This is How it Happened
Somehow I’ve become a liar. A coward. Here’s how it happened. When Genevieve Grace wakes up from a coma, she can’t remember the car crash that injured her and killed her boyfriend Dallas, a YouTube star who had just released his first album. Genevieve knows she was there, and that there was another driver, a man named Brad Freeman, who everyone assumes is guilty. But as she slowly pieces together the night of the accident, Genevieve is hit with a sickening sense of dread—that maybe she had something to do with what happened.As the internet rages against Brad Freeman, condemning him in a brutal trial by social media, Genevieve escapes to her father’s house, where she can hide from reporters and spend the summer volunteering in beautiful Zion National Park. But she quickly realizes that she can’t run away from the accident, or the terrible aftermath of it all.Incredibly thought-provoking and beautifully told, Paula Stokes’s story will compel readers to examine the consequences of making mistakes in a world where the internet is always watching…and judging.

This is How it Happened Details

TitleThis is How it Happened
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherHarperTeen
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult

This is How it Happened Review

  • Paula Stokes
    October 30, 2016
    IMPORTANT NOTE FOR EARLY READERS/REVIEWERS:Both the physical galley and first uploaded e-ARC to Edelweiss are missing the equivalent of a page. The e-ARC was updated on March 6th to include the missing material. This book contains tweets and blog posts with comments, and one of the comment sections was accidentally omitted during typesetting. These comments are important for both characterization and advancing the plot, and without them there will be multiple disconnects (Wait? What? When did th IMPORTANT NOTE FOR EARLY READERS/REVIEWERS:Both the physical galley and first uploaded e-ARC to Edelweiss are missing the equivalent of a page. The e-ARC was updated on March 6th to include the missing material. This book contains tweets and blog posts with comments, and one of the comment sections was accidentally omitted during typesetting. These comments are important for both characterization and advancing the plot, and without them there will be multiple disconnects (Wait? What? When did that happen?) as you read.Here is a link to material that is missing between page 167 and page 168 in the physical ARC or at 46% (Kindle location 2106/4621 if you use those numbers) in the original e-ARC: http://www.authorpaulastokes.com/p/th...Thanks to Rashika the Book Owl for looking that up for me :) Email me: pstokesbooks [at] gmail [dot] com if you have questions. Thanks!This is the book that's taking the place of Jack of Hearts, which is what my contract originally called for to be released in summer of 2017. I wrote 45,000 words of that book and then crashed hard on it. Some projects don't end up working and some do work but just not when you want them to. It's entirely possible I will go back to Jack of Hearts someday. But in the meantime...This is How it Happened is the intersection of two things I love and two causes I feel strongly about. One of the things I love is Zion National Park and one of the causes I feel strongly about is online shaming/vigilantism/"piling on." The other two things I won't say because they're spoilers, but I actually came up with this idea, pitched it, and drafted and revised the book from start to ARC in about six months, which is really, really fast for me. (Generally my ideas sit for at least six months before I ever write a single sentence.) This is less fluffy than my other contemporary novels, but it does have a subtle romance and a really cool book boy ;)Is it an issue book? Hmm. Sort of? One thing I've learned is that readers respond wildly differently to the same book, depending on their own values and experiences, so a lot of how you interpret this book might have to do with your views about public shaming and the internet. I'm hoping TIHIH will provide solace and strength to some people, while giving others things to think about and discuss, even if you disagree with some of the themes presented. I will be creating a discussion guide and adding bonus content to my website closer to release date.Thanks for reading (my books and this long-ass "review" :D) Paula
    more
  • Sarah
    May 18, 2017
    (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “I’m sorry, honey. Dallas didn’t survive. He’s dead.” This was a YA contemporary story about a girl involved in a fatal car accident.Genevieve was quite a strong character, and I felt bad for her when she heard the news that Dallas was dead, and again when she realised her part in the accident. It was brave of her to do what she did in the aftermath though.The storyline in this was about Genevieve waking (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “I’m sorry, honey. Dallas didn’t survive. He’s dead.” This was a YA contemporary story about a girl involved in a fatal car accident.Genevieve was quite a strong character, and I felt bad for her when she heard the news that Dallas was dead, and again when she realised her part in the accident. It was brave of her to do what she did in the aftermath though.The storyline in this was about Genevieve waking up after the car accident which killed her boyfriend Dallas, and about her getting plagued by the media as Dallas was a You Tube star and had just released his first album. Initially the accident was blamed on the other driver, but as Genevieve slowly got her memories back, she began to realise that maybe he wasn’t to blame after all. This was quite a difficult story to read in places, as Genevieve struggled with guilt and not knowing what to do, and it was quite hard hitting. The ending to this was pretty good, and things were wrapped up realistically. 7 out of 10.
    more
  • Jennifer
    May 28, 2017
    4.5/5 starsThis is How it Happened is a standalone YA contemporary novel.The narrator is 17 year old Genevieve Grace. Genevieve is in her last few weeks as a high school senior when she wakes up in the hospital. Genevieve and her rock star boyfriend were in a car accident and she has no memory of it. The book is a bit of a mystery with Genevieve trying to figure out what happened.The book starts with a newspaper clipping about the accident. Then it goes to her waking up. Then it goes to a party 4.5/5 starsThis is How it Happened is a standalone YA contemporary novel.The narrator is 17 year old Genevieve Grace. Genevieve is in her last few weeks as a high school senior when she wakes up in the hospital. Genevieve and her rock star boyfriend were in a car accident and she has no memory of it. The book is a bit of a mystery with Genevieve trying to figure out what happened.The book starts with a newspaper clipping about the accident. Then it goes to her waking up. Then it goes to a party 6 days before.Genevieve lives in St. Louis with her mom. Her parents are divorced and they are both doctors.I was hooked on this book right from the start. The story was interesting. And I was very curious to see what caused the accident and whether her memory would return.i found this story captivating. I really liked the fact that Gen's boyfriend was an up and coming musician with crazy fans.After Genevieve gets out of the hospital the media is relentless. She decides to go somewhere to get away from the media. And I absolutely loved everything about this part of the storyline. I especially loved all of the outdoor stuff.Another main focus of the story is the driver of the other car involved in the accident. This was a very compelling part of the story.I also really liked that this book dealt with real issues. One of them being internet bullying. People on the internet can be cruel hiding behind screen names. The book uses blog posts and message boards to really get this point across.Overall the book had a more powerful message than I was expecting. Also Genevieve had many complex things to deal with, which I was not expecting. The book tackles so many different things: guilt, deceit and getting and giving second chances. This book is about a girl learning about herself. There is some romance. But the heart of the book is that it focuses on meaningful issues. I really enjoyed this book!Thanks to edelweiss and HarperTeen for allowing me to read this book.
    more
  • Ariana
    April 17, 2017
    It pains me to give such a low rating to this book, because - even though I did not enjoy the storyline and the main character as I should have - the message behind this book is incredibly powerful and important. We live in a world where people hide behind their keyboards, throwing hate around like knifes. They cut deep into people's hearts and minds without giving their actions a second thought. They are not held responsible for what they write and they think they are free to let it all out, so It pains me to give such a low rating to this book, because - even though I did not enjoy the storyline and the main character as I should have - the message behind this book is incredibly powerful and important. We live in a world where people hide behind their keyboards, throwing hate around like knifes. They cut deep into people's hearts and minds without giving their actions a second thought. They are not held responsible for what they write and they think they are free to let it all out, so they simply don't care about the outcome. And they hurt, they hurt badly, just because they can. But that's not what freedom is.You can be just as free without hurting everyone around. Without poisoning someone's mind, without killing someone's soul.I've seen it in so many comments on the internet, even in the reviews (or particularly), there is so much anger and hate, there are so many mean people around. It saddens me really.I am no innocent here, don't be fooled, I've wrote a couple of reviews I am not actually proud of, but for the very same reason I stopped... One has the right to dislike and to be upset, but does not have the right to be mean.And I've been judged both by readers and publishers for choosing not to review the books I don't like (with very few exceptions, lately close to none). They said I am not impartial, that it looks like I enjoy all the books I read, which is completely untrue. As this is why I do it.. Because words are smooth but also sharp, they can fill you with delight, but also with despair. And if I might not say them wisely, I prefer not to say them at all.So be wise, my dears, you never know just how much pain you can cause with just a few simple words.
    more
  • Sam Kozbial
    June 17, 2017
    Rating: 4.5 starsIf I wasn't already a fan of Paula Stokes, I would definitely be one after reading this book. Very thoughtful and thought-provoking. This book is so relevant and really resonated with me and my love/hate relationship with social media. Full review to follow. BLOG|INSTAGRAM|BLOGLOVIN| FRIEND ME ON GOODREADS
    more
  • Trista
    May 12, 2017
    Paula Stokes has been on my auto-buy authors list for a while and books like this one is the reason why. Her ability to write characters that are easy to relate to, flawed and lovable, relationships that are sweet and believable, and plots that are addicting to read, is why she has become one of my auto-buy authors and when this book comes out in physical form, I will be buying it.Gen was a character I found easy to relate to, not because I'd ever been in her situation, but because I could see m Paula Stokes has been on my auto-buy authors list for a while and books like this one is the reason why. Her ability to write characters that are easy to relate to, flawed and lovable, relationships that are sweet and believable, and plots that are addicting to read, is why she has become one of my auto-buy authors and when this book comes out in physical form, I will be buying it.Gen was a character I found easy to relate to, not because I'd ever been in her situation, but because I could see myself having the same sort of reaction if I were to ever be in her situation. Her whole world had been flipped upside down with the accident and the loss of her boyfriend and with the media and his fans and everyone wanting answers, there was no time for her to really grieve his death. She was grieving and she was scared and the flashes of memories were leading her to a conclusion she had no idea how to deal with. She went through a lot and she grew a lot through the book.The book dealt with grief but it also dealt with internet shaming and how easily it can destroy a person's life. The use of online articles and their comments section, the way people happily tore apart the guy accused of the accident even before all the evidence was in, was something to can be found online on most sites on any day. I found it very easy to understand why Gen would be terrified of her memories making her wonder if she was the cause of the accident, to have the online mob turn on her.I also really appreciated the family dynamics in this book. Her parents were divorced and Gen hadn't really gotten to know her father's new wife so going out to stay with them to escape the media circus gave her the chance to warm up to her. Both her parents were doctors so she felt a lot of pressure to be perfect and it made admitted when she had made mistakes very difficult. It was very clear how much they did love each other though. I really loved her friendships with the two teens on her stepmom's team at the Zion National Park.Paula Stokes has definitely done it again. Every time I read a new book by her, it's even better than the last. I didn't think it would happen this time with how much I loved Girl Against the Universe and those two are very, very close. It's definitely one of those situations where either could eek out top spot depending on my mood that day.*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Mary H
    October 19, 2016
    Gimme gimme gimme! Paula is a must-read author for me.
  • Lauren ✨ (YABookers)
    June 30, 2017
    Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.This Is How It Happened follows Genevieve as she wakes up from a coma to find her boyfriend dead. She can't remember the car crash that put her in the hospital and killed her boyfriend, Dallas, an up and coming singer who had just released his first album. Another driver was also involved in the crash, named Brad Freeman, who everyone already assumes is guilty. But slowly, Genevieve starts to retrieve her memories and is startl Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.This Is How It Happened follows Genevieve as she wakes up from a coma to find her boyfriend dead. She can't remember the car crash that put her in the hospital and killed her boyfriend, Dallas, an up and coming singer who had just released his first album. Another driver was also involved in the crash, named Brad Freeman, who everyone already assumes is guilty. But slowly, Genevieve starts to retrieve her memories and is startled by the realisation that maybe she had something to do with what happened. As Brad Freeman is condemned through social media and in the court of public opinion, Genevieve escapes to her father's house in Utah. Volunteering at the beautiful Zion National Part, and getting closer to another volunteer, Genevieve realises that hiding from the truth is having devastating consequences.To be absolutely honest, I was expecting to love this. I think, in this case, I was disappointed. I liked it, I just didn't love it. Whilst I thought that Genevieve was difficult to connect with and I think the plot itself wasn't especially memorable, I really liked the prose and This Is How It Happened is definitely a book with a good message: take responsibility for your mistakes and deal with the consequences yourself. There is a bit of romance; it's cute and sweet, he respects her, and he encourages her to own up. It's not central to the novel, because that is definitely Gen's development, driving safely, and also tackling internet bullying, death threats, and jumping to conclusions without all the information. One thing I really enjoyed was the vividness of the Zion National Park; the lush descriptions, the importance of preserving national landscapes. It was definitely my favourite thing about the book. But another thing that I did enjoy was the excellent family dynamics. Gen has a supportive mother (more so toward the end), a supporting father and step-mother, and it was excellent to see them stand by her. (Her love interests fathers were also A+, the little glimpse we had). Overall, this is an OK book. I would probably read something by Paula Stokes again purely because I find she had a lovely prose.
    more
  • Jennifer
    June 12, 2017
    Received advanced reader copy from author (included corrections and the page missing from ARC)> **Actual rating = 3.5 stars**After waking from a coma, Genevieve slowly pieces together what happened the night the car accident took her memory – and her famous boyfriend Dallas.A powerful message lies at the root of this story. It is this message that bumped my rating up another star … but I cannot tell you the message because, well, **spoilers, sweetie!**Genevieve reads as a “typical teen” char Received advanced reader copy from author (included corrections and the page missing from ARC)> **Actual rating = 3.5 stars**After waking from a coma, Genevieve slowly pieces together what happened the night the car accident took her memory – and her famous boyfriend Dallas.A powerful message lies at the root of this story. It is this message that bumped my rating up another ½ star … but I cannot tell you the message because, well, **spoilers, sweetie!**Genevieve reads as a “typical teen” character. Is that fair? Is there such a thing as typical? Well she reads real: from a divorced family, a strong student, not very popular but dating an emerging music star thus getting thrust into a spotlight she isn’t really sure she wants to be in. I wish I had a chance to get to know Dallas a little bit better – but, alas, we lose him in the opening pages and only get glimpses of him in flashbacks. I really liked Elliott! Lots of facets to this young man and I can see why Gen was drawn to him. I also loved that part of this story was Genevieve and her relationship with her parents. I saw myself in her relationship with Rachael, though, I must admit I was not as quick to accept.Despite the heavy message, this was an easy read with a beautiful setting and enjoyable characters. The only thing that kept this from a higher rating is I felt like the climax fell flat. We learn at about the halfway point (view spoiler)[that Genevieve is responsible for the accident by falling asleep at the wheel (hide spoiler)]. So, what came after that just didn’t have the pow! that it could have had.
    more
  • Haniya (Voracious Bookling)
    June 29, 2017
    Original Post: http://booknauthors.blogspot.com/2017...This book revolves around Genevieve Grace, girlfriend of the famous YouTube sensation, Dallas. A car accident results in death of Dallas but Genevieve survives. Charges are placed against Brad Freeman, whose believed to have caused this accident. Genevieve gets social media anxiety and joins her father away from her hometown. There she changes her identity and tries to forget her past but ends up tangled badly in the whole mess of Dallas' ca Original Post: http://booknauthors.blogspot.com/2017...This book revolves around Genevieve Grace, girlfriend of the famous YouTube sensation, Dallas. A car accident results in death of Dallas but Genevieve survives. Charges are placed against Brad Freeman, whose believed to have caused this accident. Genevieve gets social media anxiety and joins her father away from her hometown. There she changes her identity and tries to forget her past but ends up tangled badly in the whole mess of Dallas' case when she regains her memory back.This book was so slow yet so good. It is about the judgemental people on social media. How social media makes you lie due to the fear of being judged. How you don't get the courage to speak the truth. This book has a powerful message. Genevieve is a really strong character. Her character development was stupendous. The plot was really dragging and nothing happens until like 200 pages. The relationship development between her and her dad was beautiful. Her mom was really annoying and I really didn't like her. She was bossy but she really loves her daughter. Plus we get a slow torture cute romance. ♡Overall, a really nice contemporary with a powerful message! A must read!
    more
  • Kelly Tse
    June 29, 2017
    I loved Stokes’ last contemporary, Girl Against the Universe, so I was excited for her next contemporary, This is How it Happened. Our MC, Genevive, is famous by association and for dating an Internet-turned-real-life famous singer Dallas, who had a promising career ahead of him. In the aftermath of a tragic car accident that results in Dallas’ death, Genevive struggles with memory loss and the overwhelming brutality of social media while she recovers, but when her memory returns, she realizes t I loved Stokes’ last contemporary, Girl Against the Universe, so I was excited for her next contemporary, This is How it Happened. Our MC, Genevive, is famous by association and for dating an Internet-turned-real-life famous singer Dallas, who had a promising career ahead of him. In the aftermath of a tragic car accident that results in Dallas’ death, Genevive struggles with memory loss and the overwhelming brutality of social media while she recovers, but when her memory returns, she realizes that things are not what she thought. I appreciate that Stokes chose such powerful, thought-provoking, and relevant topics to focus on. This book hit me like a brick and left me fumbling-for-words speechless, and I’ve never appreciated it so much. On a side note, I really enjoyed Stokes’ portrayal of Rachel as a stepmother and Genevive’s struggle to connect with her. As much as I enjoy evil-stepfamily tropes, I also enjoy the good ones, where the step(family member) is loving and supportive and genuine, and that is the role that Rachel plays. Also note: For those who enjoyed GATU, TIHIH is quite different. While both novels feature female MCs dealing with both personal and family issues, the consequences of being famous (or famous by association), they’re still very different and enjoyable, and I highly reading recommend both books if you get the chance!Rating: 4.5/5
    more
  • Lis (The reader lines)
    June 27, 2017
    Wow! this book was really hard to rate, because I LOVED the message of this book and I love Paula's writing, but I did not like the ending or the main character. This book is good. It's really, really good, that's why even though I didn't like that, I still think it deserves a high rating. My disconfort comes from a very personal place, not the book's fault.
    more
  • Sara (sarabara081)
    June 17, 2017
    Review to come!
  • Crystal (Bookiemoji)
    June 9, 2017
    My undying love for Paula Stokes and her words are not a secret, but she has out done herself this time. Not only is this book just amazingly good it has such an important message especially in this day and age. I urge everyone to pre-order this, read it, love it, pass it on to a friend <3
    more
  • Sylvie Bower
    July 28, 2016
    Honestly I'll read anything that Paula Stokes writes
  • Kari
    June 26, 2017
    Genevieve Grace wakes up in the hospital with no recollection of how she got there, and she keeps asking where her boyfriend is. Soon, she finds out that she was in an accident, she had been in a coma, and her boyfriend, Dallas, didn't make it. Genevieve suffered a life threatening brain injury, so she doesn't remember the accident at all. Brad Freeman, the other man in the accident, had been drinking and driving, so it was obviously his fault right?We follow Genevieve in this story as she tries Genevieve Grace wakes up in the hospital with no recollection of how she got there, and she keeps asking where her boyfriend is. Soon, she finds out that she was in an accident, she had been in a coma, and her boyfriend, Dallas, didn't make it. Genevieve suffered a life threatening brain injury, so she doesn't remember the accident at all. Brad Freeman, the other man in the accident, had been drinking and driving, so it was obviously his fault right?We follow Genevieve in this story as she tries to cope with the accident, the loss of her boyfriend, and her regaining her memories of the accident. She decides to get a much needed break from her surroundings, and she moves from St Louis to her dad's in Utah. While she is volunteering at Zion National Park, she starts to regain her memory and starts to wonder if the accident may have been her fault. The characters were great, the setting was great, the plot was great. I honestly could not give this book as many stars as it deserves because goodreads allows only 5. ALL THE STARS. The family dynamic is fantastic as well. Most of the time, family is a forgotten aspect in YA books, but I love how important family is to multiple characters in this book. This book has such important messages behind it. Some I will not touch on because spoilers, but it really hits home about telling the truth and internet shaming. We all know how easy it is to get involved with news stories online, and we quickly pass judgment. Odds are, the whole story is not being given from whatever news outlet we hear it from, and also, the things that are said can have awful repercussions on others. These are such important things, and Paula Stokes did a fantastic job portraying it realistically and showing the ramifications of these actions.Please read this. It is so good. Paula Stokes was already an "auto buy" author for me, and she is one of my favorites, but now I love her writing even more.
    more
  • Salla (booksonal)
    June 30, 2017
    *ARC kindly provided by the publisher, Harper Collins, in exchange for an honest review!*>full review at: http://booksonal.blogspot.fi/2017/07/...Stars: ✦✦✦✦✧So as usual, I'll tell 4 things I liked about the book and 1 thing I didn't like.So what did I think?+1 | First of all I want to say how important the message of the book is,and I really liked how the world we live in was portrayed in regards to the internet and the slew of problems it brings.+1 | The characters I really liked and it was *ARC kindly provided by the publisher, Harper Collins, in exchange for an honest review!*>full review at: http://booksonal.blogspot.fi/2017/07/...Stars: ✦✦✦✦✧So as usual, I'll tell 4 things I liked about the book and 1 thing I didn't like.So what did I think?+1 | First of all I want to say how important the message of the book is,and I really liked how the world we live in was portrayed in regards to the internet and the slew of problems it brings.+1 | The characters I really liked and it was interesting how all their layers were brought out bit by bit+1 | The writing style and the pace was so well done and fully thought out+1 | The story and premise itself was really different which I found to be a good change.Also like I stated in the previous point it was so well thought of that the story arc was clear even though they brought parts from the past alongside the main storyline-1 | I felt like the relationship that was brought in at the end wasn't needed,and also the last twist wasn't how I hoped it would go, but at the same time I didn't hate it if that makes any sense!!! If anyone else has an ARC of this book, go to the authors goodreads to check if you have a page that is missing from the early versions !!!Read on lovelies,S
    more
  • D. George
    June 9, 2017
    I received an ARC on Independent Bookstore Day, and was surprised to see that the main event of the book takes place on my home turf of Lake Saint Louis. That used to happen when I lived in Napa, but nobody sets novels in the western exurbs of St. Louis, so I appreciated that even if it was modified for the book. The story is realistic. The plot contains important issues. The national park setting and work are both lovely aspects. The references to a physically competitive TV program are well-su I received an ARC on Independent Bookstore Day, and was surprised to see that the main event of the book takes place on my home turf of Lake Saint Louis. That used to happen when I lived in Napa, but nobody sets novels in the western exurbs of St. Louis, so I appreciated that even if it was modified for the book. The story is realistic. The plot contains important issues. The national park setting and work are both lovely aspects. The references to a physically competitive TV program are well-suited. The love interest is endearing. The inescapable reach of the internet is represented with accuracy. The story is engrossing. In spite of the lengthy list of positive attributes, this novel also has shortcomings. The pacing is uneven and the timeline is unnecessarily stretched. The police investigation is downplayed. The parents and best friend are one-dimensional. The dialogue often sounds idealistic or otherwise false. Overall, I liked this book but I didn't love it. It's memorable and interesting enough to recommend it to my students and find out what they think of it.
    more
  • Sarah
    June 10, 2017
    I received this as an eARC through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. Genevieve's superstar singer boyfriend, Dallas was killed in a car accident where she was driving. She can't remember what lead up to the accident, but the internet has begun attacking the other driver for drunk driving. As she begins to heal, she begins remembering more about that night and what actually happened. This novel was solidly interesting. I was really feeling the sections that took place in Utah, as oppose I received this as an eARC through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. Genevieve's superstar singer boyfriend, Dallas was killed in a car accident where she was driving. She can't remember what lead up to the accident, but the internet has begun attacking the other driver for drunk driving. As she begins to heal, she begins remembering more about that night and what actually happened. This novel was solidly interesting. I was really feeling the sections that took place in Utah, as opposed to St. Louis. I found the characters, setting, and plot to be more interesting and developed there. The novel did become overtly preachy at times and the news story comments didn't mesh well with the overall story, perhaps it could have been addressed better with multiple perspectives. I really liked how this book presented sports and activities (hiking, and American Ninja Warrior) that are not typically covered in other novels. It added a unique layer to the story.
    more
  • Julie
    May 19, 2017
    This author has become an auto read author for me. This story dealt with the internet and rumors. Gen is at a point with Dallas. Things happen, and her life changes. She runs away to Utah to stay with her dad. I will say that the way mormons are portrayed is very respectful , and I appreciated it very much. I found that this book dealt with loss, family, and internet bulling. I finished last night and still thinking over it. I also now want to travel to state parks. I enjoyed seeing parents work This author has become an auto read author for me. This story dealt with the internet and rumors. Gen is at a point with Dallas. Things happen, and her life changes. She runs away to Utah to stay with her dad. I will say that the way mormons are portrayed is very respectful , and I appreciated it very much. I found that this book dealt with loss, family, and internet bulling. I finished last night and still thinking over it. I also now want to travel to state parks. I enjoyed seeing parents working together who no longer married. Gen had great friends . There was a slight romance. Seriously loved this book.
    more
  • Gabriella
    May 20, 2017
    Paula never lets me down. Review to come.
  • Aria
    May 17, 2017
    I think it is a very interesting book to read and I have learned a lot of lessons from this book.
  • Jessica
    June 29, 2017
    Heartbreakingly lovely. I adore everything Paula writes.Full RTC after I think about it. Thank you to the author for sending me the ARC!
  • Lucy (That Book Gal)
    May 17, 2017
    review to come
  • Becky
    June 13, 2017
    For a more in-depth review watch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNX2J...I received an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. Genevieve Grace doesn't remember the car accident that killed her Youtube star boyfriend, Kade. All she knows is that she was driving and everyone is blaming the other driver. But then Genevieve begins to remember what really happened that night and that she may actually be to blame. Can she find the strength to stand up to public opinion to protect an innoc For a more in-depth review watch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNX2J...I received an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. Genevieve Grace doesn't remember the car accident that killed her Youtube star boyfriend, Kade. All she knows is that she was driving and everyone is blaming the other driver. But then Genevieve begins to remember what really happened that night and that she may actually be to blame. Can she find the strength to stand up to public opinion to protect an innocent man?I was slightly disappointed in this book. I love Stokes' "Girl Against the Universe" and I felt "This is How it Happened just didn't live up to it. There were aspect that I really appreciated especially her take on cyber bullying. However, the story quickly began to feel over dramatic and like an episode of After School Special. I did genuinely enjoy the parts about Genevieve volunteering at a national park but those parts were quickly dwarfed by the melodrama of the public outcry about Kade's death.
    more
Write a review