Daughter of the Burning City
A darkly irresistible new fantasy set in the infamous Gomorrah Festival, a traveling carnival of debauchery that caters to the strangest of dreams and desires.Sixteen-year-old Sorina has spent most of her life within the smoldering borders of the Gomorrah Festival. Yet even among the many unusual members of the traveling circus-city, Sorina stands apart as the only illusion-worker born in hundreds of years. This rare talent allows her to create illusions that others can see, feel and touch, with personalities all their own. Her creations are her family, and together they make up the cast of the Festival’s Freak Show.But no matter how lifelike they may seem, her illusions are still just that—illusions, and not truly real. Or so she always believed…until one of them is murdered.Desperate to protect her family, Sorina must track down the culprit and determine how they killed a person who doesn’t actually exist. Her search for answers leads her to the self-proclaimed gossip-worker Luca, and their investigation sends them through a haze of political turmoil and forbidden romance, and into the most sinister corners of the Festival. But as the killer continues murdering Sorina’s illusions one by one, she must unravel the horrifying truth before all of her loved ones disappear.

Daughter of the Burning City Details

TitleDaughter of the Burning City
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherHarlequin Teen
ISBN0373212437
ISBN-139780373212439
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Young Adult Fantasy

Daughter of the Burning City Review

  • Chelsea Humphrey
    February 27, 2017
    I am hardcore crushing on this cover. Count me in!
  • Alyssa
    February 10, 2017
    Okay, sure. I'll bite.
  • Laurie
    September 12, 2016
    Sorina Gomorrah is an illusion-worker, the rarest form of jynx-worker, gifted in mirages real enough to touch, smell, hear, and taste. Her most intricate illusions are the freakish characters she's created to be her family (my favorite being Tree, a huge, foul-mouthed living tree-person prone to violence). Sorina and her "family" are part of the scandalous, travelling Gomorrah Festival, a carnival of debauchery. Amanda Foody's fantasy world is darkly enchanting and beautifully imagined - I felt Sorina Gomorrah is an illusion-worker, the rarest form of jynx-worker, gifted in mirages real enough to touch, smell, hear, and taste. Her most intricate illusions are the freakish characters she's created to be her family (my favorite being Tree, a huge, foul-mouthed living tree-person prone to violence). Sorina and her "family" are part of the scandalous, travelling Gomorrah Festival, a carnival of debauchery. Amanda Foody's fantasy world is darkly enchanting and beautifully imagined - I felt like I was travelling right alongside Sorina and her bizarre "family". The illusion-magic is vivid, delightfully technicolor and unique, the characters strangely endearing. I quickly grew attached to Sorina's "family" and was jolted when these "illusion" characters started being murdered one by one (warning - Amanda Foody follows the George R.R. Martin school of fantasy - she will keep you on the edge of your seat because anything can happen in this world of hers). Sorina joins forces with Luca, a mysterious young man who is employed by the carnival as a "gossip-worker". Together, Sorina and Luca try to hunt down the killers of Sorina's "family". I highly recommend this fantastical, wildly imagined thrill-ride of a story.
    more
  • Claire
    March 22, 2017
    Thank you Netgalley for the chance to read this book. My views are entirely my own.For a debut, Foody wields the power fo the pen with expertise. The writing is succinct and clever, the world beautifully crafted and explored, and the characters are engaging and witty. I felt swept up by the world and accepted by Sorina's family. What more could a reader ask for?Gomorrah, the festival of wonders, full of twists and turns, adventure and charm. Foody manages to paint this living, ever-expanding, al Thank you Netgalley for the chance to read this book. My views are entirely my own.For a debut, Foody wields the power fo the pen with expertise. The writing is succinct and clever, the world beautifully crafted and explored, and the characters are engaging and witty. I felt swept up by the world and accepted by Sorina's family. What more could a reader ask for?Gomorrah, the festival of wonders, full of twists and turns, adventure and charm. Foody manages to paint this living, ever-expanding, always-moving city beautifully, Gomorrah coming to life upon the pages. If Gomorrah were real, I would want to lose myself within its wonders almost immediately. The city teems with mystery and political intrigue, magic and mythology.Through the adventures of our MC Sorina, we uncover the mysteries of Gomorrah. Sorina is an able, unique MC, equal parts tenacity and bravery, wit and creative. Sorina is an entirely unique character in the world of YA, for many reasons, including her unique appearance (lack of eyes). Sorina's cast of creations, also her family, are equally fleshed out. For fabrications, the mystery of their demise is still heart-wrenching because of Foody's clever writing. Overall, fans of Stephanie Garber's Caraval and Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone are sure to love this book and the world Foody has created. I can only hope that Foody continues to explore Gomorrah, a world ripe with mystery and adventure.
    more
  • Katy Pool
    February 17, 2017
    THAT COVER THO
  • Kristy
    November 7, 2016
    Oh where do I even begin? This is one those books that stay with you long after you've finished reading. From the world building, to the mystery, to the characterization, every detail is exquisite and keeps you turning the pages. I read the whole thing in one sitting and kept thinking to me self "this book better have a sequel! I need MORE!"Amanda Foody's world-building is second only to J.K.Rowling and I don't say this lightly! Get this book NOW. You will not be disappointed.
    more
  • Christine
    September 15, 2016
    This is a book about the line that divides real and unreal. It's a book about a traveling carnival-city that's more than it seems, and the girl with no eyes who calls it home. It is imaginative and bloody and twisted - and surprisingly endearing. I can't wait until the whole world can read this one, because I'm already itching for people to talk to about it. Next summer can't come soon enough.
    more
  • The Genre Minx Book Reviews
    March 2, 2017
    It was the cover that caught my eye and the synopsis just made it happen. TBR for sure!
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    March 16, 2017
    I am liking the cover! And I could always use more Carnival/Festival themed books in my life =D
  • Cookie
    March 9, 2017
    3.5 stars! I did like this and thought it was a strong debut, but halfway through, I noticed how dead the dialogue felt, how boring--constant use of "she says" or "he says" or "I say" kinda thing. And I also guessed most of what was going to happen before it happened so it kind of took away from the mystery. But the writing was nice and the overall setting of the circus was cool and I appreciated the different types of "people" at the circus!
    more
  • Jena
    February 20, 2017
    I'm not biased or anything
  • Nicky
    March 30, 2017
    Just when I thought I'd figured the plot out, she went and surprised me. Thank you for letting Sorina remain strong and tough and smart. Thank you for not letting the romance ruin everything else. Thank you for having so much diversity in character and setting. Mostly, thank you for killing my reading slump. (And thanks to Netgalley for the arc!) I'll be buying this one when it releases. I can't wait to see the illustrations!
    more
  • nazy
    March 26, 2017
    Had to change the rating to 5 stars because I was writing up the review and I actually REALLY loved this book. Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody is one of those books I've seen floating around the bookish twitterverse that immediately caught my eye - I mean, with a cover like that how could it not? - but to be honest, I hadn't thought too much about it since I haven't been reading as much in the past few months due to university commitments and the fact that it isn't out for a few mor Had to change the rating to 5 stars because I was writing up the review and I actually REALLY loved this book. Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody is one of those books I've seen floating around the bookish twitterverse that immediately caught my eye - I mean, with a cover like that how could it not? - but to be honest, I hadn't thought too much about it since I haven't been reading as much in the past few months due to university commitments and the fact that it isn't out for a few more months but when I got the eARC, I started it and managed to read the whole thing in two sittings. It absolutely took me by surprise, and it was a little dark and mysterious enough that I was hooked from the very beginning.The characters were all a little different, which made the story even more captivating. We have Sorina, the girl with no eyes - she literally just doesn't have eyes - and as an illusion-worker, she wields the ability to create illusions/people that are almost human since others can see, feel and touch them, and they have their own personalities, but yeah, they're illusions. I don't want to go too into the illusions because reading about Sorina's 'family' was super interesting, and finding out about them bit by bit was one of my favourite aspects of this story so I'd rather not take away the opportunity for any of you to experience it the same way.The story is built around mystery. As far as Sorina's concerned, her illusions are just that - illusions. So, technically, they can't die. Except, she finds one of them brutally murdered. How is that possible? Well, most of the story is spent trying to figure this out and as Sorina attempts to find the culprit, we are taken on an adventure all over the Festival. The world-building in this story is absolutely breathtaking as is the writing itself.In terms of the other characters besides Sorina and her illusions, we are greeted by an entire festival of characters. Some who wield magic, some who don't, some who are good and some who are not-so-good. Luca's ability was unbelievably cool! Again, I wont spoil it but seriously. Also, Luca's character in general was just super lovable and really interesting to read about. The romance though more or less obvious from the beginning, kind of took a surprise turn. As I read on, I guessed that Luca was demisexual because of certain signs nearer the last half of the book (and Amanda Foody did kindly confirm for me that he is on the ace spectrum, he falls somewhere into asexual/demiromantic and demisexual). I think this is the first fantasy book I've read where there was a demisexual character, and I think it was pretty great to see.[I'm not as aware of the different types as I'd like to be, so excuse if my wording/terminology is off].Dark and full of magic, Daughter of the Burning City was a gripping story full of mystery and wonder. It made me want to visit Gomorrah and for most of the story, the beautiful descriptions made me feel like I was actually there. Sorina was such an interesting, real and unique main character and I loved reading from her perspective. I especially loved the ending. I was speaking to a friend about the story and we were talking about how for most of the story, Sorina sees herself as a 'freak' (as do almost all the other characters, hence the Freak Show), but by the end she grows to accept herself. She doesn't change, she just learns that she's awesome regardless. And I think that was a pretty cool message.Note: According to Wordery, this will also be published in the UK later this year! Whoop!
    more
  • Mekiah Johnson
    February 24, 2017
    The cover is um...... Okay..... I guess...... Just meh.... In my opinion. A little bit plain.
  • Heartbrekker
    March 14, 2017
    The graphic designer in me is cringing at the cover's terrible manip. The black font should've just been white.
  • Laura
    March 14, 2017
    I was originally interested in this book because I thought the cover was gorgeous, and the title reminded me of "Daughter of Smoke and Bone," another book that I enjoyed. I was not disappointed.Daughter of the Burning City follows Sorina, "The Girl Who Sees Without Eyes," and her family of misfits as they travel with the Burning City, Gomorrah Festival, as part of a freak show. Sorina is a powerful jynx-worker, able to create incredible allusions that people can see, feel, smell, and hear - incl I was originally interested in this book because I thought the cover was gorgeous, and the title reminded me of "Daughter of Smoke and Bone," another book that I enjoyed. I was not disappointed.Daughter of the Burning City follows Sorina, "The Girl Who Sees Without Eyes," and her family of misfits as they travel with the Burning City, Gomorrah Festival, as part of a freak show. Sorina is a powerful jynx-worker, able to create incredible allusions that people can see, feel, smell, and hear - including her own family. When her family, formed in Sorina's mind but having lives, personality and free-will of their own, become the target of an assassin, Sorina goes on a mission to save them. Her father, Villiam Gomorrah, the propriotor and "General" of the traveling city, and Luca, a mysterious "Up-Mountainer" who Sorina finds a connection with, have very different ideas about who is murdering her illusion family. Working with them both, Sorina uncovers more about the life, politics, and powers of the Burning City, and realizes that she has been kept in the dark about her own reality. The world building in Daughter of the Burning City is amazing. I was completely immersed in the sounds, colors, and smells of Gomorrah as I read the book. Amanda Foody creates rich backstories, political intrigue, and family dynamics. I loved the idea of basing a story on the Biblical tale of a city so wicked it was burned off the face of the earth. Her allusion was creative and unexpected. Adding in the bit about the pillar of salt was a nice touch.. Her characters are unique, from each other and from other young adult novels that I have read. The plot is complex and well executed, with numerous twists at the end that keep the reader on their toes. I also appreciated that she doesn't leave us with a cliffhanger, but provides a satisfying conclusion. I hope that Ms. Foody continues writing about these character and the amazing, intriguing world of the Burning City. I recieved this book from NetGalley in exchange for my review and honest opinion.
    more
  • Amanda Haas
    March 5, 2017
    A world of dark magic performed by creepy people that keeps you on edge! Gomorrah offers you charms and thrills until the smoky truth curls around your mind: you don't ever want to leave.
  • Anissa (FairyLoot)
    February 19, 2017
    Such a magical book with unique characters. It was like playing a game of Cluedo in a circus with magic and illusions! Loved it!
  • Dexter Ramos
    February 17, 2017
    KYAAAAAAAAAA!!! LOOK! LOOK AT THAT COVER! KYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!! COVER GLORIOUS!Different shades of violet background, the circus city foreground, the smoke, the creepy vibe font style... THIS IS EVERYTHING! And in addition, the blurb sounds so interesting! Another circus themed debut novel! I can't wait for this one! I. CAN. NOT. WAIT. JULYYYYY, PLEASE COME FASTER!
    more
  • Saba
    February 11, 2017
    Eeep! So excited for this!
Write a review