Someone Else's Summer
Anna's always idolized her older sister, Storm. So when Storm dies in a tragic car accident on the night of her high school graduation, Anna is completely lost and her family is torn apart. That is, until she finds Storm's summer bucket list and decides to honor her sister by having the best summer ever—which includes taking an epic road trip to the coast from her sleepy Iowa town. Setting out to do everything on Storm's list along with her sisters best friend Cameron—the boy next door—who knew that Storm's dream summer would eventually lead to Anna's own self-discovery?

Someone Else's Summer Details

TitleSomeone Else's Summer
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 9th, 2017
PublisherRunning Press Kids
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult, Romance

Someone Else's Summer Review

  • Beatrice Masaluñga
    May 19, 2017
    I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.Someone Else's Summer is a coming-of-age story about a girl named Anna whose older sister died in a car accident on her graduation night. Storm is a cancer survivor and she looks up to her for being brave. When she found Storm's bucket list and goes on a road trip with Storm's best friend, Cameron. In honor of her sister's memory, she'll fulfill the things listed on Storm's bucket list. To be honest, it's quite an up and down for me. The story i I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.Someone Else's Summer is a coming-of-age story about a girl named Anna whose older sister died in a car accident on her graduation night. Storm is a cancer survivor and she looks up to her for being brave. When she found Storm's bucket list and goes on a road trip with Storm's best friend, Cameron. In honor of her sister's memory, she'll fulfill the things listed on Storm's bucket list. To be honest, it's quite an up and down for me. The story is cliche and some parts are a bit boring. Anna is a good protagonist but I couldn't connect with her and as for the male protagonist, Cameron is somewhat bland. They may have cute moments together but not enough to give me butterflies. When it comes to road trip stories, I want to feel as if I'm travelling with them as well and this book failed to make me feel it.
    more
  • Karen
    March 2, 2017
    SOMEONE ELSE'S SUMMER BY RACHEL BATEMANOn the night of Storm's graduation from high school she insists on driving herself home and is killed in a one car accident. Storm's younger sister Anna and her parent's get that dreaded phone call and their life changes forever. After the funeral and some time passes Anna's parents tell Anna that it is time to sell Storm's car. This upsets Anna and she tells her parent's that she would like to keep it. Then her mother announces that she doesn't want Anna d SOMEONE ELSE'S SUMMER BY RACHEL BATEMANOn the night of Storm's graduation from high school she insists on driving herself home and is killed in a one car accident. Storm's younger sister Anna and her parent's get that dreaded phone call and their life changes forever. After the funeral and some time passes Anna's parents tell Anna that it is time to sell Storm's car. This upsets Anna and she tells her parent's that she would like to keep it. Then her mother announces that she doesn't want Anna driving because she is afraid the same thing could happen to Anna. Anna and her sister where very close growing up together with 'their next door neighbor Cameron. Before Anna entered high school and joined the cheerleading squad it was always the three of them hanging around together. As Anna enters high school she makes her own way and Storm and Cameron are still best friends. Anna passes Storm's room one day and decides to go into Storm's room where she finds Storm's journal with a Summer bucket list. Anna begins to feel better and this helps her heal. She decides to do all of the things Storm wrote down on her list. One night she takes the journal outside and climbs their old treehouse with the journal and Cameron happens to climb the treehouse and they decide to do everything on the list together.Anna tells her father about the list and explains that she won't be able to do most of the things on the list if she can't drive. Her father allows Anna to do the list and agrees that she can drive but he tells Anna not to tell her mother. The Pastor is visiting Anna's parent's and after he leaves her parents tell Anna that they are going away for a few weeks for a retreat. The retreat is designed to have workshops and groups for grieving parents. Anna's Aunt Morgan moves into Anna's house while her parents are away. Aunt Morgan has always been the go to person whenever Anna has had a problem. Anna explains to her Aunt Morgan the situation and her Aunt allows Anna to go on a road trip with Cameron to complete the list.This was probably the best Young Adult book I have ever read. It is not depressing it is inspirational. The writing was lovely and flowed seamlessly. It is all dialogue which I enjoyed rather than books I have read that alternate chapter's with the various character's points of view. It was refreshing that this author didn't use that all too common writing device. I really loved the character's in this book. I think the author is talented to write a book that handles the subject matter of Anna's sister's death, but writes it in a warm and gentle way. I loved watching Anna grow and evolve in this story. Anna does the bucket list to honor her sister, but grows as a person by living the best life she can for her and her sister.Thank you to Net Galley, Rachel Bateman and Running Press Publishing for providing me with my digital copy for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Hedi [ The Dutch Reader ]
    November 4, 2016
    Blogreview: http://hedisbookworld.blogspot.nl/201...*A copy was given to me by Netgally for a honest review*"#15 Be brave with my life"This was everything and more. A heartbreaking and warming story about a girl who loses her best friend, her other half.. her sister. Anna lost her sister right after gratuation and her life just stood still. She doesnt know were to begin, everything was going well.. her sister was healthy again and now this a simple car accident took her from everything. In the s Blogreview: http://hedisbookworld.blogspot.nl/201...*A copy was given to me by Netgally for a honest review*"#15 Be brave with my life"This was everything and more. A heartbreaking and warming story about a girl who loses her best friend, her other half.. her sister. Anna lost her sister right after gratuation and her life just stood still. She doesnt know were to begin, everything was going well.. her sister was healthy again and now this a simple car accident took her from everything. In the summer Anna finds a bucketlist in Storm's room with 15 things she wanted to do that summer before she went to collage. Togheter with Storm's best friend and Anna's childhoodfriend Camaron she sets out to compleed that list for her. The list contains stuff like "Get a tattoo", "kiss in the rain" or "climb a lighthouse" or "go on a roadtrip",... Its was amazing how you felt the grieve both Anna and Camaron felt after Storm passed. Everything they did was with a purpose, they wanted to keep her close. I loved how beautifully Rachel stold the story of Anna and her way to get over the lose of her sister, but also becoming her own person. I couldn't get enough of the relationship between Camaron and Anna, also her Aunt Morgan and her best friend Piper. There wasn't a character I didn't like to be honest. It was just so well written, you could see every different point of view were every character was coming from. The book was just easy to read, you just flew through the pages. It brought me sadness, happiness and romantique. Its was just everything you wanted from a story. It didn't repeat itself, it stayed new and refreshing everytime you turned the page. Everytime you went from a chapter you got something you didn't knew was going to happen. Also the ending blew me away, i never saw it coming and it broke my heart al over again. Basically this is the summer book you want to read, this is the summer you want to enjoy with your friend (minus losing someone important to you). This book is everything and more, it would be a wast to not read it!"I can live my life, I think. Even without her, I can live my life. She'll be with me forever, the one I want to tell my life to first, the one who will shape my future without a word."
    more
  • Holly
    March 4, 2017
    The cover is what drew me in. It's very nostalgic:) This was a sweet contemporary coming of age story. After Anna's sister dies, she finds a notebook of what Storm's perfect summer would have been. So Anna decides to live this out for her with the help of Storm's best friend, Cameron. I loved the premise but I never felt a connection with the story. I liked Anna well enough but even though Cameron was also in the main story, I felt I didn't get to know him. He seemed like a good guy, too. As far The cover is what drew me in. It's very nostalgic:) This was a sweet contemporary coming of age story. After Anna's sister dies, she finds a notebook of what Storm's perfect summer would have been. So Anna decides to live this out for her with the help of Storm's best friend, Cameron. I loved the premise but I never felt a connection with the story. I liked Anna well enough but even though Cameron was also in the main story, I felt I didn't get to know him. He seemed like a good guy, too. As far as Anna goes, she had a lot of grief to come to terms with. She could be angry, sad, selfish, but I still liked her. Although, if I was her I would dump Piper as a best friend! A good summer contemporary novel that deals with death and the coming of age through it all.**Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Esther
    March 18, 2017
    Got a copy of this book via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.This book gave me a summer-feeling, and I even forgot the hars subject of a sister dying at some points. It was a nice read. Not the greatest ever, but I enjoyed reading it.This review was first posted on BiteIntoBooks BlogProsSummerfeeling: The book gave me a real summerfeeling. The title of the book totally fits it and I love the scenery where the story takes part. At some points I could even smell the sea and it made me l Got a copy of this book via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.This book gave me a summer-feeling, and I even forgot the hars subject of a sister dying at some points. It was a nice read. Not the greatest ever, but I enjoyed reading it.This review was first posted on BiteIntoBooks BlogProsSummerfeeling: The book gave me a real summerfeeling. The title of the book totally fits it and I love the scenery where the story takes part. At some points I could even smell the sea and it made me long for summer! I was reading this book inside while rain was poring down outside...Light read: It's a real light read, this book. At some point I had to read 20% to end the book and that went rather fast. I finished the book within the hour. My kindle knows my reading speed and overall it took me around 4 hours to finish the book.Nicely written: This book is nicely written, that's also why it feels like a light read. You rush through the pages and totally get into the story because of the writing style. I never had to re-read a sentence because I didn't get it or because I didn't understand that one word.ConsMoodswings: Anna is coping with serious mood swings. At some points in the book she is mad with Cameron and then a page later she is totally happy and laughing with him. I felt that if she was really mad, they would speak about the issue more or she would take her time off to think. Because she forgot about being angry so fast, it felt more like moodswings to me.No shocking plot: I don't know if the plot was meant to be shocking or a surprise, but I knew before the revelation in the book. It didn't feel shocking to me at all, but it has a big impact on Anna. The way she deals with it was a more interesting part for me.It's all too easy: This book needed to feel light and summery and that's why everything is so easy, I guess. Two teenagers leaving for a road trip, paying for all those expensive things. Everybody on the way being nice to them, not one bit of bad luck along the way. I think the book couldn't be this light read if it wasn't all that easy, but sometimes it gnawed at me. So at the one side it's a good thing, but sometimes I felt my mind wandering off and thinking how easy it all went.It's a compliment to Rachel Bateman that a book with such a harsh subject can turn into a light summer read. I really think this book would be a great script for a movie with the beautiful scenery. It's not a bad book at all, felt like a quick, light read for me.
    more
  • Gina
    October 26, 2016
    ** 4.5 ADVERTUROUS STARS! ** "I can live my life, I think. Even without her, I can live my life. She'll be with me forever, the one I want to tell my life to first, the one who will shape my future without a word." ***(This book was given to me to read through Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review!)I reaaaally loved this book. It's become obvious now that I love books with adventure in them.This contained an adventure in the process of bereavement.It's about Anna who has lost her sister ** 4.5 ADVERTUROUS STARS! ** "I can live my life, I think. Even without her, I can live my life. She'll be with me forever, the one I want to tell my life to first, the one who will shape my future without a word." ***(This book was given to me to read through Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review!)I reaaaally loved this book. It's become obvious now that I love books with adventure in them.This contained an adventure in the process of bereavement.It's about Anna who has lost her sister in a car accident right after the latter's graduation. When Anna finds her sister's journal and sees a list with adventures she'd wanted to do that Summer, Anna decides to do the list for her. This she does with long time childhood friend Cameron.The list contains stuff like "Get a tattoo", "kiss in the rain" or "climb a lighthouse" or "go on a roadtrip",... I think the list has been fulfilled in a beautiful way, I really felt Anna's grief throughout this book but I also felt her determination and bravery which is great. I loved her as a character just as I loved Cameron and her Aunt Morgan. Actually if I'm quite honest, I liked all characters. There isn't a single character that I didn't like.Just as there wasn't a single page I didn't like in this book. It's brought over in such a good way and it's written so smoothly and easy to read. You don't have to think too much with this book. The ending also had an aspect I did NOT see coming so that was greatly appreciated.The relationship between Anna and Cameron was to die for as was her's with Piper and Jovani. Basically this is the kind of summer I'd want myself, WITHOUT the loss of my sister of course. She can stay right here by my side, alive and breathing. I'm not going to say that this was outstanding or extraordinarily original, no it wasn't. But it was good. I would 100% recommend this book if you like contemporary or just adventure. Rachel Bateman's book is coming out May 2017 and I strongly advice you all to put it on your wishlist.(Bc have you seen the cover btw?! It's GORGEOUS.)
    more
  • Hristina
    February 21, 2017
    This was a decent read. It was really captivating from the start, I loved how Mrs. Bateman put the accent on the characters rather than the plot. Anna's character development was an awesome experience, but I have to say that the best part of it all is Mrs. Bateman's ability to put emotion into her work. The text in it's entirety emits emotion and lingers, simply asking for a reread.It's a great coming of age, character development story that deserves a place on the shelves of YA fans.
    more
  • KittyKat
    October 18, 2016
    *This book was received via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*This book was great! The examination of Anna's and Cameron's grief over Storm's death was well done and the ending was quite a shocker. I loved going on Anna's journey to self-discovery, loved the idea of gong on a road trip to finish a bucket list (something I really want to do) and I really enjoyed reading about the adventures Anna and Cameron got into on their road trip. I like the fact that the author added a plot twist a *This book was received via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*This book was great! The examination of Anna's and Cameron's grief over Storm's death was well done and the ending was quite a shocker. I loved going on Anna's journey to self-discovery, loved the idea of gong on a road trip to finish a bucket list (something I really want to do) and I really enjoyed reading about the adventures Anna and Cameron got into on their road trip. I like the fact that the author added a plot twist at the end of the book and for me this really made the book shine, bumping the rating up from an average 3 to a 4 star rating. Anna's massive transformation from the beginning of the book is quite amazing and the scene of the funeral still resonates with me, especially the sadness and grief the author was able to convey. Overall, this was an emotional read about coming to terms with loss and grief and finding new beginnings when your world comes crashing down around you.
    more
  • Madison
    February 17, 2017
    Can you fall in love with a book because of its dedication? Because that's when I first knew I was going to enjoy Someone Else's Summer. I cautioned myself to actually start reading the book before judging it, but, it turns out, I was right. I enjoyed this book of road trips and love finally realised, summer lists, larger-than-life big sisters, shared memories, shared grief, and unanswered questions. Someone Else's Summer was refreshing and fun.Anna's sister was tragically killed in a car accide Can you fall in love with a book because of its dedication? Because that's when I first knew I was going to enjoy Someone Else's Summer. I cautioned myself to actually start reading the book before judging it, but, it turns out, I was right. I enjoyed this book of road trips and love finally realised, summer lists, larger-than-life big sisters, shared memories, shared grief, and unanswered questions. Someone Else's Summer was refreshing and fun.Anna's sister was tragically killed in a car accident just after her high school graduation. Anna and her family are devastated. So when Anna finds one last summer list that her sister left behind, she knows she must complete it. She recruits her sister's best-friend, boy-next-door, Cameron, and together they set off for a summer of skinny dipping, tattoos, Polaroid photos, and kisses.I have to say I loved the romance in this story. Anna and Cameron know each other. They have too many shared childhood memories not to. But they drifted apart over the past few years, just like Anna drifted from being her sister's little shadow. They reconnect through their shared grief and their time on the road trip. Their relationship starts with a familiarity and comfort that comes from being a perfect fit. So it only makes perfect sense when their relationship turns romantic. And boy, does their chemistry leap off the page. Their kisses were literally heart-pounding. The start was a little slow, as Anna reminisces about previous summers and time spent with her sister. But it's these memories that lend credence to her grief. It makes the story believable. They are flawed characters, not likeable all the time. She and Cameron get angry at each other, Anna isn't the best friend to her best friend, but that only makes them more realistic. And who doesn't love a good road trip novel? This one ticks all the right boxes - great scenery, a quest to complete, romance, quirky characters along the way, a few dodgy motels.... But it is the story of death and grief which underlies this story that makes it so much more than a light romance. The publishers provided an advanced readers copy of this book for reviewing purposes. All opinions are my own.Find more reviews, reading age guides, content advisory, and recommendations on my blog Madison's Library.
    more
  • Ashley
    October 26, 2016
    The idea behind this book is great. What's not to love about a redemptive find-yourself-in-your-dead-sister's-diary-romantic-summer-road-trip story? For the first time since she's been gone, I think maybe I can do this. I can figure out how to live my life. I liked a lot about this book. I liked the theme of finding yourself and who you are, of how to go on with your life while you're grieving. The road-trip was sweet, as was the romance that (unsurprisingly) develops between Anna and Cameron on The idea behind this book is great. What's not to love about a redemptive find-yourself-in-your-dead-sister's-diary-romantic-summer-road-trip story? For the first time since she's been gone, I think maybe I can do this. I can figure out how to live my life. I liked a lot about this book. I liked the theme of finding yourself and who you are, of how to go on with your life while you're grieving. The road-trip was sweet, as was the romance that (unsurprisingly) develops between Anna and Cameron on their journey. Anna is a compelling character. She isn't a mean girl, she has close female friends, and real, conflicting feelings in her heart that she has to wrestle with. There isn't really any slut-shaming, and there isn't any concern about who's a "bad" or a "good" girl. That's really refreshing to read.Unfortunately, there's a lot more with this book that made it hard for me to care too much. This book is all about Anna and her journey, so everything else kind of falls flat. Cameron doesn't have much of a personality or a story beyond what he is to the sisters. Anna's friendship with Piper is a bit of a disaster - they mostly talk about boys and what they're wearing, Piper is often unsympathetic to her loss, and she drags Anna to awful parties she really doesn't want to go to. But yet we're also told she's a good friend (we just never see it). Of course people can get in fights and say terrible things to each other and still remain friends - I just would have liked to see a more well-rounded friendship where they actually have real conversations (there is sort of one at the end, but it comes a little late, imo). Also, Anna's parents conveniently leave so she can go on this journey, she has an Aunt who can easily help her coordinate this trip, she doesn't have to worry about money at all. It's so simple and conflict-free.In the end, I think the larger issue with me is that, because Storm dies "off stage," to to speak, I had to create the emotional resonance myself. The writing doesn't quite get there, Storm is just this sort of vague figure in the background. Even though this loss is the driving force of the entire novel, we're just told about the relationship the two sisters had. We're told how much they loved each other, the distance that had come between them, a few sketches of their childhood. We never see it in any flashbacks or anything, and so the reader has to do the majority of the work. There are a lot of great bones to the book, I think. The ending is sweet and hopeful. Despite its heavy material, it's a pretty light read. It's a hard task to write about grief in a way that doesn't feel melodramatic, and I think Rachel Bateman does that well.*I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Jessthebookslover
    November 25, 2016
    Review of Someone Else's Summer by Rachel Bateman, @rachelbatemanbooks on IG.Rating: 5/5 stars. I was sent this copy via Netgalley to review.I have no words to describe how I'm feeling right now. As I am writing this, it is half past one in the morning and I am crying so much. I mean, I've cried every single page of this book, and that's crazy. I've never cried this much! Maybe it's because I kinda feel close to the situation described here (that I will tell you in a minute), or maybe just becau Review of Someone Else's Summer by Rachel Bateman, @rachelbatemanbooks on IG.Rating: 5/5 stars. I was sent this copy via Netgalley to review.I have no words to describe how I'm feeling right now. As I am writing this, it is half past one in the morning and I am crying so much. I mean, I've cried every single page of this book, and that's crazy. I've never cried this much! Maybe it's because I kinda feel close to the situation described here (that I will tell you in a minute), or maybe just because the writing was so amazing and perfect that it almost felt real, so in this case I actually don't have to describe in details the characters. I was living Anna and Cameron's sorrow. I felt everything. And I'm saying this because I started crying at page 2, otherwise I wouldn't have said it. ··So here the plot: #15 Be brave with my life. Anna's always idolized her older sister, Storm. When Stor dies in a tragic car accident on the night of her high school graduation, Anna is completely lost. That is, until she finds Storm's summer bucket list and decides to honor her sister by having the best summer ever - which includes taking an epic road trip. Setting out to do everything on her sister's list along with Storm's best friend Cameron - the boy next door - who knew that Storm's dream summer, and devastating secret, wpuld eventually lead to Anna's own self-discovery? ··This book was epic. It is epic and it's going to be epic. Releases in May 2017 and please guys, if you can, you have to check this one out. It makes you think so much, and if you're experiencing a similar situation as Anna is, then it will help you twice. I don't know what happen this year with all these amazing books, but this is at #1 on my contemporary list, along with Anna and the French Kiss. Maybe it is the name. My auntie's name was Anna and she was awesome. Love her with all of my heart.·So yeah. I don't really have much else to add. This was spectacular, and when a book is this spectacular, it leaves you speechless, as I am now. If I'll have something to add, be sure to check my future posts on Instagram. I will definitely write something there. Oh and... I feel like a new book slump is coming over me. Holy c***.
    more
  • Hajy
    January 5, 2017
    *I was provided with a copy of this novel by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*A coming-of-age summer read about grief, love, and adventure."Someone Else's Summer" by Rachel Bateman is a quick read about a young girl named Anna whose older sister Storm has died in a tragic car crash. To honor her sister, she sets out to complete Storm's bucket list with Storm's best friend Cameron, who also happens to be the boy next door.The thing I liked most about this book is the writing. It's not e *I was provided with a copy of this novel by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*A coming-of-age summer read about grief, love, and adventure."Someone Else's Summer" by Rachel Bateman is a quick read about a young girl named Anna whose older sister Storm has died in a tragic car crash. To honor her sister, she sets out to complete Storm's bucket list with Storm's best friend Cameron, who also happens to be the boy next door.The thing I liked most about this book is the writing. It's not extremely beautiful or poetic, but it was descriptive and drew me into the story. There wasn't much description about the way the main character, Anna, looked until about 60% through. The entire time I thought she had black hair, like her sister, until her blonde hair and brown eyes were described. It's kind of a personal pet peeve not knowing what characters in a story look like, but it was something that bothered me a little. I enjoyed reading about the different adventures they went on throughout their trip and the people they'd meet. The story wasn't exciting 100% of the time, but the more adrenaline-pumping activities were more stimulating. I wasn't too fond of the character of Cameron. The smallest details can change how you view a character, but there were only a few reasons that I could point out for why I disliked him. The most I could say was that some of his actions/dialogue were a little off-putting. The character of Anna was slightly better, but I found her to be selfish at times, and, once in a while, annoying. Her actions after Storm's death were also off-putting, but I've never experienced a death in my family like that, so I don't know how I would react. Overall, she was okay. The other characters in the story were written well, but I found Piper to be a bit of a stereotype, which was kind of boring. In conclusion, this is a fun summer read many teens would enjoy. Maybe it will inspire you to create a summer bucket list of your own!-Hajy
    more
  • Λίνα Θωμάρεη
    May 16, 2017
    Anna's world collapsed when her big sister dies in a tragic car accident. Although the years on High School, Anna and her sister were not so close as were when they were little Anna found her self to remember all the memories of their childhood in order to feel her close again. After some weeks of Storm's funeral Anna found a list that her sister made for the summer before college. A list that she never completed. So Anna decide to complete this list for her sister's sake and asked for Cameron ( Anna's world collapsed when her big sister dies in a tragic car accident. Although the years on High School, Anna and her sister were not so close as were when they were little Anna found her self to remember all the memories of their childhood in order to feel her close again. After some weeks of Storm's funeral Anna found a list that her sister made for the summer before college. A list that she never completed. So Anna decide to complete this list for her sister's sake and asked for Cameron (her sister's best friend) to help her.The writing was really good as good as the story flows. But it was too convinient.... I thought it was too easy for them to complete the list and it was a little "poor" in emotions.But I enjoyed a lot to read this story although it spoke for sad things.#15 Be brave with my life !!!3,5 Stars....
    more
  • The Bookavid
    November 12, 2016
    More Reviews on my Book Blog The BookavidIn SOMEONE ELSE'S SUMMER, Anna finds her late sister Storm's bucket list and decides to go on a roadtrip to check off all the things Storm didn't get to. What intrigued me: I totally didn't read the blurb and went off the gorgeous cover. Fantastic Characters SOMEONE ELSE'S SUMMER is an unexpected gut-punch. I immediately grew very attached to the characters, from protagonist Anna to her ex-boyfriend Jovani to her neighbor Cameron - I loved them all! This More Reviews on my Book Blog The BookavidIn SOMEONE ELSE'S SUMMER, Anna finds her late sister Storm's bucket list and decides to go on a roadtrip to check off all the things Storm didn't get to. What intrigued me: I totally didn't read the blurb and went off the gorgeous cover. Fantastic Characters SOMEONE ELSE'S SUMMER is an unexpected gut-punch. I immediately grew very attached to the characters, from protagonist Anna to her ex-boyfriend Jovani to her neighbor Cameron - I loved them all! This is very much a character-driven story that takes its time to get to the actual premise and get the plot started, so it's always fantastic to connect with the characters. Bateman excells at conveying the emotions of her characters and portraying their grief and sorrow over Storm's passing realistically and beautifully. It truly feels like Bateman took her time creating realistic and fleshed-out characters with intricate and sometimes complicated relationships to each other. Quite unoriginal and following tropes However, there just isn't that much to this story after all. This is your typical bucket list / road trip story with absolutely no spin to the topic, no originality, and nothing memorable about it aside from the nice characters. Every twist and turn the plot takes is extremely predictable if you've read a handful of novels with similar themes. As soon as everything is settled introduction-wise the story just starts to become really dull and boring. Anna and her sidekick Cameron embark on a journey to tick off all the bullet points on the list and that's it. You have to be a fan of those types of novels to enjoy this and specifically enjoy bucket list narratives. Because this personally isn't really my thing, I found the narration and plot to end up feeling very stoic and boring. SOMEONE ELSE'S SUMMER really has its peak within the first 80 pages, which are just brilliant, but then simply recedes to boring bucket-list-novel tropes. Rating:★★★☆☆ Overall: Do I Recommend? I really enjoyed the first third of SOMEONE ELSE'S SUMMER but quickly grew uninterested when I realized that this is quite unoriginal with little to no variation to other novels that feature bucket list storylines. If you enjoy these types of contemporaries, SOMEONE ELSE'S SUMMER surely is among the better of these books, if you don't and like me enjoy variation, original plot, and surprises, you might want to skip this one.live on the blog on 9th may 2017
    more
  • Beatrice Rivers
    November 22, 2016
    *I received a copy of this book from Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review*What can I say? I was hooked. This book was one of the few that touched my heart and, through all the drama between Storms death and Anna’s family coping with it, I wanted for Anna and Cameron to find a way to say goodbye properly – they did just that. I love the bucket list idea. 15: Be brave with my life. This was an inspirational book in some ways, not that I’m saying that running off with the boy next door and g *I received a copy of this book from Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review*What can I say? I was hooked. This book was one of the few that touched my heart and, through all the drama between Storms death and Anna’s family coping with it, I wanted for Anna and Cameron to find a way to say goodbye properly – they did just that. I love the bucket list idea. 15: Be brave with my life. This was an inspirational book in some ways, not that I’m saying that running off with the boy next door and getting a tattoo is inspirational, but number 15 on the bucket list certainly is. I loved the character of Cameron. He just seemed so kind and was the kind of boy that you want in your life, which is why I thought that it was only the fact that Anna liked him that made them argue all the time. I also really want to go parasailing now!Although I want to be brave with my life, I also want another thing off of the list to happen to me.7: Kiss in the rain.
    more
  • Cate Biblio
    November 5, 2016
    ARC received via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review I really liked reading this book. It was a quick and easy read. Unfortunately, I did have some problems with it but overall it was a good read. It was a little bit sad learning about Anna. All her life, she had looked up to her strong older sister and followed in her footsteps. Now, without Storm, Anna was lost. When she found the list, she was adamant she had to finish it for her sister. She was hoping she'd be able to continue follow ARC received via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review I really liked reading this book. It was a quick and easy read. Unfortunately, I did have some problems with it but overall it was a good read. It was a little bit sad learning about Anna. All her life, she had looked up to her strong older sister and followed in her footsteps. Now, without Storm, Anna was lost. When she found the list, she was adamant she had to finish it for her sister. She was hoping she'd be able to continue following her sister. The book was mainly about self-discovery. It was about Anna finding how to live without someone to guide her. It was about her making her own decisions and creating a new path for herself instead of following the one her sister went down. It was also kind of sad that the two sisters had grown apart. Reaching high school, the both kind of went their own ways. It was upsetting that they didn't have such a strong bound any more. Also, a couple of times, Anna was finding out new things about her sister. It was sad she didn't know those things. She used to know everything about Storm. Cameron was the boy next door and Storm's best friend. Anna used to play with the two when they were younger also but, like with her sister, they grew apart. It was nice to see the two coming together to finish this list in remembrance of Storm. They bonded once again through their grief. It was nice that Cameron was helping Anna. The only thing that bothered me- which at first I thought would get better but didn't- was that we didn't really get to know Cameron. I really wanted to get to know him. You can't follow and love a romance between two characters if you don't know one of them. It's like falling in love with a stranger. I didn't know who exactly Anna was falling in love with or why she was falling in love with him. Just because I didn't know him. I think- and not to spoil anything- but it went all too quickly from friendship to something more. There wasn't really a slow development phase, it was all just BAM, LOVE! ACCEPT IT!I didn't really know what to think of Piper. Throughout the whole book, I didn't really like her. We did find out a little more about her near the end of the book and see another side to her but all in all, she just wasn't that great. But, we didn't get to see that much of her. Unlike Cameron, we could judge on what we say and what we saw wasn't that great. Jovani, Anna's ex-boyfriend, was a character I actually liked. When he was introduced, there was actually no introduction, just a name. But, soon we learned who he was. He was kind and loved Anna. He was a good, solid character. He gave her good advice and pushed her to fix things when she wanted to run from them. Her aunt Morgan. She was probably the best character. She was one of those cool aunts. She let Anna do what she had to do and gave Anna her freedom but also made her check in everyday, helped out when they needed it and offered advice. She was a nice character. Lastly, her parents. There's no really much to say about them. They disappear pretty quickly in the story, taking a couples grief holiday so we don't really learn much. I couldn't really form any opinions on them but the fact I need to point out is: they left their only other child who was also grieving to take a holiday to help with their grievance. But, what about Anna? Was she just supposed to get over it? She'd lost as much as they had. As for the plot, it was pretty basic. They took a road trip to one destination, make some pit-stops then continued. There was nothing that really complicated the story up until the end. The end: GUYS. There's a twist. I'm just warning you. I didn't really see it coming. Beware. All in all, I really enjoyed this story and I would recommend it to anyone who like a good road trip romance. Despite it being about Anna grieving, it was quite light and nowhere near sob-worthy.
    more
  • Gabby
    December 23, 2016
    I really, really enjoyed and liked this book. What I mainly liked about it was the realism. To me, in most books that usually deal with losing a loved one (like a sibling), all it takes is falling in love for them to magically forget their grief. Their grief only comes out here and there, like a "oh, yeah, that should also happen," but this story doesn't do that. The death of Anna's sister Storm compels her to go on this journey in figuring out her sister, herself, and trying to sort through the I really, really enjoyed and liked this book. What I mainly liked about it was the realism. To me, in most books that usually deal with losing a loved one (like a sibling), all it takes is falling in love for them to magically forget their grief. Their grief only comes out here and there, like a "oh, yeah, that should also happen," but this story doesn't do that. The death of Anna's sister Storm compels her to go on this journey in figuring out her sister, herself, and trying to sort through the grief and to learn if she'll ever be able t0 - or even want to - move on and live her life as fully as her sister once did. Anna's grief follows her everywhere and within everything she does. This doesn't make the book depressing though, it's not all constant tears and dark thoughts, rather I think that we see Anna grieve in a good way. It's a more on-point representation than I've read in the past, like I've previously said. She doesn't fall in love and magically forget about her sisters death, and I really liked that.But I did find some issues with it. This book was so cute and adorable and I did really like Cameron, but sometimes he felt a bit too plain. His character wasn't really developed, and we didn't really know much about him other than he lived next door and was Storms best friend. This book had lots of potential to develop other interesting dynamics, but it just fell short. For example, with Anna - she sometimes felt like the 3rd wheel to Storm and Cameron, and that's why she did the stuff she wanted to do (even though really, she didn't want to) but this was only said, not really built upon. If it was, we could've connected more to her character, and to Storm's, if we were able to feel the pain/regret at how separated they had become. Also, sometimes things felt too perfect: want to crash a wedding?? Well guess what? The hotel your staying at is hosting a wedding, yeah, no freaking way! So yeah, sometimes it felt a bit too clean and polished, with how perfectly things lined up for them, which took away from it being more realistic, grounded - and dare I say took away the potential for it to be more emotional - because everything was working out okay, really smoothly.But overall, I really loved and enjoyed this book. I liked how it showed the grieving process, and while I had my issues with it (like Piper. I thought I liked her, but no) I still found it really enjoyable and would recommend it. It has a nice romance, but also tells the story of a young girl, who not only lost her sister, but lost her on way in life and is trying desperately to find it.I have some favourite quotes, but I'm going to check them against the published edition when that's released :P thank you Netgalley/the publisher for giving this to me in exchange for an honest review :)
    more
  • Forever Young Adult
    May 31, 2017
    Graded By: RosemaryCover Story: Splish SplashBFF Charm: YaySwoonworthy Scale: 9Talky Talk: Straight Up: Summer EditionBonus Factors: Road Trips, The Boy Next Door, Bucket Lists Relationship Status: Let's Hit the RoadRead the full book report here.
  • Daphnee (daphneereads)
    March 10, 2017
    Thank you Netgalley for an advanced free ebook copy. Someone else's summer by Rachel Bateman was wonderful! It made me fall in love and cry and scream. Anna lost her sister in a car accident and she's learning to cope with life after her death. It includes a road trip and I love road trips books! Great contemporary book!
    more
  • Hannah
    December 2, 2016
    NetGalley review – Released date 9th May 2017Definitely a perfect summer read to pick up! The plot follows Anna who when she was young felt like the third wheel for her sister Storm and best friend Cameron until she drifted away from the life she lived with the pair and made her own life. Then unexpectedly Storm passes away and Anna feels even more lonely then she did before. Feeling like she didn’t know her sister anymore she finds a list in a journal off Storms way to have a perfect summer and NetGalley review – Released date 9th May 2017Definitely a perfect summer read to pick up! The plot follows Anna who when she was young felt like the third wheel for her sister Storm and best friend Cameron until she drifted away from the life she lived with the pair and made her own life. Then unexpectedly Storm passes away and Anna feels even more lonely then she did before. Feeling like she didn’t know her sister anymore she finds a list in a journal off Storms way to have a perfect summer and as a way to feel closer to her sister with the help of Cameron they decide to complete the list. I really liked the way the list was portrayed in the novel and how Anna and Cameron were completing the list and recording there memories was really nice. I also thought that the trip and the list was well paced it made for an enjoyable read but it didn’t feel like they were moving from one action onto the other – making the plot flow well. As a protagonist I feel like Anna was a really good representation of a teenage girl and how they would handle the situation she is in. From her spur of the moment actions and her griefing. I also thought that she was a good balance of character- she wasn’t written to be too focused on one emotion and this was really refreshing to see in a novel about grief. I think the list also acts as a great thing for people to look at an be inspired by if they are in the same boat. Overall, I think it tackled the subject really well while also being a really enjoyable read.
    more
  • Miranda
    December 16, 2016
    I received a copy via the publishers on netgalley.The death of Anna's sister rocks everyone. She's battled cancer and been this unique being in all there lives but Anna felt as though she didn't really know much about her within the past few years of them growing apart in highschool. It happens a lot with families, a drift within them wanting to find yourself and not being the shadow that slowly follows behind. Anna finds a bucket list summer list that her sister had made before she passed and s I received a copy via the publishers on netgalley.The death of Anna's sister rocks everyone. She's battled cancer and been this unique being in all there lives but Anna felt as though she didn't really know much about her within the past few years of them growing apart in highschool. It happens a lot with families, a drift within them wanting to find yourself and not being the shadow that slowly follows behind. Anna finds a bucket list summer list that her sister had made before she passed and she decides it's going to be her summer to do these things her sister couldn't tagged along with the sisters childhood friend and neighbor boy Cameron. He helps Anna go through the motions and begin healing from the moment of the funeral all throughout the road trip. I'm glad she found herself and how to grieve over her sister and accept the death for what it was. It was a really good read with love, growth, friendship, and a nice pace to it.
    more
  • Agustina Sztyrle
    December 21, 2016
    Well, there goes my heart
  • Laura (midorireads)
    March 14, 2017
    A cute contemporary about self-discovery with a Nicholas Sparks-esque feel to it that will appeal to any who have ever thought of writing and fulfilling their own bucket lists.-------------------------Anna Holloway has always looked up to her older sister Storm, so when Storm dies after crashing her car on the night of her high school graduation, it's no surprise that the loss would hit her family hard. Storm had been the free-spirit everyone in town knew as the little girl who had only a decade A cute contemporary about self-discovery with a Nicholas Sparks-esque feel to it that will appeal to any who have ever thought of writing and fulfilling their own bucket lists.-------------------------Anna Holloway has always looked up to her older sister Storm, so when Storm dies after crashing her car on the night of her high school graduation, it's no surprise that the loss would hit her family hard. Storm had been the free-spirit everyone in town knew as the little girl who had only a decade earlier battled cancer and won. She was unique and memorable, leaving Anna's family with a very visible hole from her absence.It's several weeks after Storm's funeral that Anna find one of Storm's infamous lists (lists that ruled Storm's and Anna's summers, when they'd rush to complete the tasks before the school year began), this one though, is labeled 'My Perfect Summer'. This list is different, more heavy, so Anna decides she's going to complete every item on it, and with the help of her next-door neighbor (and Storm's best friend) Cam, they soon find themselves on a road trip with the intention of doing it for Storm, as well as for herself. -------------------------It took me awhile to actually get into this, because the first quarter of the book was pretty much showing how losing Storm affected Anna, and how Anna found herself drawing closer to Cam (and apart from other friends), since he was the one who really knew what it meant to lose Storm, as her best friend. I felt a bit detached when it came to Storm, because we're told how unique and special she was, but her character never really was a presence in this book, so she never felt real to me. Maybe if we had had flashbacks that could have fleshed Storm out some, it might have helped with making her absence feel more real, leading to genuinely missing her character.Now, when it came to Anna and Cam, I'll admit that I found it a bit ridiculous how quickly she fell into this easy companionship with him, mostly because she had gone through high school having only really spoken to him in pass, when he and Storm were hanging out together. I know they grew up being close, mostly due to Storm being their glue, but high school found them drifting apart, so it just came across as a little too easy...but then again, people think differently from me, so whatever works for them. Either way, the fact that they found themselves gravitating towards each other helped to get the road trip off the ground, so that they could complete Storm's list.Of course, you could only assume that close quarters - as well as working together to complete the tasks on the list - would draw Anna and Cam closer, eventually leading to romantic feelings for each other. I liked Cam and his "geeky" personality, it's endearing, as well as the way he really tried to help Anna with the list, considering he didn't really owe her anything, he was just a good guy.I feel like this book seriously had all the makings of a Nicholas Sparks novel: a tragic death, a bucket list that needs completion, and the romance that develops between the two people most affected by the aforementioned death...But I can't say that I hated the stereotypical Sparks-esque tropes that are the hallmarks of his stories, no, I liked them here. I liked how sappy this was at times, and I liked how everything wrapped up into a non-cliffhanger ending. Having read so many series in recent times, it was almost strange reading a book that actually ended. Such a lovely feeling that is. *sighs*So, in conclusion, I enjoyed Someone Else's Summer, and it reminded me that I can like contemporaries in a dystopian-filled world!Will recommend!Thank you to Running Press Kids who gave me this copy via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Karen Barber
    May 8, 2017
    This is fairly obvious, but it is a sweet coming-of-age story.Storm, Anna's older sister, dies just after graduation. The family are torn apart, and we watch as Anna finds a list left by her sister of things that would make her ideal summer. Anna, along with next door neighbour Cameron, set out to complete the list.I was declined initially for an ARC of this, but I got a copy to review as I think it's a great read for teenagers - partly for the how to deal with grief, but also as a story about f This is fairly obvious, but it is a sweet coming-of-age story.Storm, Anna's older sister, dies just after graduation. The family are torn apart, and we watch as Anna finds a list left by her sister of things that would make her ideal summer. Anna, along with next door neighbour Cameron, set out to complete the list.I was declined initially for an ARC of this, but I got a copy to review as I think it's a great read for teenagers - partly for the how to deal with grief, but also as a story about finding yourself.
    more
  • McKenzi
    May 29, 2017
    Wow this book truly blew me away and as you can tell I certainly devoured it. The plot is something I have seen before in a book I didn't read that long ago. The plots may be similar but different from one another. Anna and Cams journey is so fun to live and experience with them! I love everything they did from parasailing to crashing a wedding. This book was magic and I can honestly say the book may have begun with Anna and Cam facing Storms death but it ended with them finding each other and A Wow this book truly blew me away and as you can tell I certainly devoured it. The plot is something I have seen before in a book I didn't read that long ago. The plots may be similar but different from one another. Anna and Cams journey is so fun to live and experience with them! I love everything they did from parasailing to crashing a wedding. This book was magic and I can honestly say the book may have begun with Anna and Cam facing Storms death but it ended with them finding each other and Anna finding herself.
    more
  • Thamy
    April 24, 2017
    Honest review based on an ARC provided by Netgalley. Many thanks to the publisher for this opportunity.Anna has just lost her sister Storm, and everything else feels lost together with her. Until she finds a list of things Storm wanted to do that summer. Now Anna and the sisters' best friend Cameron go off on a road trip to tick every item and live the summer Storm couldn't have.The beginning of this book kind of made me think of To All the Boys I Loved Before, in which two sisters have a thing Honest review based on an ARC provided by Netgalley. Many thanks to the publisher for this opportunity.Anna has just lost her sister Storm, and everything else feels lost together with her. Until she finds a list of things Storm wanted to do that summer. Now Anna and the sisters' best friend Cameron go off on a road trip to tick every item and live the summer Storm couldn't have.The beginning of this book kind of made me think of To All the Boys I Loved Before, in which two sisters have a thing for the long time male friend—I simplified this so much but what I mean is that Storm and Anna's relationship between each other and with Cameron were very similar to the one in the aforementioned book. But it really is different.Another comparison made, and this not by only me, was to Morgan Matson, probably because of Since You've Been Gone. Indeed, there is a list to follow, and some items are similar, if not the same. However, the tone it takes also differs.This said, I was a little disappointed when both comparisons fell through.Now let me say what I liked. Anna. She's not your out-of-the-mold YA heroine. She's more outgoing, and also a cheerleader. Her personality reminded me a little of the Before I Fall main character's. I'm not saying those are my favorites, but it was refreshing that this wasn't the cliche of the popular big sister that died and the nerdy little sister that was left behind.The text is well written but the main events are predictable. I did like that there were some plot twists, and yet even those weren't that surprising. Still, this is very easy to read and to enjoy, even if it's so bland. Definitely, not a bad pick. Also, what a fitting cover! I loved the idea and how it relates to the plot.(Lately, haven't there been too many YA's about dead sisters?)
    more
  • Caroline D. (CarolineReads)
    March 12, 2017
    * I received an e-galley from Net Galley for review. The quotes that I utilized in this review may not be final.Someone Else's Summer is about a girl named Anna , who is recovering from her sister, Storm, passing away on graduation night. She finds a list that Storm wrote before she passed away of things she wanted to do during the summer. Anna begins to complete the list with her late sister's best friend, Cameron. I liked this book because it covered grief, and dealing with the death of a clos * I received an e-galley from Net Galley for review. The quotes that I utilized in this review may not be final.Someone Else's Summer is about a girl named Anna , who is recovering from her sister, Storm, passing away on graduation night. She finds a list that Storm wrote before she passed away of things she wanted to do during the summer. Anna begins to complete the list with her late sister's best friend, Cameron. I liked this book because it covered grief, and dealing with the death of a close one. It also showed the recovery process. I enjoyed seeing Cameron and Anna's interactions, and the adventures they went on to complete the list. Cameron helped to bring Anna out of her comfort zone, and she grew from their experiences.There were certain plot points that I found to be not so great. Earlier in the book, Anna is at a party with her friend Piper, and she begins to feel uncomfortable. Then, when a man attempts to sexually assault her, she tells Piper that she is leaving, while her friend remains at the party. In a situation where the girls don't know anyone else at the party, and Anna was almost assaulted, it's dangerous to leave her drunk friend alone with older men who are strangers. Also, Anna's Aunt Morgan let her get away with everything, which eventually meant that Anna was allowed to leave home for up to 3 weeks with a boy, staying in hotels/ B & B's alone. I could see this happening if Anna was in college, but for her Aunt to let her have free reign, regardless of the consequences was questionable. Furthermore, Aunt Morgan did not really support Anna's need to remain connected to her sister by completing the list. She basically told Anna that she needed to find her own place in the world, separate from Storm, rather than supporting her need to remain connected to her sister after she passed away.In the first few chapters of the book, the author continued to use strange descriptions, such as "his bloodshot and wet, framed by splotchy skin and pure devastation, mine clear and steely", and "His body is all sharp corners and acute angles, pieced together with tape and a child's glue stick". These descriptions felt a little strange, and elaborate, and didn't really connect with the story.Overall, the story is about overcoming loss, while remembering people you loved, and still loving them after death. It has romance, and grief, and it makes for a cute contemporary, despite the way it starts. I give this 3.5 stars.
    more
  • Marie
    December 10, 2016
    This book was given to me via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.Review can also be found on my blog. I honestly enjoyed this book a lot. It was the kind of book that if I could, I would definitely finish it in one sitting.For years, Anna has been living in her sister’s footsteps. She followed her everywhere, did what she did, and basically saw her as a role model. But suddenly she’s gone and Anna had nothing left but herself. There’s no one to guide her, no footsteps to follow, no pers This book was given to me via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.Review can also be found on my blog. I honestly enjoyed this book a lot. It was the kind of book that if I could, I would definitely finish it in one sitting.For years, Anna has been living in her sister’s footsteps. She followed her everywhere, did what she did, and basically saw her as a role model. But suddenly she’s gone and Anna had nothing left but herself. There’s no one to guide her, no footsteps to follow, no person to look up to. Then she finds the list and holds on to it like a lifeline. “And in leaving the list, maybe she left us a way to figure out how to live without her.” Completing the list was Anna’s road to self-discovery. I loved how with each new challenge, she was able to discover something within herself. I also liked how the lists were numbered but they didn’t go through it in that order. There’s a certain beauty in how each one came spontaneously, with one item transitioning smoothly on to the next.This was a very fun read and highly amusing. I loved Anna and I loved Cameron. And although most of the book involved both of them, I also liked the other characters, especially Aunt Morgan. She was the coolest among them.The romance was also handled very nicely and unfolded at the right moment. I’m not going to go into the details (it’s for you to discover) but Cameron explained it well. “I don’t think it’s possible to put a timeline to love. Once it’s there, it’s like there’s never been anything else.” Reading this book, I felt like I was part of their adventure and at the same time, making me want to start my own.Although the plot was simple, there are certain bits and pieces that stood out. There was also a revelation near the end that I did not suspect at the beginning. The ending was perfect, just the right kind without being too cheesy. It also had something a little unexpected and sweet.I gave this 4 stars because it was near perfect but had something lacking. The plot didn’t have the oomph factor that would make this unforgettable and some events happened that made me question if it’s really necessary to include them or if they are just there to make the story seem normal, much like the life of an average teen. Overall, this is a great read. If you want something light but totally enjoyable and with the right amount of swoon, this book is for you.
    more
  • Michelle
    December 29, 2016
    4.5 StarsWhere do I start with this review....I'm so glad that I came across this book on Netgalley. I read the synopsis and something just pulled me to it. It isn't one of my normal reads. But it turned out to be a great surprise for me. This book starts off incredibly sad. Anna's sister Storm died tragically and it took everyone by surprise. She beat cancer when she was younger she has just graduated from high school. She was getting ready to head off to college. Everyone took her death pretty 4.5 StarsWhere do I start with this review....I'm so glad that I came across this book on Netgalley. I read the synopsis and something just pulled me to it. It isn't one of my normal reads. But it turned out to be a great surprise for me. This book starts off incredibly sad. Anna's sister Storm died tragically and it took everyone by surprise. She beat cancer when she was younger she has just graduated from high school. She was getting ready to head off to college. Everyone took her death pretty hard. But Anna... she was in a state of shock. She had a hard time dealing with Storms death.When Anna came across Storm's notebook. She found a bucket list. Something they use to do when they were younger. Every year the list would change according to their age, likes and dislikes.Anna knew she had to carry out Storms list. She had to give Storm her one last summer. So she sets out with the boy next door/best friend Cameron. And together they set out for an adventure. They both discover things about each other on this trip. They push themselves to do things they never would have done before. While giving Storm her last summer. Anna finds herself in a way. I absolutely loved Cameron in this book! He was so understanding. He was so patient with Anna. And I felt he was a good best friend to Storm.Anna... I felt she was so immature at times. I also felt she was a follower. She allowed her best friend Piper to call the shots. I also felt Piper was not very supportive to Anna during her sister death. she was mean and selfish to Anna. And I wished that Anna would have set her straight in this book.Also too... Anna would treat Cameron kind of mean. I had to stop myself from getting too upset. I had to take Anna's age into account.But still... it was hard. 90% into the book. Anna really got to me. I could totally understand why she would be upset. I would be too. But to totally block out Cameron the way she did was so wrong on so many levels. He lost his best friend too. And Anna has to remember they were best friends. Storm confided in him about something she felt passionate about. I loved the ending of this book. It felt right. I honestly wanted more. I wish there was an epilogue! I would love to see how things turned out with them.This was a first time read for me by this author. I will definitely be check out her other books!*ARC provided via Netgalley for an honest review*(This same review is on my blog goodreads account.)
    more
  • Stephaniereads
    November 15, 2016
    This is the story about Anna, who is trying to find a way to live her life after the death of her sister Storm. Even though they were different, Anna looked up to Storm and wanted to be just like her. Anna’s friends are very supportive but, they don’t understand enough of how Anna really feels except for Cameron. Cameron lives next door and has been a close friend to Storm and Anna for a very young age. Anna finds it difficult to come to terms with everyone living their lives as if nothing ever This is the story about Anna, who is trying to find a way to live her life after the death of her sister Storm. Even though they were different, Anna looked up to Storm and wanted to be just like her. Anna’s friends are very supportive but, they don’t understand enough of how Anna really feels except for Cameron. Cameron lives next door and has been a close friend to Storm and Anna for a very young age. Anna finds it difficult to come to terms with everyone living their lives as if nothing ever happened. She feels distance between her and her parents as they are dealing with their grief by having the pastor visits them every day. But everything changes when Anna discovers Storm’s summer list and decides to spend her summer by taking part in the things that are on Storm’s summer list. As children Anna, Storm and Cameron spend their summers creating a list of things to do. By discovering the list Anna is shocked that Storm still makes a summer list as Anna hasn’t done one for a while. I like how this book has been written. At the start of the book, Rachel has given an insight into Anna’s life before it was turned upside down. I like the fact that Rachel has given us the reader a chance to build up a picture of what type of person Storm was and the relationship between the sisters. The build up to the road trip was written in a way I felt that works well for this story. It wasn’t rushed and also there was a lot of description of the events that happened after Storm’s death. The road trip was so enjoyable to read and it was lovely how Anna’s relationship developed with Cameron during the trip. I didn’t expect the secret at the end.I thought this book was an enjoyable and easy read. It definitely has a strong message. Although Anna was spending her summer as her sister, she was also discovering herself and dealing with the loss of her sister in a positive way. Anna using the summer list to remember the good things in Storm’s life. * I recieved an ARC copy of this book from Perseus Books Group, Running Press via Netgalley in return for an honest and fair review.
    more
Write a review