The Raging Ones (The Raging Ones, #1)
​In a freezing world, where everyone knows the day they will die, three teens break all odds.Franny Bluecastle, a tough city teen, dreams of dying in opulence, to see wealth she’s never known. Like the entire world, she believes it’s impossible to dodge a deathday.Until the day she does.Court Icecastle knows wealth. He also knows pain. Spending five years in Vorkter Prison, a fortress of ice and suffering, he dreams of life beyond the people that haunt him and the world that imprisoned him.Mykal Kickfall fights for those he loves. The rugged Hinterlander shares a frustrating yet unbreakable connection with Court—which only grows more lawless and chaotic as their senses and emotions connect with Franny.With the threat of people learning they’ve dodged their deathdays, they must flee their planet to survive. But to do so, all three will have to hide their shared bond as they vie for a highly sought after spot in the newest mission to space. Against thousands of people far smarter, who’ll live longer, and never fear death the way that they do.

The Raging Ones (The Raging Ones, #1) Details

TitleThe Raging Ones (The Raging Ones, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 14th, 2018
PublisherWednesday Books
ISBN-139781250128713
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Science Fiction, Fantasy

The Raging Ones (The Raging Ones, #1) Review

  • Becca Ritchie
    January 1, 1970
    This book has our heart & soul, and we're so incredibly grateful that Wednesday Books, our editor, and agent, took a chance on this sci-fi/fantasy romance. Our writing is a bit raw, a bit visceral, and we can't wait for all of you to feel what Court, Mykal, and Franny feel. Publishing a YA novel has been our childhood dream, and after almost a decade worth of trying to get one published, it's finally happening: 8.14.18 -- thank you all for the support & love. It's meant so much to us! AB This book has our heart & soul, and we're so incredibly grateful that Wednesday Books, our editor, and agent, took a chance on this sci-fi/fantasy romance. Our writing is a bit raw, a bit visceral, and we can't wait for all of you to feel what Court, Mykal, and Franny feel. Publishing a YA novel has been our childhood dream, and after almost a decade worth of trying to get one published, it's finally happening: 8.14.18 -- thank you all for the support & love. It's meant so much to us! ABOUT THE BOOK: THE RAGING ONES takes place in a world in which everyone knows the day they're going to die. There are 3 POVs, and each of the three main characters are connected by their emotions & three senses (touch, taste, smell). Think Sense8 meets Gattaca <3 P.S. if you're a romance reader and aren't sure about reading a sci-fi/fantasy, this one has a big romance, and all the characters are the central focus. If you love our writing, you'll most likely love this ;) PRE-ORDER NOW AVAILABLE: The Raging Ones
    more
  • shady boots | #20gayteen
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to NetGalley & Wednesday Books for sending me an ARC of this book.When I started this, I had pretty low expectations. I read the premise and my love triangle senses started tingling. The average YA book would do that when there are three main characters--two male and one female. The average YA book would make the female character torn between the two hot guys vying for her affection, and the males are only there to be each other's rivals because their only purposes are to be love i Thank you to NetGalley & Wednesday Books for sending me an ARC of this book.When I started this, I had pretty low expectations. I read the premise and my love triangle senses started tingling. The average YA book would do that when there are three main characters--two male and one female. The average YA book would make the female character torn between the two hot guys vying for her affection, and the males are only there to be each other's rivals because their only purposes are to be love interests and nothing more.So you can imagine how ecstatic I was when this book took that godawful trope and flipped it on its head.Right off the bat, the two male protagonists, Court and Mykal, already have a deep established bond, and their intimacy and sexual tension is immediately noticeable. At first I thought, "Oh this won't last, the girl is eventually gonna come between them or something." However I was yet again pleasantly surprised that the girl, Franny, is there solely as a friend and companion for these two. She was never whiny or seething with jealousy over Court and Mykal's bond, she was very chill about it and even felt like she was intruding at times. The connection between these three I found very believable and sweet, and I just have to give props to the authors for how unique their dynamic is. In all the YA books I've ever read, I can't say I've ever seen an M/M/F relationship between protagonists where the two males are the ones romantically involved and the female is perfectly content with being their friend. This was probably one of the aspects of this book that I enjoyed the most. The romance isn't the driving force of the story though, which I also appreciated.But yes, to reiterate in case any of you were still unsure, this book is 100% GAY. No room for doubts, the main romance is M/M. If you want to stop reading this review and go request it on NetGalley right away just on that alone, I don't blame you. :p But if you're interested to know more, keep reading.I also really liked the world that these authors built, although I have so many questions swirling around in my brain that I'm sincerely hoping will be answered in the sequel. The world of this book has a pretty striking aesthetic; covered in snow and with a lilac sky. I can't deny how cool it was to visualize in my head. I also thought the class system that was established made sense as well. People are segregated based on their predetermined deathdays; Babes are those who die as children, Fast-Trackers are those who die as teens or in young adulthood, and Influentials are those who have long lives. Fast-Trackers basically have M.I.A.'s "Bad Girls" as the soundtrack to their lives, because they live fast and die young, so they're mostly the quote unquote "deadbeats" of society; drug addicts, homeless, thieves, etc. They're only qualified to do low-wage jobs and laborious work, since they're not provided education. As opposed to Influentials, whom education is a priority because society believes them to be beneficial for the future due to their long lifespans. All of this makes logical sense and is pretty well thought-out. For the most part.I hesitate to give this book a full five star rating because sometimes I just felt like certain things were a little all over the place. Like, I thought the entire book was going to build up to explaining how these three dodged their deathdays, what's the deal with their mysterious connection, but I didn't really get enough of that. Hell, they never even explained how deathdays are even determined in the first place. Basically, they barely explain anything, so since they never really got into detail about this stuff, the cliffhanger ending just left me scratching my head. There was just so much new info being vaguely delivered all at once and it was a LOT to process. Perhaps that's what the authors intended, to build up hype for the next one, but I wish I had the sequel in my hands right now just so I could get some actual answers, goddammit.I have some other nitpicks too, like I thought the character names in the book were a little ridiculous, and the original lingo and swear words did make me roll my eyes a couple of times since it's rare for YA books to do this in a non-cringey way. But for the most part this was a highly enjoyable read, very fast-paced with likable characters and an intriguing world. It's just the lack of clear answers that sort of disappointed me in the end, but it's something I hope the sequel can remedy.Honestly, I would suggest waiting until the second book is closer to release before picking this one up. The fact that this one technically isn't even out yet at the time of this review will just make the wait more painful for me. RIP.
    more
  • Alex ✰ Comets and Comments ✰
    January 1, 1970
    The Raging Ones ★ Most Anticipated 2018Expected publication: 2018_____________Stop whatever you are doing. *ahem* - Everybody knows the bloody day they will die. - Fantasy, baby. - Possible Love Triangle- Krista and Becca 'we own your asses' Ritchie are coming at us. - With a fucking Young Adult novel- That sounds like a killer already. Continue.
    more
  • Lily ☁️ {semi hiatus}
    January 1, 1970
    Apparently, I won’t have to quit Goodreads and swear off books, after all. (rtc)*I can’t even put into words how excited I am to have received an ARC of The Raging Ones, which was written by two of my favorite authors, who, incidentally, also sent me the first ARC I ever received that made it on to my favorites shelf!!Honestly, if I don’t end up giving this book at least four stars, I might as well quit Goodreads and swear off books forever.Thankyouthankyouthankyou, Krista Ritchie and Becca Ritc Apparently, I won’t have to quit Goodreads and swear off books, after all. (rtc)*I can’t even put into words how excited I am to have received an ARC of The Raging Ones, which was written by two of my favorite authors, who, incidentally, also sent me the first ARC I ever received that made it on to my favorites shelf!!Honestly, if I don’t end up giving this book at least four stars, I might as well quit Goodreads and swear off books forever.Thankyouthankyouthankyou, Krista Ritchie and Becca Ritchie & St. Martin’s Press for my copy! <3Blog ¦ Bloglovin’ ¦ Tumblr ¦ Instagram
    more
  • Candace Robinson
    January 1, 1970
    I wasn't a fan of the whole being linked to emotions concept. So I may have to come back to this one...
  • chandler ainsley ❁
    January 1, 1970
    no offense but like... fuq netgalley for not giving me an arc of this???too. rude.
  • Lucia
    January 1, 1970
    My favorite author duo + my favorite genre? SIGN ME UP! The premise of this sci-fi/fantasy novel sounds amazing, I will be the first in the line to get this book when it is available! For more info go here.*ARC provided by published as an exchange for honest review.*
    more
  • Krista Ritchie
    January 1, 1970
    The Raging Ones Playlist: Listen on Spotify
  • Jenn
    January 1, 1970
    The Raging Ones follows the story of 3 teens in a world where they find themselves with an unbreakable link; connected through another's senses, thoughts, actions, and emotions. This is the Ritchie sisters’ first YA novel to be released August 14, 2018. In this world the authors created, death is the norm. I think the idea alone of knowing when you die is fascinating. It makes you question what you would do with your time if you knew exactly when you would die. How would you spend your last day? The Raging Ones follows the story of 3 teens in a world where they find themselves with an unbreakable link; connected through another's senses, thoughts, actions, and emotions. This is the Ritchie sisters’ first YA novel to be released August 14, 2018. In this world the authors created, death is the norm. I think the idea alone of knowing when you die is fascinating. It makes you question what you would do with your time if you knew exactly when you would die. How would you spend your last day? Would you make a bucket list? Would you fight to figure out a way to escape your death day, or would you just accept it for what it is?The story is set in a futuristic time, on a freezing planet covered in snow and shrouded in a lilac fog that blocks the view of the sky, sun, moon, and stars. The people are categorized into three groups in this world: those who would die between infancy and 12 years of age are known as “Babes;” those who would die between age 13 and 29 are known as “Fast-Trackers;” and those who would live to the age of 30 and beyond are known as “Influentials.” Babes have only enough time to live however they please. Fast-Trackers live to work laborious jobs. Influentials live long enough to study, learn, progress, have an impact and help improve the world. Franny, Mykal, and Court are Fast-Trackers. When they dodge their death day, they become inexplicably linked to one another through touch, taste, and emotion. They become each other’s support and confidants in their effort to hide their shared bond from the world and to keep anyone from learning that they’ve escaped their death day. I loved watching the relationship between Franny, Mykal, and Court ebb and flow and change throughout the story. Each character’s point of view was engaging. I was very interested in the dynamic between the three of them and if and how their friendship bond would develop throughout the story in their joint mission to flee the planet.It was a well-paced plot that kept me captivated from beginning to end. The realistic characters were very relatable and certainly drew me in; I connected with them and their struggles, and the frozen world provided a very unusual and interesting setting.For those who love romance, there is romance in the book but it is secondary; not the main focus of the story. As a fan of romance novels, I found that this didn’t affect my enjoyment of the story at all. I was way more invested and interested to see what happens next in Mykal, Franny, and Court’s journey. I really enjoyed this book because the characters are fascinating and endearing at the same time, and the unexpected ending completely stunned me. It was nothing at all like I expected and I am very excited and cannot wait to read the next installment!!ARC provided by Netgalley.Fanmade Trailer ------- MARCH 8, 2018 -------I just finished reading this late last night, so I haven't had the chance to gather my thoughts. However, I wanted to quickly tell you all that I was captivated throughout the story! It's truly fascinating and I'm hooked! This, I would love to see on the big screen. REVIEW TO COME!------- INITIAL REACTION: MAY 30, 2016 -------KRISTA AND BECCA ARE WRITING YA FANTASY!!!! Somebody pinch me!!! This is all so surreal
    more
  • Lanie
    January 1, 1970
    ** PRE-ORDERS ALERT **★ THE RAGING ONES (hardcover)Amazon ➜ http://amzn.to/2zDKrYHBook Depository ➜ http://bit.ly/2hAQHtkOther Book Retailers ➜ http://bit.ly/2AGAxDSYA sci-fi/fantasy romancecoming Aug 14, 2018ADD TO GOODREADS ➜ http://bit.ly/2xleLa9★ PINTEREST ➜ http://bit.ly/2kyfgrG★ PLAYLIST ➜ http://spoti.fi/2zZ4zRW ARC was provided by Netgalley2nd reread: May 2018review to come.initial thoughts:i've been a fan of krista and becca since 2013 when i first read their self published novel addict ** PRE-ORDERS ALERT **★ THE RAGING ONES (hardcover)Amazon ➜ http://amzn.to/2zDKrYHBook Depository ➜ http://bit.ly/2hAQHtkOther Book Retailers ➜ http://bit.ly/2AGAxDSYA sci-fi/fantasy romancecoming Aug 14, 2018ADD TO GOODREADS ➜ http://bit.ly/2xleLa9★ PINTEREST ➜ http://bit.ly/2kyfgrG★ PLAYLIST ➜ http://spoti.fi/2zZ4zRW ARC was provided by Netgalley2nd reread: May 2018review to come.initial thoughts:i've been a fan of krista and becca since 2013 when i first read their self published novel addicted to you. i thought i already know what to expect from their books. i am so very wrong. reading this sci fi fantasy novel of theirs, my first thoughts were, holy shit! did krista and becca wrote this? bec the book is so amazing and so different from their other books! good different. so so good! there are moments where i forgot to breathe, moments that thrilled me and excited me. there are twists in the end that i didn't see coming. and all i can think of when i was done was, how many more months till TRO2? bec i really need book 2 now as in right now! i am in awe and so amazed by the talent of the twins!!
    more
  • -S♡
    January 1, 1970
    ★5 Stars! The Raging Ones... is beyond unique and special. It is mesmerizing, addictive, amusing, captivating, fascinating and impressive!Rating: { ★★★★★ }“You’ve stolen my heart, you little crook.” His smile only stretches further and brighter. “My most valuable theft.”Before I begin I have to that this is exactly why Becca and Krista Ritchie are some of my favorite authors.They write and build such incredible and unforgettable worlds and continue to suck me in and take over my entire life.I de ★5 Stars! The Raging Ones... is beyond unique and special. It is mesmerizing, addictive, amusing, captivating, fascinating and impressive!Rating: { ★★★★★ }“You’ve stolen my heart, you little crook.” His smile only stretches further and brighter. “My most valuable theft.”Before I begin I have to that this is exactly why Becca and Krista Ritchie are some of my favorite authors.They write and build such incredible and unforgettable worlds and continue to suck me in and take over my entire life.I devoured this book only in a day and a half and I am reeling! It’s was not what I imagined or expected, but it was better. it exceeded my expectations beyond measures! Mind, Body & Soul.Franny BluecastleSoul.“Franny Bluecastle is more. She’s a girl who asked to die but found strength to live.” I cover my face again. “She is loved,” he says. “More than she ever dreamed. More than she ever asked.”I love Franny the most and maybe that's because I can relate to her. She's such a beautiful, determined and emotionally soul! I felt and understood her more than I thought I would.She's definitely the Soul of the group. Mykal KickfallBody.“Name this feeling,” he whispers, our lips a breath apart. “Love,” I breathe deeply.Lord, Mykal is without a doubt the Body of this group. He is not only physically strong, but he's also fiercely protective, funny and has such a big heart.I love, love, love him! & last but certainly not least..Court Icecastle Mind.That smile . . . Gods, that smile. It brightens my whole wide world.There is nothing I can say that can make you understand who Court Icecastle truly is until YOU read this book for yourself. There are so many layers to him - he is not only the MIND of this group, but he's also the heart, body and soul. He is that missing piece to the puzzle. Without Court...there would be no them.Court holds the weight of the world on his shoulders and so much responsibility for such a young man and it breaks my heart. He's extremely intelligent, calculating and quick. Wise beyond years.Emotionless but emotional. The protector and the provider. The worrier. The flaw but flawless.He is exceptional.But more than anything, I love everything about the dynamic and connection between Franny, Mykal and Court from their inside jokes to their touching moments, their ups and downs and all the way down to the link that brought them together! I felt their hearts, souls, emotions, their wants and needs. Understood their decision.The Raging Ones is a book I will be adding to my top 2018 reads! Thank you Becca and Krista..you never fail to inspire me so thank you. And thank you to the publishers and Netgalley for providing me this unforgettable ARC!
    more
  • Misha
    January 1, 1970
    I don't read much science fiction or fantasy because it never seems to hold my interest. However, if Krista and Becca Ritchie write it, I'm going to read it. Due to the genre I was nervous, but I should have known that I could trust the dynamic duo to deliver. The beginning was a little slow as I was learning about the world and the characters, but then it picked up steam and I was hooked. It was unique, engaging, and perhaps most important for me, full of heart. The connection Franny, Court, an I don't read much science fiction or fantasy because it never seems to hold my interest. However, if Krista and Becca Ritchie write it, I'm going to read it. Due to the genre I was nervous, but I should have known that I could trust the dynamic duo to deliver. The beginning was a little slow as I was learning about the world and the characters, but then it picked up steam and I was hooked. It was unique, engaging, and perhaps most important for me, full of heart. The connection Franny, Court, and Mykal shared wasn't easy, but the friendship that blossomed was unshakeable.I loved having three main characters instead of just two. Each was strong in his or her own way. Court was mentally strong. His evolution throughout the course of the story was actually my favorite. Mykal was physically strong, plus he had a huge heart. I immediately adored him. Franny was emotionally strong. She didn't give herself enough credit, especially considering Court and Mykal had shared their connection much longer. While there was a romance in the book that delighted me, it was not the main focus of the story.One thing these authors do well is creating secondary characters you love and hate. They all added something to the story, and I even found myself warming up to some I didn't care for early on. The action in the book really ramped up in the last quarter, and I was equal parts excited and scared to find out how it would all end. I loved the progression of Court's relationships with both Franny and Mykal, but my heart was definitely in my throat by the book's conclusion. The sequel will definitely be one of my most anticipated books of 2019.*An advance copy of this book was received in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • Arielle ⭐ Cursebreaker ⭐
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Officially!We found each other in the winter wood. He threw his arms around me like I’d been his long-lost friend. I hugged him like I was meeting my soul again. There are some moments and some feelings that I can’t even explain. I’m a young man of medicine and science and logic, but the sentiments I wield for Mykal transcend all three.Dang you guys this was good. I mean I don’t know why I ever was worried because I have read and loved just about every single other book by these ladies. BUT 4.5 Officially!We found each other in the winter wood. He threw his arms around me like I’d been his long-lost friend. I hugged him like I was meeting my soul again. There are some moments and some feelings that I can’t even explain. I’m a young man of medicine and science and logic, but the sentiments I wield for Mykal transcend all three.Dang you guys this was good. I mean I don’t know why I ever was worried because I have read and loved just about every single other book by these ladies. BUT in my defense, they had never ventured into the world of YA before and that can be a much different thing than the romance that we had been used to up until this point. I can very happily say that I am here to announce their debut into the world of YA is a stunning one (and I hope you all think so too!)“But what will I do until then?”She smiled as bright and lovely as the smile she wore on her deathbed. “You will live Franny. You will live hard…” She cupped my face. “Fast.” She rested her forehead on mine. “And full.”The first thing that deserves note is the genius plot. Our main characters Franny, Court, and Mykal live on a planet that is always cold (fuck that) and a society that is separated into three different classes called the Influentials, the Fast Trackers, and the Babes. When everyone is born, everyone receives a death day and based on how old you will be when you die, you are fitted into one of those categories. Influentials will live to an old age and are able to go to school and make a good living for themselves because they simply have the most time, Fast Trackers ususally only live to be about 29 and are therefore forced into the labor jobs that don’t take long to learn but usually live the fiercest, and Babes of course only get a few years and are love and cherished for as long as they can be. “You keep saying that you make my life dismal and bleak. But my world never felt as bright, as worthwhile and full, until I met you.” What I thought was the most interesting was that compared to other books/movies based on people who have a countdown to their death, these people enjoyed knowing. They each had their specific roles in life and found comfort in knowing when exactly they were going to die. I mean on one hand I get it because you would never have to worry about the unknown—you would never get sick enough or injured enough to die before that specific date. You could plan to live life to its very fullest in the allotted time you were given. His smile stretches his cheeks like they’re my cheeks. I can’t stop feeling. Can’t stop starting. Gods bless that’s beautifulIn the case of Court, Franny, and Mykal though, they dodged their death day and are somehow irrevocably bonded (literally) because of it. They can feel each other’s emotions, pain, tastes, etc. THIS is where I knew that the story would be solid right from the beginning. If those of you who have read this, haven’t read their other Calloway Sisters and Addicted series, you will have missed out on the AMAZING interactions they are able to portray between couples/friends/families in their books. You can never not feel the love, hate, hurt—any emotion on the spectrum. I don’t know what it is but their characters and their relationships are my favorite parts of their writing. I was worried about the possibility of a love triangle but it was for nothing. Court and Mykal do have a stronger and deeper emotional and physical connection (no secret, we see this right away) but the one they share with Franny becomes just as important. I really wonder how it all will play out, especially with ~certain~ revelations that come out at the very end of this first book.I feel them. For the first time I realize they’ve been my strength, my hope, and they can be my peace. I just have to let them help me. And to do that, I need to grow the courage to speak.The only part that people *might* not like is that these ladies don’t give us all of the information right away..on anything really. At first I didn’t have a concrete vision of the planet, what the different social structures were all about, or why these three dodged their death days and became connected when no one else has. You do gain this knowledge though as you go along and once I started to, I kind of like that we were kept in the dark at first. I mean, Franny was thrown for such a loop when she dodged her death day and I felt like we were there with her, learning about how Court and Mykal have lived like that for years and how she now had a possibility to begin a new life and maybe even see the stars in the process.“You’ve stolen my heart, you little crook.”His smile only stretches further and brighter. “My most valuable theft.”I hope that everyone gives this a try and that they love it, I really do. I think this is going to be one kick ass series and I am already so in love with each character and so intrigued with what could possibly happen in the next book. That’s the only hard part about getting ARCs….not only do I have to wait for this to actually come out for everyone else, but it makes the wait for book two that much longer. SIGHHH. Oh well, it was more than worth it!ARC was provided in exchange for an honest review. The quotes above were taken from an ARC and are subject to change upon publication. THANK YOU NetGalley and Wednesday Books for the chance to read this early.For more of my reviews, please visit:
    more
  • Kristy K
    January 1, 1970
    This is probably one of the hardest reviews I’ve had to write. The Raging Ones was a top 5 release for me this year and I was exhilarated when I got an ARC, but I ended up being so disappointed. My expectations were so high, after all the Ritchies are arguably my favorite NA romance writers, but I spent most of my time being bored and waiting for something happen.I have so many questions (see below) that went unanswered and I can only hope they get resolved in book two. There were a few twists, This is probably one of the hardest reviews I’ve had to write. The Raging Ones was a top 5 release for me this year and I was exhilarated when I got an ARC, but I ended up being so disappointed. My expectations were so high, after all the Ritchies are arguably my favorite NA romance writers, but I spent most of my time being bored and waiting for something happen.I have so many questions (see below) that went unanswered and I can only hope they get resolved in book two. There were a few twists, and the ending I didn’t necessarily see coming but at the same time I wasn’t surprised by it. Questions: How did deathdays start?Why did they flee their old planet?More about their solar system and world.What caused the Great Freeze?Everything about them being linked.(view spoiler)[If Court changed his first name then how come he kept the last name that made him a criminal? (hide spoiler)]If they have a machine that can tell you when you’ll die, (view spoiler)[wouldn’t they also have one that could verify your ID (especially since it’s a capital punishment crime if you imitate an Influential)? (hide spoiler)]Even though I didn’t particularly enjoy this one, I’m willing to read book two if only to get my questions answered and see this duology redeemed.
    more
  • Inge
    January 1, 1970
    DNF 39%I can't even put my finger on why this isn't working for me. The writing is solid, there's an exciting event coming up (a space competition!), and the characters are complex. But I'm just not enjoying it, and I've been telling myself, "Okay, I'll just give it one more chapter" for a while now to give it a proper chance, but I have to be honest with myself and put it down. Sometimes a book just doesn't click.Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin's Press for providing me with a review copy
    more
  • lacy [a ravenclaw library]
    January 1, 1970
    a special thank you goes out to Netgalley and Wednesday Books for allowing me to read an eARC of this book! All thoughts and opinions are my own. tw: drug use, death of a parentScience fiction is so great. And even though I have only read a little bit of it, I think it's the bees knees because literally anything is possible because it's science. (I now have that guy from that 80's song screaming "SCIENCE!" stuck in my head) This concept-of knowing your death day- falls under that concept of coo a special thank you goes out to Netgalley and Wednesday Books for allowing me to read an eARC of this book! All thoughts and opinions are my own. tw: drug use, death of a parentScience fiction is so great. And even though I have only read a little bit of it, I think it's the bees knees because literally anything is possible because it's science. (I now have that guy from that 80's song screaming "SCIENCE!" stuck in my head) This concept-of knowing your death day- falls under that concept of cool science fiction even if it is a tiny bit morbid. However, this book was not without its faults. While the concept of the death day was cool, I didn't quite understand the ages. More specifically, how an 8 (eight) year old can learn to drive a car. Yes, you read that right. Franny learned to drive at 8 (eight) years old. It just makes me wonder if the developmental stages were different or maybe I read it wrong. There were some other spoilery things that happened that made me very confused on the aging processing. Once you read the book, you'll understand what I mean. Speaking of Franny, the cast of characters was pretty great. They all-Court, Mykal and Franny- were awesome and brought something new to the table. I adored the female/male friendships that didn't lead to romances. We need more of that in YA literature. While I didn't bond with any specifically, I adored Mykal the most. He was the most down to earth guy I've seen in YA literature. Plus him and Court?? Adorable! But I must bring up another negative. I was confused by the bond the three shared. It is mentioned that they can't read each other's minds but only feel each other's emotions. But yet, they seemed to know when one of them was reading a book or tying a shoe. It just confused me and seemed inconsistent. I hope it's better explained in the next book as the ending kind of shed some light on a lot of different things. Despite my complaints and confusion on certain aspects, I think this was a great start to what I'm sure will be a rocking series. I can't even begin to imagine where this is going to lead, especially with that cliffhanger ending! Until then, I will eagerly be awaiting the return of what I'm sure will be one of my favorite trios.
    more
  • Betul
    January 1, 1970
    **ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review**I don't read many YA/Scifi novels, however I trust Krista and Becca unconditionally so I didn't hesitate picking up this book. I was not disappointed! The world they created was very original and intrigued me a lot. I was looking forward to learning more and more about the characters and their lives. I loved the idea of a bond/link between Court, Franny and Mykal. But I also enjoyed that all three had a very different personality. The **ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review**I don't read many YA/Scifi novels, however I trust Krista and Becca unconditionally so I didn't hesitate picking up this book. I was not disappointed! The world they created was very original and intrigued me a lot. I was looking forward to learning more and more about the characters and their lives. I loved the idea of a bond/link between Court, Franny and Mykal. But I also enjoyed that all three had a very different personality. They come from different 'worlds' and grew up in different circumstances. The characters grow significantly in this book, and I am looking forward to seeing they grow even more.One of my pet peeves in Scifi or Fantasy books is that the world-building is too complicated, and that the author dumps a lot of information at the reader at once. I was glad that the authors didn't do that in this book, however there were times that I wanted more information. For example, I wanted more details on how the worlds were created and how the people differed from one another. So that left me a bit wanting more, however I am hopeful that Krista and Becca will go more into depth in the next book. The twist at the end was super unexpected, and I am so excited to get my hands on the sequel and to see what will happen next. The Raging Ones is a successful YA/Scifi novel by Krista and Becca Rithie, and I can't wait to see with what they will come up in the future.
    more
  • Hollis
    January 1, 1970
    I'm definitely the black sheep of the current ARC reviews because all I can say is : what the actual hell did I just read. "We're a mess.""We're together."I have a feeling THE RAGING ONES might be one of those stories that makes more sense in the final wrap-up. Because right now it's a mix of Sense8, Armageddon, THEY BOTH DIE AT THE END, and DARE MIGHTY THINGS. Which sounds hella interesting, and totally up my alley because I love all of those things, but I don't even know where to start. When w I'm definitely the black sheep of the current ARC reviews because all I can say is : what the actual hell did I just read. "We're a mess.""We're together."I have a feeling THE RAGING ONES might be one of those stories that makes more sense in the final wrap-up. Because right now it's a mix of Sense8, Armageddon, THEY BOTH DIE AT THE END, and DARE MIGHTY THINGS. Which sounds hella interesting, and totally up my alley because I love all of those things, but I don't even know where to start. When we're born, we all know the day we'll die. It's been this way for over a thousand years.We have a snow-covered planet and a people who are ranked by Babes (those who die young), Fast Trackers (who live fast and die before twenty nine), and Influentials (who live very long, influential, lives; get it?). Their death-dates determine.. well, everything, so when three people find themselves surviving their deaths and then also linked to each other, feeling emotions, physical pain, and more, they don't know how to explain it. Only that each of them survived, each of them found each other, and that they are their only hope for survival. And survival means entering into a competition/extended examination to secure a spot in the mission to the stars; because if anyone were to find out the truth.. well, they'd probably be really dead."Be careful of how you die, my little Franny. You can set your terms but not the day."The connection forged between these three is made more complicated (and interesting!) by the fact that what looks like a love triangle, and smells like a love triangle, isn't a love triangle. The best part of this story is their dynamic, I would say. Each character is very different from each other, some more damaged than others, and getting used to each other is both strange, unsettling, and brings them more joy and love than they've ever known. I will read on for Mykal and Court's sweetness alone.. and also because that ending has me just.. like..Kindness exists in Mykal where coldness festers in Court.This was my first read by the Ritchie duo and yes, I know, it was a weird place to start. I know this is lightyears away from their norm and unlikely to resemble anything I read in my backlist catch-up. And it's also (obviously) far from a fave. I appreciate what went into creating this story I just think it's.. a lot. It's a little messy, there's a lot going on, and after all that build-up we get an ending that doesn't even remotely resemble where I thought things were headed. So, yeah, I'm confused. I was definitely bored. The elements I thought were compelling weren't always reason enough to pick this back up. But I'm curious. So, we'll see.** I received an ARC from NetGalley and the publisher (thank you!) in exchange for an honest review. **
    more
  • Clephiro
    January 1, 1970
    Franny and Court should have been dead before 29. Mykal before 8. Yet, somehow, they managed to dodge their deathdays. In a word in which everyone knows the precise day that they will die, if anyone knew that they had survived, it would likely mean their deaths. Connected by a mysterious bond, they will do whatever it takes to raise the money for a chance to leave their ice-covered world to be able to live among the stars.So, we have two guys – Mykal and Court and a girl – Franny. I can already Franny and Court should have been dead before 29. Mykal before 8. Yet, somehow, they managed to dodge their deathdays. In a word in which everyone knows the precise day that they will die, if anyone knew that they had survived, it would likely mean their deaths. Connected by a mysterious bond, they will do whatever it takes to raise the money for a chance to leave their ice-covered world to be able to live among the stars.So, we have two guys – Mykal and Court and a girl – Franny. I can already see the love triangle forming...except it doesn’t. In probably the most refreshing, and pleasantly surprising subversion of a popular trope, Mykal and Court are the two romantically involved. Franny is awesome, and totally cool to be friends with them. I cannot even emphasize how amazing to read a story that didn’t assume a heterosexual relationship as the default, and which ALSO manages to have platonic friendship between men and women. There were some issues with pacing in the book. I also found the first few chapters a bit confusing, since we’re just thrown into the world with not a lot of context about the meanings of some of the words or names. The bond was also a tad weird at time, but overall, I found the book a refreshing change.
    more
  • Mandie
    January 1, 1970
    This was such a great compelling, action-packed read! I loved every minute of it!I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    January 1, 1970
    I’m so excited woohoo 😍❤🙌     I’m so excited woohoo 😍❤️🙌    
  • Wendy
    January 1, 1970
    I don't read a lot of sci-fi and I have never read a YA one. That said... I am a huge fan of these two awesome authors, so there was no way I wasn't going to read this one !!This book is about Franny, Court and Mykal, who share an amazing bond. (think sense8...which I loved btw) What's so different about their world, is that everyone knows the day they are gong to die. It's also cold as fuck !! The moment you are born, you also know when you will die. There is no way around it...You end up in on I don't read a lot of sci-fi and I have never read a YA one. That said... I am a huge fan of these two awesome authors, so there was no way I wasn't going to read this one !!This book is about Franny, Court and Mykal, who share an amazing bond. (think sense8...which I loved btw) What's so different about their world, is that everyone knows the day they are gong to die. It's also cold as fuck !! The moment you are born, you also know when you will die. There is no way around it...You end up in one of three categories, depending how long you will live ..Influentials, the Fast Trackers, and the Babes.These three however have managed to dodge their death, which is the reason they share this special bond together. What Court and Mykal share is a bit more though....but Franny is still just as important. It made me think of these three a bit :PI really enjoyed this first book in the series and the world-building was pretty great. That said....there are a lot of things still left in the open. The first book is always the hardest because of all the info dump, but I have faith that more will be revealed/explained in the next book.For those of you who want/need to know. This is not a love triangle. These three share an amazing bond, but it's only the guys that are romantically involved ;) My reviews are posted on DirtyBooksObsession Follow Us on➦ 
    more
  • Jacqueline's Reads
    January 1, 1970
    I’m a huge Krista and Becca Ritchie fan, but they are known for their New Adult books so it’s always nice to see authors branching into a different genre. The Ragging Ones could be described as only in one word… Different. I haven’t read anything like this and I think a reviewer mentioned there was another book about people knowing when they will die, so I might have to check that book out.I started to read The Raging Ones and I’ll be honest I had no idea what was going on. The first few chapter I’m a huge Krista and Becca Ritchie fan, but they are known for their New Adult books so it’s always nice to see authors branching into a different genre. The Ragging Ones could be described as only in one word… Different. I haven’t read anything like this and I think a reviewer mentioned there was another book about people knowing when they will die, so I might have to check that book out.I started to read The Raging Ones and I’ll be honest I had no idea what was going on. The first few chapters were a little confusing and so I went and read the premise, because I didn’t before. I highly recommend you read the premise before starting the book.What’s it about?The Raging Ones is about three teens, Franny, Court and Mykal. They all have one thing in common, they all dodged their death days. In this world you know the day you die the moment you are born. All three of them have lived past their death day and now what do they do?Since Franny is the only girl in this group, you would think she would be the strong Heroine of the group and although she is strong she doesn’t outshine the guys. Think Harry Potter. Court is like Harry and the other two are the supporting characters. At least that is how I see the book. I liked her, but she kept me on the edge of my toes because I never knew how she would react.Like I said, I feel like Court is the star of the book but the three characters have equal POV’s in the read. I’m not sure if I like the different POV’s because it was very hard to tell which characters were which. The chapters were labeled with the characters but I soon forgot. For once, I do wish the book was written in third point of view. I loved Court, of course. He’s the smartest in the group with a HUGE mysterious past. I loved his mysterious past and I was just reading like mad in trying to figure out what happened to him. Then there is Mykal, he’s the brute of the group and not as smart as Court but with the heart of gold. He kind of makes the group whole and he’s a nice character to be added.So with the three of them together, they have one mission in mind. To obtain a spot in the mission to be launch out of space. I liked that the book had one common goal and throughout the read we read the characters interacting during the program. There’s a lot of obstacles throughout the book and it was entertaining to read. The book is very antsy and kept me on the edge of my seat. If you know anything about me, I can’t do angst and I will have to read a light book after this one. There are a few moments where I cringed and I felt like some parts were too much for me, I’m so sensitive and since this is a YA book, I felt very like mama bear and I wished the kids didn’t have to endure so much. Overall, the book started out slow and confusing, but there’s nothing like Krista and Becca’s writing, it’s addicting and easy to read. I had certain expectations of this book and when I was slightly disappointed, well, it made me question if this book fit for me.Since this is a young adult book the romance is VERY low, almost non-existent and that is fine with me because I expect that in a sci-fi YA book, but the romance I did read was a disappointment. I’m just not the progressive enough and I like my typical YA sci-fi read. I do appreciate the direction the twins went and I’m sure a lot of people will love this or be fine with it, but for me, I was like I said a little disappointed. But I did love the story so I’m conflicted. For now, I think if you like YA sci-fi reads, then the Raging Ones is for you. An ARC was providedhttp://amzn.to/2H5Zk6n
    more
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    January 1, 1970
    This cover is so boring...The main characters names just sound so ridiculous lol
  • Melanie (mells_view)
    January 1, 1970
    A couple things the Ritchie twins do amazingly well without fail are world building and connecting characters. The Raging Ones is no exception to this fact. Franny, Court, and Mykal are three characters living in a snowy, cold, violet smoke clouded world, where everyone knows the very day they will die. Each of our mains have reached and survived that day. Which SHOULD be an impossibility, but for them... it was not. On top of all that, once they dodge their death day, they become connected to e A couple things the Ritchie twins do amazingly well without fail are world building and connecting characters. The Raging Ones is no exception to this fact. Franny, Court, and Mykal are three characters living in a snowy, cold, violet smoke clouded world, where everyone knows the very day they will die. Each of our mains have reached and survived that day. Which SHOULD be an impossibility, but for them... it was not. On top of all that, once they dodge their death day, they become connected to each other through some sort of unexplainable hybrid emotional mental physical bond. Three people who were living lives that should not have brought them together, and yet here they are. Together and bonded in more ways than one.I can’t say that any of them are stand out as the central main. I think all three of them are the central characters, and each of them has a goal. Court wants to flee the planet to keep them and their death day dodging secret safe. Mykal wants to please Court and keep Franny safe. Franny wants to live whatever is left of her life hard, fast, and full. I loved seeing how the characters relationships were and how they grew during the story. I’m going to spoil a bit and say this is not a love triangle at this point, and I’m not sure it ever will be. It is however an unique relationship made even more unique, because of the bond. Can’t wait to see how things play out in the future. I have my hopes, but who knows where things will go between the three.Along the way to our characters trying to reach their goals we meet a smattering of side characters. There are some you will love, some that will stump you, and some you will hate without a doubt. I think the authors did a great job giving you just enough of the side characters, that will keep you guessing. I ended up falling in love with one and his story already feels so tragic. I can’t say why... but ugh. I can’t wait to see where that side story may go.I don’t want to say much more, because I think you need to actually read things and see what happens. What I will say is this book is book one of what I assume will be an ongoing series. It was a set up for the world, the ongoing plot, and establishing relationships between the main and some between the side characters. Which also means that at times the story was a bit slow for me. The authors DO throw in many moments where there’s action and some suspense, but once those are over there’s more info dump. Which is understandable in a first book, but if those aren’t your favorite this may be a hard read. ALL that being said, the last 20% is AMAZING and makes the world building and info dumping in the first parts of the book very worth it. So I would PUSH through, because the payoff is WORTH IT!That ending. SO UNEXPECTED! I would have never in a million years guessed that’s where the story was headed. I easily made so many assumptions based on the first parts of the book.I’m excited for the rest of the series. To see how the relationships will play out. To get answers to WHAT exactly is going on, and why exactly our mains have their connection.https://instagram.com/p/Blf-2r3hHK3/^fan edit on IG![Note: I’m not a heavy YA reader, so I’m not sure if this follows any “rules” or is similar to any other books in the genre. To me it felt fresh and unique!]*ARC provided by NetGalley* Coming 8/14!
    more
  • giulia
    January 1, 1970
    [lily calloway voice] thankyouthankyouthankyou netgalley for this opportunity. I loved this book. So. Much. I am a huge fan of Krista and Becca's books and writing style and I have to say THEY DIDN'T DISAPPOINT ME. I couldn't put it down. I was absolutely hooked. A plot I've never read before. I AM SO CURIOUS TO SEE WHAT WILL HAPPEN NOW. I want the second book!!!!The main reason i love KB's books are the characters. The deep connection you feel with them. And speaking of connection, THE BOND BET [lily calloway voice] thankyouthankyouthankyou netgalley for this opportunity. I loved this book. So. Much. I am a huge fan of Krista and Becca's books and writing style and I have to say THEY DIDN'T DISAPPOINT ME. I couldn't put it down. I was absolutely hooked. A plot I've never read before. I AM SO CURIOUS TO SEE WHAT WILL HAPPEN NOW. I want the second book!!!!The main reason i love KB's books are the characters. The deep connection you feel with them. And speaking of connection, THE BOND BETWEEN FRANNY, COURT AND MYKAL WAS THE BEST THING ABOUT THIS BOOK. I didn't know what to expect from this book, but it was so so so much more.FRANNY."I'm just the girl the banker shuts the blinds on. The girl people piss on in an alleyway. The girl most ignore while she drives them around the city. I'm just Franny and all I've ever counted toward was this."https://78.media.tumblr.com/860b3dab5...She was absolutely ICONIC. She lived her life knowing she would die. She lived fast. Like she promised her mother she would. She is strong, brave, fragile, human. She is a volcano of emotions. I love her so much. She is my favorite character. COURT."Court Icecastle, never failing at predictability." https://78.media.tumblr.com/9b42248df...Court has so many layers. You don't really know him, not until the end of this book. Maybe never. He went through hell and survived it. He is smart, tenacious, a Leader.He loves Mykal and Franny so much. He would die for them. But he is also broken in some ways. You can see his internal battles. He cares but doesn't want to. He loves but he's afraid. A fantastic complex character.MYKAL."Mykal Kickfall, twice as predictable as me." "And twice as ruthless."https://favim.com/media/uploads/image...FINALLY A CANONICALLY DEMISEXUAL CHARACTER. He loves and protects at all costs. He may not be the smartest person, but his heart and personality are so wonderful. Love Love Love him!Mykal and Court are the other part I LOVED THE MOST. Their scenes were so BEAUTIFUL. "name this feeling," he whispers, our lips a breath apart. A feeling that overpowers me up warmly in the coldest hours. Through ice, through snow. A feeling that has never let go. "Love," I breathe deeply. I loved the second characters. Especially Zimmer. He's so interesting.AND WHAT A CLIFFHANGER. THEY'RE FROM EARTH. THIS IS WHY THEY DIDN'T DIE. THANK YOU KB FOR AN AMAZING BOOK AND THANK YOU NETGALLEY AGAIN FOR THIS OPPURNITY.
    more
  • Lauren Luman
    January 1, 1970
    I reviewed an ARC provided by the publisher and NetGalley.I've never really read anything in this genre, but The Raging Ones quickly became the book I didn't know I needed.How would you live your life if you knew when its end was coming?The imagery created by the Ritchie twins takes you to this futuristic, mystical land completely wrapped up in a class system based on someone's predetermined death date. You can close your eyes and see clouds of lilac smoke and snow as far as the eye can see. I'm I reviewed an ARC provided by the publisher and NetGalley.I've never really read anything in this genre, but The Raging Ones quickly became the book I didn't know I needed.How would you live your life if you knew when its end was coming?The imagery created by the Ritchie twins takes you to this futuristic, mystical land completely wrapped up in a class system based on someone's predetermined death date. You can close your eyes and see clouds of lilac smoke and snow as far as the eye can see. I'm not accustomed to writing reviews for this genre, but as usual, Krista and Becca nail the character develop and the connection between our trio, Franny, Court, and Mykal. It's insanely heartfelt and bone-deep. They are all 3 connected by something they have in common which causes this irrevocable link to each other. I was so moved by the arc created for this story, and I'm so excited for its sequel. I also have a new outlook on the genre, thanks to Krista and Becca, whose writing I crave.
    more
  • Bianca St.
    January 1, 1970
    WOW! This was incredible! The premise of the book is extremely unique and so refreshing – it’s unlike anything you’ve read before! I’m already a fan of the authors, so I was pretty sure I’d like this book because I like their writing style, but I didn’t really know what to expect since this is their first YA sci-fi book. I was really pleasantly surprised and I ended up loving this a lot more than I thought I would! The plot is really well constructed and there’s always something that’s happening WOW! This was incredible! The premise of the book is extremely unique and so refreshing – it’s unlike anything you’ve read before! I’m already a fan of the authors, so I was pretty sure I’d like this book because I like their writing style, but I didn’t really know what to expect since this is their first YA sci-fi book. I was really pleasantly surprised and I ended up loving this a lot more than I thought I would! The plot is really well constructed and there’s always something that’s happening, so you’ll never be bored. The characters are really complex and they all have different motivations and goals and that makes them very realistic. Overall, this book surpassed my expectations, and there are virtually no things I didn’t like. It is a strong debut YA novel and I highly recommend picking it up!The story follows three main characters, Franny, Court and Mykal, who live in a futuristic society on a frozen planet where people know the day when they’ll die and they’re split into three categories based on their death-day: Babes (who die before the age of 12), Fast-Trackers (who die between 13 and 29) and Influentials (who live past 30). The category they’re put into at birth, also dictates the way they’re going to live their life: Babes are left to live their life however they want, Fast-Trackers are assigned to hard labour and the ‘unimportant’ jobs of society, and Influentials get a comprehensive education and live meaningful lives as it’s believed they have the ability and the time to change the world for the better.The story starts on the day that Franny – a 17 year old Fast-Tracker – is destined to die. Except that she doesn’t. She lives past her death-day, which is unheard of, and she finds herself inexplicably linked to Court and Mykal, two boys who’ve also dodged their death-day against all odds. The story then follows them as they learn to deal with the weird bond between them that allows them to feel the others’ feelings and senses as their own, and as they make plans to escape a society where they’re supposed to be dead. But to do that, they must first pose as Influentials and try to get accepted into a prestigious space programme which will send only 5 Influentials out of over a thousand on a new mission in space. The dynamic between the three main characters is incredibly interesting! When Franny meets the two boys she gets along right away with one of them, but her personality clashes a bit with the other’s and it’s really interesting to see how they deal with that while also dealing with the fact that they’re linked to each other. The minor characters that we meet later on in the book are all wonderful as well and in the second half of the book the ‘band of misfits’ or ‘found family’ vibes really shine!It’s also incredibly exciting to see a YA book with a main cast of two boys and one girl and *gasp* no love-triangle! It was like a breath of fresh air! But worry not, there is a romantic sub-plot in the book and it is really beautiful and heart-warming and compelling and the characters are so shippable¬—and I would expect nothing less from Krista and Becca as they’re so good at writing romance stories! And there’s also another tiny ‘side-ship’ I think miiiight just be a thing!Another important thing that needs to be mentioned is that there is plenty of diversity in this book (in terms of gender, sexuality and race) not only for background and side characters but also for the main trio as well which I appreciate so much and there is a same-sex relationship involving some of the important characters, so if you like diversity in your YA books, I definitely recommend reading this!Overall, the plot is full of twists and turns that keep you intrigued to see what happens next. The action starts out strong from page one and only slows down a bit towards the middle of the book (which is not a bad thing! It leaves space for more world-building and introducing new amazing characters!) and then ends with a BANG! These characters will make their way into their heart from the very beginning and you’ll be rooting for the underdogs until the very last page. The setting is unlike anything you’ve read before and I was constantly intrigued to find out more about the world these characters live in. A very strong debut YA novel and one of my favourite books I’ve read this year! I’m already highly anticipating the sequel! _________________________________________________________22/04/2018: HOLY SHIT THIS WAS SO GOOD! I was expecting it to be good and I was sure I'd like it but it's surpassed my expectations by far! I'll write a coherent review when I've processed everything but this starts out like a dystopian Sense8 and it turns into a Star Wars-Six of Crows-The 100 type of story. An incredibly unique concept and a brilliant execution! I'm so in love!
    more
  • Kathy - Books & Munches
    January 1, 1970
    The world-building, or universe-building, was done phenomenally. There's a lot of information - more about that later on - but it's needed to get all your questions answered on how everything came to be the way it is in The Raging Ones. How do people find themselves in such permanent cold? How come there's this huge division between Babes, Fast Trackers and Influentials? What's the difference between the three? All those questions are answered and I loved that.On NetGalley this novel was describ The world-building, or universe-building, was done phenomenally. There's a lot of information - more about that later on - but it's needed to get all your questions answered on how everything came to be the way it is in The Raging Ones. How do people find themselves in such permanent cold? How come there's this huge division between Babes, Fast Trackers and Influentials? What's the difference between the three? All those questions are answered and I loved that.On NetGalley this novel was described as a sci-fi romance and I honestly liked the sound of that. Especially since I'm still only dabbling around in science fiction so whenever the focus is more on something else - I welcome that, ha. It honestly was intriguing to see how the three main characters coped with being linked to one another. Feelings were bound to surface and it kept me intrigued. Also mentioning that there's queer rep when it comes to some side characters!Another thing I have to mention is the ending. I honestly never saw that one coming! It's a twist I didn't even consider for one second - which, of course, made me freak out and wish for the sequel even though.. Not everything was rainbows and butterflies..Court, Mykal and Franny are our three main characters. They all have their unique characteristics but when it comes to the writing, you honestly couldn't tell them apart. Court is the only one with a decent education in his past, yet all three of them talk the same way. This simply doesn't make sense since Mykal has a very lonely past and Franny lived the life of a real Fast Tracker before they all met. Sure, you notice the differences when they say something, but as for their thoughts? It simply wasn't right.Apart from that, I also didn't feel like they were entirely fleshed out and I guess that might be linked to my previous remark. So many things about their histories were being kept a secret or were told bit by tiny bit along the way and it frustrated me to no end not to know how they came to be the people they are. It's not even something related to only one of them. Nope, it was Court, Mykal and Franny. Unfortunately.I have to say I struggled a bit reading this one. I don't know if it was just me, or this book specifically, or everything combined but I was rocking a reading slump hard while I was trying to get through The Raging Ones. It definitely took away some of the reading pleasure I know I would've felt otherwise..Another thing that made it a bit harder for me to read this novel, was how a whole lot of things were happening. Like, a lot. Sometimes it felt like a huge information overload, then there was one twist and turn and event after the other, with more information added on top and.. it felt like too much sometimes? I do realize, looking back, that it may have felt this way because of my reading slump and my inability to focus on the story properly. That can definitely explain how I was struggling with all the events and information, right?Having four bad remarks versus three good ones. Well, I guess it shows how torn I am about this novel. I had some issues with it - sure - but I still enjoyed the story, so for that.. I guess my usual "meh-rating" of..3 / 5!
    more
  • Atlas
    January 1, 1970
    * * * *4 / 5~review to come~http://atlasrisingbooks.wordpress.comThe Raging Ones was a fantastic read. It was so creative – set in a frozen world with a lilac sky where each individual knows which day they will die on – and the characters were so compelling. Massive kudos for not including a love triangle between the two male characters and the female one and having a gay romance instead
    more
Write a review