Lucky in Love
In this new contemporary from YA star Kasie West, a girl who wins the lottery learns that money can cause more problems than it solves, especially when love comes into the picture. Maddie doesn't believe in luck. She's all about hard work and planning ahead. But one night, on a whim, she buys a lottery ticket. And then, to her astonishment --She wins!In a flash, Maddie's life is unrecognizable. No more stressing about college scholarships. Suddenly, she's talking about renting a yacht. And being in the spotlight at school is fun... until rumors start flying, and random people ask her for loans. Now, Maddie isn't sure who she can trust.Except for Seth Nguyen, her funny, charming coworker at the local zoo. Seth doesn't seem aware of Maddie's big news. And, for some reason, she doesn't want to tell him. But what will happen if he learns her secret?With tons of humor and heart, Kasie West delivers a million-dollar tale of winning, losing, and falling in love.

Lucky in Love Details

TitleLucky in Love
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherScholastic
ISBN1338058010
ISBN-139781338058017
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult, Romance

Lucky in Love Review

  • Lola Reviewer
    January 19, 2017
    Every time the lovely Kasie West releases a new book, I love life a little more.I may not grade her novels as highly as I probably should, given the wonderful time I spend with (almost) each and every one of them, but think of this rating as a strong three stars. It’s no wonder her books are considered perfect reads for readers who are ‘‘reluctant.’’ Her works are indeed so fast-paced, you’ll feel compelled to read them in one sitting. The only thing that will stop you is your innate need to sle Every time the lovely Kasie West releases a new book, I love life a little more.I may not grade her novels as highly as I probably should, given the wonderful time I spend with (almost) each and every one of them, but think of this rating as a strong three stars. It’s no wonder her books are considered perfect reads for readers who are ‘‘reluctant.’’ Her works are indeed so fast-paced, you’ll feel compelled to read them in one sitting. The only thing that will stop you is your innate need to sleep. So I do dare suggest you start this very early so no dilemma (stay awake, sleep?) presents itself to you. These book-related dilemmas are the worst. If you are familiar with Kasie West’s style, you already know LUCKY IN LOVE is quick, light and cute. I’m so glad I don’t have to write ‘‘cliché’’ this time. In every one of her previous contemporary YA novels, I was able to pinpoint clichés two chapters in. Not this time. There is the ‘‘friends to lovers’’ situation, but the way it’s developed makes it look very natural. Seth is definitely more adorable than any other book boyfriend the author breathed life into. Also, he’s Asian! Thank you for making your books a tiny bit more diverse, Kasie. Much appreciated. *Sidebar*About Seth, I understand his annoyance at being constantly asked where he *really* comes from, especially since he was born in America, but you know a lot of people aren’t aware of the effect that that question has on all people who do not look like the American type. No one ever told them it bothered them to be asked that before, so how could they possibly know? Maybe you should do that, Seth, instead of mentally cursing them. But if you want to avoid situations that can *maybe* turn into confrontations at all costs, then just shrug it off. I, myself, ask that question from time to time. I’m curious, and no one ever told me it bothered them. Does that make me ignorant, or just someone who likes to learn about other people’s ancestries? *End sidebar*Since Maddie is a little naïve, she’s manipulated into spending her money – well, giving her money away, basically – quite a few times. While it is, at times, frustrating, it helps Maddie grow into someone more responsible and aware of how the world works. Thirty million dollars is a lot, lot, lot of money. I predicted most of what happens in this novel, so I wouldn’t say you’ll be blown away by anything, really, but you will be entertained for sure. Happy reading. Blog | Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Bloglovin’
    more
  • Lala BooksandLala
    February 2, 2017
    Cuteness!
  • alexandra
    December 17, 2016
    THIS BOOK. IS SO CUTE. MY EMOTIONS ARE EVERYWHERE AND I JUST *FLAIL FLAIL FLAIL* there were so many things i loved about this book and i can't stop smiling. full review to come!
  • Danielle (Love at First Page)
    January 28, 2017
    Ohh this is a cute one! With such a likeable love interest. <33
  • Inês
    May 31, 2016
    #3THE COVER. THE DESCRIPTION. IM DEAD BUT I FEEL SO ALIVE!!!! #2WE HAVE A NAME! I REPEAT: WE HAVE A NAME Y'ALL#1THE LORD AS GIVEN ME ANOTHER KASIE WEST BOOK SO I MUST READ IT
  • Sharon
    September 30, 2016
    How does Kasie West always manage to have the CUTEST covers ever??? July 2017 can't come fast enough~~
  • Simona Bartolotta
    January 23, 2017
    Another Kasie West book to agonizingly wait for after By Your Side is out! Yes! YES.
  • Denisa
    October 3, 2016
    ASIAN LOVE INTEREST SIGN ME THE FUCK UPBut tbh I was already signed up since it's Kasie WestSuper excited for this one! Ahhhhhhhhh!!!!!!
  • Saania Zee Jamal ϟ
    August 25, 2016
    SO MANY BOOKS ALL AT ONCE! HOW U DO DIS KASIE???
  • Alyssa
    November 7, 2016
    Eeeeeeee! Need need need need!!!! LOOK AT THAT COVER!!!!This is going to be wonderful, just like West's other six books books (I have not read By Your Side yet). :D SO EXCITED!
  • nick
    March 18, 2017
    3.5/5I liked this one mostly because the boy is so adorable and swoony. The lottery story was stressful for me at times and I wasn't always a big fan of Maddie.Still a very quick and entertaining read!RTC
  • Kezia Miller
    January 27, 2017
    I loved it! Maddie is your normal, super smart high school girl that has her hopes on one thing - college. On her 18th birthday, she is left alone at a party she planned for herself and decides to go to the minimart to buy herself some chocolate to cheer her up. After being persuaded by the cashier, she leaves the store with a lottery ticket and not chocolate. She wakes up the next morning to discover that she's just won the lottery. After becoming a multimillionaire Maddie comes to realize that I loved it! Maddie is your normal, super smart high school girl that has her hopes on one thing - college. On her 18th birthday, she is left alone at a party she planned for herself and decides to go to the minimart to buy herself some chocolate to cheer her up. After being persuaded by the cashier, she leaves the store with a lottery ticket and not chocolate. She wakes up the next morning to discover that she's just won the lottery. After becoming a multimillionaire Maddie comes to realize that it's not all that it's cracked up to be. Yes, she no longer has money issues and can go to the college of her dreams but now she no longer knows who she can truly trust. She comes to learn that there was someone all along that's liked her poor or rich. I loved the relationship between Seth and Maddie and how they came to admit their crushes for one another. I also loved that the reader comes to learn that the best things in life can't always be bought with money. I find with Kasie West's books that there reaches a point in the book where there's so much drama you don't want to keep on reading but are so attached that you still do. She resolves everything nicely and gives you the happy ending you wanted all along. Her books are definitely the kind of books that are full of fluff and happiness so if you’re wanting something not cute and heart-wrenching at the same time than this is not the book for you. Kasie West does not disappoint and I am so thrilled that I had the opportunity to read an advanced copy of her book before it was released.
    more
  • Laura
    March 6, 2017
    “We make our own luck.”We’ve all had daydreams or conversations about winning the lottery. Little moments of “what if” or I’d buy this or that or go here or there with a million dollars. Eighteen year old Maddie Parker actually wins though! Her struggles with money are *poof* magically gone—right? Her out of work parents can worry no more. Her brother home from college because he can’t afford the tuition can now return free of bills and headaches --right? Maddie and her family soon realize money “We make our own luck.”We’ve all had daydreams or conversations about winning the lottery. Little moments of “what if” or I’d buy this or that or go here or there with a million dollars. Eighteen year old Maddie Parker actually wins though! Her struggles with money are *poof* magically gone—right? Her out of work parents can worry no more. Her brother home from college because he can’t afford the tuition can now return free of bills and headaches --right? Maddie and her family soon realize money can’t fix everything.Kasie West’s Lucky in Love is a quick, easy read filled with lucky winners, lucky pennies, and love in the air. Unfortunately the characters and chemistry felt very flat to me. None of the characters popped to life with color and depth. I liked Maddie and her crush/co-worker Seth (aka Leth…Haha), but their friendship never heated up into anything memorable or special for me. What really made my heart smile was the setting. The zoo where Maddie and Seth worked was filled with sun, fun, animals, adventure and so many opportunities to talk and share. It felt brand new. A whole new world to explore and enjoy! I could have strolled around that zoo the whole book.My other big love in this story was the idea and message of control. We all think we have it, but soon learn life has other thoughts on the matter. We can’t control what people think or do for the most part. But Maddie is the type of girl who “made plans to make plans”. She has plans for her school work, her day, and her future. But she didn’t plan on winning the lottery! Suddenly everyone from best friends to new friends expects something different from her now because of the lottery winnings. Rumors, stress, and trouble begin to circle and sabotage Maddie’s plans and goals. With or without money, Maddie has to learn to let go. The worry and pressure and expectations others put on us or we put on ourselves in this world can weigh us down. I need to remember to let go too. It’s a hard lesson to learn. Let life happen. Make mistakes and learn from them. Just be sure you’re lucky enough to be surrounded by people who love and support you through good times and bad.A cute read for young readers.**Quote taken from ARC**
    more
  • Tran Thanh Tu
    November 20, 2016
    Her coworker is a Vietnamese, just like me?? *screams* I'm in!!
  • Romie
    October 13, 2016
    oooooooooh the guy has 1) a Vietnamese name 2) THAT'S MY FAMILY NAME :D Well, that's a good enough reason for me to read this book ^^
  • Tiffany
    May 25, 2016
    5/25/2016Another book by Kasie West? HECK YES.
  • April
    February 26, 2017
    Lucky In Love by Kasie West is another solid contemporary romance from West. I mean, at this point, it's like my reviews of West's contemporary books just all run together. Read my full review here Link goes live 4/24/2017
  • Daphne
    May 24, 2016
    Is this real?I hope so!!!
  • Natalie Hoftyzer
    October 1, 2016
    THERE'S A COVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I AM SO EXCITED!!! :) :)
  • Wendy
    October 11, 2016
    ANOTHER BOOK DUIFIDEOWJWNDBXKDIE KASIE WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO US
  • Andi (Andi's ABCs)
    February 12, 2017
    That was adorable. I don't think I want to,win the lottery, but that was fun to read about. Seth was so great and I loved him and Maddie as friends and a couple. Review to come.
  • Gabrielle
    October 2, 2016
    10/2/16 ....An Asian character...who is going to be the love interest....and they also used an Asian model on the cover....I am livin'.11/5/2016 Am going to assume Seth is Viet because of his last name so hell YEAH.
  • michelle (magicalreads)
    October 28, 2016
    I'm a sucker for Vietnamese characters…especially love interests!!!!!
  • Patty
    June 12, 2016
    Anything you write, i will read.
  • Annie
    May 31, 2016
    another Kasie West book ?Sign me up !10/03/16cover reveal + longer descriptionby your side sounds more interesting than this one but i'm still gonna read it because it's Kasie West
  • Maegan
    October 3, 2016
    October 3, 2016THAT COVER I'M DEAD WHAT THE HECK HOW CUTE IS THAT!?!?!?!?! I CANNOT WAIT OMG
  • Mindy
    February 12, 2017
    A pleasant enough distraction. Completely ridiculous story.
  • Rê
    October 3, 2016
    Whatt??? Two Kasie West books for 2017?!!?! Gimme!!!
  • Pam
    May 26, 2016
    I already love it.
  • J.
    March 5, 2017
    I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via work, with no obligation to leave a personal review.It's no secret that I love Kasie West--and this was a surprising hit for me. The lottery plot is actually one of my least favorite plots, because it, like the revenge plot (another of my least favorite), is usually centered on the main character devolving into a terrible person, and then finally realizing he/she was wrong.What I appreciate about this particular version of the lottery plot is I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via work, with no obligation to leave a personal review.It's no secret that I love Kasie West--and this was a surprising hit for me. The lottery plot is actually one of my least favorite plots, because it, like the revenge plot (another of my least favorite), is usually centered on the main character devolving into a terrible person, and then finally realizing he/she was wrong.What I appreciate about this particular version of the lottery plot is that Maddie is not the one who starts to change and become crazy. I mean, sure, in some ways, she does--when certain large sums of money are no longer, relatively speaking, large sums of money, the way you spend money and think about it changes. But in the essential ways, she really doesn't; her goal is not to suddenly make herself popular or show off what she has or even lead a particularly flashy lifestyle just for the heck of it. But the way other people see her does, and that's where you get most of the conflict in this book.I thought West did an amazing job at addressing many different issues that crop up with a sudden windfall like this: betrayals, scams, accusations, loss of trust, etc. But at the same time, this is just as fun and easy to read as any of West's other novels. I love how well she pulled this off. If Worthy, for me, felt like a book that wasn't sure what it wanted to be--issues-based or more fluffy--and kind of failed in both, this is a great example of a book that manages to somehow succeed in both, while staying more grounded in the latter.The romance is, of course, sweet and adorable as all get-out. I'm frankly thrilled that West wrote an Asian male love interest, even though a) I was originally happy that Asian characters were appearing in children's fiction, and then b) started realizing they were mostly minor characters, or unflattering characters, and written by non-Asian authors, and finally c) became a bit cranky about it all. But Seth's microaggression experiences as an Asian-American ring very true to me, and would feel universal to all Asian-Americans. His responses are so good, too--better than I frankly always deal with it, honestly. I almost wish West had taken it a step farther, and emphasized that hey, Asian-Americans who weren't born in America or who don't speak perfect English are STILL Americans, too--but this wasn't even the main point of the book, and the fact that she included this thoughtfully meant a lot.It especially means a lot because I think male Asians are most frequently slighted as love interests. (Even in The Afterlife of Holly Chase, for example, which I LOVED, the relegation of the Asian side-character as the guy who doesn't get the girl just felt so, so overly familiar.) How often do you see that? I can think of two instances off the top of my head: Jem Carstairs from Clockwork Angel, and Park from Eleanor and Park. In the former, Jem is still (view spoiler)[sort of the second choice, though it resolves well (hide spoiler)], and in the latter, I didn't enjoy the novel as much and did have some problems with the representation.Anyway, long story short, I really enjoyed this! Wanted the ending to draw out a little more, but it was still good. Always amazed at great contemporary realistic authors like West who manage to weave in so many details and facets from the characters' conversations into cool things like the amazing zoo date Seth plans and Maddie's apology at the end. So good!
    more
Write a review