Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices, #2)
Sunny Los Angeles can be a dark place indeed in Cassandra Clare’s Lord of Shadows, the sequel to the #1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling Lady Midnight.Emma Carstairs has finally avenged her parents. She thought she’d be at peace. But she is anything but calm. Torn between her desire for her parabatai Julian and her desire to protect him from the brutal consequences of parabatai relationships, she has begun dating his brother, Mark. But Mark has spent the past five years trapped in Faerie; can he ever truly be a Shadowhunter again?And the faerie courts are not silent. The Unseelie King is tired of the Cold Peace, and will no longer concede to the Shadowhunters’ demands. Caught between the demands of faerie and the laws of the Clave, Emma, Julian, and Mark must find a way to come together to defend everything they hold dear—before it’s too late.

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices, #2) Details

TitleLord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices, #2)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 23rd, 2017
PublisherMargaret K. McElderry Books
ISBN1442468408
ISBN-139781442468405
Number of pages704 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices, #2) Review

  • Andrea
    April 17, 2012
    Why I always do this to myself?I always read the book the day they come out and in one sitting and I don't think about the consequences like how I have to wait another whole f*cking year again.This book is going to make me suffer. I know it. Like Clockwork Prince.I think I better wait until the last book comes out to read the whole series completely without suffering cliffhangers for a year again.
    more
  • Zemira (Kylo Ren fangirl) Warner
    March 17, 2012
    My reaction after finishing Lady Midnight
  • Lien To
    May 14, 2014
    throne of GLASS - city of GLASS (#TMI3) crown of MIDNIGHT - lady MIDNIGHT (#TDA1)heir of FIRE - city of heavenly FIRE (#TMI6)queen of SHADOWS - prince of SHADOWS(#TDA2)someone has some explaining to do here AHAHAHHAHAH
  • Beatrice (beatriceinbookland)
    March 15, 2016
    Snippet #1"Mark almost crashed into Helen, half lifting her off her feet as he spun with her in a circle." ಥ﹏ಥ Snippet #2“It can’t last,” Emma said, staring at him, because how could it, when they could never keep what they had? “It’ll break our hearts.”He caught her by the wrist, brought her hand to his chest. Splayed her fingers over his heart. It beat against her palm, like a fist punching its way out of his ribcage. “Break my heart,” he said. “Break it in pieces. I give you permission.” WHY Snippet #1"Mark almost crashed into Helen, half lifting her off her feet as he spun with her in a circle." ಥ﹏ಥ Snippet #2“It can’t last,” Emma said, staring at him, because how could it, when they could never keep what they had? “It’ll break our hearts.”He caught her by the wrist, brought her hand to his chest. Splayed her fingers over his heart. It beat against her palm, like a fist punching its way out of his ribcage. “Break my heart,” he said. “Break it in pieces. I give you permission.” WHY CASSANDRA WHYYYYYYY Snippet 3 “You’re going to have to learn to live with it,” Jules said. “Even if it horrifies you, Emma. Even if it makes you sick. Just like I’m going to have to live with whatever other boyfriends you have, because we are forever no matter how, Emma, no matter what you want to call what we have, we will always be us.” WHY CASSANDRA WHYYYYYY PART 2
    more
  • jamieson
    October 5, 2016
    REMINDER OF EVERYTHING TO COME IN 2017 WHEN LORD OF SHADOWS DROPS• As with Lady Midnight and its eponymous character, there is also a character called Lord of Shadows.• The characters will visit London, specifically the institute. The ley lines and sacred sites of England may be discussed. • There will be “tons of Centurions”.• The Shadowhunters will hunt down a squid demon—a Teuthida—that has been snatching and terrorizing people going to the carnival at the pier.• Emma is fake-dating Mark, and REMINDER OF EVERYTHING TO COME IN 2017 WHEN LORD OF SHADOWS DROPS• As with Lady Midnight and its eponymous character, there is also a character called Lord of Shadows.• The characters will visit London, specifically the institute. The ley lines and sacred sites of England may be discussed. • There will be “tons of Centurions”.• The Shadowhunters will hunt down a squid demon—a Teuthida—that has been snatching and terrorizing people going to the carnival at the pier.• Emma is fake-dating Mark, and Cristina is aware of their deal.• The installment will pick up where the last ended.• A faerie arrives to tell Mark that Kieran will be executed for killing another faerie, forcing the Shadowhunters to journey to Faerie to save him.• The rise of a company called the Cohort, a part—the worst part—of the Clave which believes that Downworlder rights should be restricted and that there should be a registry of werewolves and warlocks will be dealt with. • They start coming down hard on the main characters, specifically Mark and their relationships with Downworlders.• The previously-teased trans character, one that has been introduced before, will be featured.• Ty will learn more about his nature—the fact that he is neuroatypical—and may start to explore romance.• Jem and Tessa may or may not appear in this installment, and even if they do, they will mostly be background characters.• Dru will make an important discovery.• Cornwall will be visited.• There will be some focus on Kit and Ty, Julian and Emma, Cristina and Mark, and Mark and Kieran. Cristina may “sort of” choose between Diego and Mark, while Mark will also have to make a choice.• Cristina will have a romantic dance with an unexpected guy, and she will also dance with Mark.• There will also be more Cristina, Dru, and Diana Wrayburn, who will have her a portion of the book told in her POV.• Kieran and Kit will interact a bit.• Livvy will be protective of Kit.• A big, new aspect to the parabatai bond will be revealed.• Jules and Emma’s parabatai bond, or the powers Jules may get from their love, may be affected when he finds out about Emma and Mark.• Helen and Aline will make appearances. The Blackthorns’ goal of getting them out of exile will also be discussed.• A part of the book will take place in Faerie where Kieran’s siblings will appear.• Magnus, Clary, Jace, Alec, and Robert will make appearances.• Magnus and Alec will be featured prominently in this installment.• Jace and Clary will arrive at the Los Angeles Institute with a message from the Consul and will hold a meeting, for which they will request the presence of Emma and Jules.• The reason for Clary turning down Jace’s marriage proposal will be revealed.• Clary and Jace will eat Chinese food from Jade Wolf.• Jessamine Lovelace will most like appear, and it is possible that Kit Herondale will see her.• The last word will be “hour”, and the first is “Kit”.• Mark and Helen’s faerie names will be revealed.• Jaime Rosales will be introduced.• The twist at the end of the book will be “brutal”, and Cassie has described the end with the word “blood”.• Four characters who are relatively familiar to the readers will die.• Rafael and Max will play and become friends with Tavvy in this installment.• We will either once again see the Seelie Queen or just learn more about her in this installment.• Marisol and Jon will be mentioned in this installment.• Diana Wrayburn’s past will be explored.• The terms Blackthorn Hall, Thule, The Eldest Heir, and The Riders of Mannanan will be featured in this installment.• Gwyn ap Nudd will have a “surprisingly big role to play”.•The book is longer than Lady Midnight, with around 700 pages.• The book will have a special edition.WE HAVE A COVER. NOT A DRILL !!I AM LITERALLY IN LOVE WITH THE COVER OH MY GOD------------------THIS PIECE OF COVER GOT REVEALED AND IF THE COVER IS GONNA BE JULIAN HOLDING CORTANA UNDERWATER ACTUALLY SIGN ME TF UP----------------------------Wooow for a second I thought this cover was official and I was like WTF NO it doesn't look anything like the Lady Midnight cover AND it's ugly asf. But happy to say it's not official or final, phew!Anyway, I kind of fell alot in love with Emma Carstairs in Lady Midnight so I'm pretty keen for this. Lady Midnight was, in my opinion, the strongest series opener Cassandra ever wrote. Only 8 months to wait eeeh
    more
  • P
    June 27, 2016
    From CC's instagram :)My poor Kieran.NEXT YEAR ?So cruel !
  • Amber Robertson
    November 18, 2016
    EDIT: so many people are salty about this cover but guys anything trumps the original TMI covers - especially the first where it's just a chest. So, we've come a long way.THE COVER HAS BEEN RELEASED. I AM SHOOK. I CAN'T. I LOVE IT. However, one question:Why is the London bridge in it?!DOES THIS SIGNIFY MORE JEM AND TESSA?! OMG. MAY CAN'T COME SOON ENOUGH. I am literal trash for the Shadowhunter series.
    more
  • Avani
    September 5, 2012
    Neeeeeeeeeeeeed. No, the first book hasn't come out yet. Yes, it's coming out in four years.I'm just getting some of my sequel anxiety out of the way in advance.
  • Lucy Herondale
    May 1, 2012
    March, 23rd 2016 Julian and Emma (and me) be like...All in all......this is gonna be a long year.
  • Kisses A
    May 3, 2015
    EditWe have a cover! I love it!But maybe they could have put the image of the guy a little closer."Mark was kidnapped by the faeries brutal and bloodthirsty Wild Hunt five years ago. He defied the fey to remain with his family, but the faeries do not relinquish a captive easily. With a new enemy on the horizon and a new mystery to solve, Emma, Julian, and Mark must find a way to come together to defend everything they hold dear before it s too late."There's a lot about Mark in the blurb!!!!!! I EditWe have a cover! I love it!But maybe they could have put the image of the guy a little closer."Mark was kidnapped by the faeries brutal and bloodthirsty Wild Hunt five years ago. He defied the fey to remain with his family, but the faeries do not relinquish a captive easily. With a new enemy on the horizon and a new mystery to solve, Emma, Julian, and Mark must find a way to come together to defend everything they hold dear before it s too late."There's a lot about Mark in the blurb!!!!!! I can't wait for this!!!!! Can we just like make Mark the MC and be done with it????
    more
  • Devyani
    February 28, 2013
    Thanks Cassandra.Introduce us to an interesting synopsis and publish it after three years. Smooth. Real Smooth.
  • Caitlin
    November 18, 2016
    COVER. SO. BEAUTIFUL.
  • Janani
    October 31, 2016
    When I see the updates, I'm scared as hell. *shivers* The lady midnight broke my heart, but my fucking mind remembers nothing but the pain. So I need to re-read it before this heart-crusher releases. --------------------------------------Woke up to see the beauty! This cover made my day! <3___________________OMG! A SMALL PIECE OF THE COVER.---------------------------Why the f haven't I marked it as to-read. This is like my life. I NEED IT RIGHT NOW. That ending!
    more
  • rebecca ɤ
    March 19, 2016
    I NEED THE NEXT BOOK NOW. I AM NOT OKAY CASSANDRA CLARE. YOU CAN'T DO THIS TO ME.
  • Gabby
    October 13, 2012
    Since when was there a title?? AWESOME!! Prince of Shadows, I like it!! (EDITED TO: Lord of Shadows. Even better in my opinion -29/3/16)And everyone who is making shit comments about Cassie Being a...what do you call it? Oh, yeah, "Cash Cow" (I mean, really? No better name? None. You're all Pathetic.) Then...Please, and I am begging for you to SHUT UP!
    more
  • Elise
    October 2, 2016
    How the hell did I not know there was a cover?!?!? (It's really pretty, the moon is great... BUT IT DOESNT MATCH WITH THE ORIGINALS. It will though, right? They'll come up with another one?? Please?)EDIT 3.10.16: so.... the cover's not the final one *feels like a dumbass*
    more
  • Empress of Books
    January 16, 2017
    SOMEONE FUCKING GIVE ME THIS FUCKING BOOK NOW. I'LL GIVE YOU MY FUCKING SOUL, JUST GIVE ME THE GODDAMN BOOK.I FUCKING NEED IT. DON'T FUCK WITH MY EMOTIONS, OR I'LL UNLEASH THE ARMIES OF FUCKING HELL UPON THE EARTH.PLEASE END MY FUCKING MISERY. I'M FUCKING BEGGING YOU.*collapses into a pile of incoherent feels and sobs*The cover is fucking gorgeous, by the way.(Someone should keep impressionable young children away from my reviews. Or my account in general)
    more
  • Devonne
    June 1, 2014
    seriously don't know how i'm going to wait a year for this
  • Javier Galíndez
    November 20, 2016
    Mark casi se estrelló contra Helen, medio levantándola de sus pies mientras giraba con ella en un círculo. ¿Ya vieron la hermosa portada?Obvio, no. O sea es lo primero que se después del nombre. ¿Ya leyeron los adelantos que dio Cassie en Twitter? ¿No? ¡Para eso estoy aquí!- La primera palabra del libro es "Kit".- Veremos a Helen y Aline.- Veremos más de Dru, hará un gran descubrimiento. - Nuestros personajes irán a Londres y tendrán bastante acción allí. - Cristina podría elegir entre Mark y D Mark casi se estrelló contra Helen, medio levantándola de sus pies mientras giraba con ella en un círculo. ¿Ya vieron la hermosa portada?Obvio, no. O sea es lo primero que se después del nombre. ¿Ya leyeron los adelantos que dio Cassie en Twitter? ¿No? ¡Para eso estoy aquí!- La primera palabra del libro es "Kit".- Veremos a Helen y Aline.- Veremos más de Dru, hará un gran descubrimiento. - Nuestros personajes irán a Londres y tendrán bastante acción allí. - Cristina podría elegir entre Mark y Diego.- Aparecerán Clary, Jace y Magnus.- Kieran tiene 50 hermanos. - Habrá más interacciones entre Ty y Kit. Ty comenzará a interesarse en el romance.- Los Herondale pueden ver a todos los fantasmas así que tal vez Kit tenga interacción con Jessamine.- Kieran va a ser ejecutado por haber matado a un hada. Para salvarlo Mark y los demás irán al Reino de las Hadas. - Sabremos los nombres de hada de Mark y Helen pero aún no el verdadero nombre de Kieran. - Habrá capítulos desde el punto de vista de Diana.- Habrá momentos tiernos entre Mark y Cristina, pero también los habrá entre Mark y Kieran.- Hay un personaje transexual que apareció anteriormente en Lady Midnight.- Puede o no morir un personaje principal, no quiso aclarar bien eso.- La última palabra del libro es "Hora".Y un pequeño adelanto: Mark casi se estrelló contra Helen, medio levantándola de sus pies mientras giraba con ella en un círculo.
    more
  • Mebarka Fekih
    September 16, 2016
    i don't like it.I haven't read LADY MIDNIGHT YET but i love the cover .What about a black shadow blending in water ?update :19/11/2016WOW WE HAVE A BLACK SHADOW IN WATER it is okay but i still think if the figure was much bigger it would have been better
    more
  • Giovanna
    August 18, 2013
    The cover sucks XDI'm not sure I can read another 600 pages book D:http://cassandraclare.tumblr.com/post...This comes out before TLH. Uff, I want TLH, not this one! And stop messing with unnecessary drama and TMI characters, Cassie, I'm getting tired of that. #Please
    more
  • Jenn *The Crimson Dark Lord Scribe, House of Slytheread*
    October 21, 2015
    HOLY SHIT. Can I get this book on my shelf like... YESTERDAY!?! It's sooooo beautiful!!!
  • Emily Alvelais
    September 17, 2016
    GLORY. Finally we have the cover! With the only cover I'm shook... imagine what inside of that book I would be totally DEAD.So long short storyI was in middle of a math class when I got the notification that the cover was released, I cannot wait so longer so I said the teacher that if I can go to the restroom :v I run away with my phone and..... Oh my lord is Beautiful!!! *the fangirl emoji*Shine colors + The city + Jules (the most important = 10/10 I can't wait to get this stunning book in my h GLORY. Finally we have the cover! With the only cover I'm shook... imagine what inside of that book I would be totally DEAD.So long short storyI was in middle of a math class when I got the notification that the cover was released, I cannot wait so longer so I said the teacher that if I can go to the restroom :v I run away with my phone and..... Oh my lord is Beautiful!!! *the fangirl emoji*Shine colors + The city + Jules (the most important = 10/10 I can't wait to get this stunning book in my hands
    more
  • Deborah (Beba)
    September 26, 2015
    *looks at the release date... or release year, or whatever you want to call it**blinks**stares at that "2017"**blinks again*No, guys. I don't believe it. It's impossible (well, okay, Nikolai says improbable, so improbable it is).I mean... Two years for Lady Midnight and then in the same year we're going to see this one and TLH #1 published? Nope. I'm not gonna buy it. Plus, I want TLH #1 more than TDA #2 so I hope if one of them is being published in 2017 it's going to be TLH #1.
    more
  • Lauren
    May 10, 2016
    I told myself I wasn't going to read more of Cassandra Clare's books but hype made me pick up Lady Midnight anyway and now I'm in too deep. Must read more.
  • B I A N C A
    January 8, 2017
    i hated lady midnight but... for some reason, i feel like i need to read this. i really hope it gets better!
  • Cat
    February 19, 2017
    Review to come.
  • Sally ☾
    October 17, 2016
    Update - November 18th, 2016:HOLY POOP GUYS WE HAVE A COVER AND IT'S BEAUTIFUL.OMFG I CAN'T, JUST LOOK AT IT!!but like so many questions!like is that Julian on the cover?is the sword that he's holding Cortana?more water, why?and most importantly: why the heck is the London bridge on the cover?DOES THAT MEAN MORE JEM AND TESSA????ughhhh, May can't come soon enough! I NEED this book now.just throw me in the effing dumpster 'cause I am literal shadowhunter trash.----
    more
  • Alia
    July 4, 2016
    I NEEEED THIS.Right now.
  • MJ
    April 11, 2013
    Hmm, sophomore book in a mini series (yes, the Dark Artifices is a mini series for Clare's never ending shadowhunter fest) with the word prince in its title. How original-yawns. Me bets the protagonist's second love interest will be on the cover. Because you have to have a love triangle in a Cassie Clare book just like you have to have wizards err I mean shadowhunters in every book too .
    more
Write a review