some kissing. Some very light kissing. That's it. End Result:I'm not into murder mysteries. The minute I realized what I was reading was mainly all about solving the "who dun it," and that there would be nothing else for me to focus on, a lost a significant amount of interest in the book. If you LOVE murder mysteries, I would say this would be great for you....but then why read this when you could read a REAL mystery novel? I mean, seriously? I read fantasy for the romance and action and adventure, and Long May She Reign had none of that. Even the ending fell flat. By the time the mystery was solved, I didn't even care anymore.  It wasn't bad, and it wasn't good, so you know what that means...a big fat "meh" from me and ★★★☆☆.  Yup. That's all for that book. Hopefully moving on to something that will lift me up (and I was having such good book luck so far! Dang it!)Hang tight for my giveaway...it's coming! There will be more stuff in the meantime, but it should be next Friday, so mark your calendars! (I know you won't, but I had to say it...give me points for trying, at least!)What did you think of Long May She Reign? Do you like murder mysteries? Yes, I loved the movie "Clue" btw: awesome 90s movie everyone should see at some point in their lives.  Off to find a new book! Ta! 
    more
  • Scrill
    March 17, 2017
    “Still slightly drained from all the interaction, still slightly unsure of what people might do next, but something had clicked, some knowledge that I could actually do this, I could be queen the way I wanted, and the consequences would be whatever the consequences would be.Long May She Reign is a story about a girl who was 23rd in line to the throne to suddenly find herself queen. A massacre on the court leaves Freya the next in line after she luckily gets by without being poisoned. Now, a girl “Still slightly drained from all the interaction, still slightly unsure of what people might do next, but something had clicked, some knowledge that I could actually do this, I could be queen the way I wanted, and the consequences would be whatever the consequences would be.Long May She Reign is a story about a girl who was 23rd in line to the throne to suddenly find herself queen. A massacre on the court leaves Freya the next in line after she luckily gets by without being poisoned. Now, a girl who had no intention to even stay in court has been forced to make a choice either she refuses being queen, essentially making her a target for whomever actually does take the throne, or take on the job and give up her dreams.As a fantasy novel there wasn’t very much world building. The majority of the story was spent within a castle or fort. There is a little religious culture that is told about the past rulers, the Forgotten, of the city that left the country because it was succumbing to worldly values. That’s all that is really told about them, except a few minor details here and there that helped the story along. I was never quite sure why they were called the “Forgotten” since they are more likely to be the “Remembered” since many people worshiped them. Maybe I skimmed past that part.The characters themselves were done well enough. Each person had their own personality and you do get a little attached to poor Freya. As the story progresses you get to see her transform from timid girl who basically has enochlophobia and slowly learns to be the spotlight among many people. She faces her fears and learns to have a spine. Part of the story was the character development of Freya. While the other part was the mystery. A classic, who done it? As the story progresses Freya herself investigates the murders and slowly through research and science discovers who was behind the massacre. The mystery is well written, as there are times you think you know who it was, and turns out it wasn’t. Over and over again your suspicions are tested until the truth finally is revealed. The entire time through the book you are thrown this way and that due to everyone’s suspicious behavior, you really don’t know who it really could be, as anyone could have done it.There were a few issues with the book that I just couldn’t get over. The first one was partially visually. For some reason there were so many words italicized. I understand doing it occasionally to help stress certain thoughts, but I felt it was a little overdone, and actually took away from how it was written.The second was Freya’s actions. Why was she the one doing all the investigating, and why did she have to sneak around to do it? It’s normal to have an investigation, and I know she wants to be involved, but why wasn’t someone else doing it for her and informing her the findings?The third was the dead king’s actions. I understand why the king wanted to have control over his party, but why would it be expected for him to be in charge of where he picked ingredients to come from? Isn’t it enough to say, “I want a gold cake, make it happen”. I would never expect the king to be ordering the sugar, flour, etc.Besides these small details, I found the book a little slow but was intrigued to find out who the culprit was.
    more
  • Crazy4Books
    February 14, 2017
    This world was pretty easy to understand but it didnt have any magic or fantastical elements which was disapointing. I think its more of a historical fiction with a mystery but it is marketed as a fantasy standalone. I liked the whole mystery aspect of trying to figure out who killed all the nobles but someones review on Goodreads ruined it for me when I was only about 20% of the way through the book. The killer was named right at the top of their review so I couldnt miss it while I was scrollin This world was pretty easy to understand but it didnt have any magic or fantastical elements which was disapointing. I think its more of a historical fiction with a mystery but it is marketed as a fantasy standalone. I liked the whole mystery aspect of trying to figure out who killed all the nobles but someones review on Goodreads ruined it for me when I was only about 20% of the way through the book. The killer was named right at the top of their review so I couldnt miss it while I was scrolling through all the reviews to add friends.I loved that the main character Freya was into science and that she built herself a new lab to figure out how to detect poison. I liked that she was intelligent and cared about her people enough to try to overcome her anxiety and do the right thing. I also really enjoyed Freyas friendship with Naomie. It felt very authentic but I wanted to see them spend more time together. The deceased Kings son Fitzroy wasnt at all what I expected but I enjoyed his interactions with Freya. I thought they were cute together and I appreciated that it wasnt insta love.I felt like Freyas father was a little too eager to get her crowned but I liked how she tried to fight him and the councils control over her. They were pretty frustrating when they tried to prevent her from ruling. I never knew what to think of Madeline sometimes she came off as fake and sometimes she seemed like she genuinely cared. I didnt like her cousin Sten but Holt seemed nice enough. I enjoyed all of the court intrigue but there wasnt enough action in my opinion. I was happy too see that some of the people on the council were women.The writting flowed nicely and the pace was alright. Sadly, knowing who the murderer was had a pretty big effect on my enjoyement. The mystery is a pretty big aspect of this story so knowing who did it took that all that suspense away. Besides that I think the cover is absoluetly freaking stunning. Definitely one of my favorite covers so far this year. Im not a big historical fiction fan but if a fantasy type historical fiction book with a murder mystery sounds like something you would enjoy then I think this is worth a try.*received in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Sara Saif
    March 5, 2017
    4.5/5I really seriously found this book mesmerizing. Just LOOK at that cover. My brain refused to find any faults. Context is one of the hundred things that affect how you feel about a book. The one I read before this was absolute rubbish so compared to that, this was, without a doubt, splendid. I will, however, stress that Long May She Reign is extraordinary and refreshing in its own right.The genre may be fantasy but there is surprisingly little of that, there’s just one element in the book th 4.5/5I really seriously found this book mesmerizing. Just LOOK at that cover. My brain refused to find any faults. Context is one of the hundred things that affect how you feel about a book. The one I read before this was absolute rubbish so compared to that, this was, without a doubt, splendid. I will, however, stress that Long May She Reign is extraordinary and refreshing in its own right.The genre may be fantasy but there is surprisingly little of that, there’s just one element in the book that vaguely reflects this aspect. Nevertheless, this lack of fantasy hardly deters it from being brilliant, even though I did pick it up because it was marked in that category. It’s more of a murder mystery with politics and palace intrigue, narrated by a relatable and admirable heroine whose development and growth as a person is absolutely wonderful. The book is made all the more enjoyable by the fact that it’s a standalone. It wraps up quite nicely.Freya is a budding scientist who is a distant cousin to the king and very far in the line of succession. She despises the intricacies and wastefulness of court life, preferring instead to keep to herself and also has mild panic attacks for fear of being in public. Her life is spared by accident when during the king’s birthday celebration a mass poisoning kills almost the entire members of court including the king and all in line to succeed him before Freya.The focus is entirely upon court politics and the challenges of being a young and unwilling queen; ruling an unstable kingdom and solving the mystery of the mass murder. Besides Epira, the country in question, there is no mention of other kingdoms. Freya being an inventor and conducting experiments suggests that the world is somewhat on the path to advancement but there is nothing besides that. In the case of this book, it works. I, for one, was completely satisfied with the amount I was given on the world-building front.Secondly, the system of belief in the book, which probably is what makes it a fantasy novel, leaves something to be desired. They are called “the Forgotten” and they’re invoked as being superior beings that lead the kingdom a long time ago and still watch over it. The people aren’t necessarily religious or devout and some don’t even believe in them but all still use a measure of respect while talking about the Forgotten. “Rickben, the peacemaker. Elandra, the fierce. Garret, the trickster. Valanthe, the just. They had ruled Epira when it used to be better, but abandoned it in disgust at the kingdom’s growing corruption. Now only a few relics remained, miracles of architecture and engineering, a reminder of how great the kingdom had once been and could be again.”I found this to be a tad weird because the history of Epira and the Forgotten was never elaborated beyond this point and in a world that was decidedly scientific and had no magic or anything of the sort, this detail seemed to be out of place. It didn’t quite fit. I feel there should have been a little more to it or that it shouldn’t have been added in the first place. It just seemed like an element put in there for the sake of making it a fantasy book.I adored Freya. She might have sounded a bit paranoid in the beginning but I quickly understood and related to her discomfort. She had panic attacks around people which is nothing to take lightly. She lacked self-confidence and had an extreme fear of being put front and center. I cannot describe how realistically, believably and beautifully she overcame her fears and came into her own. She learned to play to her own strengths, grew self-confidence and never hesitated to say or do the right thing even if sent her heart thumping painfully. It’s the small things like these that make me connect to a character instantly, it’s how I get inspired and take courage from them. Her sciencey nature made her think rationally, assess the situation and find answers. Solving the mystery with her was rewarding and fun.The book has strong female friendships and a romantic interest that is never the center of attention but sweet nonetheless. Ultimately, it’s a character driven story and a darn good one at that.
    more
  • Stacee
    February 18, 2017
    2/5 starsit's pretty much guaranteed that I'll read a book if it's compared to The Girl of Fire and Thorns. I liked the premise and was quite eager to read. Sadly, this was a bit boring. It started out strong. I liked Freya and I really loved that she was a scientist. I loved her experiments and her devotion to her cat. I wanted to root for her. I guess my hang up was the plot. Everything moved so slowly that I quickly lost interest. Even the few small reveals couldn't keep me captivated. And by 2/5 starsit's pretty much guaranteed that I'll read a book if it's compared to The Girl of Fire and Thorns. I liked the premise and was quite eager to read. Sadly, this was a bit boring. It started out strong. I liked Freya and I really loved that she was a scientist. I loved her experiments and her devotion to her cat. I wanted to root for her. I guess my hang up was the plot. Everything moved so slowly that I quickly lost interest. Even the few small reveals couldn't keep me captivated. And by the time I found out who was behind it, it seemed like too little too late. Overall, I think it was the dense sections that bogged me down and kept me from devouring the story. **Huge thanks to Harper Teen and Edelweiss for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Ashley
    June 27, 2016
    FACTS:- It's not really a romance. There are a few bits and pieces, but it's ultimately sooo not the focus of the story, which is kind of appropriate.- It seemed like it would be a fantasy book, but it's not really. I mean, it is, because it's about some imaginary land/kingdom. But I guess it didn't feel like a fantasy since it's so rooted in science and there's no magic.WHAT I LIKED:- I really liked the overall story. This girl who never in a million years expected to be queen is suddenly queen FACTS:- It's not really a romance. There are a few bits and pieces, but it's ultimately sooo not the focus of the story, which is kind of appropriate.- It seemed like it would be a fantasy book, but it's not really. I mean, it is, because it's about some imaginary land/kingdom. But I guess it didn't feel like a fantasy since it's so rooted in science and there's no magic.WHAT I LIKED:- I really liked the overall story. This girl who never in a million years expected to be queen is suddenly queen.- I liked the main character a lot. She was super down to earth and probably ended up being the best possible person who could become queen.- It has a good mystery. The whole book is really a murder mystery. The MC is trying to figure out who killed everyone. I enjoyed her investigation!THINGS I DIDN'T LIKE:- The ending felt anti-climactic to me. We went through so much to get to the end, then it just fell a bit flat. (view spoiler)[I think because the murderer ended up being a nice (but misguided) person so it was hard to really truly hate her, and the MC clearly felt the same way so she let her off easy. I think this just made the whole thing feel unsatisfying. I wanted to be able to truly hate someone and see them punished, but I didn't get that. (hide spoiler)]- The book was missing a little X factor that would have made me truly love it. It wasn't a soul shattering, all-consuming type book. More like a fun, enjoyable read that may fade from my memory pretty quickly. I enjoyed it, but I don't see it lasting with me forever, if you know what I mean.
    more
  • Zoe
    November 14, 2016
    3.5 stars Long May She Reign is an engaging and well-written fantasy, but, plotwise, there isn't anything about it to differentiate it from all the other YA fantasies that have been published.17-year-old Freya was never meant to be queen. Twenty-third in line to the throne, she has always been content staying in her laboratory and conducting science experiments. But when everyone at the King's banquet is poisoned, Freya suddenly finds herself Queen.Freya is a wonderful and well-written mai 3.5 stars Long May She Reign is an engaging and well-written fantasy, but, plotwise, there isn't anything about it to differentiate it from all the other YA fantasies that have been published.17-year-old Freya was never meant to be queen. Twenty-third in line to the throne, she has always been content staying in her laboratory and conducting science experiments. But when everyone at the King's banquet is poisoned, Freya suddenly finds herself Queen.Freya is a wonderful and well-written main character, one that is easy to root for and relate to. She's not your stereotypical YA fantasy heroine - she's intelligent and down to earth, and wants nothing to do with the power and politics behind being Queen. Her transformation from being a shy scientist to a powerful Queen was written wonderfully and realistically.Freya spends the majority of the story trying to uncover who poisoned everyone at the King's banquet. Unfortunately, the culprit is rather predictable and unsurprising. More red herrings or plot twists would have definitely helped make the reveal more shocking.There is an element of romance here - between Freya and the King's son - which was written nicely. It doesn't take up too much of the story and their chemistry is realistic and well-written.Readers who enjoyed Throne of Glass and The Girl of Fire and Thorns are sure to enjoy Long May She Reign. I, however, just felt that it lacked that special something it needed to be a favorite of mine.
    more
  • Sage Knightly
    February 21, 2017
    Long May She Reign has a lot of potential to be brilliant and puzzling. This is a tale about a girl who becomes Queen when just the day before, she was 23rd in line. So while she struggles with the responsibilities of being Queen, Freya also works on trying to find out who the murderer is and why they did what they did. Their intention could never have possibly been to put her on the throne, so who else could have done it? While Freya learns more about her people and her land, she also learns m Long May She Reign has a lot of potential to be brilliant and puzzling. This is a tale about a girl who becomes Queen when just the day before, she was 23rd in line. So while she struggles with the responsibilities of being Queen, Freya also works on trying to find out who the murderer is and why they did what they did. Their intention could never have possibly been to put her on the throne, so who else could have done it? While Freya learns more about her people and her land, she also learns more about those she comes to call friends. She finds herself trusting them even though she knows she shouldn't, and that makes for a very interesting turn of events. All in all, Long May She Reign is about loyalty, fairness, and kindness when greed tries to overwhelm everyone.      Freya is a scientist, always experimenting in her makeshift lab to try and create things that could potentially help people as well as get her away from her home town. When she becomes Queen however, all that changes. It isn't acceptable for a Queen to be experimenting with poisons and metals and fire. Freya has to pretend science isn't her passion, until another attempt for the throne is made, and Freya decides to try one more experiment. She is a strong and brave Queen once she opens her eyes to the problems her advisers attend to. She is also honest. She makes a good Queen, though she does make mistakes.       The premise intrigued me from the beginning, and I wanted to read this book merely to find out they mystery: who killed all those people and why? We don't find out until the end, though there are some good hints along the way. The author is skilled in a way that when she writes, she can turn your doubt and suspicion onto someone completely innocent. The character that is actually the most suspicious ends up being one of our favorites, or a t least fairly likable. By the end of the book you will be thinking 'I knew it!', but then you will recall you doubt and accusations of other characters. This made reading more enjoyable for me, though there wasn't that much mystery to be honest. It was more so politics and romance.      Romance wise, there is not much. We see characters getting closer and creating a bond, and they get teased at times for liking each other, but again nothing really develops there until the end.      Overall, Long May She Reign tells a tale of a young girl's journey to royalty, and how she struggles not to become someone else.
    more
  • Min Yue
    March 6, 2017
    Can I just jump into that bottle and hide forever? So gorgeous
  • Michelle
    February 22, 2015
    The cover is GORGEOUS!!!! I can't wait to get my hands on this book.
  • Helen
    April 9, 2016
    ❝A 17-year-old shy, socially awkward girl scientist is 23rd in line for the throne, but suddenly becomes queen when the entire court is assassinated by poison during a state dinner.❞Ooooh this summary is pressing all the right buttons. Female scientists, royalty, a metaphor for how society thrusts all independence upon teenagers expecting them to suddenly shift in adults overnight masked in a fantasy setting, and murder mysteries. Umph. EDIT (25/06/2016): ❝Freya is determined to survive, and t ❝A 17-year-old shy, socially awkward girl scientist is 23rd in line for the throne, but suddenly becomes queen when the entire court is assassinated by poison during a state dinner.❞Ooooh this summary is pressing all the right buttons. Female scientists, royalty, a metaphor for how society thrusts all independence upon teenagers expecting them to suddenly shift in adults overnight masked in a fantasy setting, and murder mysteries. Umph. EDIT (25/06/2016): ❝Freya is determined to survive, and that means uncovering the murderers herself. Until then, she can’t trust anyone. Not her advisors. Not the king’s dashing and enigmatic illegitimate son. Not even her own father, who always wanted the best for her, but also wanted more power for himself.❞Aaaaand I can already sense The Throne of Glass Effect has claimed another poor, potentially great YA fantasy book. I've never gone from "soaking wet" to "bone dry" for a book so quickly in my life. *low whistles* Jeez that must be a record. I'm still going to wait around in anticipation and pray to all the gods that may or may not exist that this book won't get bogged down in too much romance but I'm much more wary now and might actually wait until a trusted friend reads it.
    more
  • Jessica {NoobChic}
    March 23, 2017
    Long May She Reign was everything I needed in a book that I didn't even know I needed. From Freyas first panic attack I knew that we were meant to be. This was a Queen made for me, she asked questions and she did do well with orders even while craving guidance. She had a best friend that she depended on entirely and a father she adored if didn't understand. If someone was making a book about me as a Queen Freya's story would be it and so I can't recommend this book enough. It was engaging and in Long May She Reign was everything I needed in a book that I didn't even know I needed. From Freyas first panic attack I knew that we were meant to be. This was a Queen made for me, she asked questions and she did do well with orders even while craving guidance. She had a best friend that she depended on entirely and a father she adored if didn't understand. If someone was making a book about me as a Queen Freya's story would be it and so I can't recommend this book enough. It was engaging and interesting and quick paced and the cast of characters were amazing. I can't say enough about how much I loved this book. My only gripe is it's a stand alone novel BUT that won't stop my head cannons about my babies!
    more
  • Jasmine from How Useful It Is
    March 11, 2017
    About: Long May She Reign is a fiction novel written by Rhiannon Thomas. It was published on 2/21/17 by Harper Teen, an imprint of Harper Collins, 432 pages. The genres are fantasy and young adult. This book is intended for ages 13 and up, grades 8 and up. According to Harper Collins’ website, the company is the second-largest consumer book publisher in the world, originally founded by two bothers, James and John Harper in New York City in 1817 and currently has publishing operations in 18 count About: Long May She Reign is a fiction novel written by Rhiannon Thomas. It was published on 2/21/17 by Harper Teen, an imprint of Harper Collins, 432 pages. The genres are fantasy and young adult. This book is intended for ages 13 and up, grades 8 and up. According to Harper Collins’ website, the company is the second-largest consumer book publisher in the world, originally founded by two bothers, James and John Harper in New York City in 1817 and currently has publishing operations in 18 countries.My Experience: I started reading Long May She Reign on 3/7/17 and finished it on 3/11/17. This book, unfortunately, failed to grab my attention as much as the synopsis did. Throughout the book, I feel like I was reading a mystery & suspense book instead of a fantasy book. There were hardly any fantasy in place. There were talks of The Forgotten, but there were no actions made. There were science experiments to test the poison or a chemical reaction but that’s more like crime scene investigation. This book is an okay read and I was not thrilled by the happenings in it.The story follows Freya, an awkward and anti-social girl, even at the age of over 20, she still couldn’t fit in. She is 23rd in line to the throne. She likes scientific experiments and is working toward creating a heat warmer. She attends the King’s birthday but sits alone and when an idea strikes, she sneaks off to go home to her lab to try the experiment. Late that night, her father came rushing looking for her with horror on his face. Her father feared she was dead because everyone who attended the King’s birthday celebration ended up dead. Freya is now crowned Queen of Epria. As she struggles to the challenges of being Queen, she is left to face with a lot of struggles the King left behind. The King spent more money than he can afford, the citizens are sent to prison for the inability to help pay for the funeral, an opposition is being blamed for the mass murder of the King and his court, etc. Queen Freya wants to take it upon herself to figure out who carry out the mass murder because she couldn’t trust anyone.Queen Freya is unlike any Queen I have read. She sets up a scientific lab in the old torture chamber to conduct her scientific experiments. She doesn’t care for beauty or fashion as long as she can get the job done. I like how she prefers to have collected all proofs before arresting someone. I like how she trusts herself rather than be swayed by others. I like that she gets her hands dirty instead of having someone do it for her. I like her friend Naomi and other supporting characters. The suspense is great and I almost couldn’t guess whodunit. The genre should’ve been thriller/mystery/suspense/science fiction instead of fantasy because there is hardly any fantasy in this book. Queen Freya’s insecurities with her love interest is a bit naïve. I feel like she’s 15 sometimes instead of over 20. Her thinking, worries, and course of actions for war is too light. She chooses to spend a lot more time figuring out who the murder is than the time it takes to figure out how to protect the throne. I think this book could be better if toss out the queen and fantasy concepts and give Freya the title of private investigator or something.Pro: mystery, investigation, science, strategy, suspense, easy to read, light heartedCon: lack of fantasy & magic, murder investigation lead by a girl who likes science experiments hardly qualifies the expertise for the job of interviewing suspectsI rate it 3.5 stars!***Disclaimer: Many thanks to the author, Rhiannon Thomas, the publisher, Harper Teen, and Edelweiss for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.xoxo, Jasmine at www.howusefulitis.wordpress.com
    more
  • Selene
    January 18, 2017
    Fantasy standalone! Bring it on!
  • Melissa Robles
    February 20, 2017
    Actual rating 3.5 stars*This review can also be found at YA Books Central! Huge thanks to the publisher for the review copy in exchange of my honest opinion.*It's not every day that one comes across a standalone YA Fantasy novel, let alone one that does not focus entirely on romance! It was a nice change to read a book that focuses on a young girl whose life is turned upside down as she suddenly finds herself on the throne and has to endure the scrutiny of an entire kingdom, questioning her righ Actual rating 3.5 stars*This review can also be found at YA Books Central! Huge thanks to the publisher for the review copy in exchange of my honest opinion.*It's not every day that one comes across a standalone YA Fantasy novel, let alone one that does not focus entirely on romance! It was a nice change to read a book that focuses on a young girl whose life is turned upside down as she suddenly finds herself on the throne and has to endure the scrutiny of an entire kingdom, questioning her right to rule, without the woes of a romance to take her mind from her new-found struggles.What I liked:Our main character, Freya, goes from being a minor noble (twenty third in line to the throne) with dreams of leaving to study science, to being a queen after the entire court is poisoned, including the King of Epria. Freya is awkward and unfit in the beginning, easily manipulated and criticized by her peers, but she grows into her role and starts to act as someone meant to rule to the point of fighting and doing anything to protect her kingdom.Long May She Reign had me intrigued about the mystery of what, how, and who had poisoned the entire court. It led me to not trust a single character, except for Freya whose innocence was the only one I was sure of, and I was always wary of every character who surrounded Freya in her new court. Everyone somehow had a reason to have killed the old court and that's what made the plot all the more interesting.However, the ending to this book was my favorite part. Can't say much in fear of spoiling, but I will say that it left me smiling and quite pleased with how things wrap up ... or not. The beauty of this book truly shines in the last few pages, for you see how far Freya has come from the girl she used to be. What Didn't Do It For Me:While I do love that this book is a standalone, I was actually expecting it to be more action-packed. It's a bit on the slow side, sometimes uneventful, which made take a while to finish it! Mostly the first half.Another thing that didn't do it for me was how the characters, except for Freya, weren't at all concerned about consuming food at court after the food poisoning attempts. You'd think they'd be more wary! However, they leave it up to Freya to investigate and they keep eating without worry. And even after Freya comes with an answer to make sure food is not poisoned, they don't seem to apply it. Wish they did!Lastly, I also wish to have explored more of Epria in this book. Most of the story took place in Freya's old castle, especially her laboratory, which wasn't particularly exciting.Final Verdict:Long May She Reign by Rhiannon Thomas is an intriguing read if you don't mind going at a slow pace. It is rewarded by a good main character who learns to grow past her prejudices to become someone fit to be queen.
    more
  • Tamara
    March 5, 2017
    3,5 starsRemoved one and a half star due to lack of fantasy elements and world-building PROS:∞ NO INSTA LOVE AND LOVE TRIANGLE ;D(Do I need to say more? Heh, THANK GOD!)∞ STANDALONE ∞ Strong heroine. Did not cause drama because she was stupid or selfish or crybaby and instead used her brain cells.∞ FEMALE FRIENDHIP!!∞ Great story.∞ ROMANCE DOESNT TAKE OVER THE PLOT! ∞ Very character driven. The main character is into science and doesnt take shit from anyone.∞ Politics/Murder investigation > 3,5 starsRemoved one and a half star due to lack of fantasy elements and world-building PROS:∞ NO INSTA LOVE AND LOVE TRIANGLE ;D(Do I need to say more? Heh, THANK GOD!)∞ STANDALONE ∞ Strong heroine. Did not cause drama because she was stupid or selfish or crybaby and instead used her brain cells.∞ FEMALE FRIENDHIP!!∞ Great story.∞ ROMANCE DOESNT TAKE OVER THE PLOT! ∞ Very character driven. The main character is into science and doesnt take shit from anyone.∞ Politics/Murder investigation > romance∞ Good chemistry between the main couple and can totally buy why they like each other. Loved that the MC didnt turn into a lovesick puppy suddenly and lost her brain cells after (kinda) falling in love with the guyCONS:∞ NO WORLDBUILDING. AT ALL. *silently cries on the corner*∞ Plot moves around a bit slow and not much happens in the book anyway∞ The person who poisoned all the nobles pretty much got away with it UGHHHH ∞ Main character had social anxiety which caused her to have panic attacks. At first, this was handled realy really well but then towards the middle I felt like it was dropped. It definitely should have been handled better.∞ The romance is cute, sure but I wish it was developed better and it kinda goes nowhere at the end? (view spoiler)[OMG ARE THEY LIKE...RELEATED?...SHIT. I FEEL CONFUSED. QUİCK, SOMEBODY EXPLAIN THIS TO ME. I SUCK AT THESE THINGS. (hide spoiler)]∞ Maybe the main character should have struggled more to run the kingdom or the court?∞ Not enough suspicious people or suspence for the poision investigation. Wish there were more red herrings and better plot twists. Culprit was unsurprising and 'the cause' and 'the explenation' also felt really weak...BUT. WHATEVER GUYS!!! OMG SHE HAD FRIENDS AND SHE WAS CLEVER!! READ THIS ONE, QUICK!! ^^*Overall The Story, The Characters and Everything Else:* “I couldn’t be queen. I couldn’t. So many people would have to die for me to inherit the throne, and they couldn’t be gone.” But they did.Our main character Freya is a girl who is twenty-third in line to the throne. She is considered strange by everywhere in the court because she is a scientist at heart. She does experiments in her cellar, says weird stuff and asks question after question instead of just sitting on her ass all day gossiping and fanning herself.Freya has dreams. She wants to invent stuff. She wants to travel. She wants to learn proper science. She wants be free of the court who make fun of her because apparently she doesnt belong there. Yes, Freya doesnt belong to the court and doesnt know how the play the 'games'. Was never into to them because it's not like she's gonna ever need all those lessons about how to survive in the court right?Right? After all she's just twenty-third in line to the throne so she's nobody.But what if one day she wasnt?What if every noble before her was poisoned in a banquet and she only survived because she left there early to do an experiment in her lab?Is this destiny?Did someone plan this?How is this girl who doesnt know a shit about ruling or the court is supposed to rule the whole kingdom? Who is gonna fellow her and who wont?Did the poison attempts stop? Who the hell poisined all those 400 people anyway? And why?Should Freya use her skills as a scientist or should she just shut her mouth and do whatever her remaining court members advise?Who can she trust and should she even be trusting anyone?THAT'S THE STORY.And yeah, guys, it's a damn good one.It's a bit hard to explain why I liked this one so much. The one and half star I removed really broke my heart (but I had to). I was really surprised with how much I enjoyed this because the story, at first, doesnt feel like a new concept. Sure, the twenty-third in line stuff is interesting and was done well but that's not what made this story really fun and downright entertaining. No, it was the characters. Specially the main one.Freya as a main character is really refreshing. For a character who never thought she would be a queen one day she is good. Really good. But it never felt like she was a special little snowflake. No, she used her head. She suspected, she listened, she considered, she waited, she advanced. She was just so damn good because she knew what to do. Yet, there were times, small moments where she struggled with her new circumstances. However, she still tried to overcome her shortcomings in order to become a good ruler and that's what makes her such a good character. She didnt let her advisers or other people to manipulate and control her. She didnt let a dash of romance confuse her. She didnt let fear or suspicion lead her. She was who she was supposed to be.So, yeah, read this book.Slow pacing.Not action packed.Not much fantasy or worldbuilding elements.But hey, it's what it is. Maybe it doesnt need those. Maybe just watching a girl who is shy, socially awkward and weird turning into a real and strong queen is enough to enjoy this book. You know what they say, the best rulers comes from the unexpected ones.... (view spoiler)[YUP. Totally made that up.(hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Rachel Lightwood
    February 4, 2017
    3.5 starsLong May She Reign was a well-written decent fantasy read but it did not do enough to truly set itself above the rest of solid fantasy I have read over the last couple of years. Somewhere between the average writing style and the underwhelming world-building, I worry that it will lose a lot of the intense fantasy readers. While there were many elements that did work for me and as a whole, I undeniably enjoyed it, there was just some indistinguishable element lacking to make it stand out 3.5 starsLong May She Reign was a well-written decent fantasy read but it did not do enough to truly set itself above the rest of solid fantasy I have read over the last couple of years. Somewhere between the average writing style and the underwhelming world-building, I worry that it will lose a lot of the intense fantasy readers. While there were many elements that did work for me and as a whole, I undeniably enjoyed it, there was just some indistinguishable element lacking to make it stand out from the other books in its genre. Freya, our protagonist was my favourite aspect of the novel. Lady scientists are always a hit with me and Freya’s passion for her science experiments - and inventing a process of detecting poisons that would benefit everyone - made me so happy. There is just something about nerdy characters puttering around in a lab worrying whether they were about to blow something up by accident or succeed at their aim that makes me giddy. The fact that we also had a protagonist in a fantasy story that suffered from a mental illness - in this case, anxiety - was another thing that really worked for me. I felt that Freya’s anxiety made her seem like a more dimensional and realistic character. It was reasonably well written and did not take the focus away from the murder mystery. The other characters were not too bad. I liked that we had a strong female friendship throughout the story between Freya and her best friend but I wish there had been a large ensemble of character for me to fall in love with. Freya’s relationship with Fitzroy was sweet but also a little bit… unnecessary? I did like that the author made sure that their romance remained secondary to the main plotline but this also made it feel like an added element to the story which took the focus away from Freya’s primary objective. I don’t know? I think it should either have had more of a role to play in the overall story or just have been completely removed. Maybe that is just me being picky, though? The plotline was what drew me into this story and was probably the most disappointing element. By itself, the concept is brilliant: a girl who is twenty-third in line for the throne is suddenly crowned queen when the entire royal family/court is killed in one mass poisoning. I just love this! However, I felt that Freya’s ascension was a little bit too rushed. I mean over 400 members of the royal family and nobility/court just died… apart from Freya’s closest friends and family, of course. I think there would have had to be a lot of panic and planning and turmoil in those earlier few weeks, let alone days. Could you even imagine that? Hundreds of people all dying at once? It would surely send the kingdom into a panic. I just wished that Freya’s ascension - particularly her response to it - had taken a bit longer. I did really like that the story took on a murder mystery angle instead of your typical politic-focused fantasy, though. It was so unique and definitely had me on my toes. I had about three characters who I could not shake my suspicion off so I really enjoyed being caught up in the thrill of the chase, waiting to see who was at fault. The ending however… yeah, that. It certainly left a bit to be desired. I just cannot believe that Freya made the decision she did. It seems a little bit irresponsible...Overall?Long May She Reign was a unique fantasy story that was enjoyable but not quite as lovable as I would have liked. While the protagonist was decent, I struggled to connect to any of the secondary characters. I also felt that the plotline had its moment. The general concept was well thought out but its execution left me feeling a bit unsatisfied. I definitely appreciated the anxiety representation and female scientist lead but there was just something missing for me to completely fall in love with this story.Review copy provided by the publisher for an honest review.
    more
  • Christina (A Reader of Fictions)
    February 23, 2017
    Chapters read: 9I've got roughly three hundred pages to go, and, intellectually, I really appreciate a lot that Thomas is doing, but I'm not connected emotionally. Like Thomas' prior series, Long May She Reign takes a realistic view of fantasy. Both heroines end up in powerful roles (princess/queen) when they're not remotely prepared for that situation (in A Wicked Thing because she's been asleep for so long and everything is unfamiliar; in Long May She Reign because hundreds of court members we Chapters read: 9I've got roughly three hundred pages to go, and, intellectually, I really appreciate a lot that Thomas is doing, but I'm not connected emotionally. Like Thomas' prior series, Long May She Reign takes a realistic view of fantasy. Both heroines end up in powerful roles (princess/queen) when they're not remotely prepared for that situation (in A Wicked Thing because she's been asleep for so long and everything is unfamiliar; in Long May She Reign because hundreds of court members were murdered, including the dozens between Freya and the throne). As such, both girls struggle to figure out what to do and how to help the people/themselves. They make mistakes, they listen to the advice of others, and they're the opposite of the badass, commanding heroines that tend to populate fantasy. Intellectually, I love the realism of this, but the end result is that the book plods and the heroines, while smart, don't do much of anything.If the book were shorter, I'd have persisted, but there's an element of clunk, the pace is slow, and the character names don't seem to fit all in the same country.
    more
  • Cody Roecker
    April 4, 2016
    for whatever reason I burst out laughing reading the synopsis.
  • Jacqueline
    August 8, 2016
    8/8/16I...need...this...in...my...life.
  • Bee {Quite the Novel Idea}
    November 19, 2015
    Yeah great blurb, but that cover though.
Write a review