This Darkness Mine
Sasha Stone knows her place—first-chair clarinet, top of her class, and at the side of her oxford-wearing boyfriend. She’s worked her entire life to ensure that her path to Oberlin Conservatory as a star musician is perfectly paved.But suddenly there’s a fork in the road, in the shape of Isaac Harver. Her body shifts toward him when he walks by, her skin misses his touch even though she’s never known it, and she relishes the smell of him—smoke, beer, and trouble—all the things she’s avoided to get where she is. Even worse, every time he’s near Sasha, her heart stops, literally. Why does he know her so well—too well—and she doesn’t know him at all?Sasha discovers that her by-the-book life began by ending another’s: the twin sister she absorbed in the womb. But that doesn’t explain the gaps of missing time in her practice schedule or the memories she has of things she certainly never did with Isaac. As Sasha loses her much-cherished control, her life—and heart—become more entangled with Isaac. Armed with the knowledge that her heart might not be hers alone, Sasha must decide what she’s willing to do—and who she’s willing to hurt—to take it back.Edgar Award–winning author Mindy McGinnis delivers a dark and gripping psychological thriller about a girl at war with herself, and what it really means to be good or bad.

This Darkness Mine Details

TitleThis Darkness Mine
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 10th, 2017
Publisher Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-139780062561596
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Thriller, Mystery

This Darkness Mine Review

  • Hailey (HaileyinBookland)
    January 1, 1970
    I never, ever say that I hate a book because I love books so much and it feels so extreme but oh my goodness I hated this book. There were no redeeming qualities, it was weird as hell (and I'm usually all for weird). The writing and plot were so confusing??? Also I found it to be problematic which made me very uncomfortable. I'm really sad I didn't like this since I enjoyed The Female of the Species so much but this was just... ugh. If there's any bright side it's the fact that I read it so quic I never, ever say that I hate a book because I love books so much and it feels so extreme but oh my goodness I hated this book. There were no redeeming qualities, it was weird as hell (and I'm usually all for weird). The writing and plot were so confusing??? Also I found it to be problematic which made me very uncomfortable. I'm really sad I didn't like this since I enjoyed The Female of the Species so much but this was just... ugh. If there's any bright side it's the fact that I read it so quickly.
    more
  • Lala BooksandLala
    January 1, 1970
    wtf
  • Kai
    January 1, 1970
    "I had a sister. She was never born, and she never died."I’ve you’ve read the title and seen the cover you should know what’s coming. I’d recommend you do not read this review and just go in blindly, as did I. I don’t want to tell you anything that could spoil this experience for you. But if you still want to know about it, here you go:This is just as dark and twisted as the title promises. Probably even darker and more twisted. Believe me, it’s crazy, it’s sick, it’s disgusting and shocking. It "I had a sister. She was never born, and she never died."I’ve you’ve read the title and seen the cover you should know what’s coming. I’d recommend you do not read this review and just go in blindly, as did I. I don’t want to tell you anything that could spoil this experience for you. But if you still want to know about it, here you go:This is just as dark and twisted as the title promises. Probably even darker and more twisted. Believe me, it’s crazy, it’s sick, it’s disgusting and shocking. It’s exactly what I wanted this book to be and I’m glad Mindy McGinnis went this far. YA literature can sometimes shed its protective skin, put its finger in the wound and really cause the ugly and hurtful things to come out. That’s what this book does.It’s probably making love to Darren Aronofsky’s Black Swan right this second, that’s how disturbing it is.The writing alone is piercing and cruel. Impeccable and cold. Easy for me to fall in love with, but I’m not sure everyone will feel the same about this book. I however am deeply, deeply enchanted. I had high expectations for this book, for Mindy McGinnis, even though this is the first book of hers that I’ve read. She met all of these expectations. Again, her narrative is on a level that I can only dream of. It’s smart and sarcastic, it’s funny in a macabre way, it’s unexpected and beautiful. This woman can write, this much is obvious. I can’t wait to read more.The characters are captivating. Most side characters are relatable, which they have to be, because the main character is everything but. They have depth, they are flawed, they are funny and deserve our compassion. Well, most of them. Others are morbid and cold, most of all Sasha Stone, the main character. She is the picture perfect. But a cold one. She’s manipulative and she’ll cut you if you get too close. Severely. She’ll surprise you again and again with her wickedness, but you can never be sure if it’s the crazy speaking out of her or if it’s real. That’s what makes it genius.This Darkness Mine made me feel so many things. Disgust and shock, for sure. But I also took please from this weirdly alluring book. It’s definitely one of my favourite books this year.Find more of my books on Instagram
    more
  • Korrina (OwlCrate)
    January 1, 1970
    This was one of the weirdest books I've ever read, but I highly enjoyed it. The writing was dark, sexy and scary. And it featured one of the most messed up main characters I've ever read. Mindy McGinnis never fails to surprise and shock me.
  • Elise (thebookishactress on wordpress)
    January 1, 1970
    I don't know if this is a book you can "review". I feel like I'll be spoiling you by saying a single thing. Besides, how can I describe this book? How can I even begin to describe some of the fucked up things that happened in this book?I think there are two things you need to know about this book. First of all, it doesn't depend on the reveal. There isn't really one concrete reveal - rather, there are several that create a web of craziness. The other thing you need to know is that this book is r I don't know if this is a book you can "review". I feel like I'll be spoiling you by saying a single thing. Besides, how can I describe this book? How can I even begin to describe some of the fucked up things that happened in this book?I think there are two things you need to know about this book. First of all, it doesn't depend on the reveal. There isn't really one concrete reveal - rather, there are several that create a web of craziness. The other thing you need to know is that this book is really messed up. There are points where I genuinely felt like my deepest fears were being unwound on a deep level, just to unsettle me. I don't know if there's just one element of this book that makes it so creepy and addicting, but what stood out to me was the writing. There's a crisp quality to the prose that fits Sasha's voice perfectly. I don't even know how to explain how this book fucked with my mind. The blurb is telling you antihero, but I don't know if that's an accurate description of Sasha. Sasha is a terrible person. But she's a very well-written terrible person. She has this odd blend of sarcasm and genuine evil - I'd love her at one minute for her delicious inner monologue, then hate myself for ever enjoying such a terrible person as a character. It was really an experience.I think what's interesting about this book is how it echoes all those old classics about Some Privileged Asshole Acting Out. You know that genre? The one about really rich privileged men being asshats that somehow reads like tragedy porn and escapism at the same exact time? This Darkness Mine is like a more self-aware version of that genre. And I kind of love it. I think Mindy McGinnis is one of the most self-aware authors I've ever read - this book knows it's unrealistic and makes up for it by being believable as fuck. We've all met people like Sasha, much as we'd like to pretend we haven't. I think that's what I'm going to take away from this book, in a way - the intense feeling of realism that somehow stayed around even when I tried to escape this book. Blog | Goodreads | Twitter | Youtube
    more
  • alice (arctic books)
    January 1, 1970
    Holy fuck. I'm not even sure what the fuck I read but I know I loved it. More coherent review to come.
  • Amber Robertson
    January 1, 1970
    I received an eARC but all opinions/thoughts are my own. BUDDY READING with someone who took three days to reply to me. You've been exposed SolomonOne word to describe this book?Fucked. I have never been both utterly disturbed and confused when reading a book. This Darkness Mine manages to successfully do this, however. I was stunned. Completely stunned into silence. I started to get really into this book while I was waiting at the train station to pick up Caitlin, and I'm pretty sure everyone i I received an eARC but all opinions/thoughts are my own. BUDDY READING with someone who took three days to reply to me. You've been exposed SolomonOne word to describe this book?Fucked. I have never been both utterly disturbed and confused when reading a book. This Darkness Mine manages to successfully do this, however. I was stunned. Completely stunned into silence. I started to get really into this book while I was waiting at the train station to pick up Caitlin, and I'm pretty sure everyone in my surrounding area was confused while I whispered "what" to myself over and over. The premise of this book was confusing but reading it was even more messed up. I couldn't grasp some aspects and since I did most of the reading of this at night I was afraid to fall asleep in case I had had a twin in the womb (lmao I checked, I didn't). Sasha Stone is a good girl though. She plays the clarinet, is in the first chair, and is on her way to being accepted to a prestigious music school. She and her boyfriend fit and she gets good marks. She's the definition of a goody-goody who follows strict rules. Things start to get weird though when a boy who doesn't fit her definition of life starts acting as if they have a thing, and that she gave him her number. Something she knows she didn't do. It's here the book takes a turn I didn't expect. A turn that had me staring at my phone like what?! Shit gets weird. It gets wild and I could barely keep up with the story.There were boring bits, which had me rolling my eyes and wanting a lot more crazy. Though the crazy would hit and I would be begging for the book to return to the normal because seriously. However, the writing style was brilliant. It was a tad jerky in some parts, scenes suddenly changing but that could be because it isn't the final version. I have so many questions for the author. How did they create this idea? A book that still has me jumping in the dark and making sure there are no messages from random boys in my phone (there aren't, boys are lame). I recommend you all check out this book when it releases - especially if you're looking for a weird book.
    more
  • Jasmine from How Useful It Is
    January 1, 1970
    About: This Darkness Mine is a young adult thriller written by Mindy McGinnis. It will be published on 10/10/17 by Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins, 384 pages. The genres are young adult, mystery/thrillers, contemporary, and fiction. My Experience: I started reading This Darkness Mine on 8/9/17 and stopped at 68% on 8/14/17. This book started out interesting. I like Sasha’s strict scheduling to achieving her goals of being valedictorian, first chair with her music, and to guara About: This Darkness Mine is a young adult thriller written by Mindy McGinnis. It will be published on 10/10/17 by Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins, 384 pages. The genres are young adult, mystery/thrillers, contemporary, and fiction. My Experience: I started reading This Darkness Mine on 8/9/17 and stopped at 68% on 8/14/17. This book started out interesting. I like Sasha’s strict scheduling to achieving her goals of being valedictorian, first chair with her music, and to guarantee her entrance into music school. I like her friends Brooke and Lilly, especially Brooke and her uncensored interests. I like how music is being embedded everywhere in the story. Then the story move into hospital stays that I find lack of suspense and thrill for me to read. I do like the blunt reality of how patients wait to receive a heart transplant. The lack of sugarcoating is actually a breath of fresh air.In this book, readers will follow first person point of view of Sasha Stone, a valedictorian with a plan. She stays on a path and focuses on doing everything good to obtain success. Sasha has a boyfriend, Heath since middle school and they have a routine. Out of the blue, bad boy with cigarette smells, Isaac Harver texts her and asks to meet up. When they hold hands, the process was smooth as if they had done it many times before. Her body walks to Isaac before her mind makes the decision to take a step back. Isaac is not on Sasha’s agenda, so how he becomes part of her life is a mystery. One day Sasha was to bring a baby picture for the senior school year book and found a picture of her ultrasound. In it, the ultrasound shows that she has a twin but the twin, Shanna, was never born or died. The twin was absorbed into Sasha while in the womb, so now it appears that her sister is inside of her and they both want different things. When Isaac comes to visit and Sasha doesn’t go to meet him, Sasha ends up falling out of the window 20ft high to stop Isaac from leaving. In the hospital, Sasha learns that Shanna may not exist but in fact she may have some kind of heart disease and require a transplant. Sasha still believe Shanna exists despite what the doctor says and the impending heart transplant… the ending is a mystery.This book is well written and the lack of sugarcoating to what’s going on at the hospital is surprisingly funny. I like the bluntness in the characters’ way of expressing their thoughts. At the same time, I lose interest in reading this book because hospital stays and impending death due to health reasons just sags my excitement. I can’t handle reading about cancer patients so I can’t handle reading about patients with heart problems. I’m stopping at 68%. I still recommend this book to everyone because it’s good to be aware of the reality of a situation when doctors won’t tell you because they want you to have hope.Pro: cover, personality, music, blunt, humorCon: (I have been unintentionally reading a lot of mental health books lately and I need a break) Nothing against the book.. I didn’t realized this book deals with it.I rate it 4 stars!***Disclaimer: Many thanks to the author Mindy McGinnis, publisher Katherine Tegen Books, and Edelweiss for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.xoxo, Jasmine
    more
  • ✿Katherine Elizabeth✿
    January 1, 1970
    This sounds messed up.I want it.
  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
    January 1, 1970
    McGinnis has become an author that I can count on to be blunt, bold, and to hold no punches. When the going gets tough her heroine are gritty and they know how to get down and dirty.Her foray in the the YA genre of mystery thriller went off without a hitch. This book was riddled with mystery and intrigue and always left the reader wondering right from wrong and innocent from guilty. Numerous time throughout this story I started to question the heroine herself and had to stop and wonder who exact McGinnis has become an author that I can count on to be blunt, bold, and to hold no punches. When the going gets tough her heroine are gritty and they know how to get down and dirty.Her foray in the the YA genre of mystery thriller went off without a hitch. This book was riddled with mystery and intrigue and always left the reader wondering right from wrong and innocent from guilty. Numerous time throughout this story I started to question the heroine herself and had to stop and wonder who exactly the bad guys were and who were the good, if there were any at all. This left me questioning, reeling and like most of McGinnis's stories, always wanting more. *ARC was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    January 1, 1970
    Cover reveal definitely seems to give off that edgy/thriller vib ---Given the brilliance that was The Female of the Species, I must say I have high hopes for this one
  • Taryn (sunlitlibrary)
    January 1, 1970
    This review can also be found on my blog: A Sunlit LibraryThis Darkness Mine was one of my most anticipated book after reading and loving Mindy McGinnis’s Female of the Species. This was such a let down. All I could think for the entire book was this isn’t how any of this works. It’s disappointing because This Darkness Mine had such a good premise. But it was just too unbelievable. One of the only things I did like about this book was the writing. It’s one of the things I loved about Female of t This review can also be found on my blog: A Sunlit LibraryThis Darkness Mine was one of my most anticipated book after reading and loving Mindy McGinnis’s Female of the Species. This was such a let down. All I could think for the entire book was this isn’t how any of this works. It’s disappointing because This Darkness Mine had such a good premise. But it was just too unbelievable. One of the only things I did like about this book was the writing. It’s one of the things I loved about Female of the Species too. McGinnis has a really great, addictive writing style that hooks you in right away and keeps you wanting to know more. Whilst this had that same addictive writing, what kept me reading was wanting to know if the book would get any better. I liked the beginning, but as soon as the whole storyline with Isaac was introduced, things started going downhill. Sasha was the epitome of an unlikeable character and an unreliable narrator. I’ve personally never been a huge fan of unlikeable main characters, unless they’re written really well. I think with my annoyance for other parts of this book, I couldn’t fully appreciate Sasha for the character she was. Sasha is a good girl: a girl who is first-chair clarinet, top of her class, only with her picture perfect boyfriend because they fit. But she was also a bitch- by both her own standards and her friends. She’s unapologetic about it, and I have to say that there were times where she’d do/say something and I would want to throw my phone across the room. She also acted like she was superior to everyone, which was so damn annoying. One day, Sasha finds out that she absorbed her twin whilst in her mother’s womb. And then comes the part that annoyed me the most: Sasha absorbed Shanna’s (Sasha’s twin) heart, and she’s acting out and falling for different boys and having sex because Shanna’s emotions are now in control. Yes, you read that right. This book is about a girl who absorbed her twin’s heart in the womb and is saying that heart is controlling her and is the reason she’s having sex with Isaac and isn’t herself. WTF. First of all, I don’t like the whole idea that Sasha is no longer “good” because she’s sexually active. That’s some ultimate bullshit. Secondly, hearts do not control people or their emotions. This is what pissed me off the most. The whole premise of this book is set on the idea that Shanna’s heart is controlling Sasha’s emotions, etc. but hearts don’t do that!!! I would find this book 100x more believable if maybe the idea had been that Sasha absorbed part of Shanna’s brain or something, but nope. Was any research done at all into where emotions come from?????? If your book’s premise is set on the idea that an absorbed twin is controlling emotions, the least you can do is do research on where emotions actually come from. A lot of the book is set around the fact that Shanna’s heart (again, not realistic) is falling for Isaac Harver, the school bad boy, and is the reason Sasha subsequently cheats on her boyfriend and loses her virginity to Isaac. One of my main issues with Sasha’s character is she’s such a fucking hypocrite. Though she believed she didn’t cheat on her boyfriend because it was actually Shanna (*eye roll*) she gets angry when she lands in hospital and her boyfriend gets together with one of her friends. Now, I don’t think that’s a cool move by any means but like, mate, you weren’t monogamous to him and didn’t even like him in the first place????? I don’t even know. But whenever she did anything remotely “imperfect” she blamed it on Shanna’s heart and just ugh. I repeat: hearts do not control emotions/movements. I felt like the plot for this was really messy as well. Even from the beginning I had no idea where the story was going and it took a bit of an unexpected turn after Sasha found out she had a heart problem. Majority of this book is spent in the Cardiac Centre and I felt like hardly anything actually happened. This is pitched as a psychological thriller but there were some parts that made me want to fall asleep I was so bored. Certainly not “thrilling.” And what the fuck was that ending?????? WARNING: SPOILER AHEAD. Firstly, how the fuck does one survive after literally cutting themselves open to hand their heart to someone???? Even if she got a heart transfusion after it, it just wasn’t believable. END SPOILER. Then, the actual end of the book was pretty ambiguous and hinted that something similar was going to repeat itself but just. I don’t understand. I couldn’t make it past the glaring issue that hearts do not control emotions and therefore everything was unbelievable. This Darkness Mine was just an all-around disappointment. Glaring issues with the plot itself, characters I didn’t care for, and a messy plot that at times was so damn boring- such a let down. I’ll still read more of McGinnis’s books in the future because I do genuinely enjoy her writing, but this one was definitely a miss for me. If you want to read it yourself to see what you think, feel free, but overall, I wouldn’t recommend this for anyone looking for a well researched, well thought out psychological thriller.
    more
  • Evie
    January 1, 1970
    I'm going to have to step away and gather my thoughts before I write a proper review, because this book blew my mind and I'm still looking for the pieces.In short, Mindy is yet to disappoint me. This is probably my favorite book of hers by far, and I love how thickly dark it was, even though it didn't seem like it was going to be at first, you know? It's such a twisted, complex story. I loved it!
    more
  • Shannon (It Starts At Midnight)
    January 1, 1970
    You can find the full review and all the fancy and/or randomness that accompanies it at It Starts at Midnight I... have no idea what to make of this book. This may be one of the hardest reviews I have written. I feel bad because I want to say more, and I feel like this review won't even be helpful, but I am going to do my best. Here are some things I can tell you about my experience with this book:It's very dark, and quite twisted. The title doesn't lie, this is not going to give you a case of You can find the full review and all the fancy and/or randomness that accompanies it at It Starts at Midnight I... have no idea what to make of this book. This may be one of the hardest reviews I have written. I feel bad because I want to say more, and I feel like this review won't even be helpful, but I am going to do my best. Here are some things I can tell you about my experience with this book:It's very dark, and quite twisted. The title doesn't lie, this is not going to give you a case of the chuckles. I read this book in one day, which means I was unable to put it down. This is a rarity for me, so it says a lot about the author's ability to lure a reader in, for sure! I was/am/always will be kind of confused? Like- I get most of the story, I do. But I am not wholly sure of everything, and I am kind of a more concrete thinker and I want someone to tell me, firmly, what the hell happened. No seriously, this was messed up. In a mostly good way. I think. Bottom Line: If you like books that don't shy away from the dark stuff, and that also may leave your mind reeling a bit, this is the book for you. Mindy's writing is on point as always, and the book is absolutely addictive. I'm just not sure I know what even happened.*Copy provided for review
    more
  • Hollis
    January 1, 1970
    I honestly wish I knew what to say about this book. This is my third experience with McGinnis' work so I already knew she's unpredictable. That every book is so different from the other. While A MADNESS SO DISCREET didn't work for me, THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES did. THIS DARKNESS MINE, however, I just don't know. "I was asking about getting abortions in bio. So of course this means I'm pregnant.""Uh, except for the whole you're-a-virgin thing. When they showed us those pics of syphilis in sixth g I honestly wish I knew what to say about this book. This is my third experience with McGinnis' work so I already knew she's unpredictable. That every book is so different from the other. While A MADNESS SO DISCREET didn't work for me, THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES did. THIS DARKNESS MINE, however, I just don't know. "I was asking about getting abortions in bio. So of course this means I'm pregnant.""Uh, except for the whole you're-a-virgin thing. When they showed us those pics of syphilis in sixth grade they might as well have signed you up for nun school."This book is about a perfect girl, the good girl, with a hidden streak of rebelliousness that increases over time. She starts losing moments. And then realizes there's another person living inside her, who is taking ownership of some of her nights; the twin that she never knew existed because she.. absorbed her in the womb. Every piece but her heart.All imperfections glare in the spotlight.And there begins this descent into Sasha trying to coexist with a presence that lives in her heart, who leaves commentary on her life in text messages, scrawled words on exam papers, and in tangling with the local bad boy despite Sasha having a boyfriend.But things get even stranger from there. To the point where it becomes a whole different book. And after you've adjusted to that.. it becomes something else again. It was just too much. Had McGinnis kept to one direction, or even two, this might have worked. Because it's weird and creepy and could've been perfect in it's own dark way. But.. yeah, too much."I can't die--""You're not going to.""-- listening to this music. It's unbearable."I'll probably still pick up future releases from this author because it seems every other one I read is a hit for me. And I love her writing. It's compelling, brutal, witty, and twisty. However THIS DARKNESS MINE was just too many of too much.. especially when you're forced to experience it all from a completely unabashedly unsympathetically selfish character. I've heard girls adopt the cajoling tone to calm down their man, an upward lilt with a flirtatious accent that changes the subject. I say his name like a brick wall. One he can run into and break his damn face on.It was a wild ride but not one I'll ever want to repeat.1.75 "I've had battlements around my feelings for so long I don't know how to react to bare honesty" stars** I received an ARC from Edelweiss and the publisher (thank you!) in exchange for an honest review. **
    more
  • Vernie
    January 1, 1970
    Gimme. I want now.
  • Olivia (The Candid Cover)
    January 1, 1970
    DNF @ pg. 90This book is just not for me. I really wanted to enjoy it, but I became so bored while reading. The plot is strange and not something that is interesting to me, unfortunately.
  • Taylor
    January 1, 1970
    "This thing of darkness I acknowledge mine." Wow. This twisted book is unlike anything I have ever read. Much like it's cover art, I suspect it's fanbase will be slashed down the middle with lovers on one side and haters on another. I personally fall on the first side. How does that make you feel? RTC.
    more
  • Melanie (Novel Descent)
    January 1, 1970
    Love Mindy - autobuy author for me! Can't wait to see how she tackles this one!
  • Zemira (Kylo Ren fangirl) Warner
    January 1, 1970
    What did I just read? All jokes aside-this book is twisted, scary and unputdownable. I didn't see coming a lot of things. Mindy's first thriller, is not as hardcore as this book. I read it in one sitting. Mentally prepare yourself for insanity.
  • Cookie
    January 1, 1970
    I have absolutely no words for this book.
  • Ylenia
    January 1, 1970
    Dnfed @ 25%.WE GET IT. HE'S HOT. Omg, this book was annoying. The writing style was great & addicting but the rest was just a mess. The plot didn't make any sense whatsoever and it's not because I didn't read much of the book but because the things that were explained weren't believable in my opinion. They just didn't make sense. I couldn't believe it one bit.Also I'm pretty disappointed that an author like Mindy used a line such as "run off to be slutty with random boys". Can we stop using Dnfed @ 25%.WE GET IT. HE'S HOT. Omg, this book was annoying. The writing style was great & addicting but the rest was just a mess. The plot didn't make any sense whatsoever and it's not because I didn't read much of the book but because the things that were explained weren't believable in my opinion. They just didn't make sense. I couldn't believe it one bit.Also I'm pretty disappointed that an author like Mindy used a line such as "run off to be slutty with random boys". Can we stop using that fucking word?
    more
  • Tez
    January 1, 1970
    24th January 2017: Reason for adding to wishlist: Psychological thriller + dead twin = I'M IN! :-)
  • Nia •ShadesOfPaper•
    January 1, 1970
    You can find this review and others on my blog http://www.shades0fpaper.wordpress.com “I had a sister,” I say, all the edge out of my voice; the low notes of a secret slipping out throb in my chest. “She was never born, and she never died.” Boy, oh, boy, wasn’t this book everything I wanted it to be without really realising it! This novel was incredible. When I first read the synopsis I didn’t know I would enjoy it as much as I did, but turns out I actually did. It surprised me, because I didn’ You can find this review and others on my blog http://www.shades0fpaper.wordpress.com “I had a sister,” I say, all the edge out of my voice; the low notes of a secret slipping out throb in my chest. “She was never born, and she never died.” Boy, oh, boy, wasn’t this book everything I wanted it to be without really realising it! This novel was incredible. When I first read the synopsis I didn’t know I would enjoy it as much as I did, but turns out I actually did. It surprised me, because I didn’t expect it to be that dark and twisted, but let me tell you: I loved every single part of it.I’ve read last year her other work, The Female of the Species and I adored her writing, the whole story and the characters (you should read it if you haven’t already), so I was really anticipating this book ever since I knew about it, so I was beyond excited when the publisher gave me an ARC of it. And she did not disappoint me. At all.This is a book I would recommend going into it as blind as possible, or knowing the least you can, because I feel everything could be a potential spoiler, so if you’re midly interested in it just read it. That’s how it’s going to surprise you the most. “I love how it looks so complicated, spikes of silver flaring, empty holes of nothingness, a mass of wood and metal that almost seems vicious until you hear its voice. Low. Melodic. Lulling. It can convince you of anything if you listen to it long enough.” Now, I can tell you now this is not a book for everyone, that’s for sure. It’s one of those book where you’re confused the whole time and don’t really know what’s going on until the very end, but luckily it was the kind of novel I usually adore, so I had a really good time reading it.The story was so much darker that I first thought it was going to be. I loved how you spent the whole book trying to figure out everything whilst knowing more about our main character Sasha, and what was going on with her. It was a very unique story, that’s for sure. I feel Sasha was a very unreliable narrator (you know how much I LIVE for those stories), where you start knowing little of her and then it got so intricate and dark and messed up you didn’t know who to believe.But let’s talk about Sasha, shall we? She was a very interesting main character, and a very unreliable one, like I mentioned before. She was so intelligent and clever I was shocked sometimes by her. Of course there were a few things I wanted an answer to, but overall reading from her point of view was an experience (as if that could sum things up *laughs*). “People are always surprised when roses have a few thorns, like the girls who wear khakis and live with our natural hair color aren’t ever going to bite.” I’m not the type of person that reads a book and pays a lot of attention to the writing. Of course, there are certain ocassions when the writing is exquisite and I can’t help but notice (or completely the opposite), and I need to talk about it in my reviews. And this is one of those cases. I loved the writing. It fit so well with the whole story and the personality of our main character. It was sexy, cold and dark, and somehow it created a barrier between the reader and the story, without isolating you from the story (it’s really hard to explain with words but hopefully you know what I mean). It was provoking the reader throughout the entire book and made you want to keep reading, and that’s one of the best things a writing style could make you feel, at least in my opinion.The ending somehow surprised me quite much. Even though I expected some twisted things happening, and had a clear image of what was going on, there was a certain scene that left me speechless, because even though I suspected it, I didn’t know I was right. It was a very open ending, though, but you could imagine the direction it was going to take, which I didn’t mind at all. Open endings tend to give me a punch in the gut, and it was quite fitting to the story.I recieved an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. This doesn’t change my opinion whatsoever. All thoughts are my own.
    more
  • Megan • Reading Books Like a Boss (book blog)
    January 1, 1970
    Review to come. This one was a struggle to get through.
  • Mel (Daily Prophecy)
    January 1, 1970
    That was so twisted and messed up. I looooved it. 4.5 stars.Review to come.
  • Jessi ♡
    January 1, 1970
    that ending got me fucked up
  • Gaby (lookingatbooks)
    January 1, 1970
    This sounds phenomenal.
  • alex
    January 1, 1970
    I loved The Female of the Species, so when I heard the announcement for her new book, I was super excited. Then I saw the blurb, and I was absolutely hooked. It sounded creepy, romantic and super twisty. AKA, definitely up my alley. I was so excited that I chose this as my first book to read post-ALA.Let me tell you, this book completely rocked my world. If you loved Mara Dyer, then you'll love this too.This is a case of where my expectations were *not* met, but I loved the way the author execut I loved The Female of the Species, so when I heard the announcement for her new book, I was super excited. Then I saw the blurb, and I was absolutely hooked. It sounded creepy, romantic and super twisty. AKA, definitely up my alley. I was so excited that I chose this as my first book to read post-ALA.Let me tell you, this book completely rocked my world. If you loved Mara Dyer, then you'll love this too.This is a case of where my expectations were *not* met, but I loved the way the author executed her idea. I expected this to be a more romance-oriented book, and while there was some romance, it definitely wasn't the focus (granted, I should have realized this because of the author's previous book lol). This book really focuses on the main character, Sasha Stone, and what happens to her after she discovers she absorbed her twin in the womb.Ah, Sasha Stone. If you looked up "unlikable female characters," you would find her name. She is said to be a bitch--both by herself and her friends--and she is pretty unapologetic about it. Unsurprisingly, I *LOVED* her. She is ambitious (she is definitely a Slytherin) and intelligent and one hell of a badass. I know that some people won't like her, but personally, she's a new favorite character of mine.The plot really makes this book shine. You can't tell what's true and what's not; Sasha is very set in her beliefs, while everyone around her is like "uh, Sasha, you're losing it". This is an excellent example of a book with an unreliable narrator. It makes the book have an ominous, almost insidious tone that carries on till the last page. I never expected the plot twists, and I certainly didn't expect where this book would end (THE ENDING!!!!! Oh man, that ending).Romance wise, this book definitely falls under the steamy category. Sasha believes that it's her twin sister, Shanna, who is in love with Isaac Harver. Because of this, she spends a good part of the book wondering if it's just her twin who loves Isaac, or if she has feelings for him too. It makes for a very angst-filled book if you like that kind of torture.I loved the moments with Isaac; he's a bad boy with a sweet side, and I wanted more of him in the story. The scenes between the two of them were like fire, and they were always exciting (in more ways than one). My romantic heart wanted a different kind of romance, but it was still entertaining to see how the author made things play out.Perhaps the best part of this book was how it made me second guess myself. At first, I was definitely on Sasha's side. Yes, Shanna was totally real, and everyone else was wrong. I spent a lot of the story believing this until things started getting really damn weird. From around the 60% mark, I flip-flopped back and forth with believing Sasha and thinking she was delusional. It's never *explicitly*stated whether or not Sasha is right, but it's pretty clear by the end. I'll just say that I'm still stunned a few days after reading it.Overall, This Darkness Mine was a dark and twisty book perfect for fans of the Mara Dyer series. With unreliable characters, a twisty plot, and a secret romance, this book is one of the best thrillers out there. If you loved Mindy McGinnis's other books, then you'll love this one, too. It may not be the book for you, but I urge everyone to at least give it a chance, because it is not a book to be missed.
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    3.5/5 starsThis Darkness Mine is a standalone Young Adult novel. The book has some romance and some suspense.The narrator is 17 year old Sasha. She is a high school senior in a small town in Ohio. She is an amazing clarinet player and her dream has been to go to the Oberlin Conservatory.This book is difficult to review because everything I want to say would be a spoiler. This book is so bizarre. Sasha finds out that she has done things that she doesn't remember. At first I was not sure if this w 3.5/5 starsThis Darkness Mine is a standalone Young Adult novel. The book has some romance and some suspense.The narrator is 17 year old Sasha. She is a high school senior in a small town in Ohio. She is an amazing clarinet player and her dream has been to go to the Oberlin Conservatory.This book is difficult to review because everything I want to say would be a spoiler. This book is so bizarre. Sasha finds out that she has done things that she doesn't remember. At first I was not sure if this was an alternate universe. I could not make sense of what was happening.The author finally gives us an explanation (or at least it is what Sasha believes). But I couldn't decide whether that would even be possible. (view spoiler)[Sasha had a twin sister Shanna who died in the womb and she thinks Shanna is taking over her body sometimes. (hide spoiler)] I honestly found this whole scenario to be extremely messed up. And I wasn't sure if I liked where the story was headed.The book then takes some completely unexpected turns. I did start to enjoy the story more. However it was still super weird.I have only read two other books by this author: The Female of the Species and A Madness So Discreet. Both of these books (like This Darkness Mine) were original and very different from most other books I've read. The more I think about This Darkness Mine the more I realize just how different this book is.I decided that the end would determine my overall feelings. At first I could barely make sense of what had happened. But after thinking about it the actual end is creepy but really funny. This book was completely crazy. I think that if you are a fan of this author then this is a must-read. But also if you are looking for something completely different in the YA genre. This book won't be for everyone. But it is extremely unique. And it will make you think.Thanks to edelweiss and Katherine Tegen Books for allowing me to read this book.
    more
Write a review